View Full Version : Match Updates St Mirren vs Hibernian

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

cubehindthegoal
16-02-2025, 02:49 PM
That’s a disgrace. We need to be raising hell about this ref.

Has never made a difference what we say, ever. Years and years of this I’ve seen … but there are enough people around to back it, some even support us. Same old.

As soft a booking as you will ever see. Feel for the player having that happen on his debut.

This referee should be sacked. Disgrace of a man.

Manneh is quality. :greengrin

There’s a goal in this. No idea who to.

I have an inkling......

Up-the-slope
Miracle if we finish with 11 on the pitch

No Miracle today then :rolleyes:

Gogic should have been off ages ago if that was how cards are being handed out.

Even ignoring the red card I can't remember a poorer farcical refereeing performance. Actually comical, no wonder commentators were laughing.

jakedance
First was a booking for me. Second isn’t even close to one.

That’s a disgrace. We need to be raising hell about this ref.
Who is it?

16-02-2025, 02:50 PM
Ref should retire after this, absolutely abysmal

pollution
Hold on, a point's ok

This referee has been an absolute disgrace for both sides.

ChicoM1875
So do St Mirren to be fair.

Yep - just incompetence across the board.

Paul1642
First was a booking for me. Second isn’t even close to one.

Not for a first foul it’s not.

Should have been off for his second round of dissent

Another referee I'm sure we'll see plenty more of as he continues to fail upwards.

Football is absolutely done

Manneh made one tackle and went up for one header. Booked for both

Refs really need to learn that a foul doesn’t mean it’s a yellow

Take 0-0 now.

badabing67
The midfield has played like it was a man short the whole game it shouldn't make any difference

Exuberance1875
16-02-2025, 02:51 PM
Something needs to be done about this quality of refereeing. It’s absolutely embarrassing. Live on TV too

AdidasHibernian
Have we even had a shot in target today?

Change of shape?

Don’t like when we play a flat 4🤣

Another week another absolutely useless ref.

Players deserve better - shambles

16-02-2025, 02:52 PM
A yellow card has to be a foul but a foul doesn't have to be a yellow card.

So do St Mirren to be fair.

Correct, this is not cheating this is absolutely a ref who hasn’t a clue, he clearly said after Hibs got a throw in that “he couldn’t see”.

Another week another absolutely useless ref.

Players deserve better - shambles

The fans deserve better.

Not for a first foul it’s not.

Not how it works. It was a yellow, the 2nd was soft but daft to go for full blooded whilst on a yellow when it's clear the ref is a clown

Not for a first foul it’s not.I've no issue with the first booking

The 2nd one is barely a foul

Absolutely horrendous decision

He's had 2 absolute howlers where he's seen something that literally didnt happen

Pathetic performance

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Did Manneh even touch the ball more than once ? Our one signing of the window :faf:

Why do they always seem to pop up refereeing Hibs games? And we usually come off worst with their decisions

16-02-2025, 02:53 PM
St Mirren are a bunch of thugs - no idea how we have 10 players and they still have 11.

scm70nyd1973
The fans deserve better.

Refs deserve better

cubehindthegoal
Gogic was in a Hibs top today, ref would find the way to send him to the dressing room.

It’s ok though, the ref found someone in a green top …

What a horrible game of football.

I take it the ref realises not every foul is a booking.

Paul1642
Why do they always seem to pop up refereeing Hibs games? And we usually come off worst with their decisions

Going by twitter they do seem to happen all over the league, but we just see the Hibs ones because we watch every week.

Not how it works. It was a yellow, the 2nd was soft but daft to go for full blooded whilst on a yellow when it's clear the ref is a clownYou clearly havent seen a replay surely

Full bloodied is some interpretation

16-02-2025, 02:54 PM
Did Manneh even touch the ball more than once ? Our one signing of the window :faf:
quality over quantity :greengrin

It’s a soft second yellow but I’m not sure we’d be as charitable if the roles were reversed and the St Mirren player didn’t get the ball (don’t think he did but didn’t see a replay) and had an arm in the neck of the Hibs player.

Ref has been on par with that ref years ago against Falkirk where I’ve never seen a ref cause such a hostile atmosphere single handedly.

The referee has been a joke. Hardly a classic anyway but he has made it worse.

The penalty decision should have been the most laughably baffling decision of the day but then he gave the red card.

Greedy Boyle

cubehindthegoal
Refs deserve better

Some refs need to be honest.

10 minute cameo 🙄

Up-the-slope
I think a shout out to the support in Paisley on a bone chilling freezing day .... well done to everyone there :not worth

16-02-2025, 02:55 PM
Mental to think I look forward to watching us play all week

This has been garbage

A disgraceful performance in a match with so much at stake. A great chance to close in on the 3rd place spot but the players just don't seem that interested.

Did Manneh even touch the ball more than once ? Our one signing of the window :faf:Probably took a look at the pitch and thought f that, I'm off.

cubehindthegoal
16-02-2025, 02:56 PM
Football is absolutely done

Manneh made one tackle and went up for one header. Booked for both

Refs really need to learn that a foul doesn’t mean it’s a yellow

Have you ever seen that happen to a sevco player ? That’s the difference here.

Not how it works. It was a yellow, the 2nd was soft but daft to go for full blooded whilst on a yellow when it's clear the ref is a clown

Get out of here with that rubbish. Every centre half challenges like that for every single header. It wasn't even a foul.

This has been garbage

St Mirren / the ref / ***** pitch haven’t exactly helped.

A disgraceful performance in a match with so much at stake. A great chance to close in on the 3rd place spot but the players just don't seem that interested.

Do you honestly believe that? :confused:

16-02-2025, 02:57 PM

This has been garbage
I got over that addiction some time ago 😁

Have you ever seen that happen to a sevco player ? That’s the difference here.

