Page 123 of 138 FirstFirst ... 2373113121122123124125133 ... LastLast
Results 3,661 to 3,690 of 4139
    I’d be massively underwhelmed with that if I was a Hearts fan.

Pleasing.

Quote Originally Posted by Nutmegged View Post
    I'm weary about just assuming this guy is hopeless, he came through the coaching ranks at Liverpool and must've been very highly regarded to be trusted to fill in for Klopp on a couple of occassions, the fact Gerrard took him to Villa with him to also suggests that he must've been highly thought of within Liverpool, because I doubt Gerrard just plucked him from Blackpool because he had a good season.

He might be a manager that's playing style is suited to a big team, rather than one expected to scrap and bleed for every point, I don't no much about him at all other than what I've read, on the one hand it isn't too eye catching, on the other, there's a lot to suggest he's highly rated, hopefully it tanks and he's a disaster.

There have been loads of guys, either managers or players, with something very impressive sounding on their cv’s like that that have turned out to be not that impressive. Agree though it might also mean that he does have something. Time will tell!

Quote Originally Posted by Paulie Walnuts View Post

Pleasing.
    Let’s just make sure he’s under serious pressure after the derby, before we make too many assumptions

I would be beyond concerned we made that appointment. Great opportunity to get him off to a stinker and some early pressure by winning the upcoming derby.

I almost never feel confident going into a derby and this one is no exception but even I can feel that a win is much more likely than usual.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar

Pleasing.
    I’m going to go against the grain here and suggest it’s not as hilarious appointment as it first may seen.

For all that we scoff at the data analytics, I assume they’ll have looked at it the type of manager they wanted and is suited to the current squad, presumably they’ve looked at what he’s good at and calculated it’s a good fit for what they are wanting to achieve.

I’ve long felt you can’t judge a manager based on their career to date, it could be their management style or how they want to play was completely at odds with what the current squad allowed them to do. My understanding of data analytics is for exactly this purpose, dig a bit deeper than their Wikipedia page to establish why they were a success or failed previously and compare that to the job they are wanted for.

I actually mentioned him as a possibility to become our manager as I felt he met the criteria Malky Mackay spoke about when he first came in (then chose to ignore).

Also think for all we are laughing at him, he’s far better qualified than our own manager so I find it difficult to be too smug about the appointment.

From what you gather, he wasn't identified by the analytics side - he applied and the jambos board preferred him to the analytics database choices.

He has a lot of the Shaun Maloney about him - a good coach and no2, but not got the natural personality for a No1

That's not intended as a criticism about Shaun. I really wanted him to succeed but his natural skillset is suited to being an elite team's training ground coach (a la Belgium) more than it is being a decent team's manager.

Critchley's career suggests the same - not many people choose to give up being their own man as a manager to join another club as Assistant, when he joined Villa.

That maybe tells you a big story about this fella.

Hope we hand him the very worst possible start to life in Edinburgh at the upcoming derby.

Pleasing.
    They are ! Going from Per Mathias Hogmo to Neil Critchley has got to be a kick in the stones to them ….

https://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index...d-appointment/

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    I’m going to go against the grain here and suggest it’s not as hilarious appointment as it first may seen.

For all that we scoff at the data analytics, I assume they’ll have looked at it the type of manager they wanted and is suited to the current squad, presumably they’ve looked at what he’s good at and calculated it’s a good fit for what they are wanting to achieve.

I’ve long felt you can’t judge a manager based on their career to date, it could be their management style or how they want to play was completely at odds with what the current squad allowed them to do. My understanding of data analytics is for exactly this purpose, dig a bit deeper than their Wikipedia page to establish why they were a success or failed previously and compare that to the job they are wanted for.

I actually mentioned him as a possibility to become our manager as I felt he met the criteria Malky Mackay spoke about when he first came in (then chose to ignore).

Also think for all we are laughing at him, he’s far better qualified than our own manager so I find it difficult to be too smug about the appointment.
    By all accounts their current squad is part of the problem - imbalanced, over-reliant on an out of form striker and unsuitable for the rigours of a large number of games whilst they are still in Europe.

I'm sure he may well be a competent manager but will he get time? As a non-household name, he'll have 400,000 on his back before he gets the chance to make his mark on the dodgy squad.

Quote Originally Posted by Donegal Hibby View Post
    They are ! Going from Per Mathias Hogmo to Neil Critchley has got to be a kick in the stones to them ….

Going for a record breaking... 3rd championship trophy in 10 to 15 years

The new yoyo club! LOVE IT!!!

They ended up looking a bit daft offering Hogmo the job when they couldn't hope to match his salary demands.

Critchley looks no better or worse than the calibre of manager any Scottish club outwith Celtic or Rangers could attract. Reasonable enough overall record on paper so he might do OK.

