Page 237 of 239 FirstFirst ... 137187227235236237238239 LastLast
Results 7,081 to 7,110 of 7170
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuart93 View Post
    It doesn’t really to be honest.

Aye they’re signing loads of randoms but it’s being done using their new analytics model. Whether that’ll prove to be a success or not is anyone’s guess.

Our recruitment strategy a couple years ago was an owner giving his laddie free range in a position he was never qualified to be in.
    This was never going to be an eggscellent strategy.

Funny how we just assume that the Hertz new analytics will work for them. I can't imagine that giving a bumper contract to a chronically unfit striker heading into his 30s scores highly with Jamestown so I'm not convinced they have a coherent plan at this stage.

[QUOTE=Hibby Kay-Yay;7995454]Potential young strikers from EPL and Championship clubs:

4. Josh Sargent (Norwich City, 25)
    • Profile: Proven Championship striker—31 goals in 55 matches over two seasons
    • Development Need: At 25, he needs consistent minutes to maintain form; Norwich may consider a loan.
    • Fit for Hibs: Would bring clinical finishing and consistency to Hibernian’s attack.

'Daniel ****e accelerates new Leeds swoop to sign Josh Sargent' Daniel ****e has shown interest in Sargent for the last 18 months iirc, i'm sure Norwick knocked back at least one bid from Leeds last season

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby Kay-Yay View Post
    Potential young strikers from EPL and Championship clubs:

Premier League Candidates

1. William Osula (Newcastle United, 21)
    • Profile: A tall (1.93 m) Danish-born forward, 21, with pace and aerial threat 
    • Development Need: Only 1 Premier League goal in 14 matches; clearly needs regular first-team exposure ().
    • Fit for Hibs: Would add physical presence and a cutting edge to Hibernian’s frontline.

2. Daniel Jebbison (Bournemouth, 21)
    • Profile: Former Sheffield United prospect now in Bournemouth’s books. Had a mixed loan spell at Watford this season ().
    • Development Need: Limited game time in Championship; would flourish with more responsibility.
    • Fit for Hibs: A raw centre-forward with strength who could flourish with consistent minutes.

3. Evan Ferguson (Brighton, 20)
    • Profile: Highly touted Irish talent who underperformed on loan at West Ham this season.
    • Development Need: Needs confidence and minutes, both of which are achievable at Hibs.
    • Fit for Hibs: A confidence boost in Scotland could help reignite his trajectory.

🔵 Championship Sparks

• Development Need: At 25, he needs consistent minutes to maintain form; Norwich may consider a loan.
    • Fit for Hibs: Would bring clinical finishing and consistency to Hibernian’s attack.

5. Mihailo Ivanović (Millwall, 22)
    • Profile: Serbian striker who finished the season on fire—7 goals in 7 straight matches.
    • Development Need: A full season under his belt in the Scottish Premiership could show whether he’s Championship-ready permanently.
    • Fit for Hibs: Natural goalscorer with a keen instinct and rising profile.

6. Lewis Dobbin (Everton, 20)
    • Profile: Versatile forward/winger, regularly on Everton’s bench but rarely playing 
    • Development Need: Needs first-team minutes to convert potential into productivity.
    • Fit for Hibs: Could inject energy on the flanks or through the middle, adding flexibility.
    Big fan of the optimism, but no chance in us getting many/any of those names.

Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    Bet his agent knows as well.
    Forgot about agents, I’d imagine he’ll Ken aye

Quote Originally Posted by Centre Hawf View Post
    Such a bizarre situation for Kyogo. Could have stayed at Celtic and been arguably their most important forward since Henrik Larsson, won countless trophies, played multiple more seasons in Europe. Now all of a sudden he'll be kicking about the Championship which I'm not overly sure will suit him as a player.
    From a football perspective I thought it was a bit of a weird move at the time. Similar with Kuhn going to Como, although they have a few quid behind them.

