View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 429 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 3293794194274284294304314394795299291429 ... LastLast
Results 12,841 to 12,870 of 45185
    Quote Originally Posted by TQM View Post
    Yes .. but the rumour is more that they have been informally told it is on.

Excellent news then. A trip to Dens.

so by the end of day it could all be over

@hibs.net private member Leithenhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Excellent news then. A trip to Dens.

Not so sure about that, after all the twists & turn it could still go belly-up!!

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Quote Originally Posted by TQM View Post
    Yes .. but the rumour is more that they have been informally told it is on.

Your dislike of the Dees counts for nothing The fixtures can be re-done.
    My opinion on the unlikelihood of it being Dundee and my dislike for them aren't linked.

The point is that the SPL have in the past set a precedent by saving clubs from relegation rather than rewarding second place in the First Division.

I find it quite laughable that you've been very cheerily vocal on the demise of Rangers, yet give your support/backing (call it what you will) to a club who have shafted many small businesses and employees across the Tayside region
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    The game has needed change for years. The fact its an Old Firm team in the cr@p means that the other clubs are in a position of strength for once. That's would not be a fudge, that would be using that advantage to gain genuine benefits for the good of the whole game. I want to see them in the bottom division but all that will mean is that their inevitable march back to the top flight takes them two years longer, time during which they will still have a massive fan base but much lower outgoings in wages. Putting them in the bottom tier could actually be the best option for them. Two years extra schadenfreude or genuine change forced through for the long term good of our game? That's the choice that may have to be made.
    I dinnae disagree that change is needed, I disagree with it being done tae save cheats from their proper fate and just desserts. Put them in the bottom division then change it if they still want tae dae it for any other reason than tae save the huns. Would there be any talk of change if it wisnae them? As I said, I doubt it.

Its well on its way...who's next

dominoesfall.jpg

3 teams have indicated they will vote against them and all from east of scotland

Quote Originally Posted by down-the-slope View Post
    Its well on its way...who's next

dominoesfall.jpg
    I think Rod's waiting for the next club to come out so he can be the 5th nail in the coffin, and send Sevco to the 3rd division.

Quote Originally Posted by BOVRIL View Post
    I wouldnt mind this.

The fans forums ( including this one ) are full of 'lets boycott this club or that club'. Hell the way things are going there wont be any hope for Scottish football coz nobody will be watching anybody.

A newco voted back in and relegated to SPL2 with hopefully a points deduction too would be enough for me.

Theres nothing wrong with a bit of compromise, not because I really care what happens to the newco rangers, but because I think we are in danger of tearing the game apart with all the bad feeling this situation is starting to cause between all the clubs.

This all started as a demand from all of us that Rangers should be punished and now its become a runaway train with everybody threatening everybody else.

I just want a fair league and to see some football played. Rangers punished will do me as long is it doesnt mean them playing in the SPL next season.
    This was always going to rip the SPL apart. There was no avoiding it. Rangers and their apologists incl their media buddies expect everyone else to sell their sporting integrity, throw away fair competition and accept (formally) that the OF are immune from the normal rules of competition. No apology, no humility, legal action against the SFA, arrogance of spending more money, walking away from huge debts with no conscience. Is it any wonder why fans of other clubs who have pumped money into their clubs over the last 15 years want them punished PROPERLY ? Not the slap on the wrist that Rangers want but a fair and proportionate punishment. Demotion to the 3rd div FEELS about right. For NewCo to be out of the SPL for just 1 year FEELS too lenient, given the level of their cheating and lack of remorse.

I expect more revelations to come out of this affair, once BDO and the BBC get stuck into it, maybe to th point where we all think starting at the 3rd Div was a complete let off for NewCo.

I think we might hear something from Hibs today.

Putting a statement out there seems pretty safe now and it might just tempt a few fans to put their hands in their pockets and buy a season ticket.

Also I see on Rangers media the real cause of all this has been revealed:

Wim Jansen. If he didn't stop 10 in a row then Murray would never have been so reckless apparently.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Onion View Post
    I expect more revelations to come out of this affair, once BDO and the BBC get stuck into it, maybe to the point where we all think starting at the 3rd Div was a complete let off for NewCo.
    That point should be now.

PSN ID: Dave1875
    Hibs to email fans on newco issue shortly.....this is it wish I knew would have taken the day off work

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby
    Apparently -
    BBC also reporting that Hibs will be emailing fans on newco issue shortly.

@hibs.net private member bawheid's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by reallapsedhibee View Post
    That point should be now.
    Yip, don't see how they can get into the SFL anyway. Have they ever played a game? Do they have any players? A ground? Can they demonstrate they have their finances in order?

The last thing the SFL needs is a club going bust halfway through the season. Spartans are a far safer bet.

PSN ID: Dave1875
    @ScotFootBlog: BBC also reporting that Hibs will be emailing fans on newco issue shortly.

Should have done this to begin with #amatuer

Quote Originally Posted by The Story So Far... View Post
    I doubt it will be Dundee.

The precedent has already been set by the SPL with the stadium issues and league reconstruction in the past, that saviour from relegation rather than deferring to the next highest finisher in Div 1 is the method for plugging any gap.

