http://www.philmacgiollabhain.ie/pfa...vco/#more-2944
PFA to claim 13 weeks' wages from Sevco for the players who didn't transfer
Printable View
http://www.philmacgiollabhain.ie/pfa...vco/#more-2944
PFA to claim 13 weeks' wages from Sevco for the players who didn't transfer
Sevco should have never been admitted to division 3. No license, no idea what the size of their fanbase will be, no idea what their income will be, yet still owe a lot of money and have players on wages above the level of most SPL clubs.
If I was a director at someone like Spartans I'd be consulting some lawyers. Sevco are in no way ready to play football and in no way are good for Scottish football.
Doncaster, Regan, SFA, Sevco, GTF.
:aok: The worst aspect for me is they want the asscociation registration of a liquidated team with huge unpaid player debts all over Europe but are going to be allowed to sign more players. The transfer ban was applied for bringing the game into disrepute, now it's being white washed to start in Jan 2013. If you want RFC's registration you take RFC's sanctions! Shameful!
We do know the size of their fan base, all Rangers fans will follow the new club. To pretend that Sevco are not, to all intents and purposes, still Rangers doesn't make any sense. At the moment they have a massive future earning potential with virtually no debt. That's the reality. If, and I hope they don't, but if they do start the new season then they will be back to the SPL stronger than ever in a few years. A start in SFL1 would have been tougher for them given that they would have had to spend more on players to ensure promotion then faced two years of SPL expenditure with no European income. They would have struggled for years. Starting in SFL3 is their life support system. Enjoy the Hun free SPL while it lasts.
... but not necessarily support it financially. We'll see how their crowds hold up but their income is going to be massively reduced. They will have the debt of CG's asset purchase lumped onto them. They seem to be attempting to assemble at least partly an SPL squad now. Add the recruitment cost to bolster that when they get back up and I can't see there being any chance of them being anywhere near "virtually no debt". I'm pretty sure their ugly mugs will be back (unfortunately) and most likely a stick on for 2nd place straight away but stronger than ever? Can't see that for a good long while.
STV saying on verge of temporary membership :rolleyes:
http://sport.stv.tv/..._medium=twitter
No compromise!!Quote:
The Scottish FA are on the verge of granting a temporary membership to allow Rangers to play this weekend.
STV understands the governing body will allow the club to fulfil its Ramsdens Cup game with Brechin City, if holding company Sevco Scotland Limited agrees to meet certain conditions.
These include signing off on the transfer of the old company’s member share in the Scottish Premier League to Dundee, which Duff and Phelps have retained despite being compelled to hand it over to the Dark Blues.
A source close to the discussions has told STV that the deal would allow Rangers to participate in matches until Friday, August 3. The transfer of the SPL share must be completed by this date.
An outstanding dispute between Charles Green and SPL chief executive Neil Doncaster has held up the permanent transfer of the club's Scottish FA membership to the new company.
The pair remain locked in discussions on Friday night to reach a compromise over the SPL’s investigation into alleged non-contractual payments made by Rangers last decade.
Green wants the probe to be dropped, while the league wants to be able to conclude the case and potentially strip titles from the club if found guilty.
If a settlement between Charles Green and can be reached on Friday night, full membership will instead be conditionally granted and the club will not be required to receive temporary dispensation to play.
Sevco Scotland Limited have already agreed to accept previous sanctions imposed by the Scottish FA, which will see the club banned from signing new players for one year from September 1.
They should have allowed Brechin to play against nobody on Sunday. Run up a 60 - 0 score making a world record defeat for Sevco to be part of their new history for all time. :greengrin
Also this refusal to transfer the share to Dundee. There are 16 SPL shares, 4 as yet un-issued. Dundee should be given one of those shares and then Duff and Phelps taken to court and sued for the total sum of the fees they have got from this fiasco.
Temporary membership, WTF!! This whole corrupt business is making me sick. Who else would be choobed up to like this? No one! This is how it should be, You do what we ask now or bolt. No negotiating, no compromise, just compliance.
Scottish football is a laughing stock and the clowns in charge must be emptied
The people who run our game are again being shown for what they are, either corrupt or timid bloody weasels?
Sevco, here are the conditions of your entry to the SFL, oh you dont like it, ok well Spartans, here are the conditions of your entry to the SFL.