Players are often desperate to get away from Scotland when, actually, the teams they play for here are the best clubs they play for in their career. Understand it if there’s serious money involved but, if you think of us, there aren’t that many players leave and play for bigger or better clubs.

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    From a football perspective I thought it was a bit of a weird move at the time. Similar with Kuhn going to Como, although they have a few quid behind them.

Players are often desperate to get away from Scotland when, actually, the teams they play for here are the best clubs they play for in their career. Understand it if there’s serious money involved but, if you think of us, there aren’t that many players leave and play for bigger or better clubs.
    Agree, I think it's the perception of the Scottish league that can be a bit of a turn off for some players.

Quote Originally Posted by 04Sauzee View Post
    This rumour doesn't want to go away 😅

Mercato: Scottish Club 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 Hibernian Football Club have made a $200,000 bid to Sfax to sign Guinean defender Balla Moussa Verratti Conté 🇬🇳. The Tunisian Club demands $2 million to let the player go.

Simba SC Tanzania is very interested in the profile.
    Conte's You Tube snapshot looks decent. I see a definitive defensive midfielder who knows the position well with a decent level of composure, ball control and passing range. I think his presence in our midfield would provide confidence to the likes of Levitt, Manneh and McGrath to focus on their creative skills as part of a blended midfield with Mulligan's drive another option in there unless he's occupied as a wing back. I'd take him.

Quote Originally Posted by badabing67 View Post
    I think he would be a useful addition, wouldn't be against it
    After watching a fair bit of his highlights I wouldn’t against the idea either , looks a decent player. Hopefully Triantis makes a decision soon or we just move on to other potential targets like this one .

This posted on ready to go about Triantis

Just asked him if he’ll be here next year (sat next to him at Woods on Tynemouth front street) and he said he really doesn’t know. I’m sure my encouragement will have swayed him if any part of it is up to him…

Triantis | Page 26 | RTG Sunderland Message Boards

So Hertz have re-signed their ***** fat striker and now sold their player of the year YET they are going to win the league next year.

Aye ok. Hahaha.

Quote Originally Posted by joe breezy View Post
    Who gives a ****** about Hearts

If people want to discuss them they should start their own I can’t stop thinking about Hertz thread

I’m not here for that crap

Well said that man. Two full days and more of this pish. Nauseating.

•Profile: A tall (1.93 m) Danish-born forward, 21, with pace and aerial threat 
    •Development Need: Only 1 Premier League goal in 14 matches; clearly needs regular first-team exposure ().
    •Fit for Hibs: Would add physical presence and a cutting edge to Hibernian’s frontline.

•Profile: Former Sheffield United prospect now in Bournemouth’s books. Had a mixed loan spell at Watford this season ().
    •Development Need: Limited game time in Championship; would flourish with more responsibility.
    •Fit for Hibs: A raw centre-forward with strength who could flourish with consistent minutes.

•Profile: Highly touted Irish talent who underperformed on loan at West Ham this season.
    •Development Need: Needs confidence and minutes, both of which are achievable at Hibs.
    •Fit for Hibs: A confidence boost in Scotland could help reignite his trajectory.

Championship Sparks

•Profile: Proven Championship striker—31 goals in 55 matches over two seasons
    •Development Need: At 25, he needs consistent minutes to maintain form; Norwich may consider a loan.
    •Fit for Hibs: Would bring clinical finishing and consistency to Hibernian’s attack.

•Profile: Serbian striker who finished the season on fire—7 goals in 7 straight matches.
    •Development Need: A full season under his belt in the Scottish Premiership could show whether he’s Championship-ready permanently.
    •Fit for Hibs: Natural goalscorer with a keen instinct and rising profile.

•Profile: Versatile forward/winger, regularly on Everton’s bench but rarely playing 
    •Development Need: Needs first-team minutes to convert potential into productivity.
    •Fit for Hibs: Could inject energy on the flanks or through the middle, adding flexibility.
    Sure I read Jebbison has been loaned out to Preston ??

