How are Rangers allowed to keep loan players, just noticed Kyle Bartley is playing for them today? :confused:
Printable View
How are Rangers allowed to keep loan players, just noticed Kyle Bartley is playing for them today? :confused:
A guess at the way it worked is:
CW approached T saying he was about to buy RFC and wanted to do a future ST deal with them. To seal the deal now they could put the money in a 'neutral' bank account held by those honest upright solicitors Collyer Bristow and if the purchase of RFC fell through they would give the money back to T. CW then showed SDM the statements for this account saying that it was the funds already in place to repay the LBG loan (SDM needed to verify that the LBG loan would be repaid as a condition of the sale). He then handed over his quid to SDM, confirmed with T that he was now the owner of RFC and the ST deal went ahead, after which he paid off LBG.
Of course SDM was totally 'duped' in all this because Ticketus would almost certainly not have thought to discuss the matter with him in any way :fibber:.
Possibly just a guarantee that the deal would be done. It seemed like a lucrative deal, and CW could have stressed that he would need the cash as soon as he bought RFC. Ticketus had nothing to lose by putting it in a neutral account (it might only have been for a few days) and were guaranteed a good deal and future goodwill if they did it.
Edit: Of course it could have been a three-way stitch-up that would never have been discovered if RFC had qualified for the Champions League, but I'm sure it wasn't.
I was just thinking if they managed to scrape in on the grounds that Rangers were in administration/liquidation and how much I would piss myself as I watched the penny drop. I may have to watch a while as their small brains attempted to process and calculate the information but I feel sure it would be worth the wait.
There nothing to stop them submitting their signed account to the SFA without registering them with Companies House.
Completely irrational of course as they would be greatly increasing the Penalty they pay for late filing of accounts. Saying that their accounts last year are dated 31st March :fibber: and they were registered at Companies House until 13th May. :confused:
Not being an advocate for Ticketus, but as an ordinary observer, I have no doubt that the rights to the value of forward season ticket sales lies with Ticketus.
They are due all the forward value from that commercial transaction with Craikie's Newco.:agree:
Under English Law -yes
Under Scots Law -no.
Even though the contract was under English Law it has no standing in the matter of conferring rights.
I think that we are agreed that liquidation is inevitable and I think that the sale to Club 9 Sports has always been the planned endgame. They have already said that liquidation is their preferred option.
So when are HMRC going to make a move and ensure they get their Receivers appointed to avoid Duff and Duffer continuing to call the shots ?
Quick question, would the same admin team also be the receivers if put into liquidation and would it be the current admin team that puts them into liquidation?
That is my one fear about a Phoenix Rangers being placed in Division 3. Quite simply the impact they would have on the clubs who are in their natural home in that league like East Stirling , Montrose, Stranraer and so on. The presence of Rangers requires much greater infrastructure than those teams (none of whom are particularly strong financially) can hope to have and will also require far more expensive policing and security. Having an attendance norm of 300- 500 suddenly multiplied by 10 could be catastrophic financially for the would the revenue from a league game with Rangers be enough to cover costs?
Personally, I just don't know.
They're their Union Jack boxers over on Hunmedia. The Herald meant to be running a story tomorrow where the admins are now talking about liquidation now being a real possibility. Bottom line, no one but Club 9 can really buy them. Liquidation is their preferred route. This week is going to be a . Get the tissues in boys.
The ostriches might actually be taking their heads out of the sand now. Shame it's too late eh?
Rangers went to Arbroath and Celtic went to Peterhead in the Scottish Cup this year and the matches took place without any trouble.
I think it would be seen as part of the punishment, that a cheating club like Rangers should be made to start from the bottom and work their way back up.
It would provide additional finance to smaller clubs throughout the Leagues and just maybe it might get through to the thick hordes that, in sport, nobody want to play with CHEATS !
Oh dear. Self interest rearing its ugly head...
http://www.scotsman.com/scotland-on-...-spl-1-2209453
STEVE Brown, the St Johnstone chairman, has warned that if Rangers go into liquidation and are not permitted to re-enter the SPL as a new company, several top-flight clubs would go out of business.
One of the six members of the SPL board whose job it would be to consider an application by the “new” Rangers, Brown stressed that he had yet to make up his mind as to what would be the most appropriate course of action.
