Are you trying to star another flack debate? :devil:
Printable View
Spectacularly missing the point that, in theory at least, Dumb and Duffer must take the best deal for the creditors, if someone rocked up tomorrow and offered £25 million with a dream of bulldozing Ibrox and building a shrine to the Pope over the top of it, they'd have to accept it.
That the 'Knights' have a whose who of ex Gers (ignoring certainly Smiths extensive involvement in the club during the years of rank cheating of course) is an irrelevance, their nonsensical press conference seems to be a mix of insuring Murray can forever claim he'd have done a better job, and trying to incite the mutters into forcing D&P's hand.
:not worth An idea for the newco colours perhaps :wink:
The SFA report is so damning it seems pretty unlikely the appeal will succeed. The big John's knew and did nothing. How will Chico and the succulent lamb brigade portray this? Off to listen to sportsound.
I just hope that Cropleywasgod gets a chance to break 1000 posts on this thread alone before der Hun go bust...969 and counting...bravo sir, bravo.
You have to laugh Brian Kennedy has been wasting everyones time from the start.
His comment clearly infers his bid was not good and was not fully funded, what a tool.
As for "It's about Rangers Football Club surviving"...yet again the point has been missed. Administration is about getting the best deal for the creditors, that MAY involve saving the club but it might not...
Rather bizzare to have a press conference to effectively have a go at everyone else when in fact their bid was p*sh, they were never seriously in with a chance and have therefore done nothing but muddy the waters and delay the whole process.
Can't see the planners and Historic Scotland going for that option realistically! :greengrin
Maybe I'm missing the point here but is this not simply a case of "risk assessment" by the Administrators in respect of each respective bidder and the likelihood of their respective bids being capable of being delivered without the fairly commonplace "last minute chips"! :dunno:
At the end of the day, who is most correct in that aspect of the bid(s) assessment will be known in due course and taking account of the time constraints being mentioned here and there will be part of that risk assessment I imagine! :agree:
Certainly a bit of brinksmanship posturing evident from the section of BK's interview on Sky Sports that I saw around 6pm in seeking to pressurise the Administrators into an earlier decision than perhaps they would consider appropriate in the circumstances?! :agree:
What are the odds of a Green rescue for Castle Greyskull? These fuds still don't get it, their screwed end of story.
To be fair, I'd be inclined to agree that we are likely at, if not past the point were attempting a CVA becomes unworkable before next season, not that a CVA is workable at all in the first place, but still.
Perhaps the BK's belief in a CVA is why they have been ruled out?
Duff and Duffere release statement hitting back at claims by BK
kennedy is now a hero to the neanderthals, although i've not saw his speech on the tv earlier, he's playing the mind games trying to get all the neanderthal buns on side, i believe he used the word "blood on their hands" he's trying to stir up a baying mob of buns to start putting pressure on duff and duffier, just like McCoist done with his "we need to know who they are" p@sh, the buns love this type of talk, they think they are being asked to take up arms :rolleyes:
It was to be expected ,you said he said ,naw a never aye ye did.
Its causing a bit of a furore on the Huns sites ,questions and answers ,
The following is a thread title on RM ,the language is shocking by the way
:agree: The Total Fanny Fuds In Our Support :agree:
Hun 1 Post (Not clever IMO )
Yes! I absolutely believe that.
The Rangers fans are a powerful force when they unite. It's getting them to unite that's the hard part.
Or do you prefer just to get shat on and die quietly?
Hun 2 Answer ( Angry )
Your a ****** roaster your clueless, you don't even know what you are protesting about.
Try reading up on the administration process before making a complete tit of yourself
Hun 2(a) Answer ( Well pissed off , passed caring , fed up )
Are your for real or do you have no grasp of reality?
If you believe your post then there really is no hope for you.
Hun 3 Post ( Does sound a bit miffed )
**** Follow Follow you utter clown. It's not about FF or RM or VB or any other forum. It's about RANGERS!
Kennedy spoke like a leader, like a man that knows what he's on about.
