View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 560 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 604605105505585595605615625706106601060 ... LastLast
Results 16,771 to 16,800 of 45185
    Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    Add East Fife to the "No" column.

http://www.thecourier.co.uk/Sport/Fo...o-rangers.html

You know, I'm starting to think I might've been wrong about Fifers ...
    We're no such a bad bunch once you get to know us.

Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    Add East Fife to the "No" column.

http://www.thecourier.co.uk/Sport/Fo...o-rangers.html

You know, I'm starting to think I might've been wrong about Fifers ...
    MON THE FIFERS!

''If it had been Motherwell or Hibs or Hearts it wouldn't have come to this. The rules put Gretna into the Third Division, the rules put Livingston into the Third Division and the rules must put Rangers into the Third Division.''

Good on them for making their position clear and not bowing to pressure.

Quote Originally Posted by LAHIBBY View Post
    ''If it had been Motherwell or Hibs or Hearts it wouldn't have come to this. The rules put Gretna into the Third Division, the rules put Livingston into the Third Division and the rules must put Rangers into the Third Division.''

Looking good Sevco won't get in SFL 1.

I would bar them from SFL 3 also. Make them play non league until they can prove they are never going to cheat and con us all again.

Quote Originally Posted by bernz View Post
    That document makes no sense.

Also they say the squad size as of 4th july is 8. They then go on to say they will voluntarily not sign any players until july 2013.
    You're forgetting that the ref and two linesmen make up their starting eleven.

Quote Originally Posted by FalkirkHibby View Post

I would bar them from SFL 3 also. Make them play non league until they can prove they are never going to cheat and con us all again.
    I won't get too excited yet, as I am sure there will be a sting in the tail, courtesy of Doncaster and Regan....My hope burns strongly that we never see Newco at any level.....Will look forward to such "social unrest", if it happens.....
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

@hibs.net private member Hibby Kay-Yay's Avatar

Gamertag: ps3 - hibby kay-yay
    Quote Originally Posted by FalkirkHibby View Post

Or at least be able to provide 1 years worth of accounts...as per the rules

Quote Originally Posted by LAHIBBY View Post

Indeed

Applying the rules would have allowed both Doncasrer and Regan to get on with their jobs of selling the unique products left in SPL and SFL they would have had weeks if not months to look at advertising look at all sorts of things to assure the other member clubs are not forgotten.

The 2 clowns have spent most if not all of their time on trying to keep Rangers as high as they could and neglecting any positives that can come out this, Scotland had a chance to show right away we deal with clubs no matter who they are.

Clubs might be losing money because the 2 idiots have not been doing their jobs correctly in marketing the product amongst other things.

Quote Originally Posted by bernz View Post
    That document makes no sense. First they say they are a new company with no ties to the old rangers. Then they have a picture on the back from a game of the old rangers saying 'we are rangers'.

Also they say the squad size as of 4th july is 8. They then go on to say they will voluntarily not sign any players until july 2013.

They would probably have meant senior players over 18.

Quote Originally Posted by BEEJ View Post
    You're forgetting that the ref and two linesmen make up their starting eleven.

They'll also have Doncaster, Regan, Young & Traynor on the bench.

@hibs.net private member Hibby Kay-Yay's Avatar

Gamertag: ps3 - hibby kay-yay
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    They would probably have meant senior players over 18.
    The press story about Ian Black signing must have irked a few folk

Quote Originally Posted by Carlsberg View Post
    Indeed

Applying the rules would have allowed both Doncasrer and Regan to get on with their jobs of selling the unique products left in SPL and SFL they would have had weeks if not months to look at advertising look at all sorts of things to assure the other member clubs are not forgotten.

The 2 clowns have spent most if not all of their time on trying to keep Rangers as high as they could and neglecting any positives that can come out this, Scotland had a chance to show right away we deal with clubs no matter who they are.

Clubs might be losing money because the 2 idiots have not been doing their jobs correctly in marketing the product amongst other things.

With enough research into the matter, their would be other ways found to bring more cash into the SPL.

Thats what they should have been spending their time doing, instead of what they have been attempting to do.

If the game suffers financially, its because of these clowns.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby Kay-Yay View Post
    The press story about Ian Black signing must have irked a few folk
    It was a spectacular own goal, proving that the club hasn't learned a damn thing through this process. The stories about their 'presentation' sum that up.

PSN ID: Dave1875
    http://saintinasia.wordpress.com/201...are-to-europe/

Interesting thoughts on the tv revenue argument

Quote Originally Posted by ScottB View Post
    It was a spectacular own goal, proving that the club hasn't learned a damn thing through this process. The stories about their 'presentation' sum that up.
    Agreed, they are still as arrogant and dismissive of others as they were prior to this whole saga.......
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

Quote Originally Posted by Matty_Jack04 View Post

We're being sold short by the very people who should be selling the value of the product. With Sevco out of the picture for at least a year, I'm hopeful there will be a more exciting league.

Clearly, SFA are more concerned about history than the future.

