I was amazed to see a guy sitting on the pavement with a paper cup outside the hotel opposite the maybury casino the other week.
Printable View
No idea why this annoys me so much but a boy who stays across the street from me washes his car three times a week, waters his grass daily and even power washes his fence weekly. Who could be arsed?! Guy needs a hobby ffs
The Co-op putting every order for delivery on Deliveroo/Uber Eats as if there is an age restricted product in your order when there isn't. I always forget and the delivery driver asks for ID which is never on me so I have to go hunting round the house for my wallet. When I say to the delivery driver "I've bought some meat, veg and cheese, why do I need ID?", the response is "the shop says there an age restricted item in there".
Before anyone asks, yes I know it is lazy and an expensive way of buying things but I was gripped by the play-off game yesterday and fancied a beer but needed stuff for last night/this morning.
On the topic of ID, surely I look old enough that they could just take my DoB to input into their machine. I know it is challenge 25, but in a few months time on my birthday I will be as close to 60 as I am to 18.
Some of the best programs I’ve ever watched being exclusive to Apple TV. It means that practically no one else has seen them. It’s so frustrating trying to talk to people about a series that you know they will love but there’s next to no chance of them watching it.
Just d***heads in general.
Was at the shops tonight with the bairns. Guy in car in front of me is flying through the car park far too fast for how busy it is. Parks in the last parent and child space with no kids. Both go in to do our shopping and we came out just after him. He gets to his car, loads the boot with shopping then just dumps the trolley in a disabled space behind his car. Sits for a minute or 2 to finish a can of juice that he then launches out the window and off he speeds roaring right across the zebra crossing as he goes. Indicators are of course a no go when he exits the car park.
Seriously how can someone get to 50 or so and still basically be a belligerent teenager mentally? It was like watching a 13 year old showing off how edgy he was to his mates. How can such a **** have gone through life without ever being given a sore face?
Those ‘easy to peel off’ stickers that are on tubes of wrapping paper now.
They are anything but easy to peel off!
By simply not being challenged probably. Like feral animals, it's a learned behaviour. If they act in a way that gets +ve re-enforcement, they do it again. If the behaviour is challenged, even those with the most limited capacity and hard of thinking organisms eventually change their ways.
I wouldn't say I was the most confident in approaching these folk, not because I fear a smack in the coupon but you just know an argument is coming and it's just not healthy for those that suffer anxiety. Sarky passive/aggressive comments however, I can just about manage.
"Mate, you've left your kid in the car! Buddy, you've dropped something" etc...
The close season... nae fitbaw!
:panic:
I'm almost 70 and in the USA I'm regularly asked for ID. One young girl looked at my drivers licence (about to expire on age grounds) and said there is no proof. She wouldn't accept the DOB being different. And she thought it was a British Columbia document. All this for a pint!
I truly believe that, I got into a bar in the US when I was 20 with my pals Spanish passport ffs. Their two reactions to seeing any sort of foreign document seems to be to either; **** themselves and just let you in because they’re overly sheltered from the rest of the world so don’t understand the date format, or to just dismiss it as not being proof because they’re too thick and stubborn to understand or learn the date format that 99% of the world uses. That’s before I get onto the fact their drinking age is 21?! Puritans eh[emoji16]
That Donkey on the Listerine advert on Channel 4
Packaging, my Wife ordered me a t shirt, came home from work to find a Royal Mail card through the letterbox saying “parcel in storage bunker” our postie is good, he has access to our side gate and sticks our parcels away rather return them to the depot
Anyway, a t shirt, it came in a cardboard box measuring 1 foot by 6” deep, what the **** !! You could literally fold the t shirt up and stick it in your back pocket, ****ing waste 🤬 I suppose though the box was cardboard and better than coming wrapped up in the customary plastic
'Back in the day'.
To me it sounds like a phrase that references something from long, long ago, maybe WW1 or the Victorian Era....
...but people use it to reference stuff that I can still vividly remember, and might even have been there.
Bloody cheek!
Pointless repeats. I mean repeats of pointless on BBC that were first aired just a few weeks ago that it's more remembering the answers rather than knowing them.
