View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian vs Hearts

Pages : [1] 2 3

02-03-2025, 10:16 AM
Chris back in for Miller and Youan back on the bench, lovely stuff. Manneh doesn't make the squad. Injured?

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GlB5lmcXsAAyXdT?format=jpg&name=large

02-03-2025, 10:17 AM
Strong bench.

Where’s Ekpiteta?

02-03-2025, 10:18 AM

That's the team most of us were hoping for . Mon the hibees , intae these rat chomping bunch of swines

02-03-2025, 10:21 AM
Hearts team announced

Gordon

Taylor Steinwender McCart Penrice

…………………Baningme
Grant………………………………Spittal
……………..Shankland ……..

…………..Wilson………..Kabangu

02-03-2025, 10:24 AM
Looking forward to seeing Boyle and Bowie start today having missed being able to see the last two games.

Good options off the bench if/when needed.

PHeffernan
02-03-2025, 10:26 AM
Strong bench.

Where’s Ekpiteta?

Ekpiteta, Molotnikov and Manneh didn't make the matchday squad

02-03-2025, 10:28 AM
Ekpiteta, Molotnikov and Manneh didn't make the matchday squad

Relying on kwon as the only centre mid is a bit of a worry.

1875Sean
02-03-2025, 10:31 AM

Levitt is there

Levitt too

shamo9

Levitt is on the bench too.

Trinity Hibee
02-03-2025, 10:34 AM
Chris back in for Miller and Youan back on the bench, lovely stuff. Manneh doesn't make the squad. Injured?

Looks a strong squad now and that’s without ekpiteta and newell

1875Sean
02-03-2025, 10:44 AM

Ekpiteta is fit just not made the squad, Gray must think a Miller can cover cb

02-03-2025, 10:48 AM
Decent team and strong bench which, hopefully DG will make good use of.

02-03-2025, 10:49 AM
I am in Easter Road for the first time in over two months having missed our recent run through illness. You are all welcome to blame me if we lose.

02-03-2025, 10:50 AM
Ekpiteta is fit just not made the squad, Gray must think a Miller can cover cb

Fit as in able to play but just not chosen? That is an interesting one if so.

02-03-2025, 10:50 AM
I am in Easter Road for the first time in over two months having missed our recent run through illness. You are all welcome to blame me if we lose.

Still time to leave before kick off :greengrin

02-03-2025, 10:52 AM

Oh we will!!

02-03-2025, 10:55 AM
Go home Shodan.

02-03-2025, 10:55 AM
Gray wins manager of the month for February.

Well deserved.

1875Sean
02-03-2025, 10:56 AM
Fit as in able to play but just not chosen? That is an interesting one if so.

Id assume so, this is on the website

Joe Newell is the only absentee due to injury, with Alasana Manneh, Marvin Ekpiteta and Rudi Molotnikov missing out this afternoon.

02-03-2025, 10:59 AM
Id assume so, this is on the website

Joe Newell is the only absentee due to injury, with Alasana Manneh, Marvin Ekpiteta and Rudi Molotnikov missing out this afternoon.

Interesting, maybe more of a fitness level situation for Ekpiteta and Manneh as opposed to injury?

That said the bench is starting to look stronger and stronger as there's not really anyone on it you'd look to take out considering you have Obita and Miller that can cover LCB and RCB and wing back.

MacGruber
02-03-2025, 11:02 AM
Happy with that. Personally would have went Miller because he gives me more assurance defending and wins a lot in the air (would tower over Penrice at back post). Cadden very capable aswell though. Guessing Ekpiteta and Manneh just deemed not to be up to the pace of a Derby yet, undersrandable

02-03-2025, 11:08 AM
Really busy on way to stadium and lots of fans here early which is good. Lots of police about too.

Going to be a cracking atmosphere.

Donegal Hibby
02-03-2025, 11:08 AM
Strong team with good options on the bench . Glad to see Bowie starting…

Mon the Hibees :flag:

ElginHibbie
02-03-2025, 11:15 AM
Fancy Bowie to be right up for it and be the MOTM

cubehindthegoal

… and Molotnikov and Manneh … our whole pool is starting to look and play stronger

Surely that Hearts banner with NF at the end is inciting hatred? What does the NF stand for?

