Hope he's not had any of this before he meets her:
https://images.app.goo.gl/Q7tswi853DQN4SN48
Printable View
Hope he's not had any of this before he meets her:
https://images.app.goo.gl/Q7tswi853DQN4SN48
What was the season that our pink chums escaped relegation and I think it was Dundee we’re the club that got done by them for some obscure reason
Ann Budge's interview and the Rangers statement suggests they know which way the decision is heading and they don't like it, which is why they are getting their counter arguments into the public domain before the decision is announced. To let the fans know that they've not agreed to it.
Voiding is not an option, it’s been reported that would lead to refunds, cancelled contracts etc.
Waiting is all well and good, but the longer the wait, the more problems it causes.
Ending gives certainty, prize money gets paid out and clubs can plan for the eventual resumption next season.
Sure, it’s rough to be relegated with games left, but it’s rougher that many people will die, or lose their jobs.
On the premise that if there's one thing above all else that motivates football clubs its self interest I'm struggling a wee bit to see how a decision to cancel the league now and relegate Hearts could suit the majority of clubs.
For a start ending the league now and relegating Hamilton would deny them the chance of a play off the rules state they are entitled to ... 11th isn't an automatic relegation place. If you keep Hamilton up that denies clubs with a real chance of promotion from the championship their chance.
St Johnstone are only a point behind Hibs, but have played a game less ... would they see it as fair if Hibs got a bigger share of the prize pot having played a game more?
For Hibs from a financial point of view having Hearts in the league guarantees us a full away end possibly twice a season, which would be replaced by Dundee Utd's 700 or so away support.
Given all that I'm not so sure as many clubs as folk think would be up for ending the season with placings as they stand now. I would have thought the option to promote Dundee Utd and ICT into a 14 team premier league for at least one season would have been the preferred one .. as I say, purely from a financial self interest POV.
Why don’t they just finish this season when they would start the new one, in late July, virus permitting. Then go right into next season but with each team only playing each other twice and finishing up at the same time? All that would happen is that next season would be a shorter one, with 22 games, but a fair one.
Can't see that happening. How do all the clubs sell season tickets at full price for a season with 8 fewer league games? Also isn't there a term about there being 4 old firms for TV. I reckon this season they'll be fine about losing 1 but they're not gonna want to lose 2 next season
it's only fair that they should go down. They deserve it
The clubs and the tv companies don’t want it though. They don’t want to split the revenue 14 ways. There is likely to be a lot less cat A games for clubs like Hibs if us, Hearts or Aberdeen get caught on the wrong side of the split from each other. Hibs just can’t afford to take the revenue hit. We have little enough money coming in as it is.
Not so long ago clubs voted for Sevco to start life in the lowest league rather than wave them into the Championship, which was definitely an option on the table, thus denying top flight clubs the income that a visit from Rangers brings for (as it turned out) four years. That indicates that self interest isn't always the priority.
We've also had Rangers, Hibs and Hearts playing outwith the top flight in recent years and the game has survived.
From a TV deal point of view all that really matters to the broadcasters is that Celtic and Rangers are in the top league.
The only club here putting self interest above all else is Hearts. As the global pandemic continues to wreak havoc around the world, their narrow-minded bleating about maybe having to suck up a season in the a lower league is embarrassing. Budge's 'sporting integrity' rationale about there 'still being 24 points to play for' is desperate stuff when talking about club which has amassed a paltry 23 points in 30 games.
Especially, given the tight financial position most clubs will find themselves in given the league being halted now.
Also, the old firm not losing much revenue if Hearts go down and DU go up. For other clubs selling seasons will be easier under current format. DU not much less attractive than Hearts to everybody but us.
Why should we even waste time talking about reconstructing leagues just for hearts sake at this time.
Just accept it hearts, yous will promote back soon.
The impact of this is going to be extremely far reaching and have a quite staggering economic impact on all of us.
If and when we get back to normality I think we will have stopped this season as it stands and paid out cash based on where teams are. The economy needs to function and we need all the help we can get. The SPL will promote the top 2 and have a 14 team league for a season. We need to find a way to make it work. Which will then go back to 12.
