View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 495 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 3954454854934944954964975055455959951495 ... LastLast
Results 14,821 to 14,850 of 45185
    Quote Originally Posted by TQM View Post
    Our Chairman has spoken of sporting integrity whilst (it appears) he has orchestrated change to our game which lacks integrity. NewCo have been given lenient and preferential treatment thus - rightly IMHO - leaving many fans (Hibs and others) to question the credibility of any form of integrity in our game. I have principles - it appears many others have also - I am not about to develop another set of principles when its convenient to do so. NewCo in Div 1 is insufficient punishment, and unacceptable to me.

Without appearing rude, isn't it the case that you don't actually turn up to watch Hibernian? -but you will attend when we visit Tannadice - (not a dig at not turning up by the way - each to their own) - the point I'm making is that insufficient punishment to rangers being unacceptabel to you makes absolutely not a jot of difference to Hibernian FC?

Quote Originally Posted by SMAXXA View Post
    Come to check this thread out for genuine signing rumours and spend most of the time trailing through pages of complete guff about the huns and other pish.

Can we please try keep to the topic of the thread.
    Sorry SMAXXA

Quote Originally Posted by Brooster View Post
    I beg to differ, you and Desperate Dan are basically typing the same stuff in every post you write. Im not saying I disagree with you but please give us a break.
    Jeez, Brooster, if repetition was banned, there would be a fraction of the posts on here.

It's not my intention to irritate you, merely to discuss issues and give my opinion, but if you're finding them too difficult to bear, I won't be offended if you put me on ignore.

Skanco, you've made your point over and over and over. As far as I can see you've failed to convince anyone that your blinkered, simplistic viewpoint is the way to go. If you believe that the turning a blind eye to corruption and cheating is the majority viewpoint of all Hibs supporters, God help us. You, as is your right, have condemned the other viewpoint. There doesn't seem to be any common ground ( except that we all have the same aim). Since the admins have religiously condensed all the 'Rangers' posts into one or two threads, it surely makes it simple for you to ignore the 'moaning minority'.

Quote Originally Posted by garlic View Post
    Dont shoot the messenger.
    Brian Kennedy back in the frame.Will offer to buy (the club) but not the stadium and look to ground share with either Killie,Motherwell or St Mirren until Green is forced to sell the Stadium as its un-used.
    Heard the same but it was Hampden he enquired about>

Quote Originally Posted by Skanko79 View Post
    your post is a perfect example of my point.

the rangers situation is not the be all and end all of life.

ive not in ANY of my posts used the word cheat, nor said i want them to prosper in our game.

the minute someone comes along with a different set of opinions its not the end of the world.
    Exactly! You have not used the word because you seem to either be in denial, or in your own words you "couldn't give a toss".

Quite simply a lot of people do not want to overlook a crucial fact that you seem happy to.

Left by mutual consent! Skanko79's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    Skanco, you've made your point over and over and over. As far as I can see you've failed to convince anyone that your blinkered, simplistic viewpoint is the way to go. If you believe that the turning a blind eye to corruption and cheating is the majority viewpoint of all Hibs supporters, God help us. You, as is your right, have condemned the other viewpoint. There doesn't seem to be any common ground ( except that we all have the same aim). Since the admins have religiously condensed all the 'Rangers' posts into one or two threads, it surely makes it simple for you to ignore the 'moaning minority'.
    im most certainly not the one trying to convince anyone of anything.

and your right, 400 odd pages of the same people blowing smoke up each others @rses about the rangers situation is NOT appealing.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsmad View Post
    Exactly! You have not used the word because you seem to either be in denial, or in your own words you "couldn't give a toss".

Quite simply a lot of people do not want to overlook a crucial fact that you seem happy to.
    alot of people? judging by the posts on this forum it would seem somewhere in the region of about 8 or 9.

Well judging by the posts on this forum that's about 7 or 8 more people than those who share your view.

Quote Originally Posted by hibs13681 View Post
    The bit I am not sure about is the spl board instructing them to give up the share. If the spl are intent on letting rangers get the best possible deal what is stopping the from relegation? the vote is only for will we allow rangers to transfer the shre to a newco. If its a no then i think it's pretty unclear what happens with old rangers and their share.
    The articles and rules are very clear - the board would have no option but to give that instruction - Rangers FC are no longer a football club and so are not eligible. The SFL are a separate body and the SPL cannot force them to accept any club beyond the already agreed promotion/relegation arrangement of one up/one down.

Rangers FC cannot be relegated they can only be expelled from the SPL - unless the articles/rules are changed which is what they seem to be cntemplating now.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsmad View Post
    Well judging by the posts on this forum that's about 7 or 8 more people than those who share your view.

so, if Rangers get to stay in the SPL or get to go to the 1st division are you going to stop supporting Hibs and going to Easter Road?

Really? I suppose this here, is representative of 8 or 9 folk on Hibs.net whae are pissed off with the hun situ?

