View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 544 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 444444945345425435445455465545946441044 ... LastLast
Results 16,291 to 16,320 of 45185
    @hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Lungo--Drom View Post
    It'll just be that fat bitter hun tool behaving like a wee wean cause they've been refused entry into the SPL. The guy operates on the same despicable level as Dungcaster.
    Ridiculous to start slating the 'tachemeister on the say-so of McCoist, Jardine, Smith (W), Smith (G) or any of the rest of them. Their credibility is, er, low.

Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post
    No, because 2 clubs would be promoted into the SPL, meaning their would be 2 gaps to fill in DIV1. One for newco and the other for the promoted club from DIV2.

I had to spend time thinking about it.
    Wrong. If Rangers start in SFL3 then another club would move up from
    SFL 3 to SFL 2 and one from SFL2 to SFL1. Those two clubs would miss out if Newco went straight in to SFL1. I think.

Quote Originally Posted by goldenhibby View Post
    13 team league in SPL then

Rangers leaving the SPL would leave 1 gap and the relegated Dunfermline would then leave 2 gaps in the SPL. Both Dunfermline and Ross county would be promoted to the SPL (giving it 12 teams), leaving 2 gaps in DIV1. A gap for Rangers and a gap for the newly promoted team from DIV2. (Giving DIV1 10 teams).

Sorry, made a few edits there, i'm getting myself confused now!
    Last edited by Hibercelona; 04-07-2012 at 08:05 PM.

Cheers, I get it now.

I never realized that the first set of votes was just to invite them "anywhere" in the division, i thought it was strictly for DIV1. Now I see that the first set of votes will be to get them in the SFL and the second set of votes will be to decide where they land in the SFL.

Apologies for my misunderstanding on the matter.
    ....err....I said I was guessing! Don't take it as read, but it makes sense. When there is a vacancy in the SFL, clubs apply and the winner is generally admitted at the bottom. It's not a given that they'll be admitted at all, let alone bounced into the 1st (though it seems likely).

Quote Originally Posted by s.a.m View Post
    ....err....I said I was guessing! Don't take it as read, but it makes sense. When there is a vacancy in the SFL, clubs apply and the winner is generally admitted at the bottom. It's not a given that they'll be admitted at all, let alone bounced into the 1st (though it seems likely).
    No it doesn't.

12 clubs have expressed a view. 11 have said they are against.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    No it doesn't.

Does that then mean that they can't get into any of the Divisions now and will have to apply for entry into Division 3?

Sorry, I suppose their is still a lot more clubs left to vote.

Cheers, I get it now.

I never realized that the first set of votes was just to invite them "anywhere" in the division, i thought it was strictly for DIV1. Now I see that the first set of votes will be to get them in the SFL and the second set of votes will be to decide where they land in the SFL.

Apologies for my misunderstanding on the matter.
    You're still not getting it.

The FIRST vote is on whether they are going into Division 1.

If they fail, then they will apply for the vacancy in D3, along with anybody else who wants to apply.

Does that then mean that they can't get into any of the Divisions now and will have to apply for entry into Division 3?
    They need 15 votes out of 29 to get in, so it's not definite yet.

You're still not getting it.

The FIRST vote is on whether they are going into Division 1.

If they fail, then they will apply for the vacancy in D3, along with anybody else who wants to apply.
    Thats what I thought originally! My heads spinning!

The point I was making earlier was about the clubs in DIV2 and DIV3 voting whether they get into DIV1 or not. I don't see why they would get a vote in the matter, considering it doesn't effect them if Rangers get into DIV1.

Thats what I thought originally! My heads spinning!

The point I was making earlier was about the clubs in DIV2 and DIV3 voting whether they get into DIV1 or not. I don't see why they would get a vote in the matter, considering it doesn't effect them if Rangers get into DIV1.
    BUT IT DOES

Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    Actually now 11 as per BBC-
    Partick Thistle, Falkirk, Dunfermline, Raith Rovers, Morton, Livingston, East Fife, Stranraer, Stirling Albion, Peterhead and Clyde.

Hamilton in favour
    When did this happen? Last week Les gray was saying no.

http://www.hamiltonadvertiser.co.uk/...1525-31274978/

BUT IT DOES
    But in what way?

