Embarrassing over reaction
Printable View
I'm disappointed because it goes against natural justice but does our club really have the power to fight against the powers of the establishment in this matter? The club has a lot of other things to concentrate on.
In the end of the day, we all know the score. The club calling itself Rangers have won **** all.
Not wading through seven pages of presumably mostly outrage and resignation, so apologies for repeating anything that has already been said.
It's a poor statement that acknowledges neither the frustration felt by the many Hibs fans who have supported calls for the EBT decision to be revisited, nor the need to review how the EBT decision was made.
That decision was wrong because it did not apply the standard sanction laid down in competition rules regarding improperly registered players. The legal advice may be right that the decision cannot now be overturned, but the manner in which the decision was made should still be examined.
I wouldn't. It's not about punishing the new club. It's about the acknowledgement that they are a new club who have yet to win any silverware in the top flight.
People are talking about "punishment" and "stripping" and squabbling over whether this should happen or not. It's not even about that.
Absolutely outrageous. Now have supporters from every other club laughing at us. Shameful. Good few years of hard work undermined here
Not really bothered about that statement tbh.
Imagine the melt down on here if Hibs had to start financially backing another investigation at the expense of season ticket holders etc.
They have condemned what happened but don't want to get to deeply involved in it. Fair enough imo.
What really can he done anyway? That Huns team is dead.
I was really looking forward to this season, very positive vibes about the club.
Now I'm beginning to wonder why, for years now I've invested thousands of pounds to watch a competition that is basically rigged.
The OF have always had an unfair advantage in Scotland and them and their fans have got away with so much for as long as I can remember. But the last few years have shown just how appalling things really are.
If indeed the rules weren't strong enough to punish Rangers then why was that? Who is responsible for allowing such a shocking failure to police our game?
The biggest issue with this whole sorry affair is Rangers have learned absolutely nothing and our game hasn't changed a bit. The powers that be are still beholden to two clubs care nothing for the game.
But then why would they when clubs like Hibs aren't prepared to stand up for ourselves?
If there was an enquiry into Strathclyde police, it would be done by either another police force or an independent body.
Here we have the same folk who have been proven to have lied and cheated, making the rules up as they have gone along.
It's just pure madness, that some people are willing to just gloss over this, and move on.
The foxes are running the chicken coup, and we are all just standing back and accepting this.
Mental.
Rod better decide what's more important to him - rubbing shoulders with the heid honchos at the SFA, or Hibernian Football Club. I'm sorry, but that statement has SFA fingerprints all over it. Its Hibernian or Regan!
What a way to kill the ****ing feel good factor at the club! This is as good as complicit in Rangers cheating. We as Hibernian supporters have a board who have put out a statement that is not only non-representative, but it is also embarrassing for us as football fans.
I'll be there on Saturday - Hibernian are my team, and no incompetent, unscrupulous and deluded board decision will ever change that. If there are any protests planned though, I'll be more than eager to oblige.
game is a bogie. worthless with this attitude.
Do we all join in with singing 'Sack the board' on Saturday or just those that feel strongly enough?
Disappointing. The statement makes for a poor read.
Beyond disappointing.
Totally scunnered by it.
Yup, Hibs, along with the rest of the apologists are legitimising corruption. It's Carry On Regardless, except there's nothing remotely funny about any of it.
Our game stinks to high heaven & our club is as pathetic and acquiescent as the rest. That Hibs statement sounds as if it was copied verbatim from Jim Traynor's gob.
Why? Have we been tossed a bone on the quiet and given a pat on the head?
This isn't just about raking over the past, it's about the future and that future certainly seems to be orange. They'll be laughing all the way to the Lodge.
We were supposed to be the good guys; I'm completely gutted and astonisingly ashamed to be a Hibby tonight.
Glory, glory? I don't think so.
On the narrow legal point, the Board is probably right.
But, of course, this is by design. I think the 5 way agreement provided for the appointment of the LNS commission to give a veneer of respectability to proceedings while also allowing the SFA to duck their responsibilities.