Quote Originally Posted by Donegal Hibby View Post
    A player that’s very interesting , watched a fair bit of him on utube and think he’s similar to Triantis in his style of play…

https://youtu.be/GWC439t64XI?si=HAe1_yCVXGX072nv

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/ball...pieler/1106691
    From the Konte Mali Magician to Conte the Guinean…Gandalf? Looks a player.

Just asked him if he’ll be here next year (sat next to him at Woods on Tynemouth front street) and he said he really doesn’t know. I’m sure my encouragement will have swayed him if any part of it is up to him…

From a player pov, I just can't see much upside to Triantis if he chose to stay at Sunlun this year - as much as I rate him as a player, he's not going to get anywhere near their first team this year as they fight it out. The club clearly think the same with the signings they've made/looking to make.

He'll be leaving them this summer for sure. Hopefully it's to us.

Again I think Triantis and his agent are playing a waiting game to see if any other clubs/offers come in for him which they are quite entitled to do but it’s not something we can afford to let drag out , getting to the stage were I’m hoping we are now looking at alternative targets.

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post

Without blowing smoke up Celtics backside. I think unless you really back yourself to move up a level and compete properly in a top 5 league at a European chasing team at least, or it's a huge pay day opportunity, then I wouldn't really like to play many places else.

For my money moving from say a key figure at Celtic to go compete at the bottom end of Ligue 1 in Kyogo's case just seems like a huge backwards step.

Summer transfer thread 2025

Would love it if we could sign him (Triantis).
    I understand players and agents waiting for the best deal.

It’s a job and a short lived career - gotta make hay while the sun shines

Championship club players were getting £20k a week a while back

My pal is director of Nottingham Forest and said £20k a week was norm at a time I was speaking to him about wages eg Cummings on around that at the time.

Last edited by joe breezy; Today at 01:07 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Souter96Mac View Post
    From a player pov, I just can't see much upside to Triantis if he chose to stay at Sunlun this year - as much as I rate him as a player, he's not going to get anywhere near their first team this year as they fight it out. The club clearly think the same with the signings :athey've made/looking to make.

He'll be leaving them this summer for sure. Hopefully it's to us.
    Op - Good find bud
    So if he doesn't know and with the £s his club are throwing about, Triantis situation will be small beer to them.

The agent will be doing his job and shopping him around to get the best wage possible for his future, and you can't blame him for that.

Quote Originally Posted by Unseen work View Post
    Surely there’s a mix up in currency conversion and the two clubs are t just that far apart 🤣
    Exactly. And I don’t know much about the Tanzanian league, but would be surprised if multi million fees are common there.

Quote Originally Posted by Donegal Hibby View Post
    Again I think Triantis and his agent are playing a waiting game to see if any other clubs/offers come in for him which they are quite entitled to do but it’s not something we can afford to let drag out , getting to the stage were I’m hoping we are now looking at alternative targets.
    For me, I’d say he would be stupid not to try and see what the premier league team think of him. But they have spent £45m on 2 defensive midfielders already and I’m sure we’ll see a decision after a week maybe?

@hibs.net private member JohnM1875's Avatar

PSN ID: johnmac1875
    Triantis isn't nearly ready to play English Premier League football.

Fair enough if he wants to wait and see what the new manager thinks of him before deciding to move on a loan or permanent. For example, if the manager doesn't fancy him, move on a perm. If he does, go out on loan and gain more experience.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    We could never ever get Osula, Ferguson, Sargent or Ivanovic. I'd be surprised to be able to get Dobbin or Jebbison either to be honest.

I'm sure Celtc are being linked with Ferguson. Sargent was one of the top scorers in the Championship last season!
    That Sargent one was bizarre. Why would Norwich be letting a guy like that go anywhere?

• Profile: A tall (1.93 m) Danish-born forward, 21, with pace and aerial threat 
    • Development Need: Only 1 Premier League goal in 14 matches; clearly needs regular first-team exposure ().
    • Fit for Hibs: Would add physical presence and a cutting edge to Hibernian’s frontline.