It doesn't effect Cowdenbeath from getting promoted into DIV1 as their would be 2 slots open for both Rangers and Cowdenbeath (The promoted team from DIV2).

I understand that if Rangers don't get into DIV1, they could then be voted into DIV3 (which is when I think DIV3 should then decide whether they want them or not).

But it seems that the whole of the SFL vote on these matters, regardless of which league it has an effect on.

Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    Probably just as well then that some of those folk dinnae actually give a **** what you think!
    Probably true DD. In fact totally true.

But ye see ... ah dae care what folk think, every opinion is worthwhile no matter if I think that opinion is wrong or counter productive or in no way takes the argument forward or attempts to reach a compromise which could resolve a sad sad situation.

The inability to compomise for the greater good has lead to most of histories major cock ups, at least thats what I think.

Oh I forgot ... you dont give a **** what I think.

No it doesn't.

and there are two abstentions.

But in what way?

It doesn't effect Cowdenbeath from getting promoted into DIV1 as their would be 2 slots open for both Rangers and Cowdenbeath (The promoted team from DIV2).

I understand that if Rangers don't get into DIV1, they could then be voted into DIV3 (which is when I think DIV3 should then decide whether they want them or not).

But it seems that the whole of the SFL vote on these matters, regardless of which league it has an effect on.
    It's not about promotion etc. As I said earlier, it's about the income from games against RFC

Tom Hall@ScotFootBlogCowdenbeath say not to a First Division newco http://s.coop/q1cy (and Donald Findlay's coming to get Neil Doncaster)
    "Chairman Donald Findlay added – “Speaking for myself, and myself alone, it is clear to me that people at the highest levels of our game have tried to hold a gun to my head and the heads of my colleagues. That will never work. But I have a long memory and will not forget what they tried to do and the way they tried to bend me, and this Club, to their will. That will never be allowed to happen”

Nick Eardley@nickeardley
    Stewart Regan: there will be “social unrest” in Scotland if Rangers aren't allowed in to First Division. On http://scotsman.com soon
    Last edited by s.a.m; 04-07-2012 at 08:26 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by truehibernian View Post
    For me AH there was absolutely nothing for Rod or Hibs to debate, argue or consider. Our 'position' was apparently clear as per our statement of voting intent. If Petrie was reconsidering or negotiating a change of position as late as today, he not only has explaining to do (after all his integrity statements), but he has gone way down in my estimation.

No to Newco, no SPL place, no debate. That should be Hibernian's clear position in my opinion. Rangers have cheated football AND the non football supporting public - 3rd division, if they got it, would still be a let off in my book. They've evaded paying millions of pounds, possibly 8 times Doncaster's guesstimate that Scottish football will 'lose'. I'm firmly of the belief not only football, but Scottish society would benefit greatly without Rangers.

Can you tell I'm no fan of them :-)
    Indubitably!!

Quote Originally Posted by Kaiser1962 View Post
    When did this happen? Last week Les gray was saying no.

http://www.hamiltonadvertiser.co.uk/...1525-31274978/

Sorry, read what has been referred to on their website as "ill-informed speculation and erroneous reporting on our position in relation to various, hypothetical scenarios". Appears they haven't made a decision as of Monday 2nd. http://www.acciesfc.co.uk/

Makes it 11 against (so far) 0 for as far as I am aware. edit Now 12 if reports on Cowdenbeath are to be believed.
    Last edited by PatHead; 04-07-2012 at 08:28 PM. Reason: update

@hibs.net private member Barney McGrew's Avatar
    Nick Eardley@nickeardley
    Stewart Regan: there will be “social unrest” in Scotland if Rangers aren't allowed in to First Division.
    He can bolt on the first ship out with Doncaster as well.

There will be unrest if they DO get into the 1st.

They need 15 votes out of 29 to get in, so it's not definite yet.
    Surely as only 28 clubs will be voting there only needs to be 14 against to stop it. Depending on who you read 11/12 clubs have already said no.

paul mcConville has just tweeted ths

Paul McConville@Paulmcc12RT@pault1888: Donald Findlay QC refuses to support Newco into Div 1. Yes, THAT Donald Findlay.> Verily the lion shall lie down with the lamb

If true add Cowdenbeath to the list.

