Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    There is good and convincing evidence that "you know who" was a coprophiliac who had sex with his own niece....
    What a load of crap!

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by steakbake View Post
    Why sir, haven't you heard?

We are the silent majority and we demand to be outraged at the whim of the media.

I suppose you're part of the jackbooted liberal elite conspiracy which wants to get in our way...?

I suppose the leftists probably want kids to wear bikinis because it will create work for those social workers who are at the powerbase of the nanny state...

It wouldn't have happened if you know who had won the war...
    Are you saying the numpties that foam at the mouth whenever a paedophile is named by the press, are the same people who would object to being forced to by inappropriate lingerie from a high street store?

I think you know who did win the war. It looks like people have been robbed of their right to chose to blame someone else and are being forced to buy their kids clothes at gunpoint.

How long until the great British people descend into a nation of jackbooted thugs shouting "immigrants out" etc

I certainly will not let this reactionary claque prevent my enjoyment of good wholesome British bargains from solid British firms like Primark and Ryanair. But if any of them comes near my girls!!!!!! (time, castration, good night's sleep, etc)

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor® View Post
    What a load of crap!

As you say, Peevemor.

Monotesticularity has a lot to answer for....

As you say, Peevemor.

Monotesticularity has a lot to answer for....
    The other was there, but very small.

Apparently.

Apparently.
    I thought it was in the Albert Hall? Bloody monarchist reactionaries rewriting history to reflect the hedgemony of the new post Blairist-Brownist-Hoonist claque. No doubt they'll be saying we can't call gay people Queens anymore.

It's the new PC gone mad!

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?

Apparently.

Wee Heini was, if I understand the song correctly, similarly endowed to his Fuehrer, while Goebbels was entirely bereft in the family jewellery department.

Which means Magda must have been sampling the stormtroopers....

And yes, according to the best texts, the other was indeed in the Albert Hall, FR.

There is good and convincing evidence that "you know who" was a coprophiliac who had sex with his own niece....
    Quote Originally Posted by Filled Rolls View Post
    I thought it was in the Albert Hall? Bloody monarchist reactionaries rewriting history to reflect the hedgemony of the new post Blairist-Brownist-Hoonist claque. No doubt they'll be saying we can't call gay people Queens anymore.

It's the new PC gone mad!

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post

Kids have very malleable minds and are very susceptible to advertising - they haven't formed a concrete opinion of everything yet, and companies know this, especially if they maket their product as something "new" and "cool"

If someone tried to launch a range of - I don't know - detachable fake animal tails to wear about town aimed at 18-25 year olds, they'd bomb, as almost everyone would go "what a load of *****e", but I imagine the idea of jewellery/a bikini/chocolate cigarettes might seem pretty cool to an impressionable bairn.

They're not thinking of the possible long-term implications.

Granted, parents should be able to resist "pester power" for this type of product, but the supply side does have a role to play, even if it is not as important as the demand side.
    I can think of at least one person in the 47-49 age group who would see these as a must have! Perhaps you should revisit your market research.

Gamertag: Rich Tea12
    Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/8619329.stm

Granted the article is about them rightfully withdrawing the products from sale, but my point is this.

Which absolute berk in their Marketing/New Product development team decided that "ooohh yes, padded bras for 7 year olds, that's an acceptable product and will meet with great success"

It points to a worrying theme in advertising/clothing in general that seems to promote the - extremely - premature "adultisation" of young kids, especially girls.

Not saying these 2 are strongly empirically linked, but is it any surprise that we have a rising teenage pregancy rate with kids being exposed to this type of "grown up" (I'd go as far - in this instance - to say "sexualised") products?

It's a relatively recent phenomenem as well - why can't big business leave kids alone to be kids - play with dolls/football/the so called "simple things"??

I know toys/technology have advanced massively since even I was a bairn, but I think major companies have a corporate responsibilty to aim responsible products at kids.

Opinions anyone - I'm just been a reactionary prude??

i can actually imagine you saying that in anger tarquin!!

Something that has just sprung to mind here. Is it possible that Primark were really aiming the product at petite women? I know a lot of smaller women but clothes from the children's range.

At the end of the day, Primark aren't responsible for what people buy their children.

Quote Originally Posted by Filled Rolls View Post
    Is it possible that Primark were really aiming the product at petite women?

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Fair enough, I still blame the parents who would buy these things for a kid though.