Dont let the ****in tail wag the dog you bunch of amateurish corrupt tossers.
so whats the score then, no membership yet, surely the SFA offices are now closed for the week. They don't stay open late normally do they, no rules should be bent to accomodate these CHEATS. Tell them to bolt.
Temp membership will be granted but they must legally sign off on terms already verbally agreed, transfer of SPl share to Dundee, transfer embargo and payment of footballing debts.
Full membership will only be granted after agreement with SPL on acceptance of EBT investigation sanctions.
SPL articles of association.
17. Whenever a requirement to transfer a Share shall arise, if the relevant
Member shall fail to transfer its Share within seven (7) days of notice having
been given of the requirement to transfer, the Board may authorise any
Director of the Company to execute a transfer thereof and a transfer so
executed shall be valid and effective as if the same had been executed by the
Member concerned and the transferee shall on payment of the sum of £1 to
the Secretary to be held in trust for the transferor be entered in the register of
Members as the holder of such Share.
what's the problem ? sounds to me that what i heard last week might be true,perhaps Green hasn't paid his 5.5 million to D&P. hmmm: even more so can and will he cough up the cash!
This "temporary membership" fix really annoys me. Either Sevco accept the conditions of membership or they forfeit the tie and Brechin progress.
Given that they are signing SPL players on serious money it actually works better that they are in Division Three and should have three years to overpay average players before they can get back to the SPL. That is three years of running up debts rather than one.
No European football is a red herring - the size of their fanbase means that they can still outspend every SPL club except Sellick by some margin.
I said a few pages ago that the transfer of the SPL share is not in any way a problem. The SPL board can effect the transfer without the consent of Green, D&P or anyone else. It's quite astonishing that they've allowed it to become a bargaining chip in Sevco's hands.
Perhaps Duff and Phelps think they have a right to retain the share under some insolvency rules that would over-rule SPL Articles.
There are 4 un-issued shares in the SPL. Issue one of those to Dundee and let the Duffers sit on that share until BDO empty them.
Joint statement has been issued stating that the membership transfer has been conditionally approved. The EBT investigation will continue.
http://www.scottishfootballleague.co...-statement-67/
The announcement. Let the dual contract investigation continue.
Has anything been said about the progress of the EBT investigation, whilst I accept that it would be improper to reveal details of the investigation itself in order to retain a degree of confidence in game, it would be useful to know that this investigation is not simply going to be kicked into the long grass.
Chris McLaughlin @BBCchrismclaug4m
AM:I have been in a number of meetings with Stewart Regan, Rod Petrie and senior SFA figures - and despair at the lack of leadership shown.
It's become academic now, but Duff & Phelps didn't really have anything to retain. The share isn't a physical, tangible thing, in the context of the SPL it simply represents consent for the holder to be a member of the league. That consent was withdrawn by default when the old Rangers ceased to be a football club and at that point they also effectively ceased to be a shareholder. All that was needed was to identify the new member and then complete the registration paperwork at Companies House. D&P could hang on to the old share certificate, but it was just a worthless piece of paper. Because of the consent aspect the share has absolutely no commercial value.
It just seems to be yet another needless complication in this saga.
A bit like his efforts in covering this whole saga.
To be honest I think the conditions of transfer are about right...previous football debts, fines and costs are still due, transfer ban to be applied, div 3 status and an ongoing investigation into EBT plus protection against loss of commercial contracts.
I would love the Huns to be no more but in the real world I would suggest the above is about the best that could be expected...the big question now is if newco Rangers can actually afford it all.
All that plus the juicy prospect of BDO doing more damage when they finally get their feet under the desk.....
SPL said a few weeks ago that there was a prime facie case against Rangers.
There is a meeting of the SPL board next week to discuss its progress.
the GFA(or SFA if you wish) will do exactly what the new huns tell them what to do :aok:
McCoist at it again. He is either thick or playing the game for the hun hoardes. So how exactly have they been punished for EBTs and years of cheating.....still to come Muppet McCoist.
http://www.rangers.co.uk/news/footba...rticle/2863160
Edit - only 10 months........more than 10 years of cheating.
I saw that on a hun forum a short while ago and thought it was a spoof. If that is it now on official site and is genuine then he needs to be hammered. He clearly thinks that he and his bigoted followers can act with impunity. I'd kick him out of the game for a year at least. His behaviour is unhinged and is capable of inciting your average hun moron to who knows what.