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/Fe...639653,00.html

I suggest, at least a portion of that 2,500 punters who had season tickets last year are NOT renewing until this ***** is cleared up.

Nobody likes being made a **** out of. And rangers/the media/spl/sfl and SOME clubs are attempting to make a **** out of us all, the rules and sporting integrity.

Bottom line; Gretna and others went bust (and under FAR less devious circumstances) - they disappeared. They would not have been offered immediate entry into the 1st division so why the **** should rangers? Their contribution to the cause of progressing Scottish Football all over the world - Im sure the folk of Manchester would welcome them back? Dodgy salutes? Dodgy songs?

Its NOT that anyone doesny care aboot Hibs more than Rangers....its all aboot being made to look stupid and most folk, rate that right up there with what matters.

RANGERS TO THE THIRD DIVISION. ANYTHING ELSE, IS PISH AND ****ING CHEATING.

GGTTH.

ENDOF

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?2...wco-into-SFL1)

Does this poll answer your question as to the thoughts of people on this matter?

if you guys want to stop supporting hibs over it then on you go. its you that will be the death of our club if you do so.

good luck with that.

if you guys want to stop supporting hibs over it then on you go. its you that will be the death of our club if you do so.

good luck with that.
    Nobody wants that. We want to be treated as equals, not to be treated as second class. If we don't speak up this will go through.

@hibs.net private member Barney McGrew's Avatar
    http://www.saintmirren.net/pages/?p=13398

St Mirren now confirm their intention to vote no, but more interestingly throw their weight behind a 16 team top division.

Quote Originally Posted by BarneyK View Post
    Nobody wants that. We want to be treated as equals, not to be treated as second class. If we don't speak up this will go through.
    and your willing to sacrifice the future of your own club for that of another?

Quote Originally Posted by Caversham Green View Post
    I'll reserve comment on Rod Petrie until his full involvement in this process comes to light, but he does seem to need reminding of his comment about sporting intergrity being beyond purchase. At the moment those word look worse than empty.

, it's such an obvious contradiction that i find it very hard to believe that RP, having been very consistent on the sporting integrity front, would try such a crass manouevre.

He will no doubt though be looking into the least worst option for Hibs, it's his job. The proposal for Rangers directly into first division is such a contemptable, clumsy idea that i can't see Petrie orchestrating it - I am prepared to stand corrected on this though.

How about a solution of say :

14 team SPL
    14 team SPL2/Div 1
    14 team SPL3/Div 2 (with pyramid system)
    • Rangers still get pumped to the lowest possible league in Scottish Senior Football, a consistent punishment (i.e. Livingston) but could be back in SPL in 2 years
    • League reconstructioin with pyramid system, play offs and more (?2-3) automatic relegation/promotion places
    • For this structure to be adopted the OF would have to agree to EQUAL share of the broadcasting money pot and an EQUITABLE voting structure

Perhaps a tad simplistic but possibly a way of ensuring the fair change necessary for the game in Scotland, punishing Rangers maximally but with a smaller stick to beat them with in terms of only 2 leagues below SPL.

Win/Win.

All im saying is im more commited to worrying about how we will play next season and hoping we improve than i am about rangers. I'm under the immpression the majority of folk on here that go on about it just want rangers out and dont give a toss about our game.
    Agree with this. If it had been any other team but Rangers, the majority of people threatening to never go back wouldn't even bother. It's just that there is such hatred towards them on here that people want them gone.

I couldn't care less if they're in Division 1 or Division 3, as long as Hibs are doing well.

@hibs.net private member McSwanky's Avatar

good luck with that.
    No. It won't only be our club that dies. It will be Scottish football. Because this conversation is mirrored across fans of teams the length and breadth of this country. Teams that aren't doing quite as well as Hibs financially. I admire your blind loyalty to Hibernian, but the club are part of a bigger picture.

I have a question for you. If Rod decided that Hibs were going to change direction and start playing rugby in the SRU leagues (or whatever they're called), would you still go? Or would you desert your club at that stage?

Quote Originally Posted by Steve20 View Post
    Agree with this. If it had been any other team but Rangers, the majority of people threatening to never go back wouldn't even bother. It's just that there is such hatred towards them on here that people want them gone.

I couldn't care less if they're in Division 1 or Division 3, as long as Hibs are doing well.
    I know, been searching for a 500 page thread for when it happened to gretna and dundee and livvy but im struggling to find one somehow.....................

and your willing to sacrifice the future of your own club for that of another?
    In many ways, it's nothing to do with Rangers anymore. It's to do with believing in your club and that they are competing in a fair and just competition. Many people will just lose the heart for participation in a league where a club can do whatever they like and face no punishment, where they are not allowed to be relegated, where, if you listened to early media reports, they aren't even allowed to finish outwith the top 6 - because that would knackers Sky's 4 old firm games. It leaves too many questions unanswered. If they dinnae stroll through the first division and face a last match battle for that promotion place, is the other club expected to throw the game? If they get back to the SPL and Hibs are sitting in 4th, 3 points away from Europe and they are sitting bottom needing a win to stay up, are WE supposed to throw the match? If, unlikely as it would be, they decided to try their hand at proper match fixing, our powers that be have already confirmed for them that there is not a thing that we could do that would punish them fully. Basically we are giving them carte blanche to do whatever the Hell they like, yeah, much like it's always been, but it somehow sticks in the craw when it is this blatant, and that is what many are struggling with.