It's not about promotion etc. As I said earlier, it's about the income from games against RFC
    But the clubs in DIV2 and DIV3 wouldn't gain any income from Rangers games, unless any of them played them in cup games.

It just doesn't seem right that the clubs in DIV2 and DIV3 get a say on Rangers being in DIV1 or not.

The SPL got to vote independently about them playing in the SPL, so why not the divisions?

I realize this could still be a good thing, because its likely that Rangers will probably end up in DIV3, with all DIV3 clubs voting "no" against them getting into DIV1, but I really don't believe its fair that they should get a say in the matter.

It would make more sense if DIV1 got to vote independently, then DIV2 (if DIV1 turned them down), then DIV3 (If DIV2 turned them down).

The whole set up just seems strange to me.

Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    Sorry, read what has been referred to on their website as "ill-informed speculation and erroneous reporting on our position in relation to various, hypothetical scenarios". Appears they haven't made a decision as of Monday 2nd. http://www.acciesfc.co.uk/

Makes it 11 against (so far) 0 for as far as I am aware. edit Now 12 if reports on Cowdenbeath are to be believed.

Might not matter

Tom Hall@ScotFootBlogCowdenbeath say not to a First Division newco http://s.coop/q1cy (and Donald Findlay's coming to get Neil Doncaster)
    "Chairman Donald Findlay added – “Speaking for myself, and myself alone, it is clear to me that people at the highest levels of our game have tried to hold a gun to my head and the heads of my colleagues. That will never work. But I have a long memory and will not forget what they tried to do and the way they tried to bend me, and this Club, to their will. That will never be allowed to happen”

Nick Eardley@nickeardley
    Stewart Regan: there will be “social unrest” in Scotland if Rangers aren't allowed in to First Division. On http://scotsman.com soon
    Why do Regan and Doncaster continually spout pish.....Social unrest eh.....Do the guys running our game not realise that Newco have no rights, nil, diddly squat.......Anything other than fairness will see social unrest from supporter's of every other team.....Can't believe what is running our game, astounding.....
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

Quote Originally Posted by Barney McGrew View Post
    He can bolt on the first ship out with Doncaster as well.

There will be unrest if they DO get into the 1st.
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

But the clubs in DIV2 and DIV3 wouldn't gain any income from Rangers games, unless any of them played them in cup games.

It just doesn't seem right that the clubs in DIV2 and DIV3 get a say on Rangers being in DIV1 or not.

The SPL got to vote independently about them playing in the SPL, so why not the divisions?

I realize this could still be a good thing, because its likely that Rangers will probably end up in DIV3, with all DIV3 clubs voting "no" against them getting into DIV1, but I really don't believe its fair that they should get a say in the matter.

It would make more sense if DIV1 got to vote independently, then DIV2 (if DIV1 turned them down), then DIV3 (If DIV2 turned them down).

The whole set up just seems strange to me.
    ARRRGGGHHHHHH

IF they say no, and Sevco get into D3, almost every club in d1, d2 and d3 will get at least two games against them!!

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Im now beginning to truly believe they are well and truly done if Findlay is voting against them

Quote Originally Posted by Baldy Foghorn View Post
    Why do Regan and Doncaster continually spout pish.....Social unrest eh.....Do the guys running our game not realise that Newco have no rights, nil, diddly squat.......Anything other than fairness will see social unrest from supporter's of every other team.....Can't believe what is running our game, astounding.....
    Somebody should remind them that "social unrest" will always exist as long as Rangers fans exist.

Nick Eardley@nickeardley
    I believe their were a couple of lads who went onto Pussbook inciting riots who got sent down for comments like that. Regan needs to go back on Holiday and stay there.

Quote Originally Posted by Kaiser1962 View Post
    Surely as only 28 clubs will be voting there only needs to be 14 against to stop it. Depending on who you read 11/12 clubs have already said no.

paul mcConville has just tweeted ths

Paul McConville@Paulmcc12RT@pault1888: Donald Findlay QC refuses to support Newco into Div 1. Yes, THAT Donald Findlay.> Verily the lion shall lie down with the lamb

If true add Cowdenbeath to the list.
    Yeah, you're right. I had forgotten Dundee drop out.