View Full Version : Block Seven

17-03-2025, 07:38 PM
I see they’ve released a police harassment statement.

17-03-2025, 07:48 PM
Surely they're not going to start harassing the polis as well?, it's bad enough harassing Hibs fans who are just sitting in the area they've paid to sit in.

Paul1642
17-03-2025, 07:55 PM
Got to keep up with their pals at the green brigade’s narrative.

17-03-2025, 08:06 PM
So the undoubted evolution of fan culture “should be applauded” by all?
surely they could go about things with a wee bit more humility?

https://www.hibs.net/blob:https://www.hibs.net/1e23630b-9d6b-48dd-9f98-8ef71659f620

HFC93
17-03-2025, 08:14 PM
Someone needs to tell them that the Green Brigade won't **** them.

LunasBoots
17-03-2025, 08:17 PM
All Ultra groups surely should know this has been coming? Probaly a better idea to just go to games in small groups if your part of this scene and dont get involved with all the side nonsense of being part of the group.

InvertedFullBak
17-03-2025, 08:24 PM
They are bleating about them being arrested. I must’ve missed on video them kicking the crap out of some boy who was already knocked out cold.

They are a bunch of little rodents who claim to be persecuted yet behave like criminals.

badabing67
17-03-2025, 08:36 PM
All Ultra groups surely should know this has been coming? Probably a better idea to just go to games in small groups if your part of this scene and don't get involved with all the side nonsense of being part of the group.

You mean like hangers on, thought they had them already.

17-03-2025, 08:41 PM
You mean like hangers on, thought they had them already.Maybe there'll be a statement from hangers on as well?[emoji6]

TelaStella
17-03-2025, 09:16 PM
Can’t tell if this has been timed well by showing solidarity with those affected outside parkhead yesterday, or timed badly making them look a bit like arse sookers.

hibee
17-03-2025, 10:08 PM
According to their statement the police actions are going to alienate supporters and kill the Scottish game.

I doubt that will happen as the majority of us don’t go to games in a big group with our faces covered so we will be ok. If they mean it will alienate the ‘ultras’ and make them stay away then I’d see that as a bonus.

Why does a group that makes up a tiny percentage of our support need to issue statements as if they are speaking for all of us?

17-03-2025, 11:01 PM
I think Block Seven blatant opposition to the “Get yourself seen” road safety campaign deserves a stern seeing to by the Polis. Could also have them up for a Darwin Award if they play their cards right throw in a few mishandled pyros who knows …

17-03-2025, 11:12 PM
According to their statement the police actions are going to alienate supporters and kill the Scottish game.

I doubt that will happen as the majority of us don’t go to games in a big group with our faces covered so we will be ok. If they mean it will alienate the ‘ultras’ and make them stay away then I’d see that as a bonus.

Why does a group that makes up a tiny percentage of our support need to issue statements as if they are speaking for all of us?
Only saw one with his face covered at Celtic Park. Police are employing the same tactics that are used abroad to control the ultras. The police are no doubt trying to stop pyros getting into grounds There are small clubs even in the lower leagues that wee kids are forming ultra groups.The police will know who are the leaders of the groups in the big clubs so a bit of dialogue between police and the ultras might stop issues arising.i think the ultras will be with us for a few years yet.

17-03-2025, 11:34 PM
Only saw one with his face covered at Celtic Park. Police are employing the same tactics that are used abroad to control the ultras. The police are no doubt trying to stop pyros getting into grounds There are small clubs even in the lower leagues that wee kids are forming ultra groups.The police will know who are the leaders of the groups in the big clubs so a bit of dialogue between police and the ultras might stop issues arising.i think the ultras will be with us for a few years yet.

It’s not even just that. At Celtic park they tried to remove our own fans from an area for their own gain. No respect for anyone. I always used to think we were a club so all Hibs fans were good lads/lasses but Christ this ultras movement is causing problems.

We’ve got it all wrong in the UK. Myself and Spaceman (another poster on here) went to Werder v Hoffenheim and the “ultras” were respectful and the experience was 10x what we get with ours away.

17-03-2025, 11:44 PM
Poorly written and posted some 40mins after the Green Brigade. Misjudged this one, trying to cosy up, be under no illusions that GB do not give a **** about B7 nor will have any sort of bond their, quite the opposite.

17-03-2025, 11:44 PM
Poorly written and posted some 40mins after the Green Brigade. Misjudged this one, trying to cosy up, be under no illusions that GB do not give a **** about B7 nor will have any sort of bond their, quite the opposite.

What’s the deal with them and the GB? Did B7 get their autographs after last Sunday?

17-03-2025, 11:49 PM
It’s not even just that. At Celtic park they tried to remove our own fans from an area for their own gain. No respect for anyone. I always used to think we were a club so all Hibs fans were good lads/lasses but Christ this ultras movement is causing problems.

We’ve got it all wrong in the UK. Myself and Spaceman (another poster on here) went to Werder v Hoffenheim and the “ultras” were respectful and the experience was 10x what we get with ours away.

Was very close to what happened at Celtic Park. The knew where they were meant to be up behind the pillar it was well publicised when the tickets were put on sale. They saw a row of seats which were left empty for safety reasons and thought it was fair game to move into those. I agree that they need to show other fans respect and they should not he trying to take over other fans seats. They get preferential treatment for tickets to away games if they don't behave this should he removed from them.

17-03-2025, 11:52 PM
Was very close to what happened at Celtic Park. The knew where they were meant to be up behind the pillar it was well publicised when the tickets were put on sale. They saw a row of seats which were left empty for safety reasons and thought it was fair game to move into those. I agree that they need to show other fans respect and they should not he trying to take over other fans seats. They get preferential treatment for tickets to away games if they don't behave this should he removed from them.

The young lad that lead them in (I say young maybe 30?) made a gesture to his followers to take the section and the wee guys that don’t know better tried their best.

What I don’t get is what Hibs don’t take them to task? Kensell is gone what are they afraid of?

Re the preferential treatment remember they are all Hibs First and managed to get in before it closed…the rest are “hangers on”

I don’t know what was more embarrassing at Celtic Park, B7 or Maeda trying to cause a rivalry

PHeffernan
18-03-2025, 01:18 AM

https://x.com/blocksevenhibs/status/1901723622307184954/photo/1

Our small group of laddies have obvious delusions of grandeur.
They number about 50 in total but according to their statement Police harrassment will alienate them and kill the Scottish game. Who knew?
Appear to have been asked to support their pals in the west with a statement.
Release more statements than Sevco.

Just read the Green Brigade statement and it is very well written compared to the Block 7 one. Still delusional drivel but well written drivel.

The GB refused to be searched, show ID or stop covering their faces so remained kettled by the Police during the OF game and were subsequently reported to the PF for failing to comply with lawful requirements. Believe the same fate befell the Union Bears but they were allowed to attend the match after complying with the law.

Police 2-0 Wee Bawbags
Match stats 100% possession for the Police
A very poor showing from the ultras
Oblivion beckons

Uniformed
Little
Tadgers
Run
Away

I note Celtic have issued a short lip service statement to help placate their complaining customers/rebels/supporters ... meanwhile the money keeps rolling into Celtic PLC. They mus hate the boil on their erse that is the GB so no way they speak to the Police about Kettlegate unless it's to thank them for dealing with the wee fannies.

18-03-2025, 05:29 AM
I’m sure it’s just hangers on of the police causing issues.

18-03-2025, 05:50 AM
It's funny that they think they are important.

18-03-2025, 05:53 AM
Mon the polis.

BS44
18-03-2025, 06:19 AM
The young team are creating a terrific atmosphere at away games this season. Much credit to them.

18-03-2025, 07:30 AM
The young team are creating a terrific atmosphere at away games this season. Much credit to them.

I agree.

In terms of engaging the whole crowd and getting everyone going they have improved massively. Much more inclined to go with the support rather than fight against it. I love the fact that every verse of Glory Glory gets an airing every week now.

Their statement is a bit all over the place. As mentioned above one of the games they refer to saw pretty graphic images of 2 members/hangers on kicking **** out a guy who was already prone on the ground do the rounds on social media so maybe not the best example if the aim is to garner support and sympathy. They've also used imagery of them battling away at St Mirren in their own promo videos so they aren't shying away from the fact they engage in activity that is anti social and illegal. However the constant Police attention, which is often intimidating and heavy handed, must be a drag when it is happening every week, even at times when it isn't merited. I do agree there is an element of hypocrisy as well with the Police using snoods to cover their own face (and I've seen Police covering their numbers on their epaulettes to avoid identification as well) whilst demanding these guys consent to being identified for public safety. That surely has to work both ways?

I suppose it's one those catch 22s. If the group keep getting caught up in disagreements with other fans, violence and other anti social behaviour then the Police will keep at them and if the Police keep at them they will keep lashing out.

Hibs Go Bragh
18-03-2025, 08:41 AM
Who would have thought a large group of folk all dressed the same in their pathetic "uniform" with their faces covered and having a history of carrying pyro, over crowding inside stadiums and causing trouble in the streets would be a target for the police! The two Glasgow mobs were running through shoppers in the city centre the last time they played each other.

They literally walk around with a sign saying who they are and then complain that they are being unfairly targeted. Thick as mince!

Meanwhile everyone else who wears normal clothes and behaves normally doesn't even get a look from the Police. Go figure!

18-03-2025, 08:53 AM
The thing that annoys me is that I recognise the need for people like them to help make the atmosphere better, but the way these Ultra groups behave at times is so embarrassingly cringey that I can't help wish they didn't exist majority of the time. Too many of them watched Green Street/Football Factory and think they're back in the casual era and behave like wee fannies.

I would have no issues with the club working with them to create a dedicated singing/Ultra section (possibly near the front as it seems where they all want to be) of our away sections and say to them "here you go, here is 200 tickets" or whatever amount it is so we can stop this nonsense where they just steal people's seats and then force the issue onto other people. If I take my kids or go with my elderly family members I don't want to turn up and see there's folk in balaclava's in our seats telling me to go find somewhere else, only to have the same conversation with who evers seats I take. Even worse do I want to spend 15 minutes trying to get them to move only to sit amongst their peers anyway for 90 minutes?

Bridge hibs
18-03-2025, 09:00 AM
Who would have thought a large group of folk all dressed the same in their pathetic "uniform" with their faces covered and having a history of carrying pyro, over crowding inside stadiums and causing trouble in the streets would be a target for the police! The two Glasgow mobs were running through shoppers in the city centre the last time they played each other.

They literally walk around with a sign saying who they are and then complain that they are being unfairly targeted. Thick as mince!

Meanwhile everyone else who wears normal clothes and behaves normally doesn't even get a look from the Police. Go figure!

Yep, whats stopping them from wearing “normal” clothes and hibs scarfs, surely that doesnt prevent them from singing hibs songs and jumping around. Or is that too normal for them that wearing all black and balaclavas makes you sound louder and creates a better atmosphere.

After all its about creating noise isnt it ?

18-03-2025, 09:14 AM
Don't know if it's more hilarious or worrying that a bunch of grown men on here care that much about what a bunch of teenagers are wearing at the football

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

1 8 7 5
18-03-2025, 09:32 AM

well said

18-03-2025, 09:48 AM
Police harassment like telling them to go to the seats they paid for at Celtic Park and not trying to kick Hibs fans out of theirs?

18-03-2025, 09:52 AM
I’ve no doubt they bring some of the grief on themselves, although generally not seen too many problems in away grounds with them this season.

There is a more general point to be made about the treatment of football supporters by police though.

18-03-2025, 10:06 AM
I’ve no doubt they bring some of the grief on themselves, although generally not seen too many problems in away grounds with them this season.

There is a more general point to be made about the treatment of football supporters by police though.

I agree. It would be good if they recognised the correlation between their behaviour and the treatment though.

18-03-2025, 10:07 AM

The last incident that they mentioned was 2 weeks ago. Instead of releasing it then, they've seen the green brigade statement today and thought 'Oh look, our heroes have released a statement, we must do this to!'