Football dont want to lose a team like Hearts who can help with the circulation of money and given what is happening whether or not we would like Hearts to go down, it doesnt really matter. If we relegate hearts, overall we make things worse
I’ve seen hibs fans a couple if times saying that they don’t want hearts relegated because hibs will loose income. Instead of 3,500 yams, we will only get 700 Dundee Utd fans.
Incredible. A loss of 2800 fans a game. 5600 in total. Approximately £150,000.
We have 14.000 season ticket holders.
I’ll start the ball rolling. When hearts get relegated as they should, I’ll happily pay an extra £11 to hibs to cover the short fall whilst I laugh my arse off at all my family yams and every single one of them.
That assumes everyone had enough spare cash to spend on a non essential activity when in reality any savings will have been accessed and people may not have income.
When does budge hand the club over to the flumps? When that happens and she is no longer the owner I can’t see her family being happy her splashing in loads of their inheritance money at a basket case that is about to get relegated just for a vanity project. She’s had her fun, got the legacy of the *****y stand and I would be surprised if she put more of her own money in, loans or not.
Yet again, the only reason this is being discussed and chewed over is because it is Hearts. Had this had been Hamilton, ICT or a Motherwell, it would get no airtime and the decision would be done by now.
It was exactly the same for Rangers in 2012. Any other club - straight into the 2nd div, no questions asked, but Mr Armageddon wet his pants and it took the rest of us to uphold the "integrity" of the game. For Sevco to be crying foul again says everything about that club and for them to attempt to use the I word beggars belief.
Dump Hearts - as they have proved themselves to be easily (pound for pound) the worst team in the league - and let's try to recover from this. This is a bigger problem than 1 club.
If Hibs had been in Hearts position, I can guarantee we'd be looking into any legal issues concerning a league finishing as is with relegation . Yes they are at the bottom of the league but only 4 pts from play off and 6 pts from safety, with 8 games still to play they are well within touching distance to survive, so they do have an argument to null and void the league standings.
Hearts being back to their overspendin incompetent ways has got them in the mess. They can do one and relegation will **** them. We might lose £150k but they certainly won't be fighting it out for semis and the europa league where we will easily earn more than the missing gate receipts.
Not to mention they are in the same market for new players as us so weakening them again is even better!
A weak hearts is fantastic for Hibernian apart from an away support once or twice a season.
Turn it around the other way, do you think when they won the championship at a canter and this happened then before it was official that Budge would be coming out saying Dundee Utd should stay up hearts stay in the championship because 38 games haven’t been completed?
The clubs that took the blue pound included Brechin (currently about to be relegated out the leagues) and Cowdenbeath (who nearly went the same way)
The blue pound didn't do much for these guys
Similarly, I have no sympathy for Hearts.
They must be relegated on account of having hardly won a game since September 2018, and being 4 points adrift when the music stopped.
They need to go down, so that all clubs can receive the sponsors' money due, as the season has finished (not null and void, but finished)
Four points behind but have livi,Aberdeen,Ross co and Hamilton away in those 8 games. They gained precisely 1 point from these previous fixtures. They have Ross county,st mirren kille and stjohnsone at home. They won 3 points in the first set of fixtures. On all balance of probability they would have been relegated as their defeat to st mirren showed. Four teams were going to be relegated. In just saying it shouldn't happen doesn't change that fact.
Apparently when Yugoslavia imploded the league finished as the positions stood. If they go by that precedent there's no discussion. Btw Hertz can't sue anybody. As they come under uefa and sfa rules they would be suing themselves. Not the same as owing themselves £40m.😂
Null and voiding season to save Hearts would be armageddon ...
.... how to allocate league funds, allocate Euro placings, clubs entitled to recover win bonuses from players (as there were no wins), January transfers voided (poor Flo's life-long dream would remain just that), Doidge would be crap again, Hecky back at the wheel, Levein would get his old job back, P45 derbies again, we'd have to wait another 8 months for Ron's 5 year plan.... and the rest :greengrin
Can we sue them for spending money they didnt have and going into admin, whilst stopping us winning a Scottish cup that could have been ours? No we cant.
They can have their tainted cup.
Can they sue anyone for being relegated for being bottom when a league campaign went pop due to much more important health issues?
No they cant.
They can claim their relegation is tainted if thats how they feel.
Mrs Budge has embarrassed herself yet again with threats of legal action. The world is heading for economic meltdown with a potential for a depression. Hundreds of thousands of people are going to die but she thinks it’s appropriate at this time to talk about legal action about her club going down a division when no decision has been made. But her admission that Hearts don’t have business disruption insurance made me chuckle. They area multi million pound business but can’t even organise their insurance. Hearts fans really take action over her shocking way she’s run their club with their money once this pandemic is over.
Did Budge confirm it was them that didn’t have the disruption insurance, Lucky?
That was actually a rare victory for fan power and the clubs were most definitely acting in their own self interest. Fans of virtually every SPL (as it then was) club were threatening to boycott games if the new club got preferential treatment. Admission to the fourth tier was a pragmatic compromise.
On another tack, I'm sure I heard Dr Budge talking about the weekend's cancellations costing them £1m but they were due to play Ross County away so they wouldn't have had any income from the game even if it had been played. In fact they saved on travel costs and appearance payments. Likewise, as it stands half of the clubs have missed out on a single home game - that could have happened because of a bad spell of wethur - and the other half haven't missed out at all. Next week's cancellation will more or less affect the other half by the loss of a single game. There's no doubt this is going to cost clubs a lot over the duration but right now no clubs should be suffering particularly badly.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.c...ership-2480465
Fan ownership postponed. Shock.[emoji849]
I have a feeling a lot of businesses are going to find they're not covered for this. Business interruption cover tends to relate to building damage or contamination not to general global events.
Edit: I see in the link you've just posted she's talking about that £1m loss again - because an away game at Ross County has been cancelled?
Hearts have been existing hand to mouth for many years, and that's with the ridiculous amount of donations and shedding debt through administration. There won't be many football clubs run as badly as it has been. They should seriously consider going part time in order to survive and start living within their means.
I think people are failing to grasp there is no vaccine and won’t be fir potentially a year according to Prof Jason Leitch Although hopefully it’s sooner
The virus isn’t going to go away Hopefully the summer months see a vast reduction and we get a heat wave But the virus won’t have gone
But it’s clear we can’t go back to normal in the next few months
It is quite standard for businesses that have a catering function and/or involved in the entertainment business to extend their Business Interruption Insurance to cover the risk of being closed down by the Local Authority in the event of a notifiable disease being declared. It would be quite negligent if a football club did not have the cover in place. In some cases the notifiable diseases will be defined but some businesses will have blanket cover.
It normally costs buttons in relation to the overall cost.
She was misquoted. Here's what she actually said...
“On Friday morning when that decision [to suspend football] was made, we had four home fixtures. In terms of income for the club, that is well over £500,000.
“We had a [Scottish Cup [semi-final]. In terms of income to the club, again well over £500,000. So, in the blink of an eye, £1m that we anticipated having as income in April has gone.
My mummy always said I should tell the truth so here it is. As a Hibs fan anything that makes the Gorgie gunts sweat gives me a guid laugh, but here's the thing about this situation:
Is it not true that your highlighted statement here can be turned on its head? Is it any less narrow minded or tasteless to be revelling in Hearts situation which leaving their crap form aside has been brought about by that very same global pandemic ...... I love Hibs I love football, but as a human being I just can't turn off my natural inclination to think that Hearts, or any club for that matter, shouldn't suffer as a result of what is nothing less than a natural disaster.
Maybe it is Karma and maybe they do deserve a huge dose of bad luck .... but I would rather it was entirely self inflicted, or even better inflicted by Hibs, than by something like this.
Its not the be all and end all mate and I never suggested it was, it's just one thing in the financial balance important to all clubs. Also, what you are forgetting is that if this plays out to its worst conclusion Hibs are going to take a massive financial hit. If the cup is cancelled we have already lost probably close to a million quid if we had made the final. We will lose a significant sum from lost revenue on the cancelled league games and we have no guarantees that the take up of ST's for next season will not be hammered if folk lose their jobs in this crisis and others are reluctant to spend hundreds of pound for games they have no idea will ever get played, or if they are when they will be played.
My concern is entirely about the impact of any decision on Hibs rather than just looking to put the boot into Hearts. And BTW we have just under 13,000 ST holders, not 14,000.