The fixtures would also need to effectively be rearranged to accommodate Dundee as there are around 10 clashes with Dundee Utd IIRC. Installing Dunfermline back into the SPL would be the easiest way to make up the difference.

Plus, Dundee are almost equally as morally bankrupt as Rangers, having screwed over creditors on 2 occasions - if they're going to get back into the SPL, it should be on footballing merit - they don't deserve to benefit from the demise of a club who did the same as them.
    People have already investigated this and it will be Dundee I believe

Hear what you're saying about the irony though...

Quote Originally Posted by Matty_Jack04 View Post
    @ScotFootBlog: BBC also reporting that Hibs will be emailing fans on newco issue shortly.

Not that amateur maybe

Just needs a gander at the forums to get a good idea if what well over 10 000 Hibs fans want

Hibs made it clear early doors that theyre taking a similar position to fans

Just in comparison with the new statements it seems less unequivocal

Quote Originally Posted by joe breezy View Post
    People have already investigated this and it will be Dundee I believe

Hear what you're saying about the irony though...
    It might be ironic, but they have been punished. All i want is the rules to be applied as they should.

Once the huns are out, we can then get a new set of rules set up, that makes things a lot fairer for EVERYONE, and close all the loopholes that those clubs who dont run their clubs in a fit and proper way can hide behind.

This could be the week that save Scottish football.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bawheid View Post
    Yip, don't see how they can get into the SFL anyway. Have they ever played a game? Do they have any players? A ground? Can they demonstrate they have their finances in order?

The last thing the SFL needs is a club going bust halfway through the season. Spartans are a far safer bet.

Cove Rangers, Spartans = proper football clubs
    Sevco 5088 = spiv's wet dream

No case whatsoever for favouring the latter over the former

Quote Originally Posted by joe breezy View Post
    Not that amateur maybe

Just needs a gander at the forums to get a good idea if what well over 10 000 Hibs fans want

Hibs made it clear early doors that theyre taking a similar position to fans

Just in comparison with the new statements it seems less unequivocal
    Absolutely. Given what they have said publicly and in emails to fans, I would be astonished if Hibs were to vote YES. In fact, it would be almost an invitation to mutiny.

@hibs.net private member Barney McGrew's Avatar
    Amateurs spell as amateur as amatuer

can they not just have a preemptive vote against hertz at the same time, and vote them oot tae

Fair enough but is it not a pointless exercise as it has already been made abundantly clear that 99.9% of us say no. Are these public statements an attempt by the managements of clubs to lessen any long-term conflict with the management of Rangers by hiding behind the wishes of their supporters?

Quote Originally Posted by reallapsedhibee View Post

Cove Rangers, Spartans = proper football clubs
    Sevco 5088 = spiv's wet dream

No case whatsoever for favouring the latter over the former
    Money and crowds is the reason. One the flip side, the SFL will have run due diligence on how they will finance and control the Sevco hoards defending on ramshackled grounds every 2nd week. Wouldn't it be great if the police came out and blocked this on the basis of public safety

Quote Originally Posted by CallumLaidlaw View Post
    Apparently -
    BBC also reporting that Hibs will be emailing fans on newco issue shortly.
    All they need to do is view the poll results from the thread on this messageboard to gauge our opinion.

Over 99% of the voters said no to a NewCo. That would save them the bother.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    Fair enough but is it not a pointless exercise as it has already been made abundantly clear that 99.9% of us say no. Are these public statements an attempt by the managements of clubs to lessen any long-term conflict with the management of Rangers by hiding behind the wishes of their supporters?
    It doesn't say they are consulting with fans, just that they will be emailing them. I suspect Hibs might be about to explain that (because of the overwhelming call from fans, and the club's own views on sporting integrity) that they will be voting NO on 4th July.

It would be right for Hibs to let the fans know before the media... but let's see.

Quote Originally Posted by Sergey View Post
    All they need to do is view the poll results from the thread on this messageboard to gauge our opinion.

Over 99% of the voters said no to a NewCo. That would save them the bother.
    I assume they will just be saying something as opposed to asking - otherwise it seems a bit of pointlessly manual task.

It would be right for Hibs to let the fans know before the media... but let's see.
    believe its all to do with the exposure the club gets in the media

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    I assume they will just be saying something as opposed to asking - otherwise it seems a bit of pointlessly manual task.

The Club reps said last wed that they were clear on fan views...they fill up email boxes daily...and the club view MB's etc....

I'm sure in light of recent announcement Journo's will be calling every club and asking...what are you going to do so expect more press takes on those answers as day goes on...

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    Money and crowds is the reason. One the flip side, the SFL will have run due diligence on how they will finance and control the Sevco hoards defending on ramshackled grounds every 2nd week. Wouldn't it be great if the police came out and blocked this on the basis of public safety

The Old Firm played Scottish Cup ties at Arbroath and Peterhead earlier this year and the lights continued to work in these towns.

I think it will be great business for the small clubs of SFL 2 and 3 to get the publicity and decent gates a couple of times at least.

The Huns should look on it as Community Service for crimes committed against football.