Put it this way - the SFA hasn't appointed an independent commission in other cases of ineligible players.
As usual, one rule for Der Hun, another for everybody else.
Still, at least they died. I take comfort from that.
Let's see this bright fair future in football with Scottish football alienating the common fans...
I'm sorry but why don't Hibs just spend money we don't have to win trophies? What's the point not doing this? Football clubs are barely punished for financial ineptitude and clearly in Scotland they are barely punished in football terms.
A football team gained a financial advantage which allowed it to win trophies while all other fans were paying to watch their teams play. I have to admit, this season will probably be my last ST, this has incurred a thought of "hope Scottish football dies" as this pathetic existence is miserable. No competition to win the league and league and finances are rigged in favour of Celtic and Rangers.
Teams can cheat to win trophies and they get to keep them...let's look to a bright future where is the broom?
I assure you, you could easily have raised 10 x the amount required to fund a truly independent enquiry though "crowd funding" than needed. Irrespective of the outcome, I would happily have contributed to an enquiry if it was objective, independent and informative.
Doubt if i'd be alone in this. But no one asked. The authorities and Hibernian have simply hidden behind the "too expensive" rock in the hope this goes away. Awful attitude.
This is madness.
Do they really think that by denying the review everyone will actually just forget about it?
If anything, by knocking back a review they have guaranteed that the whole thing will just go on and on and on.
What a pathetic, snivelling, arrogant thing to say. Anybody who takes an interest in the club has a right to post on here, regardless of how much each individual gives the club at any given time. For all you know, that poster has contributed far more to the club coughers than you ever will.
Well done to the Hibernian board for showing guts and leadership to draw a line under this. It was fun seeing the huns rage when they were demoted and I enjoyed seeing them stumble from one crisis to another in recent years but I can't wait for the end of this pointless campaign.
I've never been able to understand the point of people looking for the huns to be stripped of titles - they've celebrated the wins, they've lifted the cups, their players have their medals, they've won the money, they have the memories - taking titles away today or in the future won't change a single shred of that. If I was a hun or a hertz fan for that matter I'd be sitting laughing at the the folk sitting squealing about title stripping - I honestly wouldn't give a toss and I'm sure they don't either.
In practical terms, title stripping is as pointless as marching about celebrating battles from 300 odd years ago or singing about religion when you never set foot in a church - it's utterly pointless to pursue it any further and of absolutely no consequence to anyone apart for smelik.
This is my view as well. Even if it proved to be technically a legal grey area, take the morale high ground-find a way to recognise the titles were gained by cheating / unfair sporting advantage and get that in the record books forever.
That at least instils a bit of belief for the future.
Who's going to challenge the decision? Oldco? Sevco? Bring it on if it was to be sevco. Nice wee public exposure of how the authorities came to pass the Oldco titles on.
How many times does it have to be said? They aren't being "stripped" of anything, as they haven't won anything. They claim themselves to be a new club, totally absolved from any of the wrong doings of the previous club. So what titles are there to be stripped away? :confused:
Disgusted.
Pointless? I'm sorry but if clubs can just spend money that they don't have or can cover to win trophies and then be punished in law...for football authorities to sweep this under the rug...only 1 thing becomes pointless - Professional Football.
History will show trophies for Rangers. Will it be appended with *Gained through illegal payment scheme/unfair financial play. No? Scottish football is pointless. Clubs will bend over backwards for Celtic and Rangers as before and we'll go back to fighting for their scraps. Again, Scottish football is pointless. Fair is not in Scottish Football's vocabulary, never has been. Pointless, eh?
This is far from title stripping. Goes way, way beyond that. Back hand deals etc. Sorry but if you think the Hibs fans are in uproar just because of that you are wrong. I think majority who are angry want proper justice and an independent inquiry could have seen that.
