View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 82 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 32728081828384921321825821082 ... LastLast
Results 2,431 to 2,460 of 45185
    @hibs.net private member Barney McGrew's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ScottB View Post
    The question at that point would be, what does newco Rangers do for the others to buy itself all the Yes votes it needs?
    One thing - money. Without der hun in the SPL, the TV deal disappears in it's current form and so does a huge income stream for most clubs including swathes of weegies turning up twice a season.

Killie for instance have already given over half their stadium to the OF when they visit, so it's not a big jump to suggest they'd vote to keep them to keep the revenue.

There's quite a few other teams in the SPL in a bad way, and you can bet that chairmen of every club will already have done the sums to work out how much Rangers missing from the league would cost them. The answer will be that it will be a lot, and that will be enough to tip a couple into the 'yes' camp of getting them straight back in.

Quote Originally Posted by Wat Dabney View Post
    The SPL rules are here if you want to read them. Looks like it needs 83% of a vote to let a newco back in. That's 10 votes from 12.
    If Rangers are liquidated does that not mean it needs to be 9 votes from 11 (same difference really I suppose).

Personally I would be finished with Scottish football, would become an exercise in futility IMO.

Gamertag: gringotodd
    Quote Originally Posted by Wat Dabney View Post
    The SPL rules are here if you want to read them. Looks like it needs 83% of a vote to let a newco back in. That's 10 votes from 12.
    Well, there won't be 12 clubs to vote there will only be 11 teams left. But still, it would take 10 out of 11 to break 83%.

Teams most likely to vote "no" would surely be Hearts, Dunfermline. Everyone else would probably vote "yes".

PSN ID: pesus-ab
    Quote Originally Posted by The_Todd View Post
    Well, there won't be 12 clubs to vote there will only be 11 teams left. But still, it would take 10 out of 11 to break 83%.

Teams most likely to vote "no" would surely be Hearts, Dunfermline. Everyone else would probably vote "yes".
    Does everyone think our own board would vote to let them back in?

@hibs.net private member essexhibee's Avatar
    http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?desktop..._59EjZOs&gl=GB

How to explain debt to a hun. Hilarious.
    ​​
    Scottish Cup Winners 2016 - The Immortals

[QUOTE=Barney McGrew;3138020]One thing - money. Without der hun in the SPL, the TV deal disappears in it's current form and so does a huge income stream for most clubs including swathes of weegies turning up twice a season

People keep talking about the tv deal, but if they were to go then surely clubs outside Celtic would get a bigger slice of all be it a smaller pie. Would it be that big a difference?

Gates against the old firm aren't really that much bigger than against other teams, indeed this might be reflected in our free tickets for a game against the old firm!

Quote Originally Posted by stokesmessiah View Post

If it comes to a vote, I certainly intend to be letting the board know my feelings on the matter. I would think we should all do the same...just to be sure

Quote Originally Posted by Hibi View Post
    Absolutely and I think I just heard Neil Doncaster on the radio saying regardless what happens they will be in the SPL next year.
    I heard him. Now I'm paraphrasing here, and maybe I have it wrong, but I'm sure he said that Rangers can only surivive in ANY entity as an SPL club. If they get a CVA, they carry on as normal. If they're liquidated and form a newco, they apply for SPL admission. If the SPL board voted against the newco, they disappear off the face of the earth. Either way, they cannot join the SFL at all.

Have I got what he said right? It doesn't sound credible.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    I heard him. Now I'm paraphrasing here, and maybe I have it wrong, but I'm sure he said that Rangers can only surivive in ANY entity as an SPL club. If they get a CVA, they carry on as normal. If they're liquidated and form a newco, they apply for SPL admission. If the SPL board voted against the newco, they disappear off the face of the earth. Either way, they cannot join the SFL at all.

Pretty sure you are right with that, i'm positive that's what I heard as well. I worry that the way things are stacking up they will get off scot free

It's important to remember that the biggest single source of income for SPL clubs is ticket sales.

The fans outwith Ibrox seem almost to a man against the idea of them getting straight back in.

So the question is, is the TV money worth potentially losing sizeable chunks of the fanbases turning up? That's what the teams are going to have to figure out.