He said that he hoped never to be faced with the decision but, if he was, he would have to weigh sporting integrity against the cost to clubs such as his own. Refusing to grant the Glasgow club an SPL licence would, in his view, lead to a financial “disaster”.
Asked if he meant that some clubs would go to the wall, Brown replied: “I think they would. I think a lot of them are kidding themselves on. One or two of them are on the brink as it is. If they’re on the brink as it is, and they’re getting support financially from Rangers and Sky, there can only be one thing [that would happen].”
In an exclusive interview with Scotland on Sunday, Brown also called for a more conciliatory approach by the SPL’s non-Old Firm clubs to the current row over voting rights. Some have said that they would consider resigning from the top flight in protest.
He says that only the best-run clubs would survive in a league without the Old Firm. “Would you get by without the Old Firm? We [at St Johnstone] would get by. We’ve demonstrated that because we’ve been in the First Division for seven years, but you certainly wouldn’t have the same calibre of player at your club. Could the other teams get by without the Old Firm? I think three or four of them would go out of business. Careful what you wish for.”
Brown says that, if a newco Rangers were to be excluded from the SPL, the economic impact would outweigh any other benefits. “You probably would get more supporters because your team would be likely to be more competitive, but in financial terms, it would be a disaster, an absolute disaster.
“In financial terms, I can’t see how [the other clubs] could possibly fill the gap. The revenue they [Rangers] bring with them equates to probably three or four games against teams from the bottom six. It’s a huge void, both in gate revenue and TV money because it is my understanding that the Sky contract would fall through.”
Bit in bold for me......we want a league with well run (living within means) clubs...if other go bust then so be it...time for the SPL to be run on a different basis where clubs like ours who have invested in infastructure and youth programms get the benefit of that and are not 'cheated' by others. Brown has done a great job with St J...but they need to get more of their own fans in their ground and not rely on filling it a few times a season with bigger teams fans.
I also think if he is on panel that will stand in judgement then he should not really be doing interviews like this .....
Sounds to me like he is saying drop yer kecks, bend over and grab your ankles, something is coming and you ain't gonna like it.
The Journalist is again stating the decision to grant New-Co Huns re-entry into the SPL rests with the SPL management committee rather than the whole league in general meeting passing a qualified resolution as per the SPL Articles of Association Clause 14.
Has anyone on here read an explanation anywhere as to why this would be the case ?
:agree: Sadly true....
So what if we go back (in some natural way) to the time of late 70's / early 80's when the OF were not very good winning everything and 15,000 crowds were not unusual for the OF.....are we going to just make up the rules so they win/ keep big crowds / have happy SKY :rolleyes:
YES we should run clubs in a business like way...BUT they are sporting clubs firstly and without sporting integrity they are nothing.
All this cobblers about money = good football / better standard. Scotland will never compete with England on our door step for best players...so why pay such huge wages to get mediocre players...
A season of Watching our double winning U19's shows you can have great football / entertainment / competition.....and very little money involved....there are now players on the dole due to shrinking squads...we need to find a level of sustainable wage, for which there will always be players willing to play for as it will still be better than blokes grafting on building sites (as example) are earning...of course the best will move on...but they do anyway now...
What price sporting integrity?
People like Brown need to realise that failing to dothe right thing will drive fans away in their droves. Why would I or anyone else shell out £400 on a season ticket knowing full well we've been cheated for years and now the league isn't even pretending it's a level playing field? The SPL can GTF if they bend over to Rangers.
For me its the symbolic things that need to be held onto...I hope Gers do go pop....then NewCo Huns will have zero history...no right to have a Wee star on their shirts...no records...no titles....and less SC wins than Hibs :greengrin
That in its self will be punishment...
Well said Matty. As much as I love Hibs, I will be sending them a message in the form non attendance to register my disgust if this farce pans out as looks likely. Its a longer drive, but I'll get my Hibs fix by watching tne 19s.
Hopefully the spl do not roll over on this one.
:agree: The implication is that it was any of the other 10 clubs in the huns' place - including his own St Johnstone - they would suffer the consequences, but because it's one of the old firm special concessions should be made.
Probably the most depressing comment I've read so far on the matter (Edit: I mean Brown's comment, not yours Jim).
It was Brown's father Geoff who is responsible for how well run St Johnstone are, and very disappointing that his son has come out with such stupid comments.
