View Full Version : What's the latest with Youan?

09-01-2025, 06:37 AM
In the last three games, I felt that we really missed the Youan who played well during much of December. I liked the formation with Youan and Boyle up top. That said, he was frustrating in some games such as the Aberdeen away game when a few good moves broke down with him choosing the wrong option in and around the opposition box.

In the games prior to December after he returned from injury he was poor and IMO lacked interest. Like many have said, he gave the impression that he wanted away. The cynic in me says that he only upped his game to impress any potential suitors for his skills and is now being protected so that he doesn't get injured as happened before the last transfer window.

Or, he may just be recovering from injury and isn't ready to return.

Anyone know what's the latest, as I've not heard of there being any transfer interest in him.

09-01-2025, 06:39 AM
He injured his foot in the derby. Whether that is still the reason he hasn’t been available I’m not sure

09-01-2025, 08:50 AM
We will be negotiating a transfer.

09-01-2025, 08:53 AM
Players play all the time when there is transfer stuff going on in the background. Especially as short as we’ve been, I’m inclined to believe he does actually have an injury.

w pilton hibby
09-01-2025, 08:59 AM
He injured his foot in the derby. Whether that is still the reason he hasn’t been available I’m not sure

Update from Gray

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-skipper-injury-intervention-short-term-pain-long-term-gain-4935916

09-01-2025, 09:10 AM
Update from Gray

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-skipper-injury-intervention-short-term-pain-long-term-gain-4935916

So thats Newell probably out for at least the next two league games plus the cup game. Probably eyeing 1st February Aberdeen for a return , which is around about when Bowie is supposed to be back in contention as well. We mightbe seeing a bit more of Moriah Welsh and Kwon.

09-01-2025, 09:26 AM
In the last three games, I felt that we really missed the Youan who played well during much of December. I liked the formation with Youan and Boyle up top. That said, he was frustrating in some games such as the Aberdeen away game when a few good moves broke down with him choosing the wrong option in and around the opposition box.

In the games prior to December after he returned from injury he was poor and IMO lacked interest. Like many have said, he gave the impression that he wanted away. The cynic in me says that he only upped his game to impress any potential suitors for his skills and is now being protected so that he doesn't get injured as happened before the last transfer window.

Or, he may just be recovering from injury and isn't ready to return.

Anyone know what's the latest, as I've not heard of there being any transfer interest in him.

His last appearance was in the derby. He looked a very happy bunny after that and didn’t look like someone who’s desperate to get away.

09-01-2025, 09:29 AM
Update from Gray

Unless I’m missing something there’s no mention of Youan in that article.

Ireallywasthere
09-01-2025, 09:32 AM
Youan has a broken toe. Happend at the derby

09-01-2025, 09:59 AM

Youan doesnt have a broken toe. Gray even says in the article that it was scanned and there it nothing there......

scuttle
09-01-2025, 10:06 AM
Youan doesnt have a broken toe. Gray even says in the article that it was scanned and there it nothing there......

Sure he wasn't talking about his heid

09-01-2025, 10:06 AM

You would think that would be picked up on the scan or X-ray

babahibs
09-01-2025, 10:16 AM
He's injured, got nothing to do with an imaginary transfer.

Coach Jon
09-01-2025, 10:17 AM
Obviously he is looking for a move this transfer window, this is a repeat of what happened in the August transfer window when he had a "leg knock" from July to September.

09-01-2025, 10:19 AM

Correct. And another avoidable injury

xyz23jc
09-01-2025, 10:41 AM

Probs just got a few skelfs from manhandling all those corner flags..... Either that or caught somethings nasty from the Tynie one, asbestos related! :wink::greengrin

09-01-2025, 10:41 AM

In what way

Greenio
09-01-2025, 10:50 AM
Injured or not, I feel hes away this window. Hopefully for a pretty penny as he can eb very very good. Glad Bowie is coming back as Im pining my hopes on him to fill the void, in his own way

09-01-2025, 10:52 AM
In what way

Believe he kicked a step when he got substituted in the derby.

Donegal Hibby
09-01-2025, 10:58 AM

https://www.nottheoldfirm.com/news/david-gray-confirms-injury-setback-for-hibs-star-plus-elie-youan-update/

09-01-2025, 11:05 AM

Its very difficult to prove it was caused by him kicking a step in frustration, i cant recall seing that at the derby-it could have happened at any time during the game .

09-01-2025, 11:08 AM
Obviously he is looking for a move this transfer window, this is a repeat of what happened in the August transfer window when he had a "leg knock" from July to September.

So much utter drivel from empty vessels.

