View Full Version : New stadium for Edinburgh rugby and/or Hearts? (merged)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7

25-11-2011, 10:44 AM
yes

Unfortunately for you guys, you have forgone the right to control your own destiny will do as you are told.

25-11-2011, 10:51 AM
We should offer. It's the gentlemanly thing to do.

They'd decline anyway. They're declining as a type.

25-11-2011, 12:15 PM
How does it work for AC and Inter? Do they have 50/50 support for all derbies or is it a case of watching somebody park their AC/Inter arse on your seat?

They get one derby each. Italy doesn't have this concept of owning a stadium like we do in the UK.

25-11-2011, 04:06 PM
They get one derby each. Italy doesn't have this concept of owning a stadium like we do in the UK.

That's right - the San Siro doesn't belong to either Milan or Inter.

Easter Road belongs to Hibs and has done for over 100 years.

How anyone could countenance allowing that manky mob to use the Holy Ground for home games is utterly beyond me.

Financial expediency doesn't come into it - the spiritual home of Hibernian Football Club would have been irretrievably and irrevocably tainted by association with the Terminally Unclean.

Was it for this that the club rebuilt the stadium? So that mutants, monsters and degenerates like Fatty Foulkes should sit in the stands oozing their reeking putrescence into the very fabric and atmosphere of the HOLY Ground?

Not on your freakin life it wasn't.

They can borrow Kaunas's ground.

25-11-2011, 09:07 PM
That's right - the San Siro doesn't belong to either Milan or Inter.

Easter Road belongs to Hibs and has done for over 100 years.

How anyone could countenance allowing that manky mob to use the Holy Ground for home games is utterly beyond me.

Financial expediency doesn't come into it - the spiritual home of Hibernian Football Club would have been irretrievably and irrevocably tainted by association with the Terminally Unclean.

Was it for this that the club rebuilt the stadium? So that mutants, monsters and degenerates like Fatty Foulkes should sit in the stands oozing their reeking putrescence into the very fabric and atmosphere of the HOLY Ground?

Not on your freakin life it wasn't.

They can borrow Kaunas's ground.

Where is the Christian spirit for our fellow man? Let them come and play at our house. :agree:

25-11-2011, 09:11 PM
There's no doubt that in 5 years time we'll have state of the art artificial turf and Hearts will be renting.(if they still exist).

25-11-2011, 09:20 PM
With their recent history of failing to settle bills on time, how could we even trust them to pay the rent when it's due.

I couldn't come to grips with that bunch swanning around Easter Road thinking they own the place while watching Hibs miles away from Edinburgh.

Besides Easter Road isn't big enough.

It's a No No No all the way as far as I am concerned. Let them rot well away from Leith. It's what they deserve.

Easy.

We collect the gate money and give them what's left, after all expenses of course !

Hibs07p
26-11-2011, 08:15 AM
The real story here isn't about whether Hearts do or do not go to the wall.

It's about blatant corruption in the City of Edinburgh Council - the Council proposing to favour Heart of Midlothian FC - a private commercial concern, remember - to the tune of £50 million or more, having done absolutely nothing to help Hearts' main rivals - Hibs - when Hibs were seeking a way out of exactly the situation Hearts now find themselves in.

And doing this openly, blatantly and without the slightest hint of embarrassment.

Assuming, no doubt, that Alec Salmond as First Minister will support them and bail them out if things go pear-shaped.

The CEC's responsibility is to provide the appropriate leisure and sports facilities for the whole city and its people. Not sweeten an ex-Soviet Baltic Mafia godfather when he finally gets bored with their noxiously emetic apology for a football club.

I'm not so sure that he would. He was roundly criticised by the HOMFC faithful about comments he made regarding Romanov and Mercer, that I found when I was trawling the Scotsman website. I can't remember seeing it before, and it is quite an interesting read.

http://www.scotsman.com/the-scotsman/sport-comment/alan-pattullo/mercer_family_disgust_at_salmond_attack_on_former_ hearts_chairman_1_1030770

"I believe there is a general problem in football which involves a kind of devil's bargain," said Salmond, a self– declared lifelong Hearts supporter.

"If you get a club sold to a very rich foreign guy – often a Russian oligarch or somebody like that – then I suppose you enter a kind of devil's bargain, whereby you hope that the guy is rich enough to buy you success.

"It's the Chelsea syndrome – now that is a devil's bargain there. But I think, in Hearts' case with Romanov, we've entered a devil's bargain without getting the bargain.

"Vladimir Romanov, for me, is a kind of 'Baltic States Wallace Mercer' – he is unsafe hands. When Mercer took over Hearts, the club was in unsafe hands.

"Wallace is dead and gone now, of course, but I didn't like him either. I didn't like his attitude, I didn't like his politics, and I didn't like his attempt to take over Hibernian, on the basis that you shouldn't take over people's dreams – no one has that right."

Hibs07p
26-11-2011, 08:19 AM
The real story here isn't about whether Hearts do or do not go to the wall.

It's about blatant corruption in the City of Edinburgh Council - the Council proposing to favour Heart of Midlothian FC - a private commercial concern, remember - to the tune of £50 million or more, having done absolutely nothing to help Hearts' main rivals - Hibs - when Hibs were seeking a way out of exactly the situation Hearts now find themselves in.

And doing this openly, blatantly and without the slightest hint of embarrassment.

Assuming, no doubt, that Alec Salmond as First Minister will support them and bail them out if things go pear-shaped.

The CEC's responsibility is to provide the appropriate leisure and sports facilities for the whole city and its people. Not sweeten an ex-Soviet Baltic Mafia godfather when he finally gets bored with their noxiously emetic apology for a football club.

I'm not so sure that he would. He was roundly criticised by the HOMFC faithful about comments he made regarding Romanov and Mercer, that I found when I was trawling the Scotsman website. I can't remember seeing it before, and it is quite an interesting read.

http://www.scotsman.com/the-scotsman/sport-comment/alan-pattullo/mercer_family_disgust_at_salmond_attack_on_former_ hearts_chairman_1_1030770

"I believe there is a general problem in football which involves a kind of devil's bargain," said Salmond, a self– declared lifelong Hearts supporter.

"If you get a club sold to a very rich foreign guy – often a Russian oligarch or somebody like that – then I suppose you enter a kind of devil's bargain, whereby you hope that the guy is rich enough to buy you success.

"It's the Chelsea syndrome – now that is a devil's bargain there. But I think, in Hearts' case with Romanov, we've entered a devil's bargain without getting the bargain.

"Vladimir Romanov, for me, is a kind of 'Baltic States Wallace Mercer' – he is unsafe hands. When Mercer took over Hearts, the club was in unsafe hands.

"Wallace is dead and gone now, of course, but I didn't like him either. I didn't like his attitude, I didn't like his politics, and I didn't like his attempt to take over Hibernian, on the basis that you shouldn't take over people's dreams – no one has that right."

26-11-2011, 08:29 AM
I hadn't seen that before the wee fat independent jambo has gone right up in my estimation. Never realised he was such a good judge of character.

26-11-2011, 08:45 AM
I hadn't seen that before the wee fat independent jambo has gone right up in my estimation. Never realised he was such a good judge of character.

He might be a lot of things that we don't like but, surprisingly for a Jambo, he's not stupid.

26-11-2011, 09:00 AM
He might be a lot of things that we don't like but, surprisingly for a Jambo, he's not stupid.

I don't like him or his politics either, but he has Vlad and Mercer down to a tee in that article.

Greenblood70
26-11-2011, 10:20 AM
The levels of idiocy and corruption in CEC beggar belief.

There seems to be no level of accountability where they are concerned and their arrogance and track record of failure seems set to continue. Can residents en masse protest thru a vote of no confidence in them?

I'd definitely refuse to pay my council tax if this plan ever gets the go ahead.

26-11-2011, 11:23 AM
I don't like him or his politics either, but he has Vlad and Mercer down to a tee in that article.

Interestingly Farmer donates a substantial amount of money to the various political parties, including heftily to the SNP. This may be significant as this whole scenario plays out.

26-11-2011, 12:41 PM
There is an argument that says that we should field a "protest" candidate in any up and coming elections.

Not that they would have any chance of getting elected but to continue to force up the profile of our complaints and rally public conscience over this.

In the current climate folk will stand against injustice and corruption readily and are far more likely to protest. It could easily become a cause behind which even non Hibby's would gather to berate their elected officials.

Most politicians are utterly spineless and will run a mile if we continue to press this issue.

If we dont however................

26-11-2011, 01:14 PM
With SRU in big debts and Murrayfield being so close - think they will move there again.

26-11-2011, 01:16 PM
With SRU in big debts and Murrayfield being so close - think they will move there again.

Would love to them play there. With 3,000 passionate fans packed into the stadium for games against East Stirling it would be an unmissable experience.

Actually, it would. I'd be be tempted to go just to laugh.

26-11-2011, 01:17 PM
Easy.

We collect the gate money and give them what's left, after all expenses of course !

You're forgetting the fact that there would be hee haw collected at the gate as all the fat bums on seats would be season ticket holders.

26-11-2011, 01:25 PM

I should have made clear that I was as doubtful that Alec S would in fact support them as you are.

Alec Salmond is nothing if not politically astute and I'm sure he's well aware of the rough ride he would get in Holyrood if he got involved in anything as shady and questionable as this stadium deal.

I'd reckon that the Deluded Ones might imagine that he would, though.

To my mind he said something here that needs to be said again and again in football - beware foreign investors promising the earth and everything in it. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. If it doesn't - as in Hearts' case, or Portsmouth's - the club and supporters are deep in the merde from the start. Even when it works, like Chelsea or Man City, the danger is that it will only work for as long as the investor remains interested in the sport or the club. It's a devil's bargain, right enough.

As for his comments about Mercer - I'd say that that's a pretty fair assessment of the guy.

01-12-2011, 06:38 PM
In last Saturdays Evening News there was an article about the Community Stadium and Councilor Iain Whyte saying that council procedures had been broken by Officials when they agreed to part fund the report.

I e-mailed Councilor Whyte with my views that Doig Smith should not have been involved because their partners share holding in HOMFC.

The officials denied any knowledge of Stewart Cobb's other " interests " and confirmed it was Hearts who selected the Consultants.

His final sentence was more reassuring .

" If it is any help I have now had private assurances that any report to Committee will recommend against progressing a community stadium. So that is likely to be an end of the matter "

We can't relax though somebody will come up with another scam to use Council Funds to save the Establishment Team.

HibbyRod
01-12-2011, 06:41 PM
In last Saturdays Evening News there was an article about the Community Stadium and Councilor Iain Whyte saying that council procedures had been broken by Officials when they agreed to part fund the report.

I e-mailed Councilor Whyte with my views that Doig Smith should not have been involved because their partners share holding in HOMFC.

The officials denied any knowledge of Stewart Cobb's other " interests " and confirmed it was Hearts who selected the Consultants.

" If it is any help I have now had private assurances that any report to Committee will recommend against progressing a community stadium. So that is likely to be an end of the matter "

We can't relax though somebody will come up with another scam to use Council Funds to save the Establishment Team.

Good work GG ..... keep up the pressure! :aok:

01-12-2011, 06:47 PM
On news tonight Leith Waterworld to be sold off to bail out Commie Pool. What next Meadowbank sold off to fund Community Stadium for the Yams. Interesting times ahead. Glad I do not live within City of Edinburgh boundaries.

