View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 645 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 1455455956356436446456466476556957451145 ... LastLast
Results 19,321 to 19,350 of 45185
    Quote Originally Posted by Crazyhorse View Post
    This is something I can't understand either signing guys on £7k a week to play in the 3rd division seems like financial suicide. Am I right in thinking the embargo means they can't even sell a player if they need to? The costs of running an operation like Rangers which doesn't seem to have 'downsized' at all despite the circumstances surely will lead to administration again. Unless of course they decide to pay staff using EBT's

You make a good point there !!
    Interestingly I have spoken , in the last couple of days, with a couple of Sports Journo's , one from Edinburgh and one from Aberdeen, and they both spoke of a ' Sugar Daddy ' prepared to top up wages for a season ala Tom Hart /George Best in order to offset any shortfall.
    Nothing wrong in that as long it is all legal and above board .

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Crazyhorse View Post
    This is something I can't understand either signing guys on £7k a week to play in the 3rd division seems like financial suicide. Am I right in thinking the embargo means they can't even sell a player if they need to? The costs of running an operation like Rangers which doesn't seem to have 'downsized' at all despite the circumstances surely will lead to administration again. Unless of course they decide to pay staff using EBT's
    Technically it's a registration embargo so they can't buy but can get rid!

Like you, I think money could become an increasing issue

Quote Originally Posted by jdships View Post
    You make a good point there !!
    Interestingly I have spoken , in the last couple of days, with a couple of Sports Journo's , one from Edinburgh and one from Aberdeen, and they both spoke of a ' Sugar Daddy ' prepared to top up wages for a season ala Tom Hart /George Best in order to offset any shortfall.
    Nothing wrong in that as long it is all legal and above board .

Those two words are the important ones.

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by StevieC View Post
    The original "punishment" was deemed to be illegal, as I said "an SFA/SPL cock up".
    I suspect that if it was back-dated to original tribunal date there would be legal connotations. They had to reach a compromise and that compromise has been to allow them to get players in for div 3 instead of div 2 next season.

Personally I think it will be harder for them to attract players in the next few weeks than it would be next summer as div 3 champions.
    They will need to pay a decent wage to compensate playing in div 3 and they will need to pay it for at least 2 years.
    In one judge's view but not in another judge's view(twice). SFA backed down.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    They can sell them. Which, if my thinking is right, they might have to do in January just to keep the cash coming in.

My theory is that they are making these signings to attract the ST sales. That's a gamble.
    Who's buying though? These are players who seem to be short of offers right now when they are available on a freebie. What are the chances they will attract interest when Chuckie decides he wants a cool million for them.

They can sell them. Which, if my thinking is right, they might have to do in January just to keep the cash coming in.

My theory is that they are making these signings to attract the ST sales. That's a gamble.
    They shouldn't be taking gambles. Have they not learnt anything at all?

They have an opportunity to do things right this time. But it seems like the cycle is just going to repeat itself.

They want glory and they want it now. They don't care who they hurt in the process. Shower of b******s.

First Team Regular steviehibsleith's Avatar
    Just heard jim traynor on the radio -2intersting points firstly is adamant that sevco will be in top tier next season as the leagues will be reconstructed to accommodate this -all driven by sky/espn money. Secondly doesn't think transfer embargo will effect them as they can sign players out of contract so they just tap players early - run out your contract and we can sign you.

Quote Originally Posted by BarneyK View Post
    Who's buying though? These are players who seem to be short of offers right now when they are available on a freebie. What are the chances they will attract interest when Chuckie decides he wants a cool million for them.
    Indeed. That's where the whole thing could unravel.

Quote Originally Posted by Dashing Bob S View Post
    I suspect about half of the Huns will get behind them even more beligerently than ever. For the other half, the glory hunters, the novelty of Stenhousemuir and East Fife will soon wear off, and they'll take a sabbatical till the Huns are back in the SPL.

If you can believe the Press then 38% of Rangers ST holders live outwith Scotland .
    That equates to around 14/15000 tickets , many of whom live in Ulster. Can't see a large number of them making the journey every second week to watch 3rd Div football.
    As you say the prospects of watching Albion Rovers / Stirling Albion et al will soon wear off and the glory hunters will disappear .

Quote Originally Posted by steviehibsleith View Post
    Just heard jim traynor on the radio -2intersting points firstly is adamant that sevco will be in top tier next season as the leagues will be reconstructed to accommodate this -all driven by sky/espn money. Secondly doesn't think transfer embargo will effect them as they can sign players out of contract so they just tap players early - run out your contract and we can sign you.
    No offence Stevie but did you really need that fat oik to spell that out for you.

When is a transfer embargo not a transfer embargo. When the SFA issue it.

Yep. The leagues are restructuring - a top league of 30 and a second league of 12. That sounds fantastic. Well, it's the only way they can make the SPL next season, and if Jim Traynor said it's so...

If, though, it's actually a registration embargo as stated above, they're going to have to cut the grass / do the laundry, or something for the next 12 months, because they won't be able to play football.

Quote Originally Posted by s.a.m View Post
    If, though, it's actually a registration embargo as stated above, they're going to have to cut the grass / do the laundry, or something for the next 12 months, because they won't be able to play football.
    Why? We register out of contract players after transfer window every year. From Sept 1st next season The Rangers will be able to sign and register players. It will effect them for a month next season that is all.