• Profile: Former Sheffield United prospect now in Bournemouth’s books. Had a mixed loan spell at Watford this season ().
    • Development Need: Limited game time in Championship; would flourish with more responsibility.
    • Fit for Hibs: A raw centre-forward with strength who could flourish with consistent minutes.

• Profile: Highly touted Irish talent who underperformed on loan at West Ham this season.
    • Development Need: Needs confidence and minutes, both of which are achievable at Hibs.
    • Fit for Hibs: A confidence boost in Scotland could help reignite his trajectory.

🔵 Championship Sparks

• Profile: Serbian striker who finished the season on fire—7 goals in 7 straight matches.
    • Development Need: A full season under his belt in the Scottish Premiership could show whether he’s Championship-ready permanently.
    • Fit for Hibs: Natural goalscorer with a keen instinct and rising profile.

• Profile: Versatile forward/winger, regularly on Everton’s bench but rarely playing 
    • Development Need: Needs first-team minutes to convert potential into productivity.
    • Fit for Hibs: Could inject energy on the flanks or through the middle, adding flexibility.
    Heard of Jebbison and definitely Ferguson from that EPL list.

As for the Championship I can't believe Josh Sargent is surplus at Norwich, I've seen games where he was a standout for them, I would be amazed if he came anywhere near us. Definitely heard of Dobbin at Everton ( probably because of his unusual surname ) but the last time I looked Everton were still in the EPL

Of that lot Jebbison is probably the only realistic name and only because he's a BKs group player, unless Sevco are interested of course. The lad at Millwall sounds interesting, but why they would farm out a guy with 7 in his last 7 is anybody's guess.

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Souter96Mac View Post
    Sounds like Goodwin is building his usual huddy XI at United this summer.
    I think Goodwin has a very good transfer record in Scotland.

I note that Dave Cormack was claiming Aberdeen’s analytics team were responsible for two high profile ones he signed there. But I find it interesting that a good few of Dundee Utd’s signings since Goodwin went there were from a very similar market to his time at the Dons - and Aberdeen have gone almost full Scandinavian since Thielin came in.

Be interesting to see how it all plays out.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by EH21Hibee View Post
    For me, I’d say he would be stupid not to try and see what the premier league team think of him. But they have spent £45m on 2 defensive midfielders already and I’m sure we’ll see a decision after a week maybe?
    What are they going to learn about him in a week of pre-season? I’d imagine the first week will mostly be testing and fitness work.

If he has been told he’ll get a chance to impress throughout the pre-season i would agree but there’s nothing significant he can do to impress them in the first week imo.

If I was him I’d be targeting a loan to a decent English Championship club.

Rangers being busy again

UPDATE: Rangers are close to agreeing a loan deal for Wolves centre-back Nasser Djiga.

It’s understood any deal would be straight season-long loan.

#RFC hope to have the Burkina Faso international over for a medical in the coming days.

#WWFC

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    What are they going to learn about him in a week of pre-season? I’d imagine the first week will mostly be testing and fitness work.

If he has been told he’ll get a chance to impress throughout the pre-season i would agree but there’s nothing significant he can do to impress them in the first week imo.

Very good points, just trying to stay positive I guess. Just think they want one last look before they decide if they want to keep, sell or loan out again

Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    Exactly. And I don’t know much about the Tanzanian league, but would be surprised if multi million fees are common there.
    I'm confused. Are we looking at someone from the Tanzanian league or are you confusing that with the guy playing in the Tunisian league?

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post

I suspect that is what will happen. As a young player with ambitions to progress who has impressed in his season and a bit at Hibs, he will likely be thinking he has done enough with us to now try and step a rung up the ladder. You've got to keep testing yourself - as frequently as possible - until you reach your ceiling. I doubt very much he will think that Hibs is his ceiling.

Sevco will romp the league next season

anyone with a spare few quid should get on bet365 and thank me at the season end :)