Gamertag: gringotodd
    Quote Originally Posted by stokesmessiah View Post
    Sadly, I think they would.

Quote Originally Posted by KeithTheHibby View Post
    None of the players released shall find it difficult to get another club, most will be playing for them in a couple of weeks therefore earning a wage.

I do feel sorry for any of those who perhaps work behind the scenes.

Anyone hear that trophy eared welt Billy Dodds on the radio before the games on Saturday? Was pretty much saying that what is going on at Ibrox just now is a 'tragedy'. No Bill, what is going on in Syria is a tragedy, not some overpaid footballers being released from a contract owned by a club who have broken the rules for the past 10 years.

Some of these pundits are so far removed from reality it beggars belief!
    Walter Smith was on Talksport this morning coming out with the same pish! Not matter what goes on off the pitch you cant possibly take the trophies away, Aye OK Walter.

At one stage I thought Keys, Gray and Walter were going to start ****ging each other!

There shouldn't be 1 vote from any club in the SPL to let them back in.

It should be a clear 11 votes to 0 on them staying out. No excuses for it not to be IMO.

@hibs.net private member Leithenhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The_Todd View Post
    Sadly, I think they would.

Not so sure I would agree with that, think you will find that right now our board won't have to vote as "The Huns" are done. Well and truly ****** some would say.

So much going on at Ibrox that it's hard to even begin, at the beginning

Quote Originally Posted by H18SVG View Post
    Perhaps some more sabre rattling.
    However, I have said that while there is an agreement between the SPL and SFL they are separate.

If we had a SPL2 as was discussed before then Rangers could be demoted within the SPL structure.
    Don't know the SPL can say they are placed elsewhere in another ruling body's structure.
    Exactly. How can Doncaster say a newco couldn't apply to join the SFL, when he has no powers over the SFL?

Just got this off the BBC website:

Jack in Glasgow: "Your followers aren't getting it. The SPL are wanting Sky's TV money, so need Rangers, but will only allow a heavily sanctioned Rangers and will take off points and TV share."

I think the guy has a point, plus I think all this stalling with the administrators and the SPL (investigation), is to make sure Rangers finish 2nd and get their CL place.
    All the funds they will receive for achieving this will help Rangers in the long run!

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    We'll be hearing the thoughts of Chairman Rod on the current state of Scottish football debate tonight at 10.35 on the Beeb

PSN ID: pesus-ab
    Quote Originally Posted by Aleksandr Orlov View Post
    Just got this off the BBC website:

Jack in Glasgow: "Your followers aren't getting it. The SPL are wanting Sky's TV money, so need Rangers, but will only allow a heavily sanctioned Rangers and will take off points and TV share."

I think the guy has a point, plus I think all this stalling with the administrators and the SPL (investigation), is to make sure Rangers finish 2nd and get their CL place.
    All the funds they will receive for achieving this will help Rangers in the long run!
    Very doubtful Rangers are going to get European football next season. The administrators have already said its highly unlikely they will be out of admin before 31st March so no European licence.

First Team Breakthrough MCameron's Avatar
    Is there a website where a petition can be set up for Scottish football fans to sign to make their feelings known to the SPL/SFA/their own club's board and the media.

Would be interesting to see how many folk would actually sign up to say they wanted justice to be done and don't want Rangers to be readmitted to the SPL.

Left by mutual consent! TornadoHibby's Avatar
    Exactly. How can Doncaster say a newco couldn't apply to join the SFL, when he has no powers over the SFL?
    Could be stated in the SFL rules?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibi View Post
    People keep talking about the tv deal, but if they were to go then surely clubs outside Celtic would get a bigger slice of all be it a smaller pie. Would it be that big a difference?

Gates against the old firm aren't really that much bigger than against other teams, indeed this might be reflected in our free tickets for a game against the old firm!
    The Sky deal is reliant on four OF games a season and it's pretty widely reported that they have a get out clause from the current deal if they don't get them. If Sky wanted to cover the SPL without Rangers there it would be a much, much smaller payment. It sticks in my throat as much as anyones, but without them the money available via any negotiated TV deal would be pathetic. There is a market for people to watch the OF, there isn't one for Killie v St Johnstone on a Monday night.

