View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 531 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 314314815215295305315325335415816311031 ... LastLast
Results 15,901 to 15,930 of 45185
    @hibs.net private member bawheid's Avatar
    Could we please stop posting pictures of Neil Doncaster up on this thread. My monitor is in danger of being smashed to smithereens.

Thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by Beefster View Post
    There's a danger that Doncaster becomes the 'boogeyman' of Scottish football because he's the one making the statements on behalf of the SPL and the club chairman get off scot-free. Make no mistake, if the suspected stitch-up happens, Rodders and the rest of the chairmen are just as culpable as Doncaster.
    Why is Petrie to blame? As far as I can see he has come out and stated that Hibs are ready to vote now and will vote no. If the other 11 clubs decide to delay the vote there is nothing he can do about it.

I think the meaning in the statement last week is clear now that the proposed delay has come out into the open. Someone within the SPL is driving an agenda to delay the vote and lobbying other clubs over it. Hibs have stated they will vote now. I would put money on it being one of the clubs which hasn't declared their vote yet, Celtic would be the most obvious candidate.

There has been one report that Petrie briefed Green on the document released by the SFL, but until we have proof that Rod has been complicit in delaying the vote and trying to push the proposed stitch up we can't blame him surely. Hibs have been consistent in their public pronouncements about sporting integrity and voting no, and they have stated it is up to others to decide once the SPL vote is out of the way.

If the vote is delayed today I would expect and hope that Hibs will issue a statement to re-iterate what they said last week and clarifying that the delay was not their idea or what they wanted.

There's a danger that Doncaster becomes the 'boogeyman' of Scottish football because he's the one making the statements on behalf of the SPL and the club chairman get off scot-free. Make no mistake, if the suspected stitch-up happens, Rodders and the rest of the chairmen are just as culpable as Doncaster.
    I drink with a few Celtic supporters and have been critical of their lack of leadership in this saga. Today I sent them this in response to their comments re a delayed vote.

There was always going to be one final big push to keep Rangers in the SPL, lead by Doncaster and the Glasgow based media. Last week I was critical of Hibs for their mealy-mouthed statement. Reading it in the context of the pressure Petrie has been put under I now feel that it was a very good statement.
    "the vote should proceed without further delay and that Hibernian FC will vote against the share transfer"
    I wish Celtic and Lawell had put out a similar statement. I understand you would all feel that Celtic would be painted as the baddies but you will anyway. You had nothing to lose but chose to have no balls for fear of upsetting your sister club.
    I am convinced the vote will take place today. Clubs that have made their statements have too much to lose by doing otherwise. I hope it is a public vote and Celtic have voted for Rangers demotion.
    I fear otherwise though with a secret ballot and Celtic's board protecting their interests (dual sponsorships, 2 home Old Firm games, the media interest, attraction to foreign players, league not being over by Christmas and profile that comes with it.) Lawell will vote for Rangers to stay in with penalties. It is likely he is behind this late push to SFL1. If it transpires this is the case I hope all Celtic supporters contact each member of the board- starting with Lawell- and force them to resign.
    Rangers have created this mess but Celtic's lack of leadership has exacerbated the situation.

@hibs.net private member mayo hibee's Avatar
    I'd like to believe that Petrie is the good guy, fighting the good fight in the face of intense pressure from all the bad guys around the table. I just don't believe it at this stage though. I think he's in on it as much as the rest of them.

Enough clubs have confirmed their positions as no voters for the vote to take place today. If it doesn't take place, then the stitch up is on.

First Team Breakthrough Lungo--Drom's Avatar

Unhappy RIP Eric Sykes

I liked watching 'Sykes' when I was a kid, even if the set was literally made of cardboard. My favourite one was when a neighbour slammed the front door so hard the whole wall of the set wobbled and Sykesy smiled and gave the camera a sideways glance. Classic! It's an unfair world when corrupt no-morals cretins like Dungcaster are still alive & kicking and a comedy classic like Eric Sykes slip this mortal coil.

Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    Comedy legend Eric Sykes died today. RIP. Even he couldn't write a joke as funny as this farce in Scottish football.

Quote Originally Posted by Sergio sledge View Post
    Why is Petrie to blame? As far as I can see he has come out and stated that Hibs are ready to vote now and will vote no. If the other 11 clubs decide to delay the vote there is nothing he can do about it.

I think the meaning in the statement last week is clear now that the proposed delay has come out into the open. Someone within the SPL is driving an agenda to delay the vote and lobbying other clubs over it. Hibs have stated they will vote now. I would put money on it being one of the clubs which hasn't declared their vote yet, Celtic would be the most obvious candidate.

There has been one report that Petrie briefed Green on the document released by the SFL, but until we have proof that Rod has been complicit in delaying the vote and trying to push the proposed stitch up we can't blame him surely. Hibs have been consistent in their public pronouncements about sporting integrity and voting no, and they have stated it is up to others to decide once the SPL vote is out of the way.

