View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 543 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 434434935335415425435445455535936431043 ... LastLast
Results 16,261 to 16,290 of 45185
    Quote Originally Posted by truehibernian View Post
    Seems McCoist is claiming at a Rangers Fighting Fund meeting tonight that our very own Rod wanted Rangers in the SPL but with sanctions (from todays vote meeting) - I think our Chairman has some explaining to do if that's the case.
    If that was the case, he would have voted yes.

I believe every club would have been made to vote before viewing the votes of others in order to prevent a "change of heart".

Raman Bhardwaj@STVRamanLivingston director David Stoker says Neil Doncaster's position is untenable.One SPL chairman has told us Doncaster won't survive. #pressure

Raman Bhardwaj ‏@STVRaman
    Livingston director David Stoker says Neil Doncaster's position is untenable.One SPL chairman has told us Doncaster won't survive. #pressure

Edit: Ahh just beaten to it!

Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post
    I agree with this.

The fans now have a chance to strengthen the league, that means turning up to every game in high numbers and showing that the league can survive without THEM.

The Killie chairman done what he felt was best for his own club, he had to. Killie will seriously struggle financially and will need to make serious cutbacks. But the blow can be softened if more people start turning up for games.

It's a "no Rangers" league right now, that should be incentive enough to get numbers through the gates.
    No so sure about that

http://killiefc.com/forum/viewthread.php?tid=71514

Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    That just cannae be true, he's as straight as a die is Rod

What was it you said about sarcasm the other day?

Quote Originally Posted by Piqué View Post
    Livingston director David Stoker says Neil Doncaster's position is untenable.One SPL chairman has told us Doncaster won't survive. #pressure

He should have been punted months ago as soon as he started acting in the interests of just one club. Unless of course he secretly had the backing of others.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    What was it you said about sarcasm the other day?
    If you cannae beat them, join them

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Sorry, guys, you are both wrong.

ALL SFL clubs vote on the proposal to let Sevco into Division 1. That needs a simple majority, ie 15 clubs out of 29, to pass it. So far, 10 have said they would vote against it, and 1 for.

The vote is on the 12th, of course :0)
    Actually now 11 as per BBC-
    Partick Thistle, Falkirk, Dunfermline, Raith Rovers, Morton, Livingston, East Fife, Stranraer, Stirling Albion, Peterhead and Clyde.

Hamilton in favour

Sorry, guys, you are both wrong.

ALL SFL clubs vote on the proposal to let Sevco into Division 1. That needs a simple majority, ie 15 clubs out of 29, to pass it. So far, 10 have said they would vote against it, and 1 for.

The vote is on the 12th, of course :0)
    Cheers for clearing that up CWG.

It seems odd to me how the system works like that. Why on earth would DIV2 and DIV3 have much interest in whether Rangers played in DIV1 or not? They don't have anything to gain from it.

Quote Originally Posted by Wat Dabney View Post
    If any of that is true, I'd imagine it would just be procedural - RP, as Chairman of an SPL committee, would be duty bound to go by the rules of procedure.

That said we know where the Hibs vote (and the Hibs Fan votes) were cast!

OUT YOU MANKY HUNS!!!!!!

Well done Rod!!

It seems odd to me how the system works like that. Why on earth would DIV2 and DIV3 have much interest in whether Rangers played in DIV1 or not? They don't have anything to gain from it.
    Oh, but they do

If they vote against them going into D1, but FOR them going into D3, every club scores with a couple of home games against them.

Quote Originally Posted by s.a.m View Post
    Raman Bhardwaj@STVRamanLivingston director David Stoker says Neil Doncaster's position is untenable.One SPL chairman has told us Doncaster won't survive. #pressure
    Good, every one of them should fall on their swords.....Leaderless and gutless.....
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

Quote Originally Posted by Brando7 View Post
    Killie fans were always going to be angered by this.

But how angry would they be in the near future when they face relelgation or go into administration had their chairman voted "no" to letting Rangers in?

It was an extremely difficult position for him to be in.

Does someone not miss out on promotion is Rangers went into SFL 1?

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Seems McCoist is claiming at a Rangers Fighting Fund meeting tonight that our very own Rod wanted Rangers in the SPL but with sanctions (from todays vote meeting) - I think our Chairman has some explaining to do if that's the case.
    That not what was said.