Does he really expect that teams like Dunfermline, Kilmarnock or Inverness have budgets for the next 2-3 years which assume they are in the SPL and so would be bankrupt if relegated?
The fans will drift away faster than a "blink of an eye" if Mr Brown get's is way :rolleyes: It's just sad to see the game we love get in this mess, with people like him bending over with such ease.. IT'S WRONG..
Sunday Herald warns them to take the "Brace Position" :wink:
http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/...again.17193773
I think the important part for you is this I think and where folk are fudging the edges;
"One of the six members of the SPL board whose job it
would be to consider an application by the “new” Rangers"
I would imagine it would be this groups job to CONSIDER an application then make a recommendation to the full board.
As others keep on saying if they get right back in the games a bogie.
I'd also be surprised if UEFA allowed such cheating to go on unchecked, indeed condoned, given all the financial irregularity waggly finger they keep waggling.
As Hibs we keep thinking the OF won't be touched by the Scottish authorities and it will be the likes of us that will be made an example of, UEFA have no great love for those irksome rangers who spoil the finals fun with rioting, looting and folk songs.
Whatever the outcomes I expected the SFA will be hauled up to UEFA to answer a few very scary questions.
The PR machine is moving up the gears. Here's an article from "Walter" which makes my blood boil.
http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/...lible.17182292
Interesting headline, too. It doesn't seem to be mentioned in the article, so it is not clear who said it, annd who is referenced.
And another point, this is the guy who was manager during all the EBT cheating. Why does he still have a voice in this?
"Gutless. Greedy. Gullible."
As that's the headline, but it's never once mentioned in the article, I can only assume that it's the official view of the Herald.
No chance of the article mentioning what the other ten actually want, just continual bleeting that they want to wreck Rantic's chances of success in Europe. No mention of Rantic's attempts to leave the SPL, or any of the reasons Rangers are in the mess they're in (presumably it's still everybody else's fault)
All this from the man in charge of Rangers during the years they were breaking the rules.
Walter Smih can GTF as well. Rangers and Celtc have had cosy wee secret meetings behind the backs of the other SPL clubs for years, ensuring the status quo and their dominance in the process. They've not given the wider aspects of Scottish football a second's thought
The OF would happily have shafted us all if the Premiership had entertained the notion of them joining but now we're supposed to be sympathetic because Scotland needs them? GTF you stupid auld welt.
I hope Rangers die soon and I hope the rest of Scottish football takes a moment to pish on its rotten, cheating corpse.
To try and simplify there would now appear to be two possible outcomes to the whole situation.
1) Rangers or whatever they may be called in future have to start life in the 3rd division, the smaller SPL clubs are then seen as turkeys voting for Christmas because of the loss of Sky tv money and no visiting Rangers fans twice a season.
OR
2) The other SPL chairmen who make up the management committee decide to sell their souls for 30 pieces of silver, Rangers stay in the SPL debt free and in a stronger financial position than they have been in for several years and the rest of the SPL clubs outwith the OF lose fans in their thousands who have completely lost respect for their own clubs stance in the matter.
It would be fantastic if the other SPL clubs were to tender a mass resignation from the SPL leaving the OF to play each other every week because no other leagues want them. Scottish football must be the laughing stock of Europe and if Rangers are allowed to remain in the SPL after being liquidated we will never be taken seriously again.
I still think that there will be some form of sanction - there has to be.
As has been mentioned before, SPL2 seems to be the likely solution.
No way will NewCo Gers end up in the 3rd division IMO.
I would not be so certain. They have already taken the 10 point penalty and IIRC Motherwell got by with only that sanction being applied. OK, they were not contemplating liquidation, but I think there is every chance a Newco Huns will find plenty of open doors should they need them.
It's not actually a sanction though. There are two issues here - RFC going bust and RFC breaking the rules. If RFC go bust - i.e. are liquidated it is the concept of a new and different club being allowed to take their place in the top league because they have affiliated themselves to the old huns. Morally they have less right to that place than Stirling Albion or Brechin Cty for example.
The other issue - breaking the rules goes away if Newhun is formed but IMO should still be considered because Newhun have affiliated themselves to the Oldhun cheats. If RFC stay afloat then they still have the cheating accusations to answer. There's also the matter of an officer of RFC dishonestly gaining access to confidential information in St Mirren's books. I think that is bigger than it first appears and I hope the Buddies take it further.
