Why all the talk about Black??
He's no coming anywhere near ER.
A player like Black would be good.
Printable View
Why all the talk about Black??
He's no coming anywhere near ER.
A player like Black would be good.
We have to be thinking 2nd is achievable if we sign another 6-9 decent players. Hearts are much weaker than last season and Rangers are bust. Im willing to believe that beating United snd Well to 2nd place is not that far fetched. Finishing 5/6th this year would be a poor season IMO. ps if we don't sign any decent players our currentvsquad would be relegated /in relegation battle as off the team we have today. If Pats the man and Petrie releases some funds we r in a great position to finish 2nd imo.
Why would anyone with all their marbles be discussing Ian Black to Hibs.
The only chance we have is half an hour before the window closes and he hasn't been snapped up for a decent wage down south. Even then he'd phone Tynecastle first giving them first pop.
Move on guys to more realistic targets FFS.
[QUOTE=Cropley10;3282014]If Pat's the man.
If we've actually got any money to 'release'.
If we can sign between 6 and 9 decent players.
I can see us finishing 2nd or 3rd.
Agree they are big "IF's" but thats the beauty off pre season a club like Hibs must believe that we can finish the best off the rest each season as a minimum. Starting with any other thought ie finishing mid table is just unacceptable imo. During the season we have plenty of time to measure actual results v expectations.
Im hoping we get the players we need...with Rangers going bust its now we need to do everything to finish second as they'll be back in the SPL within a few years
I'd take Black at Hibs but its not going to happen. As for facing relegation I doubt it every much it will be Dundee or the Pars and they will be down April.
[QUOTE=Cropley10;3282014]If Pat's the man.
If we've actually got any money to 'release'.
If we can sign between 6 and 9 decent players.
I can see us finishing 2nd or 3rd.
Agree they are big "IF's" but thats the beauty off pre season a club like Hibs must believe that we can finish the best off the rest each season as a minimum. Starting with any other thought ie finishing mid table is just unacceptable imo. During the season we have plenty of time to measure actual results v expectations.
Im hoping we get the players we need...with Rangers going bust its now we need to do everything to finish second as they'll be back in the SPL within a few years
Am no qoutin any yous cause its aw tae pot:greengrin
Ill be happy with a wee tidy 4th place finish, Even that's pushin it.
If we were to aim for 2nd and finish 3rd/4th then would it really be so bad? If we aim for a top 6 and finish 6th/7th I would be disappointed.
It's a mindset thing for me, if you believe you can finish the best of the rest then you have a chance. Go in thinking top 6 then we're in danger of mediocre thinking/performances.
And I do believe it's realistic giving the budget we have compared to others.
A few decent signings and it's game on. Look at what Mowbray done and what McLeish achieved with changing the squads they inherited.
In my opinion of course! This is Hibs so we could have Spain's team and still finish 11th :greengrin
Everything below Celtic is wide open next season. Motherwell may lose a couple more players, can't see United adding many players, Hearts have lost some key players etc etc.
If we can add a couple more players of McPake type quality and generally improve the squad then i don't see why we shouldn't be aiming for 2nd place. Not saying we will finish 2nd place by any means, but it is what we should be aiming for. The rewards are there for the taking next season.
I have no problem aiming for 2nd, what i dont understand is anyone actually thinking we can make 2nd. We are pish, and have been pish for quite a while. We will sign players, we look like we have signed 3 now.
We start from so much lower than those who finished 20-30 points above us, and of course these teams wont be sitting on their erse waiting for us to catch up?
Every season we have a poll on where we will finish, and even i have put us in at 4th when we have been nowhere near 4th at the end.
At least when i said 4th it was on the back of a 4th place finish the season before. We have finished 10th and 11th, 6th place would be real progress next season, but i fear with some if we dont make 2nd, some folk will hyper ventilate at the failure?
As i said earlier, 11th to 2nd, only on here. :rolleyes:
Two from twitter...
@AgentScotland: Dean Shiels has had informal talks about a return to Easter Road with Hibernian
And
@AgentScotland: Hibs have offered Garry O'Connor a fresh one year contract, he still has options in China, Russia and Aberdeen
Serbia or Aberdeen huh, wonder which one is colder :greengrin
Seriously though, it's that time of year when Hibs fans can but hope for the new season, so why shouldn't we sometimes get a bit carried away wi ourselves :greengrin
In Clancy we seemed to have picked up a good solid RB and we've signed McPake, the one player that fans have wanted the club to sign on from last years loanees...it's a good start and I hope for many more of the same or better from the club, it's a summer of positive change :greengrin
@AgentScotland: Hibs have offered Garry O'Connor a fresh one year contract, he still has options in China, Russia and Aberdeen[/QUOTE]
I really hope this isn't true
How?
200 hours of community service would see him through most games of the season.....:na na:[/QUOTE]
Sorry to be serious here, but I just think we need less players with a screw loose, unless the screw loose is one that makes them lose their teeth in the midfield battle and scares the droppings out of yams
Garry O'Connor offered 1 year deal and Dean Shiels has had infomal talks :thumbsup:
I don't want Shiels either, it appears he's improved since he left us but i still don't really know what his best position is, he appears to be a luxury player that plays in 'the floating role' and i'm not sure we can accomodate that position just now.
I'd rather we bought a winger with some genuine pace and ability to beat a man and get a cross in.
I've no time for GoC either, guy seems like a total erse and i'm fed up of having them at our club, let's get some proper professionals in.
IF he is going back for GoC then the assumption must be that Griff isnt coming back. Bad move. Last thing the dressing room neeeds.
I don't know like, i reckon the guy has alot of wrongs he wants to put right, got to remember there was zero service to the front pair last season (and they still scored goals) however being supplied by a linking player like Shiels would probably double the amount of goals O'Connor plus one other will score.
Cairney confirmed
Hibernian FC @HibernianFCClub
BREAKING NEWS: Paul Cairney has agreed a two year deal with the club – becoming boss Pat Fenlon’s third new signing
Paul Cairney signs
Full report here
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20...262950_2828753
They're both a couple of erses and we're well shot of them. IMO Griffiths is massively over rated as well so not worth the hassle he brings.
New team New attitude and all that
IMO one of the reasons they never got any service was because of there inability to hold the ball up to bring midfielders into the game, the both of them are selfish strikers and not team players.
Agent Football @AgentScotland
For the Hibs fans who asked - Paul Cairney is in the same mould as Pat McGinley #GoalScoringMidfielder
Never knew much about cairney but if this quote from twitter is anything to go by, i can't wait to see him in action.
I dont disagree. Fresh blood, new winning attitude required. Cairney a promising signing. Two strikers required. One experienced, one youth.
I'm not suggesting our midfield was like having Pirlo, Xavi and Iniesta supplying them as i agree the service wasn't great but they definately could have done better in terms of link up play than what they did.
Griffiths first touch normally had the ball bouncing about hip height and GoC couldnae control a bag of cement last season.
They both got a good number of goals and credit to them for that but it's not just about them, as much as it kills me to say it, look at hearts, they've constantly had strikers that couldnae hit a barn door but they've got team players up front that bring midfielders into the game and allows the likes of S**cel and previously Hartley to score goals from midfield.
He was definately out getting smashed after the cup final. If this new team is really going to have a new attitude then do we really need or want that kind of carachter in it?
If we sign GoC then my opinion is that this whole new attitude thing is just a marketing slogan and nothing else.
I agree, however these guys can score goals given the proper service and support and the YAMs have midfielders with desire and a willingness to get forward to support...name three Hibs players from midfield that have that mould? Wotherspoon is the only one and he only seems to play well when it's for Scotland
I would have thought Gazza exemplified the bad attitudes that Fenlon wants to get rid of?
Or the manager might fance trying to manage him?
If he can recreate his start to last season and keep it up then he would be a decent asset.
It's going to be tough finding a couple of strikers that are better. It can be done of course, but I think a one year deal to see how it works out would be fine.
I made my thoughts on our midfield (and one particular 'box to box' midfielder in particular) pretty clear during the season, absolutely honking and no where near good enough, however that doesn't change the fact that when the ball went forward it wasn't sticking so supporting our forwards was an impossible task.
We were good then, if the teams playing well then we can turn a blind eye to off field behaviour but when we're only staying in the spl with one game to spare and pumped off hearts in the cup final then they can expect to get there lifestyle scrutinized
Maybe but I've got my doubts.
If he could recreate his form from the start of last season he should have done it throughout the season when we needed him to, the reason he never IMO is because he's got a stinking attitude and i had hoped we might have seen the last of that last season.
Yeah, I've my doubts too but I think he got an injury which probably explained a fair bit of the poorer form after his good start. The court cases won't have helped, but were obviously his fault.
Still, he got us key goals - away to Dunfermline, the cup semi final, and I wouldn't be so quick to discard him when we have lost so many others.
If he does get a deal I think it would be an indication that when he does attend his job at ER and training that he does actually show the attitude that Fenlon wants.
One of these that I wouldn't be that unhappy either way to be honest.
In terms of ability, I wouldn't be worried about GOC coming back to us, but I would make sure that his contract was linked to his physical condition. For all the hoo hah and fall outs because he is " one of our own", his fitness level and application was disgraceful. At a time in his life when he needed to paint a positive picture, he looked like a punch drunk wino on the turn.
Yeah, fair enough.
I think my views on GoC are probably tainted by my opinion of him off the pitch. Maybe unfair as i don't know him personally but i just think he seems like an absolute weapon and i'm fed up having players in the hibs team that i cannae stand. Between him, Griffiths and Doherty i don't think i've ever liked a hibs team less and was hoping for a fresh start this season.
As you say though, if he does stay and scores goals for us i'm sure i'll get over it.
In my opinion, if he’s given decent service (and I don’t mean 200 hours community) then, at the dizzy hights of SPL level, GOC will score goals. Last season the midfield was horrible. If we can get some fight, creativity and service from a fresh midfield then I think even a pie and coke filled GOC will provide a steady stream of goals throughout next season.
It’s just a case of whether we want all the baggage and hassle he also brings...:dunno:
Pleased with the signing of cairney, sounds like the kind of player we have been crying out for with plenty of game time in the 1st division and a hunger to step up and prove himself to boot.
I would be delighted if shiels came back as he is a much improved player and would walk into our midfield just now.
If o'connor Stays off the bevvy and properly knuckles down for next season I'd give him another year but if he is likely to be a disruptive influence in the dressing room then tell him to bolt
Signing shiels wouldn't be the same as going back to Ivan etc. Because he's already started his SPL career again at killie, successfully showing his talent. I think that shows we've got a manager who paid attention to other clubs last year.
From the way Fenlon describes Cairney i'd be surprised if we're going to go for Shiels as well, sounds like they're the same type of player
Re Garry O
I really can't make my mind up whether I want him. If we could guarantee the player that started last season and we were all touting him for a Scotland call up it is a no brainer. If I had 2 serious court cases against me I don't think I would be performing to the best of my ability at work. Add in the injury which may have added to the lack of fitness and it may help excuse some of his performances. If we are signing him we would need to get a full pre-season as he is useless unless he is fit. Perhaps being surrounded by "better" professionals might help but I fear he will never learn. Maybe looking at Deek's current predicament might be a wake up call.
The bottom line is what can we get as an alternative who may be as good as a top Garry O on the same money?
I would hate to see him go to Aberdeen and knock in the goals. All in all a very difficult decision but my gut reaction would be to take him on a pay per play
I'll disagree with many others in that I think in central midfield we aren't badly served with Stevenson, Claros and Ozzy - provided they are asked to do just the job they are suited for.
What we haven't had at all is anyone with any ability in an attacking sense from midfield either wide as wingers or in linking up from midfield to attack.
I'd imagine this is the missing link that would right a lot of wrongs in the team and would expect Pat to be lloking to sign 2 or 3 players who are either wingers or attacking midfield players, Cairney being one of them.
Nope. And neither do I need to be aware of all the details of the case in order to form my own opinion, which I constructed thusly:
1. He has appeared in court on two separate various charges: I do not believe this is a co-incidence and that he has been unlucky. I don't care that they have no bearing collectively, because they have a collective bearing on my opinion.
2. He has been found guilty: If you do cannot do the time don't do the crime. Have some dignity and accept your punishment rather than whingeing and weaseling and acting as though you are some kind of victim who the justice system has punished unduly.
3. HIs tan is ridiculous. And his antics after the Cup Final to me just shows he is a 100% clown who will never learn.
This is my opinion, I am entitled to it. Have your own, but don't pick at mine.
Anyone know what's happening with that kalonas guy , im sure a couple said we where having him back to take a look ,is that still on?
Agreed.Quote:
Originally Posted by Walter
Disagree with that, just because a team is good doesn't mean you allow them to go out on the ran dan every Saturday night, sorry but that doesn't wash. Seriously though were we good? we never won anything, leaked goals probably worse than last season our only saving grace was that we had hungry young players wanting to make a name for themselves and get better moves, which they done.
Why not take the Spanish/Craig Levein approach of not having an out in out striker in the team :devil:
Dean is one player I would welcome back with open arms. A player who actually progressed and learned the game from his time down south. One of the most intelligent 'off the ball' players I've seen too.
I remember bumping into Mixu in a Edinburgh public house :-) soon after the big man became manager. He simply couldn't believe why Deano wasn't a first pick under JC. He rated Dean as one of the best players at the club (and the SPL).
Really hope this story has substance.
It's not what should happen but it does happen. If they're performing on the park they will get questioned less about what you get up to in there own time. IMO professional footballers should be tee-total during the season or certainly avoid getting drunk so you're preaching to the converted here.
I think they were good, certainly great to watch so people cut them a bit slack although my memory is that they did recieve some flak for being in george st too much.
No. The season starts 5 weeks yesterday. Pat and the board need to shift themselves.
We need two strikers, another goalkeeper, another defender, and at least two midfield players. The squad is very, very thin. Even if we get those,m we'll probably need to strengthen in January.
I agree, Andy. I remember when we had Alex Edwards and Alex Cropley in the same forward line, and the team really sucked.
http://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/ju...2%2F7859036%2F
Looks like O'Connor won't be back. :aok:
I thought Dean Shiels had not long signed a contract with Killie. If true then i cant see them letting him leave
Can't see Gaz going back to Russia after the last time.
http://www.scotsman.com/the-scotsman...line-1-2387345
Well, at least he won't be replaced by the Big Fat Jambo Crock.
Didn't realise it was a 2-for-1 deal - punt one, lose another for free. :thumbsup:
Not sure how GoC can possibly play abroad and complete his 200 hours community service within the next 6 months at the same time?
Do you honestly believe that we will bring in (on top of the 3 already announced) an additional 6 players and then bring in more in Jan? Whether its needed or not is a different question but I would have expected Pat to have put a case to Rod to say that this size of overhaul is probably a 2 or 3 window job.