Thatdayinmay16
18-03-2025, 10:25 AM
I'm not a huge fan of B7 myself but some of the takes on here are absolutely baffling, "mon the polis" etc. Weird, yes the laddies go about things the wrong way at times, but without them ER would be an absolute morgue. (Same goes for Celtic Park/Ibrox etc.)

If you think the "polis" don't have it in for football fans then unfortunately you've never ventured far from your seat at Easter Road.

That lot have targeted football fans in anyway possible for the last 20-30 years. Football fans have been treated abysmally by them.

18-03-2025, 11:03 AM
I'm not a huge fan of B7 myself but some of the takes on here are absolutely baffling, "mon the polis" etc. Weird, yes the laddies go about things the wrong way at times, but without them ER would be an absolute morgue. (Same goes for Celtic Park/Ibrox etc.)

If you think the "polis" don't have it in for football fans then unfortunately you've never ventured far from your seat at Easter Road.

That lot have targeted football fans in anyway possible for the last 20-30 years. Football fans have been treated abysmally by them.

Really don't believe this would be the case at all. I think they've made it worse. We had a decent atmosphere at ER before they turned up but instead, we've got a group singing a bunch of repetitive, monotonous droning songs; to add to that, you can barely hear them.

hibee
18-03-2025, 11:08 AM
without them ER would be an absolute morgue. (Same goes for Celtic Park/Ibrox etc.)

This is nonsense, they have ruined the atmosphere with their stupid drums, anytime a song starts in another stand they drown it out with the drum and when they start their own songs nobody can hear them.

18-03-2025, 11:35 AM
I can’t recall any statements being released from the CCS or other casual groups back in the day when getting their collars felt or being escorted to stadiums and monitored. Kind of went with the territory.

I dare say the statement writing is just seen as all part of the game for the ultras scene.

The problem they have here is that while folk will read it, nobody other than ultra members will be that interested in their perceived plight.

Fuzzywuzzy
18-03-2025, 11:41 AM
I've had a thing popping up on facebook every so often. Hibs u23 v Celtic u23, 6x6, 2 mins - Celtic win

18-03-2025, 11:54 AM
What a cringe. Their delusions of self importance is hilarious. As mentioned above, they’re know for their antisocial behaviour and regularly breaking the law whilst deliberately concealing their identities. Why on earth are they surprised when the police decide to do something about it?

Chorley Hibee
18-03-2025, 11:58 AM

No fan of Block Seven, but no fan of the police and their general attitude to football fans, or their two tiered approach to whoever is playing.

Thatdayinmay16
18-03-2025, 12:11 PM
Really don't believe this would be the case at all. I think they've made it worse. We had a decent atmosphere at ER before they turned up but instead, we've got a group singing a bunch of repetitive, monotonous droning songs; to add to that, you can barely hear them.

We had a decent atmosphere before hand as we had another group doing what block 7 are doing, they decided to pack it in, then Block 7 turned up. (Albeit they done it with no fighting amongst fans/other groups of clubs)

The club didn't put on Tifo's etc before Block 7 turned up, another group who obviously stayed out of trouble done it all.

I agree Block 7 don't cover themselves in glory but I'd take the side of them before Police Scotland that's for sure.

Thatdayinmay16
18-03-2025, 12:13 PM
This is nonsense, they have ruined the atmosphere with their stupid drums, anytime a song starts in another stand they drown it out with the drum and when they start their own songs nobody can hear them.

That's nonsense though isn't it? I've sat in the East upper toward the south stand/away stand and in the west lower past the dugout and before the dugout and on each occasion I've never once had a problem hearing them generate noise.

If a drum bothers you I'd suggest staying in the hoose.

18-03-2025, 12:24 PM
We had a decent atmosphere before hand as we had another group doing what block 7 are doing, they decided to pack it in, then Block 7 turned up. (Albeit they done it with no fighting amongst fans/other groups of clubs)

The club didn't put on Tifo's etc before Block 7 turned up, another group who obviously stayed out of trouble done it all.

I agree Block 7 don't cover themselves in glory but I'd take the side of them before Police Scotland that's for sure.

The idea that the Since1875 group that preceded Block 7 never had any bother with the police is a myth as well.

I know a couple of guys who used to be involved and the harassment from the Police was one of their biggest reasons for giving it up. Was fine when there were younger but when they were trying to settle down with a wife/girlfriend and forge a career it became more problematic.

I'm sure many on here will remember their 'Identify This' banner at the LC semi final v St Johnstone in response to the implementation of facial recognition tech at stadiums.

Thatdayinmay16
18-03-2025, 12:31 PM
The idea that the Since1875 group that preceded Block 7 never had any bother with the police is a myth as well.

I know a couple of guys who used to be involved and the harassment from the Police was one of their biggest reasons for giving it up. Was fine when there were younger but when they were trying to settle down with a wife/girlfriend and forge a career it became more problematic.

I'm sure many on here will remember their 'Identify This' banner at the LC semi final v St Johnstone in response to the implementation of facial recognition tech at stadiums.

Yup, remember it well.

The block 7 lads are still young and they'll eventually run into the same issues some of the Since1875 guys ran into and wrap it.

Football fans are vilified by Police everywhere in this country and down south, so I'm unsure why anyone would ever take their side over our own.

hibee
18-03-2025, 12:39 PM
If a drum bothers you I'd suggest staying in the hoose.

I go to the football to watch the game and catch up with my mates, not listen to someone with no musical talent bang a drum for 90 minutes.

It’s a common theme on forums or social media where people are told to give up their season tickets and stop going but why should we?

The guys that control these people don’t even look at the pitch so clearly have no interest in watching the game, maybe they should stop coming and go the park with their drums.

Thatdayinmay16
18-03-2025, 12:46 PM
I go to the football to watch the game and catch up with my mates, not listen to someone with no musical talent bang a drum for 90 minutes.

It’s a common theme on forums or social media where people are told to give up their season tickets and stop going but why should we?

The guys that control these people don’t even look at the pitch so clearly have no interest in watching the game, maybe they should stop coming and go the park with their drums.

Let's just ban any sort of atmosphere at the football then.

Tip: Please do not buy tickets for any sort of French or Italian football game, you'd absolutely lose your mind when you see what sort of atmosphere they muster up over there.

18-03-2025, 01:01 PM
Police harassment like telling them to go to the seats they paid for at Celtic Park and not trying to kick Hibs fans out of theirs?

Yep. If their behaviour was close to decent then they’d have every right to complain but even if there’s any truth to the “hangers on” stuff, trouble seems to follow the ultras of almost every club now and as such they merit close management.

18-03-2025, 01:02 PM

Tip: Please do not buy tickets for any sort of French or Italian football game, you'd absolutely lose your mind when you see what sort of atmosphere they muster up over there.

I’ve been to football games in Poland and Hungary and the difference in ultras there and here is night and day.

Donegal Hibby
18-03-2025, 01:13 PM

I wonder does the majority of fans think banging a drum relentlessly creates a good atmosphere at games or is it something that they would rather not have to put with ? . My moneys on they’d rather not have to put up with it.

18-03-2025, 01:15 PM
Yup, remember it well.

The block 7 lads are still young and they'll eventually run into the same issues some of the Since1875 guys ran into and wrap it.

Football fans are vilified by Police everywhere in this country and down south, so I'm unsure why anyone would ever take their side over our own.

Why does it have to be binary? Can block 7 not be, generally, a small group of neds and the way the police treat football fans, generally, is out of kilter for the way the majority behave.

The Tubs
18-03-2025, 01:16 PM
Do all Europeans have problems drumming, or is it just a Scottish thing? When you go to games in Brazil, it's often better than the football.

18-03-2025, 01:22 PM
Do all Europeans have problems drumming, or is it just a Scottish thing? When you go to games in Brazil, it's often better than the football.

Aye, but I can imagine getting into the drums if I had Neymar and Depay and Estavao to watch along with it, we have Andy Halliday, Connor Randall and Cammy Devlin here, where each beat of the drum goes alongside a hoofed baw up in the air.

18-03-2025, 01:26 PM
I agree.

In terms of engaging the whole crowd and getting everyone going they have improved massively. Much more inclined to go with the support rather than fight against it. I love the fact that every verse of Glory Glory gets an airing every week now.

Their statement is a bit all over the place. As mentioned above one of the games they refer to saw pretty graphic images of 2 members/hangers on kicking **** out a guy who was already prone on the ground do the rounds on social media so maybe not the best example if the aim is to garner support and sympathy. They've also used imagery of them battling away at St Mirren in their own promo videos so they aren't shying away from the fact they engage in activity that is anti social and illegal. However the constant Police attention, which is often intimidating and heavy handed, must be a drag when it is happening every week, even at times when it isn't merited. I do agree there is an element of hypocrisy as well with the Police using snoods to cover their own face (and I've seen Police covering their numbers on their epaulettes to avoid identification as well) whilst demanding these guys consent to being identified for public safety. That surely has to work both ways?

I suppose it's one those catch 22s. If the group keep getting caught up in disagreements with other fans, violence and other anti social behaviour then the Police will keep at them and if the Police keep at them they will keep lashing out.

You can always rely on PB to offer a sensible and balanced perspective. I don’t profess to know anything about ultra culture, but it seems very much a product of societal times, with the growing corporotization (not a real word but should be) of the game and the ubiquity of control and surveillance in social
and public life.

I’m not ‘pro’ but knee-jerk ‘old gitism’ doesn’t appeal either, and its astonishing that many people on this thread were probably old punks, ravers, casuals etc and may this have knowledge about how youth is prone to both 1) acting a bit daft from time to time, and 2) being victims of over the top media demonization and state persecution.

18-03-2025, 01:26 PM
This sort of young guys against older fans or young fans against the polis has been going on for as long as I can remember and I'm now 61. I'm not a fan of the drum, but other than that I think it's just what young guys do at football games. The police want to control them and the young guys want to rebel, it has been happening as long as football has been played.

The Tubs
18-03-2025, 01:28 PM
Aye, but I can imagine getting into the drums if I had Neymar and Depay and Estavao to watch along with it, we have Andy Halliday, Connor Randall and Cammy Devlin here, where each beat of the drum goes alongside a hoofed baw up in the air.

I think the best comparison is samba band vs. Orange Lodge band.

18-03-2025, 01:29 PM
I'm not a big fan of the so-called 'Ultras Culture', and the drum gives me a headache, but I think it's a bit unfair to say they only sing monotonous songs that nobody knows.

They've definitely been making an effort to sing more traditional songs, or join in when they start elsewhere. That was evident at Celtc Park.

It's not quite my idea of an 'atmosphere' at games but I suppose I'm just an old duffer from a bygone era. ;-)

Thatdayinmay16
18-03-2025, 01:37 PM
I’ve been to football games in Poland and Hungary and the difference in ultras there and here is night and day.

So you are aware of the huge issues with Ultra's over in eastern European countries where fans of opposite clubs attempt to hack each other with machetes and large blades/snooker cues/baseball bats?

It's the young lads in Edinburgh who are banging a drum who should be jailed though.

Nonsense.

18-03-2025, 01:40 PM
So you are aware of the huge issues with Ultra's over in eastern European countries where fans of opposite clubs attempt to hack each other with machetes and large blades/snooker cues/baseball bats?

It's the young lads in Edinburgh who are banging a drum who should be jailed though.

Nonsense.

Are the people who want drummers jailed in the room with you now? :greengrin

HFC93
18-03-2025, 01:45 PM

Possibly controversial but I’ve been to a few Italian games and the atmosphere each time was underwhelming.

Hibiza
18-03-2025, 01:48 PM

10/10

18-03-2025, 01:49 PM

Nonsense.

Sounds like a good reason for the police here to clamp down on the ultras to prevent it going the same way.

Thatdayinmay16
18-03-2025, 01:53 PM
Are the people who want drummers jailed in the room with you now? :greengrin

There's folk on this acting as though the Police are in the right to continuously herd them like cattle when they get off trains/buses, smack them with batons and spray them with CS gas.