"Or, we can focus on doing all we can to invest in the future of our Club and the wider game to improve our sport, and ensure there can be no repeat of the issues raised"
This statement makes no sense. How can we ensure that there is no repeat without the full disclosure of facts that an independent review would provide? And why is it desirable to ensure there is no repeat of the issues raised, if those issues do not merit action now?
Possibly one of the most ill considered badly thought out and pathetic posts I've ever had the misfortune to read on here. This logic is loved by Huns and corrupt SFA officialdom ....it's what makes their cheating so easy to get away with .....let's just leave the corrupt officaials in place huh ... the Huns were never demoted as you claim ....they ceased to exist and a new entity was granted a license to begin in the lowest tier .
We are supposed to believe that this new entity ( under the charlatan leadership of CHUCKY Green ) " bought " the history and goodwill of the oldco .....I mean WTF ....I despair I really do
Exactly :top marks
If we don't review what went wrong, claims of a fairer future are, just that, claims. Likely to be false claims in the fullness of time.
Honestly, Scottish Football stinks. Global Football stinks but we are particularly gifted at failing, we can't even ensure a fair league even when money is naturally scarce and league is mickey mouse.
How right you are :top marks
The more you read it, the more it looks like like it was ghost written by Stuart Reagan. It is soooo out of tune with the great stuff Leanne and Hibs his have said and done over the last 3 years, you could be forgiven for thinking the SFA had hacked Hibs website.
Exactly this. :agree:
It needn't take up huge resource or cost for the club to say "yes, an enquiry is the right thing to do.".
I'd be massively concerned if having an appetite for doing what many of us feel is the right thing to do, had any impact on the board's ability to focus on a healthy future for the club.
What exactly would an independent enquiry prevent us from focusing on?
It's bollocks. Feels like a complete and utter cop out.
Losses against rangers and celtic have always been meaningless to me because it was always known it's to be expected. They've just become even more meaningless. What's the ****ing point?
I'm angry and disappointed with that statement. I thought our club was better than that, but clearly we're just the same as the rest, cowards.
I will be at the game on Saturday as usual, but I'm not interested in anything the board has to say from now on, **** them.
Me too. Alloa Athletic or someone else mis-registers a player and they get punished. They forfeit the game + other punishments. There is no need to involve lawyers. This rule breaking (mis-registration of a whole team)is completely within the sport. I said on another thread this morning it was time for Hibs management to pick a side. I'm shocked to see they have fallen into ranks behind sevco. Can say I'm surprised about Rod, he wants that SFA Chairmanship but I'm really disappointed by Leanne.
Extremely disappointed with that statement. Actually nah, I'm angry. All the goodwill that's been built recently and that's what we get.
genuine question, not being facetious, but what is it that a review would have achieved, practically speaking? is it just about stripping rangers of titles, or is it about whether the authorities were aware of the EBTs before rangers went into admin? my thinking is that if it's just about stripping titles, as much as i would love that to happen, would it possibly be at the expense of club resources? if so, i can see the logic in just letting it be, the fact is they lost their history, if not on paper, in actual fact. they are a new club, and had to work their way back up, and i severely doubt anyone would pull that kind of crap again...i'm completely open to being wrong here though.
A serious question; what do you consider to be proper justice? Someone getting the sack, someone going to jail? Seriously what would you like to happen if all your suspicions are proven to be correct?
All I see is another pointless inquiry that leads to another pointless report that everyone whines about & complains about cover ups and a lack of appropriate punishment.
should have read the thread, not just the first page - my questions are answered...i'm agnostic tbh...any report, no matter who conducts it, is bound to be something of a whitewash. unless they got that channel 4 guy in...
I think the supporters of the game have a right to know what happened, how did so much get by the powers that be, how much was ignored or had a blind eye turned to it, and to what extent rules were broken without consequence.
I'm not especially bothered about title stripping, though I think they should be, but for me it is all about transparency and accountability.