The fact my feet have grown three sizes in the past two years in my late 30s. I’ve been an 8 (sometimes a 9) for my entire teenage/adult life. I’m now an 11. It’s not swollenness or anything either. The length has grown. I bought a pair of 9s online last year that were way too small. Exchanged them for a 10. They were fine. Now too small. Toes curled up against them. It’s not even a particular brand (which I thought it was at first). It is across the board.
I didn’t think that happened at my age!
That happened to me, all through most of my adult life a size 8, now generally a 9.5
I’m the same, feet seem to have grown a full size in the last few years.
ife also been having some issues which may be gout which has caused swelling as well :rolleyes:
Could it not be that manufacturers are making shoes smaller these day? Definitely the case with Adidas, I was always an 11, now need a 12 or even 12.5. Got a new pair of Gazelles the other day and measured against an old pair they are notably smaller.
Was thinking the same. I've been buying the same brand of hiking shoes for years and I now have to get a full size larger than I did around ten years ago (was 8.5 now 9.5). I doubt very much my feet have grown.
I was gonna add something about the waist size on my jeans, but that's a different story.
My feet went up a size after I had children, and I was told that ligaments can loosen in pregnancy, and sometimes don't return to normal afterwards. Maybe this can happen for non-pregnancy reasons?
Just people in general.
Driving home tonight down a country road and some fud has launched their entire McDonald’s order out the car window.
Just made me think “what the **** is wrong with people” it wouldn’t even cross my mind to do that and yet some people don’t even give it a second thought, littering in general just does my tits in. Just keep it in your car, hand, shopping bag until you get home or find a bin.
Self entitled *****.
I hate littering and it must make up a sizeable chunk of my contribution to this thread.
It's just so selfish and there is no mitigation for it at all. It's a wilful choice to make a mess of shared spaces. I don't even buy the 'there aren't enough public bins' line. That may be correct but if you were able to carry a take away, bottle of water or whatever else when it was full then doing the same when it is empty isn't beyond you. Selfish, lazy and if it was up to me repeat offenders who were caught would be made to go out and clear up the mess they helped create as some kind of community payback.
It wasn't until I started cycling during the original lockdown that I noticed how big a problem littering actually is . The amount of stuff dumped is shocking and it's down to pure laziness , have these people no pride in their surroundings? Or are they just ignorant?
Growing up in the countryside, I remember only really noting children constantly littering when I moved into a busier town for high school. It was portrayed as cool to just not give a **** and drop your litter while I would always make the ‘effort’ to walk a few yards to the bin. Always liked the idea of tougher enforcement/punishment for littering back then.
Even remember having a kick about and one of the boys finishing his ice pole while playing and dropping the empty plastic on my local pitch. Still annoys me to this day 😂
I remember having a proper argument with a guy on a mountain when I chased after him after he dropped a banana peel and I
asked if he realised he had dropped it. He went on about it being natural roughage and that it was biodegradable.
It might be natural roughage in Tenerife or South America but on a Scottish mountain that is -1 at the summit in June it's probably not. And everything is biodegradable, even plastic, it just takes a long time. A banana peel will survive for well over 2 years, even longer in the cold. I don't know if he was at it or just a bit thick but either way I really don't get why it was so much effort to just do what I ended up doing and sticking it in the side pocket of a bag and putting it in the bin later.
I probably mentioned this the last time littering was discussed on here, but I was honestly quite shocked at how much litter there was on our streets when I moved back to Scotland from Germany .
It must have been after living for six years in a country where this isn't such an issue that made me realise how bad it is here. I presume this is down to cultural differences, as you genuinely rarely see somebody throwing their litter in the streets over there.
It's a real shame, because I'd imagine the vast majority of people do bin their rubbish but all it takes is for a small percentage of yobs to ruin it for everybody else.
If only we had a scheme that encouraged recycling of rubbish such as glass bottles ...
Littering, fly tipping and not picking up dog **** are things that would genuinely make me think less of a person.
A bit like if they’re a rangers fan.
People who wear rucksacks that pirouette like a ballerina in confined places like on the tube and slap people in the puss with their smelly sock laden portable walking baskets.