Edit. Think you are getting confused with this season and next. This season they can sign and register players till window shuts. Next season is when they will sign players out of contract on Sept 1st. Only Jan 4 week window is closed to them.
    Last edited by Spike Mandela; 28-07-2012 at 02:37 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    Why? We register out of contract players after transfer window every year. From Sept 1st next season The Rangers will be able to sign and register players. It will effect them for a month next season that is all.
    Because we're not banned from registering players?

I might be missing the point, but Traynor seems to be saying they will be able to pick up out of contract players during their forthcoming embargo - I'm assuming that, if they do, they won't be able to play them.

Yes. It's a 12 month signing embargo.

He's talking about next season. They can sign all the players they want this season prior to 'embargo' kicking in.

@hibs.net private member Hibs Class's Avatar
    Traynor has spent the last six months as he has spent all his career, spouting pish and saying what he wants to be true/hopes will happen rather than reporting based on fact. Even a broken clock is right twice a day so a top league with the huns next year cannot be ruled out but I doubt it would be forced through - fan opposition would be mobilised again next summer. Traynor is best ignored and treated as the irrelevance that he is.
    ​#PERSEVERED

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs Class View Post
    Traynor is best ignored and treated as the irrelevance that he is.
    I'd treat him as a roundabout.

Maybe.

First Team Regular muirhousehibby's Avatar
    http://www.scotzine.com/2012/07/the-...fa-membership/

nice wee read this, seems if true once again Rangers seem to be getting the rules made up for them as the weeks go along!

First Team Breakthrough Lungo--Drom's Avatar
    Yup Unlike the attempts to get Sevco into the SPL and then the SFL1, which was rebuffed by fan protest and chairman integrity, they are, like a lab rat, learning which avenues in the maze get them an electric shock and which avenues they can sneak up and grab a biscuit. To be fair to all the supporters of other SFL/SPL clubs most ordinary folk are now exhausted and scunnered with the whole thing and the lab rats know this and so it is now they will wheedle through all the things such accepting 'punishments' which as you have pointed out are of course nothing of the sort. Cheatin' Hun *******s, still cheatinl, all the way since 1874. Don't you just hate them?

Sorry to keep banging on about this Stevie but the SFA are asking Rangers to accept the the original tribunal's decision which was a 1 year transfer embargo with immediate effect from when the tribunal sat.

They have tweeked it in a deal with Sevco that they will 'accept' embargo( very good of them when alternative is suspension or expulsion) but only on proviso that it starts on 1st Sept when window shuts.

Rangers wouldn't accept original embargo because it wouldn't allow debt free 'the Rangers' to sign any players this season, in other words it was a PUNISHMENT. They and the SFA are now happy to move forward that they have negotiated the new embargo which on paper is a punishment but really is nothing of the sort.

Did Traynor not also tell all and sundry that they would be playing, no doubt about it, in the 1st this season?

Quote Originally Posted by The Falcon View Post
    Did Traynor not also tell all and sundry that they would be playing, no doubt about it, in the 1st this season?
    And only weeks before that was telling everyone they'd be playing this coming season in the SPL. He also said in the record, that Craig White was a billionaire, with wealth off the radar. He's an erse, part of the succulent lamb brigade.

How many SPL/ESPN games were shown on the TV last season anyone know? and is there any figures for this season?

Just got a letter through from SKY saying my sky sports & ESPN pacages is going up......no be paying it if there reduced SPL matches to show them in DIV 3

@hibs.net private member StevieC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Brando7 View Post
    Just got a letter through from SKY saying my sky sports & ESPN pacages is going up......no be paying it if there reduced SPL matches to show them in DIV 3
    You'd better dig out your customer number then because I reckon you can put your house on every 3rd or 4th televised game being a Div 3 game!
    But you know it ain't all about wealth,
    as long as you make a note to .. EXPRESS YOURSELF!

Quote Originally Posted by StevieC View Post
    You'd better dig out your customer number then because I reckon you can put your house on every 3rd or 4th televised game being a Div 3 game!
    Sky are wanting to show all Derhun away fixtures, and are trying to negotiate that deal apparently......
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

He's talking about next season. They can sign all the players they want this season prior to 'embargo' kicking in.
    and that effectively has to last them until January 2014. Frankly if theyve a 12 mont ban I;d prefer it to kick in when they have a year under their belt with whatever they can scrape together this year rather than when theyre marginally more attractive with only 2 years untuil they get back to the SPL

I'd treat him as a roundabout.

Maybe.
    More like a speed bump.

Quote Originally Posted by Geo_1875 View Post
    More like a speed bump.
    Difference is that you don't accelerate for speed bumps, then reverse back over them to make sure.

Quote Originally Posted by Baldy Foghorn View Post
    Sky are wanting to show all Derhun away fixtures, and are trying to negotiate that deal apparently......
    Yea that wot i heard so i'm thinking every 2nd week be a div3 game.....would be looking for a reduction not an increase!!

Quote Originally Posted by Brando7 View Post
    Yea that wot i heard so i'm thinking every 2nd week be a div3 game.....would be looking for a reduction not an increase!!
    There is 1 solution and thats to cancel.

if everybody who has extreme disgust towards der hun cancelled their packages, SKY would lose millions.

Unfortunately, people won't. (even those who lie and say they will)