http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scot...ons-plans.html
The Scottish sun I know....but they think we are In for that Slovakian cb, mcpake and the possibility of Tom soares!
Printable View
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scot...ons-plans.html
The Scottish sun I know....but they think we are In for that Slovakian cb, mcpake and the possibility of Tom soares!
Big ross tokley? only got offered 1 year contract with inverness but turned it down. we always seem to be looking fo a rb ever since whittaker left. he can also cover us for a cb if needed.
Ouch, Scrub that idea straight away then.
BB could have the Yams badge tattooed on each of his arse cheeks and go home each night and pray in front of a poster of mad Vlad standing on Mowgli's heid.....I wouldn't care as long as when he was working at Hibs, he was making us a better side. He's been here for ages and done the square root of **** all.
I tend to agree with you. Soares had barely kicked a ball in 3 years before coming to up and showed flashes of quality. I'd give him another chance. With Griffiths gone we have no set piece specialist and Soares can take a decent set play. I wouldn't be disappointed to see him offered a 1 year deal with another years option. Fenlon evidently rates him and if he's worked hard pre season who knows.
I think his problems are in his head Andy. I saw him a lot when he was the new star at Palace a few years back & I always thought him overrated, especially by himself!! He has talent but needs to apply it a lot more than he has in his career to date. If he joined us & showed the right attitude he'd be an asset but - - - - !!!
:agree: Funny, I recall posting below at the time and my mates view was based on when Soares was fit and playing. An enigma.
Tin hat firmly on.
Working in Bromley Kent today, Palace territory and am with a guy who is a serious Palace fan - view of Soares -
"lots of fans thought he was good, others thought he got a bit lazy. very quick but clueless with it, dipped in and out of games, to be honest I was delighted when he got a surprise England u21 cap as it boosted his value when we needed the cash the most, we haven't missed him. Could do well up there but not sure he will fancy it if defenders are physical"
Just passing on info and I hope Tom does well with us.
I know this is purely speculation by the **** but.....Soares would be a total no no for me. Certainly NOT the type of player we need or the type PF described that we need. Try not to read too much into rumours but signing this guy would fill me with dread for the new season.
It would be wonderful to have Soares signed for a year, then he can go on to Partick Thistle, Forfar and Whitehill Welfare.
This guy is a serial failure who is, in league terms, heading south, and whether it happens here on in England is pretty much irrelevant. I feel that we shouldn't be a stepping stone in yet another man's relentless quest for total obscurity.
I'd disregard that opinion simply because he calls him very quick. I would question whether he'd ever actually seen Soares play!
I dont think Soares is a bad player, but he's definitly lazy. I just dont think we can afford to have a player in our midfield who isn't going to track back.
If Fenlon goes for Soares that's it with this club! What did he do last season? Nowt! I hope it's only speculation for this lazy third class no mark.
I would be disappointed if Soares signed. Apart from Killie and Inverness away where he showed glimpses, I have not been impressed by him. He was part of one of our weakest midfield's in a long time, and would be a no from me also....The sight of our midfield giving Black the freedom of Hampden, should be enough to dissuade PF from making a move
Whittaker is a yam is he no, he done a job for us.
:agree: but its past tense, as in was quick when he was at Palace, its a while ago and its pretty clear he is not even quick now on the strength of what we had on the pitch. Maybe there is a player in there but don't think we can afford the luxury of trying to find out.
Soares......... noooooooooo not what Hibs need.
And Rod ... stop pissing about with McPake's signature, get it done or lose half your supporters.
Tom Soares PLEASE Gawd NO !
Total waste of space who would think he is Billy Big Baws at wee Hibs, he is EXACTLY what we don't need
Soares wasn't that bad, at least he scored a couple, came close to scoring a few more and created a few chances, Aberdeen game at pittodrie case in point, I wasn't there but I read how bad he was, didn't offer anything etc but when I saw the highlights he would have scored if Reynolds never scored the og and he created a couple of other chances.
