View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 642 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 1425425926326406416426436446526927421142 ... LastLast
Results 19,231 to 19,260 of 45185
    Quote Originally Posted by leither#1 View Post
    Chris McLaughlin @BBCchrismclaug4m
    AM:I have been in a number of meetings with Stewart Regan, Rod Petrie and senior SFA figures - and despair at the lack of leadership shown.
    I hate to say it but I agree 100% with McCoist. If there was any leadership shown in any of the governing bodies of Scottish football his club would be no more and he'd be looking for another gig with the BBC.

@ScottBurns75: Former #kilmarnock striker Dean Shiels is on the verge of signing for #rangers. Four year deal has been agreed and close to bein finalised

Disappointed in Shiels :(

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    "They kicked us out the SPL", god give me strength. so many inaccuracies in that provocative rant it's unbelievable.

Millions of debt unpaid, ineffectual 10 point penalty, ineffectual transfer embargo, minimal fine and an unclear outcome on 10 years cheating of ebt's. i think the cheats have just about pulled it off you know.

Horrible bitter wee man.

Quote Originally Posted by Eyrie View Post
    This "temporary membership" fix really annoys me. Either Sevco accept the conditions of membership or they forfeit the tie and Brechin progress.

Given that they are signing SPL players on serious money it actually works better that they are in Division Three and should have three years to overpay average players before they can get back to the SPL. That is three years of running up debts rather than one.

No European football is a red herring - the size of their fanbase means that they can still outspend every SPL club except Sellick by some margin.
    It isn't. For Celtic and Rangers it is vital given the level of expectation from their fans. Making the 'facts' suit our wish list is simply deluded.

Quote Originally Posted by johnbc70 View Post
    McCoist at it again. He is either thick or playing the game for the hun hoardes. So how exactly have they been punished for EBTs and years of cheating.....still to come Muppet McCoist.

http://www.rangers.co.uk/news/footba...rticle/2863160

Edit - only 10 months........more than 10 years of cheating.
    that will be another summons to the SFA for that kno.b

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    @ScottBurns75: Former #kilmarnock striker Dean Shiels is on the verge of signing for #rangers. Four year deal has been agreed and close to bein finalised

His dad and his former clubs chairman will be very pleased for him and his new club.

Quote Originally Posted by ballengeich View Post
    http://www.scottishfootballleague.co...-statement-67/

The announcement. Let the dual contract investigation continue.
    Stewart Regan making it very clear reconstruction is his goal to get the cheats back to the top flight asap. Section about EBT investigation very vague.

I can hear the sound of McCoist, Gordon and Watty Smith, Traynor, Green, Jardine, Bomber Brown and their legion of knuckle dragging fans pissing themselves at how they have pulled off the biggest scam in football history.

Just four weeks of Rangers signing stories to stomach now before transfer embargo kicks in

5 months of wasted time. scottish football is redundant

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post

Find it strange that players who should be at their peak, Dean Shiels and Ian Black, are considering signing for Newco. They must have little confidence in their own ability and must also only care about how much money they can get. Huddies like Kevin Kyle you can understand, but guys like Shiels and Black can surely do better than SPL3.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    Stewart Regan making it very clear reconstruction is his goal to get the cheats back to the top flight asap. Section about EBT investigation very vague.

I can hear the sound of McCoist, Gordon and Watty Smith, Traynor, Green, Jardine, Bomber Brown and their legion of knuckle dragging fans pissing themselves at how they have pulled off the biggest scam in football history.

Just four weeks of Rangers signing stories to stomach now before transfer embargo kicks in

5 months of wasted time. scottish football is redundant
    TBH, the Donkey gang would have been just as well letting RFC stay in the SPL.
    It's over. Scottish football, as it is today, is dead.

Last edited by Mikey; 28-07-2012 at 07:27 AM. Reason: Don't do that again!

It's going to be a long three years in the wilderness for these ambitionless sados. I pray that there is no league reconstruction as I am confident they will not hack it in the doldrums once the novelty wears off.

Left by mutual consent! Fife-Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    Thats me totally finished with Scottish football, its corrupt beyond belief. They can shove it right up thier arse !!

First Team Breakthrough Lungo--Drom's Avatar
    A 'pile a faeces' case you say? Definitely!

Quote Originally Posted by Part/Time Supporter View Post
    SPL said a few weeks ago that there was a prime facie case against Rangers.

There is a meeting of the SPL board next week to discuss its progress.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs Class View Post
    I saw that on a hun forum a short while ago and thought it was a spoof. If that is it now on official site and is genuine then he needs to be hammered. He clearly thinks that he and his bigoted followers can act with impunity. I'd kick him out of the game for a year at least. His behaviour is unhinged and is capable of inciting your average hun moron to who knows what.
    Likewise, just read it with astonishment. Agreement has been negotiated and reached on SFA membership and he comes out with that ? "Unhinged" is the perfect description. Rangers situation could have ended up with them being obliterated from the game - no team, no ground, no history, no trophies. IMHO they should be grateful for being given the chance to negotiate with the SFA/SPL and second chance to play football. McCoist's comments sum up all that's wrong with that club and why they have ended up where they have.

Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    I must be missing the point here - what in that statement specifically has upset you? They've been granted an SFA membership licence, the transfer embargo stands and the EBT dual contracts investigation goes on. Since the start of this whole thing, we as a support have fought to stop the game from becoming a farce in Scotland, and to the most part we've won. Yeah there could possibly be reconstruction next year which would let the Newco back into the SPL a year early (assuming they do the business on the park), but isn't it a reconstruction that we were all looking for anyway? The powers-that-be would have rolled over and let Newco back in, we stopped them. They would have dropped them into the SFL1, we stopped them. We restored the pride and respect in the game. After all that, why are we now walking away?

@hibs.net private member Part/Time Supporter's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BarneyK View Post
    I must be missing the point here - what in that statement specifically has upset you? They've been granted an SFA membership licence, the transfer embargo stands and the EBT dual contracts investigation goes on. Since the start of this whole thing, we as a support have fought to stop the game from becoming a farce in Scotland, and to the most part we've won. Yeah there could possibly be reconstruction next year which would let the Newco back into the SPL a year early (assuming they do the business on the park), but isn't it a reconstruction that we were all looking for anyway? The powers-that-be would have rolled over and let Newco back in, we stopped them. They would have dropped them into the SFL1, we stopped them. We restored the pride and respect in the game. After all that, why are we now walking away?
    Some people were looking for any excuse to walk away. You've got people writing above saying they've "got away with it". Five months ago these same people were predicting that Rangers would still be in the SPL.

The only way Rangers could have been punished any more would have been to prevent any new Rangers from emerging, even at the lowest level. People need to think through the implications of that. It means that if Mercer had succeeded, or if Hibs went bust at some point in the future, nobody should be allowed to set up a new Hibs at the senior level. Indeed, Hibs did go bust in the early 1890s (primarily through own mismanagement), and were allowed back into the SFA.
    Last edited by Part/Time Supporter; 28-07-2012 at 07:55 AM.

Spot on, mate!

To me this looks like as good as we could have hoped, without the unrealistic hope that they die like Third Lanark. Everything still applies to them if they want to keep the history, and they have to start again in Div3. I would like to think that their progress up the divisions wont be that simple if they are signing the likes of Stack!

Remember it's not over until the fat lady sings. BDO still have to trawl through the remains of the old company, and I can see legal proceedings against people coming out of that. The SPL (and no doubt SFA when they appeal) still have to complete investigations and punishments for the dual contracts cheating, and the way that Sally McMoist is behaving is only going to piss them off even more.
    Sent from my keyboard using my fingers

Spot on. Just dont understand why some people were seriously thinking this would go 100% 'our' way. The BDO investigation and the not to be forgotten cash flow challenges Green is likely to have just add to the debacle for them. Yesterday was as good a result as we could have got as it protects the commercial tv deals to some degree.

Fair play to SFA and SPL they have been a shambles recently but they won this battle. Rumours are they are about to announce only a small loss of TV income now that Newco are registered. This is vital to us and others as this AND increased season tickets (fingers crossed) is likely to give PF headroom to get in a few more players.

Quote Originally Posted by Caversham Green View Post
    I said a few pages ago that the transfer of the SPL share is not in any way a problem. The SPL board can effect the transfer without the consent of Green, D&P or anyone else. It's quite astonishing that they've allowed it to become a bargaining chip in Sevco's hands.
    Perhaps the "bargaining chip " was in the hands of the SPL . Perhaps they wouldn't effect the transfer until they were sure that the EBT investigation could continue and have any teeth .

If that is the case then the SPL have won. that particular battle .

spot on but i would have liked to have seen a wage cap of about £1k a week rather than a transfer embargo that starts after this window shuts.
    but thats just me

@hibs.net private member Hibs Class's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Perhaps the "bargaining chip " was in the hands of the SPL . Perhaps they wouldn't effect the transfer until they were sure that the EBT investigation could continue and have any teeth .

As it's so hard to separate the facts from the noise it's difficult to say for certain. But given the noise coming from ibrox and mccoist this week about never accepting the loss of titles, yesterday's announcement seems to be quite a big humiliation for the huns.
    ​#PERSEVERED

You mean the SPL bargaining against the SFA/SFL? Failing to transfer the share to Dundee wouldn't cause Sevco any problems, but if the SFA wanted the SPL to drop the investigation then it might give the SPL some leverage.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs Class View Post
    As it's so hard to separate the facts from the noise it's difficult to say for certain. But given the noise coming from ibrox and mccoist this week about never accepting the loss of titles, yesterday's announcement seems to be quite a big humiliation for the huns.
    I think that's at the bottom of McCoist's latest infantile outburst. He talked himself into a corner and now looks an even bigger fool than he did before so he's doing what thick huns always do - blaming everyone else and spraying insults around. If he doesn't walk now he won't last the season IMO.