@ScottBurns75: Former #kilmarnock striker Dean Shiels is on the verge of signing for #rangers. Four year deal has been agreed and close to bein finalised
Disappointed in Shiels :(
"They kicked us out the SPL", god give me strength. so many inaccuracies in that provocative rant it's unbelievable.
Millions of debt unpaid, ineffectual 10 point penalty, ineffectual transfer embargo, minimal fine and an unclear outcome on 10 years cheating of ebt's. i think the cheats have just about pulled it off you know.
Horrible bitter wee man.
Stewart Regan making it very clear reconstruction is his goal to get the cheats back to the top flight asap. Section about EBT investigation very vague.
I can hear the sound of McCoist, Gordon and Watty Smith, Traynor, Green, Jardine, Bomber Brown and their legion of knuckle dragging fans pissing themselves at how they have pulled off the biggest scam in football history.
Just four weeks of Rangers signing stories to stomach now before transfer embargo kicks in:rolleyes:
5 months of wasted time. scottish football is redundant
Find it strange that players who should be at their peak, Dean Shiels and Ian Black, are considering signing for Newco. They must have little confidence in their own ability and must also only care about how much money they can get. Huddies like Kevin Kyle you can understand, but guys like Shiels and Black can surely do better than SPL3.
It's going to be a long three years in the wilderness for these ambitionless sados. I pray that there is no league reconstruction as I am confident they will not hack it in the doldrums once the novelty wears off.
:agree: Likewise, just read it with astonishment. Agreement has been negotiated and reached on SFA membership and he comes out with that ? "Unhinged" is the perfect description. Rangers situation could have ended up with them being obliterated from the game - no team, no ground, no history, no trophies. IMHO they should be grateful for being given the chance to negotiate with the SFA/SPL and second chance to play football. McCoist's comments sum up all that's wrong with that club and why they have ended up where they have.
I must be missing the point here - what in that statement specifically has upset you? They've been granted an SFA membership licence, the transfer embargo stands and the EBT dual contracts investigation goes on. Since the start of this whole thing, we as a support have fought to stop the game from becoming a farce in Scotland, and to the most part we've won. Yeah there could possibly be reconstruction next year which would let the Newco back into the SPL a year early (assuming they do the business on the park), but isn't it a reconstruction that we were all looking for anyway? The powers-that-be would have rolled over and let Newco back in, we stopped them. They would have dropped them into the SFL1, we stopped them. We restored the pride and respect in the game. After all that, why are we now walking away?
Some people were looking for any excuse to walk away. You've got people writing above saying they've "got away with it". Five months ago these same people were predicting that Rangers would still be in the SPL.
The only way Rangers could have been punished any more would have been to prevent any new Rangers from emerging, even at the lowest level. People need to think through the implications of that. It means that if Mercer had succeeded, or if Hibs went bust at some point in the future, nobody should be allowed to set up a new Hibs at the senior level. Indeed, Hibs did go bust in the early 1890s (primarily through own mismanagement), and were allowed back into the SFA.
Spot on, mate!
To me this looks like as good as we could have hoped, without the unrealistic hope that they die like Third Lanark. Everything still applies to them if they want to keep the history, and they have to start again in Div3. I would like to think that their progress up the divisions wont be that simple if they are signing the likes of Stack! :wink:
Remember it's not over until the fat lady sings. BDO still have to trawl through the remains of the old company, and I can see legal proceedings against people coming out of that. The SPL (and no doubt SFA when they appeal) still have to complete investigations and punishments for the dual contracts cheating, and the way that Sally McMoist is behaving is only going to piss them off even more.
Spot on. Just dont understand why some people were seriously thinking this would go 100% 'our' way. The BDO investigation and the not to be forgotten cash flow challenges Green is likely to have just add to the debacle for them. Yesterday was as good a result as we could have got as it protects the commercial tv deals to some degree.
Fair play to SFA and SPL they have been a shambles recently but they won this battle. Rumours are they are about to announce only a small loss of TV income now that Newco are registered. This is vital to us and others as this AND increased season tickets (fingers crossed) is likely to give PF headroom to get in a few more players.
As it's so hard to separate the facts from the noise it's difficult to say for certain. But given the noise coming from ibrox and mccoist this week about never accepting the loss of titles, yesterday's announcement seems to be quite a big humiliation for the huns.
