View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 214 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 1141642042122132142152162242643147141214 ... LastLast
Results 6,391 to 6,420 of 45185
    If the current bun fans think the vote on the new rules being postponed is a bad thing, then it must have been a good thing.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Sounds like Doncaster is preparing us all for a Rangers Newco in the spl next season. Shameful if true. I won't be back if Hibs allow this to happen.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    Sounds like Doncaster is preparing us all for a Rangers Newco in the spl next season. Shameful if true. I won't be back if Hibs allow this to happen.
    Aw deary me ...

Quote Originally Posted by green is good View Post
    What would happen about the transfer ban if Bill Miller's bid is successful since he seems to want to have both newcurrants and currentcurrants alive until a later date?

As far as Doncaster is concerned the transfer ban would be attached barnacle like to the oldco and slip into the clyde without trace, meanwhile the newco will request donations from the other 11 clubs to restore the queens eleven to its former glory in time for the start of next season.
    The remaining clubs will wholeheartedly agree and will be seen running from the building trouserless with large painted arrows saying shaft me here.

........................I think that about sums it up.
    Last edited by seanshow; 30-04-2012 at 06:17 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by happyhibbie View Post
    Aw deary me ...
    I know, its shocking having principles!

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    I would not attend Rantic games at ER (assuming we are in the SPL ) - my seat would be empty and the club would know why.

@hibs.net private member woodythehibee's Avatar
    I listened to the show and he basically said that Rangers could be re-admitted to the SPL without any punishment. He said they SPL board would decide on the basis of the improving the SPL league which realistically means that they would remain in the SPL.

Quote Originally Posted by youngyosh View Post
    As far as Doncaster is concerned the transfer ban would be attached barnacle like to the oldco and slip into the clyde without trace, meanwhile the newco will request donations from the other 11 clubs to restore the queens eleven to its former glory in time for the start of next season.
    The remaining clubs will wholeheartedly agree and will be seen running from the building trouserless with large painted arrows saying shaft me here.

Yes - that sounds pretty accurate

Quote Originally Posted by woodythehibee View Post
    I listened to the show and he basically said that Rangers could be re-admitted to the SPL without any punishment. He said they SPL board would decide on the basis of the improving the SPL league which realistically means that they would remain in the SPL.

Would make a good politician and like them I wouldn't trust him
    " WHITEWASH " coming up methinks !

Quote Originally Posted by happyhibbie View Post
    Aw deary me ...
    You find this tiresome? If you want to ignore what rangers& their custodians have done then on you go. For me,It's like someone giving it to you up the arse & you then thanking them for it.

Quote Originally Posted by Ray-in-ireland View Post
    I know, its shocking having principles!
    No it isn't, because there will be at least the two of us.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    The cynic in me says that if & when the wounded one gets better he's gonna be more intolerable and a bigger bully than ever
    ...... and, he will vent his wrath on all who dared to challenge him. Beware!

I might be wrong though, he could turn out to be nice cuddly teddy bear

On the fans survey he more or less rubbished it by saying that when things were explained to them they understood what the position was !, the man is a complete erse of the highest order and he will rue the day he lets a Rangers newco straight back in the SPL , mark my words that is what is going to happen if has his way as he mentioned a few times that was what has happened in England with various clubs. He is a slippery as a snake and we are all wasting our time with surveys, protests the lot as the die is cast and Rangers will be in the SPL next season.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Shamelessly nicked:

Rangers FC 2013 Line up - Naismith, Naifuture, Naiclass, Naimoney, Naistadium, Naihope, Naitrophies, Naiprospects, Naifans, Naimanager, Naiplayers.

Doncaster = OF

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    Quote Originally Posted by down the slope View Post
    On the fans survey he more or less rubbished it by saying that when things were explained to them they understood what the position was !, the man is a complete erse of the highest order and he will rue the day he lets a Rangers newco straight back in the SPL , mark my words that is what is going to happen if has his way as he mentioned a few times that was what has happened in England with various clubs. He is a slippery as a snake and we are all wasting our time with surveys, protests the lot as the die is cast and Rangers will be in the SPL next season.