:agree: Those clubs that Do vote in favour of the newHuns getting straight back into the SPL MUST be named and shamed !! There is simply no place for self interest over sporting integrity in ANY SPORT.
If that's the way it goes, then a lot of clubs will STILL go down the tubes, as honest supporters of non-OF clubs would simply refuse to go back. WHY give your money to these self-serving guardians of our game (like this ST J muppet) when all they are interested in keeping themselves in jobs ?? Scottish Football would finally bring itself into disrepute throughout the footballing world - we would be a laughing stock - and would die a slow death over the next few months & years.
The current SPL Board is made up of Ralph Topping (SPL Chairman), Neil Doncaster (SPL Chief Executive), Eric Riley (Celtic FC), Stephen Thompson (Dundee United FC), Derek Weir (Motherwell FC) and Steven Brown (St Johnstone FC).
If it comes down to a vote of these folk, I would foresee a welcome party at SPL HQ!!!
For a lighter view of the situation re the currant buns plight, taken from the excellent RTC thread,
'Is Channel 4′s report of document shredding relevant to Rangers’ tax cases? I do not know. That would be for Rangers FC and its former directors to comment.
There must be some kind of remedial teaching award available to anyone who is able to explain any of this to a Scottish sports journalist.'
If nowt gets done, or a token gesture is made then the SPL will carry about as much integrity as wrestling.
Does the man not realise that it is this very attitude that is chasing thousands of fans away every week from MacDairmid Park and down the A9/A8 to Glasgow. If we show ourselves to be at the stage where the OF do not have to play to the same rules as everyone else, I have said it before, I am off and I do not think I will be alone
Thats the solution for me too Broxburn. I would settle for an SPL 1 and 2 with newco huns starting in 2 with a points deduction.
Its a solution for everybody. To allow them back into the SPL after liquidation would be a death knell for Scottish football with thousands of fans giving up.
As for the Walter Smith interview. The man was a good manager for Scotland and I suppose his beloved rangers too. But when it comes to his opinion in that article he cant be very intelligent if he cant see the irony of what he is saying. Basically the rest of the SPL are gutless because they didnt do anything before, when it would have been impossible for them to do so.
The SPL clubs have simply seen an opportunity to stand up to a bully and taken it, surely even a biased individual like Watty can see and understand that. Like a lot of old firm apologists he just cant see that the supporters of every other club in Scotland dont give a flying one about whats best for the OF.
As he says the OF will continue to dominate Scottish football ..... But what we want is for them to do it fairly from a level playing field.
Have been right on the money for a while now, also throw in the odd related interesting tale.
Planet Football - Rangers
Rangers directors were assured by solicitor Gary Withey, then (but no longer) of Collyer Bristow, that his client Craig Whyte had the funds not just to repay BOS £18M but also to provide working capital of £5m.
Collyer Bristow had been provided with "written assurances from a UK financial institution".
It is now suggested that the institution may have been none other than Merchant House Group (MHG), where Whyte was a major shareholder with influence on the board. Furthermore, Whyte was said by MHG to have more than £30m available to spend. If this is true,then clearly MHG as well as Withey were misled. BOS was paid from the sale of Rangers future ticket revenue.
After Whyte had been disqualified as a director in 2000 he came to the attention of the Companies Investigation Branch (CIB) when he started making moves on financially troubled shoe firm FII Group, where his old pal Aidan Earley was a player. By September 2002 Monaco company Lebron Holdings Services had acquired a more than 5% stake. Lebron and Whyte were previously linked at failed Re-Tex Plastic Technology.
The CIB was contacted by the FII pension fund trustees, who were concerned about Whyte and Earley's intentions. The CIB monitored Whyte's telephone calls from Monaco, with the help of the security services. Any deal fell through, so the CIB took no further action.
FII collapsed in 2004, largely due to its pension fund deficit.
As RTC pointed out it is quite alarming, though not surprising, that C4 seems to have uncovered more in a fortnight that the entire Scottish media managed in over a year.
There is a danger that all sorts of precedents are being set and the next club, which may well be our neighbours, can rightly point to the impotence of the authorities in the Rangers case, and use it to safeguard their own position within the SPL.