01-12-2011, 06:54 PM

Is ther any knuckle rapping going to happen to the officials that agreed to part fund this

01-12-2011, 07:00 PM
Iain is a season ticket holder at Easter Road. Might not see eye to eye on his politics but he is a top bloke.

01-12-2011, 07:13 PM
Is ther any knuckle rapping going to happen to the officials that agreed to part fund this

Does Scotland have a local authority ombudsman?

EasterRoad4Ever
01-12-2011, 07:22 PM
Don't believe a word of it. The EDC are just waiting for the waters to calm before they relaunch the life boat for their beloved HMFC. They will NOT let the club die or founder - plain and simple - irrespective of how much it costs to bail them out. Shady deals and sly manoevering are second nature to many of these undereducated, self-serving, expense-ridden transients. A few quick from Vlad and they'll bend over.

01-12-2011, 07:29 PM
Does Scotland have a local authority ombudsman?

http://www.spso.org.uk/

01-12-2011, 07:41 PM

You can't fart in the Edinburgh business community without everyone knowing about it. Stewart Cobb's a kent face and his involvement with Hearts is well known.

01-12-2011, 07:42 PM
http://www.spso.org.uk/

More appropriate body might be?

http://www.standardscommissionscotland.org.uk/guidance_note_local.html#18

Sect 82 regarding declarations says

82. The Code requires councillors to declare interests which might influence, or be thought to influence, their actions as a councillor. The responsibility for making decisions is a personal one as only the councillor is in a position to assess his or her own circumstances and how those may affect his or her responsibilities as a councillor. (See paragraphs 5.1 and 5.2 of the Code.)
83. The key test that has to be applied is the objective one of whether a member of the public, acting reasonably and knowing all the relevant facts, would think that a particular interest in relation to any matter being considered at a Council meeting could unduly influence the councillor. (See paragraph 5.5 of the Code.)
84. Interests can be (a) financial interests, (b) non-financial interests or (c) the interests, financial or non-financial, of other persons. (See paragraph 5.5 of the Code.)

Not sure thats been complied with and the linked clandestine use of public funds to help an off shoot of an overseas privately owned business
must make a complaint from someone who lives in the city worth a punt? Not had a chance to read it all...........

01-12-2011, 07:55 PM
On news tonight Leith Waterworld to be sold off to bail out Commie Pool. What next Meadowbank sold off to fund Community Stadium for the Yams. Interesting times ahead. Glad I do not live within City of Edinburgh boundaries.

That's not a bad thing really as it has been shut as many times as it has been open this last few years .
Having said that a private company will probably hike the charges :greengrin

Benny Brazil
01-12-2011, 09:00 PM
More appropriate body might be?

http://www.standardscommissionscotland.org.uk/guidance_note_local.html#18

Sect 82 regarding declarations says

82. The Code requires councillors to declare interests which might influence, or be thought to influence, their actions as a councillor. The responsibility for making decisions is a personal one as only the councillor is in a position to assess his or her own circumstances and how those may affect his or her responsibilities as a councillor. (See paragraphs 5.1 and 5.2 of the Code.)
83. The key test that has to be applied is the objective one of whether a member of the public, acting reasonably and knowing all the relevant facts, would think that a particular interest in relation to any matter being considered at a Council meeting could unduly influence the councillor. (See paragraph 5.5 of the Code.)
84. Interests can be (a) financial interests, (b) non-financial interests or (c) the interests, financial or non-financial, of other persons. (See paragraph 5.5 of the Code.)

Not sure thats been complied with and the linked clandestine use of public funds to help an off shoot of an overseas privately owned business
must make a complaint from someone who lives in the city worth a punt? Not had a chance to read it all...........

I wonder if this section may be more relevant - Mr Cardownie et all being known Hearts supporters.

Effect of Declaring a Non-Financial Interest

93. After declaring a non-financial interest, the councillor must then consider whether he or she can continue to take part in the discussion.

94. The test is whether a member of the public, acting reasonably and knowing all the relevant facts, would consider that the councillor might be unduly influenced by the interest as a councillor and it would therefore be wrong to take part in any discussion or decision making. If it is considered that the test would apply, the councillor should withdraw from the meeting room until discussion of and decision on the item is concluded.

If, the councillor, in conscience, believes he or she would not be considered by a member of the public as being unduly influenced by the interest then the councillor may participate in the discussion and decision.

01-12-2011, 09:18 PM
I wonder if this section may be more relevant - Mr Cardownie et all being known Hearts supporters.

93. After declaring a non-financial interest, the councillor must then consider whether he or she can continue to take part in the discussion.

94. The test is whether a member of the public, acting reasonably and knowing all the relevant facts, would consider that the councillor might be unduly influenced by the interest as a councillor and it would therefore be wrong to take part in any discussion or decision making. If it is considered that the test would apply, the councillor should withdraw from the meeting room until discussion of and decision on the item is concluded.

If, the councillor, in conscience, believes he or she would not be considered by a member of the public as being unduly influenced by the interest then the councillor may participate in the discussion and decision.

In other words "Cardownie. Yer card's marked."

01-12-2011, 09:31 PM

:agree: Looks more likely, all thats needed now is a concerned Edinburgh citizen, where could one be found:wink:? At least its another hurdle for the barstewards to find a way past.

joebakerforever
01-12-2011, 11:39 PM
:agree: Looks more likely, all thats needed now is a concerned Edinburgh citizen, where could one be found:wink:? At least its another hurdle for the barstewards to find a way past.

Are messrs Farmer and Petrie concerned Edinburgh citizens who reportedly have already raised questions on the propriety of this matter directly with EDC ?

02-12-2011, 12:30 AM
Moving away from the football side of things have the ECC not closed things like Schools playgroups other publicly funded ventures and I think they have then why would they be allowed to say spend £50 million on a new stadium when that should have been ring fenced for the said schools and other project. My dad who is himself an Ex councillor has said to me that he does not think this will go the distance!

Ryan69
02-12-2011, 03:33 AM
Iain is a season ticket holder at Easter Road. Might not see eye to eye on his politics but he is a top bloke.

Like many people on here he has a season ticket......

02-12-2011, 07:35 AM
A few years ago I had dealings with the Licensing and Safety Boards of the council

Jambos to a man

02-12-2011, 08:02 AM
A few years ago I had dealings with the Licensing and Safety Boards of the council

Jambos to a man

I don't mind the idea that they are Jambos. It's the being Bias Jambos that all wrong.

Licensing Board = refuse Hibs a Sunday Licence but Hearts get one because of "Grandfather Rights" (i.e. their Grandfathers are Jambos and want a Sunday peev.)

Safety Board = inform Hibs that the old main stand won't be getting a Safety Certifcate so we have to rebuild. Meanwhile the Chicken Shack in Gorgie is still open 10 years on.

However. Is anyone surprised or shocked? They are the establishment team after all.

02-12-2011, 10:24 AM
Moving away from the football side of things have the ECC not closed things like Schools playgroups other publicly funded ventures and I think they have then why would they be allowed to say spend £50 million on a new stadium when that should have been ring fenced for the said schools and other project. My dad who is himself an Ex councillor has said to me that he does not think this will go the distance!

The problem is they could present this as a no cost or for profit venture with low borrowing costs and an expected rental income which would exceed borrowing. Fantasy of course but it would get round a number of objections.

02-12-2011, 11:20 AM
The problem is they could present this as a no cost or for profit venture with low borrowing costs and an expected rental income which would exceed borrowing. Fantasy of course but it would get round a number of objections.

The Council could do that I suppose but the proposed tenant would require to have a rock solid financial covenant, which would be rather tricky for the Yams at the moment. :wink:

joebakerforever
02-12-2011, 01:26 PM
See Steve Cardownie is back in the News again:-

http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/opinion/analysis/frank_boyle_cartoon_02_12_2011_1_1990295

02-12-2011, 02:32 PM
Are messrs Farmer and Petrie concerned Edinburgh citizens who reportedly have already raised questions on the propriety of this matter directly with EDC ?

Mr P lives in Longniddry - God's Country - makes him an East Lothian citizen for these purposes.

02-12-2011, 03:00 PM

No, but i'm sure there's a lot knuckle tickling going on...:rolleyes:

02-12-2011, 03:14 PM
Mr P lives in Longniddry - God's Country - makes him an East Lothian citizen for these purposes. Surely as the chairman of a multi million pound city institution that has paid millions in local and national taxes, on time and without resorting to the courts, he has a vested interest. I'd also imagine Hibs are a fairly large company as far as local employment is concerned too ;-)I also also understand the owner of this Club contributes substantial sums to political parties too :-)

E10 Rifle
02-12-2011, 07:41 PM
Hearts will be saved and it will be in a 'community' stadium of some sorts. Politics is rotten to the core and there are too many Jambos in Scottish politics to let them go to the wall. Lying to the electorate is all part of the game at this stage. :I'm waiti

13-12-2011, 11:15 PM
http://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/city_pulls_out_of_joint_stadium_plan_with_financia lly_troubled_hearts_1_2006757

It gets worse and worse:greengrin:cb

13-12-2011, 11:17 PM
PLEASING :greengrin

13-12-2011, 11:19 PM
www.sadtrombone.com

13-12-2011, 11:23 PM
:faf::faf:

13-12-2011, 11:26 PM
Heehee...naw...haha...this is how aw big clubs...

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA :hahaha::rotflmao:

13-12-2011, 11:33 PM
Likely 30K doon the pan because I doubt the got the 15K form the tramps but at least they have now seen that outfit for what it is.

Still http://bak2moi.files.wordpress.com/2011/10/laughing_smiley.gif

13-12-2011, 11:34 PM
:lolyam:

13-12-2011, 11:48 PM

At times like this I wish hibs.net had a 'like' button.:thumbsup:

14-12-2011, 12:01 AM
What a week it would be if the winds do pick up and take that pile of ****** in Gorgie with it. :greengrin

14-12-2011, 12:30 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=_OzI_kZLtUc

:faf: :faf: :faf: :faf: :faf: :faf: :faf: :faf:

14-12-2011, 02:20 AM
Land swap idea is ludicrous
So we the tax payers get saddled with a troublesome plot of worthless land and all it's planning constrains - where's the business case for that
This sad story is far from over
Don't like the words "in thus current climate" climates change so FAR from out the woods on this one Vlad out then the game changes and it one again?

14-12-2011, 04:29 AM
Was never gonna happen. No right-minded one would partner the sinking sub that is HoMFC.

Tick tock...

14-12-2011, 05:06 AM
Good news it has been stopped for now but this will cone back again. As for the £30k spent , the official or councillor who authorised this should be held personally responsible

14-12-2011, 06:28 AM
"Have Hearts asked about joining the EPL?"

Own up, who posted that one?

14-12-2011, 08:20 AM
I reckon this would come back pretty quickly for any 'new Hearts'.

SloopJB
14-12-2011, 08:33 AM
Was never gonna happen. No right-minded one would partner the sinking sub that is HoMFC.

Tick tock...

A giant leap of faith to suggest there are "right minded" amongst those that make decisions.
ERI multi million pound chain around our necks
Scottish Exec building that we could have had 10 fully staffed hospitals for instead of a dump
Tram project which despite warnings is late, budget spent and just wrong

right minded?

HoMFC is right up their street

14-12-2011, 08:33 AM

My thoughts exactly.

I wouldn't at all be surprised if the Council were to consider some sort of joint venture with Edinburgh Rugby in the not too distant future. And of course the yams could act out the role as the troublesome tenants.