The guy is a complete arse, Employing this man could be the biggest mistake the SPL has made. He has shown countless times that the fans dont matter as long as the TV money is there. Im hoping the clubs see sense and throw them out or there will be hell to pay.

Quote Originally Posted by Mikeystewart View Post
    If rangers became a New-Co would they retain the stadium and training facilities or are these assets that will be sold off to pay the creditors?
    The Newco would have to buy any assets from the Oldco. This will require the approval of creditors (and presumably Craig Whyte?).

Quote Originally Posted by youngyosh View Post

As I posted on another thread BIG WHITEWASH coming up and we will all " live happily everafter" YUCH !!!!!!!!!!!
    SPL is a joke sorry a BIG JOKE - does it really have a future ?

Quote Originally Posted by jdships View Post
    As I posted on another thread BIG WHITEWASH coming up and we will all " live happily everafter" YUCH !!!!!!!!!!!
    SPL is a joke sorry a BIG JOKE - does it really have a future ?
    No for me it disnae, if this happens Scottish fitba will lose what little credibility and integrity it has left. If they start the SPL next season in any form I winnae be back ever. I'll find better things tae dae with my money than put it in tae something which is so blatantly corrupt and morally bankrupt. If they get away with cheating on this scale the rest of us might as well pack up.

Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    No for me it disnae, if this happens Scottish fitba will lose what little credibility and integrity it has left. If they start the SPL next season in any form I winnae be back ever. I'll find better things tae dae with my money than put it in tae something which is so blatantly corrupt and morally bankrupt.
    Along with many others. The SPL will just be confirming that SPORT has absolutely no place in the business of taking money from us. All this SPL football needs Rangers to survive crap really get on my wick, they wouldn't be here if anybody else would have them.

First Team Breakthrough Hibees07's Avatar
    I haven't really thought much about the Rangers situation however the thought of Hibs going down to Division 1 and Rangers staying in the SPL would leave a very bitter taste in the mouth.

What would put the icing on the cake is if Petrie and Co actually vote to protect Rangers SPL status despite about 98% or so of Hibs fans objecting to this in the survey.

That would be a double shafting for us and one I don't think I could stomach.

@hibs.net private member proud_and_green's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    I think everyone is right in that for Scottish Football to remain as it is we need both Celtic and Rangers in the SPL. The thing is, the way it is is crap unless you are a Celtic or Rangers fan, though it seems to be retaining this is the priority all round. We shouldn't be surprised though as papers get sold to these fans in large numbers and TV right are sold reliant on them.

The 'good of Scottish football' seems to be a difficult thing to pin down, it's either about having a commercial product that is forged on two big clubs and trying to allow them to be competitive in Europe and is of wide interest to OF fans and interested outsiders, or it's about a widely comptitive league that can survive on its own two feet and is run in the spirit of fairness, at whatever that natural level turns out to be.

I'm afraid that the self interest of efveryone in the position of influencing the game, be it within football or in the medai, is going to ensure that things get back to 'normal' very quickly, and that will be just great for 'Scottish football'.
    "The good of Scottish Football" is a very interesting statement. Conveniently used now in support of Rangers. But of course, they weren't interested in the good of Scottish Football when they wanted to leg it to England, the Atlantic, Brazil or wherever a couple of years ago.

How is the good of scottish football best served? In my view by being completely honest, open, fair and consistent in all dealings with all clubs at all times.

What is going on now is clearly not fair and has no shread of consistency when it is compared to how Livingston, Gretna and Motherwell amongst others were treated. (although i do not think what happened to them was wrong but certainly has been encouraged by the suits at Hampden).

It is not in the interests of the fans of the majority of the clubs, but it is in the interests of their owners, because without the old firm the revenue will reduce and without the revenue the profit (if there is any) will also reduce. The ability to maintain expensive squads and large grounds will be questionable. But without them there will be a more competetive league which may just rejuvenate the game and perhaps consequently bring back the fans and also perhaps give greater opportunity to young home grown players. Of course there would be a period of considerable pain but i think we would have a better product at the far end.