Where have all these Johnny Come Lately's been hiding ? They've arrived just in time to feast on our carcass and all you want to do is slag FF.
WAKEN UP FFS !
Hun 4 Answer ( Equally Miffed )
You ****** waken up
YOUR PROTESTING AT THE ONLY CANTS WHO CAN AFFORD TO BUY US FFS
Hun 5 Posts ( Just wants to join in )
need kennedy in lets tell the duffers wot we think and green,
Hun 6 Answers ( Passed miffed losing the will to live )
How can they have a protest against Green when we don't even know properly which Consortium he is part of, who he is representing and what his plans are FFs ?
Is there anywhere you can see Kennedy's address to the nation?
Aye...here you go... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BLmiOEk59n8
Quantum......:rolleyes:
I just want to make sure that folks on here see both of Alex Thomson's blog posts from today. Here's the first:
"It was the boss, not me..."
As the tribunal which punished Rangers FC for bringing the game into disrepute publishes the reasons for its findings, we gain an astounding insight into a major UK football club completely out of control. Rangers under Craig Whyte, the Tribunal says , were ignoring all sense of reality in any kind of management on Planet Earth – let alone within Glasgow, also a part of the planet though in recent weeks you’d be forgiven for disputing that one.
Here goes…
Take the Craig Whyte take-over of the club. Yes, this was the one where the Glasgow tabloids trumpeted Mr Whyte’s ‘off the radar wealth’ – he was the ‘billionaire’ saviour of Ibrox, remember?. Well, in the real world, nobody had a clue in Rangers about what his financial pedigree was and they couldn’t find out either. The tribunal records:
“A real and substantial concern existed as to the genuineness of his offer to purchase and as to his motives.
“A real and substantial concern existed as to the lack of information available about his history both personal and commercial and his apparent reluctance to divulge or provide any information which was requested.
“A real and substantial concern existed as to whether and from what source he could find and invest the very substantial funds which would be required in acquiring the majority shareholding,”
Yet astonishingly the whole thing went ahead and the Scottish FA Chief Executive Stewart Regan admitted to Channel 4 News last month that they – football’s governing body in Scotland -more or less took it on trust from Rangers that old Craigy was a good egg – when we now know nobody had a clue. And he wasn’t. The tribunal states:
“Mr Craig Whyte disclosed little or no information. Financial models for working capital requirements prepared by the finance officers and accountants of Rangers FC were repeatedly disputed and rejected by Mr Craig Whyte… Mr Craig Whyte produced his own working capital projections which were wholly at variance with those of Rangers FC…. despite their making all relevant confidential financial data available under secure conditions for the examination and scrutiny of Mr Craig Whyte and his advisers in a process of due diligence in their purchase consideration, almost no advantage was taken of this facility and hardly any enquiry or scrutiny of the detailed and confidential financial information about Rangers FC was carried out by or on behalf of Mr Craig Whyte or any of his companies. This failure to carry out ordinary “due diligence” enquiries served to increase the substantial concern felt… for the motives, the genuineness…”
So they knew little about Craig Whyte’s finances. And Craig Whyte made little or no effort to find out much about Rangers. At the time management there were concerned at Mr Whyte’s motives for buying the club at all…yet it all went ahead and nobody said boo. Incredible.
Think that’s weird? Well check out what happened – or didn’t – once Craig Whyte was behind the chairman’s desk at Ibrox Park – on the odd occasions he actually went there, along with his lawyer Garry Withey:
“… in the course of the first few weeks of his chairmanship Mr Craig Whyte and Mr Garry Withey were in attendance at Rangers FC Headquarters at Argyle House, Ibrox on a frequent basis, but Mr Gary Withey then became an infrequent attender. Mr Craig Whyte’s attendance became irregular and increasingly infrequent. When he attended at Argyle House he spent little time speaking to any of the operational and administration managers and staff. He was difficult to access. He spent most of the time when he was in Argyle House closed in the Chairman’s room in meetings with persons unknown.”