"We did think it would settle down a lot quicker than it has. But again, it's been x-rayed, he’s had an MRI, there's nothing significant or structural going on in there. It's just a healing process, it's taking longer than we'd like.

“He could go from doing very little today to coming in tomorrow feeling brand new and good to go. So, still hopeful he'll be available for the weekend, in some capacity.”

He's injured, it happens. If he was fit he would be playing.

09-01-2025, 11:10 AM

"We did think it would settle down a lot quicker than it has. But again, it's been x-rayed, he’s had an MRI, there's nothing significant or structural going on in there. It's just a healing process, it's taking longer than we'd like.

“He could go from doing very little today to coming in tomorrow feeling brand new and good to go. So, still hopeful he'll be available for the weekend, in some capacity.”

Agree he is injured. I’m just saying how I understand he got it 👍

09-01-2025, 11:29 AM
Agree he is injured. I’m just saying how I understand he got it 👍

Not really, you replied to a pretty silly post about August, injury and wanting a transfer by saying correct. The bit about the injury at Tiny, that's news to me and I suspect more bull****.

09-01-2025, 11:35 AM
Not really, you replied to a pretty silly post about August, injury and wanting a transfer by saying correct. The bit about the injury at Tiny, that's news to me and I suspect more bull****.

A bit aggressive mate, no? I said correct that he had an injury. I was told by a good source that is how it happened and was being sent for a scan as they were worried he’d broken something in his foot. I think SDG confirms he went for a scan.

It might be crap but I believe it. You can believe whatever you want

09-01-2025, 11:43 AM

This part from SDG is very convenient or am I just paranoid?!

Really don't know what to believe now on this. Hopefully we seem him on Saturday and it's put to bed.

09-01-2025, 11:50 AM
A bit aggressive mate, no? I said correct that he had an injury. I was told by a good source that is how it happened and was being sent for a scan as they were worried he’d broken something in his foot. I think SDG confirms he went for a scan.

It might be crap but I believe it. You can believe whatever you want

Not aggressive but quite direct I suppose. Apologies if it was too forceful though.

There is a lot of **** stirring nonsense about Youan on here, it gets on my nerves a bit, like the post you agreed with about his injury in August

" Obviously he is looking for a move this transfer window, this is a repeat of what happened in the August transfer window when he had a "leg knock" from July to September". It wasn't correct though was it? He was injured and that injury scuppered any chance of a move?

The scan part about the toe is accurate, how it happened, I think it's rubbish.

09-01-2025, 12:02 PM
Not aggressive but quite direct I suppose. Apologies if it was too forceful though.

There is a lot of **** stirring nonsense about Youan on here, it gets on my nerves a bit, like the post you agreed with about his injury in August

" Obviously he is looking for a move this transfer window, this is a repeat of what happened in the August transfer window when he had a "leg knock" from July to September". It wasn't correct though was it? He was injured and that injury scuppered any chance of a move?

The scan part about the toe is accurate, how it happened, I think it's rubbish.

Either my eyesight or your eyesight is screwed lol. I don’t see my reply being to that post you quoted (sure it was to someone else).

Anyway the point I was making was the fact he is/was injured recently. The cause of the injury unlikely to be confirmed officially so let’s leave that there

ruthven_raiders
09-01-2025, 12:22 PM
Unless I’m missing something there’s no mention of Youan in that article.

Scroll down to the bottom it's mentioned there ...

09-01-2025, 12:25 PM
Either my eyesight or your eyesight is screwed lol. I don’t see my reply being to that post you quoted (sure it was to someone else).

Anyway the point I was making was the fact he is/was injured recently. The cause of the injury unlikely to be confirmed officially so let’s leave that there

Misquoted you, humblest apologies.

09-01-2025, 12:27 PM

Misquoted you, humblest apologies.

No problem 👍

davhibby
09-01-2025, 02:07 PM
The last two home games he’s been quite visibly limping when walking round the pitch with the team after the games. The only non stripped player to do so which goes against the want away narrative that some seem desperate to create

09-01-2025, 02:30 PM
Youan is NOT going anywhere this window.

09-01-2025, 02:30 PM
The last two home games he’s been quite visibly limping when walking round the pitch with the team after the games. The only non stripped player to do so which goes against the want away narrative that some seem desperate to create

He wants to leave. Hibs want to sell him. Very surprised it's not already done.

09-01-2025, 02:47 PM
Young is NOT going anywhere this window.

Yeah but what about Youan? :greengrin

09-01-2025, 02:49 PM
Is it not entirely possible that Youan is both injured (perhaps relatively minor and something neither player or club want to aggravate) and close to leaving?

I don't think the latter is beyond the realms of possibility. There was interest in the summer and the player was interested in going. He's found his form in recent weeks so every chance interest has been rekindled.

Fwiw I had heard a week or so ago a (not insignificant) fee had been agreed with an unnamed club and the ball was in Youan's court. The person I spoke to expected it to be wrapped up quickly so maybe it's stalled and he'll be staying, maybe there is other interest now being considered or maybe it was all bollocks. I have no idea but if Youan wasn't a Hibs player this time next week I wouldn't be overly surprised.

09-01-2025, 04:16 PM
It's hardly some big secret that he wants to leave, but that's not mutually exclusive with playing well and enjoying it as he clearly has been recently. Hope his injury clears up enough that either a move goes through or he's back on the pitch soon though.

09-01-2025, 05:52 PM
Scroll down to the bottom it's mentioned there ...

The News mobile site is very poor but I did scroll down, hit the continue reading button and what I see ends with this -

Gray revealed: “Joe's had a bit of a setback with his groin. He's going to require a little bit of an intervention, let's just say, because he's had a bit of an issue with his groin for a wee while.

09-01-2025, 07:00 PM
He wants to leave. Hibs want to sell him. Very surprised it's not already done.

You always sound so assertive as if you know the facts. We obviously want to get money for him but where’s the evidence that its going to happen this window? I’d be very surprised if SDG is looking for him to exit this window. And his recent interactions with the support don’t suggest to me that he’s a guy desperate to get out the door right away.

CyberSauzee
10-01-2025, 01:06 PM
I hope we can keep him until the end of the season. I was ambivalent about keeping him last summer, but he's improved defensively from what I've seen of him, so definitely more of a team player now. If he can help us to a high league finish and a decent cup run then he can leave on a high.

10-01-2025, 02:06 PM
Still out for the weekend. Still be ‘days’ as it has been since he’s been out injured…

10-01-2025, 02:24 PM
Will be stretched again with what we have available in the final third. Just need to find away to win. Really can’t afford to drop points tomorrow.

10-01-2025, 02:49 PM
Newell and Youan are both huge losses. A win at the weekend would be impressive.

11-01-2025, 06:47 AM
Without Youan, Newell, Kukhareyvich and Bowie still today. We're really limited with forward options, so I'd be pleasantly surprised if we get the 3 points today. It would be a massive 3 points though.

11-01-2025, 07:47 AM
Was it the 2-2 Hearts game when he stuffed the ball up his jumper and sooked his thumb?

I interpreted that as having a missus that was up the duff. That might not be the point of the goal celebration of course, just a misinterpretation. Haven't seen anything on his socials but most footballers keep their personal lives private.

Reason I'm saying that is because the needs and wishes of family sometimes play into stay or go decisions.

Any inside info?

Fergos
11-01-2025, 08:57 AM
SDG was fairly specific with returning dates for all our injured players…..except Elie…

29-01-2025, 12:33 PM
Any update on when we'll see Youan playing football again?

29-01-2025, 12:51 PM
Any update on when we'll see Youan playing football again?

Or who for?

29-01-2025, 01:06 PM
Has to be at it surely

29-01-2025, 01:09 PM
All a bit frustrating.

29-01-2025, 01:46 PM
Has to be at it surely

Gray was glowing in his praise of Youans workrate and attitude in training, so i think its best to assume hes either injured and theres nothing interesting to add, or he’s being kept out of action because we’re working on moving him on, and theres nothing interesting to add there either. Everything else is folk stirring because they dont like him and we’re obviously used to that by now.

29-01-2025, 02:08 PM
Gray was glowing in his praise of Youans workrate and attitude in training, so i think its best to assume hes either injured and theres nothing interesting to add, or he’s being kept out of action because we’re working on moving him on, and theres nothing interesting to add there either. Everything else is folk stirring because they dont like him and we’re obviously used to that by now.

I like him and I wish he was playing, I think we’d have been more likely to pick up wins at St Johnstone and Ross County. I’m still sceptical about the reason for his absence though.

29-01-2025, 02:43 PM
I like him and I wish he was playing, I think we’d have been more likely to pick up wins at St Johnstone and Ross County. I’m still sceptical about the reason for his absence though.

If you mean sceptical in the sense that we’re trying to move him on and dont want to damage our asset? Or in the sense that he’s refusing to play? If theres no evidence for the latter i think we have to assume its the former.

Greenio
29-01-2025, 02:48 PM
If you mean sceptical in the sense that we’re trying to move him on and dont want to damage our asset? Or in the sense that he’s refusing to play? If theres no evidence for the latter i think we have to assume its the former.

Theres no evidence of either really. Evidence says hes injured his toe n its still sore!