That said if we don't sign him I won't be arsed
Says in the news Paddy is considering making him an offer.
http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-ev...hold-1-2337199
:agree:One of the things that makes the 19 May just about bearable is the thought that the majority of that team will never play for Hibs again. Most of them should never be allowed near ER let along the jersey. To even suggest that Soares - one of the laziest, ineffective players I've had the misfortune to watch playing for Hibs (in arguably the worst m/f) is a sick joke. Hibs have to set new standards at the club - way higher than guys like Soares.
It had in the EEN today that fenlon had a decision to make on Soares. Personally I dont think Soarez is good enough.
Soares looked good in two games. Killie and ICT I think And then after that he looked lazy, slow and acted like he didn't give a fudge about hibs. However from what I can make from watching the games he played in is that he is rated by Fenlon. Not 100% sure but I think he was given the armband against Aberdeen away. So if Fenlon was given the chance I think he would take him
We simply HAVE to be setting our sights higher than Tom ****ing Soares. If PF offers him a contract after watching him play in that side at Hampden, then he's not the manager I thought he was.
Im undecided on Soares but im very unexcited about our new midfield having Stevenson,Claros,Soares,Sproule and weatherspoon!:rolleyes:
cast your mind back to his crystal palace days.. what a player stoke pay 2 mil for him, i think he needs another crack at the whip and because he has been released by stoke maybe some much needed fire in his belly. there is worse than soars he just needs to get finger oot.
was soares not more than a little injury prone and unfit when he came to hibs. I think we need to bring in the players as quickly as poss to get them working together as early as possible.
Maybe PF knows that once TS has a proper pre season , we might see a player that stoke paid 2 million, getting back to that kind of form .
I'd take Soares back if it was on our terms.
The boy obviously had talent, its whether he is able to get his fitness levels up and his desire back that makes him a risky one.
Can we afford to take that risk. Or realistically would he take a lower wage at hibs? Im pretty sure he will have a few better offers in Englush lower leagues?
There is nothing in that article that suggests this is a possibility. There will be championship clubs willing to give him a contract paying way more than we can match.
Not. Going. To. Happen.
Said on SSN that Peterborough are set to sign Danny Swanson
Pity as he's everything Soares is not (knows how much Hibs mean to the city and to people in it, has desire and talent)
Maybe Posh will take Soares instead?
He has one thing in common which is his injury record which medical experts are now saying is in his head.A fit Danny Swanson would be great for Hibs but there is a reason Dundee Utd arent bursting the bank to keep him.His appearance record last season and the season before is awful and lets not forget the person keeping him out the Utd team is the legend that is John Rankin!
I'm a Crystal Palace fan, truthfully. When he was at Crystal Palace he was without question one of our best players at one point. He was probably the last and worst out of the best players that got Ian Dowie's side promoted. I know it doesn't sound too good me saying 'hes the worst of a good bunch.' But I promise you when he left Palace to go to Stoke under Warnock it was expected that he was better than being at a mid table championship side.
Would an ex-Rangers, Ex-Man Utd, Ex-Derby goalkeeper be an exciting signing?
If its Roy Carroll, hes 34, and would swell the ranks of Irish players at ER, his wiki states that he's currently with Olympiacos?
never knew that he came on during the N.Ireland hammering to the Netherlands at the weekend, then again never watched the 2nd half.
Is this really on the cards then? Roy Carroll for the Hibees?! I think he would be a fantastic signing! :agree:
You know absolutely zero about goalkeepers if you think roy carroll, probably the most nervous footballer ive seen play is an excting prospect. Hes never been first choice at any club hes played with and many cases not even second choice. Signing players on a downward spiral has been exactly what is wrong with this club for the past few years.
Then again we've got mugs like you who can read wikipedia and spout all the clubs he played for (or not in carrolls case) so that makes him a great signing.
Is Carroll not nuts?!
What happened to Neil Alexander?! Was that just a load of pish?!
Jim Leighton was on a major down when he came to us... then he went through another great phase.
Scoopyboy/Speedway, i know you boy's are usually pretty much bang on with your Hibs knowledge reguarding potential signings. So, is there millage in this one or are you's just at the wynd-up getting me and others excited over nothing?? :cool2: