I think people are mostly outraged at the fact that Rangers haven't learnt anything from this. They believe they've been hard done by and they are already trying to sign players that should be far beyond their financial capabilities.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Think about it. A division 3 club that has been newly formed, out spending an SPL club like our own, who are at least trying to do things the sensible way.
Something stinks and it goes beyond the usual stench of the hunnery.
View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?
- Voters
- 1016. You may not vote on this poll
-
Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football
537 52.85% -
Opposed - but will continue to support the game.
454 44.69% -
In favour.
25 2.46%
Results 19,261 to 19,290 of 45185
-
28-07-2012 09:01 AM #19261
-
28-07-2012 09:04 AM #19262
-
28-07-2012 09:04 AM #19263This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
What else would you want?
-
28-07-2012 09:04 AM #19264This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
-
28-07-2012 09:07 AM #19266This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
28-07-2012 09:09 AM #19267This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
28-07-2012 09:09 AM #19268This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
"Rangers" were a bigger club than us.
This "new club" don't know how big they are. They haven't played 1 league game in their history yet.
Yet, they're already piecing together a squad that would finish in the top 2 in the SPL, never mind DIV3.
-
28-07-2012 09:10 AM #19269This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
28-07-2012 09:10 AM #19270This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
The media have consistently throughout the whole affair tried to treat us like idiots, and to be fair, it seems to have worked with a fair few of the Newco fans. Funny that...
-
28-07-2012 09:12 AM #19271This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
28-07-2012 09:12 AM #19272This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteEvery gimmick hungry yob,
-
28-07-2012 09:13 AM #19273This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
They can't get European football for the next three years regardless of which division they're in, so to my mind it's not relevant to the financial side of things. If not being in Europe upsets their fans, I can live with that
-
28-07-2012 09:14 AM #19274This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
) then yes. But I don't share the arrogance of McCoist et al.
-
28-07-2012 09:16 AM #19275This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
28-07-2012 09:16 AM #19276This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
28-07-2012 09:17 AM #19277This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Playing in the divisions will take a hard hit on their numbers I reckon.
Ours dropped considerably when we only went into DIV1 and that was with our club and history still intact.
-
28-07-2012 09:19 AM #19278This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
28-07-2012 09:21 AM #19279This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
28-07-2012 09:21 AM #19280This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Effectual punishment, the real thing lacking through all this sorry mess.
-
28-07-2012 09:21 AM #19281This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteEvery gimmick hungry yob,
-
28-07-2012 09:22 AM #19282
Just before liquidation I expected there to be a Rangers in the SPL with penalties backed by the Scottish Media. At the end of the season 2012/13 I expected the penalties to be reviewed and Rangers to get away with pretty much everything I really thought we were going to be totally shafted. The bigots would still turn up at Easter Road and turn my stomach
Not in my wildest deams did I expect Scottish football to do the right thing and treat newco Rangers like they would any other club. I take my hat off to the chairman who carried this through.
To me the only outstanding matters are the EBTs which must result in taking titles and with-holding the Cups with Rangers name removed. Doncaster and Regan must be removed, sacked for that matter. I am sure their lies to the press and us about Sky deals, civil unrest etc would be enough to hang them.
Most importantly the opportunity to revitalise the whole of Scottish football can't be missed and must be dealt with.
-
28-07-2012 09:22 AM #19283This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
28-07-2012 09:24 AM #19284This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I think our attendances were down though.Every gimmick hungry yob,
-
28-07-2012 09:39 AM #19285This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
The fines that were dished out were pretty much the highest the rules allowed.
Rangers expected to reform and walk away from their financial responsibilities, but (creditors excepted) they have not been allowed to do this.
Sally stated that they would NEVER accept stripping of titles, and had to do some embarrassing back tracking yesterday on that one.
The only punishment that might be a non-punishment is the transfer embargo, but let's face it they were always going to walk div 3 (and 2) regardless.
If there is reconstruction that results in them getting back into the SPL sooner, although I can't see how, then surely that can only benefit us? Would you rather we stayed the same purely to keep them out another year?
I am happy enough with yesterday's outcome, it's better than I would have expected 2 months ago.
-
28-07-2012 09:48 AM #19286
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteThe simple fact that regan, doncaster, ogilve, et al are still rolling along within the corridors of power of Scottish fitba tells me all I need tae ken about the rest of the people involved in the upper echelons too..
Last edited by Saorsa; 28-07-2012 at 09:54 AM.
-
28-07-2012 09:48 AM #19287
While I have no doubt that the SFA backed down quite unnecessarily on this issue, there are other things which can be done in the future. The opportunity to restructure the voting and money distribution of the SPL must be taken. Fans of all clubs need to keep pressure on their officials to get this done. It's absolutely vital for the Scottish game's future.
The dual contract investigation has to continue. I can just about understand that the SPL might want to postpone action until the tax case is resolved, but they musn't let it drop. It could still have a big effect on Rangers' future and Green's profits. If it's decided that Rangers' past title wins were invalid, then UEFA are likely to take an interest. The current three year ban for lack of accounts could become something far larger.
In the shorter term we'll see how sound the financial plan presented with the licence application turns out to be.
-
28-07-2012 09:48 AM #19288This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
average home attendance was up. We still lost around £5,000 000 though according to RP
Season 1998/99 - 1st Div - 18 games - Capacity 16281
Total - 183957
Highest - 14843
Average - 10220
Season 2011/12 - SPL - 19 games - Capacity 20421
Total - 188271
Highest - 15281
Average - 9909
-
28-07-2012 09:51 AM #19289This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
28-07-2012 09:54 AM #19290This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteEvery gimmick hungry yob,