02-03-2025, 11:18 AM
Interesting, maybe more of a fitness level situation for Ekpiteta and Manneh as opposed to injury?

That said the bench is starting to look stronger and stronger as there's not really anyone on it you'd look to take out considering you have Obita and Miller that can cover LCB and RCB and wing back.

Not a good sign that Manneh notselected for the bench when both Kwon and Levitt are.

02-03-2025, 11:21 AM
Surely that Hearts banner with NF at the end is inciting hatred? What does the NF stand for?

If it’s the one in middle upper tier is it not GBNF - Gone but not forgotten??

Sheffhibee
02-03-2025, 11:21 AM
We keep 11 on the park we win this
Strong mentality, play our game and don't get dragged into a scrap. 100% concentration required
Cmon The Hibees
💚💚

02-03-2025, 11:23 AM
C’mon ma Bonnie Boys. :flag: :flag:

I thought Manneh would've made the bench, not up to speed yet?

Sheffhibee
Not a good sign that Manneh notselected for the bench when both Kwon and Levitt are.

Kwon is not in the squad is he?

No he’s not

02-03-2025, 11:25 AM
Just do it Hibs.

No he’s not

He is

On the surface of it, no it isn't. But then again Levitt and Kwon have both been part of the team all season and Gray will perhaps trust them to know what he wants, Manneh hasn't played competitive football since November effectively so perhaps is still needing to get up to speed.

No he’s not

He is unless the squad has been changed since it was announced. He’s in between Youan and Obita.

Don’t think I’d trust Manneh to come on today anyway. Need to ease him in after his debut.

If it’s the one in middle upper tier is it not GBNF - Gone but not forgotten??

Ah. Withdrawn in that case.

02-03-2025, 11:26 AM

No he’s not
Hyoek kyu

02-03-2025, 11:26 AM

Listed by BBC online

ChicoM1875
02-03-2025, 11:29 AM

Competition for places is a good thing

02-03-2025, 11:30 AM
mon the cabbage :flag::flag:

02-03-2025, 11:35 AM
Surprisingly 3 early mistakes from Triantis.

02-03-2025, 11:37 AM
yasssssssssssssssssss :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::flag::flag::flag:

Yes...

cubehindthegoal
Yeeees !!!

Surprisingly 3 early mistakes from Triantis.
Nervous maybe?

Get in there Boyle

Holy ****

cubehindthegoal
02-03-2025, 11:38 AM
Boyler !!! Superb !! Bossed Taylor !!

02-03-2025, 11:38 AM
hard angle as well

02-03-2025, 11:39 AM
1-1 :rolleyes::rolleyes:

USA_Hibee
Keepers fault. Shocker

Smith needs to come for that IMO

Some goal😁

***** clearance, ***** goalkeeping.

The wheels are starting to come off Smiths positive period.

02-03-2025, 11:40 AM
We are so, so nervous.

Poor defend Smith has to come out

Smith failing to come collect again??

Any chance of the goalie coming for that. Shocking goal to lose. Absolutely murder defending

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

:flag: What a start :thumbsup:

Some goal😁
Poor defending

cubehindthegoal
Don’t feel worried like. We will out score them.

**** sake

Such bad defending. Poor clearance then Rocky ****ing it up.

We look so nervy at the back.

Rocky Jekyll and Hyde

What about keeping it tight after scoring. Two defenders go to deal with the ball and none of them do it

Defenders are looking for the keeper to come there

02-03-2025, 11:41 AM
Rocky Jekyll and Hyde

Smith's fault that one.

smith should have came for it but he probably didn't think rocky would clear the freakin thing better than that

itslegaltender
Smith is a *****bag

Dmas
What about keeping it tight after scoring. Two defenders go to deal with the ball and none of them do it

Goalie should have been out iredale marshals the man Rocky is expecting the keeper and has to swing at it when realises he’s no coming

02-03-2025, 11:42 AM
Smith's fault that one.

100%. He doesn't command his box. Like the goal against Celtic he is so slow to pick up balls into the box.

