Should Drug Addicts Be Chemically Sterilized?

Given the torture suffered by children born to addicts?

What if the drug addict has no children and doesn't plan to? Should they be sterilised just in case?

Drinkers, smokers, overeaters, people not cut out for parenting, the disabled, skint folks, people with genetic diseases - all might possibly pose a risk to kids safety in various ways, inadvertently or otherwise.

Mental idea - Pyongyangesque.
    Last edited by steakbake; 29-01-2015 at 08:45 AM.

Only if they sterilise the women in Africa as well and prevent the born to die cycle.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Only if they sterilise the women in Africa as well and prevent the born to die cycle.
    Whit?!?!?

Well he started it!

Boooooom!!!!!

your a brave guy!!!

Well he started it!
    Haha!

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by judas View Post
    You're on the windup surely?

Long term contraceptive implants amy be more humane and may be accepted willingly.

Given the torture suffered by children born to jambos?
    Sterilise them all I say. Forcibly.

Good grief

You're including tobacco and alcohol addiction in there, I take it.....

Aye it's the way forward, take the choice away from those not capable.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    You're including tobacco and alcohol addiction in there, I take it.....
    Has there ever been a case of a baby being born and suffering withdrawal frm either cigarettes or alcohol? I only ask because I know there have been plenty born suffering the withdrawal of drugs. Genuine question by the way, I agree that all can be damaging during pregnancy.

I have no idea.

I was trying to clarify what the OP meant.

Okay thanks.

Mothers do not share blood with the baby and IIRC babies don't breath air.

Babies pick up the nutrients they need from the placenta so it would depend on what nutrients these were. Good question.

Your post made me laugh. I immediately got a vision of the baby coming out and saying to the midwife "'Ave you gotta light?"
    Space to let

Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    Mothers do not share blood with the baby and IIRC babies don't breath air.

Babies pick up the nutrients they need from the placenta so it would depend on what nutrients these were. Good question.

Your post made me laugh. I immediately got a vision of the baby coming out and saying to the midwife "'Ave you gotta light?"
    Haha I was thinking that too as I typed it. :-)

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    You're on the windup surely?
    Chucks a wee grenade in here every now and again.

I'm sure the thread question was also suggested by the Nazis at some point, alongside the disabled and more. Hitler will have been happy that the idea didn't die with him.

Foetal Alcohol Syndrome is a known thing. There was a debate recently about whether it should be made illegal for pregnant women to drink during pregnancy, I'm not sure how that came about or turned out.

My parents used to do foster care and there were a large number of children who came to their care who were suffering developmentally because of their alcoholic or drug addict parent.

I don't advocate sterilisation however.

Quote Originally Posted by Sergio sledge View Post
    Foetal Alcohol Syndrome is a known thing. There was a debate recently about whether it should be made illegal for pregnant women to drink during pregnancy, I'm not sure how that came about or turned out.

My parents used to do foster care and there were a large number of children who came to their care who were suffering developmentally because of their alcoholic or drug addict parent.

I don't advocate sterilisation however.
    You're right. A friend of mine is one of the foremost researchers in the UK.

“A proper low rent guy” - Springbank 21/10/24 easty's Avatar

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by peter douglas View Post
    Sterilise them all I say. Forcibly.
    they should do it in the same clinic that they cut off thieves hands. It just makes sense.
    Last edited by easty; 29-01-2015 at 01:27 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    they should do it in the same clinic that they cut off thieves hands. It just makes sense.
    then we can have protests against IS and worry about the radical Islamification of society.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    Just shoot them, the softly softly approach has failed.

United we stand here....

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    I "listened" to some chap the other day prattling on about stopping Indians/Chinese people from breeding altogether as they were single-handedly responsible for the rise in global population and depletion of resources/harming of the environment...

Unbelievably, people who were with him were in total agreement.
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Interesting map showing population distribution in Asia and elsewhere:

Sorry for being slightly off topic.

Quote Originally Posted by Sylar View Post
    I "listened" to some chap the other day prattling on about stopping Indians/Chinese people from breeding altogether as they were single-handedly responsible for the rise in global population and depletion of resources/harming of the environment...

Unbelievably, people who were with him were in total agreement.
    I hope that never happens, what would happen to our takeaways? ;-)

What if an addict takes steps to turn their life around, kicks their habit and stays clean?

If they have already been sterilised what happens in that situation? Is permanent infertility an acceptable punishment for poor lifestyle choices?

Quote Originally Posted by HappyAsHellas View Post
    Interesting map showing population distribution in Asia and elsewhere:

Sorry for being slightly off topic.
    I'm thinking tactical nuclear strike.