View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 213 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 1131632032112122132142152232633137131213 ... LastLast
Results 6,361 to 6,390 of 45185
    @hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    I see from today's "Scotsman" that Brian Kennedy is number 16 in Scotland's "rich list" with a personal fortune of £250 million while our very own Sir Tom Farmer is at number 33 with a measly £136 million.
    If STF cared about Scottish Fitba at all he would buy the Huns and shut them down. Farmer!

Quote Originally Posted by reallapsedhibee View Post
    If STF cared about Scottish Fitba at all he would buy the Huns and shut them down. Farmer!
    Relax..... agent Kennedy is doing a good job.

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    I see from today's "Scotsman" that Brian Kennedy is number 16 in Scotland's "rich list" with a personal fortune of £250 million while our very own Sir Tom Farmer is at number 33 with a measly £136 million.

I noticed that a certain Graeme Spiers was 83'rd on the list with £63M. Then I noticed the spelling of the Christian name.

The SPL clubs have delayed the vote on the financial fair-play stuff for a week but managed to push through the important stuff:

"Pitch protection rules will be introduced next season to minimise the risk of damage during pre-match warm-ups"

Their just dragging it out till the end of the season until they can go into liquidation. Imagine all the crap that would happen if they went under before then, no way could they let a new co in.

@hibs.net private member Leithenhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    Apart from 100 odd years of them rolling over and taking it Leithen the viewpoint is entirely my opinion and not fact, yet.

I do realise that, just wanted to try and have a more balanced approach and give them (spl) the benefit of the doubt.

The main thing is that this thread rolls on for our entertainment....

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    From my post below -

"Petrie wanted the meeting cancelled until they find out the outcome of our club. Bottlers"

OK it's just a quote from another fan's website but seems it could be true.

Drivel!

Could it be Hearts needed to go and ask Vlad if he fancied funding them next month or not?

Quote Originally Posted by LeithenHibby View Post

I do realise that, just wanted to try and have a more balanced approach and give them (spl) the benefit of the doubt.

The main thing is that this thread rolls on for our entertainment....
    I've had a couple of months of entertainment out of this. I'm going to miss it, when it's all over.

Quote Originally Posted by Beefster View Post
    The SPL clubs have delayed the vote on the financial fair-play stuff for a week but managed to push through the important stuff:

"Pitch protection rules will be introduced next season to minimise the risk of damage during pre-match warm-ups"
    Thank God for that, my faith in the SPL has been restored and I can sleep easy knowing that the warm ups will no longer ruin the pitch.

That retractable pitch can head back to the top of the 'what to spend our cup final money on' pile.

Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    Their just dragging it out till the end of the season until they can go into liquidation.

3pts away from home - i'm a happy glory hunter. jonty's Avatar

Gamertag: jonty Wii Code: 7580 5998 4272 1376
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    I noticed that a certain Graeme Spiers was 83'rd on the list with £63M. Then I noticed the spelling of the Christian name.
    Nade ?

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    SiMar there are already mechanisms in place for transferring SPL share to a newco which is simply the 6 man SPL board backing it. What we are witnessing is this coming to fruition imo. No sanction, no fine, no points penalty, nada.

By the time the SPL make new rules the newco Rangers will be the wealthiest club in the country.

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing"
    Quote Originally Posted by Seveno View Post
    I think that it is called the 'Pontius Pilate' approach.

Possibly although I will be very very surprised if the 6 man board would approve a Rangers newco into the SPL without the backing of the majority of it's members.

There is also the thought that if there are rules in places for the events currently happening why has there been such a rush to revise them? My understanding is that the rules as they stand are unclear and inconclusive in terms of dealing with a Rangers scenario hence my caution of creating new ones in the middle of the crisis, especially if they would be used as a smoke screen/excuse for the final implosion.

Lets face it if Rangers implode and come back as a newco who feel due to their transfer embargo and all the other problems of starting again that their best option is to rejoin the SFL then what value would have been added by the SPL coming out with new rules today that would have satisfied nobody. They would have been called too soft or too hard no matter what.

There is benefit in waiting and considering in this case I think although to be fair you might also be right...just another twist in what is a fascinating story!

Much as I might be being naive, I think the crazy situation surrounding the Huns calls for a wee bit of reflection before rushing out new rules that are sure to satisfy no one and probably upset just as many.Providing the SPL are not simply trying to give Rangers the benefit of the doubt for the time being, I've no doubt that there's plenty more **** to hit the fan down Govan way

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Just a wee aside to mention that Lou Macari on Radio5Live earlier today was every bit as bad as every Hun and ex-Hun apologist (Hately, Jardine, McCoist, etc) has been with his 'Scottish Fitba cannot exist without Old Firm derbies and Rangers must stay' pish. If anything it was slightly more disgusting hearing it pour out of an ex-Clt's gob, pointing up again that those clubs are two of a kind.

People have been rightly ridiculing the native weegia's coverage of the whole affair, but Macari's not part of that and he's at least as bad. I've not heard Charlie Nicholas on the topic, but would guess he won't be much different. Perhaps we ought to think of the weegia as not just those who work for local TV, radio and press but as extending to everyone with a public voice who's ever set foot in Ibrox or Parkhead.

I think everyone is right in that for Scottish Football to remain as it is we need both Celtic and Rangers in the SPL. The thing is, the way it is is crap unless you are a Celtic or Rangers fan, though it seems to be retaining this is the priority all round. We shouldn't be surprised though as papers get sold to these fans in large numbers and TV right are sold reliant on them.