Rangers are totally different from Motherwell in that Motherwell owed the vast proportion of their debt to John Boyle, who subsequently waived it to ensure the survival of Motherwell. Rangers have taken part in a calculated tax avoidance plan and *******ised it to the extent that it now very much looks like a tax evasion scheme and, in any other circumstance, I would be expecting HMRC to prosecute, or at least attempt to.
the st.mirren director that allowed that to happen has been asked to leave the club
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17575289
St Mirren have told takeover hopeful Ken McGeoch to resign from the board by end of business on Monday or they will call an extraordinary meeting.
The club had claimed that McGeoch had shown confidential information to Rangers' company secretary.
I think it's fair to say now that Liquidation is out in the open that the Scottish Media's campaign to ease Rangers re-entry to the SPL is officially in full swing.:rolleyes:
I know, but I think St Mirren should also be making a complaint to the SPL - Withey should have been nowhere near those negotiations as he had a clear conflict of interest.
If you've ventured over to the dark side recently you'll know that Hearts were charged with failing to act in the utmost good faith towards the league and its members - this is a far more blatant example of that than the yams paying their players late. In fact it looks to me like there was a Plan B that involved the remnants of RFC buying out St Mirren.
If Rangers start fielding 12 players in matches will Brown rush to their defence and excuse them by insisting the SPL needs a strong Rangers and playing an extra player helps to achieve this.
Rangers punishment should be the same as any other Club and the question asked should be " How would we have dealt with a Partick Thistle or an East Fife in similar circumstances ? "
Think it is likely we will have a 14 team SPL next year with Rangers, Ross County and Dunfermline all being in it along with one other. Pay off will be SPL2 following season.
Latest conspiracy theory(mine).
The bidding Yanks are a company specialising in company reconstruction;
Duff and Phelps,the liquidators, are an American company specialising in company reconstruction;
Craig Whyte is a company director who has done nothing but company reconstruction and was advised by Duff and Phelps on his takeover.
Anyone see a common thread by any chance.
If Rangers are liquidated I think they should stay in the SPL but under a penalty of starting at minus 40 points for each of the next 5 seasons.
This whole saga is a textbook case where a supine(being charitable) media constructs a reality for consumption by an uneducated(even more charitable here) public i.e. Huns. This created fantasy or orthodoxy changes and develops over time, eventually containing so many logical inconsistencies that it should in a normal society be exposed for what it is. However, being Scotland with its morally bankrupt media, each development is treated as if its the result of alien intervention. The end result for the more discerning amongst us, is to disbelieve every Scottish media outlet and rely on this forum as a "true" source for information on this story.
Too true. I'm surprised no journalist has picked up on this but then who in the weegie press would. A case of everyone is equal but some are more equal than others :grr:
If this had been SJ going to the wall there would be a lot less pages on this thread and a good few trees would still be standing as we wouldn't have had the reams of guff we've had to put up with for a month and a half.
If this happened I assume Rangers could not see out the season and our win in Inverness wasn't worth a sook. I also assume it would mean 5 teams in the bottom half of the league and all their (Rangers) results wiped out.
Oh God please I promise to be good if they shut down! (Prayer type smiley if there was one)
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/2012/04...6908-23810233/
Caution.... like they used with Craigy :agree:
If they lose the tax case, then you might see HMRC petitioning for their winding-up. However, that wouldn't happen overnight. HMRC would issue a demand for the cash. Then a reminder. Then a letter threatening legal action. Then legal action.
However, as things stand, they can continue with the cash they have.
Would have thought administrators would be struggling to justify they could trade out administration and liquidation would be only option? Could the court not force their hand. By the way can you confirm if a firm is liquidated do they cease trading straight away or can they see out the season?
If a company is deemed by its directors to be insolvent, ie its debts exceed its assets or it can't meet its liabilities as they fall due, then it has to cease trading and take the appropriate steps to enter an insolvency process....in this case, that would be liquidation. Any debts incurred by the directors after that point can be held to be the directors' own personal liability.
So, if the BTC verdict comes in this week, and it's bad for RFC, then the admins have a decision to make. If the bids on the table are insufficient to cover the liability, then the only appropriate action is liquidation.
However, as things stand, the only thing the admins can do is continue on the course they set out in February and keep trading.
As Rangers continue to unravel, the same situation could follow at their ex-Parent company, MIH. Once those carpets are lifted, we could yet see David Murray being disbarred as a Company Director.
Or is that just wishful thinking on my part ?