We all know they cheated but how were they allowed to - and you can lump Hearts into this as well, they were well at it during Romanov's time. Who knew and why was nothing done about it?
Why is the terminology "stripping" being used repeatedly on here? They can't be "stripped" because they haven't won any major titles. The ruling is allowing a NEW CLUB to claim ownership over the tainted achievements of the old club, while being completely absolved of any responsibility of the old clubs wrong doings.
The "punishment" and "stripping" angle is all wrong. It's not about either of these things.
You may be right but if that is how Scottish Football deals with illegal activity within its domain then Scottish Football in my eyes is pointless.
Look at Scottish Football, we take an arrogant stance on crowd behaviour in Russia, Ukraine, etc. and such but we have sectarian songs sung weekly by Celtic and Rangers. As fans we were abhorred at the financial goings-on in Italy but allow a similar thing to go relatively unpunished and have the cheek to talk about brighter futures.
Hibs should sign Messi and Ronaldo. Win the league and Champions League then fold and return as Hibs Mk II. Football is commercialised to the extent that it is pointless competition is dead and now cheating is swept under the rug where does the pointlessness end?
13,000 Season Ticket holders yet they consult 2 bloody fan reps and then chat amongst themselves, the board.
I suggest Petrie brings his headphones on Saturday.
As many others have said I'm genuinely disappointed with Hibs statement and surprised they are willing to move on after being vocal in 2012 regarding sporting integrity.
The SFA don't want an inquiry because they've the most to lose in this saga- our chairman is likely complicit in whatever shenanigans they're trying to cover up.
Basically given the Rangers a cheats charter knowing the governing body will do SFA as they yet again lead the rest a merry dance.
Shows our club listens only to the fans when they're trying to make a buck.
Disgracful from the club! Fuming! Total let downs!! Have they forgotten about how Rangers and their supporters have treated us in recent years? Statements and petitions for example..yet we our board aim to join in with the SFA's sweep sweeps! Do one
Very disappointed and deflated by this.
Will be interested to see if the RTC attempts to instigate a judicial review get off the ground if the legal advice is so unequivocal.
What saddens me the most tonight is how many Hibs fans seem delighted to tell the rest of us how bad our club/board are, that they somehow conned them into buying a ST and how they are now "out".
Actually, less saddened than amused. Some of you are really acting like kids.
"We prefer the latter option - working to ensure that in the future our game is fairer and more open, and has the potential to secure greater commercial income to fund further improvement for the longer term."
I might be prepared to give the board the benefit of the doubt on this statement, if they could let us know exactly what concrete actions they are taking to ensure that our game is fairer and more open in the future. As at the moment I'm not entirely sure whats changed or will change at the SFA or SPFL to ensure that the likes of Rangers/Hearts/Gretna's cheating will not happen again.
You've totally missed the point.
Rangers deliberately concealed information from HMRC and the SFA to gain a sporting advantage. Paying players tax free. People working for Rangers and the SFA knew what was going on. When they admitted one tax problem the SFA still allowed them to play in Europe, because Rangers needed that money to survive. Luckily for everyone else Maribor came along and pumped Rangers quickly went bust.
But instead of becoming The Rangers their friends at the SFA have gone along with the lie they're the same Club because the two daft Englishmen Doncaster and Reagan can't envisage Scottish football without the tiresome Old Firm.
The SFA is corrupt. Hibs are complicit in that. Shameful.
Scottish supporters from non-old firm clubs need to be more coordinated, if Hibs and other clubs are happy to sweep this, why can't the other clubs fans (bypass the corrupt nature) band together to get a proper inquiry into the sectarian nature of songs sung by Celtic and Rangers and the hush hush approach to that and the very rarely but known domestics that occur after Old Firm games?
Why are so many things in Scottish football masked? We've had a legendary inquiry regarding a pitch invasion and fights but can't properly look at the reasons that it came to that...how much did that one cost? Did The Rangers not want to move on to a fairer future after the cup loss?
