Page 382 of 474 FirstFirst ... 282332372380381382383384392432 ... LastLast
Results 11,431 to 11,460 of 14208

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

Could it not be that manufacturers are making shoes smaller these day? Definitely the case with Adidas, I was always an 11, now need a 12 or even 12.5. Got a new pair of Gazelles the other day and measured against an old pair they are notably smaller.
    Could be but even flip flops and slippers (yeah I wear slippers) ? Ive had to go up a full size from 8s to 9s

My feet went up a size after I had children, and I was told that ligaments can loosen in pregnancy, and sometimes don't return to normal afterwards. Maybe this can happen for non-pregnancy reasons?

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    Could be but even flip flops and slippers (yeah I wear slippers) ? Ive had to go up a full size from 8s to 9s

Yeah, some of it could be explainable by a change in sizes by manufacturers, but I can't imagine that covers the poster whose shoe size went up from 8 to 11 (I think).

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    Yeah, some of it could be explainable by a change in sizes by manufacturers, but I can't imagine that covers the poster whose shoe size went up from 8 to 11 (I think).
    No thats quite a significant increase 😵

I get that tops and trousers are a mare when it comes to sizing, I bought 2 identical Adidas tops size wise but surprise surprise, one is bigger/looser than the other, ****ing so annoying 🤬

Just people in general.

Driving home tonight down a country road and some fud has launched their entire McDonald’s order out the car window.

Just made me think “what the **** is wrong with people” it wouldn’t even cross my mind to do that and yet some people don’t even give it a second thought, littering in general just does my tits in. Just keep it in your car, hand, shopping bag until you get home or find a bin.

Self entitled *****.

Quote Originally Posted by SaulGoodman View Post
    Just people in general.

Driving home tonight down a country road and some fud has launched their entire McDonald’s order out the car window.

Just made me think “what the **** is wrong with people” it wouldn’t even cross my mind to do that and yet some people don’t even give it a second thought, littering in general just does my tits in. Just keep it in your car, hand, shopping bag until you get home or find a bin.

Self entitled *****.
    I hate littering and it must make up a sizeable chunk of my contribution to this thread.

It's just so selfish and there is no mitigation for it at all. It's a wilful choice to make a mess of shared spaces. I don't even buy the 'there aren't enough public bins' line. That may be correct but if you were able to carry a take away, bottle of water or whatever else when it was full then doing the same when it is empty isn't beyond you. Selfish, lazy and if it was up to me repeat offenders who were caught would be made to go out and clear up the mess they helped create as some kind of community payback.

Could it not be that manufacturers are making shoes smaller these day? Definitely the case with Adidas, I was always an 11, now need a 12 or even 12.5. Got a new pair of Gazelles the other day and measured against an old pair they are notably smaller.
    Stop bringing sense into this discussion and let us all have good moan about our growing feet. 🤣

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    I hate littering and it must make up a sizeable chunk of my contribution to this thread.

It's just so selfish and there is no mitigation for it at all. It's a wilful choice to make a mess of shared spaces. I don't even buy the 'there aren't enough public bins' line. That may be correct but if you were able to carry a take away, bottle of water or whatever else when it was full then doing the same when it is empty isn't beyond you. Selfish, lazy and if it was up to me repeat offenders who were caught would be made to go out and clear up the mess they helped create as some kind of community payback.
    I hate it too.

Someone, somewhere mentioned that you can tell a lot about someone if they're rude to waiting staff. I think you can tell a lot about someone who drops litter too.

Totally unnecessary.

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    I hate it too.

Someone, somewhere mentioned that you can tell a lot about someone if they're rude to waiting staff. I think you can tell a lot about someone who drops litter too.

Totally unnecessary.
    Brought both kids up to always take litter home if there's no alternative. Can't remember the last time I did it deliberately, probably school in the 70s.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    It’s genuinely not that with me as shoes that once fit don’t fit any more.

It wasn't until I started cycling during the original lockdown that I noticed how big a problem littering actually is . The amount of stuff dumped is shocking and it's down to pure laziness , have these people no pride in their surroundings? Or are they just ignorant?

Quote Originally Posted by davy67 + View Post
    It wasn't until I started cycling during the original lockdown that I noticed how big a problem littering actually is . The amount of stuff dumped is shocking and it's down to pure laziness , have these people no pride in their surroundings? Or are they just ignorant?
    What really gets me is that it is always local people who dump their rubbish from their cars as if they assume it is ok to do that. I see it near me , inevitably going out of town.

Growing up in the countryside, I remember only really noting children constantly littering when I moved into a busier town for high school. It was portrayed as cool to just not give a **** and drop your litter while I would always make the ‘effort’ to walk a few yards to the bin. Always liked the idea of tougher enforcement/punishment for littering back then.

Even remember having a kick about and one of the boys finishing his ice pole while playing and dropping the empty plastic on my local pitch. Still annoys me to this day 😂

Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post
    Growing up in the countryside, I remember only really noting children constantly littering when I moved into a busier town for high school. It was portrayed as cool to just not give a **** and drop your litter while I would always make the ‘effort’ to walk a few yards to the bin. Always liked the idea of tougher enforcement/punishment for littering back then.

Even remember having a kick about and one of the boys finishing his ice pole while playing and dropping the empty plastic on my local pitch. Still annoys me to this day 😂
    I remember having a proper argument with a guy on a mountain when I chased after him after he dropped a banana peel and I
    asked if he realised he had dropped it. He went on about it being natural roughage and that it was biodegradable.