Directors were left unsure what it even was they were supposed to direct – men like John McClelland and John Greig who had long association with Rangers. They were facing their biggest test in the club and – the Tribunal rules – they were about to fail it spectacularly:
“… as a result of the discussion and the perceptions of both Mr John McClelland and Mr John Greig arising from the absence of any management accounts or financial information about Rangers FC being provided to them, the failure to convene any Board meetings and Mr McClelland’s exclusion from the offices, they both arrived at the conclusion that they were now being so marginalised and excluded from the governance of Rangers that their position as directors was untenable.”
But did they do anything? Did they tell anyone? Did they inform the Scottish Football Association or the Scottish Premier League? Did they inform the media? No. no, no and no. The Tribunal damns them as individuals who could and should have acted but they did not act.
They walked away.
“Mr John McClelland and Mr John Greig resigned in October because they knew that they were being excluded and marginalised at the same time as they had great concerns for the governance of Rangers FC and were deeply suspicious of Mr Craig Whyte… Other than resignation there was no evidence that either of these directors took any steps with any person or authority to do anything about what they knew was happening.”
Paragraph by paragraph the age-old Rangers defence of ‘it was the boss not me’ it cut to shreds in the measured prose of deliberative , legal minds:
“… certain directors and / or senior managers were entirely aware that Mr Craig Whyte, a director of Rangers FC was engaged in a deliberate programme of non payment of taxes, non-cooperation with and frustration of the attempts of the auditors appointed by Rangers FC to carry out the annual inspection of the books of account and preparation of the statutory annual accounts…These matters all frustrated preparation of the annual accounts and prevented the holding of the annual general meeting which required to be held by 1 January 2012.
“From May 2011 Mr David King was aware that he was being excluded from the governance of the company and he appears to have done little about it except repeat his demands to Mr Olverman and Mr Craig Whyte for information. “
So too David King .What is that old saying, that for wrongdoing to triumph, all it takes is for good men to fail to act? As the Tribunal states itself, in a reflective moment:
“ …individual directors and employees must have known that what was happening within Rangers FC was entirely wrong and illegitimate but they chose to do nothing to bring it to the attention of the public. That may be matter for their long term reflection but it does reduce the mitigatory impact of the suggestion that Rangers FC were innocent victims. “
For anybody requiring this last bit in black and white – if anybody at Ibrox dares to whine that it’s wrong to blame Rangers FC for Craig Whyte’s craziness – they should be ashamed. Are you listening, Ally McCoist?
He engaged in a disingenuous correspondence in which he claimed to be anxious to put his case to the tribunal face to face but had singularly failed to do so, citing safety issues. This was the same man who was regularly spotted in public in Scotland and elsewhere. He engaged in a campaign of derogatory, ill founded and ill judged criticism of the integrity of the Judicial Panel Protocol, its members and the Scottish FA itself. He alleged bias and a lack of fairness.
The tribunal could come to no other conclusion that his conduct was scandalous and disgraceful and in each case represented a contempt of the proceedings of the most serious kind.
Here's the second:
"Inside the Big Bad Hoose"
As the Rangers saga moves into what – Act 345? some congratulations are in order for the Scottish FA in publishing its recent deliberations into what Rangers was really like under the ownership of Craig Whyte. Or to their tribunal for insisting their deliberations are published, which is not quite the same thing. You will recall this hearing led to Mr Whyte – former Rangers owner and still the major shareholder – being banned for life from Scottish football . The club itself is banned for a year from buying players and fined £160,000. The appeal against all this will now be heard on Wednesday and I understand we will get a decision that day on whether or not to uphold – or indeed increase - these punishments which Rangers manager Ally McCoist has deemed unfair.
The Rt Honourable Lord Carloway (Chair) Craig Graham and Allan Cowan will be on the three-man tribunal. The SFA has said they must be free to do their job without fear of intimidation: “It is essential that these panel members are allowed to conduct the appeal without fear of intimidation and we respectfully ask all involved in the process to do their utmost to observe our wishes and the wishes of the panel members.”