You mean the SPL bargaining against the SFA/SFL? Failing to transfer the share to Dundee wouldn't cause Sevco any problems, but if the SFA wanted the SPL to drop the investigation then it might give the SPL some leverage.
I think that's at the bottom of McCoist's latest infantile outburst. He talked himself into a corner and now looks an even bigger fool than he did before so he's doing what thick huns always do - blaming everyone else and spraying insults around. If he doesn't walk now he won't last the season IMO.
Possibly. I suppose I mean that the SPL wanted to make sure that the EBT question continued...and this was their way of ensuring that the SFA included it as part of the membership criteria.
If that is the case (and, of course, it's only speculation) then the SPL have played a wee blinder.
A wage cap for new signings, yeah. Existing players have contracts. It sticks in the craw to see them building a squad to stroll through the 3rd division - and could probably still finish top 3 in the SPL - but that's always going to happen with a club their size. Ally McCoist is looking and sounding increasingly demented, but he is right about the SFA showing no leadership throughout this whole thing. As for the stripping of titles though, nae luck bucko :greengrin
You are kidding , right? Just because they call something a punishment doesn't mean it is....
Transfer embargo, they will now sign more players than any other Scottish club in this window. All the type of players they are signing just now will be eligible to sign for them next year on Sept 1st as well so in essence a 4 week signing ban in January.
£160,000 fine, not bad for witholding £14m in PAYE, bringing game into disrepute and only match .fixing considered worse in terms of wrongdoing. Surely an SPL club business plan rather than a punishment.
Repaying football debt, this will be staggered over several years and beneficiaries include other bastions of financial probity such as errrmmm Hearts. Stll well up on deal after shafting non footballing creditors.
10 point SPL penalty, instead of finishing second they finished ehhhhhh second.
In terms of consequences rather than punishment they have had to restart in div 3. But this will be div 3 not as we know it. On tv more than any club outwith Celtic, sudden interest in div 3 by the likes of Traynor et al....The Rangers Great adventure.
3 years in the lower leagues, unlikely, reconstruction will ensure a 2 year absence if not less.
Anybody holding out any hope of significant sanction for EBT scandal, 10 years of cheating, needs to remember Doncaster is the one leading that charge, hmmmm, slap on the wrist Ally?
Thank God for UEFA. The only authority with clear defined rules that kicked in instantly when Rangers scenario developed and were liquidated. 3 year ban from Europe the only punishment/consequence that will seriously hurt Rangers.
The football is back now and we can start watching games again, my season ticket has been signed and sealed since early bird deadline, but the disillusionment in Scottish football is palpable right now especially at Hibs with the double whammy of Cup Final humiliation and the Rangers farce fresh in everybody's mind. It will be a long time before wouds heal and football in this country regains any respect imo.
I wanted people tae stop trying tae make deals with them and instead tell them how it is, same as they would have with anybody else. This whole thing has been a disgrace from start tae finish. How regan and doncaster are still there is beyond me other then everybody must have agreed with what they have been doing and the way they've gone about it. Newco in division 3 or not, the people running the game in this country are still a shower of twisted *****.
I think people are mostly outraged at the fact that Rangers haven't learnt anything from this. They believe they've been hard done by and they are already trying to sign players that should be far beyond their financial capabilities.
Think about it. A division 3 club that has been newly formed, out spending an SPL club like our own, who are at least trying to do things the sensible way.
Something stinks and it goes beyond the usual stench of the hunnery.
A guilty verdict and a stripping of titles will finish it for me. What punishment do you think they should have received? The EBT/double contracts thing is the main issue I have. That's the one that allowed them to cheat and win honours they may not have won otherwise. And that hasn't been proven yet. Other than that, they went bust, they start again. There is precedent for this. I would certainly agree with a wage cap, but other than that...
That wasn't how I read your previous post. It sounded like the financial consequences for Sevco of playing in the SPL without being eligible for European football would be worse than the costs of playing their way up from Division Three.
They can't get European football for the next three years regardless of which division they're in, so to my mind it's not relevant to the financial side of things. If not being in Europe upsets their fans, I can live with that :greengrin
Their entire fan base will continue to support them which gives them a massive advantage in terms of potential match attendees. And as far as the hordes are concerned their club and history will be intact because they will be watching a team playing in the same strips in the same stadium.