14-12-2011, 08:36 AM

Will New Hearts have any land to swap though?

14-12-2011, 08:36 AM
Will New Hearts have any land to swap though?

Extremely doubtful.

one day maybe...
14-12-2011, 08:49 AM
"Have Hearts asked about joining the EPL?"

Own up, who posted that one?

I'm Spartacus :greengrin

14-12-2011, 11:17 AM
http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/politics/hearts_launch_fresh_study_into_community_stadium_1 _2007747

A bit more on this in the EN, including Hearts launching a new report.

You have to think what's the point at this stage?

14-12-2011, 11:31 AM
http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/politics/hearts_launch_fresh_study_into_community_stadium_1 _2007747

Reading between the lines there, the cooncil will be all too willing to help Hearts as soon as Mr Vlad's gone.

down the slope
14-12-2011, 11:33 AM

I think it's more of the smoke and mirrors that they have been doing for years , this keeps a glimmer of hope going with the fans and deflects some of the negativity that is going on just now, it's easy to do when you are dealing with the deluded. Some of them asking how many players they will get in the next transfer window !.

14-12-2011, 11:34 AM
I'm Spartacus :greengrin

Are you also responsible for posting the black envelopes through Phil Mitchell's letterbox?

14-12-2011, 11:35 AM
The report to next week's meeting of the Council's Economic Development Committee can be seen here:

http://www.edinburgh.gov.uk/meetings/meeting/2614/economic_development_committee

It isn't quite as final as the Scotsman article suggests. CEC have said they won't fund a more detailed study by HOM into the viability and deliverability of a new community stadium. They also note that although the Council doesn't have a stated policy to create such a facility, but taking into account the HOM requirements, Edinburgh Rugby's need to relocate and the need for a new multi-use venue in the city, all this may lend support to the need for a new multi-purpose community stadium. Seems pretty likely that something will come back to the Council sooner or later.

14-12-2011, 11:42 AM
Good news it has been stopped for now but this will cone back again. As for the £30k spent , the official or councillor who authorised this should be held personally responsible

Agreed, Steve whatever his name was seems to have gone into hiding after parading himself around the EEN in his full hertz kit looking like the club xmas tree. What a plum, he has no doubt taken cover behind wee Jenny Dawes, there is plenty of room there.

I would think a landswap while Vlad is there, or for a long time after is very unlikely given the values he expects, and any purchaser would need in the event they had to give him any sort of price for the club. More likely the nuclear plant that is behind the stand will take it for a series of porta loo's and recycling bins. This would of course provide them with plenty of rent for Murrayfield.

14-12-2011, 11:48 AM
The report to next week's meeting of the Council's Economic Development Committee can be seen here:

http://www.edinburgh.gov.uk/meetings/meeting/2614/economic_development_committee

It isn't quite as final as the Scotsman article suggests. CEC have said they won't fund a more detailed study by HOM into the viability and deliverability of a new community stadium. They also note that although the Council doesn't have a stated policy to create such a facility, but taking into account the HOM requirements, Edinburgh Rugby's need to relocate and the need for a new multi-use venue in the city, all this may lend support to the need for a new multi-purpose community stadium. Seems pretty likely that something will come back to the Council sooner or later.

For council-speak, it's pretty explicit. They "will not provide any further financial contribution" (direct quote from point 2.2).

14-12-2011, 11:54 AM
Notice the council paid the £15,000 directly to Hearts. Wonder if they have forwarded this to the Consultants yet? Me thinks no.

14-12-2011, 12:09 PM
For council-speak, it's pretty explicit there "will not provide any further financial contribution" (direct quote from point 2.2).

As Council-speak goes, that only rules out a financial contribution to the more detailed study. It doesn't rule out any subsequent options re a community stadium.

14-12-2011, 12:16 PM
Won't be taking my eyes off this one yet. Nothing those two bedfellows could muster between them would surprise me. Probably CEC hoping everyone's guard will drop so they can carry on negotiations and resurrect it at a more 'convenient time'.

From an FOI request I submitted to the councils for all documentation and minutes on this, I found out Hearts first meeting with the council was on 22nd February regarding this. There were a further four before the story even broke (4 March 2011,30 March 2011, 20 April 2011, 26 May 2011.) On these occasions David Southern and Vitalijus Vasiliauskas met with two council officials (Steve McGavin and Stuart Seaton) one from GVA and two from Doig and Smith.

No doubt the council just waiting to help once the club are in a better situation. Don't underestimate their bias for HMFC.

14-12-2011, 12:18 PM
As Council-speak goes, that only rules out a financial contribution to the more detailed study. It doesn't rule out any subsequent options re a community stadium.

That's because the actual development is a political decision for councillors to make. The paper has talked to the lead councillor on the relevant committee (Buchanan) and he's saying its a non-starter because of the obvious financial problems.

Tom Buchanan said: “We simply cannot afford to get formally involved in a project like this in the current climate. If the club is looking to enter into any kind of formal partnership to get a new stadium built it will have to be with another party.

“The one thing we could potentially do is look at some kind of land swap if the club finds an alternative site that is owned by the council. However, I certainly do not agree with Mr Romanov’s recent valuation of Tynecastle. The site has a number of planning constraints and health and safety issues that would affect any new development there.

“The big problem is that I cannot see the council entering into any kind of partnership with a football club that is not paying its own staff at the moment. It has certainly not help their case with the council at the moment.”

I think Dave Anderson (the employee who has written this summary) has had his fingers burned by the response to CEC paying £15K towards this report, hence why they won't provide any further funding to more detailed studies.

14-12-2011, 12:19 PM
Won't be taking my eyes off this one yet. Nothing those two bedfellows could muster between them would surprise me. Probably CEC hoping everyone's guard will drop so they can carry on negotiations and resurrect it at a more 'convenient time'.

From an FOI request I submitted to the councils for all documentation and minutes on this, I found out Hearts first meet with the council was on 22nd February regarding this. There were a further four before the story even broke (4 Marcingh 2011,30 March 2011, 20 April 2011, 26 May 2011.) On these occasions David Southern and Vitalijus Vasiliauskas met with two council officials (Steve McGavin and Stuart Seaton) one from GVA and two from Doig and Smith.

No doubt the council just waiting to help once the club are in a better situation. Don't underestimate their bias for HMFC.

I am sure some future version of Hearts will get in to bed with the council in some shape or form but surely this puts to bed any idea that CEC will bankroll it.

14-12-2011, 12:30 PM

14-12-2011, 07:07 PM
That's because the actual development is a political decision for councillors to make. The paper has talked to the lead councillor on the relevant committee (Buchanan) and he's saying its a non-starter because of the obvious financial problems.

I think Dave Anderson (the employee who has written this summary) has had his fingers burned by the response to CEC paying £15K towards this report, hence why they won't provide any further funding to more detailed studies.

That 1st "report" still has me raging. It was nothing more than some kind of glossy leaflet commissioned by homofc, specifically to put their spin on their need for a new stadium. There was little in the way of hard facts in it, and plenty of half truths (e.g. Hibs 17.5k capacity - eh?) and oversights (e.g. no mention of renting ER and/or Murrayfield). That's fine for homofc, they want a new stadium, and have to put a spin on it ... but it was NOT an independent report, it didn't even look as though it was compiled by appropriately qualified people, and NO WAY should CEC have contributed to it!

14-12-2011, 07:17 PM

I'm just a bitter and cynical Hibby, but nowhere does that report suggest pulling the plug. Quite the opposite in fact.

Benny Brazil
14-12-2011, 07:25 PM
These are the members of the Economic Devleopment Committee:
Councillor Buchanan (Convener)
Councillor Munn
Councillor McKay (Vice-Convener)
Councillor Munro
Councillor Chapman
Councillor Rose
Councillor Coleman
Councillor Rust
Councillor Elliott-Cannon
Councillor Snowden
Councillor Hart
Councillor Dawe (ex officio)
Councillor Lowrie
Councillor Cardownie (ex officio)
Councillor Milligan

How many of them are confirmed Jambos? Highlighted the ones I know of.

14-12-2011, 07:42 PM

From an FOI request I submitted to the councils for all documentation and minutes on this, I found out Hearts first meeting with the council was on 22nd February regarding this. There were a further four before the story even broke (4 March 2011,30 March 2011, 20 April 2011, 26 May 2011.) On these occasions David Southern and Vitalijus Vasiliauskas met with two council officials (Steve McGavin and Stuart Seaton) one from GVA and two from Doig and Smith.

The above is the truth.

They obstruct us at every turn whilst going out of their way for them. The latest statements say anything but that this isn't happening, they only refer to the state of Hearts now.

Hertz ********.

Keep watching and I trust STF has an eye on this.

14-12-2011, 07:48 PM
That 1st "report" still has me raging. It was nothing more than some kind of glossy leaflet commissioned by homofc, specifically to put their spin on their need for a new stadium. There was little in the way of hard facts in it, and plenty of half truths (e.g. Hibs 17.5k capacity - eh?) and oversights (e.g. no mention of renting ER and/or Murrayfield). That's fine for homofc, they want a new stadium, and have to put a spin on it ... but it was NOT an independent report, it didn't even look as though it was compiled by appropriately qualified people, and NO WAY should CEC have contributed to it!

Maybe STF could commission his own report on the requirement for a Community Stadium and include/correct the info above, as well as upgrading Meadowbank. In fact he could probably upgrade Meadowbank himself and gift it the city. Put a right spanner in CECjambos works.

Notice the EEN onside as well. Headline doesn't reflect the content and has been entirely uncritical of the brassnecks displayed by the CEC and the greedy muppets, not to mention the farcical nature of the report itself. The Lion The Witch and The Wardrobe has more sobriety.

Gala Foxes
15-12-2011, 04:41 AM
It is completely unbelievable that at a time when the Public Sector / Councils are facing spending cuts / potential redundancies that Edinburgh Council are even considering assisting an insolvent financially unviable business that is owned by an eratic unreasonable owner.

Then again this is the same Council that has squandered hundreds of millions of pounds on an incompetently mis-managed project that few of its residents want.

You can't make it up

15-12-2011, 05:32 AM
These are the members of the Economic Devleopment Committee:
Councillor Buchanan (Convener)
Councillor Munn
Councillor McKay (Vice-Convener)
Councillor Munro
Councillor Chapman
Councillor Rose
Councillor Coleman
Councillor Rust
Councillor Elliott-Cannon
Councillor Snowden
Councillor Hart
Councillor Dawe (ex officio)
Councillor Lowrie
Councillor Cardownie (ex officio0
Councillor Milligan

How many of them are confirmed Jambos? Highlighted the ones I know of.

I bet he/she has difficulty sleeping.

PapillonVert
15-12-2011, 05:55 AM
Now, according to The Herald, Vlad is refusing a consortium of potential buyers access to the accounts and wants them to make a blind bid:

http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/football/exclusive-consortium-left-frustrated-as-romanov-refuses-them-access-to-hearts-accounts.16164323

Interesting bit about HMFC falling "into the abyss" in January if the club isn't sold by then.

I hate to say we told you so but...............we told you so!

15-12-2011, 06:09 AM

That's because their coats on a 'shakey' peg.......,

15-12-2011, 07:29 AM
Now, according to The Herald, Vlad is refusing a consortium of potential buyers access to the accounts and wants them to make a blind bid:

http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/football/exclusive-consortium-left-frustrated-as-romanov-refuses-them-access-to-hearts-accounts.16164323

Interesting bit about HMFC falling "into the abyss" in January if the club isn't sold by then.