Intimidation which happened after the same Ally McCoist demanded that the identity of SFA Tribunal members should be made public. It’s not yet clear if the SFA will pursue that potential breach of conduct with Mr McCoist. But it says everything about Glasgow football culture that anyone should be threatened in any situation and that police advice should need to be sought. Which century are we in again?
And what emerges from the notes duly released this morning after the initial hearing on Rangers which led to those sanctions is astonishing stuff.
The panel considers Rangers Football Club has gone so far off the financial rails that: “the tribunal considered whether it should terminate Rangers FC’s membership of the Scottish FA and concluded that punishment was too severe.”
Notorious culture
Indeed the panel felt the offences were so serious that “only match fixing might be a more serious breach”. And they go out of their way to say that directors had to have known what was going on. The age-old Rangers defence for years going back past Craig Whyte’s ownership to Sir David Murray’s that ‘we didn’t know’ and ‘we weren’t told’ or ‘we left it all to the chairman’ is clearly not convincing this panel. That strikes a blow to the heart of Rangers’ notorious culture for passing the buck whilst winning glory with money it did not have and potentially millions which should have gone to the taxman.
The tribunal talks of the ‘scandalous business activities’ of Craig Whyte – who deems this entire process ‘a joke’ accusing the SFA of never giving him a chance to put his case and of judging him and punishing him without proper due process.
Channel 4 News uncovers the web of connections showing a club in crisis
These are legal brains taking what one must presume is a dispassionate look at a football club which had lost all norms of proper governance under the Craig Whyte ownership and people knew it was happening and did nothing about it. All of which makes the simple and childish scapegoating of Craig Whyte wrong in principle, wrong in fact and wrong in law. Craig Whyte is not the only baddie in all this and the club management more widely, stands roundly condemned here.
Lunatic fringe
And that is why those who say – and there are many of them – that the club cannot and should not be held responsible for Craig Whyte’s actions, are laid bare in all this for what they are – cowards who refuse to face the facts, the truth and the hard reality that Rangers went catastrophically wrong and that is Rangers’ responsibility and nobody else’s – chairmen and directors.
Foremost among those, because of his recent words and actions, must be the current managers of Rangers, Ally McCoist. Who questioned very openly the independence of this inquiry and whose actions in demanding identities be made public were followed by threats from the lunatic fringe. This should be a time for reflection and introspection within at Rangers Mr McCoist, not simply more of the loud, boorish fingerpointing without. Not likely to help Rangers appeal these punishments. Not likely to help Rangers at all.
On Wednesday the appeal will be heard. The gravity of what is at stake for Rangers is clear for all to see. Be in no doubt this appeal is able to increase punishments handed down to the club as well as reduce them.
If Kennedy really had Ranger's interests at heart, where was he all the time that SDM had the club up for sale ?
Brian Kennedy's lawyer David Hinchliffe has sent this email to Duff and Phelps in response to the D & P statement.
David I note you have not yet replied as promised in your email below please respond as soon as you can.
Regarding your recent press announcement ..".you were advised there was not agreement within the consortium about the funding of the bid" ....please let me know who apparently advised you of this as this is wholly inaccurate and on no occasion has anyone contacted either myself or Brian to state this is a worry.
Further to state that amounts were included in the offer for playing in europe next season when it can't be achieved is completely inaccurate as the actual offer is for increasing the consideration in seasons 2 and 3 if they played in europe .
Further to state that the offer should be reduced by 3.5 m because these are debts due to the company is also misleading as 2.4 million of this sum is payable in the next few weeks as per Brians earlier email and will be used as cashflow for the trading losses of the club.
You completely fail to state our client had agreed to fund the huge trading losses post June 1st and picked up liabilities for 3.6 m of football creditors ... tupe liabilities ...debenture holders etc making a cash payable of 9.1m. plus trading losses prior to completion and European add ons together with other liabilities. You seem to be continually comparing the quantum of my clients bid against bids such as the Miller bid which are not real .