Need another option in the summer.

Both goals were defensive cock-ups.

Let's see that we make no more and they do.

Rocky with a complete **** up, Smith not covering himself in glory either, looked unconvincing there.

After such a great start by Boyle and we shoot ourselves in the foot again.

USA_Hibee
That is such a frustrating goal to lose. We are our own worst enemy.

NC1875
Rocky with a complete **** up, Smith not covering himself in glory either, looked unconvincing there.

That’s on smith. Rocky’s expecting him to come for it .

02-03-2025, 11:43 AM
Getting outmuscled in midfield at the minute. Triantis needs to get into it more

All over the place need to settle back down

ChicoM1875
Blow the full time whistle. My nerves canny take it

cubehindthegoal
Smith is a *****bag

… or … let’s get behind our team, hearts made defensive errors too for our goal .. that’s how goals are scored … always blame … f them … we got this … settle down again Hibs … they’ve got a boost from that equalizer .. we need to start to boss them again … get behind them !!!!

Smith's fault that one.

Slow off his line but unless he called for it, no excuses for Rocky to be ball watching until the last second.

Just_Jimmy
We're all over the place.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Settle the **** down Hibs. Ridiculously nervy.

Defenders are looking for the keeper to come there

Definitely, Rocky looked surprised Smith wasn’t there to collect it

LunasBoots
02-03-2025, 11:44 AM
Rocky should have just booted it out, thats awful defending

They're well on top now, they smell blood.

ChicoM1875
… or … let’s get behind our team, hearts made defensive errors too for our goal .. that’s how goals are scored … always blame … f them … we got this … settle down again Hibs … they’ve got a boost from that .. we need to start to boss them again

Well said

couple of corners for the gimps

After such a great start by Boyle and we shoot ourselves in the foot again.

I’ve been a big critic of Rocky, but aby centre half should be expecting his keeper to take that

Smith is a *****bag

Yep, he should be all over that. Just like he should have been all the ball when Maeda scored. He's terrible.

We are t defending well at all

02-03-2025, 11:45 AM
Our keepers poor

Both goals were defensive cock-ups.

Let's see that we make no more and they do.

You not in the house yet :greengrin

Wull
Must be nerves, some of our defensive work is scary

That’s on smith. Rocky’s expecting him to come for it .

Yes but Rocky has to be stronger and blooter the ball away if he doesn't come for it, both to blame. Smith was at fault for the goal against Celtic too.

Smith giving me the fear underneath these inswingers. Obviously their tactic

cubehindthegoal
Unlucky Cadden.

USA_Hibee
02-03-2025, 11:46 AM
Despite the early goal we've been crap.

You not in the house yet :greengrin

That's the emergency tactic!

cubehindthegoal
Well said

I’m a supporter. Let’s all be .. we got this. They’re living off their wee boost after equalising. We’re better. And we supporters got a part to play too.

Definitely, Rocky looked surprised Smith wasn’t there to collect it

So was I. The guy hasn't looked particularly comfortable all of a sudden for the last wee while.

02-03-2025, 11:47 AM
Campbell and Triantis keep giving the ball up.

Slow off his line but unless he called for it, no excuses for Rocky to be ball watching until the last second.

Rocky is expecting Smith to be there to collect it, Campbell all over the place here.

We’ve not settled at all here

Need some composure

andrew_dundee
02-03-2025, 11:48 AM
Poor goal to give away, but Hearts fans will be equally pissed off about our one. Difference is they seem to have recovered well and calmed down while we're clearly in a panic. If we settle down we can get back in control.

We can't pass the ball at the moment. We need to take a breath here, get the ball down and make a pass.

So far they are looking the better team.

I’ve been a big critic of Rocky, but aby centre half should be expecting his keeper to take that

I agree but when he doesn't Rocky has to kick the ball anywhere to clear his lines, take responsibility, I've said before I'm not really a fan of Smith, decent back up but we need better.

Smith giving me the fear underneath these inswingers. Obviously their tactic
Always seems to be flailing as the ball goes over his head, a little lacking in height.

Midfield absolutely ****ing it.

02-03-2025, 11:49 AM
Campbell and Triantis keep giving the ball up.

Campbell deservedly got the praise for his performance against Celtic but his major weakness (passing) is still there.

Said it midweek, we are starting to see the real keeper now. Should have came for it, but Rocky should also have cleared it better.

Poor goal all round. :rolleyes:

1875Sean
Rocky having one of those games

02-03-2025, 11:50 AM
Iredale our best player first 20.

The three in midfield need to get the finger oot

Rocky should have just booted it out, thats awful defending

Rocky cleared it, not the best but he did clear it.

02-03-2025, 11:51 AM
Rocky is expecting Smith to be there to collect it, Campbell all over the place here.

A lesson in dealing with a bouncing ball in your box first and then bollocking Smith afterwards instead of "expecting/second guessing"

Hearts winning every second ball

cubehindthegoal
What bar stewards for not putting ball out … wait for the ref to blow. Just wrong. Typical hearts

As renowned philosopher Fred Durst once said, it's just one of those days

In a Derby game it has to be safety first even if Rocky has to take out Smith as well

andrew_dundee
02-03-2025, 11:52 AM
Rocky having one of those games

He was at fault for a goal last time we played them and ended up scoring too, so hopefully he does the same again :)

USA_Hibee
Hearts winning everything. They want it more.

Too many players not at it yet, Triantis, Campbell, Bowie to name but 3.

02-03-2025, 11:53 AM
**** me Campbell has started poorly

NC1875
Josh Campbell 🙈 dearie me

Still not settled since hearts goal

Campbell has been a man down so far. Every time he's had it he's gave it away.

cubehindthegoal

No they don’t.

Having a nightmare so far

02-03-2025, 11:54 AM
Seem incapable of making a pass today

Not passing well at all

We played with more confidence at Tynecastle when we were still languishing at the bottom of the league than we have so far today.

A collective arse collapsing so far.

Cooshed Kid
02-03-2025, 11:55 AM
If we let it become a scrap we play into their hands. They are better scrappers. Hibs are better footballers.

Rotten since we scored.

Call it for half-time now, get us inside and calm us down.

Hibs4185
Never seen so many slashes at the ball and sclafs, no idea what’s happened to us.

I agree but when he doesn't Rocky has to kick the ball anywhere to clear his lines, take responsibility, I've said before I'm not really a fan of Smith, decent back up but we need better.

Rocky cleared it, not the best clearance but it was a panic from him when he realised Smith isn’t there collecting it.

Hibs are off the pace here, need to get their act together.

02-03-2025, 11:56 AM
Hearts bringing us down to their level. Need to get our head back in this and realise we are better than them.

cubehindthegoal
02-03-2025, 11:56 AM
Having a nightmare so far

This thread is that’s for sure … how many folk on this thread are supporters of Hibs ? Many are like … I read their words … but jeezo.

Tell you what, have a look back a page or two … I just did … wow …

I’m going to take a break til half time .. see you later guys … enjoy supporting us meantime … I will.

02-03-2025, 11:57 AM
We’re a bundle of nerves.

Midfield absolutely ****ing it.

Nectar and Campbell need to do more.

Taylor is their weak link.

System needs tweaked. We aren’t getting a sniff in the wide areas.

02-03-2025, 11:58 AM
Hearts bringing us down to their level. Need to get our head back in this and realise we are better than them.

Are Hearts dragging us down a level? I think we have done that to ourselves.

They are by far the more neat and tidy with the ball, far more fluent and far more willing to put a foot on it so far (or at least since the goal).

Nectar and Campbell need to do more.

And NMW

All been off the pace

I didn’t think their goal was on our goalkeeper at all - terrible defensive play, knocking a clearance into danger.

I wonder if many modern goalkeepers other than Gordon lose the goal we scored? He loves to stay on his line, leaving space in behind their defence to be exploited.

Both these defences look very vulnerable in behind.

We’re not playing well here but at some point I expect us to figure it out and get back into the game. We’re losing the midfield, no doubt.

Triantis not up to it at the moment.

USA_Hibee
02-03-2025, 11:59 AM
Taylor is their weak link.

Other than the goal I think he's dealt with us quite easily tbh.

This thread is that’s for sure … how many folk on this thread are supporters of Hibs ? Many are like … I read their words … but jeezo.

Tell you what, have a look back a page or two … I just did … wow …

I’m going to take a break til half time .. see you later guys … enjoy supporting us meantime … I will.

We aren’t coping with done basic pressing , we can’t get a passing game going do giving ball back to them and defending hasn’t been great
So think that’s what’s being reflected Good thing is we aren’t behind despite thier pressure

Triantis not up to it at the moment.

Along with five or six others.
Best news is the scoreline.

Wish we were at hearts level 🙄

02-03-2025, 12:00 PM
Think we look a bit leggy today

02-03-2025, 12:01 PM
Kick and rush. Let's stop playing the occasion and get the ball down and move it

We’re a bundle of nerves.

Our midfield is killing us right now, and our passing.

o'hora and rocky not great

Rocky try a one-two with shankland who hits the side netting

Rocky can't think right now

02-03-2025, 12:02 PM
WTF. Ohora and then Rocky . This is like the first half of the season at the back!

Just_Jimmy
We're a shambles

USA_Hibee
We are having a nightmare.

Our midfield is killing us right now, and our passing.

What midfield?

This is honking. Like really bad.

Rocky can't think right now

But you know hes going to score the winner.

There isn't a single positive performance from anyone at this point.

Rocy having a bit of a mare

O’Hara to blame for that.

andrew_dundee
Shankland should have done better there. Bit of a let off.

Obv he should never have been given the chance in the first place.

O’Hora looks so immobile

Relationship between keeper and defenders has totally broken down at the moment. Someone needs to take charge of the situation. Second time we are 5 yards apart looking at each other waiting on someone to make a decision whilst the ball bounced in the danger area for 3 or 4 seconds.

ChicoM1875
Sakes - this thread is depressing

02-03-2025, 12:03 PM
What the hell is going on in defence, shocking

How did this team beat Celtic?

Look on the bright side, we have been poor but are not losing.

And NMW

All been off the pace

Yip

They're press is working well

1-2 but was that offside ?#

no goal

02-03-2025, 12:04 PM
Someone needs to get on to their 6 and Shankland. Everything they do is going through both of them.

Sakes - this thread is depressing

Rocky will score the winner.

How did this team beat Celtic?

By not playing like we are today

DinkyTwo
No press, sloppy passing, panicked defending.

This is only going one way

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Would have been offside anyway

andrew_dundee
02-03-2025, 12:05 PM
Great work from Cadden there, more of this!!!

Lucky lucky hibs

Ncadden just wide

That was bloody close.

ChicoM1875
Unlucky Cadden (N)

Rocky's all over the place, looks like he doesn't trust Smith at all.

The midfield being run over and we're looking very shaky all over the pitch.

Feel like we’re ignoring Nicky Cadden a lot today

Get the ball to him

02-03-2025, 12:06 PM
Think we look a bit leggy today

Thought that as well

02-03-2025, 12:07 PM
If we fall behind in this one I struggle to see us getting back into it. Offside goal a huge wake up call hopefully.

02-03-2025, 12:07 PM
shy in the attacking half all the way back to smith

02-03-2025, 12:08 PM
if you don't touch him triantis he won't go down

There isn't a single positive performance from anyone at this point.

Boyle

Iredale is the only one winning his 50/50s

02-03-2025, 12:09 PM
The link between defence and midfield to link up with attack doesnae exist, and that’s why Campbell isn’t good enough for this team.

We need someone who can take it in tight areas

NMW has been much better. We look a little more settled

USA_Hibee
I would love to know our passing accuracy today. Come on Hibs.. Let's get it together man.

Taylor's done himself in.

02-03-2025, 12:10 PM
Get to half time level and need to make some changes. Either formation or taking at least Campbell off, maybe both subs and formation change. We’ve not been at it today and the shakiest the defence has been in a long time.

DinkyTwo
Rocky is so so nervous. Putting us under pressure every time the ball is near him

It's a simple ****ing diamond they are playing and we are playing like we are being asked to figure out prime Barcelona.

2 players at either tip of it have the freedom of Leith between the lines. ****ing sort it out man.

02-03-2025, 12:11 PM
O’Hara needs to wake up, twice he has put us under pressure.

Hibs need someone in there to calm it down a bit. Hearts are more suited to it being frantic paced!

Boyle

Goal aside I don't think he's actually doing anything either. But will allow a pass mark on the goal alone.

Montford
Getting schooled here.
Tactically and organisational wise
Too many players incapable of composure at this level

02-03-2025, 12:12 PM
Triantis looks miles off it. From how he has played in recent weeks to this is crazy.

02-03-2025, 12:12 PM
Triantis is our worst player today. How many times has he given it away???

02-03-2025, 12:13 PM
possession

45.9%/54.1%

not many times over the decades we've saw that

Triantis looks miles off it. From how he has played in recent weeks to this is crazy.

Three games in a week might have caught up with him.

Look on the bright side, we have been poor but are not losing.

That’s it J, get to ht and regroup for a big 2nd half.

Is that a stamp on O’Hara

Not really. He was posted missing against saints and largely rubbish against United (one pass aside)

Montford
02-03-2025, 12:14 PM
We need Gayle on
Has the composure and touch required
And knows the passes to make
Was no coincidence that Bowie shone when he was playing beside him last wk

ChicoM1875
02-03-2025, 12:14 PM
Second stamp of the game. Thugs

02-03-2025, 12:15 PM
We’ve improved since the disallowed goal

Couple of passes to play through them and draw them out and then get it wide or in behind

Hoilett for Campbell please, someone who can see a pass and not just give it away cheaply every time. :rolleyes:

o'hora can't shake it off

Rocky will score the winner

Just_Jimmy
That’s it J, get to ht and regroup for a big 2nd half.

Is that a stamp on O’HaraNo, they clashed shins.

02-03-2025, 12:16 PM
This is why I don't really enjoy derby games!!

Great work Rocky

Miller for O’Hora

His pace might be a bonus against Kabangu

MikeyS
That's not a bad sub all round. OHora has been mince and he probably knows it. Miller will bring a bit more urgency to our play although he can be quite erratic with it.

ChicoM1875
No, they clashed shins.

Stamped on his foot. Same as with Campbell

o'hora can't shake off the assault

Our defence has been shaky but putting on an RB feels like a big risk.

DinkyTwo
02-03-2025, 12:17 PM
Better Rocky

O'Hora wont be missed on that performance.

This is why I don't really enjoy derby games!!

why I hate them

02-03-2025, 12:18 PM
shankheid yellow card

02-03-2025, 12:19 PM
Rocky will score the winner

At what end? Been the shaky version today rather than the imperious version of late.

****ing waste of a free kick. There wasn't a person in the world who couldn't see what we were going to do.

Time to needle Fiveheid into a red.

Good defending by Rocky, just before our player lets Shankland run past him.

Poor pass from Bowie when we are attacking.

That should be two yellow cards, now let target the heid.

HT wan-wan

A chance to put the ball in before half time and we done a routine.

Starting to come into it a bit more now

Cooshed Kid
02-03-2025, 12:20 PM
At what end? Been the shaky version today rather than the imperious version of late.

For the goal, it looked like Iredale was getting in his way for the clearance

Just_Jimmy
Stamped on his foot. Same as with CampbellDidn't look like it, fell over him and they clashed shins.

Ball in the air and Hibs players stand and watch while yams run to where it lands.

USA_Hibee
To be honest.. We've been brutal. They've had a lot of the ball but really not done much.

That was pish. Sort it Hibs.

Get them in and get them telt SDG. Miles off it, the simple stuff, all over the park.

02-03-2025, 12:21 PM

Rocky will score the winner.

That was an extremely worrying 48 mins of Football.

Defence and midfield all over the place.

We look miles off it today, we look nervous and scared of them but hopefully come out with a different mindset in the 2nd half.

It was 1-1 last time at HT.

Let's go win it again Hibs.

Just_Jimmy
We've been so bad. Shambles at the back, too many passengers and aimless balls forward.

Huge second half coming up.

Need to play it forward. No more of this going back to our keeper from a thrown in near their box.