If the vote is delayed today I would expect and hope that Hibs will issue a statement to re-iterate what they said last week and clarifying that the delay was not their idea or what they wanted.
    At least 7 clubs have said they'll vote no but Hibs are the ones standing up for integrity by not wanting the vote delayed now? Rodders is now briefing on documents that have nothing to do with him? Common sense and the balance of probabilities tells you that the likely answer to both are 'no'.

Either way, Doncaster works for Rodders and the rest of the clubs. There's a danger of him becoming a Fred Goodwin-style magnet for all the flak whilst everyone else avoids it. If Hibs come out and say that they didn't want the delay, fine. I suspect that they won't [be able to].

Quote Originally Posted by mayo hibee View Post
    I'd like to believe that Petrie is the good guy, fighting the good fight in the face of intense pressure from all the bad guys around the table. I just don't believe it at this stage though. I think he's in on it as much as the rest of them.

Enough clubs have confirmed their positions as no voters for the vote to take place today. If it doesn't take place, then the stitch up is on.
    As I mentioned in the earlier post I think Petrie has stood up for Newco to be demoted. He may possibly be in the minority (turkeys for Christmas). It will all come down to whether the Chairmen believe if we will walk away.

Quote Originally Posted by InchHibby View Post
    Doncaster's right, its the other 41 clubs who are causing the problems here, Rangers should be allowed back into
    the top flight as being shafted is all we know and we should all be chipping in to pay of their debt in order for them to keep
    their History intact, after all they have kept us afloat all these years.
    A more prescient post I have never seen, of course we wee diddy clubs only consider our role as an apperitif for the mighty Rangers and why not. I'm sure hundreds if not thousands of like minded fans all across Scotland will be disgusted at being prevented or at least being threatened with exclusion fron next years WWF spectacular Hun love in. After all at least we ken oor place and thats right at the feet of the mighty 'Gers!
    Last edited by calmac12000; 04-07-2012 at 11:10 AM.

@hibs.net private member BSEJVT's Avatar
    Agree 100%

If he was taking a flyer on this and going his own way he would have been sacked/suspended long ago

First Team Breakthrough Lungo--Drom's Avatar

Angry SPL clubs could decide to wait until SFL clubs vote on whether Rangers are allowed in

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/footba...rred-1-2391579

A DECISION on whether Rangers will be allowed back into the SPL may be postponed, it emerged today.

• SPL clubs could decide to wait until SFL clubs vote on whether Rangers are allowed into the First Division

Scottish Premier League chief executive Neil Doncaster has given a strong hint that today’s scheduled vote on a newco Rangers admission will be deferred.
    Most SPL clubs have confirmed they plan to reject the application from Charles Green’s Sevco consortium amid strong pressure from their own supporters.
    But Doncaster has been trying to persuade Scottish Football League clubs to accept the Ibrox club in the Irn-Bru First Division and it appears the SPL clubs will put off a decision until their lower-league colleagues can make things clearer.
    Doncaster told Sky Sports News ahead of the meeting: “There may be a decision, there may not be.
    “There was a good meeting yesterday with the Scottish Football League, in which the possibility of Rangers going into the second tier of Scottish football was discussed.
    “And ultimately, if that option remains in play, that may be a reason to defer the vote today.”

Dungcaster you morally corrupt sack of ****ing **** ******* stinking filth!!!

Last edited by Lungo--Drom; 04-07-2012 at 10:52 AM. Reason: HTML was corrupt from pasted in text

At least 7 clubs have said they'll vote no but Hibs are the ones standing up for integrity by not wanting the vote delayed now? Rodders is now briefing on documents that have nothing to do with him? Common sense and the balance of probabilities tells you that the likely answer to both are 'no'.

Either way, Doncaster works for Rodders and the rest of the clubs. There's a danger of him becoming a Fred Goodwin-style magnet for all the flak whilst everyone else avoids it. If Hibs come out and say that they didn't want the delay, fine. I suspect that they won't [be able to].
    Hibs have already re-iterated their view: "The Chairman made the point that the vote should proceed without any further delay and that Hibernian FC will vote against the share transfer."

The "breifing" is a strange one, but it is as yet unconfirmed.

I agree with you in general that Doncaster is becoming a scapegoat and others are avoiding flak, but I don't think Petrie is as much to blame as some on here do. The statement issued last week which I have quoted seemed a bit strange at the time, but in light of the news that people are wanting to delay the vote I think that the meaning of the statement issued last week is clear and Hibs intentions are clear.

I may however be totally wrong in all that though.... ;)

Quote Originally Posted by Lungo--Drom View Post
    And ultimately, if that option remains in play, that may be a reason to defer the vote today
    The only reason to defer the vote is because they know that there are no rules to let the newco into div 1, so they would need an SFL vote to allow that. It looks like this isn't going to happen, but the SPL clubs want the newco in div 1, so may to allow the share transfer to the then immediately relegate the newco as one of the sanctions, there is nothing the SFL can do about it.