So therefore, the answer is that the good of Scottish Football actually means the interest of the the owners, the OF and the suits at Hampden but most certainly the Good of Scottish Football does NOT mean in the best interest and good of the fans.

OFGTF

What's the point in playing to the rules, both football and fiscal, if this is true?

I really despair. It would seem any thread of integrity remaining lies with UEFA or the courts, maybe through a judicial review into the decisions made.
    Space to let

Quote Originally Posted by proud_and_green View Post
    "The good of Scottish Football" is a very interesting statement. Conveniently used now in support of Rangers. But of course, they weren't interested in the good of Scottish Football when they wanted to leg it to England, the Atlantic, Brazil or wherever a couple of years ago.

How is the good of scottish football best served? In my view by being completely honest, open, fair and consistent in all dealings with all clubs at all times.

What is going on now is clearly not fair and has no shread of consistency when it is compared to how Livingston, Gretna and Motherwell amongst others were treated. (although i do not think what happened to them was wrong but certainly has been encouraged by the suits at Hampden).

It is not in the interests of the fans of the majority of the clubs, but it is in the interests of their owners, because without the old firm the revenue will reduce and without the revenue the profit (if there is any) will also reduce. The ability to maintain expensive squads and large grounds will be questionable. But without them there will be a more competetive league which may just rejuvenate the game and perhaps consequently bring back the fans and also perhaps give greater opportunity to young home grown players. Of course there would be a period of considerable pain but i think we would have a better product at the far end.

So therefore, the answer is that the good of Scottish Football actually means the interest of the the owners, the OF and the suits at Hampden but most certainly the Good of Scottish Football does NOT mean in the best interest and good of the fans.

OFGTF
    If it comes to a vote to allow new hun co to get back in. Petrie could vote no. Will he? I think he won't. Email him [email protected]

Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    What's the point in playing to the rules, both football and fiscal, if this is true?

I really despair. It would seem any thread of integrity remaining lies with UEFA or the courts, maybe through a judicial review into the decisions made.
    If what is true?

All that seems to have happened today is that a decision has been deferred.

@hibs.net private member proud_and_green's Avatar
    Another thought occurs. The problem is the business model of clubs relies on and is held hostage to the whims of the OF turning up 4 times a year. The model should be to maximise home support and ensure that the home crowd pays for everything - that is the only way to break the hold of the OF. Cut the apron strings and allow the game to flourish independantly, a 16 team top league which is competetive and delivers an exciting product.

Quote Originally Posted by proud_and_green View Post
    Another thought occurs. The problem is the business model of clubs relies on and is held hostage to the whims of the OF turning up 4 times a year. The model should be to maximise home support and ensure that the home crowd pays for everything - that is the only way to break the hold of the OF. Cut the apron strings and allow the game to flourish independantly, a 16 team top league which is competetive and delivers an exciting product.
    Agree. Hibs, dons and goRgie tramps should start a new league. Invite 13 other teams to join. No old firm.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    If what is true?

All that seems to have happened today is that a decision has been deferred.
    in the absence of fact....just invent some

Everyone who has kept a close eye on this knows that liquidation would be avoided at all cost (if possible) until league finishes...therefore the clubs are trying to push things to a point where that may have / be about to happen as it would make things clearer....but also why rush new rule changes...it only suits Rangers to have more certainty.....

Quote Originally Posted by Weir7 View Post
    If it comes to a vote to allow new hun co to get back in. Petrie could vote no. Will he? I think he won't. Email him [email protected]
    Rp is not on the board of the SPL who will make the decision-me sticking up for Rod there's a first !, can't remember who some of the board are but Donkey and Ralph Topping are two of them so there is no chance of any integrity being shown.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Here's a thought on the deferral of the decisions today. Maybe, just maybe, Doncaster, and some of the clubs have looked at the fan survey and thought, crap, we are screwed if even 10% of the fans go ahead. They need more time to get it sorted, or there will be more than huns going to the wall.

Just surmising, like.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.