Quote Originally Posted by Caversham Green View Post
    You mean the SPL bargaining against the SFA/SFL? Failing to transfer the share to Dundee wouldn't cause Sevco any problems, but if the SFA wanted the SPL to drop the investigation then it might give the SPL some leverage.

Possibly. I suppose I mean that the SPL wanted to make sure that the EBT question continued...and this was their way of ensuring that the SFA included it as part of the membership criteria.

If that is the case (and, of course, it's only speculation) then the SPL have played a wee blinder.

Quote Originally Posted by ozzie View Post
    spot on but i would have liked to have seen a wage cap of about £1k a week rather than a transfer embargo that starts after this window shuts.
    but thats just me
    A wage cap for new signings, yeah. Existing players have contracts. It sticks in the craw to see them building a squad to stroll through the 3rd division - and could probably still finish top 3 in the SPL - but that's always going to happen with a club their size. Ally McCoist is looking and sounding increasingly demented, but he is right about the SFA showing no leadership throughout this whole thing. As for the stripping of titles though, nae luck bucko

I'm adding my vote to this.

What else would people want? Complete annihilation of Rangers? The hanging of Murray and McCoist from the Vatican? Desirable, maybe , but seriously....???

We live and hope!

That's what confuses me My reading of the joint statement is that the so called "deal" has resulted in no concessions by the SPL or SFA. Not one. Yet still some are outraged.

You are kidding , right? Just because they call something a punishment doesn't mean it is....

Transfer embargo, they will now sign more players than any other Scottish club in this window. All the type of players they are signing just now will be eligible to sign for them next year on Sept 1st as well so in essence a 4 week signing ban in January.

£160,000 fine, not bad for witholding £14m in PAYE, bringing game into disrepute and only match .fixing considered worse in terms of wrongdoing. Surely an SPL club business plan rather than a punishment.

Repaying football debt, this will be staggered over several years and beneficiaries include other bastions of financial probity such as errrmmm Hearts. Stll well up on deal after shafting non footballing creditors.

10 point SPL penalty, instead of finishing second they finished ehhhhhh second.

In terms of consequences rather than punishment they have had to restart in div 3. But this will be div 3 not as we know it. On tv more than any club outwith Celtic, sudden interest in div 3 by the likes of Traynor et al....The Rangers Great adventure.

3 years in the lower leagues, unlikely, reconstruction will ensure a 2 year absence if not less.

Anybody holding out any hope of significant sanction for EBT scandal, 10 years of cheating, needs to remember Doncaster is the one leading that charge, hmmmm, slap on the wrist Ally?

Thank God for UEFA. The only authority with clear defined rules that kicked in instantly when Rangers scenario developed and were liquidated. 3 year ban from Europe the only punishment/consequence that will seriously hurt Rangers.

The football is back now and we can start watching games again, my season ticket has been signed and sealed since early bird deadline, but the disillusionment in Scottish football is palpable right now especially at Hibs with the double whammy of Cup Final humiliation and the Rangers farce fresh in everybody's mind. It will be a long time before wouds heal and football in this country regains any respect imo.
    Last edited by Spike Mandela; 28-07-2012 at 09:00 AM.

I wanted people tae stop trying tae make deals with them and instead tell them how it is, same as they would have with anybody else. This whole thing has been a disgrace from start tae finish. How regan and doncaster are still there is beyond me other then everybody must have agreed with what they have been doing and the way they've gone about it. Newco in division 3 or not, the people running the game in this country are still a shower of twisted *****.

Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    You are kidding , right? Just because they call something a punishment doesn't mean it is....

Transfer embargo, they will now sign more players than any other Scottish club in this window. All the type of players they are signing just now will be eligible to sign for them next year on Sept 1st as well so in essence a 4 week signing ban in January.

£160,000 fine, not bad for witholding £14m in PAYE, bringing game into disrepute and only match .fixing considered worse in terms of wrongdoing.

Repaying football debt, this will be staggered over several years and beneficiaries include other bastions of financial probity such as errrmmm Hearts. Stll well up on deal after shafting non footballing creditors.

10 point SPL penalty, instead of finishing second they finished ehhhhhh second.

In terms of consequences rather than punishment they have had to restart in div 3. But this will be div 3 not as we know it. On tv more than any club outwith Celtic, sudden interest in div 3 by the likes of Traynor et al....The Rangers Great adventure.

3 years in the lower leagues, unlikely, reconstruction will ensure a 2 year absence if not less.

Anybody holding out any hope of significant sanction for EBT scandal, 10 years of cheating, needs to remember Doncaster is the one leading that charge, hmmmm, slap on the wrist Ally?

Thank God for UEFA. The only authority with clear defined rules that kicked in instantly when Rangers scenario developed and were liquidated. 3 year ban from Europe the only punishment/consequence that will seriously hurt Rangers.

The football is back now and we can start watching games again, my season ticket has been signed and sealed since early bird deadline, but the disillusionment in Scottish football is palpable right now especially at Hibs with the double whammy of Cup Final humiliation and the Rangers farce fresh in everybody's mind. It will be a long time before wouds heal and football in this country regains any respect imo.