As mentioned earlier in this thread, they aren't the first group from Hibs to be treated this way(Won't be the last either) and you've got folk going on as if the young lads are career criminals. They'll make mistakes and later on in life will look back and laugh.

Thatdayinmay16
18-03-2025, 02:02 PM
Sounds like a good reason for the police here to clamp down on the ultras to prevent it going the same way.

You are aware Italian/eastern European ultra groups have links to mafias/cartel groups? That's not something we'll have to worry about in Scotland.

hibee
18-03-2025, 02:31 PM

Nothing to do with atmosphere, endlessly banging a drum or two for the whole game ruins the atmosphere, I’m allowed an opinion and that’s mine.

I’m yet to meet anyone in person who actually likes the drum, a few on social media right enough but none in person.

18-03-2025, 02:43 PM

I've been attending matches at Easter Road and elsewhere in Scotland for well over 60 years and I can't honestly say I've ever felt intimidated or targeted by the police. In fact I've been glad to see them steaming in on occasions

18-03-2025, 02:45 PM
There's folk on this acting as though the Police are in the right to continuously herd them like cattle when they get off trains/buses, smack them with batons and spray them with CS gas.

As mentioned earlier in this thread, they aren't the first group from Hibs to be treated this way(Won't be the last either) and you've got folk going on as if the young lads are career criminals. They'll make mistakes and later on in life will look back and
laugh.
When did this happen?

Thatdayinmay16
18-03-2025, 02:50 PM
When did this happen?

They mentioned it happening on there statement that they put on twitter.

I'm glad you feel that you haven't been the target of police in the however many years you've been going to football, that doesn't meant to say that thousands of others who attend every week aren't in a different position.

It happens.

Paul1642
18-03-2025, 03:27 PM
They mentioned it happening on there statement that they put on twitter.

I'm glad you feel that you haven't been the target of police in the however many years you've been going to football, that doesn't meant to say that thousands of others who attend every week aren't in a different position.

It happens.

Well if block 7 say it in their extremely well written statement, then it must be true and completely unwarranted, just like the 2 poor souls being charged with a breach of the peace and being issued football banning orders despite no wrongdoing. Im sure the fiscal loves running with cases with no evidence.

With so many people filming every police encounter these days there’s surely plenty of footage of this unproved attack by police.

Like many others on here I’ve been to countless football games over the years, home and away, and I’ve never had the slightest issue with police or witnessed any other fans who weren’t being an ******** have an issue (the odd annoying hold back at FT is as far as it goes). It’s miraculous how adhering to the law and not wearing a balaclavas / setting of pyro keeps you off their radar.

PHeffernan
18-03-2025, 03:51 PM
I can’t recall any statements being released from the CCS or other casual groups back in the day when getting their collars felt or being escorted to stadiums and monitored. Kind of went with the territory.

I dare say the statement writing is just seen as all part of the game for the ultras scene.

The problem they have here is that while folk will read it, nobody other than ultra members will be that interested in their perceived plight.

CCS and other casual groups were too busy chasing each other, rolling about on the ground and actually being seriously hastled by the Police to release statements.
Block 7, Green Brigade etc just seem really soft and whiny in comparison and most of the current cops look tiny and are awfae polite.
Fitba neds and cops are both so impotent now compared to their predecessors. They just bore each other to death and then issue statements about it.

LunasBoots
18-03-2025, 04:05 PM
I've had a thing popping up on facebook every so often. Hibs u23 v Celtic u23, 6x6, 2 mins - Celtic win

Yeah its the new thing these groups are involved in, organised fights like they do in Europe, Rangers Riot Crew is the latest offshoot of the union bears and have been involved in alot of this crap.

18-03-2025, 04:10 PM
Legal designated area for pyro as in the U.S. Anyone covering their face should not be allowed entry to the ground. Any abuse of pyro e.g. throwing smoke bombs on the pitch from the designated area and it’s closed for the next match.

18-03-2025, 04:12 PM
I've been attending matches at Easter Road and elsewhere in Scotland for well over 60 years and I can't honestly say I've ever felt intimidated or targeted by the police. In fact I've been glad to see them steaming in on occasions

Really? Ibrox in the 80’s, the polis couldn’t care less.

18-03-2025, 04:13 PM

2 minutes! 90 seconds of dancing followed by 30 seconds to come up with a suitable statement of how it went. Did they all have to bring their birth certificates or young Scot card?

18-03-2025, 06:06 PM
Really? Ibrox in the 80’s, the polis couldn’t care less.

That's true but I found the policing at Parkhead in the late 80's to be the worst. The default position of the police seemed to be to charge in on horseback to disperse the crowd.

PHeffernan
18-03-2025, 06:14 PM
When did this happen?

All in their statement

18-03-2025, 06:15 PM

Nonsense.

Over reacting much?

People saying they go to a match for the football not the drums are wanting to ‘ban all atmosphere’? And no one has said anything about jailing anyone banging a drum. Calm down and read what’s being said instead of making up nonsense

18-03-2025, 06:20 PM
I'm not a big fan of the so-called 'Ultras Culture', and the drum gives me a headache, but I think it's a bit unfair to say they only sing monotonous songs that nobody knows.

They've definitely been making an effort to sing more traditional songs, or join in when they start elsewhere. That was evident at Celtc Park.

It's not quite my idea of an 'atmosphere' at games but I suppose I'm just an old duffer from a bygone era. ;-)Get rid of the pointless monotone drum beat and leave fellow fans to sit in the seats they want to sit in and have paid for and I'll sponsor the balaclavas myself.

18-03-2025, 06:46 PM
Reading some comments about monotonous drum beats and lack of talent. Not sure if the drummer changes from week to week, but some weeks the drumming has been from somebody with some real rhythm and drumming ability, and I think this should be acknowledged:rockin:.

18-03-2025, 06:56 PM
In terms of having Block Seven people in your seats that would be out of order.

I have to say in the last 18 months we've had people in our seats twice at away games refusing to move - both times at Tynecastle. Neither of those occasions was it members of Block seven. I should add that both times they eventually moved, although it did take some aggressive persuasion to get them to **** off. A real bug bear that some people think this is ok and that away games are a free for all.

18-03-2025, 06:59 PM
Reading some comments about monotonous drum beats and lack of talent. Not sure if the drummer changes from week to week, but some weeks the drumming has been from somebody with some real rhythm and drumming ability, and I think this should be acknowledged:rockin:.

The drum medley for Twist & Shout v Motherwell was worthy of Keith Moon, John Bonham and Charlie Watts.

18-03-2025, 07:05 PM
The drum medley for Twist & Shout v Motherwell was worthy of Keith Moon, John Bonham and Charlie Watts.

One week there was defo Reni from Stone Roses vibes. The drum is def too loud in relation to the accompanying music I think though. If it was just a tad quieter and less overbearing I reckon more people would be onboard.

18-03-2025, 08:20 PM

Assaulting their own fans, opposition fans, vandalising of streets, pyro, rushing turnstiles, tragedy chanting and assaulting our own stewards.

Yep, I’d definitely take Block 7 ‘s word. ��

TelaStella
18-03-2025, 08:22 PM

And lucky you. Experienced it plenty times in the past and unfortunately expect plenty more to experience it for years to come. Block seven and their contemporaries might not always help themselves but the skewed policing nature at football games is absolutely a real thing.

18-03-2025, 08:47 PM
That's true but I found the policing at Parkhead in the late 80's to be the worst. The default position of the police seemed to be to charge in on horseback to disperse the crowd.

Funny, I must have missed that as we headed back to the car.

18-03-2025, 08:56 PM

Can we sign Keith moon or ginger Baker for the rest of the season? 😉

18-03-2025, 09:48 PM
Funny, I must have missed that as we headed back to the car.

Good for you.

18-03-2025, 10:13 PM

I concur and all for the better. As I musician myself, it used really, really annoy me as the previous drummer (when they were in the East) couldn't keep time at all

19-03-2025, 06:06 AM

If you think Easter Road would be an absolute morgue without B7 then you’ve never ventured into ER before their existence!

WeAreHibs
19-03-2025, 08:02 AM
If you think Easter Road would be an absolute morgue without B7 then you’ve never ventured into ER before their existence!

Or since the East has come back to life now B7 are in FF!!

Thatdayinmay16
19-03-2025, 08:10 AM

You mean before when Since1875 generated noise and had to then wrap it due to harassment from police Scotland?

Thatdayinmay16
19-03-2025, 08:29 AM
Over reacting much?

People saying they go to a match for the football not the drums are wanting to ‘ban all atmosphere’? And no one has said anything about jailing anyone banging a drum. Calm down and read what’s being said instead of making up nonsense

Over reacting? The reply was to a poster who said the police should be cracking down on Ultra behaviour in this country as it may escalate to the type of behaviour led by ultras in different countries.

Its not exactly going to escalate to the issues caused in different countries now is it?

19-03-2025, 08:32 AM
To give a bit of kudos to them the atmosphere at recent games I've been at and watched on the TV has been much improved. There's clearly been a lot of learning that they aren't going to win favour with the club or other fans if they choose to make it their own little party with 50 of them singing songs only they know.

The recent renditions of GGTTH have been brilliant and they've taken the other fans at games along with them.

Saying ER would be a morgue without them is just bollocks though, the atmosphere takes care of itself and fans are more likely to sing and get involved with better performances on the pitch. It was the case before any of these singing sections/ultras groups and will be the same if and when these things go out of fashion.

If you cause problems - like pre-meditated attacks on supporters like at St Mirren where they stashed objects to throw at them - then you will receive attention from the Police. I don't want to see people kettled and ID'd as has happened recently but dare I say it comes with territory of carrying illegal fireworks and fighting other fans.

Numerous examples of them causing bother over the last couple of years, so I'd say they are reaping what they sow.

snedzuk
19-03-2025, 08:47 AM
To give a bit of kudos to them the atmosphere at recent games I've been at and watched on the TV has been much improved. There's clearly been a lot of learning that they aren't going to win favour with the club or other fans if they choose to make it their own little party with 50 of them singing songs only they know.

The recent renditions of GGTTH have been brilliant and they've taken the other fans at games along with them.

Saying ER would be a morgue without them is just bollocks though, the atmosphere takes care of itself and fans are more likely to sing and get involved with better performances on the pitch. It was the case before any of these singing sections/ultras groups and will be the same if and when these things go out of fashion.

If you cause problems - like pre-meditated attacks on supporters like at St Mirren where they stashed objects to throw at them - then you will receive attention from the Police. I don't want to see people kettled and ID'd as has happened recently but dare I say it comes with territory of carrying illegal fireworks and fighting other fans.

Numerous examples of them causing bother over the last couple of years, so I'd say they are reaping what they sow.

This. Just to be clear that while no objects should be thrown at anyone, the objects thrown at St Mirren were thrown at a group containing Hibs fans. The 'pagger' that was filmed followed that and the 'police harassment' followed that.

19-03-2025, 09:20 AM
You mean before when Since1875 generated noise and had to then wrap it due to harassment from police Scotland?

No I mean before any organised groups existed and somehow we managed just fine to create an atmosphere at Easter Road!

19-03-2025, 09:30 AM
No I mean before any organised groups existed and somehow we managed just fine to create an atmosphere at Easter Road!

Just this. There were great times at ER before we had groups self appoint themselves as the people to start songs.

Even at the times the atmosphere wasn’t great, it’s because it’s reflective of what’s on the pitch. What difference does adding drums and songs for which the majority of can’t be joined in with? Everyone’s still sitting pissed off at the football anyway, it’s just there’s extra unrelated noise as well.

Thatdayinmay16
19-03-2025, 09:51 AM
Just this. There were great times at ER before we had groups self appoint themselves as the people to start songs.

Even at the times the atmosphere wasn’t great, it’s because it’s reflective of what’s on the pitch. What difference does adding drums and songs for which the majority of can’t be joined in with? Everyone’s still sitting pissed off at the football anyway, it’s just there’s extra unrelated noise as well.

So by removing block 7 you'd be happy to sit in silence in a doom and gloom atmosphere when things aren't going great? Sound's riveting.

I'd rather 10 drums blasting away while were playing crap than to sit and let others bring me down regardless of how well or badly were doing.

I'm not sure why you'd rather sit in a boring/negative atmosphere while things are going badly rather than letting some lads attempt to produce some positivity/atmosphere from the stands.

19-03-2025, 10:24 AM

I remember when the main stand started chants and songs back in the day. Nobody needed a drum then!😉

Hibs Go Bragh
19-03-2025, 10:30 AM
I remember when the main stand started chants and songs back in the day. Nobody needed a drum then!😉

Hibees clap clap clap is long gone sadly. The whole stadium would always join in with it as well.

19-03-2025, 11:48 AM
So by removing block 7 you'd be happy to sit in silence in a doom and gloom atmosphere when things aren't going great? Sound's riveting.

I'd rather 10 drums blasting away while were playing crap than to sit and let others bring me down regardless of how well or badly were doing.

I'm not sure why you'd rather sit in a boring/negative atmosphere while things are going badly rather than letting some lads attempt to produce some positivity/atmosphere from the stands.

It's still negative, and made worse by a drum banging away for 90 minutes.

19-03-2025, 02:38 PM
Over reacting? The reply was to a poster who said the police should be cracking down on Ultra behaviour in this country as it may escalate to the type of behaviour led by ultras in different countries.

Its not exactly going to escalate to the issues caused in different countries now is it?

Yes overreacting. You accused a poster of wanting people jailed for banging a drum - nothing of the sort was said, but you carry on making up nonsense.

You also suggested another wanted to do away with any kind of atmosphere - just an FYI, but B7 aren’t the sole arbitrators of creating an atmosphere, and plenty atmosphere existed before B7 and any other singing section existed.

Removing B7 means we’d be sitting in silence in a room and gloom atmosphere? Aye ok :rolleyes: They weren’t at Villa Park but the Hibs fans seemed to generate a decent atmosphere just fine without them.

Do you actually go to Easter Road for the football or to support Block 7? You’re acting like a fanboy who can’t stand to see any criticism of their beloved boyband, and seem more interested in them singing/drumming than why most people are there.

But since you think the stadium will be a boring/negative atmosphere if B7 aren’t drumming, I assume you’ll not be attending if the drumming ever stops

Thatdayinmay16
19-03-2025, 03:01 PM
Yes overreacting. You accused a poster of wanting people jailed for banging a drum - nothing of the sort was said, but you carry on making up nonsense.

You also suggested another wanted to do away with any kind of atmosphere - just an FYI, but B7 aren’t the sole arbitrators of creating an atmosphere, and plenty atmosphere existed before B7 and any other singing section existed.

Removing B7 means we’d be sitting in silence in a room and gloom atmosphere? Aye ok :rolleyes: They weren’t at Villa Park but the Hibs fans seemed to generate a decent atmosphere just fine without them.

Do you actually go to Easter Road for the football or to support Block 7? You’re acting like a fanboy who can’t stand to see any criticism of their beloved boyband, and seem more interested in them singing/drumming than why most people are there.

But since you think the stadium will be a boring/negative atmosphere if B7 aren’t drumming, I assume you’ll not be attending if the drumming ever stops

I've mentioned several times throughout the thread my personal thoughts on them but thanks for overlooking this.

You've mentioned one away game, the stadium atmosphere has gotten worse since the new east stand was built, don't act as if this isn't the case. Away games are generally a whole different atmosphere, your not going to generate the same atmosphere at home against St Mirren than when 4-5 thousand folk are travelling away to a game against one of the biggest sides in England are you when they've taken days off work and spent 10 hours on the drink?

As for my message about the drummer being arrested, It's sad to see sarcasm wasted on you.

I'm also not saying B7 are the sole reason that atmosphere at ER exists, but it would be a whole lot worse without them currently doing what they are.

It's sad that people think they only go to games to sign and bang a drum, would you really spend hundreds if not thousands of pounds per year travelling Scotland if you were only interested in banging a drum for 90 minutes, the answer is no btw.

19-03-2025, 03:21 PM
I've mentioned several times throughout the thread my personal thoughts on them but thanks for overlooking this.

You've mentioned one away game, the stadium atmosphere has gotten worse since the new east stand was built, don't act as if this isn't the case. Away games are generally a whole different atmosphere, your not going to generate the same atmosphere at home against St Mirren than when 4-5 thousand folk are travelling away to a game against one of the biggest sides in England are you when they've taken days off work and spent 10 hours on the drink?

As for my message about the drummer being arrested, It's sad to see sarcasm wasted on you.

I'm also not saying B7 are the sole reason that atmosphere at ER exists, but it would be a whole lot worse without them currently doing what they are.

It's sad that people think they only go to games to sign and bang a drum, would you really spend hundreds if not thousands of pounds per year travelling Scotland if you were only interested in banging a drum for 90 minutes, the answer is no btw.

It’s sad that you’re making up things that haven’t been said by anyone, but thanks for doing that just to try to be patronising

19-03-2025, 03:27 PM

Several away games over at least a couple of years have been affected by their behaviour. My eighty one year old dad no longer wants to go to away games after a confrontation with them after they took over our seats, and given where he lives now it’s very difficult to get him through to Edinburgh.

If they could semi-behave and respect other Hibs fans then there’s a place for them. As it is, where the ultras go trouble seems to follow and even if they are singing a few more Hibs songs until the above changes they can do one.

Thatdayinmay16
19-03-2025, 03:37 PM
It’s sad that you’re making up things that haven’t been said by anyone, but thanks for doing that just to try to be patronising

A previous poster mentioned that some of them should stay at home or go to a park as they only seem to be interested in banging the drum and not watching the game.

I'd suggest reading the whole thread before making assumptions.

19-03-2025, 03:44 PM
A previous poster mentioned that some of them should stay at home or go to a park as they only seem to be interested in banging the drum and not watching the game.

That is partly true though isn’t it? As an example, the guy on the megaphone doesn’t even face the pitch

Thatdayinmay16
19-03-2025, 04:00 PM
That is partly true though isn’t it? As an example, the guy on the megaphone doesn’t even face the pitch

I understand why its been said, but at the end of the day the guy spends his money however he sees fit.

Not for us to dictate what he spends his Saturday at ER doing.

19-03-2025, 04:24 PM

That makes me laugh, not just the Hibs ultras but most of them have a guy on a megaphone who never actually watches the game! Not for us to dictate but okay for them to try and dictate where they sit at away games. I get the general intention of these guys but they do themselves no favours with their mob mentality of intimidation at times.

19-03-2025, 04:36 PM
I understand why its been said, but at the end of the day the guy spends his money however he sees fit.

Not for us to dictate what he spends his Saturday at ER doing.

People who have their seats taken over by B7 at away games spend their money too. They are entitled to the seats they paid for.

19-03-2025, 04:43 PM

You make it sound like there was no atmosphere at ER before this mob turned up. It was way better before they turned up.

You also make it sound like their presence ensures an atmosphere. What utter pish. When were enduring our crap run at the start of this season, we barely got a peep out of them during games.

19-03-2025, 05:08 PM
People who have their seats taken over by B7 at away games spend their money too. They are entitled to the seats they paid for.

To me, this appears to very rarely be an issue these days.

They came in at Parkhead, wanted to change where they were positioned and it got dealt with. But other than that, they’re pretty much always in the pre advertised area as far as I can see.

I find them a bit nippy at times but don’t see this as much of an issue now.

PHeffernan
19-03-2025, 05:51 PM
Just read the Block 7 statement again and I am very concerned about 2 things they allege happened to them at the hands of the Police.
They state "After being detained in a kettle for over an hour and a camera shoved down our faces"
That is an alarming and unprecedented level of Police brutality although i'm not sure how either feat was achieved.

Sounds like the Green Brigade got off very lightly on Sunday.
From what I read they just got kettled by the Police and had their photo taken.

A few other observations for Block 7;
Get someone a bit brighter to write your statements.
Read over and amend your statements before publishing.
Learn about Section 60 Police powers as they apply to you and comply with them.
You come across as a right bunch of whiny ninnies.

P.S. If away supporters attend a game and find Block 7 have stolen their seats simply threaten to put them inside a kettle and shove a camera down their face. They will immediately vacate your seat and rush away to empty their incontinence pants leaving you free to take up your seat.

19-03-2025, 06:19 PM
Hibees clap clap clap is long gone sadly. The whole stadium would always join in with it as well.

And a crying shame that is, too. Some songs come and go, but that's like losing our national anthem.

Hibs Go Bragh
19-03-2025, 06:41 PM
And a crying shame that is, too. Some songs come and go, but that's like losing our national anthem.

Does anyone know if it was the same person that started it or was it just anyone who sat behind the wooden advertisement boards?

Bridge hibs
19-03-2025, 07:15 PM
Does anyone know if it was the same person that started it or was it just anyone who sat behind the wooden advertisement boards?I thought it was feet stamping and clapping together in the old wooden west stand, It was ****ing loud too, nae daft drums neither

19-03-2025, 07:25 PM
I thought it was feet stamping and clapping together in the old wooden west stand, It was ****ing loud too, nae daft drums neither

Feet stamping up in the old East was where it would start and it would travel around the stadium.

Lendo
19-03-2025, 07:26 PM
That makes me laugh, not just the Hibs ultras but most of them have a guy on a megaphone who never actually watches the game! Not for us to dictate but okay for them to try and dictate where they sit at away games. I get the general intention of these guys but they do themselves no favours with their mob mentality of intimidation at times.

I was in with the away Paderborn fans at a game against Freiburg years ago and they had these Ultra “coordinators” who never actually watch a single minute of the game. Just face in to the crowd acting like a conductor for the singing and drumming.

19-03-2025, 08:23 PM

Should take your own suggestion, since they were being sarcastic as well, perhaps you missed that in your quest telling everyone else what they should think

Hibs Go Bragh
19-03-2025, 08:30 PM
I thought it was feet stamping and clapping together in the old wooden west stand, It was ****ing loud too, nae daft drums neither

You could be right and my mind is just playing tricks on me but I’ve always thought the first clap clap clap was someone reaching over and banging the boards.

It was bloody good though. The simplest chants were the best ones.

PHeffernan
19-03-2025, 09:03 PM
The thing that annoys me is that I recognise the need for people like them to help make the atmosphere better, but the way these Ultra groups behave at times is so embarrassingly cringey that I can't help wish they didn't exist majority of the time. Too many of them watched Green Street/Football Factory and think they're back in the casual era and behave like wee fannies.

I would have no issues with the club working with them to create a dedicated singing/Ultra section (possibly near the front as it seems where they all want to be) of our away sections and say to them "here you go, here is 200 tickets" or whatever amount it is so we can stop this nonsense where they just steal people's seats and then force the issue onto other people. If I take my kids or go with my elderly family members I don't want to turn up and see there's folk in balaclava's in our seats telling me to go find somewhere else, only to have the same conversation with who evers seats I take. Even worse do I want to spend 15 minutes trying to get them to move only to sit amongst their peers anyway for 90 minutes?

That is so funny and so true, classic :faf:

19-03-2025, 09:19 PM
Feet stamping up in the old East was where it would start and it would travel around the stadium.

I was one of the foot stompers in the old East Stand.

JoeT_WasTheBest
19-03-2025, 10:00 PM
Just read the Block 7 statement again and I am very concerned about 2 things they allege happened to them at the hands of the Police.
They state "After being detained in a kettle for over an hour and a camera shoved down our faces"
That is an absolutely horrific level of Police brutality although i'm not sure how either feat was achieved.

Sounds like the Green Brigade got off very lightly on Sunday.
From what I read they just got kettled by the Police and had their photo taken.

A few other observations for Block 7;
Get someone a bit brighter to write your statements.
Read over and amend your statements before publishing.
Learn about Section 60 Police powers as they apply to you and comply with them.
You come across as a right bunch of whiny ninnies.