I know. Which is why any decisions made should be aimed at making the impact as light as possible on as few clubs as possible. There is already talk of expanding the EPL to 22 teams next season to allow Leeds and West Brom promotion and allow the bottom EPL clubs survival into next season. Even if that doesn't happen I would imagine the compensation payments to single clubs would be huge. No prospect of that in Scotland, so ensuring as many clubs as possible, not to mention the league itself, can just keep trading to their maximum potential is where we have to go IMO.
For me that means if the league is cancelled then it has to be a 14 team premiership next season ... its not just about survival, its ensuring that we continue to have as many full time clubs as possible ..... there's no competition for Celtic now with every club in the premiership full time, imagine how bad it would be if half our full time clubs ended up part time? which could happen if this goes on for too long, some are teetering on the brink as it is.
Said on the radio a few insurance companies are washing their hands with the situation classing it as an act of god
I'm not sure about that. If we'd had a season like Hearts had I think most of us would accept we deserved to go down. Hearts have been stagnating for a few years now and remind me a bit of ourselves in 2014 when, in hindsight, getting relegated proved to be what we needed to rejuvenate as a club.
What CAN be guaranteed is that if Hamilton or St Mirren were sitting bottom just now, Hearts wouldn't give a jot about them being relegated despite Budge's holier than thou 'hand on heart' claims.
- I have read through the SPFL rules to find out if there was a minimum number of games that had to be played before league positions were confirmed but there is nothing. However, I did find this rule under Board & Commissions....
J16.11 order the relegation of a Club to a lower Division and make such consequent orders as to promotion as it shall think appropriate- So the SPFL have covered themselves here, basically saying that they can decide for whatever reason they deem is fit for purpose that they have the power to relegate or promote a club.
Assuming HMFC have signed to these T&C s then I can't see how they could challenge any demotion to lower league
It’s not going to go away but there are some positives starting to emerge in China; new cases reducing with the last hospital built for this ready to close, Apple announcing they are reopening all their stores there, their football now scheduled to resume in a month.
Some of those things might seem small, but it’s small steps and I hope the press are as keen to report on the small positives as they are the hypothetical negatives.
Hearts just stopped training now but to report for gym duty twice a week in small groups
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.c...esumes-2481530
Aye ..... 6 points off 10th place with 24 points still to play for having just beaten Rangers for the second time in the season to make the Scottish cup semi finals, aye right enough so we would. Not only accepting it we would be demanding that Hibs were relegated in those circumstances.
Anybody who seriously believes Hibs wouldn't be just as angry as Hearts and our fans wouldn't be in uproar is absolutely having a laugh. And you can chuck into the mix the fact that our owner comes from a country where litigation is almost a national pastime .. I can just see him sitting back and going 'oh well that's life' ...... not.
Hearts have been bottom or thereabouts for so long whilst Budge was strutting about the place telling everyone how it should be done and distracting the Duncans with concerts, stands, benny factor, the ownership trick and documentaries etc.
They've made bottom theirs and are there on merit. Time to put them out their misery.
Is anybody able to confirm how many weeks have Hertz been bottom (over the 30 games played)?
Ach, I wouldn't try for a second to defend the Hertz right to take the moral high ground on anything, that ship sailed long ago, even if they would never admit it. But given that I'm not prepared to pretend that how they are reacting would be any different to how any club, including us, would in the same situation.
This is the bit that gets me.
She's been an absolute failure with everything she's touched and yet somehow still thinks she knows best!!
If Hearts were sitting in 3rd or 4th place right now you can guarantee they would want the league to be declared as it is so they could get Europe.
Whilst I do think it would be unfair for them to be relegated, I hope to hell they are and that they bang on about the unfairness of it all for years to come.
Agree almost all clubs would be the same. That doesnt make it right though.
If it was Hibs, I would say it was our own fault, id feel a bit hard dont by, and i would try and channel that indignation (righteous or not!) into getting ourselves sorted.
The league is there to judge teams against each other. It has done so and we have played over 3/4s of games, and Hearts are a two game swing away from even the relative safety of a playoff spot, with the form suggesting their rivals were more likely to increase the gap than they were to narrow it.
Its harsh and its imperfect, but it is their own fault and it is the fairest, simplest and most logical outcome.