Any idea who the ex player in the consortium is?

SvenNeil
15-12-2011, 07:56 AM
Any idea who the ex player in the consortium is?

Probably an ex-player with no winners medals :wink:

robinp
15-12-2011, 07:58 AM
All press talk orchestrated by the Old Firm and their monkey press. Nothing to see here!

15-12-2011, 08:13 AM
Probably an ex-player with no winners medals :wink:

That hardly narrows it down!!

15-12-2011, 08:52 AM

So this super smart consortium want to keep all there star players so need to buy them before the 10th of January so they don't walk out. Well does that not mean they will have to keep the 800k a month wage bill then??

Surely not:faf:

SvenNeil
15-12-2011, 09:02 AM
That hardly narrows it down!!

True. How about 'ex-hearts legend and racist bawbag with no medals'?

15-12-2011, 09:06 AM
True. How about 'ex-hearts legend and racist bawbag with no medals'?

Nope, still could be any one of about three dozen.

Has his son been charged with assaulting and robbing an elderly Asian shopkeeper by any chance?

PeeKay
15-12-2011, 09:06 AM
The spokesperson for this consortium says they don't think Vlad is serious about selling, but neither are they serious about buying if they are asking UKIO to write-off £30-40million of debt. The bank's profits for last year were £20million so they are being asked to throw away two years of profitability. No business is going to accept that sort of loss. And why are they hiding behind anonimity? Ashamed of something?

15-12-2011, 09:14 AM
Nope, still could be any one of about three dozen.

Has his son been charged with assaulting and robbing an elderly Asian shopkeeper by any chance?

Ex player with lack of insight into planning procedures, such as those governing satellite dishes on houses?

If so, he is surely ideal when it comes to asking the council to turn a blind eye to matters such as health and safety certificates, and unpaid council tax.

The spokesperson for this consortium says they don't think Vlad is serious about selling, but neither are they serious about buying if they are asking UKIO to write-off £30-40million of debt. The bank's profits for last year were £20million so they are being asked to throw away two years of profitability. No business is going to accept that sort of loss. And why are they hiding behind anonimity? Ashamed of something?

Is it possible they don't exist and are merely inventions of some monkey with a typewriter in Glasgow?

15-12-2011, 09:51 AM

I don't know where you saw that the Ukio Bankas had made a profit last year :confused:

According to their audited accounts the Ukio Bankas Group lost 33,496,000 LTL in 2010 and lost 74,997, 000 LTL in 2009. That's roughly
£ 8 million and £18 million . Vlad and his pals have had to fund a couple of share issues to prop up the bank and keep the Laundry open :greengrin

15-12-2011, 10:01 AM
Notice the council paid the £15,000 directly to Hearts. Wonder if they have forwarded this to the Consultants yet? Me thinks no.

I would hope the CEC internal auditors review this payment & ensure there's comprehensive supporting documentation, eg was the contract award a result of an open tender process or was it Carclownie throwing some money at his mates to get the result he wanted?

15-12-2011, 10:47 AM

I hate to say we told you so but...............we told you so!If they need an extra we shove I'm available :greengrin

15-12-2011, 10:53 AM
http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/hearts_launch_fresh_study_into_community_stadium_1 _2007747

Seems their community stadium dream is still alive according to the above.

15-12-2011, 11:16 AM
Someone in the council has decided to issue this today:

http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/edinburgh/around-the-capital/bring_easter_road_out_of_hibernation_1_2010383

As if these are in any way the same?!?

15-12-2011, 11:33 AM
http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/hearts_launch_fresh_study_into_community_stadium_1 _2007747

Did anyone else think the word "con" was missing from the caption under the picture of the stadium?

I actually laughed out loud when I clicked the link and saw a picture of what it might look like.

15-12-2011, 11:42 AM

The stands look like a pair of extra size bras which is very appropriate considering the tits that would be accommodated underneath it.

blindsummit
15-12-2011, 11:46 AM

nice one

im sure there are a few neil young titles that could describe the current hertz debacle.

15-12-2011, 11:47 AM

http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/edinburgh/around-the-capital/bring_easter_road_out_of_hibernation_1_2010383

Build it - will only cost you more money :faf:

You still have to find that site then move from Tynie - that won't happen overnight :blah:

I can still see the Yams moving to Murrayfield before they build their own stadium - as the SRU are in huge debts also and the rent would be easier than getting a brand new stadium with zero money available

:violin: :brokenyam:

proud_and_green
15-12-2011, 11:50 AM
Cracking comment at number 28! "can someone tell me why Hearts can't just pull the old stand down and build a new one?"

I could be wrong, but i think it may have something to do with the fact that they have **** all money!

blindsummit
15-12-2011, 11:52 AM

seems like a feeble ass covering excercise to pretend there is some equanimity.

robinp
15-12-2011, 11:53 AM
Cracking comment at number 28! "can someone tell me why Hearts can't just pull the old stand down and build a new one?"

I could be wrong, but i think it may have something to do with the fact that they have **** all money!

You mean Wonga.com don't do mortgages!? :greengrin

15-12-2011, 11:57 AM

This Cllr Buchanan chap must think we were born yesterday!

15-12-2011, 12:00 PM

As if these are in any way the same?!?What a load of pish, what has any of that got tae do with Hibs or the fact they continually keep trying tae get in tae bed with the gorgie gonads and spend council taxpayers money on them. There could have had some new community facilities and amenities in the area years ago had they not stiffed STF's plans for the Lochend Butterfly.

Smidge
15-12-2011, 12:34 PM
I don't know where you saw that the Ukio Bankas had made a profit last year :confused:

According to their audited accounts the Ukio Bankas Group lost 33,496,000 LTL in 2010 and lost 74,997, 000 LTL in 2009. That's roughly
£ 8 million and £18 million . Vlad and his pals have had to fund a couple of share issues to prop up the bank and keep the Laundry open :greengrin

As far as I know, the debt is actually with UBIG, the parent company of the Yams but not directly related to the bank other than through common shareholders. This is the old "we owe it to ourselves argument". However, UBIG needs to finance its own assets - one of which is no doubt the debt out to the Yams and/or any physical assets that have been transferred - and it would not be a surprise that their funding is by debt from Ukio Bankas. In effect, I think UBIG are acting as an intermediary lender.

Therefore, it there is any danger to the value of the asset on UBIG's books (the Yams' debt) - which there should be as the value of the underlying assets (playing squad and property) will be well below the amount of the debt - then this will impact their facilities with Ukio Bankas, who should then be making provisions against losses. This requires increased capital and could pressurise their liquidity, neither of which they would stand much chance of improving in the current market - particularly the market for Lithuanian banks.

If there has been no provisioning in UBIG's accounts for the discounted value of the Yams' debt, it is likely that this has not knocked onto Ukio Bankas yet. However, recent events suggest that the local regulator is looking closely at bank balance sheets and, if the potential writedown required, either through an insolvency event OR via a sale of the asset (either equity or debt), has not yet been recognised then it is a bubble waiting to burst. I would imagine that it is extremely unlikely that UBIG or Ukio Bankas has sufficient capital to withstand a 75%writedown of the value of ONE asset (on the basis of £40m debt being worth c£10m in a break-up situation).

15-12-2011, 06:59 PM
The off-licence owner knows his stuff. Old Firm fans and their Bucky indeed!

15-12-2011, 09:29 PM
What a load of pish, what has any of that got tae do with Hibs or the fact they continually keep trying tae get in tae bed with the gorgie gonads and spend council taxpayers money on them. There could have had some new community facilities and amenities in the area years ago had they not stiffed STF's plans for the Lochend Butterfly.

It's so they can point to it some time in the future and say "look we're not biased, we can go ahead and spend 40 mill on a stadium for Hearts now". Of course any "help to Hibs" will be some logo saying "Shop In Easter Road" a few leaflets and plenty of "cheese and wine" for themselves - the thieves. They might even make it more "pedestrian friendly" thus messing up the place entirely and having the bonus of putting cash in the pockets of their pals who own all the "DigUpTheRoad" firms which they'll get a slice of - the blaggers. They are proposing less than chicken feed with this initiative, it's lip service.

The only deal acceptable is whatever they spend on the Hearts new rats-nest they give us the same to spend on players. After all the Jams have done exactly that with the money they should have been spending on their death-trap come *****-hole of a ground - the tramps.

16-12-2011, 04:34 PM
That's because their coats on a 'shakey' peg.......,

I see what you did - nice one. :agree: (Following a visit to Google).

16-12-2011, 05:10 PM
I see what you did - nice one. :agree: (Following a visit to Google).

No problem.

Don't let it bring you down.

17-12-2011, 10:20 AM
No problem.

Don't let it bring you down.

It's only Tynecastle burning?

18-12-2011, 09:38 AM
Scottish Suday Express.

Foulkes wants Scottish Government and Edinburgh City Council to rescue hahahahearts

Foulkes wants Hibs fans and club not to stand in the way because "They're sitting pretty in their ground with money from Tom Farmer"

Foulkes doesn't realise its "SIR" Tom Farmer

Foulkes must pinch himself every morning when he realises that enough people have been fooled by him in to thinking he is a credible politician.

I just cannot believe the arrogance and ignorance of this man. When will he get his head round the fact that the club he supports has behaved like the political party he represents, over spent on money that does not exist (in both cases during his tenure in office) and then expects the tax payer to bail him out as if it was a right. Someone send for the nurse please

Would the last man out please turn out the lights :lurksub:

18-12-2011, 09:51 AM
Scottish Suday Express.

Foulkes wants Scottish Government and Edinburgh City Council to rescue hahahahearts

Foulkes wants Hibs fans and club not to stand in the way because "They're sitting pretty in their ground with money from Tom Farmer"

Foulkes must pinch himself every morning when he realises that enough people have been fooled by him in to thinking he is a credible politician.

I just cannot believe the arrogance and ignorance of this man. When will he get his head round the fact that the club he supports has behaved like the political party he represents, over spent on money that does not exist (in both cases during his tenure in office) and then expects the tax payer to bail him out as if it was a right. Someone send for the nurse please

This article is good reading

http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/290623/Romanov-bank-at-heart-of-football-crisis

Caversham Green
18-12-2011, 10:02 AM
Scottish Suday Express.

That begs the question why aren't Hearts sitting pretty in their ground with money from Mr Romanov? He must have 'invested' at least as much as Sir Tom, yet they're still begging for money from the public purse to bail them out.

This scheme would be a non-starter by any rational analysis, but as long as we have half-arsed idiots like Foulkes and Cardownie around I have a niggling feeling it's not going to go away.

Oh, and incredibly that should be "LORD" Foulkes.

18-12-2011, 10:03 AM
Scottish Suday Express.

This fud is the biggest twat ever if he thinks Hibs fans will forget that he used his column in the Evening News to proclaim Hertz entitlement to public acclaim as the big establishment team in Ediburgh, belittling Hibs at every opportunity. I hope he chokes on his next freeby bottle of scotch.

18-12-2011, 11:10 AM
Scottish Suday Express.

:lurksub:

After all the gloating about their financial wealth at one time and now to belittle us for our financial prudence is a scandalous statement imo. To say we are sitting pretty when our financial strategy and good housekeeping has clearly affected the quality of our team beggars belief especially as they
throw wages at players they couldn't afford.

Like most solutions to Hearts problems I have read it appears to be the philosophy of the begging bowl

We must never let buffoons like this peddle this untruth without challenge.