QR codes on packaging that interferes with scanning the barcode at a supermarket self scanner. “We do not recognise that item”. So you have to cover the QR code with your finger to make it scan. So annoying.
This is a very specific wife-based moan.
She has a credit card with Tesco which she uses for fuel and food when she shops at Tesco. She accrues points, while spending money that we would have spent anyway, and she pays it off there and then so it never runs in to interest payments. In theory.
However, she always forgets to pay it off because she's running to work or has the kids or whatever, and thats fine, I forget stuff all the time.
But then it accrues more and more, meaning that at the end of the month when I'm looking at the balance thinking "ooh we've got some extra savings this month", it then is required for the credit card.
It does my bloody head in and would prefer not to take the Tesco points and she just shops from our joint account so I can see the ins and outs without £300 suddenly getting wiped out to pay off the credit card.
Self sealing cold meat packs. Aye right.
Randoms who want to connect with you on LinkedIn and immediately follow that up with a message saying something like:
- would you like to try our new XYZ system at a discounted rate/trial basis?
- my organisation has carefully curated content that could save you £££s
- when would be a good time to arrange a call to discuss out new amazing HR system?
and on and on
seriously, sod off! If I wanted these things, I’d go looking for them. It’s like door to door sales folk on speed
Yep... and recruitment consultants that message you on LinkedIn saying "I'm working on behalf of a client on this amazing role and looking at your profile, you'd be a perfect fit"... really? It is at least 3 steps up the ladder for me and would be a £30k pay rise.
Another LinkedIn one for me is the people that have a really cringe headline under their name on their profile. Things like "connecting customers to their culinary desires" (you answer the phone at Pizza Hut), "software artisan" (you are a developer), "adding value through enabling people's imagination" (you work on the popcorn stand at a cinema).
People who tell you a situation is resolved but then go bitching behind your back about it.
I had a disagreement at work with someone today. It all got a bit heated and silly. There was fault on both sides and I was aware I'd been a bit of an ******** (as had the other person tbf). I hate things like that festering and rather than weeks of silences and stupid potshots I'd rather just get things out in the open. I asked him for a word, apologised, said there were no hard feelings on my part and I hoped the same was true of him, said I'd always considered him a good mate at work and hoped that would continue to be the case and said ultimately the mistakes that had been made hadn't led to disaster. He seemed to take it well, we shook hands and that was that. When I left I said bye to him and got a response. These things happen in workplaces.
About an hour later I received an email. He had sent it to another colleague but copied me in (I'm assuming by mistake) basically calling me a d***head, saying he was totally blameless in the whole situation and also embellishing the story of our chat and telling the recipient he gave me 'what for', told me what he really thought of me and left me standing speechless.
Bizarre behaviour, so childish and I just don't get it. I'm still in 2 minds as to whether to reply to the email or to hold on until tomorrow.
The month of June with no major football tournaments.
Greenflies, horrible little green ****ers !! The amount of times Ive swallowed a mouthfull of them when cycling along the Innocent railway path 🤮
Any update from Pretty Boy yet… 😁
That wee blister on your hand you get when you’ve not played golf in a while and go to the driving range. Annoying.
Also when folk shout on you when you’re doing a *****. I’ve had an aggravating morning.
He brought me in a coffee and has been acting as if nothing has happened.
He either doesn't realise I have seen his email or he is trying to brazen it out.
I think I'm just going to let it go and put it down to someone venting. My conscience is clear on the whole thing.
Flies and wasps that get in through tiny openings then can't find their way out through wide open doors and windows but instead keep battering themselves against the closed bits.
I also had a magpie that went into the open greenhouse door then tried to get out through the back wall. I had to catch it and carry it out. It wasn't happy but then neither was I.
The constant “r kid let’s get back togevuh”/oasis re union ***** that does the rounds on Twitter every couple of weeks.
Massive disagree on both points but each to their own, think most of his new stuff is outstanding. I’d love a comeback tour but I just hope to god they wouldn’t make any new music, especially after how poor the stone roses new music was 6/7 years ago, rotten.
