Page 348 of 484 FirstFirst ... 248298338346347348349350358398448 ... LastLast
Results 10,411 to 10,440 of 14514
    @hibs.net private member MagicSwirlingShip's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by allant1981 View Post
    Even in those 18 games he only played 10 full games, the guy might just have been behind better players and will be a cracking signing for them but if we were signing a player like that we wouldnt be happy
    4 year deal could be the final nail in Leveins coffin if he’s another complete dud. In a wierd, round a bout, twisted way, I kind of want him to be a nobad player. #LeveinMustStay

Quote Originally Posted by Alex Trager View Post
    Where does the boy play?
    Never heard of him to be honest.

I presume that means they won’t get Glen whelehan or whatever his name is
    He could be excellent but not only have I never heard of him I've never heard of most of his previous clubs. Hawrts could only ever afford him or Whelan, personally I wish they had got Whelan but there was an interesting quote that said Yams " could not afford a substantial fee". I also heard a suggestion that some potential add ons for the Rolf transfer may have been set off against this. Our rivals are not as flush as some would indicate.

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    If you had just said this in the 1st place there would have been no problems. You also didn't say he was good, instead you just posted " Halkett is superb". When people asked you what you based this opinion on you tied yourself in knots & even in this post you contradict what you said previously. I posted previously I think Halkett is decent but as I live in London I've never seen him live. I also thought Souttar, Naismith & potentially Washington are excellent signings for them but I certainly wouldn't say they were superb. Conversely I think Berra is a liability, as he showed in the cup final. With the obvious exception of SJM I also wouldn't say any Hibs players in the last 5 years or so were superb although plenty have provided superb/sublime moments. I do my best to view every player objectively. My objection is to posters on here who denigrate our players & praise opposition players at every opportunity. You're certainly not the worst but IMO it was an ill thought out & troll like comment re Halkett.
    What makes it 'troll like' - the fact that you don't like it?

@hibs.net private member Unseen work's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    I’m always a bit sceptical why if he’s as good as you say other English championship sides never snapped him up.

I know you could say the same about all our signings, I just struggle to worry about signings like this, they rarely turn out as good as people fear.
    Im not saying he is going to be the best player in the league, just that he will be a good signing for hearts as imo his style will suit the Scottish game.

Get where you’re coming from about other teams wanting him, however you could say the same about Ambrose, Stokes, Scotty Allan etc.

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    If you had just said this in the 1st place there would have been no problems. You also didn't say he was good, instead you just posted " Halkett is superb". When people asked you what you based this opinion on you tied yourself in knots & even in this post you contradict what you said previously. I posted previously I think Halkett is decent but as I live in London I've never seen him live. I also thought Souttar, Naismith & potentially Washington are excellent signings for them but I certainly wouldn't say they were superb. Conversely I think Berra is a liability, as he showed in the cup final. With the obvious exception of SJM I also wouldn't say any Hibs players in the last 5 years or so were superb although plenty have provided superb/sublime moments. I do my best to view every player objectively. My objection is to posters on here who denigrate our players & praise opposition players at every opportunity. You're certainly not the worst but IMO it was an ill thought out & troll like comment re Halkett.
    How has he tied himself in knots?

He’s consistently praised Hearts signing of Halkett and backed his opinion up by saying he’s seen him play for Livi on numerous occasions over the years.

I’d be interested to see what evidence you have of TH denigrating our players and praising opposition at every opportunity. From what I’ve seen, Halkett is the only Hearts signing he’s praised.

Let’s face it, all that has happened here is that you’ve let a pre-conceived notion of a poster you’ve decided you don’t like influence you’re reaction. If the best you’ve got against him is the fact he used different words in different posts to mean ‘good’ then that says everything you need to know about how ridiculous your argument is.

Whether you like it or not, having a different opinion is not trolling.

Nae signings then?

Quote Originally Posted by Turnbullsmate View Post
    I get that Fil . i just equate Arithmetic with numbers i.e. addition,subtraction, multiplication and division whereas Pure (?) Mathematics is about formulae which means a headache for me. Keep it simple i say
    Or calculus. I always say to Yanks let's do the sums. That annoys them.

Quote Originally Posted by Wee Effen Bee View Post
    I’m asking why so many posters are suggesting that Rangers away will prove whether he have the right players or not? 2/3 now have said something about Hecky/new players being found out on Sunday! Surely Sunday’s game won’t be the barometer for the success or failure of the summer’s recruitment process. It will be over the course of a few games - not one of the most difficult away games in the league!

We'll have what we want to achieve in the league this year which is probably ideally 3rd with 4th and Europe a decent season.

The management team will have a good idea of what's needed to achieve that in terms of results in each of the matches:
    St Mirren at home will be down as we should definitely be getting 3 points.
    Celtic and Rangers away any points got would exceed expectations in that our targeted position wouldn't require any points from those games.

Deciding our manager/recruitment policy is a failure if we lose on Sunday or that we're going to win the league if we win is nuts.

Quote Originally Posted by FilipinoHibs View Post
    Math! They understand Math!