Stonewall
18-12-2011, 11:25 AM
It's only Tynecastle burning?

Just find Romanov is turning.

18-12-2011, 11:40 AM
Scottish Suday Express.

Not heard anything from him in a while. I just assumed that he'd drowned in his own yellow puddle.

18-12-2011, 12:08 PM
This fud is the biggest twat ever if he thinks Hibs fans will forget that he used his column in the Evening News to proclaim Hertz entitlement to public acclaim as the big establishment team in Ediburgh, belittling Hibs at every opportunity. I hope he chokes on his next freeby bottle of scotch.

Exactly - and his wee dig here about them winning the Scottish cup "something that Hibs haven't done"

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/scotland/15799102.stm

This is the Scottish cup that they won during the first 18 months of Vlad's rule, when their debt increased by around £10m IIRC?

18-12-2011, 12:48 PM
That begs the question why aren't Hearts sitting pretty in their ground with money from Mr Romanov? He must have 'invested' at least as much as Sir Tom, yet they're still begging for money from the public purse to bail them out.

This scheme would be a non-starter by any rational analysis, but as long as we have half-arsed idiots like Foulkes and Cardownie around I have a niggling feeling it's not going to go away.

Oh, and incredibly that should be "LORD" Foulkes.

Its not as long as they are in the state they are. It would appear that the meeting between STF/RP and ECC has had the desired effect and now the Hearts big guns (Foulkes?) are firing back. If Foulkes and co decide to get down and dirty and take on Farmer I suspect, like Mercer and Rowland before them, they will come a poor second.

Surely Foulkes, rather then begging money for HOMFC, he should be fighting the corner for the many businesses who are struggling to make ends meet legitimately rather than focus on a poorly managed train wreck owned lock stock by a foreign investor who are in trouble because of their extravagant overspending. .

18-12-2011, 12:55 PM
Scottish Suday Express.

Hibs fans paid for our ground and now this fat **** expects us to pay for a ground for Hearts as well.

Liars, cheats and thieves every last one of them.

18-12-2011, 12:57 PM
http://img580.imageshack.us/img580/9600/pishy2.jpg http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/1998334-middle-finger.jpg

18-12-2011, 03:16 PM
http://img580.imageshack.us/img580/9600/pishy2.jpg http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/1998334-middle-finger.jpg

18-12-2011, 03:34 PM
Is that wee-wee on his trousers ? :greengrin

PapillonVert
18-12-2011, 03:41 PM
Scottish Suday Express.

Foulkes wants Hibs fans and club not to stand in the way because "They're sitting pretty in their ground with money from Tom Farmer":

A factual inaccuracy (but, hey, once a politician.....). STF does not subsidise Hibs. It has long been the stated policy that the Club must break even WITHOUT any cash from STF, i.e. it must be run on a sound commercial basis and raise its own revenue. As STF once said when talking about Hibs and his involvement, "I am not a charity".

I am surprised that Foulke is not aware of this, although it wouldn't surprise me in the slightest if he did know how Hibs are run but is trying desperately to lobby to get public help for the entirely self-inflicted wounds of HoMFC!

The man has no shame.

18-12-2011, 04:13 PM
Complex Financial Message from the world of 50s rock'n'roll has just arrived for a Lord Foulkes

Your Cheatin' Hearts
Will Tell on You

18-12-2011, 04:32 PM
hes a slavering desperate erse

18-12-2011, 04:41 PM
Hibs fans paid for our ground and now this fat **** expects us to pay for a ground for Hearts as well.

Liars, cheats and thieves every last one of them.

Always happy when its someone else's money it seems. Truly glad he is not a Hibby.

18-12-2011, 06:30 PM
i always feel physically sick whenever i see a photo of that grunt foulkes, a thoroughly odious cretin, his coupon all twisted and battered, spitting image of gonzo :jamboak: :trumpet:

18-12-2011, 06:43 PM
i always feel physically sick whenever i see a photo of that grunt foulkes, a thoroughly odious cretin, his coupon all twisted and battered, spitting image of gonzo :jamboak: :trumpet:

All Hibbys should keep a copy of his photo in their wallet just case their attitude towards the yams ever softens.

18-12-2011, 06:49 PM
Is that wee-wee on his trousers ? :greengrinI actually P'shop'd that there, auld pishy breeks would have done it later anyway :greengrin they breeks must have been clean on a few minutes before that photae was taken. :agree:

18-12-2011, 07:23 PM
I actually P'shop'd that there, auld pishy breeks would have done it later anyway :greengrin they breeks must have been clean on a few minutes before that photae was taken. :agree:

18-12-2011, 07:25 PM
Can someone please remind me as I cannot seem to recall assistance for Hibs at the time of our crisis in fact the silence was deafening the sfa would not get involved until after any takeover I do not recall anything from the council.
I used to be quite ambivalent towards their existence but no longer so.
They are and have been lemmings and further imbalanced the playing field with their stance.
We should absOlutely not pick up the pieces and i will be furious as a tax payer if they are bailed our with my money.
The council are shutting waterworld I guess they'll be economic justification for it but where in the he'll is the economic justification for bailing out the yams bearing in mind they are a private company?

19-12-2011, 03:11 PM
I actually P'shop'd that there, auld pishy breeks would have done it later anyway :greengrin they breeks must have been clean on a few minutes before that photae was taken. :agree:

Excelent work! I did a real double take there.

20-12-2011, 03:40 PM
I E-mailed every member of the Economic Development Committee yesterday with my views that the report by DoigSmith was worthless as an independent report as it was written by a share-holder in Heart of Midlothian F C , Stewart Cobb lead partner in DoigSmith. I also pointed out some of the simple glaring errors in the report, Easter Road capacity and Hearts wrongly quoted attendance figures.

I got a reply from Councilor Norma Hart, saying Councilor Rust had raised my concerns during discussions and that the Council Official, Dave Anderson assured the Committee that the report had been subject to "due diligence" from the consultants, whatever good that would do.

At least its out in the open that the "Lets Build a New Stadium for the Yams Report" was written by a Yam shareholder. :greengrin

20-12-2011, 03:48 PM
This Cllr Buchanan chap must think we were born yesterday!Seems a shady character, clearly not changed since his Great Gatsby days :greengrin

20-12-2011, 03:51 PM
I E-mailed every member of the Economic Development Committee yesterday with my views that the report by DoigSmith was worthless as an independent report as it was written by a share-holder in Heart of Midlothian F C , Stewart Cobb lead partner in DoigSmith. I also pointed out some of the simple glaring errors in the report, Easter Road capacity and Hearts wrongly quoted attendance figures.

I got a reply from Councilor Norma Hart, saying Councilor Rust had raised my concerns during discussions and that the Council Official, Dave Anderson assured the Committee that the report had been subject to "due diligence" from the consultants, whatever good that would do.

At least its out in the open that the "Lets Build a New Stadium for the Yams Report" was written by a Yam shareholder. :greengrin

Good work Agent Greenginger.

It's comforting to know that the authors of the Report subjected it "due diligence" and obviously managed to pull the the wool over the eyes of the Council officials.:rolleyes:

But maybe they weren't too bothered eh!

20-12-2011, 05:33 PM
Perhaps a rethink of the thread title is in order. The Yams havent given up yet.

http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/articles/20111220/stadium-update-_2241384_2553925

20/12/2011
Stadium Update

Heart of Midlothian FC has hailed today's decision by the City of Edinburgh Council's Economic Development Committee to approve the findings of the club's stadium development report.

The joint study with the Council looked into the potential redevelopment of Tynecastle as well as the possibility of alternative stadium developments on the west side of the Capital.

The report identified a number of difficulties should the club remain at Tynecastle and recommended research be undertaken into whether the setting up of a brand new, purpose-built community stadium would be viable and sustainable.

With the EDC approving the recommendations, Hearts will now embark on the next phase of the process as the club continues to investigate the possibility of relocating away from Tynecastle.

Welcoming today's decision, Hearts director Vitalijus Vasiliauskas said: "This is very good news as it is the culmination of 12 months of hard work by a lot of people and represents a major step forward in our attempt to find a long-term solution for the future home of the club.

"We are grateful for the support the Council can provide and as the leaders of the project we look forward to playing a prominent role in the next stage of the process.

"This will involve bringing on board globally-recognised advisers with huge expertise in their relevant fields.

"The consultants' report found that Tynecastle does not offer a practical long-term development option for Hearts.

"It is our belief, however, that Scotland's capital city would benefit hugely from a community stadium and that this can be a viable and sustainable facility. We will now treat, as a matter of priority, identifying such a site."

A survey carried out by Hearts on supporters' views should the club have to relocate showed that over 80 per cent of those who responded would accept a stadium move within five miles of Tynecastle, with approaching 70 per cent preferring a site on the west side of the city.

20-12-2011, 06:16 PM
That's their spin on it. There's no more council money for it and it's basically being kicked into the long grass ("further research", "continues to investigate").

20-12-2011, 06:20 PM
Perhaps a rethink of the thread title is in order. The Yams havent given up yet.

20/12/2011
Stadium Update

Heart of Midlothian FC has hailed today's decision by the City of Edinburgh Council's Economic Development Committee to approve the findings of the club's stadium development report.

The joint study with the Council looked into the potential redevelopment of Tynecastle as well as the possibility of alternative stadium developments on the west side of the Capital.

The report identified a number of difficulties should the club remain at Tynecastle and recommended research be undertaken into whether the setting up of a brand new, purpose-built community stadium would be viable and sustainable.

With the EDC approving the recommendations, Hearts will now embark on the next phase of the process as the club continues to investigate the possibility of relocating away from Tynecastle.

Welcoming today's decision, Hearts director Vitalijus Vasiliauskas said: "This is very good news as it is the culmination of 12 months of hard work by a lot of people and represents a major step forward in our attempt to find a long-term solution for the future home of the club.

"We are grateful for the support the Council can provide and as the leaders of the project we look forward to playing a prominent role in the next stage of the process.

"This will involve bringing on board globally-recognised advisers with huge expertise in their relevant fields.

"The consultants' report found that Tynecastle does not offer a practical long-term development option for Hearts.

"It is our belief, however, that Scotland's capital city would benefit hugely from a community stadium and that this can be a viable and sustainable facility. We will now treat, as a matter of priority, identifying such a site."

A survey carried out by Hearts on supporters' views should the club have to relocate showed that over 80 per cent of those who responded would accept a stadium move within five miles of Tynecastle, with approaching 70 per cent preferring a site on the west side of the city.

The spin on their official website is more extreme and unhinged with each passing day. Although it does make you wonder what the Council are saying to them in private.

20-12-2011, 06:49 PM
The spin on their official website is more extreme and unhinged with each passing day. Although it does make you wonder what the Council are saying to them in private.

This makes me wonder as well. You never actually get a quote from the council saying that it is a NON-STARTER. What you get are quotes like we cannot see this happening .. err .. "in their current situation" .. or .. "at this moment in time" .. etc etc. etc.

Of course it could be a smokescreen for Vlad's move from Tynecastle whilst a site is sourced ..
"We needed to free up funds short term to secure a suitable site" (states Vlad in May 2012 after the sale of Tynecastle to developers)

20-12-2011, 06:56 PM
20/12/2011
Stadium Update

:confused: " decision to approve the findings.."