@hibs.net private member GordonHFC's Avatar
    I have not seen the answer to this question but apologies if it has been dealt with in previous posts.

Have Celtic supporters come out and confirmed that they will boycott games at Darkhead if their board vote yes to der huns being allowed back into te SPL. They are going to do it to other clubs who vote yes so will they be doing similar to their own club. I doubt it very much.

Why dont the non Infirm Clubs resign from the SPL and join the SFL?Leave the Ugly Sisters in a league of their own as they seem to think its their league anyway.They can play each other every week for all i care,Im sure Strathclydes finest and the Monks down in Devon would love that

If as expected the SPL decide to put off any decision until after the SFL have met next Thursday,how can the SFL vote when they won't have a vacancy.
    Sevco will still be in the SPL and Dundee in the 1st division.

@hibs.net private member Newry Hibs's Avatar
    I thought the SFA said yesterday (about 40 pages ago) that newco wouldn't be allowed in the SPL next season.

Quote Originally Posted by newhibs View Post
    If as expected the SPL decide to put off any decision until after the SFL have met next Thursday,how can the SFL vote when they won't have a vacancy.
    Sevco will still be in the SPL and Dundee in the 1st division.
    No Sevco want the share transferred to them. It's RFC (IA) that are in the SPL, albeit they don't have any players.

It's like a Kafka novel now....

@hibs.net private member Newry Hibs's Avatar
    From BBC Sport sportsday
    1153:
    FOOTBALL FIFA threatens Oman with suspension from playing World Cup 2014 qualifying matches for breaching football rules on taking disputes to ordinary courts.
    Three clubs in Oman sought a ruling to invalidate allegedly flawed elections for the Oman Football Association ruling board.
    Oman, managed by former Rangers manager Paul Le Guen, are scheduled to play their next World Cup qualifier at home to Jordan on 16 October.

I wish they would take an interest in events in Scotland.

Quote Originally Posted by Newry Hibs View Post
    I thought the SFA said yesterday (about 40 pages ago) that newco wouldn't be allowed in the SPL next season.

...then he said his comment was taken out of context. Then some chairmen present at the meeting confirmed he did say that.

So its official - Doncaster is a cheerleader for the Huns.

Yesterday Regan said unequivocally that newhun wouldne be allowed into the SPL, so there can be no reason whatsoever to delay the vote.

This is now sickening, sad, pathetic and seems almost calculatedly designed to sicken football fans.

My new theory is that Doncaster is in fact a secret agent of the Juniors and this is all a plot to get teams to support their local clubs instead of the SPL.

There can be other reason for him actively seeking to destroy the game.

Also - wtf right has he to comment on anything other than SPL. Thats his remit. Get him tae ****
    Last edited by Twa Cairpets; 04-07-2012 at 11:11 AM. Reason: anger typos

Quote Originally Posted by Twa Cairpets View Post
    So its official - Doncaster is a cheerleader for the Huns.

Yesterday Regan said unequivocally that newhun wouldne be allowed into the SPL, so there can be no reason whatsoever to delay the vote.

This is now sickening, sad, pathetic and seems almost calculatedly designed to sicken football fans.

My new theory is that Doncaster is in fact a secret agent of the Juniors and this is all a plot to get teams to support their local clubs instead of the SPL.

There can be other reason for him actively seeking to destroy the game.

Also - wtf right has he to comment on anything other than SPL. Thats his remit. Get him tae ****
    If that is the case then, why is there any need for a vote in the first place re transfer of share to the new hun?

Quote Originally Posted by Twa Cairpets View Post
    IMHO, the newco won't be in the SPL next season, but the matter is whether they'll be in SFL1 with the SFL's agreement or without the SFL's agreement. If the SFL say yes, the SPL clubs can vote no to the newco, if the SFL clubs say no, then the SPL will vote yes to the newco and then immediately relegate the newco as one of the sanctions against them.

The fans have there say why don't the prats running our game listen to us

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    what a bunch of *****bags that run out league

IMHO, the newco won't be in the SPL next season, but the matter is whether they'll be in SFL1 with the SFL's agreement or without the SFL's agreement. If the SFL say yes, the SPL clubs can vote no to the newco, if the SFL clubs say no, then the SPL will vote yes to the newco and then immediately relegate the newco as one of the sanctions against them.

Ian Black to sign if there's a "positive outcome" in the talks

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby
    Ian Black has reached an agreement to sign for #Rangers newco IF there's a positive outcome on league status-link here: http://t.co/1ffG3K8e

The SFL have already taken a relegated club - can the SPL even force them to take another?

SPL is a membership based league and there must be some agreements between honoring of the going up and down but I doubt the SPL could force the SFL to take a member and into a specific league.

Hearts must be delighted. Rangers bump them for £800k. Hearts let go a player they can't afford Rangers sign him. Wish the news had broken yesterday to remind everyone what corrupt *******s they are....