As you know I have vast experience of people making bids for insolvent football clubs ....I cannot see how any of these new parties can be making real bids when they have done no real due diligence ....proof of funds may have been provided but it does not make sense to me why investors would invest in Rangers without full due diligence by them and I would strongly recommend that full due diligence is carried out by you on these parties as there is no time to have another Miller situation .
Finally regarding your comment that Brian wanted to be the last man standing. In mine and Brians view he is as we don't believe the other bidders will complete
If you want to talk to find a way to save this great club Brian has said his phone will be on this evening otherwise I fear it will be too late David
David Hinchliffe
Partner
Best post i have ound in the bears den tonight...
"TBH our anger should be shown at hmrc and no one else.
They have ****** us over for years by leaking all sorts of crap to the media and steadfastly refusing to do a cva.
These clowns let Whyte run up paye/vat bill for 9 months and did nothing to stop him."
Unbelieveable Jeff.
^^^ quantum alert ^^^
If you've got a spare hour (or two), the SFA findings re Rangers is definitely worth reading. Completely explodes the Hun-apologist notion that Craig Whyte did it all and ran away.
http://www.scribd.com/doc/93212354/S...ote-of-Reasons
http://forum.followfollow.com/images/icons/icon1.gifBrian - bite the bullet and just dig that wee bit deeper
For the sake of some extra cash, you can do this.
Our very existence is at stake here. surely you can dig deeper and end this hell.
We do not want to hear the rattle of padlocks on the gates of Ibrox.
Please Brian. I am in tears here. I am begging you. Please.
this thread on swallow swallow had me in tears.......
of laughter :faf:
Was Lord Carloway, one of the 3 appeal panel selected, also not the judge who last year ruled on an appeal and upheld a conviction of a Rangers fan charged with racism after being heard to sing the Famine Song.....that'll fairly go down well with the Rangers fans eh. I wonder how long it will take the red tops to 'question' this selection......
Can these clowns not see the problem? The money means little to a guy who has a fortune of £700M. His offer of around £5M is the amount of pin money he's prepared to fritter away on a venture that has no chance of making cash for him. He could treble that bid overnight in order to 'save, the great Scottish institution and still he would be buying a business pig in a poke. When asked by a near tearful Jim White if he might sink a few more quid into the deal if the administrators came back to him, he unequivocally replied 'no'. Under the bald facade there's an uncanny resemblance, voice wise as well, to Graham Sounness.
It looks like NewCo is the only game in town......
Forget whether they are in SPL or not (argumanet for latter) this news means that for 3 years there is the possiblility of a jackpot of CL football for anothe club....that makes for great possibilities....:greengrin
2nd place won't get a Scottish team into champs league qualifiers after this season.
Even at that there is zero chance of there ever being a Scottish club in the league stages for the next what 5 years although I'd say never very doubtful we'll ever see it again
Their fans have a new party song.
The Pointer Sisters version of I'm So Incited.
I liked this blog post from someone called Henry Clarson. It summarises an important point for me.
http://henryclarson.wordpress.com/20...egrity-stupid/
The key to winning a battle is very often the ability to choose the weapons, the battleground and the timing. Winning a debate is much easier if you can choose the topic to be argued. Passing an exam is much easier if the candidate can choose the questions.
The debate about the fate of Rangers is currently being dictated to a large extent by bean-counters and their media apologists. They have chosen the weapons, selected the battleground, dictated the topic and are choosing the questions while the vast majority of Scottish football supporters want to conduct this debate on different grounds, with different priorities, addressing different questions and using different weapons. This must not be allowed to continue.
There is one issue which should be the only show in town. It is integrity.
There can be no escape from this. Without integrity, the game’s a bogey. Every commentator who so much as hesitates to evaluate every other aspect of the case from that viewpoint should be called to account immediately. Such people have abrogated their right to contribute to the discussion of what is best for the sport.
There is no business argument which takes precedence over sporting integrity. The entire point of the game is that players can get a fair test of their ability against opponents on a level playing field. If that fairness is corrupted, the game becomes pointless, irrelevant, redundant and a waste of everybody’s time, effort and money. The sooner a corrupt business dies, the better for every decent person. If football allows itself to be blackmailed by cheats because it isn’t prepared to defend its integrity then it fully deserves to perish.