Quote Originally Posted by Steve20 View Post

Hibs haven't been doing well for decades.

It now transpires that part of the reason for that is Rangers' cheating.

How much are you willing to put up with before walking away?

I know, been searching for a 500 page thread for when it happened to gretna and dundee and livvy but im struggling to find one somehow.....................
    You're looking for the thread where Livvy and Gretna were parachuted into the first division and the whole of Scottish football was restructured to get them there? Good luck with that.

It didnt need one as the rules where in place and it was dealt with, on this occasion the rules are in place and it is far from dealt with.

@hibs.net private member Part/Time Supporter's Avatar
    That's probably because the authorities didn't try to bend (if not break) the rules to "accommodate" them.

Quote Originally Posted by McS****y View Post
    No. It won't only be our club that dies. It will be Scottish football. Because this conversation is mirrored across fans of teams the length and breadth of this country. Teams that aren't doing quite as well as Hibs financially. I admire your blind loyalty to Hibernian, but the club are part of a bigger picture.

I have a question for you. If Rod decided that Hibs were going to change direction and start playing rugby in the SRU leagues (or whatever they're called), would you still go? Or would you desert your club at that stage?
    right, so ive now been faced with possible scenarios comparing this situation to one in a casino and now rugby. that for me about sums it up.

im NOT trying to change anyones views on this, just a bit stumped as to why people are prepared to walk away from our club.

scottish football has been a complete farce for years im affraid. the sooner some folk here realise that the better.

Exactly.

Because they were dealt with as per the rules.

They also didn't rob £140m in order to win countless championships and trophies and get to a UEFA Cup Final!

The SFA, SFL and SPL are bending the rules to let Rangers off. It's corruption and you're condoning it.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Hibs haven't been doing well for decades.
    fancy going into a wee bit more detail with that?

right, so ive now been faced with possible scenarios comparing this situation to one in a casino and now rugby. that for me about sums it up.

im NOT trying to change anyones views on this, just a bit stumped as to why people are prepared to walk away from our club.

scottish football has been a complete farce for years im affraid. the sooner some folk here realise that the better.
    It is our club when the club are doing things as per the rules in place, it then becomes something else if it is involved in any form of bending rules for a club that has cheated on every club it has played, that is not Hibs to me that is just another wing of the OF and I am not going to support that.

If Hibs are having nothing to do with it in anyway shape or form I am with them 100%.

I agree

[QUOTE=Bad Martini;3279506]Really? I suppose this here, is representative of 8 or 9 folk on Hibs.net whae are pissed off with the hun situ?

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/Fe...639653,00.html

I suggest, at least a portion of that 2,500 punters who had season tickets last year are NOT renewing until this ***** is cleared up.

Nobody likes being made a **** out of. And rangers/the media/spl/sfl and SOME clubs are attempting to make a **** out of us all, the rules and sporting integrity.

Bottom line; Gretna and others went bust (and under FAR less devious circumstances) - they disappeared. They would not have been offered immediate entry into the 1st division so why the **** should rangers? Their contribution to the cause of progressing Scottish Football all over the world - Im sure the folk of Manchester would welcome them back? Dodgy salutes? Dodgy songs?

Its NOT that anyone doesny care aboot Hibs more than Rangers....its all aboot being made to look stupid and most folk, rate that right up there with what matters.

RANGERS TO THE THIRD DIVISION. ANYTHING ELSE, IS PISH AND ****ING CHEATING.

I totally agree,
    and just to clarify things, its not only what Rangers have done that's irritating most Fans, its the blatant rule changing to accommodate them.
    As we all know they have been suffocating Scottish Football for decades now and we along with all other clubs, out with the Old firm, have had to
    accept it and get on with it, but now that we have a chance of change, albeit through a serious breach of rule breaking, change which can only
    be good for Scottish Football, but alas the SPL and SFA dont want that change to be as drastic as the current rules state, rules that they would
    quickly and severely implement if it were any other club outwith the Glasgow Clubs.
    This only tells me that there is fear, within the powers that be and the Glasgow Clubs, in allowing the other Clubs to compete on a fairer and
    level basis.
    If we allow these proposals put forward by the SPL and SFA to go ahead, what is the point of carrying on only to once again play second fiddle
    to and again be playing for third spot in a League that is already a laughing stock throughout Britain and European football.
    And mark my words those Rangers fans will like nothing better than to see other clubs go to the wall and if they can assist in that by boycotting
    grounds who had the audacity to vote against them on an issue they themselves would not be blinkered to if it was another Club rather than
    themselves then they will do this.
    Third Division or the games up.