P.S. If away supporters attend a game and find Block 7 have stolen their seats simply threaten to put them inside a kettle and shove a camera down their face. They will immediately vacate your seat and rush away to empty their incontinence pants.

[emoji23]

PHeffernan
19-03-2025, 10:45 PM
[emoji23]

Hey Joe, seems like Block 7 were telling the truth

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qAP_5CAnmpQ

Dmas
20-03-2025, 06:48 AM
To me, this appears to very rarely be an issue these days.

They came in at Parkhead, wanted to change where they were positioned and it got dealt with. But other than that, they’re pretty much always in the pre advertised area as far as I can see.

I find them a bit nippy at times but don’t see this as much of an issue now.

I think this is now because they are usually given the seats they want for away games, with parkhead they where given front and centre of the initial allocation, we then got another 5k seats and it transpires they are not in the best place anymore so they attempted to ‘take’ them, was only a few rows down from where I was I’ve no idea what went on but they definitely made a good attempt to start setting up there plastic frames in that section at the front, despite those seats already being taken

20-03-2025, 07:16 AM
I think this is now because they are usually given the seats they want for away games, with parkhead they where given front and centre of the initial allocation, we then got another 5k seats and it transpires they are not in the best place anymore so they attempted to ‘take’ them, was only a few rows down from where I was I’ve no idea what went on but they definitely made a good attempt to start setting up there plastic frames in that section at the front, despite those seats already being taken

They weren't given front and centre of the initial allocation, Hibs and Celtic put them at the back left of that allocation to keep them out the way.

Frogga
20-03-2025, 08:06 AM
For me, Block 7 would be fine if they: a) dropped the masks/face-coverings (if you're not guilty of anything then why do you need face-coverings?) and b) stayed out of trouble with opposition fans.

The face-coverings in particular make them an obvious target for the police, so I don't have a huge amount of sympathy in that regard.

Ribs1875
20-03-2025, 08:18 AM
Young lads with high levels of testosterone going to the football. From my own experiences and perspective I say let them be. There is a lot worse they could be doing. Being part of a sub faction of club supporters is much better than being knife crime and what not.

20-03-2025, 09:41 AM
Young lads with high levels of testosterone going to the football. From my own experiences and perspective I say let them be. There is a lot worse they could be doing. Being part of a sub faction of club supporters is much better than being knife crime and what not.

Being a young fanny is a gateway to becoming an old fanny. Get them clued in while they're young enough to learn.

20-03-2025, 10:05 AM
Being a young fanny is a gateway to becoming an old fanny. Get them clued in while they're young enough to learn.
Agree 100% however the problem is that these days we live in a society where a growing percentage of the population live a culture of "let's see what we can get away with", whether it's the likes of Block 7 and their antics which are annoying or detrimental to others, players on the park (and not just in football but in most sports), students cheating in exams, folk fiddling their expenses etc etc. and we're so wishy-washy with discipline, right from P1 at school, that there are rarely any meaningful consequences. The result of that is that the "what-can-I-get-away-with" bar gradually gets raised. It's only going to get worse unless there is a major sea change in discipline with meaningful consequences. Many teenagers will be well beyond such behavioural change. Some will grow out of it. Some will have their "eff-you" attitude and behaviour so well engrained that they won't change and will be forever a skit stain on society. Education policies on discipline in schools need to change from P1 onwards for a long-term outcome but I'm not holding my breath.

Thatdayinmay16
20-03-2025, 10:08 AM
Agree 100% however the problem is that these days we live in a society where a growing percentage of the population live a culture of "let's see what we can get away with", whether it's the likes of Block 7 and their antics which are annoying or detrimental to others, players on the park (and not just in football but in most sports), students cheating in exams, folk fiddling their expenses etc etc. and we're so wishy-washy with discipline, right from P1 at school, that there are rarely any meaningful consequences. The result of that is that the "what-can-I-get-away-with" bar gradually gets raised. It's only going to get worse unless there is a major sea change in discipline with meaningful consequences. Many teenagers will be well beyond such behavioural change. Some will grow out of it. Some will have their "eff-you" attitude and behaviour so well engrained that they won't change and will be forever a skit stain on society. Education policies on discipline in schools need to change from P1 onwards for a long-term outcome but I'm not holding my breath.

It won't change, I recently found out high school students now can't be forced to go to class, if teachers find kids kipping school they can only ask them to go to class, if said students say no, no further actions can be taken and the teachers are told to move on.

Crazy.

20-03-2025, 10:23 AM
It won't change, I recently found out high school students now can't be forced to go to class, if teachers find kids kipping school they can only ask them to go to class, if said students say no, no further actions can be taken and the teachers are told to move on.

Crazy.

When was it different? A really long time ago.

If I didn't want to go to class 25 years ago, the worst a teacher could do back then was ask me to go.

Thatdayinmay16
20-03-2025, 10:26 AM
When was it different? A really long time ago.

If I didn't want to go to class 25 years ago, the worst a teacher could do back then was ask me to go.

It was different when I was at school, we'd be given detention/wouldn't get to go on certain trips/play football or my mum/dad would have been called and that itself was worse than anything.

Now if you skip class, you get no reprimands or consequences.

20-03-2025, 10:28 AM
It was different when I was at school, we'd be given detention/wouldn't get to go on certain trips/play football or my mum/dad would have been called and that itself was worse than anything.

Nah, I don't believe that's true. My mates a depute head in Edinburgh though, so I'll check the now.

Thatdayinmay16
20-03-2025, 10:30 AM
Nah, I don't believe that's true. My mates a depute head in Edinburgh though, so I'll check the now.

Ah yes so my niece, her dad and mum will all be lying then.

20-03-2025, 10:33 AM
Ah yes so my niece, her dad and mum will all be lying then.

Well, I'd assume if it's not true (which I don't know yet) then it's just your niece who'd be lying. The mum and dad are just believing what they're told.

Fuzzywuzzy
20-03-2025, 10:34 AM

Schools are a **** show. My eldest is at high school and has a kid that has been problematic (fighting/sexual harassment) that just sits in reception all day. This counts as "exclusion". Been to another couple of schools where there have been issues and just dumped at his.

My son broke a security camera ****ing about and nothing happened. We offered to pay for a new one but that was declined. Kids constantly sit in class on the phone. Couple of weeks ago eldest was off school and his pals were calling him from lessons

In fairness to the teachers they can't do a thing because of restrictions that are in place.

20-03-2025, 10:36 AM
Schools are a **** show. My eldest is at high school and has a kid that has been problematic (fighting/sexual harassment) that just sits in reception all day. This counts as "exclusion". Been to another couple of schools where there have been issues and just dumped at his

Didn't you have kids who were problematic when you were at school too though? It's not a new thing for there to be kids who are ********s and nothing apparently can be done to fix them. They existed when I was at school.

Thatdayinmay16
20-03-2025, 10:41 AM
Schools are a **** show. My eldest is at high school and has a kid that has been problematic (fighting/sexual harassment) that just sits in reception all day. This counts as "exclusion". Been to another couple of schools where there have been issues and just dumped at his.

My son broke a security camera ****ing about and nothing happened. We offered to pay for a new one but that was declined. Kids constantly sit in class on the phone. Couple of weeks ago eldest was off school and his pals were calling him from lessons

In fairness to the teachers they can't do a thing because of restrictions that are in place.

They must be lying, its the only logical conclusion:rolleyes:.

Fuzzywuzzy
20-03-2025, 10:42 AM
Didn't you have kids who were problematic when you were at school too though? It's not a new thing for there to be kids who are ********s and nothing apparently can be done to fix them. They existed when I was at school.

Definitely not a new thing. And I did have kids with problems. Back then ADHD autism etc never seemed that prevelant or discussed.

20-03-2025, 10:43 AM
They must be lying, its the only logical conclusion:rolleyes:.

You need a tissue to dry your eyes mate?

Guy disagrees with you on the internet, you dinnae have to go in a complete huff :faf:

Thatdayinmay16
20-03-2025, 10:49 AM
You need a tissue to dry your eyes mate?

Guy disagrees with you on the internet, you dinnae have to go in a complete huff :faf:

I'll wait for you to ask your deputy head mate. He's the oracle apparently.

20-03-2025, 10:49 AM

If a period is missed parents are informed by text.

They can lose their breaks, and not be allowed off school premises at lunch.

Put on attendance monitoring cards if multiple instances.

Education Welfare Services involved when attendance is under 85%.

20-03-2025, 10:50 AM
I'll wait for you to ask your deputy head mate. He's the oracle apparently.

I dunno about the Oracle, but he definitely knows better than you do

Thatdayinmay16
20-03-2025, 10:51 AM
I dunno about the Oracle, but he definitely knows better than you do

Of course he does, whatever he says goes!

Ask him if he's got the lottery numbers for the weekend?

20-03-2025, 10:52 AM
Of course he does, whatever he says goes!

Ask him if he's got the lottery numbers for the weekend?

Do you think that predicting the future and knowing the rules of your own place of work are the same thing? :faf:

Thatdayinmay16
20-03-2025, 10:58 AM
Do you think that predicting the future and knowing the rules of your own place of work are the same thing? :faf:

Do you think the depute head of 2 completely different schools have the exact same calibre of students and resources to hand?

20-03-2025, 11:03 AM
Do you think the depute head of 2 completely different schools have the exact same calibre of students and resources to hand?

I see where you're going with this though, so I'll bow out.

You're probably right. At the school you're specifically talking about the teachers probably don't bother following the guidelines. If someone skips school, they're probably just thankful for one less kid to teach. They're also probably not allowed to call parents or give detentions. As per your niece.

Feel better now?

20-03-2025, 11:07 AM

Took me all of five minutes to find the policy.

https://www.edinburgh.gov.uk/directory-record/1146112/relationships-learning-and-behaviour-procedure#:~:text=Relationships%2C%20learning%20an d%20behaviour%20procedure%20%2D%20Policy%20registe r,-Classification%20Education%20and&text=Originally%20called%20the%20Better%20Relation ships,they%20remain%20included%20in%20school.

Happy to help clear it up.

Hibee_Craig7062
20-03-2025, 11:24 AM
This was B7 (I believe) being kettled by police just outside Donaldson's School before the boxing day derby. I passed them on my walk to the ground. They were in this "position" before I arrived so I am not sure if there was an incident prior to make the police take this action.

(sorry not sure why the photo is sideways) :-(

Dmas
20-03-2025, 12:12 PM
This was B7 (I believe) being kettled by police just outside Donaldson's School before the boxing day derby. I passed them on my walk to the ground. They were in this "position" before I arrived so I am not sure if there was an incident prior to make the police take this action.

A group known to have been causing trouble throughout the season stoating about with balaclavas on it would be more of an issue in the police weren’t interested imo

20-03-2025, 01:04 PM
A group known to have been causing trouble throughout the season stoating about with balaclavas on it would be more of an issue in the police weren’t interested imo

That's a fair point - the police are there to serve the needs of the wider public, they're not there to just police through the lens of stewarding a football match.

I think the police are far too heavy handed with their treatment of football fans at times, but there have been plenty times when my personal experience of them has been fine.

I don't enjoy not being able to leave the stadium as usual so that they can let away fans leave first but I understand why they do it because I've seen the bother that can happen when segregation isn't there, and in the not too distant past have seen stuff thrown from the home support gathering at the gates at the West stand at away fans. Those actions make it much harder for the police to have confidence that we're all grown up enough to leave the stadium at the same time as a big visiting support.

Every away game I go to, there are young lads taking coke in the toilets, that has consequences, I've seen groups fighting after games this season, that has consequences, I've seen pyro and pitch invasions and objects thrown from the crowd, I've seen Block Seven having physical fights with stewards in the stadium this season- these things have consequences.

The consequences are that football fans continue to get policed like an underclass. That's the price we pay for those behaviours.

It's not rocket science. Some self-awareness wouldn't go amiss and the ability to correlate the actions to the consequences instead of implying that this policing has come out of nowhere would help.