It might be natural roughage in Tenerife or South America but on a Scottish mountain that is -1 at the summit in June it's probably not. And everything is biodegradable, even plastic, it just takes a long time. A banana peel will survive for well over 2 years, even longer in the cold. I don't know if he was at it or just a bit thick but either way I really don't get why it was so much effort to just do what I ended up doing and sticking it in the side pocket of a bag and putting it in the bin later.

I probably mentioned this the last time littering was discussed on here, but I was honestly quite shocked at how much litter there was on our streets when I moved back to Scotland from Germany .

It must have been after living for six years in a country where this isn't such an issue that made me realise how bad it is here. I presume this is down to cultural differences, as you genuinely rarely see somebody throwing their litter in the streets over there.

It's a real shame, because I'd imagine the vast majority of people do bin their rubbish but all it takes is for a small percentage of yobs to ruin it for everybody else.

If only we had a scheme that encouraged recycling of rubbish such as glass bottles ...

Littering, fly tipping and not picking up dog **** are things that would genuinely make me think less of a person.

A bit like if they’re a rangers fan.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    People who wear rucksacks that pirouette like a ballerina in confined places like on the tube and slap people in the puss with their smelly sock laden portable walking baskets.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    People who wear rucksacks that pirouette like a ballerina in confined places like on the tube and slap people in the puss with their smelly sock laden portable walking baskets.
    Private school bairns on the train with their hockey bags as well. Harsh because they’re just kids I know but they really piss me off. Hold that ****in bag still Hugo you little ****

QR codes on packaging that interferes with scanning the barcode at a supermarket self scanner. “We do not recognise that item”. So you have to cover the QR code with your finger to make it scan. So annoying.

This is a very specific wife-based moan.

She has a credit card with Tesco which she uses for fuel and food when she shops at Tesco. She accrues points, while spending money that we would have spent anyway, and she pays it off there and then so it never runs in to interest payments. In theory.

However, she always forgets to pay it off because she's running to work or has the kids or whatever, and thats fine, I forget stuff all the time.

But then it accrues more and more, meaning that at the end of the month when I'm looking at the balance thinking "ooh we've got some extra savings this month", it then is required for the credit card.

It does my bloody head in and would prefer not to take the Tesco points and she just shops from our joint account so I can see the ins and outs without £300 suddenly getting wiped out to pay off the credit card.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    This is a very specific wife-based moan.

She has a credit card with Tesco which she uses for fuel and food when she shops at Tesco. She accrues points, while spending money that we would have spent anyway, and she pays it off there and then so it never runs in to interest payments. In theory.

However, she always forgets to pay it off because she's running to work or has the kids or whatever, and thats fine, I forget stuff all the time.

But then it accrues more and more, meaning that at the end of the month when I'm looking at the balance thinking "ooh we've got some extra savings this month", it then is required for the credit card.

It does my bloody head in and would prefer not to take the Tesco points and she just shops from our joint account so I can see the ins and outs without £300 suddenly getting wiped out to pay off the credit card.
    Can you not just set it up to pay off your balance automatically?
    Mon the Hibs.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Self sealing cold meat packs. Aye right.

Randoms who want to connect with you on LinkedIn and immediately follow that up with a message saying something like:

- would you like to try our new XYZ system at a discounted rate/trial basis?
    - my organisation has carefully curated content that could save you £££s
    - when would be a good time to arrange a call to discuss out new amazing HR system?

and on and on

seriously, sod off! If I wanted these things, I’d go looking for them. It’s like door to door sales folk on speed

Quote Originally Posted by McD View Post
    Randoms who want to connect with you on LinkedIn and immediately follow that up with a message saying something like:

- would you like to try our new XYZ system at a discounted rate/trial basis?
    - my organisation has carefully curated content that could save you £££s
    - when would be a good time to arrange a call to discuss out new amazing HR system?

and on and on

seriously, sod off! If I wanted these things, I’d go looking for them. It’s like door to door sales folk on speed
    Yep... and recruitment consultants that message you on LinkedIn saying "I'm working on behalf of a client on this amazing role and looking at your profile, you'd be a perfect fit"... really? It is at least 3 steps up the ladder for me and would be a £30k pay rise.

Another LinkedIn one for me is the people that have a really cringe headline under their name on their profile. Things like "connecting customers to their culinary desires" (you answer the phone at Pizza Hut), "software artisan" (you are a developer), "adding value through enabling people's imagination" (you work on the popcorn stand at a cinema).

Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    Yep... and recruitment consultants that message you on LinkedIn saying "I'm working on behalf of a client on this amazing role and looking at your profile, you'd be a perfect fit"... really? It is at least 3 steps up the ladder for me and would be a £30k pay rise.

Another LinkedIn one for me is the people that have a really cringe headline under their name on their profile. Things like "connecting customers to their culinary desires" (you answer the phone at Pizza Hut), "software artisan" (you are a developer), "adding value through enabling people's imagination" (you work on the popcorn stand at a cinema).

I used to be a Transparent Wall Maintenance Operative.

Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post
    Can you not just set it up to pay off your balance automatically?
    How can you do that?

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    How can you do that?
    Most cc companies I've seen offer you the chance to set up a recurring payment to either pay the minimum or the full balance. Have a look in the online account somewhere.

the first is usually followed by completely ghosting you when you aren’t wanted by the client

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    I got one of those via email the other day except they were offering to half my salary and send me to peebles for the privilege. To be fair, the company offered a free lunch though.
    Mon the Hibs.