Sevco / Celtic player never getting the 2 yellows we got today.

andrew_dundee
Well deserved MOTM for Rocky. Either him or Smith I'd say.

This ****ing ref btw this is disgraceful

Has anyone seen a ref lose control of a game so badly and make so many wrong decisions in a 30 mins period...

16-02-2025, 02:58 PM

St Mirren have been better than us an executed their plan better imo.

1 point out of 9 against them this season

disappointing performance really but that pitch is really bad

keeps the unbeaten run going but important points dropped

still, a point is better than a stick in the eye

FT

Paul1642
0-0 ft

I can't see premier sports covering another st mirren v hibs game again any time soon, it's been honkin:hilarious

What an utterly miserable game of football.

Even taking the abhorrent ref out the equation Hibs were shocking. A complete lack of football, too many long balls. Midfield anonymous. Poor stuff especially with the next few games coming up

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

16-02-2025, 02:59 PM
Rocky’s been immense AGAIN

Ach I'll take it. One to forget but keeps the run going

That’s bad

cubehindthegoal
Get out of here with that rubbish. Every centre half challenges like that for every single header. It wasn't even a foul.

Yup. And we have people on here that support those decisions and defend the refereeing we get. That is the most amazing thing to me. Wish folk would open their eyes. Maybe you need to be auld like me to have seen it for long enough.

ChicoM1875

Disgraceful post. I think you should quit Hibs.net, and probably never post on the Internet again. You just don't seem interested.

hibIBZ
Just about everything about that was terrible…

Weather
Pitch
Football
The ref

Rocky and smiths double save the only highlights

Dreadful performance from Hibs. I can’t remember having a single chance?

Rocky’s been immense AGAIN

👏

That was guff. Third place probably out of reach unless we take something next week.

A good point all things considered. Referee, pitch, conditions all conspired against both teams.

Was never going to be much fun to watch.

So we are improving.

We didn't play great for a change. Much of that was down to a horrific pitch. Don't agree with your comments at all though.

16-02-2025, 03:00 PM
Just about everything about that was terrible…

Weather
Pitch
Football
The ref

All related sadly. Pitch is an absolute disgrace for the top league.

I’m not exactly buzzing with the result but ref hasn’t done us any favours giving us zero protection.

Add Ross Hardie to the awful ref list.

allmodcons
A brutal match on a brutal pitch with an absolutely ****ing brutal referee

Gray needs to call out the dreadful performance from the ref.

Absolute pish. Just glad we didn’t disrupt the harmony of the squad by bringing in more than one player in the January window.

AdidasHibernian
Midfield was non existent but pitch was shocking as was the ref and as for St Mirren, they are terrible as well plus how they never had a man sent off but we did I will never know.

Onto next weekend. Point is better than nothing.

Atrocious performance made worse by a truly awful referee

Manneh has got a yellow in his first 30 seconds. He can only improve.

I can't see premier sports covering another st mirren v hibs game again any time soon, it's been honkin:hilarious

There's very rarely a good St Mirren game on TV. They are a dreadful team.

Boyle booked? hopefully for telling the ref he wis pish

St Mirren were the better team and the pitch is a poor excuse in Scottish football.

I'll give you the ref one though.

Paul1642
16-02-2025, 03:01 PM
Unbeaten run up to 12 games and 3 consecutive clean sheets for the first time in a long time.

All related sadly. Pitch is an absolute disgrace for the top league.

That’s..

Killie
Ross County
St Mirren
St Johnstone

4 out of 12 top flight pitches aren’t good enough for this level.

TrinityHFC

You’re a joke.

badabing67
At least we seen it out for a point. the only positive I can think of. Well played Rocky..... give him a new deal soon Hibs before someone else makes him an offer he can't turn down

No point he will end up taking a ban just shake hands and move on. Collum should be embarrassed that he’s given that guy a premiership match.

Abysmal from start to finish.

Trinity Hibee
Rocky was really good again there

Mcbizz1998
That was guff. Third place probably out of reach unless we take something next week.

Not sure why that would be the case? Aberdeen are still humpty and we will need to play United twice.

jakedance
Horrible pitch and conditions and as bad a game as you’ll ever see, officiated by as bad a ref as you’ll ever see. Take the point and try to forget the last two hours of my life.

HarpOnHibee
0 shots on target against St Mirren is unacceptable. Ref made himself the highlight of the game, as neither team was ever going to.

Rumble de Thump
16-02-2025, 03:02 PM
Unbeaten in 12 matches, more minutes for Bowie and a couple of minutes for Manneh. Ref and pitch were brutal. Not bad, all things considered.

Needs to call out his midfield as well for a honking performance. We could play for another 90 mins and not create a single chance.[emoji35]

It’s a mad rule about the wrong VAR check and Hibs should be getting a corner instead no pen and no corner!

Rocky MoTM from a shortlist of 1. Special mention to Smith for that save and Manneh for at least raising a smile with that epic debut.

***** pitch, ***** ref, ***** weather, niggly opposition. Fair ****s to the fans that went along, full away stand once again.

Exuberance1875

No really much he could have done about the sending off. Embarrassing refereeing

7,468 that's a more than decent attendance

I’m not exactly buzzing with the result but ref hasn’t done us any favours giving us zero protection.

Add Ross Hardie to the awful ref list.

The ref was really bad

But we can’t blame that on him. Start to finish today we were really poor and unable to make a pass

Absolute pish. Just glad we didn’t disrupt the harmony of the squad by bringing in more than one player in the January window.

Nonsense.

Fickle as ****.

tonyrougier123
Moment of that game was smiths double save. Won us a point.

16-02-2025, 03:03 PM
That was guff. Third place probably out of reach unless we take something next week.Wtf - there's 12 games to go and we are 4 points behind Aberdeen

Another mental take on this thread [emoji23]

Exuberance1875
Unbeaten run up to 12 games and 3 consecutive clean sheets for the first time in a long time.

Smith and Rocky both been unreal recently

You’re a joke.

Zero shots on target.

That's the joke.

TrinityHFC
0 shots on target against St Mirren is unacceptable. Ref made himself the highlight of the game, as neither team was ever going to.

Unacceptable? What are you going to do to show your lack of acceptance?

Needs to call out his midfield as well for a honking performance. We could play for another 90 mins and not create a single chance.[emoji35]

Apart from O’Hora header you mean? Yip we hardly created anything but don’t panic

16-02-2025, 03:04 PM
Some ridiculously biased refereeing going on towards the end there. Hibs players getting booked on the most flimsy of excuses while Saints players can more or less foul at will! Don't know how much of a difference it would have made but the 2 yellows dished out to our new signing were both soft as dug ***** - result that we were defending a point in the closing 5-10 mins rather than pushing for all 3.

Not pretty

Take the point

We’ve no midfield apart from triantis. Absolutely zero creativity

That was absolutely dire and I'm well aware we could've done infinitely better in any number of situations there, but that's 210 minutes of St Mirren v Edinburgh dross this week. Can't overlook what a tough place to play football that is, so well done Hibs for again looking like a well organised hard to beat side.

We're short on good midfielders and an effective inform forward. Without that, it was always going to be a grind.

I don't think we're the third best team in the league, but then again whoever it is - with no obvious candidates - we're clearly not far away from them.

Absolute pish. Just glad we didn’t disrupt the harmony of the squad by bringing in more than one player in the January window.Unbeaten in 12 games btw

Last lost was over 2 months ago

Good point after the red card but we need to be better.

Sioux

stfu!

Olusanya just delighted to get out of Rocky’s back pocket and get home for his tea

That’s..

Killie
Ross County
St Mirren
St Johnstone

4 out of 12 top flight pitches aren’t good enough for this level.
The moneys not there to produce pitches you see in the EPL and Championship, fact of life I'm afraid.

ChicoM1875
16-02-2025, 03:05 PM
Some ridiculously biased refereeing going on towards the end there. Hibs players getting booked on the most flimsy of excuses while Saints players can more or less foul at will! Don't know how much of a difference it would have made but the 2 yellows dished out to our new signing were both soft as dug ***** - result that we were defending a point in the closing 5-10 mins rather than pushing for all 3.

Wasn't biased. It was just crap. ST Mirren had a number of questionable decisions against them throughout too

7 games left till the top 6 split..

2 of the 7 against Old Firm.

We also have the Derby at home.

Need to really win the Derby and win our 2 home games against Dundee and St J.

Will also need an away win possibly against Dundee Utd or Killie.

Stairway 2 7
Unbeaten in 12 games btw

Last lost was over 2 months ago

That's amazing, bring on the Celtic

Clarence
The performances have not been great this year and our form is continuing to tend towards a mediocre plateau following our impressive end to 2024. We really need Newell and Youan back and need Bowie and Myko to get back to peak fitness.

EGL2000
16-02-2025, 03:06 PM
***** game, rocky class and never a red card!

Our run lately has been brilliant.

But not beating St Mirren, County or St Johnstone away from home is so frustrating.

It’s also the “what if” etc I know but in games like these we just need that bit more quality and creativity

cubehindthegoal
Sevco / Celtic player never getting the 2 yellows we got today.

I know. Find it bizarre some here never seem to see that. Been same for years. Anyway, given all that, we got a point, and a clean sheet with an apparently crap defence, if you believe all you read 🙄

Need to get Rocky signed up again, hopefully he wants to stay!

The moneys not there to produce pitches you see in the EPL and Championship, fact of life I'm afraid.

Teams spend money on players instead of infrastructure.

Prime example Livi and Killie with minimal pitch maintenance.

Nonsense.

Fickle as ****.

Aye what am I thinking. Waiting on players to come back that have been missing for a number of weeks and hoping they’ll be able to make a difference.

Paul1642
16-02-2025, 03:07 PM
Smith and Rocky both been unreal recently

Just checked and it’s March 2022 that we last had 3 consecutive clean sheets. No idea when we last went 4 as my scores app doesn’t go back past 2020. Unfortunately Celtic up next makes that unlikely anyway :(

But not beating St Mirren, County or St Johnstone away from home is so frustrating.

It’s also the “what if” etc I know but in games like these we just need that bit more quality and creativityThe lack of creativity in the middle of the park is killing us.
Everything seems to be laboured with no pace.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

No point he will end up taking a ban just shake hands and move on. Collum should be embarrassed that he’s given that guy a premiership match.

Nah, ref needs called out or he will think he has had a good day, he was clearly guessing about decisions.

GRA
Had to grind that out near the end.

Said after Rangers game as long as we win our home games and keep the unbeaten run going... Still only 4 points off 3rd and 12 unbeaten now.

A tough few weeks ahead though.

Paul1642
Moment of that game was smiths double save. Won us a point.

Best save I’ve seen a Hibs keeper make in a very very long time.

HibeeHendo
Unbeaten in 12 and folk are greeting. Some of our fans are genuinely insufferable.

NC1875
16-02-2025, 03:08 PM
That was poor.

The pitch didn’t help, and neither did the ref.

The standard of the league from 3rd to 11th is much of a muchness.

The next 3 games are massive in the fight for top 6, never mind finishing 3rd.

While not perfect I do feel we miss Newell and Youan to add some X factor and speed up top.

Rocky was really good again there

Smith was also excellent today.

Unbeaten in 12 and folk are greeting. Some of our fans are genuinely insufferable.

It was a terrible game but we’re approaching a third of the season unbeaten. People entitled to say today was really poor but also needs that caveat.

Need to get Rocky signed up again, hopefully he wants to stay!

He's class. Totally deserves a new deal

This 100% 3 times over - and by the way I don't think Gogic would have deserved an early bath either.

He had a couple of beauties against Ayr too

Donegal Hibby
Awful match which was expected considering who we were playing and the state of pitch .. sending off was absolutely disgraceful. Good point all things considered .

TrinityHFC
Zero shots on target.

That's the joke.

I don’t believe you’re a Hibs fan anyway. And if you do happen to be then you’re just an idiot.

Souter96Mac
16-02-2025, 03:09 PM
Fouls committed
St Mirren 14
Hibs 8

Cards
St Mirren 4
Hibs 4 (including the 2nd yellow)

Yup seems about right

Yeah - finally a keeper who can actually win us some points.

Rocky and Smith did well today.

Mcbizz1998
Rocky talking about moving houses when asked about his contract situation!?

cameronw-hfc
I rate Bowie but he really, really needs told to stay on his feet. Ref was honking today but Bowie went down easy 3/4 times and that will go against him when he's actually fouled

MacGruber
Disappointing and frustrating but saying no positives is probably reacting to those emotions. Smith played very well, Rocky excellent, defended well and another clean sheet. A resilience in the team still not to get beat. No mean feat going 12 unbeaten a in all fairness an away point at St Mirren in isolation isn't a terrible result.
Game was crap though. Our general play middle to front was crap and really needed 3 points to push for third which is going to be very difficult now with run of games to come

HarpOnHibee
Unacceptable? What are you going to do to show your lack of acceptance?

Probably grumble about it for a day or two, then move on. I would think you'd be more interested in what the team is going to do about it, as Celtic are going to utterly annihilate us based on that showing.

allmodcons
16-02-2025, 03:10 PM

A sad attention seeking post that ignores the weather conditions, the terrible pitch and a shocking referee.

Maybe if Boyle could stay onside we might get a shot and he needs to be passing the ball more when players are in a better position than he is.

Ron D Hibbie
This ref needs put down the leagues after this. Absolutely garbage from him.

Far too much for him.

Thats where the clown has come from.

I’m hoping that was just lost in translation a bit

Asked if he’d like to stay and he said “of course but we’ll see”

He's bought a big mansion after signing a bumper new contract.

Poor game on a shocking pitch against a team of hammer throwers and a corrupt very poor ref. All things considered it's a point but we should still should be beating a team like this, it only really shows how much of an overhaul we actually need when we're seeing players like Kwon playing. We still lack creativity and guile, the ball flying through the air far too much and no one putting their foot on the ball and dictating play, oh how I long for a Scott Allan type of player.

I don’t believe you’re a Hibs fan anyway. And if you do happen to be then you’re just an idiot.

He’s not wrong. We were dreadful today. Poor tactics and really poor performances

It’s also the “what if” etc I know but in games like these we just need that bit more quality and creativity

It is frustrating but from where we were to where we are now it’s not the end of the world.

Yes. Big love for DG but on a few occasions now I've heard him say a point away from home is never a bad thing. But they feel like missed opportunities. We are not creating much on the road right now but grinding out points to keep the run going.

Can't always be at your best though and that's a massive contribution again from the goalie. He is now someone that wins us points.

16-02-2025, 03:11 PM

Think he meant that's stuff you have to think about when your contract is running down.

cubehindthegoal
Wtf - there's 12 games to go and we are 4 points behind Aberdeen

Another mental take on this thread [emoji23]

Exactly. Even one win against aberdeen makes big difference … omg negativity marsh this place can be 🙄

That was dire but will take a point.

I rate Bowie but he really, really needs told to stay on his feet. Ref was honking today but Bowie went down easy 3/4 times and that will go against him when he's actually fouled

I really like him too but sometimes think he needs to try and just play his game a bit more and not always get into a wrestling match with defenders

The quality of ball into him needs to improve though, get it into his feet and let him do something

Some of the balls give him no option but to try fight for it

Paul1642
16-02-2025, 03:12 PM

Never seen this. Got a link to the interview or a quote?

16-02-2025, 03:12 PM
**** game but we remain unbeaten and gain points on Utd this weekend. Rocky and Smith have been tremendous in recent weeks. We still miss a real striker. Bowie won't be fully up to speed until next season.

16-02-2025, 03:13 PM
It was good to get the point after the red card.

However, we MUST address the lack of creativity in the team in the summer. We really don’t create many chances in games. And draws against teams we should win are going to cost us Europe.

On the plus side, even mentioning the word Europe 3 months ago would have been ridiculous, so while frustrated at not winning, can’t be too disappointed overall.

"if you can't win, don't Lose"

We would not have held out earlier in the season

A sad attention seeking post that ignores the weather conditions, the terrible pitch and a shocking referee.

Zero shots on target because of the pitch and the weather 😂😂

TrinityHFC
16-02-2025, 03:14 PM
He’s not wrong. We were dreadful today. Poor tactics and really poor performances

After the run we’ve had and in the conditions today talking about it being disgraceful and players not interested is wrong.

Not an isolated post. Some can’t wait to attack the club at every opportunity. It is a ridiculous response to a disappointing game.

16-02-2025, 03:15 PM
Sometimes you just get crap games of football.

Aye OK then 😂😂

Hibs played bad today wahhhh

richard_pitts
16-02-2025, 03:17 PM
Poor game and a disaster of a debut. However defence was solid and the keeper saved our bacon. Not something we could say earlier in the season

16-02-2025, 03:17 PM
We were honking going forward and a draw was all we deserved. All Gayle had in the first half was a load of long balls to chase and to be fair to him he made a decent job of it the few times one of those long punts landed within 10 yards of him.

Boyle was absolutely terrible and if it wasn't for the fact Gayle can't last 90 minutes he would surely have been the one hooked for Bowie. Our midfield barely put a move together.

Rocky was immense and Smith made a brilliant save, the only two along with possibly Iredale to emerge with any credit.

As for the ref ..... If there was ever a case that a 2nd yellow leading to a red should be reviewed by VAR that is it, that was no more a yellow than Kwon is an effective midfield player ... an utter utter joke of a decision. That aside it seems the St Mirren players could bundle Hibs players over from the back with impunity and how he missed the shirt pull on Triantis right in front of him is baffling ...... the standard of refereeing in this league is an absolute joke.

The only positive to take from that is that we managed to hold out with 10 men for once. If we have any hope of 3rd or even 4th we have to be far better than this.

16-02-2025, 03:18 PM
He's bought a big mansion after signing a bumper new contract.

Who knows but unless he’s moving to another SPL team, it doesn’t sound like he’s moving country as was speculated based on his comment.

After the run we’ve had and in the conditions today talking about it being disgraceful and players not interested is wrong.

Not an isolated post. Some can’t wait to attack the club at every opportunity. It is a ridiculous response to a disappointing game.

The club has been getting plenty praise for the run we are on. We were stinking today. And it was a massive chance to confirm top 6. We really struggle against stuffy teams and id have liked to have seen a change in tactics rather than just launch every ball into the channels. The refs performance will get Dave a pass for what was a terrible team performance.

HarpOnHibee

No, it's a response of disappointment to a disappointing game. Not sure what else you expect. We never looked like scoring at all today and we weren't exactly convincing against Ayr United. Yes the pitch was rubbish, the weather was rubbish and the ref was rubbish. But so were we and there's nothing wrong with pointing that out.

16-02-2025, 03:19 PM
If we are starting Josh Campbell when everyone is fit then we are not a side looking to play good football

Think we would benefit from dropping Campbell for a spell. Boyle given a game or two rest as been really poor the last 2 games. Hopefully we also don’t play Kwon again, if we’re down to the bones persist with NMW who is at least our own player and a small chance he develops his rough edges.

On the plus side, our defence won’t see us lose too many games.

Hibiza
Well done everyone : keep it going .

16-02-2025, 03:20 PM

I don't think that's remotely true. St Mirren are a tough side - particularly at home - as they've shown on many occasions this season. We have no divine right to victory. The players did not lack for effort - composure maybe, but St Mirren obviously set out not to allow us to play as we'd have liked. They had a little help from the ref as well towards the end - a period we maybe would have hoped to grab the spoils.

16-02-2025, 03:20 PM
Impossible to play passing football on that pitch. It didn't suit us at all and we were forced into playing the long ball like St Mirren. The game ended up 50/50 as a result. The referee lost the plot in the last 30 minutes. A mixture of dishing out yellow cards for nothing and not blowing for obvious fouls.

We'd have lost that game earlier in the season. The difference is we can defend now and we have a decent keeper.

A point is not too bad all things considered.

Exuberance1875
16-02-2025, 03:21 PM
David Gray handles himself so well, never speaks poorly and is very calculated in what he says

TrinityHFC
16-02-2025, 03:23 PM
No, it's a response of disappointment to a disappointing game. Not sure what else you expect. We never looked like scoring at all today and we weren't exactly convincing against Ayr United. Yes the pitch was rubbish, the weather was rubbish and the ref was rubbish. But so were we and there's nothing wrong with pointing that out.

That’s miles away from calling the players a disgrace and saying they weren’t interested. That’s what I’m responding to.

16-02-2025, 03:24 PM

We were 23 points behind Aberdeen 14 games ago, we are now 4 points behind them with 12 games left but won't be able to catch them (and Dundee Utd) if we lose to Celtic? 🤔

16-02-2025, 03:24 PM
I wouldn’t have any complaints if both clubs were deducted points for that brutal spectacle this afternoon.

Up-the-slope
16-02-2025, 03:26 PM
Smith was also excellent today.

:agree: Remember early season when we doubted we had any Keeper that was anywhere near decent. He's certainly doing decent now

dchibs
16-02-2025, 03:29 PM
Something needs to be done about this quality of refereeing. It’s absolutely embarrassing. Live on TV too
What station was it on live?:cb

HarpOnHibee
16-02-2025, 03:29 PM
I wouldn’t have any complaints if both clubs were deducted points for that brutal spectacle this afternoon.

Shhht! Don't give the SFA any ideas. :worried:

16-02-2025, 03:30 PM
The club has been getting plenty praise for the run we are on. We were stinking today. And it was a massive chance to confirm top 6. We really struggle against stuffy teams and id have liked to have seen a change in tactics rather than just launch every ball into the channels. The refs performance will get Dave a pass for what was a terrible team performance.

A terrible team performance where we were down to 10 for the last 10 would've been a loss 4 months ago. I agree that that was dire, and I'm sure SDG will know that, but with that pitch, that weather, that ref *and* that performance (Rocky and Smith excepted) a point in the back pocket is to be taken back to civilisation and acknowledged as the best we could've got (taking into account all that well ofcl the above factors were not in our favour)

16-02-2025, 03:31 PM

Premier Sports, watched it live from Switzerland.

16-02-2025, 03:32 PM
It’s a mad rule about the wrong VAR check and Hibs should be getting a corner instead no pen and no corner!
This - astonishing that VAR calling out the ref on a ridiculous decision results in an obvious Hibs corner becoming a drop ball to St Mirren.

16-02-2025, 03:32 PM

premier sports dude.

TrinityHFC
16-02-2025, 03:34 PM
This - astonishing that VAR calling out the ref on a ridiculous decision results in an obvious Hibs corner becoming a drop ball to St Mirren.

It is irritating but the corner never happened as the whistle went in theory before the ball went out.

cubehindthegoal
16-02-2025, 03:35 PM
I really like him too but sometimes think he needs to try and just play his game a bit more and not always get into a wrestling match with defenders

The quality of ball into him needs to improve though, get it into his feet and let him do something

Some of the balls give him no option but to try fight for it

He’s developing, and is a young player. I’ve no worries about him, his attitude and desire are plain to see, and if the development in Rockys play is any evidence, we are now developing youngish players in a better way.

Midfield is a work in progress similar to the forward line, and in some ways even the defence is still a work in progress, but progress is showing there more in the first place, which I would say is a good thing for the relative rebuild we seem to be in the middle of.

NC1875
16-02-2025, 03:37 PM

Said that to the father in law as well.

The referees incompetence then loses us the chance of scoring from the corner.

I didn’t think it was possible, but the refereeing gets worse every week!

16-02-2025, 03:40 PM
Wasn't biased. It was just crap. ST Mirren had a number of questionable decisions against them throughout too

It was 100% biased in the closing stages - Alasana booked for his 1st tackle and then off for barely a foul. Meanwhile St Midden are steaming in left right and centre - usually with no foul given.

allmodcons
16-02-2025, 03:43 PM

A team of ‘uninterested’ players unbeaten in 10 league games!

HarpOnHibee
16-02-2025, 03:44 PM
It is irritating but the corner never happened as the whistle went in theory before the ball went out.

It's ludicrous. Hibs got robbed of an advantage because the referee made a wrong call. You'd think they could look at that and consider that the ball was always heading out for a corner anyway, regardless of whether the whistle was blown or not, then just award the corner. It's just another example where officials try to do everything by the exact letter of the law, even in situations where they have to ignore common sense in order to apply it.

Erm....... Premier sports.

I’m surprised he put Menneh on today TBH. Whilst I’ve no idea how he will take to Scottish football he looks to be a player who likes to play on the deck. That pitch alone had me worried about him getting a run out. That plus the opposition I didn’t think he would stand a chance today.

Not taking away the ridiculous decision to sent him off though.

cubehindthegoal
16-02-2025, 03:47 PM
Think we would benefit from dropping Campbell for a spell. Boyle given a game or two rest as been really poor the last 2 games. Hopefully we also don’t play Kwon again, if we’re down to the bones persist with NMW who is at least our own player and a small chance he develops his rough edges.

On the plus side, our defence won’t see us lose too many games.

Fair summation. I’d say there are more positives too, given how we have done past couple months.

I’d also add myself (not related to what you said) , that we were not “disgraceful” today, that’s for sure. I’d love to see anyone who said that, to say it to one of our players faces.

We are improving, simple as, so that deserves support and positive comments surely. And though today we did “ball watch” a little early on, we did ok I would say, in a poor match to watch (it happens).

cubehindthegoal
16-02-2025, 03:50 PM
It was 100% biased in the closing stages - Alasana booked for his 1st tackle and then off for barely a foul. Meanwhile St Midden are steaming in left right and centre - usually with no foul given.

Amazes me anyone doesn’t see this, in front of their own eyes.

16-02-2025, 03:57 PM

Ayunga got booked for barely touching Rocky

The ref had multiple shockers today

16-02-2025, 04:02 PM
A team of ‘uninterested’ players unbeaten in 10 league games!

You know perfectly well I was referring to the game this afternoon in my earlier post.

Zero shots at goal!

16-02-2025, 04:04 PM
You know perfectly well I was referring to the game this afternoon in my earlier post.

Zero shots at goal!We had 8 shots at goal didn't we?

16-02-2025, 04:05 PM
We had 8 shots at goal didn't we?

Sorry. I meant ZERO on target.

HarpOnHibee
16-02-2025, 04:08 PM
We had 8 shots at goal didn't we?

Gave their goalkeeper something to watch besides the birds flying by.

TrinityHFC
16-02-2025, 04:09 PM

Zero shots at goal!

Think you also know perfectly well that our recent record is context to show that the players are not disgrace or uninterested.

Reactionary nonsense.

16-02-2025, 04:09 PM
Wondering if I'll ever see Hibs lose a game again?

16-02-2025, 04:11 PM
Think you also know perfectly well that our recent record is context to show that the players are not disgrace or uninterested.

Reactionary nonsense.

Still second in the form guide last 10 games. Players clearly care.

Was just a garbage brutal game of football. Expected as much after their game against Hearts on Monday. Equally as pish.

Mcbizz1998
16-02-2025, 04:12 PM
According to the BBC we missed the chance to go 4th. Where do they get these clowns?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/live/c4gpkrzw9vrt

He's here!
16-02-2025, 04:12 PM
That's a good, hard-earned point all things considered and keeps us healthily placed in the table.

Plenty games like that in the past we'd have lost 1-0. Well done Hibs.

16-02-2025, 04:13 PM
Poor game on a shocking pitch against a team of hammer throwers and a corrupt very poor ref. All things considered it's a point but we should still should be beating a team like this, it only really shows how much of an overhaul we actually need when we're seeing players like Kwon playing. We still lack creativity and guile, the ball flying through the air far too much and no one putting their foot on the ball and dictating play, oh how I long for a Scott Allan type of player.
Sadly, Scott Allan types don’t grow on trees. One of the finest players I’ve ever seen in my over 50 years watching Hibs.

16-02-2025, 04:13 PM

Reactionary nonsense.

I never said it wasn't.

Today was dire though. So many of our team were dreadful. Apart from Smith and Rocky the rest were extremely poor. If your happy with that then you crack on.

I'm away for a pint.

supermcginn
16-02-2025, 04:15 PM
If we are starting Josh Campbell when everyone is fit then we are not a side looking to play good football

Spot on, we are absolutely crying out for an attacking midfielder with a bit of quality and vision.

He's here!
16-02-2025, 04:15 PM
Sorry. I meant ZERO on target.

Too much gets made of that sort of stat. We had a reasonable number of efforts on goal and while the one the keeper saved wouldn't have counted it was on target.

Sure it wasn't a classic, but it's not as though we failed to register any kind of attempt on goal and we came away with a decent point with ten men. I thought we did just fine.

allmodcons
16-02-2025, 04:17 PM

Zero shots at goal!

I think you’re missing the point.

You suggested that same team, on a lengthy unbeaten run, couldn’t be bothered today. You said they weren’t interested.

I thought the conditions, the pitch and a poor referee were all factors in what was a poor display but not for one minute would I say the players weren’t interested

dchibs
16-02-2025, 04:18 PM
Erm....... Premier sports.
Yes I did see it was on premier sports but you have to pay for it.:greengrin

16-02-2025, 04:18 PM
Apart from O’Hora header you mean? Yip we hardly created anything but don’t panic

Not created by the midfield but fair enough.

16-02-2025, 04:19 PM
Paisley is always an awkward place to go. Draw is good.

16-02-2025, 04:21 PM
Boyle getting a lot of criticism for his performance today, but I honestly thought that was largely down to Taylor (Saints' number 5), who had a fantastic game.

16-02-2025, 04:25 PM
We were 23 points behind Aberdeen 14 games ago, we are now 4 points behind them with 12 games left but won't be able to catch them (and Dundee Utd) if we lose to Celtic? 🤔

Exactly. Some pretty unfathomable comments on this thread. Bizarre.

cubehindthegoal
16-02-2025, 04:27 PM
According to the BBC we missed the chance to go 4th. Where do they get these clowns?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/live/c4gpkrzw9vrt

They’re just rewording their thoughts, regardless of the facts in front of them … “yes, they didn’t win” some there would express on a day like this. Pretty sure there’s no hearts bias at bbc scotland though 🙄

allmodcons
16-02-2025, 04:29 PM
Boyle getting a lot of criticism for his performance today, but I honestly thought that was largely down to Taylor (Saints' number 5), who had a fantastic game.

Agree with this plus the fact St Mirren imposed themselves on our wingbacks thereby starving our midfielders and forwards of any decent ball.

cubehindthegoal
16-02-2025, 04:29 PM
I never said it wasn't.

Today was dire though. So many of our team were dreadful. Apart from Smith and Rocky the rest were extremely poor. If your happy with that then you crack on.

I'm away for a pint.

tbf it’s not the b all and end all surely … isn’t that football, up and down, don’t play well every week … so you do have to look at it in context too ?

When I was able to go see Hibs every week, I knew it wasn’t all good .. fact is it’s been much worse than today in the past, way worse. Doesn’t mean I don’t want better … but I’m also not a glory hunter (and I’m not saying you are either, not at all) and can’t cope with defeat, or bad weeks. It’s Hibs, ffs. We know the score by now … and just now, just maybe, the rollercoaster is on the up … let’s get behind it a bit I say.

16-02-2025, 04:31 PM

I'll lay some of the blame on the playing surface, but Boyle had a mare. Couldn't control it when played into him and was constantly over hitting it when dribbling. Oh, and he was offside about 40000 times.

16-02-2025, 04:32 PM
That's a good, hard-earned point all things considered and keeps us healthily placed in the table.

Plenty games like that in the past we'd have lost 1-0. Well done Hibs.

Agree decent point all things considered

cubehindthegoal
16-02-2025, 04:36 PM
Agree with this plus the fact St Mirren imposed themselves on our wingbacks thereby starving our midfielders and forwards of any decent ball.

These are good points … I’m as guilty as anyone else of forgetting that what the other team do makes a difference ! Maybe our manager and players do a good job sometimes of combatting that, and putting points on the board.

16-02-2025, 04:40 PM

Agree he was very good wonder if we are interested in him

badabing67
16-02-2025, 04:46 PM

Not heard that, where did you hear/see it. Hopefully moving from rented to buying in the Edinburgh area if true

badabing67
16-02-2025, 04:52 PM
That was dire but will take a point.

Exactly, the type of game we having been losing over the last few seasons never mind just earlier on this season. I hope Joe Newell is not far away cause we need him back in the middle imo

16-02-2025, 04:56 PM
Agree he was very good wonder if we are interested in him

He was absolutely stinking against hearts on Monday. Of course he didn’t put a foot wrong today

Chorley Hibee
16-02-2025, 05:09 PM
Draws at St Mirren, Ross County, St Johnstone etc are going to cost us a real chance at third place.

That today was confirmation that we needed further quality added to the squad in January to have a chance.

Well done Rocky and Smith on another strong performance.

16-02-2025, 05:10 PM
Just back, that was grim viewing.

Was never going to be a thing of beauty with the way St Mirren play or the pitch. Was disappointed with us though. Never really thought we showed enough intent or urgency to go and try and win the game at any point.

Campbell will get on the end of things now and again but the lack of creativity from that position when in possession makes us too predictable.

HFC93
16-02-2025, 05:13 PM
Draws at St Mirren, Ross County, St Johnstone etc are going to cost us a real chance at third place.

That today was confirmation that we needed further quality added to the squad in January to have a chance.

Our form from August to November is going to cost us third. A point in Paisley is a decent result.

16-02-2025, 05:21 PM
Our form from August to November is going to cost us third. A point in Paisley is a decent result.

In isolation it isn’t a disaster. But where we are and what we need to do, it wasn’t a particularly good point IMO. We looked quite content with a point for much of the game.

16-02-2025, 05:22 PM

Agreed. To only sign one player was bad enough, but that one player is clearly not ready to impact games right now. It might have been a better idea to sign him on a pre contract and sign someone else in the January window.

16-02-2025, 05:24 PM
Agreed. To only sign one player was bad enough, but that one player is clearly not ready to impact games right now. It might have been a better idea to sign him on a pre contract and sign someone else in the January window.He only played 12 minutes today before a shocking refereeing decision ended his game, how can you possibly deduce all that?

I say that with the Myziane worst debut in human history reasonably fresh in the mind [emoji6]

16-02-2025, 05:27 PM
He only played 12 minutes today before a shocking refereeing decision ended his game, how can you possibly deduce all that?

I say that with the Myziane worst debut in human history reasonably fresh in the mind [emoji6]

To be fair, he made his cameo debut on the 16th of February, with the transfer window opening on the 1st January.

PHeffernan
16-02-2025, 05:40 PM
Our game today unfolded as expected.
Thought we would tire them out and go for it in the last quarter of the match but Manneh quickly put that to bed.
It played out like the recent St J and Ross County games where we never looked like conceding a goal due to our very good defence but importantly hardly looked like scoring either. It's our new issue, hopefully the return of Youan and Newell can swing the balance.
In reality today's result was okay but we badly wanted a win to make up for chucking 2 points away in Perth.

The form guide, ignoring Celgers, has us 2nd best equal with 10 points from the last 6 league games. That's equal with Ross County and Kilmarnock and Hearts are the form team having taken 13 points. That difference is down to us winning only 2 of those 6 games.

Next weekend likely sees Hearts move to within a point of us and Dundee Utd extend the gap between us given we have Cellik at home, Hearts are playing in Perth and DU are playing at home to Motherwell.

16-02-2025, 05:40 PM
He only played 12 minutes today before a shocking refereeing decision ended his game, how can you possibly deduce all that?

To be clear here I am not questioning his ability I’m saying we’ve signed a player who is not ready to start games and we have no idea when he will. It was two weeks after the window closed before he was ready to even make the bench.

16-02-2025, 05:42 PM

Was never going to be a thing of beauty with the way St Mirren play or the pitch. Was disappointed with us though. Never really thought we showed enough intent or urgency to go and try and win the game at any point.

Campbell will get on the end of things now and again but the lack of creativity from that position when in possession makes us too predictable.
Totally agree with every word.

16-02-2025, 05:50 PM
To be clear here I am not questioning his ability I’m saying we’ve signed a player who is not ready to start games and we have no idea when he will. It was two weeks after the window closed before he was ready to even make the bench.

I also wouldn’t have had it down as a priority position to fill. With Newell to come back, Levitt as well and him I think it’ll be much of a muchness. We needed to be looking at someone who could play and create further up the park. Thought today showed that again. It was a case of getting on the end of a cross or getting Boyle in behind. Too predictable for most of the game, we just really need something centrally to help with that.

Chorley Hibee
16-02-2025, 05:59 PM

In isolation, it's not a bad result, but on the back of the others I've mentioned, and the manner in which it was achieved, I don't think it's good enough.

That 90 minutes was a crime against football.

NC1875
16-02-2025, 06:00 PM
I also wouldn’t have had it down as a priority position to fill. With Newell to come back, Levitt as well and him I think it’ll be much of a muchness. We needed to be looking at someone who could play and create further up the park. Thought today showed that again. It was a case of getting on the end of a cross or getting Boyle in behind. Too predictable for most of the game, we just really need something centrally to help with that.

It’s exactly the type of game Campbell shouldn’t be playing. He’s useless against stuffy teams. We really need some creativity in there, he just doesn’t have it.

A point away to St Mirren is not the worst in isolation but harder to accept when we didn’t really turn up.

16-02-2025, 06:03 PM

I’m hoping that’s the type of player Manneh is otherwise I totally agree.

16-02-2025, 06:08 PM

Agree I think DG is actually between a rock and a hard place. He wants a number ten tucked in to give attacking impetus but at times it was and has been just triantis and whoever next to him in there and it reminded me of when Monty was set in his ways with two in midfield and how we were regularly out numbered.

In a way I think we’d be better lining up a flat three and just go together as a unit especially in away games

16-02-2025, 06:10 PM
I also wouldn’t have had it down as a priority position to fill. With Newell to come back, Levitt as well and him I think it’ll be much of a muchness. We needed to be looking at someone who could play and create further up the park. Thought today showed that again. It was a case of getting on the end of a cross or getting Boyle in behind. Too predictable for most of the game, we just really need something centrally to help with that.He does have a good amount of assists to him name this season so he must be in some way creative

Not sure if that's from deeper or further up the park

TrinityHFC
16-02-2025, 06:14 PM
In isolation, it's not a bad result, but on the back of the others I've mentioned, and the manner in which it was achieved, I don't think it's good enough.

That 90 minutes was a crime against football.

This is the thing now. Whatever we do now it is going to be not good enough.

If we won every game in the last 3 mths and were somehow close to Celtic we’d be saying it wasn’t good enough that we hadn’t capitalised to get even closer.

Teams that win tiltes regularly draw these types of away games.

We can’t change our start so a bit of context needs applied. We aren’t winning every game between now and the end of the season.

16-02-2025, 06:18 PM
He does have a good amount of assists to him name this season so he must be in some way creative

Not sure if that's from deeper or further up the park

Two in the league, both times getting his head on a corner. Won the penalty against Rangers as well with a late run in to the box. As I say, he’ll go and get on the end of things but we need more than that in that position IMO.

16-02-2025, 06:19 PM

Yep it’s incredibly frustrating that the plums running us have been throwing good money after bad for 3 years, and the year we have a more than decent chance to get 3rd they tighten the purse strings. It really does highlight how little they I we what they are doing.

A strong dynamic attacking player on loan could have earned us 5-6 mill if we get group stage footy.