Selfish adults. Was at the zoo with my daughter today and we went to see the pandas. I get that they are popular, and the space to view them isn’t the biggest particularly when they sleep on one side of it. However the amount of adults that think nothing of trying to elbow their way to the window, often at the expense of kids, was infuriating. I just stood back and let my daughter see them and try and catch a quick look when a space came up. Fortunately she didn’t mind, but I wasn’t impressed how much folk crowded her, she’s only 4, and was properly boxed in.
Candles that don't burn evenly.
This might be controversial on a hibs message board and being a hibs fan but people that try to turn Proclaimers gigs into a Hibs gig. I’m fine with folk turning up in hibs gear and stuff and the odd “Hibees” chant but when it becomes more than that, it kind of spoils the music. There were two guys in front of me in the queue for the toilet between Admiral Fallow and The Proclaimers who were moaning that it wasn’t just wall to wall Hibs chants from the crowd whilst the support acts were on. You’re there for a music concert, not a football game.
Toothpaste adverts.
You never see the actors slavering when brushing their teeth.
Tourists annoy me quite a bit, and I know that’s ironic when I myself holiday abroad and I’m someone else’s tourist. However I don’t just stop in the middle of pavements when I’m abroad and I don’t go armed with my 23&Me results claiming to be the nationality of the country I’m visiting. I was in Glasgow today and I can’t wait for September for the end of the swarm of photographers (also annoys me because there’s very little in Glasgow I find worthy of taking a photo of)
Just as I hear it belting out the sound system... people not knowing when the chorus kicks in for 500 miles
Everything to do with Edinburgh Airport. From the car parking charges, the dank security hall, the prices of everything including charges to use the ATMs!! Also how busy it is, every flight is full and the profit they must make must be huge enough to give something back to the passengers.
I think it's just airports in general.
I'm flying on holiday from Manchester next week. My flight is at 6.45am so I can drop my bags the day before. I already have my airport parking booked for the time I'm away but to park for up to an hour the day before to drop my bag is £12, there is nothing on site cheaper. Absolute daylight robbery.
I remember being fascinated by airports when I was a bairn, now they are just depressing run down shopping centres desperately trying to part you with your cash.
Yep as recent as 10 years ago I used to love the whole atmosphere of the airport, once the smell of aftershave and perfume hit you it was excitement all the way. Now it's queues, chaos and ridiculously overpriced food and drink. Or maybe I'm just old :greengrin
Have to admit that PremiAir parking at Edinburgh is good value though.
I liked airports until last year when I was in Glasgow airport waiting on my flight to Crete, ordered a full Scottish and it came without haggis? I queried this and the waitress wummin said they don’t do haggis in that cafe/pub/thing. How the **** can you call it a “full Scottish” then? Get ****ed Glasgow Airport. *******s.
The pint of Tennents was nice (expensive) though.
I used to hate flying, can now live with it. I hate how expensive everything is at the airport, and almost always pretty awful quality.
My usual at Edinburgh airport is go in, grab a coffee, sit with it as long as I can, then save paying a lot of money for what will almost certainly be a microwave meal by spending £4.99 on a Boots meal deal.
My pet peeve with flying is the scratchcards they try to sell you on a Ryanair flight. I don't mind them trying to sell overpriced drinks, I don't mind them trying to sell perfumes and aftershaves, but selling a gambling product to a bored and captive audience feels a bit unethical. I genuinely don't mind being treated like cattle if I'm going abroad for £25 return, but that always sticks in my craw a bit.
Made the mistake of flying out of Prestwick to Barcelona once. We were heading to Primavera festival, and my friend hadn't been abroad. Told him that once we were through security, it's good to sit with a pint and people watch. All sorts of interesting people going all sorts of places.
Went through security and there was one other group of people there. Went to the bar, menu was pretty awful. Asked for their chicken burger.
Sat down, waited for fifteen minutes. "Here's your beef burger". Said I'd ordered a chicken burger. They apologised, took it away.
Ten or fifteen minutes later: "Sorry about that, here's your beef burger, sir".
Just ate the ****ing beef burger.
I think dogs have been discussed on here before. My wife was at a gig last night for work. Someone brought their dog into the gig (not a service dog). That’s just plain weird to me. It wasn’t a pub either. Proper venue.
The main act asked people not to talk through the performance as well yet there was a barking dog.