Page 381 of 474 FirstFirst ... 281331371379380381382383391431 ... LastLast
Results 11,401 to 11,430 of 14208

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ErinGoBraghHFC View Post
    I’d never seen homeless people outside of Edinburgh, Glasgow, London, Manchester etc until a few weeks ago when I went to Asda in one of Glasgows satellite towns and there was a wee guy sat outside with his blanket and his dug. Definitely seems to be on the rise if you’re getting homeless folk begging this far out of the city. There does definitely seem to be more homeless in Glasgow than Edinburgh from my experience as well though.

Slightly related but when I was maybe 19 I bought my mrs a rose from one of those Eastern European women that go around Glasgows nightclubs at closing time, but I didn’t have any change so broke a tenner for it. Soon as she gave me the change all her pals appeared out of nowhere asking for money, must be a coordinated thing.

I was amazed to see a guy sitting on the pavement with a paper cup outside the hotel opposite the maybury casino the other week.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    I was out in Glasgow yesterday, it’s been a while since I was through there day drinking, but the state of the homeless/begging problem in Buchanan Street, and around about it, is pretty shocking. So much worse than I’ve ever seen in Edinburgh.

Loads of people begging in the old fashioned, sitting on the pavement, way but there were loads just wandering about the outside bar bits asking folk for money.

Impossible to know what the stories behind them being in that situation are, but it’s a ***** state of affairs to have that problem to that extent in Scotland.
    Why do a lot of them sit next to a cash machine, are they expecting folk to hand over notes of cash, latest one I have seen is the guy sitting outside R/S McColls at Drylaw shops, in one of the poorest areas in Edinburgh I just can’t see him getting many sheckles.

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    Why do a lot of them sit next to a cash machine, are they expecting folk to hand over notes of cash, latest one I have seen is the guy sitting outside R/S McColls at Drylaw shops, in one of the poorest areas in Edinburgh I just can’t see him getting many sheckles.

Personally, I find that a bit dodgy.

I've seen a lot of people looking nervous about using the cash machine when there's a 'beggar' sitting right next to it.

No idea why this annoys me so much but a boy who stays across the street from me washes his car three times a week, waters his grass daily and even power washes his fence weekly. Who could be arsed?! Guy needs a hobby ffs

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    No idea why this annoys me so much but a boy who stays across the street from me washes his car three times a week, waters his grass daily and even power washes his fence weekly. Who could be arsed?! Guy needs a hobby ffs

Sounds like he needs to get more than just a hobby

That's probably his hobby.

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    That's probably his hobby.
    Well his hobby is annoying and he should stop enjoying himself then

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    The Co-op putting every order for delivery on Deliveroo/Uber Eats as if there is an age restricted product in your order when there isn't. I always forget and the delivery driver asks for ID which is never on me so I have to go hunting round the house for my wallet. When I say to the delivery driver "I've bought some meat, veg and cheese, why do I need ID?", the response is "the shop says there an age restricted item in there".

Before anyone asks, yes I know it is lazy and an expensive way of buying things but I was gripped by the play-off game yesterday and fancied a beer but needed stuff for last night/this morning.

On the topic of ID, surely I look old enough that they could just take my DoB to input into their machine. I know it is challenge 25, but in a few months time on my birthday I will be as close to 60 as I am to 18.

@hibs.net private member EH6 Hibby's Avatar
    Some of the best programs I’ve ever watched being exclusive to Apple TV. It means that practically no one else has seen them. It’s so frustrating trying to talk to people about a series that you know they will love but there’s next to no chance of them watching it.

Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    The Co-op putting every order for delivery on Deliveroo/Uber Eats as if there is an age restricted product in your order when there isn't. I always forget and the delivery driver asks for ID which is never on me so I have to go hunting round the house for my wallet. When I say to the delivery driver "I've bought some meat, veg and cheese, why do I need ID?", the response is "the shop says there an age restricted item in there".

Before anyone asks, yes I know it is lazy and an expensive way of buying things but I was gripped by the play-off game yesterday and fancied a beer but needed stuff for last night/this morning.

On the topic of ID, surely I look old enough that they could just take my DoB to input into their machine. I know it is challenge 25, but in a few months time on my birthday I will be as close to 60 as I am to 18.
    I'm 30 and still get asked for my ID.

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post

I never get asked for my ID!

Just d***heads in general.

Was at the shops tonight with the bairns. Guy in car in front of me is flying through the car park far too fast for how busy it is. Parks in the last parent and child space with no kids. Both go in to do our shopping and we came out just after him. He gets to his car, loads the boot with shopping then just dumps the trolley in a disabled space behind his car. Sits for a minute or 2 to finish a can of juice that he then launches out the window and off he speeds roaring right across the zebra crossing as he goes. Indicators are of course a no go when he exits the car park.

Seriously how can someone get to 50 or so and still basically be a belligerent teenager mentally? It was like watching a 13 year old showing off how edgy he was to his mates. How can such a **** have gone through life without ever being given a sore face?
    Last edited by Pretty Boy; 05-06-2023 at 05:21 PM.

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    Those ‘easy to peel off’ stickers that are on tubes of wrapping paper now.

They are anything but easy to peel off!