Just before liquidation I expected there to be a Rangers in the SPL with penalties backed by the Scottish Media. At the end of the season 2012/13 I expected the penalties to be reviewed and Rangers to get away with pretty much everything I really thought we were going to be totally shafted. The bigots would still turn up at Easter Road and turn my stomach
Not in my wildest deams did I expect Scottish football to do the right thing and treat newco Rangers like they would any other club. I take my hat off to the chairman who carried this through.
To me the only outstanding matters are the EBTs which must result in taking titles and with-holding the Cups with Rangers name removed. Doncaster and Regan must be removed, sacked for that matter. I am sure their lies to the press and us about Sky deals, civil unrest etc would be enough to hang them.
Most importantly the opportunity to revitalise the whole of Scottish football can't be missed and must be dealt with.
I'm not sure what more could have been done, without it starting to border on victimisation?
The fines that were dished out were pretty much the highest the rules allowed.
Rangers expected to reform and walk away from their financial responsibilities, but (creditors excepted) they have not been allowed to do this.
Sally stated that they would NEVER accept stripping of titles, and had to do some embarrassing back tracking yesterday on that one.
The only punishment that might be a non-punishment is the transfer embargo, but let's face it they were always going to walk div 3 (and 2) regardless.
If there is reconstruction that results in them getting back into the SPL sooner, although I can't see how, then surely that can only benefit us? Would you rather we stayed the same purely to keep them out another year?
I am happy enough with yesterday's outcome, it's better than I would have expected 2 months ago.
Aye, and none of the stuff tae try and get them in tae the SPL & 1st division happened either because it was in the papers right?. :rolleyes: The simple fact that regan, doncaster, ogilve, et al are still rolling along within the corridors of power of Scottish fitba tells me all I need tae ken about the rest of the people involved in the upper echelons too..
I wanted the Appellate Tribunal to resit and impose one of the penalties that was on the official list - a one season suspension of membership would have been my choice. The court verdict specifically stated that Rangers could not assume that the SFA was being directed to impose a more lenient punishment, so there was no legal reason not to go down that road. As it is, the start date of 1st September means that the sanction is not even as strict as the original one, which was intended to be helpful to Rangers. Never pat a rabid dog is the lesson to be learned from their behaviour!
While I have no doubt that the SFA backed down quite unnecessarily on this issue, there are other things which can be done in the future. The opportunity to restructure the voting and money distribution of the SPL must be taken. Fans of all clubs need to keep pressure on their officials to get this done. It's absolutely vital for the Scottish game's future.
The dual contract investigation has to continue. I can just about understand that the SPL might want to postpone action until the tax case is resolved, but they musn't let it drop. It could still have a big effect on Rangers' future and Green's profits. If it's decided that Rangers' past title wins were invalid, then UEFA are likely to take an interest. The current three year ban for lack of accounts could become something far larger.
In the shorter term we'll see how sound the financial plan presented with the licence application turns out to be.
Nope :aok: average home attendance was up. We still lost around £5,000 000 though according to RP
Season 1998/99 - 1st Div - 18 games - Capacity 16281
Total - 183957
Highest - 14843
Average - 10220
Season 2011/12 - SPL - 19 games - Capacity 20421
Total - 188271
Highest - 15281
Average - 9909
To be fair, it was a 1 year embargo so no point in starting it in the middle of a transfer window.
Let's remember that the transfer embargo itself was an SFA/SPL cock up. They were NEVER going to suspend or throw out the Huns (they pretty much stated this was too harsh at the original tribunal) so it was either the embargo or another piddling fine.
I think the embargo, as ineffectual as it might turn out to be, is still going to be more of a nuisance to the hun than a £100k fine.
It may be more of a nuisance in the longer term. If the marquee signings :greengrin don't attract the ST sales, then there will be cash-flow problems very soon. One can see the possibility of having to sell players, perhaps in January, with no ability to replace them.
He's been dreaming again...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat Hun Tool
Season 1997/98 - SPL- 19 games - Capacity 16281
Total - 228475
Highest - 15565
Average - 12025
All attendance stats can be found here
http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/club_...attendance.php
As regards the signing ban, if it kicks in in the first minute of September 1st this season, does that mean that it expires on the last day of August 2013? - thus they cannot sign any players over 18 years old for 2 full transfer windows (to end of Jan and August 2013)?
If so, I think that in fact this is a decent punishment, as effectively they can't make any signings until January 2014 window - albeit they can sign players up to the 1st September 2012.
Is this correct? :confused: