View Full Version : What's the latest with Youan?
12-06-2025, 08:21 AM
Makes no sense whatsoever.
Why?
If he isn’t sold in the summer he will have to perform if he wants a move to a decent club
His injury troubles will be behind him fresh start and I firmly believe all footballers want to play
The guy is a cracking player on song and if he is looking to get picked up albeit without a fee to us he will have to put himself in the shop window
By all accounts his attitude is spot on it is just this pesky niggling injury that is holding him back
A fully fit Youan will give us another attacking option
21 goals in 95 appearances and probably the same number of assists?
Just checked 20 assists makes 41 goal contributions
Looks delighted to be here in image attached
Edit
Just seen Paulie’s post Hesrts fans I know were applauding his play and trickery when he came on in the Shankland game and were delighted he did not start
Against Hearts at Tiny he was totally anonymous first half then burst into life with a quick fire brace to make it 2-2 Hearts fans are scared of him
https://i.ibb.co/xyBrXv7/IMG-3595.png (https://ibb.co/bxCGQhK)
12-06-2025, 09:55 AM
He definitely will.. but then again he’s been trying the last 3 seasons so there’ll be nothing new there.
All this pish about how he doesn’t try, he’s got 40 goals and assists for the club in 95 games including doubles in derbies, doubles in wins against Celtic (and other goals against them as well) and scored and assisted in multiple European games for the club. What a ****ing player he must be if he doesn’t even try.
Agreed, his stats are very good, probably some of the best in the league.
He's been injured, just like Newell, simple as that.
Most players are trying to further their careers and move to a better league (unless you play for Madrid / Barca / Liverpool etc).............but no player will do that by sitting on their hoop in the stand while the team plays.
Youan is a very exciting player, and opposing fans I speak to hate it when he is playing for us.
The closed season is murder, the moaning about everything off the park just goes into hyperdrive.
12-06-2025, 10:04 AM
Aye I know. But a lot of negative stuff seems to have resurfaced the past few days. Nasty and classless imo.
12-06-2025, 11:10 AM
No doubt he will been trying next season, last 12 months of his deal and will be trying to get his next move
And that is a bad thing why? You'd rather he didn't try?
1875Sean
12-06-2025, 11:17 AM
And that is a bad thing why? You'd rather he didn't try?
It isn’t when he is performing on the pitch, the bad thing is we will lose him on a free
random sub
12-06-2025, 06:48 PM
Great player who I love watching. Hope he stays, but only if he’s committed to us
Paul1642
12-06-2025, 09:31 PM
We obviously need to balance things financially and I’m all for selling Youan, but it’s worth considering he might ending up staying and hit top form next season.
Looking at our potential team for next season and adding an on form Youan would be frightening exciting.
12-06-2025, 10:43 PM
Embarrassing some of these posts. He's a player that has more than contributed to us over his time at the club, he spends time out injured and certain people desperate to get on his back.
Hope we see Elie back fit for Europe as he'd be a great addition.
21 goals and 17 assists in 95 games. Not a bad return at all.
A cracking player who I’d love to see back on the pitch for us.
:agree: Spot on. There is no doubt he has his flaws, but you have people describing him as a liability which is just utter nonsense.:rolleyes:
Billy Bunter 07
12-06-2025, 10:47 PM
Some trying to convince themselves Youan has been anything but a massive disappointment who will cost the club millions based on the past 18 months I see.
Donegal Hibby
12-06-2025, 11:25 PM
Some trying to convince themselves Youan has been anything but a massive disappointment who will cost the club millions based on the past 18 months I see.
Players get injuries and have set backs all the time , it’s part and parcel of football I’d say . There’s another way to look at in after the injuries ,set backs and the time he’s been out he comes back this season hungry and firing on all cylinders helping us in Europe and the league thus helping us make money while attracting potential interest from clubs in January.
Paulie Walnuts
13-06-2025, 05:40 AM
I don’t think anyone would argue that it’s been disappointing to not see more of Youan the last 18 months, so that’s nonsense.
Hows he going to cost the club millions? :confused:
Sioux
13-06-2025, 07:19 AM
Players get injuries and have set backs all the time , it’s part and parcel of football I’d say . There’s another way to look at in after the injuries ,set backs and the time he’s been out he comes back this season hungry and firing on all cylinders helping us in Europe and the league thus helping us make money while attracting potential interest from clubs in January.
What sort of fantasy world do you live in?
Donegal Hibby
13-06-2025, 08:56 AM
Not as big a one as some folk that are saying in the players downed tools , refusing to play , faking his juries etc . Gray has already stated that the player is most happy when he’s playing football . I don’t think it’s in any way far fetched to suggest that the guy could possibly be chomping at the bit to get back on the pitch and help the team .
Jock O
13-06-2025, 09:54 AM
Why is that a fantasy, its happened for lesser players, even at Hibs! All the time.
Honestly this place sometimes, what's that old saying, answer the point not the person!
13-06-2025, 10:06 AM
That's a needlessly miserable comment. I think you'll find it's called optimism and I'll be delighted if it turns out to be well founded. Youan is a fantastic player on his day and I'd be very happy to see him bolster our ranks for the challenges ahead.
13-06-2025, 10:16 AM
Why is that a fantasy, its happened for lesser players, even at Hibs! All the time.
Honestly this place sometimes, what's that old saying, answer the point not the person!
I have zero inside information, so all I can go by is what my eyes tell me. It's my opinion against those of others. Zero facts, 100% opinion. I believe my opinion to be just as valid as anyone else.
I'll repeat what my eyes told me. From the time after he returned from his injury that occurred in the League Cup game final seconds, I felt his application was shocking. He seemed to have zero understanding of what he was being asked to do. Some may say he downed tools.
However, occurring at the same time as our resurgence post Dundee, it was like a flick had been switched. Whether that was he was being played further forward and his instructions were clearer to him, or whether he was reacting to the negative comments made by ex professionals or whether it was focusing on the Winter transfer window, I don’t know.
It was quite clear he was frustrated at being substituted away at Tiny as he was in top form. Sadly, that was his season over apart from a last throw of the dice move against Celtic.
IMO, Youan doesn't fit well into the team dynamics that was so strong in the resurgence post-Dundee, part of which we can thank Youan for playing his part.
I can fully understand why some say "get rid" and I don't believe they should be criticised as being out of order. Many, including me, have had enough of a talented enigma. I hope he finds a club that he can display his exceptional (for the SPFL) talents.
SickBoy32
13-06-2025, 10:25 AM
:agree: Spot on. There is no doubt he has his flaws, but you have people describing him as a liability which is just utter nonsense.:rolleyes:
Utter nonsense? For approx 1.5 years - he has IMO been a net detractor within the squad.
I’m sure he’ll be on a decent wage relative to the squad, I’d personally be looking for more of a return than what we’ve seen. Given his numerous wantaway comments / snidey outbursts over the years, I also don’t think it’s too outlandish to hold some scepticism around his injuries.
Get rid, and bring in better (and more reliable) please Hibs 👍
Donegal Hibby
13-06-2025, 10:29 AM
https://www.tiktok.com/@stvnews/video/7441289197253627169
Sioux
13-06-2025, 11:55 AM
What's that got to do with you're fantasy that he'll be "hungry and firing on all cylinders helping us in Europe and the league thus helping us make money while attracting potential interest from clubs in January."
There's little or no evidence in the last 12 months or more of that happening. He'd be lucky to find himself an a starting 11 at Hibs right now.
Thatdayinmay16
13-06-2025, 12:07 PM
I think Hibs and Elie Youan need a fresh start. I don't see him being able to play as a wingback and I'm not convinced he is an out and out striker who can play as 1 of the 2 front options.
Moving him on allows us to bring in someone else, and him to move on and thrive elsewhere.
With him moving into the last year of his deal, I'd rather money was made available from his transfer than to lose him for nothing.
Donegal Hibby
13-06-2025, 12:11 PM
What's that got to do with you're fantasy that he'll be "hungry and firing on all cylinders helping us in Europe and the league thus helping us make money while attracting potential interest from clubs in January."
There's little or no evidence in the last 12 months or more of that happening. He'd be lucky to find himself an a starting 11 at Hibs right now.
There’s nothing fantasy about expecting a player that’s been out for a lengthy period wouldn’t be hungry and eager to get back playing again , really don’t know where you’re coming from on this . You think he’s not bothered about getting back playing again like?
Ship of Hope
13-06-2025, 12:21 PM
The same one as me! What sort do you live in just so I don’t end up going there on holiday by mistake. It sounds like it it would be a kind of glass half empty miserable place .. only having a laugh but I do think Youan is quality and contributed plenty to the team.. a goal or assist in almost every other game cannot be argued against surely?
He was hung out to dry in my opinion by montgomery who left him on the pitch when we were trying to defend a 1-0 lead in last minutes of a game. He should have recognised that defending is not youan super power but instead left him to be targeted by the opposition and open to fan criticism. Used properly Youan can be a real asset for us this season and I hope he hits top form. Why he hits top form I could not care less.
13-06-2025, 12:24 PM
The keepie-uppie issue is just a distraction from the main issue …… does he see himself with a future at Hibs. Supporters are divided, some think everything is hunky dory and others suspect something doesn’t ring true. I would have thought the air could easily have cleared by a brief video interview with the player. SDG’s occasional, brief comments on the situation don’t seem to have quelled the speculation.
Thatdayinmay16
13-06-2025, 12:24 PM
The same one as me! What sort do you live in just so I don’t end up going there on holiday by mistake. It sounds like it it would be a kind of glass half empty miserable place .. only having a laugh but I do think Youan is quality and contributed plenty to the team.. a goal or assist in almost every other game cannot be argued against surely?
He was hung out to dry in my opinion by montgomery who left him on the pitch when we were trying to defend a 1-0 lead in last minutes of a game. He should have recognised that defending is not youan super power but instead left him to be targeted by the opposition and open to fan criticism. Used properly Youan can be a real asset for us this season and I hope he hits top form. Why he hits top form I could not care less.
That is literally apart of Elie Youan's job.
Boyle's done it for years, we should expect all 11 players to be doing it whether its 1-0 or 5-0.
Donegal Hibby
13-06-2025, 01:43 PM
The keepie-uppie issue is just a distraction from the main issue …… does he see himself with a future at Hibs. Supporters are divided, some think everything is hunky dory and others suspect something doesn’t ring true. I would have thought the air could easily have cleared by a brief video interview with the player. SDG’s occasional, brief comments on the situation don’t seem to have quelled the speculation.
The keeping-uppie was another example of things getting totally blown out of portion by certain pundits and our own fans to a degree when it was quite clear the manager / staff and his teammates didn’t see a problem. Remember seeing Maradona doing exactly the same for Napoli .
The other conspiracy theories on him faking his injuries and refusing to play I haven’t bought into either as I don’t think he has anything to gain at all by faking injuries or refusing to play especially as some say he doesn’t want to be here and wants a move , Gray said he’s at his most happiest when playing football and also said at one time when he got injured that it was in an attempt to win a ball he didn’t have too . Gray has never given any indication that the players attitude has been poor and in fact it’s felt more like praise at times when discussing the player .
It looks like we are losing a player now who has been one of our standouts and yet at one point felt the need to ask “ why do the fans not like me? “ while it’s disappointing the way it’s went with Youan with his injuries he is an incredibly good player who can be a match winner and hopefully with a good pre-season and staying injury free can have a positive impact for us this season…
I don’t get the negativity towards him and if anything we should as fans be backing , giving him more support due to the time he’s been out injured IMO .
13-06-2025, 01:46 PM
I think Hibs and Elie Youan need a fresh start. I don't see him being able to play as a wingback and I'm not convinced he is an out and out striker who can play as 1 of the 2 front options.
Moving him on allows us to bring in someone else, and him to move on and thrive elsewhere.
With him moving into the last year of his deal, I'd rather money was made available from his transfer than to lose him for nothing.
I think we can safely rule that out. It's been more than a bit disappointing the way it's panned out after he went on a mini redemption at the start of our unbeaten run. Whatever his situation is if he's not going to play then let's move on.
13-06-2025, 01:59 PM
I don’t think any videos or whatever would greatly change anyone’s opinion. Managers and players say what they need to say in the media a lot of the time. Folk, generally, just base their opinions on what they see in front of them on the pitch though. For one reason or another, we’ve seen little of Youan in a positive sense over the last 18 months. If he comes back and starts the season well, is rattling in the goals, then there will be a whole different conversation. You only need to look at the conversation on Boyle and how that shifted since December. Before that there were folk talking about him being finished.
13-06-2025, 02:02 PM
The keeping-uppie was another example of things getting totally blown out of portion by certain pundits and our own fans to a degree when it was quite clear the manager / staff and his teammates didn’t see a problem. Remember seeing Maradona doing exactly the same for Napoli .
The other conspiracy theories on him faking his injuries and refusing to play I haven’t bought into either as I don’t think he has anything to gain at all by faking injuries or refusing to play especially as some say he doesn’t want to be here and wants a move , Gray said he’s at his most happiest when playing football and also said at one time when he got injured that it was in an attempt to win a ball he didn’t have too . Gray has never given any indication that the players attitude has been poor and in fact it’s felt more like praise at times when discussing the player .
It looks like we are losing a player now who has been one of our standouts and yet at one point felt the need to ask “ why do the fans not like me? “ while it’s disappointing the way it’s went with Youan with his injuries he is an incredibly good player who can be a match winner and hopefully with a good pre-season and staying injury free can have a positive impact for us this season…
I don’t get the negativity towards him and if anything we should as fans be backing , giving him more support due to the time he’s been out injured IMO .
Agreed. The keeper uppie thing was a farce. He was needlessly singled out and still Michael Stewart hasn't stopped putting the boot in.
Maybe there's a point around why all the players were looking disjointed and lacking concentration around the rest of the game. But where is the manager, where is the captain to rally the troops.
Elie was hard done by there.
13-06-2025, 02:03 PM
Standout? Not in season 2024/25.
Fans will always back players who give 100%, even if they are not that good. Players who fail to give 100% will get criticised. There were times last season Youan looked like he wasn't giving 100%, albeit in a poorly performing team.
Donegal Hibby
13-06-2025, 02:27 PM
Fans will always back players who give 100%, even if they are not that good. Players who fail to give 100% will get criticised. There were times last season Youan looked like he wasn't giving 100%, albeit in a poorly performing team.
Player I was referring to as the standout that made the “ why don’t the fans like me “ comment was Rocky . Josh Campbell will be delighted with this latest news btw :greengrin
Thatdayinmay16
13-06-2025, 02:39 PM
Player I was referring to as the standout that made the “ why don’t the fans like me “ comment was Rocky . Josh Campbell will be delighted with this latest news btw :greengrin
Not the same though is it, Youan and Josh Campbells talent are completely incomparable.
13-06-2025, 02:44 PM
Youan was injured in the League Cup group stages and didn't return to the starting 11 until the end of October. His ten starts thereafter saw mixed results, with three loses amongst them and some notable victories, including those v Hearts and Aberdeen away. He always looked like he was giving 100% to me, I don't think Gray tolerates anything less.
Donegal Hibby
13-06-2025, 03:47 PM
Not the same though is it, Youan and Josh Campbells talent are completely incomparable.
Both are different in one is skilful, tricky and the other is about work rate and energy . The point was that the other poster said fans will always back players who give 100% and I don’t think that is an entirety accurate comment , it’s certainly not in Campbells case and also possibly in Hanlon and Stevenson’s at times too .
13-06-2025, 08:36 PM
EY may get firing again get a decent move or leave and drift from club to club
Billy Bunter 07
13-06-2025, 08:38 PM
I don’t think anyone would argue that it’s been disappointing to not see more of Youan the last 18 months, so that’s nonsense.
Hows he going to cost the club millions? :confused:
His sell on value should be a lot more than it is.
Billy Bunter 07
13-06-2025, 08:45 PM
Exactly, people will say you are being negative but you are being totally realistic based on past experience, something that we can draw on.
Sioux
13-06-2025, 08:51 PM
Exactly, people will say you are being negative but you are being totally realistic based on past experience, something that we can draw on.
Thanks.
14-06-2025, 08:56 AM
That doesn’t make sense.
A player isn’t costing the club by not being worth as much as you want him to be.
I cannae even begin to work out how you’ve come up with that
InvertedFullBak
14-06-2025, 11:28 AM
I could quite easily see him move back to France and play at a higher level than Hibs. Has the quality to do so.
He has the quality and ability to do so but he certainly doesn’t have the attitude and application to do so.
His attitude and social media antics over the last 18 months have been dreadful.
I’d be very surprised if someone buys him in this window and we will end up losing him for nothing this time next season.
InvertedFullBak
14-06-2025, 11:30 AM
You’re spot on. We should have a player who’s been wonderful over the last 18 months but unfortunately he’s stunk the place out , hardly played. We should be looking at between £1m-£2m but we’d be lucky to get £500,000 at the minute.
Billy Bunter 07
14-06-2025, 11:30 AM
That doesn’t make sense.
A player isn’t costing the club by not being worth as much as you want him to be.
I cannae even begin to work out how you’ve come up with that
Course it does Andy.
Last year he was valued over £2m to the club when looking to sell. Now he’s worth monkey nuts as well as contributing hee haw for yonks. We should have had a much better end result with the guy.
Billy Bunter 07
14-06-2025, 11:31 AM
You’re spot on. We should have a player who’s been wonderful over the last 18 months but unfortunately he’s stunk the place out , hardly played. We should be looking at between £1m-£2m but we’d be lucky to get £500,000 at the minute.
Exactly, thanks!
KazaHibs
14-06-2025, 11:48 AM
I'd disagree with this. He was at his best a while back playing up top. Scored a fair few goals up there. Played him wide left and it just never suited. Unfortunately another Hibs player played out of position and we've suffered because of it
Donegal Hibby
14-06-2025, 12:12 PM
Stunk the place out , really? . He’s hardly played because of injuries which can happen to any player . As to his value most players value drop as they get near the end of their contract , if we had SJM on a lengthy contract before he left we would have been in a far stronger position to negotiate a bigger fee though at the end of the day we can say player ‘A’s’ valuation is £3m or £4m but the reality is a player is only worth what another team is willing to pay .
Billy Bunter 07
14-06-2025, 12:18 PM
Stunk the place out , really? . He’s hardly played because of injuries which can happen to any player . As to his value most players value drop as they get near the end of their contract , if we had SJM on a lengthy contract before he left we would have been in a far stronger position to negotiate a bigger fee though at the end of the day we can say player ‘A’s’ valuation is £3m or £4m but the reality is a player is only worth what another team is willing to pay .
Yes. He’s been rotten. Dress it up how you want he’s been a massive disappointment in his Hibs career.
As to his value, most players value increases the further they get toward their peak. Youan even with multiple years on his contract if he had at the moment would be worth less than Youan of two years back. There’s a massive reason for that and it’s not just a couple of injuries. He couldn’t get near our bench for the last few months.
14-06-2025, 12:20 PM
The tripe is ripe with this one.
14-06-2025, 12:33 PM
Yes. He’s been rotten. Dress it up how you want he’s been a massive disappointment in his Hibs career.
As to his value, most players value increases the further they get toward their peak. Youan even with multiple years on his contract if he had at the moment would be worth less than Youan of two years back. There’s a massive reason for that and it’s not just a couple of injuries. He couldn’t get near our bench for the last few months.
Youan only returned to full training at the end of April/start of May.
The duo returned to full team training earlier this week, and our Head Coach discussed their availability.
“Elie joined training later on this week, as did Lewis Miller, which is great, they’re getting fit at the right sort of time.
From the gaffers press conference of May 2nd - https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2025/may/02/update-on-miller---youan/
2022-2023 (Loan Spell):
* 36 Scottish Premiership appearances
* 9 goals
* 7 assists
2023-2024:
* 31 Scottish Premiership appearances
* 5 goals
* 4 assists
2024-2025:
* 13 Scottish Premiership appearances
* 2 goals
* 1 assist
16 goals and 12 assists in 80 SPFL matches.
Hibs were right to sign Ellie on the merit of his initial loan spell but sadly he's never really met the expectations that his permanent signing raised.
He's looked decent, when interested, but that's seldom been the case and is highlighted by the return of just 7 goals and 5 assists, in the SPFL, in the past 18 months.
IMO we should have offloaded him in Jan 2024 and cut our losses then.
Billy Bunter 07
14-06-2025, 12:49 PM
Youan only returned to full training at the end of April/start of May.
From the gaffers press conference of May 2nd - https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2025/may/02/update-on-miller---youan/
He came off the bench against Celtic start of march
EGL2000
14-06-2025, 01:01 PM
Still my favourite player to watch in a Hibs shirt. I've loved seeing him play at Hibs.
I'd disagree with this. He was at his best a while back playing up top.
Scored a fair few goals up there. Played him wide left and it just never suited.
Unfortunately another Hibs player played out of position and we've suffered because of it
Elie was signed as an attacker. Good with both feet, fast, tricky he should have been running at defences from day one. But with the focus on slow possession and deep-lying wingback he was misused, often picking up the ball 40 yards from the keeper with 9 men between him and the goalmouth.
When he has been available to Gray this season he has been played in his most threatening position. One of SDGs strengths is finding round holes for round pegs. And finding roles for players that they most enjoy and allow them to flourish.
With Gayle and Myko gone, and Hoilett's future uncertain we only have Boyle, Bowie and Youan in the forward division. The suggestion that on our budget we will be easily be able to recruit a fourth striker to join that pool is speculative. So, is it any wonder that Gray has was making positive statements about Elie last month?
Let's see how Youan gets on this summer before writing him off completely
SickBoy32
14-06-2025, 01:19 PM
2022-2023 (Loan Spell):
* 36 Scottish Premiership appearances
* 9 goals
* 7 assists
2023-2024:
* 31 Scottish Premiership appearances
* 5 goals
* 4 assists
2024-2025:
* 13 Scottish Premiership appearances
* 2 goals
* 1 assist
16 goals and 12 assists in 80 SPFL matches.
Hibs were right to sign Ellie on the merit of his initial loan spell but sadly he's never really met the expectations that his permanent signing raised.
He's looked decent, when interested, but that's seldom been the case and is highlighted by the return of just 7 goals and 5 assists, in the SPFL, in the past 18 months.
IMO we should have offloaded him in Jan 2024 and cut our losses then.
Good summary.
I think this should put a stop to all the hyperbole on here regarding his ‘exceptional’ talents.
A decent player when he fancies it, but as you’ve alluded to - these occasions are all too infrequent.
If we’re serious about looking to improve the squad this is some obvious low hanging fruit IMO.
Donegal Hibby
14-06-2025, 01:51 PM
I don’t think he’s been rotten at all . I think he’s been unfortunate with injuries in recent times which is disappointing for everyone including the player too.
You don’t often see player’s value increase as they near the end of their contract , there’s many , many cases of this and one of the most current ones was Newcastle’s efforts to sign Marc Guehi last season when they had 5 or 6 bids rejected with the last one reported to be around £60m with Palace reportedly wanting £70m . I think he’s entering his last year now and the fee for him is being rumoured to be around £40m .
I don’t know what’s going to happen with Youan in will he move on this summer or stay and it’s possibly he could still be an important player for us , he definitely has the quality and ability to be .
As to all the conspiracy theories about him our manager hasn’t in anyway given any indication that there’s a problem with the players attitude etc . I think a lot of what’s been said about the player faking injury, refusing to play is just pure speculation and is much like the keepie- up fiasco in folk are to eager to make accusations at the player when he’s done absolutely nothing wrong .
14-06-2025, 02:33 PM
The problem with Youan is that both of the highly polarised factions in this debate have decent justification for their positions.
For a player of his undoubted ability he hasn’t contributed an adequate end product for that ability. We can continue to argue all day and all night about how much of that is down to his head or his body but bottom line is he’s not contributed enough.
He always feels like he’s just on the cusp of getting fit, finding his best position and finally coming good. For whatever reason, he never does.
At our worst during our good run though, I always thought we looked a fit Elie Youan short of being what we needed to be. We needed a talent to unlock a defence, to turn one point into 3. At times we were a bit bland and could really have done with him at those times.
I think he fits perfectly into our 352 up front.
He’s an unpredictable player and I wouldn’t like to predict what he does next - leave for a pittance this summer, leave for a fortune this summer, stay and have the season of his life, stay and be injured for the season, sign a new contract…
That’s just him.
InvertedFullBak
14-06-2025, 03:06 PM
Thats some statement.
:top marks:top marks:top marks:top marks:top marks:top marks:top marks
Billy Bunter 07
14-06-2025, 04:30 PM
Explain as to why it’s tripe? Because it isn’t and don’t just take the lazy option and claim the players been injured for the best part of two years. The guy has wanted out the club and downed tools.
14-06-2025, 04:36 PM
Explain as to why it’s tripe? Because it isn’t and don’t just take the lazy option and claim the players been injured for the best part of two years. The guy has wanted out the club and downed tools.
Read the thread, It's been explained repeatedly. The lazy option is to just keep repeating the same rubbish. He downed tools......aye, sure he did. Shakes head in disbelief.
14-06-2025, 05:21 PM
He failed a medical for a move in January.
Billy Bunter 07
14-06-2025, 05:22 PM
Read the thread, It's been explained repeatedly. The lazy option is to just keep repeating the same rubbish. He downed tools......aye, sure he did. Shakes head in disbelief.
In your opinion it’s repeated rubbish but you haven’t explained why.
It’s fact he wants out the club and has done for two years.
It’s actually lazy to blame everything on mysterious injuries.
Donegal Hibby
14-06-2025, 05:34 PM
I really don’t know where this stuff comes from in he’s downed tools , refusing to play, faking injuries etc when there is no evidence of it . David Gray is a year in the Hibs job and the impression I get from him is he’s fair but nobody’s fool either . There’s never been one inkling from the manager that the player has been a problem.
14-06-2025, 05:44 PM
In your opinion it’s repeated rubbish but you haven’t explained why.
It’s fact he wants out the club and has done for two years.
It’s actually lazy to blame everything on mysterious injuries.
No, what's lazy is for you and a couple of other folk to repeat ad-nauseam the same stuff without a shred of foundation. Statements about, downed tools, taking a wage etc, etc.
It's been explained many times, but for the hard of thought........ Once again, he's been injured.
Billy Bunter 07
14-06-2025, 07:07 PM
I really don’t know where this stuff comes from in he’s downed tools , refusing to play, faking injuries etc when there is no evidence of it . David Gray is a year in the Hibs job and the impression I get from him is he’s fair but nobody’s fool either . There’s never been one inkling from the manager that the player has been a problem.
He’s not played him for the best part of a season, even when fit. Ask yourself why.
Billy Bunter 07
14-06-2025, 07:11 PM
No, what's lazy is for you and a couple of other folk to repeat ad-nauseam the same stuff without a shred of foundation. Statements about, downed tools, taking a wage etc, etc.
It's been explained many times, but for the hard of thought........ Once again, he's been injured.
So he didn’t want to leave?
Do you believe he’s played to the best of his ability?
Why do you have to be so rude towards others that don’t share your lazy based opinion?
Facts tell me he wants to leave, facts tell me he’s argued
With fans telling them he hopes not to be at the club, my eyes tell me wasn’t trying as hard as he was when he first joined at the start of last season, facts tell me he was hardly selected by Sir Dave when he was available sporadically. Facts tell me the club valued him at £2m when bids came in two years back and will be considerably lower now. Facts tell me he’s been a massive disappointment over the past two years after his initial
Start. Argue all you want claim he was injured all the time but I’m saying that you are guessing.
Billy Bunter 07
14-06-2025, 07:12 PM
He failed a medical for a move in January.
He was injured in’s November so that works out. I there’s a long period from Fev to May though and he came off the bench the start of March.
14-06-2025, 08:02 PM
So he didn’t want to leave?
Do you believe he’s played to the best of his ability?
Why do you have to be so rude towards others that don’t share your lazy based opinion?
Facts tell me he wants to leave, facts tell me he’s argued
With fans telling them he hopes not to be at the club, my eyes tell me wasn’t trying as hard as he was when he first joined at the start of last season, facts tell me he was hardly selected by Sir Dave when he was available sporadically. Facts tell me the club valued him at £2m when bids came in two years back and will be considerably lower now. Facts tell me he’s been a massive disappointment over the past two years after his initial
Start. Argue all you want claim he was injured all the time but I’m saying that you are guessing.
Believe what you want, but none of that is fact. Just poorly informed negativity .
He was injured. Whether he wanted a move or not.
Billy Bunter 07
14-06-2025, 08:23 PM
Believe what you want, but none of that is fact. Just poorly informed negativity .
He was injured. Whether he wanted a move or not.
He wasn’t injured the whole of the time. Fact again. Lazy to suggest otherwise.
Donegal Hibby
14-06-2025, 08:45 PM
He’s not played him for the best part of a season, even when fit. Ask yourself why.
I don’t have to ask myself . I’ve listened to the manager state he’s had injuries and set backs and not once saying anything negative about the player which is good enough for me .
This is very much like the keepie- uppie fiasco when folk were trying to create issues when there were absolutely none there and now the latest scandal we have …
Youan is faking his injuries ,downing tools , refusing to play because he doesn’t want to be here while also managing to find a way to fail a medical to another club which has nothing to do with him being genuinely injured but the real reason is because……………………..…………….. he doesn’t want to be here ? 😂
Billy Bunter 07
14-06-2025, 08:56 PM
]I don’t have to ask myself . I’ve listened to the manager state he’s had injuries and set backs and not once saying anything negative about the player which is good enough for me .[/B]
This is very much like the keepie- uppie fiasco when folk were trying to create issues when there were absolutely none there and now the latest scandal we have …
Youan is faking his injuries ,downing tools , refusing to play because he doesn’t want to be here while also managing to find a way to fail a medical to another club which has nothing to do with him being genuinely injured but the real reason is because……………………..…………….. he doesn’t want to be here ? 😂
Hes not played him when fit. Many times he hasn't even mentioned Youan.
You genuinely believe there is no issues with the player? Seriously?
I didn't say the majority of what you have typed so don't put words in my mouth, cheers. He's asked to leave the club on numerous times - fact. He hasn't been injured all of the season - fact. He was ***** the majority of last season in my opinion too.
You stick to your fantasy story, based on absolutely no logical reason over the past two whole years he is going to turn his Hibernian career around next season though. And if he doesny you can always fall back on blaming the supporters who pay to go to watch the games.
14-06-2025, 09:18 PM
I didn't say the majority of what you have typed so don't put words in my mouth, cheers. He's asked to leave the club on numerous times - fact. He hasn't been injured all of the season - fact. He was ***** the majority of last season in my opinion too.
You stick to your fantasy story, based on absolutely no logical reason over the past two whole years he is going to turn his Hibernian career around next season though. And if he doesny you can always fall back on blaming the supporters who pay to go to watch the games.