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar

Was at the shops tonight with the bairns. Guy in car in front of me is flying through the car park far too fast for how busy it is. Parks in the last parent and child space with no kids. Both go in to do our shopping and we came out just after him. He gets to his car, loads the boot with shopping then just dumps the trolley in a disabled space behind his car. Sits for a minute or 2 to finish a can of juice that he then launches out the window and off he speeds roaring right across the zebra crossing as he goes. Indicators are of course a no go when he exits the car park.

Seriously how can someone get to 50 or so and still basically be a belligerent teenager mentally? It was like watching a 13 year old showing off how edgy he was to his mates. How can such a **** have gone through life without ever being given a sore face?
    By simply not being challenged probably. Like feral animals, it's a learned behaviour. If they act in a way that gets +ve re-enforcement, they do it again. If the behaviour is challenged, even those with the most limited capacity and hard of thinking organisms eventually change their ways.
    I wouldn't say I was the most confident in approaching these folk, not because I fear a smack in the coupon but you just know an argument is coming and it's just not healthy for those that suffer anxiety. Sarky passive/aggressive comments however, I can just about manage.
    "Mate, you've left your kid in the car! Buddy, you've dropped something" etc...

Same, cannae grow a beard to save myself.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

What a cock.

Some people just are. Never been challenged in life, probably had lots of things fall in to his lap so never has to self analyse and work on themselves and probably had a natural affinity for being a ******.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

The close season... nae fitbaw!

I'm almost 70 and in the USA I'm regularly asked for ID. One young girl looked at my drivers licence (about to expire on age grounds) and said there is no proof. She wouldn't accept the DOB being different. And she thought it was a British Columbia document. All this for a pint!

Quote Originally Posted by stuart-farquhar View Post
    I'm almost 70 and in the USA I'm regularly asked for ID. One young girl looked at my drivers licence (about to expire on age grounds) and said there is no proof. She wouldn't accept the DOB being different. And she thought it was a British Columbia document. All this for a pint!
    I truly believe that, I got into a bar in the US when I was 20 with my pals Spanish passport ffs. Their two reactions to seeing any sort of foreign document seems to be to either; **** themselves and just let you in because they’re overly sheltered from the rest of the world so don’t understand the date format, or to just dismiss it as not being proof because they’re too thick and stubborn to understand or learn the date format that 99% of the world uses. That’s before I get onto the fact their drinking age is 21?! Puritans eh

That Donkey on the Listerine advert on Channel 4

Packaging, my Wife ordered me a t shirt, came home from work to find a Royal Mail card through the letterbox saying “parcel in storage bunker” our postie is good, he has access to our side gate and sticks our parcels away rather return them to the depot

Anyway, a t shirt, it came in a cardboard box measuring 1 foot by 6” deep, what the **** !! You could literally fold the t shirt up and stick it in your back pocket, ****ing waste 🤬 I suppose though the box was cardboard and better than coming wrapped up in the customary plastic

'Back in the day'.

To me it sounds like a phrase that references something from long, long ago, maybe WW1 or the Victorian Era....

...but people use it to reference stuff that I can still vividly remember, and might even have been there.

Bloody cheek!

Pointless repeats. I mean repeats of pointless on BBC that were first aired just a few weeks ago that it's more remembering the answers rather than knowing them.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    The fact my feet have grown three sizes in the past two years in my late 30s. I’ve been an 8 (sometimes a 9) for my entire teenage/adult life. I’m now an 11. It’s not swollenness or anything either. The length has grown. I bought a pair of 9s online last year that were way too small. Exchanged them for a 10. They were fine. Now too small. Toes curled up against them. It’s not even a particular brand (which I thought it was at first). It is across the board.

I didn’t think that happened at my age!

The fact my feet have grown three sizes in the past two years in my late 30s. I’ve been an 8 (sometimes a 9) for my entire teenage/adult life. I’m now an 11. It’s not swollenness or anything either. The length has grown. I bought a pair of 9s online last year that were way too small. Exchanged them for a 10. They were fine. Now too small. Toes curled up against them. It’s not even a particular brand (which I thought it was at first). It is across the board.

I didn’t think that happened at my age!
    I feel your pain mate, I thought it was just me. I was an 8 for years, never put any thought into it until I bought trainers and suffered toe crush. Went for 8.5 only for that to be short lived and Im now a 9. Even had to upsize my holiday flop flips too 🤬

That happened to me, all through most of my adult life a size 8, now generally a 9.5

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    The fact my feet have grown three sizes in the past two years in my late 30s.
    Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    I was an 8 for years, never put any thought into it until I bought trainers and suffered toe crush. Went for 8.5 only for that to be short lived and Im now a 9.
    Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    That happened to me, all through most of my adult life a size 8, now generally a 9.5
    Aye, me too. Was a size 8 from teen to mid-40's then I've jumped up to a 9 or 10 depending on the footwear.

I’m the same, feet seem to have grown a full size in the last few years.

ife also been having some issues which may be gout which has caused swelling as well

Could it not be that manufacturers are making shoes smaller these day? Definitely the case with Adidas, I was always an 11, now need a 12 or even 12.5. Got a new pair of Gazelles the other day and measured against an old pair they are notably smaller.

Was thinking the same. I've been buying the same brand of hiking shoes for years and I now have to get a full size larger than I did around ten years ago (was 8.5 now 9.5). I doubt very much my feet have grown.

I was gonna add something about the waist size on my jeans, but that's a different story.