:confused: " approving the recommendations.. "

Welcoming today's decision, Hearts director Vitalijus Vasiliauskas said: "This is very good news ...
:rolleyes: " decision .."?? :confused:

Aaaah! There we go then. That's the essence of it. :greengrin

Firstly the council carries the can if there's any flak from angry jambos at them finally having to leave their dung-heap. Secondly next summer it will be "What do you mean you're not putting any money in, ERC!! You gave us the go ahead to proceed last December!"

I'd love to see what the council's own minute for today's meeting actually says on this agenda item. I fear that something has been added in translation. :greengrin

woody47
20-12-2011, 07:04 PM
Surely if there is any hint of financial improprieties regarding any spending of council money, any Edinburgh resident can report them to some sort of financial ombudsman. The council appear to believe they are untouchable.

20-12-2011, 07:43 PM
So who is paying for this "next phase of the process"?

Hearts, who can't afford to pay their own players?
Or the long suffering council tax payers?

20-12-2011, 07:49 PM
"Due diligence" done?? They cannae even get the bloody capacity of Easter Road rght never mind proclaiming Hearts to be a well run club!!

20-12-2011, 07:56 PM
I saw Eric Milligan in John Lewis today, but he had no opinion to offer about the stadium plan.

Maybe I should have asked him. :dunno:

Benny Brazil
20-12-2011, 08:07 PM
So looking through the report again and the agenda for today's meeting - my reading of this is that the Council have approved the following recommendations on the report:
7.1 It is recommended that Committee:
a.
notes the completion of the report on stadium options for Heart of Midlothian Football Club;
b.
notes the report findings that Tynecastle does not offer a sustainable long term development option for the Club; and
c.
notes that Heart of Midlothian Football Club will be carrying out a study to identify an alternative site for a new, community stadium that is entirely sustainable and would allow a number of parties to share its facilities.

Am I reading this right? :confused:

20-12-2011, 08:13 PM
So looking through the report again and the agenda for today's meeting - my reading of this is that the Council have approved the following recommendations on the report:
7.1 It is recommended that Committee:
a.
notes the completion of the report on stadium options for Heart of Midlothian Football Club;
b.
notes the report findings that Tynecastle does not offer a sustainable long term development option for the Club; and
c.
notes that Heart of Midlothian Football Club will be carrying out a study to identify an alternative site for a new, community stadium that is entirely sustainable and would allow a number of parties to share its facilities.

Am I reading this right? :confused:

Yes, and it is a world removed from the Yam statement. Reason being, the report literally says
a) Councillors are aware that a report has been finished (big deal)
b) The report tells us what we already knew, that Tynecastle is an embarrassment and an eyesore (big deal)
and
© it's up to the Yams to do something about it.

Benny Brazil
20-12-2011, 08:18 PM
Yes, and it is a world removed from the Yam statement. Reason being, the report literally says
a) Councillors are aware that a report has been finished (big deal)
b) The report tells us what we already knew, that Tynecastle is an embarrassment and an eyesore (big deal)
and
© it's up to the Yams to do something about it.

:greengrin Thats pretty much how I read it but you summarised it better

21-12-2011, 11:27 AM
Article in today's EEN about the report being written by a Hearts shareholder.

http://www.scotsman.com/news/jambo_behind_independent_stadium_report_defends_ro le_1_2018712

It includes an interesting quote from Dave Anderson on why Doig Smith were chosen - interesting because previously CEC has responded to FoI that the choice of consultants was a matter for Hearts alone and CEC wasn't part of that process.

21-12-2011, 11:34 AM
Dave Anderson, director of city development at the council, said: “The fact that one of their partners is a shareholder in Hearts is actually a good thing, because it means they have the best interests of the club at heart going forward.

But not necessarily the best interests of the Council/people of Edinburgh.

“The choice of Doig & Smith was made because they have carried out a number of studies of Tynecastle over the years.
“They are a professional company and the fact that one partner is a Hearts shareholder is not a reason not to accept their advice.”

Nice double negative. He doesn't says that it is a good reason to eccept his advice.

Councillor Tom Buchanan, the city’s economic development leader, said: “There was an allegation that this somehow tainted the process. My view is our interest in the report was in the area around Tynecastle and we were not looking at it from the same perspective as Hearts, so this was their issue.”

Hearts director Vitalijus Vasiliauskas said: “We are grateful for the support the council can provide.”

... because we're rooked.

21-12-2011, 11:46 AM
That's like asking me to conduct a study into my own house and offer up an opinion of whether the Council should build me another one for free!

What a joke!

21-12-2011, 11:48 AM

I love the way that Dave Anderson ties to make a virtue out of bias :

Dave Anderson, director of city development at the council, said: “The fact that one of their partners is a shareholder in Hearts is actually a good thing, because it means they have the best interests of the club at heart going forward.

21-12-2011, 11:52 AM

20/12/2011
Stadium Update

Frogs. Box. Mad.

12-06-2012, 11:28 PM
Recognised this guys name......

http://www.scotsman.com/news/scottish-news/top-stories/edinburgh-city-council-director-suspended-1-2351513

Now where did I hear it before? Ahhhhh...........

http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/articles/20111107/stadium-update_2241384_2508476

13-06-2012, 07:15 AM
I am trying hard not to be overly surprised!

13-06-2012, 07:25 AM
Good.

About time this council started looking within it's self.

Too many have interests that can easily conflict with their decision making process.

13-06-2012, 07:30 AM
A corrupt jambo theiving cheat , who would have thought it. :rolleyes:

13-06-2012, 08:05 AM
A corrupt jambo theiving cheat , who would have thought it. :rolleyes:

Nae luck ya hearts cant, bout time !!!

13-06-2012, 08:36 AM
Throw away the key for these bassas! They have been theiving us for years and years and consequently we live in a city which is ridiculously expensive for just about anything.

The crazy decisions made against Hibs over the years by the council along side their efforts to bend over backwards to help the Yams show just how certain corrupt individuals (in these cases corrupt Yams) in the council grew to believe they were untouchable - this has evidently been the tip of the iceberg and every edinburgh council tax payer should have their knives out and sharpenned for these corrupt pondlife. Their greed impacts on the way of life of everyone of us every day and I for one can't wait to see them rot in jail.

13-06-2012, 08:42 AM
The repairs shot up from £9.2m in 2005 to £30m in 2010. Why has this taken so long to sort out? Unbelieveable.

13-06-2012, 08:43 AM
Throw away the key for these bassas! They have been theiving us for years and years and consequently we live in a city which is ridiculously expensive for just about anything.

The crazy decisions made against Hibs over the years by the council along side their efforts to bend over backwards to help the Yams show just how certain corrupt individuals (in these cases corrupt Yams) in the council grew to believe they were untouchable - this has evidently been the tip of the iceberg and every edinburgh council tax payer should have their knives out and sharpenned for these corrupt pondlife. Their greed impacts on the way of life of everyone of us every day and I for one can't wait to see them rot in jail.

Wouldnt put money on that, no doubt the carpet will be lifted and the problem brushed underneath.

13-06-2012, 08:38 PM
Wouldnt put money on that, no doubt the carpet will be lifted and the problem brushed underneath.

wouldn't be so sure, there is apparently a police investigation ongoing and is running at the same time as the councils own staff disciplinary procedures. The council might try and brush it under the carpet but the police won't.

13-06-2012, 08:40 PM
the police won't.

A bit naive. I wouldn't be surprised if the police didn't let them use their carpet and their brush for that matter.

30-10-2012, 10:55 AM
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/rugby/top-rugby-stories/sru-chiefs-seek-murrayfield-stadium-name-change-sponsor-to-help-pay-off-debts-1-2604968

Meanwhile, the SRU is currently examining finding a new home for Edinburgh Rugby.

The professional side has operated out of the 67,500-capacity Murrayfield and frequently struggles to pull more than a few thousand fans to each game.
The new mini stadium at Edinburgh Accies, which would have a capacity of 2500 seated or 5000 standing, has been suggested as a possible future ground in recent months.
However, Mr Dodson suggested that a larger purpose-built stadium may be needed.
He said: “We want to get Edinburgh a new home and so therefore we would not make it [naming rights] contingent on them playing in the national stadium.

“It is important to get a 10-15,000 seater stadium for Edinburgh. We are looking at that with the council and others.

green glory
30-10-2012, 10:59 AM
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/rugby/top-rugby-stories/sru-chiefs-seek-murrayfield-stadium-name-change-sponsor-to-help-pay-off-debts-1-2604968

No surprise. Resist!

30-10-2012, 11:00 AM

I don't see why the council should help Rugby clubs far less "others". Any of these groups could approach the owners of a purpose built 20,000 seater stadium and be told where to go before using Meadowbank.

My understanding is that Edinburgh Rugby stopped using Meadowbank because they felt it lacked atmosphere. Not a good enough reason for the council to bail them out. Also David Murray will probably be in jail and not in a position to offer his land either.

Twiglet
30-10-2012, 11:13 AM

Tgat's something the sru/Edinburgh rugby have been looking into for years. The size of stadium Edinburgh need on a regular basis is not that big. For the Glasgow match at Christmas/new year they need space though no more than 15,000 i reckon. If they go on a good Heineken cup run like last season they could go back to murrayfield.
The size of stadium they were looking at building a few years back i heard was around 15k but they don't have land to build on. The practice pitches were looked at but that went out the window because murrayfield would be affected for playing internationals.
Hearts would surely want something bigger than tynecastle but Edinburgh wouldn't want another stadium where a wee corner was filled each week.

30-10-2012, 11:16 AM
Tgat's something the sru/Edinburgh rugby have been looking into for years. The size of stadium Edinburgh need on a regular basis is not that big. For the Glasgow match at Christmas/new year they need space though no more than 15,000 i reckon. If they go on a good Heineken cup run like last season they could go back to murrayfield.
The size of stadium they were looking at building a few years back i heard was around 15k but they don't have land to build on. The practice pitches were looked at but that went out the window because murrayfield would be affected for playing internationals.
Hearts would surely want something bigger than tynecastle but Edinburgh wouldn't want another stadium where a wee corner was filled each week.

Why should a rugby club get any help from the council? We had to do it ourselves why shouldn't they?

30-10-2012, 11:26 AM
Why should a rugby club get any help from the council? We had to do it ourselves why shouldn't they?

Because folk tend to go into cardiac arrest when asked to actually pay for something these days.

cam75
30-10-2012, 03:37 PM
Oh my sides
Hearts have been trying to move to a new 30,000 seater stadium now for quite some time with fans constantly objecting. A new stadium would allow much higher annual income thus improving the team's finances and boosting their chances of success. Hearts fans shoot themselves in the foot and complain about a lack of success. I just don't get it. I'd love my team to move to a new modern stadium.

green glory
30-10-2012, 03:49 PM
Oh my sides
Hearts have been trying to move to a new 30,000 seater stadium now for quite some time with fans constantly objecting. A new stadium would allow much higher annual income thus improving the team's finances and boosting their chances of success. Hearts fans shoot themselves in the foot and complain about a lack of success. I just don't get it. I'd love my team to move to a new modern stadium.

I'd love that too, oh wait my team have a lovely modern stadium AND a modern training centre.

But most importantly my team have a future.

#maroonsevco

HibbyDave
21-11-2012, 04:48 PM
Posting to see if I get "a Hector" logo too!

It set me thinking about HB Fish..... Dear Rod, " Am ah cummin up the back or up the front"?