Forgive me for interrupting a private argument but can you quote the proof of Youan asking to leave numerous times,
Billy Bunter 07
14-06-2025, 09:30 PM
Forgive me for interrupting a private argument but can you quote the proof of Youan asking to leave numerous times,
Sorry I'm not his agent mate.
He wants to leave, the club have been open to offers for him if a certain price is matched. Its to the credit and the player it's not been played out in public but lets not kid on it isn't public knowledge.
There's no argument going on either, private or not. Only a little bit of childish name calling.
14-06-2025, 09:48 PM
Sorry I'm not his agent mate.
He wants to leave, the club have been open to offers for him if a certain price is matched. Its to the credit and the player it's not been played out in public but lets not kid on it isn't public knowledge.
There's no argument going on either, private or not. Only a little bit of childish name calling.
So if your not his agent mate how do you know it’s a fact that he has asked to leave the club numerous time So?
14-06-2025, 10:17 PM
Have the schools broken up yet?
Donegal Hibby
14-06-2025, 10:27 PM
If there were issues of the player downing tools as you have suggested or the other rumours that he’s refusing to play or faking injuries which doesn’t make sense to me seeing as your banging on about the player wanting to leave anyhow. I’m convinced if there were issues it would be dealt with and the player would be fined . The likes of David Gray and people at the club like Malky Mackay wouldn’t tolerate it I’m sure ..
Though there’s nothing came out of the club other than talk of the spirit and togetherness within in the group which we saw in an incredible season finishing 3rd and qualifying for Europe .
Most players after being out for a lengthy period are chomping at the bit to get back playing , maybe you didn’t hear Gray say Youan is at his happiest when he’s playing football . I think the guys a quality player who has the ability to play well and make a positive contribution to Hibs if he stays and avoids injury which I think is a real possibility and not the fantasy you make it out to be …
What is fantasy is the way some jumped on board with Michael Stewart in heavily criticising the player for the keeping-uppie fiasco even though the manager said he hadn’t any issue with the player saying if you knew Youan there was no malicious in what he was doing …
Anyhow there’s no point going over this with you any longer so I’m bowing out as you seem to be on some personal crusade against the player anyhow.
Potty78
14-06-2025, 10:33 PM
Don't get the dislike for Ellie, on his day really good. What people on hear don't get is he's been injured. Came off at tynie and kicked the bench in frustration. The injury he had takes months to recover. His celebrating at tynie doesn't show me a player who doesn't want to be hear. He's a keep for me🤞
Billy Bunter 07
14-06-2025, 11:33 PM
If there were issues of the player downing tools as you have suggested or the other rumours that he’s refusing to play or faking injuries which doesn’t make sense to me seeing as your banging on about the player wanting to leave anyhow. I’m convinced if there were issues it would be dealt with and the player would be fined . The likes of David Gray and people at the club like Malky Mackay wouldn’t tolerate it I’m sure ..
Though there’s nothing came out of the club other than talk of the spirit and togetherness within in the group which we saw in an incredible season finishing 3rd and qualifying for Europe .
Most players after being out for a lengthy period are chomping at the bit to get back playing , maybe you didn’t hear Gray say Youan is at his happiest when he’s playing football . I think the guys a quality player who has the ability to play well and make a positive contribution to Hibs if he stays and avoids injury which I think is a real possibility and not the fantasy you make it out to be …
What is fantasy is the way some jumped on board with Michael Stewart in heavily criticising the player for the keeping-uppie fiasco even though the manager said he hadn’t any issue with the player saying if you knew Youan there was no malicious in what he was doing …
Anyhow there’s no point going over this with you any longer so I’m bowing out as you seem to be on some personal crusade against the player anyhow.
Issues with players will be kept in house as much as possible to protect the value of the player in the case of the likes of Youan where we are trying to maximise the amount of transfer value we can get for him.
Personal crusade again a player that the thread is about? The only personal crusade I can see here is yours randomly against Michael Stewart as nobody even mentioned him yet you’ve tried to add him to the discussion numerous times. Look, you back the player blindly, fair play to you. I hope he goes on to produce your pie in the sky scenario but history tells me you will be disappointed and history tells me when he doesn’t produce the scenario you have played out on this thread as him suddenly screwing the nut, performing at a level for us we haven’t seen in years and then sailing off into the sunset having got us a good transfer fee you won’t admit it was far fetched from the start and you will blame other factors. If he does I’ll come on this thread personally and proclaim you a genius and never doubt your wisdom again. Take it easy.
Billy Bunter 07
14-06-2025, 11:34 PM
Don't get the dislike for Ellie, on his day really good. What people on hear don't get is he's been injured. Came off at tynie and kicked the bench in frustration. The injury he had takes months to recover. His celebrating at tynie doesn't show me a player who doesn't want to be hear. He's a keep for me🤞
When is “his day” once in a blue moon. There’s no dislike there’s a lot of frustration.
15-06-2025, 12:45 AM
He was injured in’s November so that works out. I there’s a long period from Fev to May though and he came off the bench the start of March.
The failed medical was in February. He then paid to bring his own rehab coach over from France to assist with his recovery. He got himself back fit available for selection and played in March however suffered a recurrence of the injury.
Donegal Hibby
15-06-2025, 03:29 AM
Quality player👍 ….
https://youtu.be/wbmT6cT7_3U?si=pAwJhCryqjGgCP6x
Paulie Walnuts
15-06-2025, 06:50 AM
The failed medical was in February. He then paid to bring his own rehab coach over from France to assist with his recovery. He got himself back fit available for selection and played in March however suffered a recurrence of the injury.