The 'good of Scottish football' seems to be a difficult thing to pin down, it's either about having a commercial product that is forged on two big clubs and trying to allow them to be competitive in Europe and is of wide interest to OF fans and interested outsiders, or it's about a widely comptitive league that can survive on its own two feet and is run in the spirit of fairness, at whatever that natural level turns out to be.

I'm afraid that the self interest of efveryone in the position of influencing the game, be it within football or in the medai, is going to ensure that things get back to 'normal' very quickly, and that will be just great for 'Scottish football'.

PSN ID: pesus-ab
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    I think everyone is right in that for Scottish Football to remain as it is we need both Celtic and Rangers in the SPL. The thing is, the way it is is crap unless you are a Celtic or Rangers fan, though it seems to be retaining this is the priority all round. We shouldn't be surprised though as papers get sold to these fans in large numbers and TV right are sold reliant on them.

The 'good of Scottish football' seems to be a difficult thing to pin down, it's either about having a commercial product that is forged on two big clubs and trying to allow them to be competitive in Europe and is of wide interest to OF fans and interested outsiders, or it's about a widely comptitive league that can survive on its own two feet and is run in the spirit of fairness, at whatever that natural level turns out to be.

I'm afraid that the self interest of efveryone in the position of influencing the game, be it within football or in the medai, is going to ensure that things get back to 'normal' very quickly, and that will be just great for 'Scottish football'.

It won't be long before we are looking back at this thread with a tear in our eyes wondering what might have been.

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post

For the Huns (with and without microphones, typewriters, laptops ...), the terms "Scottish football" and "The Rangers" are interchangeable.

What I don't get is the reluctance of the other clubs to follow the blindingly obvious path of fairness. Sure, we'd all suffer a short term financial loss but as it would hit all the clubs at the same time, surely it would be a level playing field. Why can't the clubs cut their cloth accordingly? Why aren't they listening to what their own fans want? Why do they seem to be going to miss a once in a lifetime chance to change the structure of the game?

Genuinely baffled.

Quote Originally Posted by stokesmessiah View Post

It won't be long before we are looking back at this thread with a tear in our eyes wondering what might have been.
    Ultimately, on the assumption that Rangers "draw" remains substantially larger than everyone elses apart from their ugly sisters, that will be the case. They'll get more money because they have more fans and they will therefore be able to pay for better players and therefore in the fullness of time be more succesful - that is the sad underlying fact. I've said fromt he start the only fair thing is for them ot go down to Div 3 - newco or otherwise - and play their way back up.

Much as I'd like them to suffer for eternity, there is a realistic pennace they should be made to serve, and that, to me is it. It'll be so refreshing to have them gone for three years at least, and hopefully (but Im not holding my breath) returning humbler to the SPL in 2015 or thereabouts

PSN ID: pesus-ab
    Quote Originally Posted by TwoCarpets View Post
    Ultimately, on the assumption that Rangers "draw" remains substantially larger than everyone elses apart from their ugly sisters, that will be the case. They'll get more money because they have more fans and they will therefore be able to pay for better players and therefore in the fullness of time be more succesful - that is the sad underlying fact. I've said fromt he start the only fair thing is for them ot go down to Div 3 - newco or otherwise - and play their way back up.

Much as I'd like them to suffer for eternity, there is a realistic pennace they should be made to serve, and that, to me is it. It'll be so refreshing to have them gone for three years at least, and hopefully (but Im not holding my breath) returning humbler to the SPL in 2015 or thereabouts
    You just know it would more along the lines of..."We're back lets F****** getting in to this cheathing bheasts, they thought they could keep us down, we are the people" or words to that effect.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    As much as I dislike Celtc, that is :

Ripped me off so they did!

http://www.hibs.net/asset.php?fid=76...8&d=1334701517
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

Gamertag: Leith Sansiro
    If rangers became a New-Co would they retain the stadium and training facilities or are these assets that will be sold off to pay the creditors?

First Team Breakthrough RabMohr's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikeystewart View Post
    If rangers became a New-Co would they retain the stadium and training facilities or are these assets that will be sold off to pay the creditors?
    Good question...I thought that they couldn't move any assets to another company?

Doncaster now on sportsound more or less saying that a newco is not much different from the CVA route, now you know how they will vote, more or less rubished the supporter survey, http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/17325775

If they are liquidated, all assets of the present club would be sold off, unless a buyer couldn't be found and then those facilities were then rented back to the Newco (if they could afford the rent). The first plan would be to sell off the stadium and all other saleable assets in order to pay creditors.

They will most likely be sold by the oldco to the newco. Neither are worth very much for anything other than their football related use.

So the chat you hear about Bill Miller offering £11M means he is offering that much to buy the assets of Rangers including stadium and training ground which would then be owned by the Newco. He then offers some pie in the sky pish about keeping the oldco alive, bringing it out of admin via CVA while newco carries on playing and then eventually merging the 2 companies later. Therefore keeping an unbroken history.

KY Doncaster on Sportsound

Slippery as the above and ready to drop them for the bigots methinks.

Call me cynical.

Quote Originally Posted by green glory View Post
    Slippery as the above and ready to drop them for the bigots methinks.

Call me cynical.
    Green Glory you are cynical. But correct

Quote Originally Posted by WindyMiller View Post
    Drivel!
    The Hun support must be desperate when they are reduced to stealing comments from our old Petrie threads.

What would happen about the transfer ban if Bill Miller's bid is successful since he seems to want to have both newcurrants and currentcurrants alive until a later date?