Dis (the opposite)
Honest (truthful)
Dishonest (not truthful)
This is getting extremely infantile now. Clearly you're no happy about something that has occured lately, so i'll leave you to it. :greengrin
Murdo fraser tells it like it is.
https://twitter.com/murdo_fraser/sta...420128770?s=19
You can sense their pain and desperation - https://twitter.com/ScotTories
Jeremy AlmostNominativeDeterminism has done an article in the Telegraph where he says pushing for No Deal would be "political suicide". Note he doesn't actually gaf that it would lead to the death of manufacturing industry in the UK, hundreds of thousands of job losses etc, he's just concerned the Tories wouldn't get re-elected. What a Hunt. :rolleyes:
Was having a read about the Tory candidates having not heard of a fair few of them. Without knowing a great deal about some of them and how far right they are etc. On the face of it, Esther McVey seemed to come from a different background to the majority that attended Eton & Oxbridge.
In the context of a Tory Pm, so the least worst option, would her background as a Scouse foster child make her any more likely to “represent for the many and not the few”? Or is my cynicism of the majority of all politicians from all parties in being self serving a more likely outcome?
In July 2018 it was reported by the head of the National Audit Office (NAO) that McVey had misled parliament over the new Universal Credit scheme by claiming that the NAO report showed that it should be rolled out faster when in fact the report concluded that the roll-out should be paused.[41] She apologised to the House of Commons on 4 July 2018[4][5] amid calls for her resignation.[5] Margaret Greenwood said in Parliament, "The secretary of state should be ashamed that she has been forced to come to this house again. If she misread this report so badly this brings in to question her competence and her judgment. If she did read the report and chose to misrepresent its findings, she has clearly broken the ministerial code. Either way, she should resign."[42]
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Esther_McVey
Boris helping vindicate the title thread?
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-48445430
Some brilliant stuff cropping up on social media.
https://i.ibb.co/NsssZvd/permissionmeme.png
Exactly the way to respond to this kind of thing in my opinion.
This post's contents are withheld to the general public pending permission from Sajid Javid.
V interesting thread here by the Telegraph's (yes, I know a hotbed of Marxist insurrection) Europe Editor, Peter Foster.
https://twitter.com/pmdfoster/status...36168239177728
... in which it turns out that Dominic Raab is:
a) a lying *******
and
b) a self-serving Jeremy Hunt
Who would ever have thought that? Consider me shocked, nay, stunned. :rolleyes:
BUT HERE IS A GENUINE SHOCK!
Rory Stewart admits a no deal Brexit would see the end of UK manufacturing industry:
https://twitter.com/JamesMelville/st...20453897515008
He seems to have got a bit lost on his way from a 19th Century Imperial adventure, but Rory Stewart may have elements of truthfulness about him. No chance the Tory members are going to go for that!
Does anyone agree with getting energy from Nuclear power stations?
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-48509942
Thankfully we are moving away from reliance on 'dirty' energy
https://skepticalscience.com/print.php?r=374
https://www.renewableenergyworld.com...oad-power.html
https://www.aph.gov.au/About_Parliam.../rp0809/09rp09
theresa may will only resign when she is sure her successor has 'confidence of the commons' No 10 says
is she trying to stretch it out to get an extra pension contribution or whit :greengrin
From the guy who didn't realise Dover was that important for international trade. What's next? Civil war anyone?
https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.iri...ed-929155.html
Proceedings against BoJo dropped. Basically his defence was he did his lying in his roles as part of the Leave campaign, not as part of his duties in public office, so misconduct in public office doesn't apply.
tbh, I think that's fair enough even though he's a contemptible *****bag. I think the court publicity would've been counterproductive anyway.
Dominic Grieve loses a motion of confidence of his local constituency branch.
The Tories have swung further to the right again, they'll be standing on Nigels toes soon
Looks like he has to re apply to the constituency party for the next GE
The fact that it got this far will have given Boris a few sleepless nights, and if the publicity and the fact that it got this far plants a seed of doubt in the minds of politicians before they come out with some of their more outrageous promises, then it has been worth it.
As much as I don't like Boris, and as much as I loathed the bus stunt, I'm not sure if a criminal conviction was really in anyone's interests at the end of the day.