In short, the essence of the football business is integrity. Everything else is secondary at best and irrelevant at the very least. The further the discussion moves away from the focal point of integrity, the more it threatens the well-being of the game. No journalist or broadcaster or football director or SPL functionary or SFA official should ever even contemplate denying that fair play is the be-all and end-all of professional sport.
Fairness is not about guaranteeing that one particular club will prosper in a competition just because it has more followers than other clubs. It is not about ensuring that, come what may, two clubs will always play in the top half of the top division because that’s what Rupert Murdoch’s shilling demands. Putting that another way, fairness does not permit decent professionals who have worked hard, tried their hardest and played the game to the best of their ability to accept that they are to be swindled out of their win bonuses and honours because they are plying their trade with a club which is held to be a less attractive commercial proposition than its rival. Unless there is fair play at every level of the competition, the entire exercise a complete waste of time and, worse still, a cynical fraud.
Let there be no respect for any argument which is ambivalent about the pre-eminence of the principle of integrity in professional football. To compromise that principle is the ultimate sell-out. There are few surer ways to bring about the ultimate destruction of the game than to let the customers realise that they are being completely conned and sold short. We must refuse to accept any terms of reference which relegate integrity to the sidelines or dismiss it as an impractical ideal which has no place in commercial activity.
Integrity belongs at very the core of football’s commercial activity and it has never been more important to defend it than at the present time when the Scottish game is facing its biggest test.
Yes an excellant piece, and says everything that should be said. Sporting integrity should be the one main constant, no matter what.
If the rules dont apply to some because of how many fans they have and how much richer they are, then the games finished as a sport.
I dont want to stop watching Hibs, but i certainly would not go as much should Rangers escape a full punishment, the derby games and probably cup matches.
And going less gets easier and easier to do, the authorities need to realise this. Saving Rangers could kill many clubs, its up to them now, let the dog wag the tail, not the other way round please.
Let the bassas die. That is all.
Starting to seriously think Monday is L-day.
I agree, it's pretty good.
Further, I think it's quite timely in that this point of view - which has been prevalent with almost everyone bar the hun since this debacle started - is finally, finally beginning to get a bit more traction in the MSM.
The mood has changed/is changing and we're seeing open discussion now (even on FF) that rangers might die completely, and less of the fanciful stuff about a newco arriving by start 2012-13 that carries on regardless.
I'd actually be slightly miffed if Hearts ceased to exist. I obviously don't like them as an entity, but they are not even 10% as offensive as rangers.
There are convincing arguments to be made that should rangers cease to exist it will not only 'clear the air' around Scottish football, but actually be beneficial to Scottish society.
I don't agree that expulsion from the SFA was considered 'too severe' in rangers' case. I think it should have been the automatic choice.
From a Rangers Forum - do the bouncy it's on tapatalk so giving me my fix of watching them squirm whilst I can't get on Rangers media
"I've just watched the full 40 minute conference, with a large glass of wine. I am absolutely gutted these guys never got the club this week.
I wish someone had asked during that conference if they felt that ***** was involved with Dumb & Dumber, as I just cannot undersand them not getting it after meeting the Quantum terms!
This would have been Rangers men... with money... Getting us out of this mess.
The bottom line now basically means that we need an Abramovich and nothing else will save us.
Sorry Bears... This is a dark, dark time not only for Rangers, but also for all of Scotland and Scottish Football!"