Block Seven have some significant positives, but you can't net off the bad stuff because there's some good stuff - it doesn't work like that.

Dmas
20-03-2025, 01:17 PM
That's a fair point - the police are there to serve the needs of the wider public, they're not there to just police through the lens of stewarding a football match.

I think the police are far too heavy handed with their treatment of football fans at times, but there have been plenty times when my personal experience of them has been fine.

I don't enjoy not being able to leave the stadium as usual so that they can let away fans leave first but I understand why they do it because I've seen the bother that can happen when segregation isn't there, and in the not too distant past have seen stuff thrown from the home support gathering at the gates at the West stand at away fans. Those actions make it much harder for the police to have confidence that we're all grown up enough to leave the stadium at the same time as a big visiting support.

Every away game I go to, there are young lads taking coke in the toilets, that has consequences, I've seen groups fighting after games this season, that has consequences, I've seen pyro and pitch invasions and objects thrown from the crowd, I've seen Block Seven having physical fights with stewards in the stadium this season- these things have consequences.

The consequences are that football fans continue to get policed like an underclass. That's the price we pay for those behaviours.

It's not rocket science. Some self-awareness wouldn't go amiss and the ability to correlate the actions to the consequences instead of implying that this policing has come out of nowhere would help.

Block Seven have some significant positives, but you can't net off the bad stuff because there's some good stuff - it doesn't work like that.

Very well said

20-03-2025, 01:42 PM

Agree with every single word Matty. As always in these scenarios the truth is somewhere in the middle and self reflection wouldn't go a miss across the board to improve it for everyone.

Ribs1875
20-03-2025, 02:59 PM

Well said!

It is group mentality I seen first hand when growing up in Leith as a youngster. Everyone who ran in groups thought they were u touchable and egged each other on. Yet when you seen any of these cretins by themselves they wouldn't say boo to a ghost.

Young people are always going to be more rowdy, me and all my friends were. We outgrew it, matured and essentially passed that torch on. Granted we all have that one friend who got lost and continued to be a waster.

If anyone has watch the adolescence series on Netflix, it definitely makes you question present day attitudes.

TelaStella
20-03-2025, 04:09 PM

Bring back the belt!

20-03-2025, 04:13 PM
Bring back the belt!

Only the Lochgelly will do!!!

😉

20-03-2025, 04:18 PM

That's some length of walk for them if they've come in from Linlithgow.

PHeffernan
20-03-2025, 11:24 PM

Very good post

21-03-2025, 08:31 AM

No sane person can argue with this. Good post Matty.

PHeffernan
21-03-2025, 11:07 PM

Block 7 response to Police harassment

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HXiZHXkG-ac

LunasBoots
22-03-2025, 12:55 AM
Definitely not a new thing. And I did have kids with problems. Back then ADHD autism etc never seemed that prevelant or discussed.

Yup, back then i was put down as just behavioural problems and stuck in the behaviour unit at school, wasnt until later i found out i was autistic which explained why i never fitted in. Bit more undersrabding these days in schools but its still not the best.

22-03-2025, 05:58 AM
The Police are worried that after the violence between the Green Brigade and Union Bears plus Block 7 and St Mirren/Aberdeen plus I'm sure others that these groups start turning more sinister as they get older.

Eventually someone will be seriously hurt or worse when these groups meet and it will lead to the clubs having to take a much firmer stance IMO.

22-03-2025, 06:24 AM
The Police are worried that after the violence between the Green Brigade and Union Bears plus Block 7 and St Mirren/Aberdeen plus I'm sure others that these groups start turning more sinister as they get older.

Eventually someone will be seriously hurt or worse when these groups meet and it will lead to the clubs having to take a much firmer stance IMO.

GB and UB average age is probably very late 20s/early 30s. GB in particular have folk well in their 40s, they started 2008. Not sure how much older you need to be…

22-03-2025, 06:29 AM
Green Brigade already been given a warning for messing with the wrong people in Glasgow. Police will be least of their worries.Big difference from what I can see is that most of the GB are adults not daft kids. Some of the guys I know are in very respectable jobs.

22-03-2025, 06:44 AM

Spot on. Don't be a **** and you won't be treated like one.

22-03-2025, 07:32 AM
GB and UB average age is probably very late 20s/early 30s. GB in particular have folk well in their 40s, they started 2008. Not sure how much older you need to be…

Not sure about that, but anyway the other "ultras" Hibs, Aberdeen, Hearts are all mostly young laddies.

Paul1642
22-03-2025, 08:33 AM
Spot on. Don't be a **** and you won't be treated like one.

Could close the thread at this. It really is that simple.

GB and UB ran about Glasgow city centre causing chaos at the previous old firm game then the GB in particular act the victims when police legally take preventative measures at the next old firm game. Likewise, block 7s treatment from police is the consequence of their own actions at previous fixtures.

We’re obviously all football fans on this thread so view these things through that perspective, but you need to take into account that the majority of the population do not attend football games and view a group of laddies / young men running riot through their city centre in balaclavas as pretty unacceptable.

Paul1642
22-03-2025, 08:35 AM
Not sure about that, but anyway the other "ultras" Hibs, Aberdeen, Hearts are all mostly young laddies.

The Edinburgh City lot are barely out of nappies 😂

22-03-2025, 10:15 AM
At least when we had the casuals they dressed better than this lot.

22-03-2025, 12:49 PM

I’ve said it before but these ultras groups are almost perfect conditions to radicalise one or more youngsters in terms of their behaviour. Give them anonymity behind masks, a shared identity, common goal, common enemy, and with quite a high likelihood of intoxicants like cocaine.

Derren Brown did an excellent show (I think it was called Remote Control) all about this, but with an audience who were given masks and asked to vote on what happened to someone they’d never met on a night out before.

29-03-2025, 07:27 AM
Doing the bucket collection for the Historical Trust today. Well done lads

29-03-2025, 08:10 AM
Doing the bucket collection for the Historical Trust today. Well done lads[emoji106] A real positive.

29-03-2025, 08:38 AM
If anyone has watch the adolescence series on Netflix, it definitely makes you question present day attitudes.

The second episode set almost entirely in the school was worrying, if that's how adolescents really behave at school.

29-03-2025, 11:45 AM

Why not just do it without publicising the fact they are.nobody else has

Paul1642
29-03-2025, 11:56 AM

Not a fan of block 7 but no issues with this one.

29-03-2025, 11:56 AM

Oh for god's sake can you not give them any credit?

29-03-2025, 12:01 PM

Surely the more publicity a charity collection gets the better?

PHeffernan

Well done to those giving their time.

If you are collecting money surely you would want to publicise it as much as possible?

29-03-2025, 02:18 PM
They have brought a whistle today.

29-03-2025, 02:53 PM
They have brought a whistle today.

It's been great without the drum.

29-03-2025, 02:54 PM
It's been great without the drum.

What happened to the drum?

29-03-2025, 02:55 PM

No idea but I hope it's permanent

Could the guy with the whistle kindly shove it up his rectum please

I can hear it?

29-03-2025, 03:00 PM
We're third in the league, on a great run with Europe a real possibility.

Why is their flag still upside down?

Apart from seeking relevance and attention, I mean.

29-03-2025, 03:01 PM
St Johnstone fans just brought out a drum for 2nd half ffs

29-03-2025, 03:04 PM
We're third in the league, on a great run with Europe a real possibility.

Why is their flag still upside down?

Apart from seeking relevance and attention, I mean.

Because we've been good since it went upside down?

29-03-2025, 03:40 PM
Because we've been good since it went upside down?

Ha ha. I didn't have them down as being a superstitious lot but you could be right.

29-03-2025, 04:30 PM
Ha ha. I didn't have them down as being a superstitious lot but you could be right.

I've worn the same clothes at every game I have been to on this unbeaten run. I am not superstitious except when it comes to football.

29-03-2025, 06:45 PM
They should keep the banner upside down forever.

29-03-2025, 06:52 PM
Could the guy with the whistle kindly shove it up his rectum pleaseIs there a tune with that, or do we just hum along?

29-03-2025, 07:50 PM
I've worn the same clothes at every game I have been to on this unbeaten run. I am not superstitious except when it comes to football.

Thank you for your service. :aok:

They can't turn the banner round now. IMO

29-03-2025, 08:15 PM
There was reference on the matchday thread to them signing some naughty songs from a poster that was sitting in the FFL this afternoon

Was this heard throughout the stadium or just locally behind the goals?

Sad if we are signing songs that have nothing to do with football

29-03-2025, 08:29 PM
Is there a tune with that, or do we just hum along?

It would certainly be humming

hibee bouncer
29-03-2025, 09:06 PM

The drum was definitely there today but they did appear lower in numbers and a bit flatter than usual. Maybe something to do with the daft handbag fight that broke out amongst them.

29-03-2025, 10:11 PM
There was reference on the matchday thread to them signing some naughty songs from a poster that was sitting in the FFL this afternoon

I certainly couldn't hear it in section 44. But, I can't hear much. I suspect it was random shouting rather than songs

29-03-2025, 10:28 PM
Oh for god's sake can you not give them any credit?
I thought they were good today created noise throughout the whole game

Surely the more publicity a charity collection gets the better? yeah your right

If you are collecting money surely you would want to publicise it as much as possible?
Yeah you’re also right.

Parked up in Sainsbury’s & never saw anyone collecting from there to the turnstlyles 13-16

29-03-2025, 11:01 PM
The drum was definitely there today but they did appear lower in numbers and a bit flatter than usual. Maybe something to do with the daft handbag fight that broke out amongst them.

Didn’t appear to be any flags from what I remember. Definitely heard the drums but didn’t see the handbags. Just like me like the normal number to me mind you.

hibee bouncer
29-03-2025, 11:33 PM
Didn’t appear to be any flags from what I remember. Definitely heard the drums but didn’t see the handbags. Just like me like the normal number to me mind you.

Yeah, definitely no flags. Made a pleasant change being able to see the pitch for the whole 90 mins! 🇳🇬

30-03-2025, 07:15 AM
I was in the Terrace Experience yesterday rather than my usual seat and a bit oddly Block 7 appear a lot quieter from there than they do when I'm in the FFU. Unrelated but I was also surprised how many people choose to sit in the standing section, particularly the side sections. I would say it was well over 50% and probably closer to 75% sitting in the section in front of me. Some people were even standing on the stairs and up the back to avoid blocking the views of people sitting. Each to their own but it seems odd to buy a ticket in a standing area then sit for the whole game. Maybe standing at the football is one of those things that is more popular in people's heads, mine included, than in reality?

Back to Block7 I think you'd have to be trying too hard to find any negative in them either helping with the bucket collection or publicising the fact they have done so.

DIXIHIBS
30-03-2025, 07:49 AM
I was in the Terrace Experience yesterday rather than my usual seat and a bit oddly Block 7 appear a lot quieter from there than they do when I'm in the FFU. Unrelated but I was also surprised how many people choose to sit in the standing section, particularly the side sections. I would say it was well over 50% and probably closer to 75% sitting in the section in front of me. Some people were even standing on the stairs and up the back to avoid blocking the views of people sitting. Each to their own but it seems odd to buy a ticket in a standing area then sit for the whole game. Maybe standing at the football is one of those things that is more popular in people's heads, mine included, than in reality?

Back to Block7 I think you'd have to be trying too hard to find any negative in them either helping with the bucket collection or publicising the fact they have done so.

I stand directly in front of Terrace experience and you're that that most sit in the end section of the 'standing area'. I've even seen arguements with non regulars telling folk to sit down coz they can't see.

30-03-2025, 10:29 AM

Perhaps your referring to my post, it's weird, I normally sit in the East but got the BTG package for the day. The song they sing is along the lines of

Ole ole oh ah, Erin Go Bragh, up the RA, FTQ, Hibs are a Catholic team.

I know the tune because I hear it nealy every week but can't make it out from my usual seat but it's really clear what they are singing from the FF, especially the guy with the megaphone. It's really disapointing. They got a lot of credit for displays and that but this outweighs any good work they have done if that's the sort of thing they sing. I'm going to report it to the club tomorrow. It's not a good look, especially if you bring guests along to enjoy the day in BTG.