Now there’s a fact for you.
The desperation to bash someone who’s done fairly well for Hibs is incredible.
15-06-2025, 08:50 AM
Here's another fact for you. Youan played in the victory v Hearts at Tynecastle, on 26/12/24. That's when he sustained the toe injury.
Hibs fans will recall the man who downed tools as having played a key role in that victory, he was the guy with the corner flag who went to the Hibs fans after the game to accept their congratulations after an excellent performance.
15-06-2025, 05:14 PM
Not forgetting him getting spotted down at local parks kicking a ball about in his spare time while others were out on the bevvy but yet Youan was the player not being professional.
18-06-2025, 09:56 AM
A lot of fans don't recognise quality when they see it.
18-06-2025, 10:11 AM
Over the piece he has been a decent signing for us. I don't buy into all the 'loads more potential' chat mind you; he's 26 and has played nearly 200 career games, I think what you see is what you get at this point.
He didn't look like someone desperate not to be here when he was interacting with the fans after the last game of the season. There doesn't seem to be much chat around masses of interest in him right now which is understandable given he will be available on a pre contract in 6 months and is coming off the back of a lengthy injury lay off which has apparently recurred after initially clearing enough to see him feature.
If he's still here by the time the season starts in a few weeks time then I expect him to continue to be what he has always been; sometimes brilliant, sometimes frustrating and a lot of the time somewhere in between. I think the biggest issue is I'm just not sure where he fits into the side in it's current set up. It relies on a lot of discipline and physicality and I'm not sure that's him. He isn't an out and out striker, he's not a 10 and he's not a wing back so he's in that land of 'talented player but doesn't really fit anywhere'. Our system doesn't really allow for free roles for anyone. Not a bad impact sub to have right enough.
Some of the abuse thrown at him is pretty classless. He's frustrated me plenty over his time here but he's also one of those players who gets you out your seat on occasion. A lot of the stuff about his supposed 'disruptiveness' is either exaggerated or out and out fabrication; players and the manager have went to great lengths to state he is a good trainer and well liked.
18-06-2025, 02:48 PM
Suspect he'll still be a Hibs player next month, so if we can get one more Luzern-away level performance out of him before he moves on then that would be phenomenal.
18-06-2025, 03:06 PM
Over the piece he has been a decent signing for us. I don't buy into all the 'loads more potential' chat mind you; he's 26 and has played nearly 200 career games, I think what you see is what you get at this point.
He didn't look like someone desperate not to be here when he was interacting with the fans after the last game of the season. There doesn't seem to be much chat around masses of interest in him right now which is understandable given he will be available on a pre contract in 6 months and is coming off the back of a lengthy injury lay off which has apparently recurred after initially clearing enough to see him feature.
If he's still here by the time the season starts in a few weeks time then I expect him to continue to be what he has always been; sometimes brilliant, sometimes frustrating and a lot of the time somewhere in between. I think the biggest issue is I'm just not sure where he fits into the side in it's current set up. It relies on a lot of discipline and physicality and I'm not sure that's him. He isn't an out and out striker, he's not a 10 and he's not a wing back so he's in that land of 'talented player but doesn't really fit anywhere'. Our system doesn't really allow for free roles for anyone. Not a bad impact sub to have right enough.
Some of the abuse thrown at him is pretty classless. He's frustrated me plenty over his time here but he's also one of those players who gets you out your seat on occasion. A lot of the stuff about his supposed 'disruptiveness' is either exaggerated or out and out fabrication; players and the manager have went to great lengths to state he is a good trainer and well liked.
Good summary PB.
I think your 3rd paragraph summarises the situation accurately.
IMO he's an exceptionally talented (for the SPFL) player. He's given us some great moments on individual skill. However, there are many occasions when he frustrates, as I've articulated on many occasions.
Like you, I don't see where he fits into the team SDG built towards the end of last season. I recall commenting that the team that ended the season was the best organised team I've seen playing for the Hibees for a long long time. I'm not sure Youan fits into it well.
18-06-2025, 04:01 PM
Good summary PB.
I think your 3rd paragraph summarises the situation accurately.
IMO he's an exceptionally talented (for the SPFL) player. He's given us some great moments on individual skill. However, there are many occasions when he frustrates, as I've articulated on many occasions.
Like you, I don't see where he fits into the team SDG built towards the end of last season. I recall commenting that the team that ended the season was the best organised team I've seen playing for the Hibees for a long long time. I'm not sure Youan fits into it well.
I think he can play either of the striker roles, albeit not in the same way that either Myko or Boyle play them.
Myko's a classical target man, Boyle plays on the shoulder of the last defender. Youan still has the pace to be a threat on the shoulder of the last defender and if he was played as a "second striker" then he'd be more about his guile and ability to drop a shoulder than to rough defenders up. He's actually pretty decent in the air as well.
There were times during the second half of last season when we were crying out for a Youan sort of contribution though - trying to break down 10 man St Johnstone away as an example.
Only issue I'd have with him as striker is that I don't really see him having much of a partnership with Bowie. With Boyle I could see him being pretty good - as they were when we started out on our good run.
We're going to need a big, abrasive lump of a striker to go with these 3 though imo.