The Herald article today was excellent: this is not the end of Scottish football. With the right men in charge, making the right decisions, this is a once in a lifetime opportunity to rejig the game and for clubs to be doing an awful lot better than they've been doing in the past.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Yes, change because it is needed and not to accomodate cheats. You seem to be adopting the same tunnell visioned approach to this whole thing that our games administrators have done. Used properly this situation could have provided a major impetus to much needed change. Unfortunately our games leaders totally blew it by betting everything on Rangers continuing to exist as before. (Doncaster was in complete denial about the prospect of them actually going in to liquidation.) That was a major betrayal of the Scottish game. It would be just as dumb to imagine that banishing Rangers to SFL3 is going to improve anything. It won't, in three years time they will be back stronger than ever. Their best chance of becoming the same dominant force will be served by starting in SFL3 rather than SFL1. (Don't get me wrong, I want them in SFL3 but it may not be the best solution for the Scottish game. ) Anybody who thinks Rangers are dead is deluded. They will be playing in the same park, in the same strips and enjoying exactly the same financial advantage. Patting ourselves on the backs and basking in the glow of self righteousness that sporting integrity has been served will be a pyrrhic vitory. Every other club will have been punished financially for their misdoings and by the time they are back in the SPL some may be gone. Where is the justice in that? It's all very well saying clubs that don't cut their cloth now deserve to die but contracts and planning were all based on the current level of cash coming in to the game. Scottish football is engaged in that bloodiest of all wars, civil wars. Without pragmatism and compromise we will all be losers. I don't believe the figures we have seen chucked at the SFL clubs for a second but nobody can be in any doubt that finances will be quite a bit tighter without Rangers in the top league. I agree with you about the need strong leaders with a clear vision in place. That vision should cover the whole picture, not just the demands of the Old Firm or the top teams nor the ever changing demands of the mob.
    I'm missing why you think that the Huns being in D3 inevitably stops any overall improvements being made. Why are the two mutually exclusive?

Suggests to me the the SPL / Doncaster are even more incompetent than ever imagined.
    Space to let

Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    Suggests to me the the SPL / Doncaster are even more incompetent than ever imagined.
    It certainly looks that way.

Quote Originally Posted by reallapsedhibee View Post
    I'm missing why you think that the Huns being in D3 inevitably stops any overall improvements being made. Why are the two mutually exclusive?
    Indeed, I must be missing that too as we seem tae be going in circles. Change can be made without compromising the rules that exist for new clubs. Why must this new club be fudged in further up than they should be before we can have change for the good of all?
    Last edited by Saorsa; 06-07-2012 at 04:11 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    If you could ever have thought that possible.

Quote Originally Posted by ScottB View Post
    There was something about zombiehun being after Beattie today somewhere maybe bbc gossip Collum cannae mind anyway it's beginning to reek of the 'media monkeys' trying to tempt the mad one out of his cage for some of his thoughts on the matter, to then probably spin the 'if rangers are away this man will run Scottish football' headlines in the papers

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    Indeed, I must be missing that too as we seem tae be going in circles. Change can be made without compromising the rules that exist for new clubs. Why must this new club be fudged in further up than they should be before we can have change for the good of all?

http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/r...ear-or-favour/

But Regan has already stated the rules will be implemented without " fear or favour ". Think he needs reminding of his own words.

There was something about zombiehun being after Beattie today somewhere maybe bbc gossip Collum cannae mind anyway it's beginning to reek of the 'media monkeys' trying to tempt the mad one out of his cage for some of his thoughts on the matter, to then probably spin the 'if rangers are away this man will run Scottish football' headlines in the papers
    Their may be some truth to that.

He seemed very adamant about keeping Rangers in the SPL.

I am saying that merely throwing Rangers in to SFL3 will change nothing and will actually be better for them in the long term. They will return to the SPL sanction free and cash rich. The duopoly will continue as before. Meanwhile other clubs will have paid a heavy financial penalty. Is that fair?
    A heavily sanctioned Rangers in SFL1 with a fairer distribution of income would bring us much closer to an even playing field. Of course change is possible with Rangers in SFL3 but the whole game will be enduring a financial headache of its own making. If you think the standard of player in the SPL is poor now be prepared for standards to slip even further.
    Last edited by marinello59; 06-07-2012 at 05:06 PM.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    I am saying that merely thrwoing Rangers in to SFL3 will change nothing and will actually b better for them in the long term. They will return to the SPL sanction free and cash rich. The duopoly will continue as before. Meanwhile other clubs will have paid a heavy financial penalty. Is that fair?
    A heavily sanctioned Rangers in SFL1 with a fairer distribution of income would bring us much closer to an even playing field. Of course change is possible with Rangers in SFL3 but the whole game will be enduring a financial headache of its own making. If you think the standard of player in the SPL is poor now be prepared for standards to slip even further.
    Well let's have a heavily sanctioned Hun in SFL3 then! Why not?

Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    Fudged up? That's your opinion. The world operates on a mixture pragmatism and compromise for the greater good. I don't know what the best way forward is but I am pretty sure that simpy saying no to everything except one outcome ain't going to help anything.

Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post
    Their may be some truth to that.

He seemed very adamant about keeping Rangers in the SPL.
    Yeh read that, very critical of motherwells fans votes if I mind rightly

I am saying that merely thrwoing Rangers in to SFL3 will change nothing and will actually b better for them in the long term. They will return to the SPL sanction free and cash rich. The duopoly will continue as before. Meanwhile other clubs will have paid a heavy financial penalty. Is that fair?
    I wouldn't put "standard of player" solely down to finances. There are other factors involved such as poor decision making, put down to poor management.

We've been out spending most clubs in the SPL for years, yet falling behind most of them.

With better management and encouraging more youth players to keep on the straight and narrow, the SPL can and will improve, even without the filth.

The best thing about Rangers starting out in DIV3, is that it forces people to look at more options and to come up with fresh ideas to promote our game. Thats what the game needs, new ideas.

Well let's have a heavily sanctioned Hun in SFL3 then! Why not?
    As so many have pointed out, they are a new club. Entering SFL3 is not a punishment, it's a consequence of their actions.
    If it's SFL1 then heavy sanctions can be made a condition of entry.