Don't get me wrong, I have been a STH for a long time, I enjoy an atmosphere and don't expect it to be PG but sectarian/bigotry is way across the line.

1875M
30-03-2025, 10:33 AM
Always baffled me that there’s a boy who sits and watches the rest of block 7 with his back to the game and not once turns round 🤣

hibee
30-03-2025, 11:00 AM
Always baffled me that there’s a boy who sits and watches the rest of block 7 with his back to the game and not once turns round [emoji1787]

If it’s the guy with the megaphone he never watches the game and wasn’t very happy yesterday because not everyone was doing as he said.

“You’re sitting in the singing section so fu*#*ng sing” was one of his favourite shouts yesterday, I wish he could hear some of the replies to him from the FF upper.

There was noticeable less drum yesterday, still not as good as no drum but a slight improvement anyway, we live in hope that one day they might realise we can’t hear them singing over the drum, there’s just not enough of them to drown it out.

30-03-2025, 11:24 AM
If it’s the guy with the megaphone he never watches the game and wasn’t very happy yesterday because not everyone was doing as he said.

“You’re sitting in the singing section so fu*#*ng sing” was one of his favourite shouts yesterday, I wish he could hear some of the replies to him from the FF upper.

There was noticeable less drum yesterday, still not as good as no drum but a slight improvement anyway, we live in hope that one day they might realise we can’t hear them singing over the drum, there’s just not enough of them to drown it out.
Watching Sportscene last night and for the first time I took a bit of notice when Block 7 were on camera, the thing that struck me was the majority all seemed like primary school children on an organised day trip, quite strange.

speedy_gonzales
30-03-2025, 12:23 PM
Perhaps your referring to my post, it's weird, I normally sit in the East but got the BTG package for the day. The song they sing is along the lines of

I know the tune because I hear it nealy every week but can't make it out from my usual seat but it's really clear what they are singing from the FF, especially the guy with the megaphone. It's really disapointing. They got a lot of credit for displays and that but this outweighs any good work they have done if that's the sort of thing they sing. I'm going to report it to the club tomorrow. It's not a good look, especially if you bring guests along to enjoy the day in BTG.

Don't get me wrong, I have been a STH for a long time, I enjoy an atmosphere and don't expect it to be PG but sectarian/bigotry is way across the line.

FTK surely 🙄

Helensburghhibs
30-03-2025, 02:22 PM

Close...... Oh ally ally ooh ah, oh ally ally ooh ahh, Erin go brag, the pride of Edinburgh, we are boys in green, the only team for me.

Some of the young team add in the ftq bit, but the rest has been widely sung at the past few away games.

30-03-2025, 02:29 PM
Close...... Oh ally ally ooh ah, oh ally ally ooh ahh, Erin go brag, the pride of Edinburgh, we are boys in green, the only team for me.

Some of the young team add in the ftq bit, but the rest has been widely sung at the past few away games.

That's what I thought the lyrics were as well albeit the FTQ add on seems pretty widespread.

I suppose it's not uncommon for there to be two versions of certain songs but your version is the only one I have heard at games.

30-03-2025, 03:01 PM

100% Not what I heard yesterday. Not saying your wrong in terms of what generally they sing but not what I heard.

reidy
30-03-2025, 05:42 PM
I am one of those that chose to sit in the standing section Im not able to stand for the full 90 nor am am I able to sit for a full 90 and it's genuinely been amazing for myself in terms of dealing with my pain having the option of being able to do this.

30-03-2025, 05:51 PM
Watching Sportscene last night and for the first time I took a bit of notice when Block 7 were on camera, the thing that struck me was the majority all seemed like primary school children on an organised day trip, quite strange.

This footage of some high jinx yesterday at Cappielow with Patrick Thistle and Morton “ultras” kind of suggests that the groups are largely made up of young kids, with the average age getting younger. It’s not unique to Hibs.

https://www.facebook.com/share/v/1HiKoHRWwt/?mibextid=wwXIfr

PHeffernan
30-03-2025, 07:45 PM
I am one of those that chose to sit in the standing section Im not able to stand for the full 90 nor am am I able to sit for a full 90 and it's genuinely been amazing for myself in terms of dealing with my pain having the option of being able to do this.

Sounds like the perfect solution for you Reidy.
It's great when a plan comes together :aok:

PHeffernan
30-03-2025, 07:48 PM
This footage of some high jinx yesterday at Cappielow with Patrick Thistle and Morton “ultras” kind of suggests that the groups are largely made up of young kids, with the average age getting younger. It’s not unique to Hibs.

https://www.facebook.com/share/v/1HiKoHRWwt/?mibextid=wwXIfr

This Years Model

11-04-2025, 05:20 PM
https://x.com/blocksevenhibs/status/1910724592231915564?s=46&t=9ECFsSDsGgie80A2m3HH1A

I believe a few ultra groups have put out similar. While I agree largely that get police’s treatment of football fans is brutal, this feels like a burglar complaining that the police get to search his house.

Bridge hibs
11-04-2025, 05:38 PM
https://x.com/blocksevenhibs/status/1910724592231915564?s=46&t=9ECFsSDsGgie80A2m3HH1A

I believe a few ultra groups have put out similar. While I agree largely that get police’s treatment of football fans is brutal, this feels like a burglar complaining that the police get to search his house.I tend to agree, I wonder what the hibs ultras response will be to this:

“If the police believe that we will quietly accept Section 60 powers becoming the norm, then they are profoundly mistaken”

Wear bullet proof balaclavas, get bigger and thicker drum sticks, learn to shave, stop helping Grannies cross the road ?

hibee316
11-04-2025, 06:04 PM

I believe a few ultra groups have put out similar. While I agree largely that get police’s treatment of football fans is brutal, this feels like a burglar complaining that the police get to search his house.

No-one I know has ever had any bother from the Police going to a football game, and I've been going for nearly 30 years.

The Police are quite rightly targeting a group who cause trouble.

They also talk about there overwhelming positive influence.

I agree they have some good initiatives in the community, but personally I'm not a fan of the drum and prefer songs starting organically in the crowd. Each to their own on that though, but there point is definitely subjective.

11-04-2025, 06:50 PM
No-one I know has ever had any bother from the Police going to a football game, and I've been going for nearly 30 years.

The Police are quite rightly targeting a group who cause trouble.

They also talk about there overwhelming positive influence.

I agree they have some good initiatives in the community, but personally I'm not a fan of the drum and prefer songs starting organically in the crowd. Each to their own on that though, but there point is definitely subjective.

I think the statement says “some aspects of the scene don’t appeal to everyone”, or words to that effect. It’s the criminal bits. The fighting, the graffiti, the unacceptable songs that have been alleged, and then the less criminal but frustrating things like commandeering people’s seats and causing aggro when challenged etc.

If they could join the dots between doing those things and the treatment they get from the police, maybe they stop getting the treatment from the police.

It doesn’t feel like that’s a hard concept to grasp. Yes they do good things, I think they’re generally a welcome addition to the stadium and while the drum isn’t for me, they’re clearly enjoying themselves so good on them.

I’ve said already though that they can’t just point to the positive stuff and dismiss the other stuff as if it’s trivial or just one of those things.
The police aren’t hounding them just because they like a song and a drum beat.

Hibs Go Bragh
11-04-2025, 07:01 PM
How many times man! Stop wearing balaclavas and smuggling illegal pyro into stadiums. Stop fighting with other ultra groups in the streets and the police will leave you alone!

You literally walk around in the same uniform and behind a banner announcing who you are, of course the police are targeting you!

Maybe if it was written in crayon they would understand.

11-04-2025, 07:03 PM
Maybe the CCS should announce a retrospective statement bemoaning their treatment by the police.

It would make as much sense.

11-04-2025, 07:06 PM
I tend to agree, I wonder what the hibs ultras response will be to this:

“If the police believe that we will quietly accept Section 60 powers becoming the norm, then they are profoundly mistaken”

Wear bullet proof balaclavas, get bigger and thicker drum sticks, learn to shave, stop helping Grannies cross the road ?

Exactly. What a bunch of erseholes. What do they intend to do to show their non-acceptance of the use of these S60 powers?

11-04-2025, 07:23 PM
Some of them are barely out of childhood.

11-04-2025, 07:59 PM
I think the statement says “some aspects of the scene don’t appeal to everyone”, or words to that effect. It’s the criminal bits. The fighting, the graffiti, the unacceptable songs that have been alleged, and then the less criminal but frustrating things like commandeering people’s seats and causing aggro when challenged etc.

If they could join the dots between doing those things and the treatment they get from the police, maybe they stop getting the treatment from the police.

It doesn’t feel like that’s a hard concept to grasp. Yes they do good things, I think they’re generally a welcome addition to the stadium and while the drum isn’t for me, they’re clearly enjoying themselves so good on them.

I’ve said already though that they can’t just point to the positive stuff and dismiss the other stuff as if it’s trivial or just one of those things.
The police aren’t hounding them just because they like a song and a drum beat.

Don’t act like ********s and much less likely to get treated the way you have been by the police, it’s not a hard concept

11-04-2025, 08:02 PM
They must have made more statements than the paltry numbers they have .

lugz
11-04-2025, 09:02 PM
The sooner we get all these groups in the bin the better. Saw on Instagram they were wearing Palestine scarfs at ibrox, majority of them couldn't show you where it is on a map.

11-04-2025, 09:28 PM
There’s some middle ground here. There’s not much wrong with what they say in their statement, football fans do get policed differently. Let’s not shoot the messenger.

Paul1642
11-04-2025, 09:55 PM
There’s some middle ground here. There’s not much wrong with what they say in their statement, football fans do get policed differently. Let’s not shoot the messenger.

Police have a duty to the whole public, not just the 100k or so attending football each week. The other 5.5 million residents of Scotland don’t really want groups of balaclavad up laddies fighting in the streets. I’ve been attending football my whole life and don’t have any issue with the way I’m policed, but then I don’t break the law.

Section 60 powers becoming more common is the result of their own actions. Go to games with no illegal pyro, no balaclava, and don’t fight with other fans and they’ll be just fine, it’s really that simple.

11-04-2025, 10:17 PM

I’m on board with the sentiment, and it’s been happening long before Block Seven were born, but they are overtly criminal in their behaviour - they post videos showing it - that’s why we, as football fans, continue to get the crap treatment from the police.

We all get tagged into it for their antics.
I can’t take a bottle of juice into the stadium because people throw bottles at the football - it’s the fault of those people that I can’t take a bottle of juice in.

I don’t take pyro into the stadium but I get searched because of the people who do.

There’s no doubt that we get a raw deal from the police, it really sticks in my throat that we do, but then I can’t get to a pub I’m going to because fans are fighting outside it on a busy Saturday evening as folk go about their business, or I watch Block Seven physically fighting stewards inside our own stadium (allegedly because they had the audacity to try and stop them doubling up through the turnstiles…) and I know that the crap treatment is going to last a bit longer.

Bridge hibs
12-04-2025, 07:27 AM

Football fans have suffered heavy handedness for decades too though, this is nothing new, ultras are just an extension of fan radgeness thats been going on for yonks. Yes they are more political in their views/protests but a lot of that is to get recognition on saturated media platforms but as mentioned above half of them are still in their nappies and probably couldnt pick out Palestine if it smacked them in the face.

I attended games early to mid 70s and onwards and on many occasions was at the wrong end of a Police truncheon or a boot in the arse from an over zealous horse. The word “kettled” is also being thrown around a lot like the word has just been invented. Im sure you and many on here have experienced being “kettled” at games, particularly away games where it happened on a regular basis.

One game that stands out around the late 80s I think when a couple of hundred of us got off a train at Berwick for a game and we were met by a very heavy Police presence at the station, we were “kettled” Police horses and dogs, we were frogmarched up the road and if you stepped off the path you were manhandled and shoved back in line. If you were gobby then you were dragged out and most likely spent a night in the clink.