Good time for Scotland for me :)
All very well put. To be honest, for me the issue is broader than the specifics of this case even. If we assume that Rangers are allowed to stay in the SPL, albeit in a far more modest form, and they find themselves playing with their under 19s and scrambling around the bottom of the league, are they then not allowed to be relegated either should they finish bottom? Do we say that Rangers are above the law and can basically do what they want, the same obviously going for Celtic. Is there a sliding scale of allowed lawlessness based upon average travelling support and attractiveness to the television networks? Where are Hibs on that scale, and what are we allowed to get away with?
dark time for Scotland and Scottish fitba! :hilarious I doubt there'll be many out with huns, the weegie media, the SFA and the OF stooges at the SPL who will agree with that view point.
personally speaking I think it's one of the best and funniest things ever tae happen. :faf:
It's probably going. To get even funnier in the next couple of days. They'll all be bawling they're bigoted eyes out tomorrow in Perth, and hopefully Monday will see them pushed into the grave. Tee-hee!Quote:
Originally Posted by Desperate Dan
Desperate Dan, totally agree, sums it up for me. A brilliant summary. The following from your list all need to wake up, look up and smell the f***** coffee!
>weegie media
>SFA
>OF stooges at the SPL
I didn't put ">Huns" on the list because hopefully they will have returned to their hive and then the big bee keeper upstairs sets fire to it.
For so many years now it, and by 'it' I mean the picture portrayed and sent out on the airwaves of TV and radio and in the printed pages of the newspapers and magazines, has been totally dominated by the OF in way which seems to suggest that all other Scottish football teams are just a warm up side show for the "main event", aka the OF. I don't remember it being as bad as this when I was a kid so it must slowly have become this way. The whole thing has become so blatant really. I've even heard 'commentators' and newsreaders on the TV and radio gassing on about the OF for a good five minutes then saying, "On to the other teams news now". These clowns, as per your list DD, all need to look at the SPL table and notice that it has 12 teams in it so amazingly they might be shocked to learn that the OF are individually only 1/12th of the SPL picture each, and that's before we consider the SFL.
Like an earlier poster said, the demise of Der Hun could be the wake up call that Scottish football and Scottish media needs to make it take a good honest look at itself and try and remember that all our teams were formed for competing in a sport, not as convenient money making logo'd marketing tools. It's time to save Scottish football from being just another part of the line-up on Sky television.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desperate Dan
Well written blog.
And worth remembering, I think, that when the whole fraud first got an airing on national TV, it was Petrie who spoke up about sporting integrity when all or nearly all around him were giving it very large with the 'Scottish football needs a strong HunFC'. Well done Rod!
Great piece by Henryclarson. It should be compulsory reading for the Chairman of Kilmarnock, St Johnston and other " Vichy" Clubs as well as Doncaster and the SFA Blazers.
Hopefully the SFA report on Rangers gives them little wriggle room, mind you if the bears try to intimidate the appeals panel it might even be the end of the road for der Hun. :agree:
I have to admit maybe they would be the best option for Rangers to go with but the fact they are not offering as much money has to be the main reason they have been knocked back time & time again
Dumb & Dumber are there to get the best deal for the creditors so probably do believe they would agree they be the best deal for the football club but that not what they are employed to do, end of the day they are there to sell the club to the highest bidder to maximize money to give to the creditors.
If they are that passionate about the club then stump up the cash..believe they all mouth n no action.
All they were trying to do yesterday was put the pressure on D&D to pick them
Henry Clarsons piece is good with its all about sporting integrity and they've certainly destroyed that. But their financial, business and corporate integrity is shot to ribbons too and rotten to the core.
Their whole existence is built on cheating everything and everyone they come into contact with.
No doubt no matter what happens off the pitch today (and going by Duff and Duffer's previous form,I'd guess a lot of smoke and maybe the odd mirror) we'll be in for weeping and great gnashing of teeth as the "real victims" of this affair vent their angst at Perth tomorrow. Except it won't be angst it'll be bile, of the worst sectarian nature. There will be no reporting of it in the media by and large, in fact the Rangers fans will no doubt be lauded for their patience and loyalty (assuming of course that they don't manage to burn the odd Catholic) and the Rangers manager praised for his courage. When the truth is the mass of Rangers support think they have a divine right to cheat without reproval and even more insidiouslly to gather en masse every fortnight and chant obscenities at the Pope and/or Roman Catholics in general and anyone else who meets with their disapproval.I presume amongst the latter is anyone who does not share their 17th Century views on religious or cultural toleration. I'm guessing (hoping) that includes most of modern day Scotland. This crisis offers the whole of Scottish football a chance to break with the past, a chance aye even for Rangers and their apologists to re-form as a newco shorn of their sectarian baggage from the past. More importamtly for the game in this country to reform itself, before it suffocates under the weight of its own contradictions. I believe in the positive forces of human nature and that they can triumph over the mean spirited, selfish and nasty. The coming days will prove me right or wrong.
