Page 25 of 126 FirstFirst ... 1523242526273575125 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    Our only creative player when less than half fit. If he gets fit he could be a cracking player. Big IF though.

What makes you think he is a waster? Apart from maybe laziness on your behalf.
    I think his problems are in his head Andy. I saw him a lot when he was the new star at Palace a few years back & I always thought him overrated, especially by himself!! He has talent but needs to apply it a lot more than he has in his career to date. If he joined us & showed the right attitude he'd be an asset but - - - - !!!

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BigKev View Post
    I tend to agree with you. Soares had barely kicked a ball in 3 years before coming to up and showed flashes of quality. I'd give him another chance. With Griffiths gone we have no set piece specialist and Soares can take a decent set play. I wouldn't be disappointed to see him offered a 1 year deal with another years option. Fenlon evidently rates him and if he's worked hard pre season who knows.
    Was Griffiths really a set piece specialist? Sometimes took an ok corner but in general I thought he was pretty pish from set pieces, especially from free kicks.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    No, it has plenty to do with the playing staff. Which is why we should be getting rid of most of them too.

Soupy and Billy Brown sitting in a tree, K-I-S-S-I-N-G.

Aken Soupy, Bit of a radge like but defo a good guy

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    I think his problems are in his head Andy. I saw him a lot when he was the new star at Palace a few years back & I always thought him overrated, especially by himself!! He has talent but needs to apply it a lot more than he has in his career to date. If he joined us & showed the right attitude he'd be an asset but - - - - !!!
    Funny, I recall posting below at the time and my mates view was based on when Soares was fit and playing. An enigma.

Tin hat firmly on.

Working in Bromley Kent today, Palace territory and am with a guy who is a serious Palace fan - view of Soares -

"lots of fans thought he was good, others thought he got a bit lazy. very quick but clueless with it, dipped in and out of games, to be honest I was delighted when he got a surprise England u21 cap as it boosted his value when we needed the cash the most, we haven't missed him. Could do well up there but not sure he will fancy it if defenders are physical"

Just passing on info and I hope Tom does well with us.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibeesmad View Post
    http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scot...ons-plans.html

The Scottish sun I know....but they think we are In for that Slovakian cb, mcpake and the possibility of Tom soares!
    I know this is purely speculation by the **** but.....Soares would be a total no no for me. Certainly NOT the type of player we need or the type PF described that we need. Try not to read too much into rumours but signing this guy would fill me with dread for the new season.

It would be wonderful to have Soares signed for a year, then he can go on to Partick Thistle, Forfar and Whitehill Welfare.

This guy is a serial failure who is, in league terms, heading south, and whether it happens here on in England is pretty much irrelevant. I feel that we shouldn't be a stepping stone in yet another man's relentless quest for total obscurity.

“A proper low rent guy” - Springbank 21/10/24 easty's Avatar

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    Funny, I recall posting below at the time and my mates view was based on when Soares was fit and playing. An enigma.

Tin hat firmly on.

Working in Bromley Kent today, Palace territory and am with a guy who is a serious Palace fan - view of Soares -

"lots of fans thought he was good, others thought he got a bit lazy. very quick but clueless with it, dipped in and out of games, to be honest I was delighted when he got a surprise England u21 cap as it boosted his value when we needed the cash the most, we haven't missed him. Could do well up there but not sure he will fancy it if defenders are physical"

Just passing on info and I hope Tom does well with us.
    I'd disregard that opinion simply because he calls him very quick. I would question whether he'd ever actually seen Soares play!

I dont think Soares is a bad player, but he's definitly lazy. I just dont think we can afford to have a player in our midfield who isn't going to track back.

If Fenlon goes for Soares that's it with this club! What did he do last season? Nowt! I hope it's only speculation for this lazy third class no mark.

Quote Originally Posted by S.sct View Post
    I know this is purely speculation by the **** but.....Soares would be a total no no for me. Certainly NOT the type of player we need or the type PF described that we need. Try not to read too much into rumours but signing this guy would fill me with dread for the new season.
    Same was presumably said by many on here about Vaz Te last summer.

BB could have the Yams badge tattooed on each of his arse cheeks and go home each night and pray in front of a poster of mad Vlad standing on Mowgli's heid.....I wouldn't care as long as when he was working at Hibs, he was making us a better side. He's been here for ages and done the square root of **** all.
    Does/Did Darren Jackson have a Yams tattoo when he was playing for us? I'm not saying he did, probably just a stupid rumor but it is something I've heard.
    Point being, as long as their doing a job. I don't care who they are or where they've come from.

Quote Originally Posted by S.sct View Post
    I would be disappointed if Soares signed. Apart from Killie and Inverness away where he showed glimpses, I have not been impressed by him. He was part of one of our weakest midfield's in a long time, and would be a no from me also....The sight of our midfield giving Black the freedom of Hampden, should be enough to dissuade PF from making a move
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

Quote Originally Posted by davrock View Post
    If Fenlon goes for Soares that's it with this club! What did he do last season? Nowt! I hope it's only speculation for this lazy third class no mark.
    Bye Bye. So do you want the manager to run every signing by you?

First Team Breakthrough Persevere80's Avatar
    Whittaker is a yam is he no, he done a job for us.

Quote Originally Posted by Persevere80 View Post
    Is he not a rangers fan??

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Almost.

He is a Jambo.

Quote Originally Posted by Persevere80 View Post
    Sat and had a drink with him one night. He was a Jambo growing up as a lad. Said you can't really support another team rather than the one you play for. Spoke highly of Hibs and said he loved every min here. Decent guy and very grounded.

I'd disregard that opinion simply because he calls him very quick. I would question whether he'd ever actually seen Soares play!

I dont think Soares is a bad player, but he's definitly lazy. I just dont think we can afford to have a player in our midfield who isn't going to track back.
    but its past tense, as in was quick when he was at Palace, its a while ago and its pretty clear he is not even quick now on the strength of what we had on the pitch. Maybe there is a player in there but don't think we can afford the luxury of trying to find out.

No, it has plenty to do with the playing staff. Which is why we should be getting rid of most of them too.

Soupy and Billy Brown sitting in a tree, K-I-S-S-I-N-G.
    Ha ha, stop it :-)

Soares......... noooooooooo not what Hibs need.
    And Rod ... stop pissing about with McPake's signature, get it done or lose half your supporters.

Tom Soares PLEASE Gawd NO !

Total waste of space who would think he is Billy Big Baws at wee Hibs, he is EXACTLY what we don't need
    Last edited by Sammy7nil; 04-06-2012 at 02:48 PM.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Soares wasn't that bad, at least he scored a couple, came close to scoring a few more and created a few chances, Aberdeen game at pittodrie case in point, I wasn't there but I read how bad he was, didn't offer anything etc but when I saw the highlights he would have scored if Reynolds never scored the og and he created a couple of other chances.

That said if we don't sign him I won't be arsed

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Whittaker

Defo a Jambo

Quote Originally Posted by Sammy7nil View Post

Total waste of space who would think he is Billy Big Baws at wee Hibs, he is EXACTLY what we don't need
    Says in the news Paddy is considering making him an offer.

http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-ev...hold-1-2337199

First Team Breakthrough seven nowt's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ScottB View Post
    On the other hand, we slated boys like Vaz Te...

I never! The guy was one of the only good football players we had, it was actually pretty obvious in my eyes.

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Famous5forever View Post
    Says in the news Paddy is considering making him an offer.
    That offer should be pick a window your leaving.

Quote Originally Posted by Sammy7nil View Post

One of the things that makes the 19 May just about bearable is the thought that the majority of that team will never play for Hibs again. Most of them should never be allowed near ER let along the jersey. To even suggest that Soares - one of the laziest, ineffective players I've had the misfortune to watch playing for Hibs (in arguably the worst m/f) is a sick joke. Hibs have to set new standards at the club - way higher than guys like Soares.

Quote Originally Posted by Posh Swanny View Post
    Same was presumably said by many on here about Vaz Te last summer.
    Vaz Te was a better player, this guy was injured more than fit, appeared slow and drifted out of games. We can get better than him from the SFL clubs. Come on have you forgotten last season already. New start, new mindset and pace please. Not Soares.

It had in the EEN today that fenlon had a decision to make on Soares. Personally I dont think Soarez is good enough.

Testimonial Due Billychaotic182's Avatar

Gamertag: Billy Chaotic PSN ID: BillyChaotic
    Soares looked good in two games. Killie and ICT I think And then after that he looked lazy, slow and acted like he didn't give a fudge about hibs. However from what I can make from watching the games he played in is that he is rated by Fenlon. Not 100% sure but I think he was given the armband against Aberdeen away. So if Fenlon was given the chance I think he would take him