Hypocrisy, mismanagement, corruption, dishonest and pointless. The list of suitable adjectives to describe Scottish football is endless.
I've been out for a while. This statement was the only thing we were going to get.
Scottish Football is designed to permanently favour two teams. Rangers going bust has proven that beyond any doubt.
We're here to make up the numbers. The Old Firm is the be all and end all.
Nice twist of words there, claiming that people are "delighted" to tell "the rest of us" how "bad our club/board are". It couldn't possibly be that some of us are absolutely furious about this statement that effectively condones a new club claiming an old clubs titles while being completely free from the responsibility that came with the cheating in order to gain those titles.
I reckon the people saying we should just move on, would have backed the club statement regardless of what it said. Even if it had been the exact opposite, the same people would still be claiming that it was a great statement. Can't form opinions of their own, so just follow the club line at every turn.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CFObWTD9Gv4
Replace 'footballers' with certain 'football clubs in Scotland' and Wee Gordon has it bang on about football and morality Matty.
Football is a huge business in this era, Scottish football is in the financial mire and money talks and sponsors walk........unless conditions are attached..........:cb
I'm not sure what an independent enquiry would achieve at the end of the day Matty, nor have I the faith that it would be 'independent' or indeed get the assistance and cooperation from everyone involved - you would need to clarify objectives at the very start. Is is going after individuals within the authority to name and shame (and sack), or the whole 'root and branch' authority/governing body itself (Rod included) ? Is it a 'going after The Rangers enquiry' ? Or to satiate the need for those that ultimately want to say 'told you so' - because really, after all the court business, the rulings already have 'told us so' - they cheated and there were those within the 'football establishment' who 'knew' or more importantly chose 'not to know' or omitted finding out true facts.
It's been going on for years, not just at senior level but at all levels of football - and for decades.
Rather than independent enquiries, how about our sporting journalists do what they studied for years to do at Uni, and now get paid for doing - investigative journalism for the good of the game - rather than podcasts about Neil Lennon cupping his ears to supporters :rolleyes: surely we have enough talented journalists in this country who could really drill deep into this affair and get answers or expose the truth ?.........far more likely to get decent sources than any independent formal enquiry too :cb
I'm still raging at Salvy Boys club tapping up players in 1984 and want an investigation into that :greengrin (disclaimer, only joking - plus Hutchie beat them anyway :na na:)
He said it himself.
If you're never going back to ER and you've turned your back on the game, then you're no longer a supporter, that goes without saying.
Doesn't matter how much he's contributed to the club in the past.
Besides, now that he no longer cares about the club he won't mind me saying it.
He's a grown man, I'm sure he can speak for himself.
I said its probably the last ST as its clear that Scottish Football will never change - this confirms this. What is this " fairer" future and how do Hibs and the rest of the clubs plan to get there? Transparency and appropriate management? No? Well why should I spend £400+ annually on such garbage. Nobody is being forced to buy STs but timing of this reminds me of Arsenal's big summer signing spree (or eventually lack of)
May I presume that ST sales have dried up so the club decided this would be the best time to release this statement rather than when the ST sales were booming? Clearly just an hypothesis...
This isn't a Scottish football problem - it's everywhere in football & business at every level all over the world. If UEFA & co wanted to put a stop to it they could. I feel more angry at being cheated out of silverware by the likes of Livi and hertz living beyond their means but I don't remember the same hysteria at that time.
I'm pleased Hibs have sensible financial governance but would I care if we'd done a herts or livi or Gretna to see us lift a few more cups - probably not too much.
An inquiry won't make a single shred of difference to my life or anyone else's - I'd rather Scottish football concentrate on progression & improvement and agendas like summer football, video replays or strict financial governance.
Raking over the coals isn't the way forward and the board have got this spot on.
Rangers will be loving this forum tonight. Our club turning on itself. Let's just focus on winning matches, you may be pissed off at the board but it shouldn't be turned into us tearing into each other. Let's support lennon and the team.