Quote Originally Posted by The_Horde View Post
    I've seen Virgil Van Dijk do the same. Point?
    The point was you said he was outstanding against the old firm last year........he clearly wasnt. He was at fault for at least one, if not two goals. If thats your definition of supberb/outstanding then maybe you are right after all

@hibs.net private member Sean1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by calumhibee1 View Post
    He played just over half their league games the season they got promoted. If he only played half he must have either spent a lot of time injured or a lot of they appearances were most likely off the bench.

Joe Newell by comparison has played a hell of a lot more games at that level than this guy, is a couple years younger and people don’t rate him so far.

I know nothing about the guy, he might be class, but his pedigree is only really decent and that’s about it.
    He has a foreign name though which makes him sound more exotic and exciting. If Joe Newell was called Jose Newalldo I genuinely reckon he wouldn't be getting half the stick he is.

Brandon Barker at Ibrox having medical

Source: SSN

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Math! They understand Math!
    No just simple sums🙄

No new signings then?

No just simple sums🙄

No new signings then?
    No

Not a bolt

Middleton to be announced Sunday night or Monday apparently

Absolute cat crash stuff here. Time to log out again I think.

I wonder if you go over to Kickback you will find Jambos trying to persuade everyone there that Allan is a superb signing. Very much doubt it. Why would you on a Hearts forum. This place is just weird as f at times.

Quote Originally Posted by Gordy M View Post
    The point was you said he was outstanding against the old firm last year........he clearly wasnt. He was at fault for at least one, if not two goals. If thats your definition of supberb/outstanding then maybe you are right after all
    A fair point, but I didn't say he excelled in every single game against the OF.

But he was superb when they kept clean sheets on 3 other occasions against both uglies. Sure he even got MOTM in one or two.
    Last edited by The_Horde; 09-08-2019 at 10:37 AM.

I’m always a bit sceptical why if he’s as good as you say other English championship sides never snapped him up.

I know you could say the same about all our signings, I just struggle to worry about signings like this, they rarely turn out as good as people fear.
    Because it's Hearts. Remember Sean Clare turned down EPL teams for them

Steven Gerrard confirms Glenn Middleton will join HIBS next week on loan

SSN
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 09-08-2019 at 11:07 AM.

@hibs.net private member Unseen work's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Barman Stanton View Post
    Absolute cat crash stuff here. Time to log out again I think.

I wonder if you go over to Kickback you will find Jambos trying to persuade everyone there that Allan is a superb signing. Very much doubt it. Why would you on a Hearts forum. This place is just weird as f at times.
    It’s a transfer thread where people are giving their opinions on signings. Hardly surprising people are discussing other teams transfers, some just don’t like the thought of other teams making good signings.

Quote Originally Posted by My_Wife_Camille View Post
    At the end of the day, all our signings are ****ing dynamite and all Hearts and Aberdeen’s signings are pish and if you disagree you are a yam troll #GGTTH #HIBSfamily #HeckysAtTheWheel
    Don't think anyone is saying that. I just don't get excited at Hearts signings I don't know much about.
    Naismith is a good signing if he can stay fit. That is a big if bearing in mind his recent injury record.
    I have only really seen Halkett playing against us and never thought he was outstanding but he was decent in a very disciplined side for the first half of the season. He was then part of a side that had relegation form for the second part of the season and were crap away from home on grass pitches. Hence my lack of excitement.
    If the rumours are correct and they signed Lafferty again I would think of that as a good signing even although he is a total bellend.
    I just am not a guy who gets excited at other teams signings and can't wait to knock our own ones because I have not heard of them.
    Last edited by PatHead; 09-08-2019 at 10:36 AM.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    **** the hearts

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    Don't think anyone is saying that. I just don't get excited at Hearts signings I don't know much about.
    Naismith is a good signing if he can stay fit. That is a big if bearing in mind his recent injury record.
    I have only really seen Halkett playing against us and never thought he was outstanding but he was decent in a very disciplined side for the first half of the season. He was then part of a side that had relegation form for the second part of the season and were crap away from home on grass pitches. Hence my lack of excitement.
    If the rumours are correct and they signed Lafferty again I would think of that as a good signing even although he is a total bellend.
    Some sense at last. Can we close the thread and open a new one?

Just noticed David Bates has gone to Sheffield Wednesday on loan from Hamburg.

For someone complaining about racism on Hibs.net recently, this is a pretty careless comment.

Quote Originally Posted by jacomo View Post
    For someone complaining about racism on Hibs.net recently, this is a pretty careless comment.
    Don't start that again. It ruined one thread already.

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Some sense at last. Can we close the thread and open a new one?

We need to wait for the dust to settle after the EPL window SLAMMED shut last night. Hopefully the rumours will pick up again soon.

I really want to sign Mulumbu.

**** the hearts
    The most sensible post on this thread in a couple of days!!

@hibs.net private member Victor's Avatar
    **** the hearts
    And Halkett!!!

Brandon Barker at Ibrox having medical

Source: SSN
    Shame, like him as a player and will improve them.

Steven Gerrard confirms Glen Middleton will join HIBS next week on loan

SSN
    Good news and hope he does well.