Quote Originally Posted by goldenhibby View Post
    Does someone not miss out on promotion is Rangers went into SFL 1?
    No, because 2 clubs would be promoted into the SPL, meaning their would be 2 gaps to fill in DIV1. One for newco and the other for the promoted club from DIV2.

I had to spend time thinking about it.

First Team Breakthrough Lungo--Drom's Avatar
    It'll just be that fat bitter hun tool behaving like a wee wean cause they've been refused entry into the SPL. The guy operates on the same despicable level as Dungcaster.

Oh, but they do

If they vote against them going into D1, but FOR them going into D3, every club scores with a couple of home games against them.
    Very true!

Carry on then SFL.

Very true!

Carry on then SFL.
    Yup, they must consider financial issues above sporting integrity

Why on earth would DIV2 and DIV3 have much interest in whether Rangers played in DIV1 or not? They don't have anything to gain from it.
    If Rangers start in Div 3 then all those teams can look forward to a decent pay day when the hoardes turn up at their ground. If they go straight into Div 1 they won't get that.

The unlucky ones will be the teams that get relegated to make way for Rangers as they move up the leagues. The lucky ones go up with Rangers and get them in consecutive seasons.

I'm guessing that it's because they're voting on whether to admit a new club into the SFL structure, as well as selecting a league for them.

PSN ID: pesus-ab

Apologies if posted already...https://twitter.com/#!/davidstoker_lfc

The tweet in question said 'Petrie etc' which is a bit different from Petrie going it alone. That suggests sanctions etc were discussed as an option which they should have been and then quite rightly dismissed. Looks like the evidence still suggests Petrie did the right thing for the right reasons.

Quote Originally Posted by ancienthibby View Post
    If any of that is true, I'd imagine it would just be procedural - RP, as Chairman of an SPL committee, would be duty bound to go by the rules of procedure.

That said we know where the Hibs vote (and the Hibs Fan votes) were cast!

OUT YOU MANKY HUNS!!!!!!

Well done Rod!!
    For me AH there was absolutely nothing for Rod or Hibs to debate, argue or consider. Our 'position' was apparently clear as per our statement of voting intent. If Petrie was reconsidering or negotiating a change of position as late as today, he not only has explaining to do (after all his integrity statements), but he has gone way down in my estimation.

No to Newco, no SPL place, no debate. That should be Hibernian's clear position in my opinion. Rangers have cheated football AND the non football supporting public - 3rd division, if they got it, would still be a let off in my book. They've evaded paying millions of pounds, possibly 8 times Doncaster's guesstimate that Scottish football will 'lose'. I'm firmly of the belief not only football, but Scottish society would benefit greatly without Rangers.

Can you tell I'm no fan of them :-)

No, because 2 clubs would be promoted into the SPL, meaning their would be 2 gaps to fill in DIV1. One for newco and the other for the promoted club from DIV2.

I had to spend time thinking about it.
    13 team league in SPL then😄

@hibs.net private member Hibs Class's Avatar

McCoist is a cowardly, lying fat ****. Everything he says and everything he does is to not be trusted. His quotes are worth repeating only for their comedic value and to remind ourselves of the pain he is currently suffering and to revel in in his misery.
    ​#PERSEVERED

If that was the case, he would have voted yes.

I believe every club would have been made to vote before viewing the votes of others in order to prevent a "change of heart".
    What rod petrie wants is irrelevant he was there to represent hibs not himself

Killie fans were always going to be angered by this.

But how angry would they be in the near future when they face relelgation or go into administration had their chairman voted "no" to letting Rangers in?

It was an extremely difficult position for him to be in.
    Don't know why you're sticking up for him. It's clear that the big threat now is the other clubs' fans boycotting Rugby Park - as they were the only club who didn't vote no. There was no choice for him to make. The only worse thing he could have done would be to vote yes to newhun - and that really would have been commercial suicide.

Quote Originally Posted by s.a.m View Post
    I'm guessing that it's because they're voting on whether to admit a new club into the SFL structure, as well as selecting a league for them.
    Cheers, I get it now.

I never realized that the first set of votes was just to invite them "anywhere" in the division, i thought it was strictly for DIV1. Now I see that the first set of votes will be to get them in the SFL and the second set of votes will be to decide where they land in the SFL.

Apologies for my misunderstanding on the matter.