I know a few Jumbloids who are still keeping their powder dry in an effort to wait for "the end of all things" when they hope that they can then salvage whats left of their club. I'm torn between encouraging them to contribute now or to hold off.:cb

Hard to see any other outcome than them playing at a much lower level for a year or two and probably renting from ER. Let's hope it's soon and that they are put out of their misery ASAP.

In a capitalist society it's really about time a senior club was simply allowed to fail as happened all those years ago to Third Lanark. For those younger readers, Thirds were a club with a long history etc etc (although they never won two wars mind you).

Devilstorment
21-11-2012, 04:59 PM
Posting to see if I get "a Hector" logo too!

It set me thinking about HB Fish..... Dear Rod, " Am ah cummin up the back or up the front"?

I know a few Jumbloids who are still keeping their powder dry in an effort to wait for "the end of all things" when they hope that they can then salvage whats left of their club. I'm torn between encouraging them to contribute now or to hold off.:cb

Hard to see any other outcome than them playing at a much lower level for a year or two and probably renting from ER. Let's hope it's soon and that they are put out of their misery ASAP.

In a capitalist society it's really about time a senior club was simply allowed to fail as happened all those years ago to Third Lanark. For those younger readers, Thirds were a club with a long history etc etc (although they never won two wars mind you).

You are kidding right? I think they would end up with a cozy deal where they can set up shop in Murrayfield after all they could probably fill it 5 times over if you listen to their delusions of grandeur.

euansdad
21-11-2012, 05:04 PM
You are kidding right? I think they would end up with a cozy deal where they can set up shop in Murrayfield after all they could probably fill it 5 times over if you listen to their delusions of grandeur.

Murrayfield would have to be trebled to accommodate all those fans

21-11-2012, 05:24 PM
Murrayfield would have to be trebled to accommodate all those fans

The council will build a stadium for them, to their spec.

21-11-2012, 06:05 PM

Less chance of that now that Jambo Dave Anderson from the Council city Development Dept. has resigned today. :agree:

21-11-2012, 06:18 PM

No way will the council have the funds to build some 30,000 seat Yamdome. At a push I could see the small proposed stadium for Edinburgh Rugby accommodating them, but I don't see a case for the Council building that, never mind a Hearts one.

21-11-2012, 06:22 PM
Less chance of that now that Jambo Dave Anderson from the Council city Development Dept. has resigned today. :agree:

Excellent!

Or, "Pleasing" with a crap graphic, as a yam might put it.

21-11-2012, 06:24 PM
Less chance of that now that Jambo Dave Anderson from the Council city Development Dept. has resigned today. :agree:good riddance, just for him http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/smilies%202/ltyf.gif

21-11-2012, 06:30 PM
good riddance, just for him http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b168/jamie1971/smilies%202/ltyf.gif

21-11-2012, 08:57 PM
No way will the council have the funds to build some 30,000 seat Yamdome. At a push I could see the small proposed stadium for Edinburgh Rugby accommodating them, but I don't see a case for the Council building that, never mind a Hearts one.

I heard, on good authority, that Edinburgh Rugby would not facilitate Hearts, simply because of mad vald, Hearts demands re how the ground should be set-up; And; Failing to come up with a payment schedule to share costs equally.

21-11-2012, 09:30 PM

He's a St. Johnstone supporter.

Bill Milne
22-11-2012, 07:52 AM
He's a St. Johnstone supporter.

What, in the same way that Chick Young and James Traynor are St Mirren and Airdrie fans respectively ie they are both Huns?

22-11-2012, 08:08 AM
What, in the same way that Chick Young and James Traynor are St Mirren and Airdrie fans respectively ie they are both Huns?

Nah, as in someone who isn't that interested in football but would pick St. Johnstone as his team.

29-11-2012, 01:51 PM
And again IF they are allowed in the 3rd Div, they will then again like the buns be debt free, a couple of Scottish cups better off and Edinburgh City Council will do everything in their power to build/acquire a stadium for them, because Edinburgh cant possibly do without hertz, a pillar of the community that means so much to so many (half a million from what I recall).

Watch this space for the cooncil tae step in, public interest blablaf,nbla,

OH but it would be great to be their landlords.

PAY UP YAMBOLOIDS OR WE´LL KICK YI´S OOT

29-11-2012, 01:58 PM
And again IF they are allowed in the 3rd Div, they will then again like the buns be debt free, a couple of Scottish cups better off and Edinburgh City Council will do everything in their power to build/acquire a stadium for them, because Edinburgh cant possibly do without hertz, a pillar of the community that means so much to so many (half a million from what I recall).

Watch this space for the cooncil tae step in, public interest blablaf,nbla,

OH but it would be great to be their landlords.

PAY UP YAMBOLOIDS OR WE´LL KICK YI´S OOT

There is Zero chance of the council building them a stadium. They are skint and have no appetite for big projects after the trams.

29-11-2012, 05:43 PM
There is Zero chance of the council building them a stadium. They are skint and have no appetite for big projects after the trams.
There is no need to build a stadium. Meadowbank is available for rent!

That was proposed for Hibs back in the day.

29-11-2012, 08:18 PM
There is no need to build a stadium. Meadowbank is available for rent!

That was proposed for Hibs back in the day.

:agree: :top marks

ian omand
08-02-2013, 09:35 AM
Today's newspaper states that the council have announced
their plans to demolish Meadowbank and build a sports complex
at Sighthill. ( So that's why the high flats and maisonettes were
bulldozed ).
It seems our friends across the city could find a nice modern home
for themselves without to much hassle.

Ross4356
08-02-2013, 09:38 AM
I would love them tohave a stadium with a running track round it

08-02-2013, 09:43 AM
That's a disgrace if they demolish it completely, there's plenty wasted space there so they could sell some of it off and re-jig what's there but this side of town needs a place like meadowbank

08-02-2013, 09:43 AM
I would love them tohave a stadium with a running track round it

And a 10,000 seater stadium at best. :wink:

08-02-2013, 09:47 AM
And a 10,000 seater stadium at best. :wink:whatever will the other 390,000 do now? :dunno:

08-02-2013, 09:48 AM
Should Edinburgh City not have dibs on this, as they currently play at Meadowbank?

08-02-2013, 09:50 AM
That's a disgrace if they demolish it completely, there's plenty wasted space there so they could sell some of it off and re-jig what's there but this side of town needs a place like meadowbank

It's a difficult one.

I think Meadowbank (the majority of it anyway) needs demolished, so it makes sense to go for a modern purpose built stadium. There will be arguments all day long as to where they site it but the main factor is always going to be available land and the costs involved. I suspect the council will get more from developers for the site at Meadowbank than they would at Sighthill so it makes sense to utilise this as best they can towards the funding for any new stadium.

Your point about keeping something going at Meadowbank is a valid one, but selling the land as a job lot might just be too much for the (skint) council to pass on.

08-02-2013, 09:57 AM
It's a difficult one.

I think Meadowbank (the majority of it anyway) needs demolished, so it makes sense to go for a modern purpose built stadium. There will be arguments all day long as to where they site it but the main factor is always going to be available land and the costs involved. I suspect the council will get more from developers for the site at Meadowbank than they would at Sighthill so it makes sense to utilise this as best they can towards the funding for any new stadium.

Your point about keeping something going at Meadowbank is a valid one, but selling the land as a job lot might just be too much for the (skint) council to pass on.

I think they could keep the indoor facilities and football pitches but sell off the stadium, the cycling bit, the basketball court area and the javelin area.

I've not read the story so hopefully that's what they're considering.

08-02-2013, 10:01 AM
Wouldn't be at all surprised if the Cooncil entered into some form of Partnership with THEM and Edinburgh Rugby for development of the new "Community" facility at Sighthill.

We'll need to keep a close eye on this one. I suspect that the wheels of skullduggery are already in motion.

:coffee:

steviehibsleith
08-02-2013, 10:08 AM
Make no mistake about what is going on here - as with thier academy, Heriot watt bulid it and we pay a small fee for the facilities and to say our academy. They will do the same with this stadium let the council build it and will use it and the council can maintain it. With ukio bank ****** they will sell the stadium to recoup some money and leave the cheating **** with nowhere to play. And we will be paying for it im raging

08-02-2013, 10:10 AM
I'd like to see in the current climate how a new sports facility could be justified.

Video of latest council meeting.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AEZjzsnPhnw

08-02-2013, 10:15 AM
I think they could keep the indoor facilities and football pitches but sell off the stadium, the cycling bit, the basketball court area and the javelin area.

I've not read the story so hopefully that's what they're considering.
This. Its not the loss of the stadium that's going to affect the east of the city it would be the removal of the indoor facilities that would really hurt. Hopefully that's not the plan but it wouldn't surprise me.

08-02-2013, 10:18 AM
I'd like to see in the current climate how a new sports facility could be justified.

Video of latest council meeting.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AEZjzsnPhnw

This must be the guy that sold the CEC the Trams.

Mikeystewart
08-02-2013, 10:23 AM
For People interested in the effort to keep meadowbank open

http://savemeadowbank.wordpress.com/

08-02-2013, 10:26 AM
This. Its not the loss of the stadium that's going to affect the east of the city it would be the removal of the indoor facilities that would really hurt. Hopefully that's not the plan but it wouldn't surprise me.

08-02-2013, 10:28 AM
Make no mistake about what is going on here - as with thier academy, Heriot watt bulid it and we pay a small fee for the facilities and to say our academy. They will do the same with this stadium let the council build it and will use it and the council can maintain it. With ukio bank ****** they will sell the stadium to recoup some money and leave the cheating **** with nowhere to play. And we will be paying for it im raging

You got it in one :top marks
STINKS doesn't it ?

TrinityHibs
08-02-2013, 10:44 AM
Today's newspaper states that the council have announced
their plans to demolish Meadowbank and build a sports complex
at Sighthill. ( So that's why the high flats and maisonettes were
bulldozed ).
It seems our friends across the city could find a nice modern home
for themselves without to much hassle.

I know you cant trust anything that comes out of the Council but I have seen a couple of plans which show housing replacing the tower blocks that were dropped at the front and the new community stadium was on Sighthill Park. They were also talking about having a smaller replacement facility at Meadowbank but thats probably disappeared to pay for a couple of metres of tram line.

08-02-2013, 10:53 AM
I wonder how many brand new sports stadia the size of Meadowbank could have been built with the money wasted on Labour's vanity Trams project.

08-02-2013, 11:14 AM
Where are you getting this story from?

08-02-2013, 11:26 AM
I have no doubt this yam loving council will railroad "them" in to this proposed stadium for free, it's an absolute nap bet in my book, if that did happen then protest must be loud and clear, no way should they get away with selling that stinking pink dump and get themselves sorted financially through the money generated, I really see this happening by the way, "they" always fall in ****** and come out smelling of roses.

08-02-2013, 11:26 AM
Council are spending £60,000 plus on a feasability study for Meadowbank. How about they don't bother with the charade and just dust down the old plans they spent money on for Hearts.

By the way why do Edinburgh Rugby need a 20,000 stadium when they only get crowds of maximum 7,000. Any larger games could be played ar Murrayfield. Infact why don't Edinburgh Council do the decent thing and keep their noses out of it, let Hearts move to Murrayfield.

Hearts made this mess all by themselves, they can get out it themselves.