"Accused of overcomplicating an over coaching, accused of being stubborn and sticking to a 3-5-2 no matter what. Accused of making players worse’s, doesn’t like players shooting from outside the box" Neil Montgomery?

Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    They ended up looking a bit daft offering Hogmo the job when they couldn't hope to match his salary demands.

Critchley looks no better or worse than the calibre of manager any Scottish club outwith Celtic or Rangers could attract. Reasonable enough overall record on paper so he might do OK.
    I don’t suppose anyone really knows how any managers will do though they certainly have came out of this looking stupid IMO after the talk of a manager with a good pedigree that they couldn’t afford to this one who’s been sacked at his last two jobs were the feedback from the fans at his previous clubs is less than positive ….

https://avftt.co.uk/index.php?thread...as-gone.55458/

You’d be hard pushed to say he’s much of an upgrade on their previous two managers who had a higher win percentage than he’s got … nothing against the guy though if he goes there I hope he fails miserably and we see a lot more results like this one only this time with the team wearing a s***** maroon colour….

https://youtu.be/0XamtEEWwJs?si=FjdrxSW_OaGr0voZ
    Last edited by Donegal Hibby; 14-10-2024 at 02:16 PM.

I don’t suppose anyone really knows how any managers will do though they certainly have came out of this looking stupid IMO after the talk of a manager with a good pedigree that they couldn’t afford to this one who’s been sacked at his last two jobs were the feedback from the fans at his previous clubs is less than positive ….

https://avftt.co.uk/index.php?thread...as-gone.55458/

You’d be hard pushed to say he’s much of an upgrade on their previous two managers who had a higher win percentage than he’s got … nothing against the guy though if he goes there I hope he fails miserably and we see a lot more results like this one only this time with the team wearing a s***** maroon colour….

https://youtu.be/0XamtEEWwJs?si=FjdrxSW_OaGr0voZ
    Yep, there are no guarantees with any boss. Mowbray and Stubbs were gambles but worked our great. Other young inexperienced managers not so much.

Managers never having worked in Scotland before can be an issue and I thought we got the balance right with Jack Ross, who had been successful here with two clubs prior to gaining good 'big club' experience at Sunderland (where his record was actually pretty good).

FA make formal contact with Pep Guardiola re England job

Man City Boss is out of contract in the summer

Livescores

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post

Livescores
    Hope they don’t get Pep , with him at the helm with the quality of players they have I think they would certainly win tournaments.

Critchley.

Never heard of him up until last week. Had a wee look on the dark side and at the end of last week there was even a thread titled 'Critchley' and the posts were not very complimentary. Posts such as 'will hand in my season ticket if it's him' and would be 'A Hibs type of appointment'

Needs to get off to a better start than our new manager has or the Yam will be stopping their charity donations.
    Last edited by Hibees1973; 15-10-2024 at 11:39 AM.

Pleasing.
    Only time will tell, I'll reserve judgment for now.

Who is this Anna Litics they keep going on about? Apparently she played a big part in the appointment.😁

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibees1973 View Post
    Critchley.

Never heard of him up until last week. Had a wee look on the dark side and at the end of last week there was even a thread titled 'Critchley' and the posts were not very complimentary. Posts such as 'will hand in my season ticket if it's him' and would be 'A Hibs type of appointment'

Needs to get off to a better start than our new manager has or the Yam will be stopping their charity donations.
    The "Hibs type appointment" criticism is really funny because it is so true.

Livescores
    Thomas Tuchel heavy favourite today

Quote Originally Posted by GreenNWhiteArmy View Post
    Thomas Tuchel heavy favourite today
    Livescores now reporting Tuchel a done deal

@hibs.net private member DarlingtonHibee's Avatar
    Livescores now reporting Tuchel a done deal
    Roll on Alan Brazil 6am tomorrow 😊

Quote Originally Posted by DarlingtonHibee View Post
    Roll on Alan Brazil 6am tomorrow 😊
    Thats the only way he gets on these days.

Good appointment for England. He's exceptional in cup competitions.

Dungeons

The ten German bombers song might be a tad difficult for them now.

Aye and we've all seen this script before.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    Critchley might or might not be a good appointment for them but it has a ring of the 'Lee Johnson' about it.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    Critchley might or might not be a good appointment for them but it has a ring of the 'Lee Johnson' about it.
    In what way?

Totally different career paths between Johnson and Critchley. Critchley is a well respected coach that has worked his way through the coaching ranks but achieved minimal success as a first team coach. LJ went straight into first team management and actually enjoyed some decent successes at most clubs he was at before coming to us.

In what way?

Totally different career paths between Johnson and Critchley. Critchley is a well respected coach that has worked his way through the coaching ranks but achieved minimal success as a first team coach. LJ went straight into first team management and actually enjoyed some decent successes at most clubs he was at before coming to us.
    They are both English. That's it. The end.

It's like every English lower league player we sign is the same.