The radio said there that four of the Tory leader candidates have admitted abusing Class A drugs. What the...
Fair do's, a bit of reluctant honesty dragged out of four of them, we now know hallucinogenics might have something to do with their behaviour over the last few decades.
But how do we account for the antics of the rest of them?
Had to chuckle when listening to Any Questions last night, when Max Hastings, a former colleague of BJ at The Telegraph, was asked his opinion on BJ as a leader...."BJ is one of the most brilliant journalists and entertainers I've ever known but Boris's tragedy is that he thinks he's Winston Churchill but in reality he's Steve Cougan"
That's where I am. I daresay some of the small and big C Tories may find it shocking but we live in a time when a lot of the electorate in their 20s through their 60s have probably dabbled with drugs at some point in their life.
I'm more offended by Gove in general than by the fact he had a few lines of ching a couple of decades ago.
Why didn't you answer my posts asking you to inform the Scots folk of whats occurring at Spanish Embassy level and Rockall both involving Scottish snp politics?
The good Scots folk deserve to hear after all you'e on here incessantly posting against anyone and any other party that argues against separatism/independence. We the good Scots folk deserve answers or do you ignore anything other than brigadoon 'good news' snp dogmatism?
Lets hear you're take on the Spanish Ambassador being sacked for mentioning Scottish separatism/independence and the Rockall Snp government v Irish government spat over fishing rights?
Come on Je me Souviens?
Let's tell the good Scots folk the current situation!
Come on Je me souviens?
At least the Modfather tries to argue his best despite limited arguments that at least demonstrates a fighting scots attitude. You don't show that which tells me you're just a trouble maker with no real hard interest in what happens here in Scotland. If I'm right you'd be better doing one.
Mon the Scots.
Nah. Its no just tories that are sleekit lying *******s. Its brigadoons like je me soveins or whatever his/her user name is.
I've every respect for those who show the fighting Scots spirit despite how way wrongful it may be because I myself either wrongly or rightfully have inherited it.
I'm proud Scots but also recognise just how much we here in the UK should display it against other than.
Mon the Scots and UK
That Michael Gove seemed like a nice young man on The Andrew Marr Show today. I don't think he told any lies at all. Preferable to Bojo or Fauxrage for PM.
Mutterings in the papers about Labour getting rid of Watson and Starmer from the shadow front bench. Ffs.
Gove introduced legislation when he was Education secretary that banned teachers being caught using Class A drugs from returning to their jobs.
So you can't return to a classroom to teach, but you can still expect apparently to run the country?
That's where this news story bothers me - not the fact that he's taken drugs - I couldn't care less about that. It's the hypocrisy of his actions.
I find him as unpalatable as Johnson - some of his proposals during his time as education secretary were horrific (he was behind the proposal to remove non-UK authors from the English curriculum) and he's been a ****ing hopeless environment secretary.
I wonder why he fessed up? The story must have been about to be sensationally splashed over the papers so this is his attempt at damage limitation. Watch people coming out of the woodwork with Gove's chinged up shenanigans. Cant wait.
On QT the other night, they said the average age of the Tory party membership was 57, that cant be right can it??
I see Ruth the mooth has nailed her flag to Javid.
Not sure he was an MP when he committed the crimes. Need people from all walks of life (including criminals), not just career politicians, to represent us.
Agree it's a small number who will be deciding the next PM (though not as small as gave us the last one), but is their average age any or much different from the average age of actual voters (as opposed to the electorate) in a GE? :dunno:Quote:
Originally Posted by marinello59
This is my issue with him. Apparently around the time he was hoovering ching he wrote a newspaper article condemning middle class drug users, then as you point out made laws that have destroyed many peoples lives. This should destroy his or at least his political career
I find it hard to believe that during the 80s and 90s Messrs Cameron and Johnson and friends didn't take a few drugs along with trashing restaurants and assaulting pigs.
I'm used to being treated as "politically hostile" on here, so pardon my suspicion.
None of the "big names" thrill me as future PM, but Johnson/Gove please me the least.
I wouldn't object to Rory Stewart or Sam Gyimah (he did a lot of good as Universities' minister), but neither will get through the first round of voting.
hancock on just now telling all how much he loves the NHS, he probably won't mention the 32k he has received from the chairman of a think-tank that wants to abolish the NHS :hmmm:
or maybe he will, seeing as all the candidates are going through a 'truth' stage :)
cough
Sorry, I have you on ignore.