08-02-2013, 11:43 AM

I hope not either. Meadowbank is I would imagine the most used of all the council sports centre's and the way the council has neglected it is an absolute disgrace. We keep hearing from government and health authorities about the need to keep fit so I don't see how moving a facility as popular as Meadowbank to the other side of town is going to help. I play squash there every week and there is no way I would be traveling to sighthill to play if it closed

archiebald
08-02-2013, 11:46 AM
Football,rugby,running,speedway back in Edinburgh :agree:

08-02-2013, 11:48 AM
I'd agree that Meadowbank is a bit of a state and couldn't really argue with it being demolished. If they're building a replacement and it's more cost effective to do that at Sighthill then I'd agree that it makes sense to build it there. What really bothers me though is that Meadowbank has been a state for a long time, but it's now, just when the Yams need something like this to help them out, that it looks like coming to fruition. It's bull ****.

hibsmad
08-02-2013, 11:53 AM
It was always my understanding that if a new stadium was to be built then the capacity would be nowhere near 20k and would actually only be around 10k.

If they build a stadium fit for 20-30k fans then it can only be to accommodate them, which at any other time would be bad enough but in this current economic climate it would be nothing short of a disgrace.

If that does happen then I can assure everyone that I will go ****ing MENTAL! :furious::panic:

And I would encourage everyone else to do the same.

08-02-2013, 12:15 PM
Very convenient timing for THEM indeed... :rolleyes:

TrinityHibs
08-02-2013, 12:31 PM
Very convenient timing for THEM indeed... :rolleyes:

Not sure thats correct. Council test viability and go through all necessary stages to commit to a proposal. 12 months if you're lucky. Design the stadium with all community input and committee sign off say 9 months. 3 months Pre Application Notice, 12 months Planning consideration. Develop Design for Building Warrant 6 months. Tender contract and select contractor 6 months. 18 months construction. Whats the chances that the dafties will still be in existence in 5.5 years. Some of the dates might improve but there is nothing allowed for any referral to the Scottish Ministers, Council incompetence or Judicial Review if somebody felt there was some form of procedural irregularity. 5 years for a new Wonga dome is a very inconvenient truth for our banjo playing neighbours.

anon1875
08-02-2013, 12:40 PM
I hope to god they make at least 4 artificial turf pitches at this new sports facility (something similar to toryglen) because there's nothing in Edinbrugh compared to Glasgow and the rest of Scotland when it comes to these pitches for kids. It's impossible to coach the likes of 17s/19s/21s shape work on a grass pitch when your playing on it on the Saturday because it just gets cut up. The lack of council facilities in Edinburgh is a real problem for youth football in the area.

08-02-2013, 12:42 PM
Link :confused:

Any attempt to build Hertz a stadium under the guise of rugby should be resisted all the way. Both Edinburgh Rugby and Hertz should play at Murrayfield.

The east of Edinburgh and Leith shafted again also.

08-02-2013, 12:54 PM
Meadowbank does need upgraded 100%

I would like to see something like the Aberdeen Sports Village - http://www.aberdeensportsvillage.com/

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/north_east/8213660.stm

Or Toryglen with the Indoor pitch and outdoor pitches.

The best idea would be a 10,000 seated stadium for rugby - an indoor / outdoor 3G and maybe some sort of indoor facility where concerts could be held. That would guarantee a popular and successful facility.

rossevenil
08-02-2013, 12:55 PM
Considering they haven`t been paying Council Taxes and rates and whatever how can they be even considered for a facility funded for by people who do pay their Council Tax etc??

No doubt that would be another payment that would never find its way to the council coffers!!

08-02-2013, 12:57 PM
If this is true why are the council paying thousands ofpounds to replace the existing artificial surface which is being expanded to take in the area which was formerly used as tennis courts during the 1986 Commonwealth Games. They have been working on this for weeks.

Seems strange if they are planning to flatten the area.

08-02-2013, 01:12 PM
If this is true why are the council paying thousands ofpounds to replace the existing artificial surface which is being expanded to take in the area which was formerly used as tennis courts during the 1986 Commonwealth Games. They have been working on this for weeks.

Is that what they are doing to the outside bit. Was home at Christmas and it was all dug up, I assume for the above reason

08-02-2013, 01:33 PM
Is that what they are doing to the outside bit. Was home at Christmas and it was all dug up, I assume for the above reason

3G outside :agree:

They have a 3g (6v6) pitch inside also.

Here is the link of the story talking about closing meadowbank - http://local.stv.tv/edinburgh/213134-meadowbank-stadium-earmarked-for-closure-by-edinburgh-city-council/

08-02-2013, 02:02 PM
3G outside :agree:

They have a 3g (6v6) pitch inside also.

Here is the link of the story talking about closing meadowbank - http://local.stv.tv/edinburgh/213134-meadowbank-stadium-earmarked-for-closure-by-edinburgh-city-council/

Maybe im missing something. Why do people think it needs to be demolished? Its a very busy facility.

08-02-2013, 02:07 PM
Maybe im missing something. Why do people think it needs to be demolished? Its a very busy facility.

I think its more the actual stadium part that they want rid off but I can't see how they can do that without demolishing the sports centre. I've heard they are planning a new sports centre on the same site but I will believe it when I see it

08-02-2013, 02:11 PM
its strange their demolishing considering they are currently building brand new astroturf pitches out back?

08-02-2013, 02:26 PM
The halls are packed all day. I'd want to see this reported properly before i believe any of it.

http://www.theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2013/02/council-to-focus-thoughts-on-meadowbank/

ian omand
08-02-2013, 02:36 PM
The halls are packed all day. I'd want to see this reported properly before i believe any of it.

http://www.theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2013/02/council-to-focus-thoughts-on-meadowbank/

Today's Daily Express page 2.

08-02-2013, 02:43 PM
Meadowbank does need upgraded 100%

I would like to see something like the Aberdeen Sports Village - http://www.aberdeensportsvillage.com/

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/north_east/8213660.stm

Or Toryglen with the Indoor pitch and outdoor pitches.

The best idea would be a 10,000 seated stadium for rugby - an indoor / outdoor 3G and maybe some sort of indoor facility where concerts could be held. That would guarantee a popular and successful facility.

Why should they build a stadium for Rugby? The SRU should build their own stadium rather than the taxpayers of Edinburgh.

08-02-2013, 02:50 PM
If theres a stupid plan out there, history shows us City of Edinburgh Council will be first in the queue to put it into practice. It wouldnt surprise me one bit if it happens.

08-02-2013, 02:54 PM
Why should they build a stadium for Rugby? The SRU should build their own stadium rather than the taxpayers of Edinburgh.

Totally agree Kev. A quick whip round of the private schools in Edinburgh and they could build a couple of stands either side of the pitch alongside Murrayfield. We built our stadium with fans money and so should they.

08-02-2013, 03:10 PM

was just about to post the same, there are plenty of other things needing done in the city without spending millions on a stadium for a toffs day out

inglisavhibs
08-02-2013, 03:22 PM

And they have refurbished the inside of the place! All they need now is an indoor running track (old cycling track area) and relay the rest of the main track and we would have a decent facility. The council are under pressure to improve sporting facilities in Edinburgh (compared to Glasgow we are crap) so a new facility at Sighthill may happen although it could be a long way off. On a similar subject I am amazed that Hearts are still being granted a safety certificate for that rickety old shed of a stand.

08-02-2013, 03:28 PM
was just about to post the same, there are plenty of other things needing done in the city without spending millions on a stadium for a toffs day out

That's a very blinkered description of followers of the oval ball game.!

For health & safety reasons I'd recommend that you don't repeat the remark in some of the Border towns where Rugby is still very much the sport of the working man!

fit o' the walk
08-02-2013, 03:32 PM
Wouldn't be at all surprised if the Cooncil entered into some form of Partnership with THEM and Edinburgh Rugby for development of the new "Community" facility at Sighthill.

We'll need to keep a close eye on this one. I suspect that the wheels of skullduggery are already in motion.

:coffee: Spot on watch this space.:confused:

08-02-2013, 03:38 PM

:coffee:

and have been, even longer than since the story surfaced last year. And it WILL be to their spec; 30k stadiumwith no running track.

The whole ****ing thing stinks.

08-02-2013, 03:38 PM
That's a very blinkered description of followers of the oval ball game.!

For health & safety reasons I'd recommend that you don't repeat the remark in some of the Border towns where Rugby is still very much the sport of the working man!

nothing against rugby in the slightest, but in Edinburgh i would state the vast majority of the followers who go are from the public school sector, can't see many other cities offering to build a stadium for what isn't even close to being their main sport imo

08-02-2013, 03:39 PM
Spot on watch this space.:confused:

The word "Community" is key and could be be used by the Council to justify the input of Public funds to develop facilities.

08-02-2013, 03:41 PM
nothing against rugby in the slightest, but in Edinburgh i would state the vast majority of the followers who go are from the public school sector, can't see many other cities offering to build a stadium for what isn't even close to being their main sport imo

I wonder what David Murray is up to these days? -------------- but maybe that's taking the speculation a bit too far.

08-02-2013, 03:43 PM

The word "Community" is key and could be be used by the Council to justify the input of Public funds to develop facilities.

Last time round from the council was that edinburgh also needed a high quality international footballing venue. Eh ... Don't we have 2 - ER and murrayfield?

08-02-2013, 03:58 PM
Here we go again.

The council must find 95million worth of savings over the next five years. Money from central government has dried up and the are actually borrowing money to carry out the basics like road maintenance and school repairs.

refurbishing meadowbank should be the maximum they should be doing given the circumstances. Even a small complex in sighthill would be s gross waste of money. Any stadium similar to ours built with even one penny of taxpayers money would be an absolute disgrace. The blatant bias would make the whole city a laughing stock...but once again, the joke would be on us.

Watch out for "partnerships" that are sold to us as being good for everyone. Make no mistake, these fuds will try and use their position to bail hearts out and they probably would have already if there wasn't so much opposition.

Absolutely rotten.

08-02-2013, 04:08 PM
A typical Saturday down Sighthill way:-

Breakfast Club:- 8:3am - 9:30am.

Creche:- 10am - 11.00am

Library:- 11:15am - midday

Lunch Club:- 12:30 to 13:30

13:30 to 17:00: - Exclusive use of facities by HMFC (rent to be paid in cash and in advance of hire)

It's the way ahead I tell ye.

08-02-2013, 06:05 PM
Would the yam leaning council really bale them out so blatantly with a new stadium ? , surely no ?

08-02-2013, 06:40 PM
Would the yam leaning council really bale them out so blatantly with a new stadium ? , surely no ?

They tried to slip through an " independent report " last year recommending the Council do everything practical to assist HOMFC relocate to a new home on the west side of the city.

If a report like that had been approved by the Committee and adopted by full council, it would have become Council Policy and any Yam loving official could get busy with designs, probable costs and setting aside land for stadium and even getting some snake-oil salesman to prepare a glossy brochure telling everyone of the benefits a new Yam-Dome would have for the City as a whole.

Be vigilant, don't let them get to first base ! :agree:

08-02-2013, 07:04 PM
The idea was that Meadowbank would be sold for housing and a replacement community stadium would be built at Sighthill. That was assumed to be self-financing as the value of land around Meadowbank would be much higher than at Sighthill.

I can't see it happening for years given the state of the housing market. Obviously the City of Edinburgh council think the same or they would not be doing work on the pitches at the moment. It has been planned for years already and continues to slip.

Even if it does happen it will be a like-for-like replacement with around 7,000 capacity and a running track around. If the Yacks want to rent that then good luck to them! They would become the laughing stock of Scottish Football. If they are not that already?

Actually if might suffice if Sevco Edinburgh have to work their way up from the East of Scotland League (Division Two).