That was unacceptable but it happened and we just got used to it. Off course we had our bams but there were many hibs fans who werent and also suffered by the heavy handedness that was meted out on a regular basis. I also think Police were far more brutal then than what they are like now, its all regs and policies etc but back then rules were bent, double bent and ****ing bent more.

Ive still got the tattoos on my erse cheeks from the many truncheon leatherings I received through the years and to be honest I was gobby but not a trouble maker. I think theres a bit of “snowflake” about these statements but I get the Police thinking too, our ultras are not innocent wee laddies, its been reported and posted many times on here about their **** behaviour at games and a case in point was the recent aggro between the onion bears and the greeting brigade in Glasgow city centre. If the Police want to avoid repeats of that then they have to start nailing these groups.

Support your club, make a noise but act like fannies in public then you pay the price, its not rocket science.

12-04-2025, 07:32 AM
One game that stands out around the late 80s I think when a couple of hundred of us got off a train at Berwick for a game and we were met by a very heavy Police presence at the station, we were “kettled” Police horses and dogs, we were frogmarched up the road and if you stepped off the path you were manhandled and shoved back in line. If you were gobby then you were dragged out and most likely spent a night in the clink.

1980 Scottish Cup game. A good few of us battered stupid for no reason by the Geordie Polis that got sent up there for the day. We got let out of the clink about 7.00 so at least we got home. £40 fine for all of us and I even got granted a personal meeting with the Chief Constable of Northumbria Police to complain about the police handling.

Anyway back on track....

Bridge hibs
12-04-2025, 07:37 AM
1980 Scottish Cup game. A good few of us battered stupid for no reason by the Geordie Polis that got sent up there for the day. We got let out of the clink about 7.00 so at least we got home. £40 fine for all of us and I even got granted a personal meeting with the Chief Constable of Northumbria Police to complain about the police handling.

Anyway back on track....Yeah it was quite brutal that day, if I remember correctly when we were met at the rail station and marched up the road we were not allowed to sing or chant or the Police waded in if anyone tried to start a song 🤬

12-04-2025, 07:49 AM
Football fans have suffered heavy handedness for decades too though, this is nothing new, ultras are just an extension of fan radgeness thats been going on for yonks. Yes they are more political in their views/protests but a lot of that is to get recognition on saturated media platforms but as mentioned above half of them are still in their nappies and probably couldnt pick out Palestine if it smacked them in the face.

I attended games early to mid 70s and onwards and on many occasions was at the wrong end of a Police truncheon or a boot in the arse from an over zealous horse. The word “kettled” is also being thrown around a lot like the word has just been invented. Im sure you and many on here have experienced being “kettled” at games, particularly away games where it happened on a regular basis.

That was unacceptable but it happened and we just got used to it. Off course we had our bams but there were many hibs fans who werent and also suffered by the heavy handedness that was meted out on a regular basis. I also think Police were far more brutal then than what they are like now, its all regs and policies etc but back then rules were bent, double bent and ****ing bent more.

Ive still got the tattoos on my erse cheeks from the many truncheon leatherings I received through the years and to be honest I was gobby but not a trouble maker. I think theres a bit of “snowflake” about these statements but I get the Police thinking too, our ultras are not innocent wee laddies, its been reported and posted many times on here about their **** behaviour at games and a case in point was the recent aggro between the onion bears and the greeting brigade in Glasgow city centre. If the Police want to avoid repeats of that then they have to start nailing these groups.

Support your club, make a noise but act like fannies in public then you pay the price, its not rocket science.Exactly this.

I was at that Berwick game. Plod beingvhard men on overtime was how I recall it.

Had a worse experience at Motherwell around the same time, we arrived earlyish so were in a small band of Hibbies milling about doing nothing. PC Plod's extra thick division set themselves up at intervals down the steps and walked in randomly grabbing a few folk and throwing them out! No offence was even discussed. Most of us were actually just let back in by a steward but one guy asked to see the match commander. He turned out to be a bigger version of the same problem but rather than deal with a complaint he let the guy go and he had to pay in again.

Just_Jimmy
12-04-2025, 07:53 AM

The quicker these ultra groups get to f. The better.

Block 7 are a stain on Hibernian FC.

Sent from my SM-S931B using Tapatalk

12-04-2025, 07:58 AM
I suppose they are looking for an identity.
But it's not much of an identity if they dress and behave exactly like the other ultra groups.
Hoping it's a trend and it'll expire before I do.

12-04-2025, 07:59 AM
There was me thinking this old people moaning about the kids of today thing would never catch on...

Helensburghhibs
12-04-2025, 08:01 AM
The quicker these ultra groups get to f. The better.

Block 7 are a stain on Hibernian FC.

I'm sorry but you get treated differently, every time you go to a game. Some examples....

1. You can't take a bottle of juice in with you,

2. Your freedom of movement around the stadium is restricted and sometimes stopped all together.

3. If you have never been refused access to the toilet then, you have never been to ibrox away end.

These are some of the simple examples that we have just accepted and will. Have affected every single one of us without thinking,, ask your mates that go shopping or the cinema on a Saturday how many of them they would consider normal

12-04-2025, 08:03 AM
You must have been lucky. I remember being on a supporters bus, can’t remember which branch, going to Motherwell in the late 80s. Bus stopped off at a pub in Lanarkshire on route. Got our drinks in and the police burst in telling us if we didn’t leave the pub we’d all be detained. No choice but to get back on the bus.

As for Block 7, I admire their passion for the club but a big no to balaclavas. As I’ve said on here before, there should be a designated area for pyro as I believe there is in U.S. football.

Just_Jimmy
12-04-2025, 08:05 AM
I'm sorry but you get treated differently, every time you go to a game. Some examples....

1. You can't take a bottle of juice in with you,

2. Your freedom of movement around the stadium is restricted and sometimes stopped all together.

3. If you have never been refused access to the toilet then, you have never been to ibrox away end.

These are some of the simple examples that we have just accepted and will. Have affected every single one of us without thinking,, ask your mates that go shopping or the cinema on a Saturday how many of them they would consider normalNot many folk go throwing stuff at staff, or have running battles in shopping centres though do they?

As Matty said, blame the people who cant act like adults.

Simple fact is, the polis will put the good of the general public above football fans. That's not changing unless football culture changes. Only a few months ago we had running battles in Glasgow because two clubs couldn't behave...

I've seen football fans trashing cities and towns throughout the UK. I Can't recall that ever being done by rugby fans or other sports? Maybe it has, I certainly cant recall it.

12-04-2025, 08:11 AM
Waiting for the obligatory Rugby fans are just as bad posts.

You regularly see Rugby fans masked up and having mass brawls in the street and chucking items at player of course.

12-04-2025, 08:18 AM
Police have a duty to the whole public, not just the 100k or so attending football each week. The other 5.5 million residents of Scotland don’t really want groups of balaclavad up laddies fighting in the streets. I’ve been attending football my whole life and don’t have any issue with the way I’m policed, but then I don’t break the law.

Section 60 powers becoming more common is the result of their own actions. Go to games with no illegal pyro, no balaclava, and don’t fight with other fans and they’ll be just fine, it’s really that simple.

I don't think it's just football where these young lads get treated differently though. There was the old Family Guy joke with the police officer holding the colour chart going from white to black and the caption running from okay to not okay as it went darker. In Scotland you could probably replace that with a list of postcodes and it would reflect how the police behave differently.

I grew up in a scheme and I don't recall the police being viewed as particularly benevolent or as being on our side. It often felt like we were guilty of something until proven innocent. Blethering with your mates in the street was 'loitering with intent'. Taking a walk through the 'posh' area a mile or so up the road meant you were subjected to questions about why you were there, what you wanted, what were you intending to do etc etc. We were often moved on from the local park when kicking a ball about for no given reason beyond 'because I ****ing well told you to move son'. It went from low level intimidation to out and out discrimination and bullying at times.

That was a long time ago now but I'm not convinced it will have changed all that much. If I was that age again I doubt I'd be happy to hand over my phone to the police or give any details beyond the very basics, in fact I still wouldn't do it now without just cause. Some of these young lads need to reflect on their behaviour, some of them are behaving in a way that is undeniably criminal but for a lot of them they are probably just sick and tired of being harassed and aggressively handled for doing not a lot wrong or being in the wrong place at the wrong time.

There is a middle ground and a bit of dialogue from the end of the police rather than this heavy handed approach would be welcome. When you consider the event of something like Hillsborough, not just that game but the couple of close calls there beforehand, you can see clearly how police prejudices about football fans can have devastating consequences. Plenty people then bought the Kelvin McKenzie/Maggie Thatcher version of the 'truth' and the 'police were heroes' narrative (and many individual officers undoubtedly were) until people stood up and demanded a proper investigation and the actual truth.

12-04-2025, 08:26 AM
There was me thinking this old people moaning about the kids of today thing would never catch on...My general view, as an older person is that overall, the youth of today are politer and more open minded than my fellow elders.

I didn't get to where I am today by singling out the youth of today but I've no problem having a swipe at bellends of all ages who feel entitled or are disrespectful of others, especially in a football ground.

12-04-2025, 08:54 AM
Waiting for the obligatory Rugby fans are just as bad posts.

You regularly see Rugby fans masked up and having mass brawls in the street and chucking items at player of course.

I think Rugby Fans are just as bad.

Bunch of toffee nosed twits getting p1ssed, harassing women, and singing rowdy songs that would be banned at the football.

Will that do? :greengrin

12-04-2025, 08:59 AM

Bunch of toffee nosed twits getting p1ssed, harassing women, and singing rowdy songs that would be banned at the football.

Will that do? :greengrinOnly do egg chasing because they were nae use at fitba at school?

12-04-2025, 09:01 AM

I know there is an element of tongue in cheek involved in the whole rugby chat but I genuinely think there is minimal difference between you average football and rugby fan. Not the extreme elements in either sport which take different forms but definitely exist.

You could easily allow beer at the football and have a whole unsegregated family section and there would be no notable change in the behaviour of most fans. The vast majority of games from League One and below in Scotland are unsegregated and there are no running battles, same as there are huge unsegregated sections and alcohol served at major international tournaments with no issues.

12-04-2025, 09:05 AM
Only do egg chasing because they were nae use at fitba at school?

I thought it was the other way round and kids only play football because they're scared of a genuine tackle in rugby :na na:

12-04-2025, 09:05 AM
I thought it was the other way round and kids only play football because they're scared of a genuine tackle :na na:Depends what school you went to[emoji16]

12-04-2025, 09:08 AM

A friend of mine who was a former police commander in Edinburgh, and a jambo, did a study for the police on the conduct of rugby and football fans in Edinburgh. He found a minority of both sets of fans had unacceptable behaviour but expressed in different ways. He also found that the police tended to accept unacceptable actions by rugby fans but not football fans.

Bridge hibs
12-04-2025, 09:08 AM
Depends what school you went to[emoji16]

In Craigmillar, Niddrie and Bingham they were so ****ing tough they played football with the Elgin marbles, none o those leather ***** balls 🤣

12-04-2025, 09:10 AM
Depends what school you went to[emoji16]

Like me, you remember the days when footballers were allowed to tackle and opponents were ignored when they flopped to the ground.

He's here!
12-04-2025, 09:41 AM
Only do egg chasing because they were nae use at fitba at school?

Rugby's actually a harder game to excel at than football.

12-04-2025, 09:46 AM
I know there is an element of tongue in cheek involved in the whole rugby chat but I genuinely think there is minimal difference between you average football and rugby fan. Not the extreme elements in either sport which take different forms but definitely exist.

You could easily allow beer at the football and have a whole unsegregated family section and there would be no notable change in the behaviour of most fans. The vast majority of games from League One and below in Scotland are unsegregated and there are no running battles, same as there are huge unsegregated sections and alcohol served at major international tournaments with no issues.

You are of course correct in terms of the average fan.

Rugby doesn't have the extreme element that football does though which is why these measures are in place for football games and not rugby.