Anyway, the Spanish government position on Scotland is that it's an internal matter for the UK and if Scotland becomes independent with recognition from the rUK government, then that's fine by them. Josep Borrell, the PSOE foreign minister, whose department fired this consul bloke, is on record saying as much.
On Rockall, it's been a disputed territory between the UK, Iceland and Ireland for decades. The Scottish government is just asserting the UK position. Presumably post-Indy we'd make the same claim.
Anything else?
candidates need to secure support from eight MP's by 5pm tonight or they will be removed from the race
I have a bit of inside knowledge on this. Compared to other people who have served as ministers over the past nine years, Stewart is an outsider in Tory Whitehall circles. He is unpopular with many of his peers. His first appointment to be the junior Defra water minister and later as the prisons minister were intended to kill his ministerial career.
But as a Eton and Oxford educated Secretary of State, of course he is a insider compared to the average person
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/201...7ea9118de3.jpg
Bet Ruth says nowt.
https://www.scotsman.com/news/politi...mpression=true
10 got enough support to stand:
• Michael Gove
• Matt Hancock
• Mark Harper
• Jeremy Hunt
• Sajid Javid
• Boris Johnson
• Andrea Leadsom
• Esther McVey
• Dominic Raab
• Rory Stewart
First round of MP votes on Thursday.
7/10..Boris Johnson
4/1... jeremy hunt
9/1....Andrea Leadsom
16/1..Gove
20/1...sajid javid
25/1.. Dominic Raab
33/1.. Rory Stewart
40/1...jeremy corbyn...gies a break
66/1...Farage
100/1..matthew hancock
125/1..David Liddington
150/1..philip hammond
150/1..mark harper
200/1..Esther Mcvey....nae chance
200/1..jo swinson...stop it
I can see the Tory MPs forcing Boris out and putting Gove & Hunt to the members.
There was an interesting article a couple of weeks or so ago, in the Guardian or the Telegraph, probably the latter (sorry, can’t recall) which challenged the orthodoxy and argued that the Tory leadership race could end up with a final two who were centrists, relatively speaking. By centrists they meant the likes of Hunt, which I found challenging as a start :greengrin
Part of the argument was that while Boris has a healthy lead amongst Tory party members, there is a residual fear that he is too divisive or reckless to command the all-important majority, come the GE. While the shires lap up his rhetoric, as the final vote grows closer the nervousness increases about whether he will blow it later on, Boris-style, and deny the Conservatives what they perceive as their natural place in government.
This feeds into what local Conservative Associations tell their MPs and emboldens the MPs to back alternatives.
I’m not fully convinced - he genuinely is very popular amongst the party membership and if he makes it to the final two it would be a coronation I guess. By the same token, I could easily imagine Stewart having a good run before running out of votes, then switching his caucus to Matt Hancock perhaps, with us ending up with a Hancock-Hunt play-off.
I think a lot depends on how Gove and Hunt do. As the field is whittled down, a lot of votes will be reallocated. I suspect Hunt is the more likely to garner these than Gove but the latter didn’t hurt himself by taking the fight to Boris today. Gove v Hunt is definitely in play.
For those of us who are interested in politics for politics’ sake, it is fascinating. Unfortunately it is scary that this exercise has the potential for such damaging consequences.
What scares me is very few of us will have a say in who our next undemocratically elected minority leader will be.
Instead it's being left to folk who are probably more at home judging the most interesting shaped vegetable contest at the village fete.
They probably think all the candidates are young whippersnappers and they'd like someone more representative of their group, Anthony Eden or Harold Macmillan would probably win hands down if someone managed to sneak their name onto the ballot papers, Fluffy the cat would have a chance on the same basis.
You would need 2/3 of Tory mp’s to vote for those two in an even split to beat Boris. I can’t see it happening unless Boris does something stupid. And he appears to have enough self awareness to know that’s possible so he is staying away from campaigning as much as possible.
https://www.change.org/p/free-nazani...te&utm_term=cs
Still there, Boris has put some clear blue water between himself and that indiscretion by the looks of it.
Just how depressing do things have to get until enough people in Scotland have had enough?