They are:wink: As are most fans - pay money and have things hidden from you makes it that way. Transparency in Football died off years ago.
Fans are the lifeblood of Football. Globally that has been lost. Spanish football are considering playing league games outside of Spain ffs - I'm sure their local fans love that idea...
Football stopped being a sport, its a business now.
I haven't read anyone that seems delighted. Disappointment seems to be the main feeling on here. Except for those who are amused like you. That's up to you and you are perfectly entitled to express your view/emotion/opinion. But make no mistake Rangers will be enjoying their victory, as the other club spokesmen back them up, even more than you seem to be.
I agree Matty. What irks me tonight is that we chose a different path in 2002 with the appointment of Williamson, a path I have defended till the cows come home and still believe to have been the right one. Others did not and continued their merry way to the point where (since the millenium)we have lost Airdrieonians, Clydebank, Gretna and Rangers with Hearts surviving as a result of some pretty strange decisions. Add admins for Livi and Dundee both twice alongside Morton, Motherwell and Dunfermline and its a pretty bleak picture which entitles us to ask why has there been twelve insolvency events in Scottish Football in just 16 seasons, over 25% of senior clubs. Gretna mattered to their fans every bit as much as Rangers did to theirs, only Gretna don't perpetuate the continuity myth.
This is a great point. If the club want to get the fans back onside let's see what they have planned for the future. The bit you've quoted above is just meaningless words at the moment.
I've seen lots about moving on and looking forward. What are we moving to?
As for commercial income increasing, is this going to be distributed more evenly? Will we see fairer, more competitive league?
Nothing in the club's statement gives me any confidence in the future.
It's similar but not really the same; rangers was an entity - the players themselves didn't cheat - the occasions for their players and supporters have come & gone - a long time ago.
I give you Gretna, Livi, Herts, Motherwell - should they also be stripped of titles and games won with money they didn't have? Honestly what's the point - would it make you feel any better.
Just catching up as I've been really busy tonight. Obviously disappointed in Hibs but not surprised.
Took me a while to read through the whole thread but have to say I'm very impressed with how quickly the 'move on' guys mobilised and the number of posts they have on the thread considering it's a subject they claim they have no interest in. It's almost as if it's co-ordinated. Impressive.
Absolutely gutted with that statement from our club. When it comes to Rangers, old or new, we seem to be able to find a broom large enough to fix their cheating.
We're still waiting for the outcome of Leeann's investigation into the Ibrox debacle. Another thing swept under the carpet.
Whatever happened to "sporting integrity", and how do we know it won't/can't happen again.
For all we know, the new huns could be handing out brown envelopes again.
We all want a better future but beyond some nice words, what is the better future and how do we plan on getting there? Scottish Football has been talking about improving the standard of our league, improving the global interest in our league and making sure we qualify for International tournaments virtually since I was born. We are talking decades with limited change. When is the fairer, brighter future due? Will we still be inhabiting Earth and will the Sun still have plenty life in it or will we have emigrated before the Sun becomes a red giant and engulfs the Earth?
Timescale and plan for a recurring problem might be a wise solution. We still don't have suitable playing pitches in Edinburgh (a problem which again has been decades old). Celtic will win the league again, we knew that before last season finished. Global market of football requires that our league is competitive, standard is good and Scotland qualifies for International tournaments. We have none of this. Hence nobody out with Scotland (except for those emigrants) is particularly interested in our game.
They think its pointless, who can blame them?
I'm only speaking for myself but when I read some of the stuff on here about my club then aye, it made me respond, without coordinating with others!
I feel far far stronger towards defending my club then I do about bashing it over yet another enquiry.
Maybe what you're seeing here is the silent majority who really don't care too much about the issue voicing their opinion when they see their club attacked so much?
Will they still be pish when they take away our McGinns and Bartleys through dubious dealings, having learned the square root of SFA from all of this? People are extremely short sighted if they think a return back to the status quo is a good thing for our own club.