Gates against the OF might not seem that much bigger, but for us there's 3800 people paying £28 a ticket in the South Stand each time we play them. That's over £200k in lost ticket revenue alone that won't be replaced by 200 odd fans from Ross County or the likes rolling up at ER. For other teams with a lower average attendance, it's an even bigger percentage of what they get.

Quote Originally Posted by Barney McGrew View Post
    The Sky deal is reliant on four OF games a season and it's pretty widely reported that they have a get out clause from the current deal if they don't get them. If Sky wanted to cover the SPL without Rangers there it would be a much, much smaller payment. It sticks in my throat as much as anyones, but without them the money available via any negotiated TV deal would be pathetic. There is a market for people to watch the OF, there isn't one for Killie v St Johnstone on a Monday night.

Gates against the OF might not seem that much bigger, but for us there's 3800 people paying £28 a ticket in the South Stand each time we play them. That's over £200k in lost ticket revenue alone that won't be replaced by 200 odd fans from Ross County or the likes rolling up at ER. For other teams with a lower average attendance, it's an even bigger percentage of what they get.
    What sticks in my throat is looking back to the time when we first turned SKY down. Things could have turned out so much differently if we had taken the offer when we had the chance.

First Team Breakthrough MCameron's Avatar
    .............. that won't be replaced by 200 odd fans from Ross County or the likes rolling up at ER. For other teams with a lower average attendance, it's an even bigger percentage of what they get.
    But it might be replaced by more Hibs fans attending - the ones who've disappeared cos there's no competition any more. A more competitive league with new or returning supporters excited at the prospect of challenging on a level playing field might just balance out - no?

@hibs.net private member Hibs Class's Avatar

My take would be that if they disappeared altogether then potentially the SPL is maintained as a 12 team league by promotion from Div 1 and no relegation. That would then create a vacancy in the SFL which a newco huns could apply for, but so could Spartans, Gala Fairydean etc. and no guarantee they get in. Regardless of who does get that SFL place, huns are more likely to be reincarnated through buying and renaming/relocating an existing SFL team, in the same way as Airdrie did with Clydebank.
    ​#PERSEVERED

Quote Originally Posted by MCameron View Post
    But it might be replaced by more Hibs fans attending - the ones who've disappeared cos there's no competition any more. A more competitive league with new or returning supporters excited at the prospect of challenging on a level playing field might just balance out - no?
    The ones that are not going to buy season tickets because they are being asked to pay for credit terms or other ones?

You are probably right with your calculations, but it's the medicine thats making you sick IMO.

@hibs.net private member millarco's Avatar
    Sorry if this has been covered elsewhere, but if Rangers go bust and try to start again does it definitely go to a club vote? As per the SPL rules quoted before, and Doncaster on the radio earlier, is the share not automatically transferred onto the new company who would take up the SPL position? And the only ones potentially making a decision on that would be the SPL board? As in Topping, Doncaster, Riley (Celtc), Thompson (Dundee Utd), Weir (Motherwell) and Brown (St Johnstone). Or maybe I'm reading it wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by TornadoHibby View Post
    Could be stated in the SFL rules?

I dunno, mate. But SPL or extinction for any newco sounds strange.

Quote Originally Posted by millarco View Post
    Sorry if this has been covered elsewhere, but if Rangers go bust and try to start again does it definitely go to a club vote? As per the SPL rules quoted before, and Doncaster on the radio earlier, is the share not automatically transferred onto the new company who would take up the SPL position? And the only ones potentially making a decision on that would be the SPL board? As in Topping, Doncaster, Riley (Celtc), Thompson (Dundee Utd), Weir (Motherwell) and Brown (St Johnstone). Or maybe I'm reading it wrong.
    My understanding is that if they are sold on to a new owner from their current administration then yes, they would retain SPL membership.

If they go into liquidation then Rangers as it's current entity cease to exist and therefore lose their membership.

Would Broadfoot, Hutton, Ness, & Little really be out our price range?