Calmac,
I have a friend of many years who has been a lifelong fan of football. He has lived in Ayrshire since the late 1960s having grown up in Wales and then in Nairn up in the north. He is a Kilmarnock supporter and shareholder and season ticket holder. For him it is all about the football. He is respected enough in the club circles that when he took me into the Sportsman bar after a match with all ma Hibby gear on not a word was said cause I was with him.
So to recap, he's a Kilmarnock fan and a Scotland fan and would watch and enjoy any decent game of footy even if it didn't involve his team. Here is part of the text he sent me a few days ago regarding Der Hun and their fate:
"...And R*ngers can go to hell for all I care. Serves them right." :agree:
For me this is a good guide to the sentiment of a large proportion of the normal population of Scotland. Like you I hope that this is in fact the case :aok:
Bang on the money. Fair play and honesty is everything. Even in the ultra-materialistic USA, where razamataz and winning is everything they are seen to adhere to sporting integrity with their NFL pre- season draft, where the teams are allowed to sign the top players graduating from the university leagues. The process is that the least successful teams from the previous season have the first pick of the top players. I'm not sure how this actually pans out in the new season but the principle of honesty,sporting integrity and transparency are there for all to see.
Good suggestions :agree:
I can't think of anymore to top your suggestions really...
Badgergate? (Ibrox = Àth Bruic, the badger's ford) and they have been badgering people.
Bluesgate, cause they have got a bad dose of the blues now, or they will have on Monday.
Teddygate.
Close-the-gate (when you leave...)
Yours were better :agree:
We can only hope that when the appeals panel sits down and reviews the appeal by RFC, and then takes into account the subsequent actions of various office bearers of the club, that they will take the appropriate action and kick them out of the SFA. Hopefully they will also be liquidated as well by that point, as nobody is going to want to buy them as a going concern with that kind of history.
Obviously somebody will then buy the stadium and try to build a new club from scratch, but they will have to do it the proper way and apply to the SFA for a club licence and entry into a lower league somewhere. Presumably they will in due course rise up the leagues assuming that they retain some of their fan base to finance them, but I cant see them being the bull in a china shop that RFC and it's hangers on currently are.
Hopefully the SFA will also realise that their hands off approach to "fit and proper" people isn't working, implement some changes to beef up the procedures that the member clubs have to follow to stop another farce on the scale of RFC happening again, as well as implementing proper financial fair play rules. I'd like to think that might put an unwelcome spotlight on HMFC, but that wouldn't necessarily be a bad thing. :wink:
As so eloquently illustrated by Henry Clarson, the only thing that the appeals panel needs to remember is sporting integrity. :agree:
http://i45.tinypic.com/157natd.jpg
I could be here a while
Wattygate
Rammedgate
Cashgate
Readygate
Noreadytgate
Yourkiddingate
Nosurrendergate
Followgate
Iusedtofollowgate
Wedontcaregate
Howmuchagate
Superallyisabullygate
Sashgate
Nomoregates
Beargate
Devilsgate
Auctiongate
Troubleaheadgate
Hahahahahahahagate
Greengate
Nevernevergate
Departuregate
What desperation does. Thread on FF:
I know its a long shot but does anyone know the guy who won over 100million , He used to work for STV 4m off him could clinch deal and it would probably only be a years loss of interest to him . Heard he supports the jags so probably not a Taig
As if this wasn't outrageous enough, by about the fifth post he was a " tight-fisted barsteward who reneged on a promise to give Largs FC £100K".:greengrin