Ive always saud hell be away jn jan if the money is right

Mcbizz1998
29-01-2025, 02:48 PM
My opinion is we should be getting told what’s going on. He will be one of our better earners and he isn’t in the team for the second time during a transfer window with no explanation. If he’s injured, ok - how long for? If we aren’t playing him because of interest from other clubs, not sure I agree with it but at least the fans know what’s happening. If it’s something else that’s personal to the player, no problem - just say he’s dealing with personal matters and we will all accept that.

To just not play him and claim he’s hurt his toe for weeks on end isn’t fair on the fans who ultimately pay the guys wages.

29-01-2025, 02:49 PM
Why would a guy bang in form, dancing Infront of bouncing away ends with a manager that's publicly supported and backed him when the football media were desperate to turn on him, be avoiding playing for Hibs?

I just don't see what either party gains from that scenario. Have to assume he is still injured and that's that.

Mcbizz1998
29-01-2025, 02:53 PM
Why would a guy bang in form, dancing Infront of bouncing away ends with a manager that's publicly supported and backed him when the football media were desperate to turn on him, be avoiding playing for Hibs?

I just don't see what either party gains from that scenario. Have to assume he is still injured and that's that.

Agree and I hope that’s all there is to it. But not providing updates on him alongside the other injured players just fuels the online chat that there is something else up. Hibs need to be clearer with the situation.

29-01-2025, 02:55 PM
Theres no evidence of either really. Evidence says hes injured his toe n its still sore!

Ive always saud hell be away jn jan if the money is right

Yes youre right. He could also just still be injured :dunno: its not like we didnt know he was injured or imagine how difficult it is playing football with a sore tae.

29-01-2025, 03:05 PM

I don’t think we’d opt not to play him. No sense in us doing that.

I’m sceptical his toe injury has prevented him from playing for so long with what Gray said a few weeks back on the scan being clear.

Some folk think that assassinating the guys character but, for me, I just think there is a guy there that had a move wrecked due to injury in the previous window and think it might be a bit of human nature to not want that to happen again. Might be wide of the mark but it’s just the feeling I get. If not sold, I expect to see him back in the squad for Ayr next Friday, which of course may well just be total coincidence.

29-01-2025, 03:10 PM

I’m sceptical his toe injury has prevented him from playing for so long with what Gray said a few weeks back on the scan being clear.

Some folk think that assassinating the guys character but, for me, I just think there is a guy there that had a move wrecked due to injury in the previous window and think it might be a bit of human nature to not want that to happen again. Might be wide of the mark but it’s just the feeling I get. If not sold, I expect to see him back in the squad for Ayr next Friday, which of course may well just be total coincidence.

Whilst I agree with what you wrote, I would have thought by now that either a foreign team would have declared an interest by now or Youan will realise that no-one is interested and he'll be desperate to return to the 1st team.

All very odd!

29-01-2025, 03:19 PM
An enigma in a etc

29-01-2025, 03:40 PM

He’s one of our best, if not our best player on his day. However when he picked up his injury in the summer there was sarcastic laughs from the coaching staff as if to say he’s at it. IMO of course.
It may have been a FFS, not another injury for us to deal with of course.

TrinityHFC
29-01-2025, 03:53 PM
He’s one of our best, if not our best player on his day. However when he picked up his injury in the summer there was sarcastic laughs from the coaching staff as if to say he’s at it. IMO of course.
It may have been a FFS, not another injury for us to deal with of course.

Eh? Were you at the game where he came into contact with the opposition goalkeeper which quite clearly caused his injury?

Where did you see this sarcastic laughing form the coaching staff?

Not sure why certain players come in for this absolute drivel being written about them...

tonyrougier123
29-01-2025, 04:05 PM
Elie Youan is the type of player that comes along and really makes me appreciate what Alan Stubbs said in 2014, “we aren’t just going to sign players for the sake of signing players, we are going to make sure we sign players with the right character and attitude to play for hibs and want to play for hibs”
I don’t think you can put a price on those attributes , and while I don’t know the ins and outs of any players mindset or circumstances, in this instance it makes you appreciate players that love pulling on the jersey and getting down in the mud for the club.

29-01-2025, 04:24 PM
Eh? Were you at the game where he came into contact with the opposition goalkeeper which quite clearly caused his injury?

Where did you see this sarcastic laughing form the coaching staff?

Not sure why certain players come in for this absolute drivel being written about them...
Ok, I made it up…

29-01-2025, 04:27 PM
Could do with him back soon and injury free for the rest of the season, a match fit Youan starts for me.

29-01-2025, 04:46 PM
Elie Youan is the type of player that comes along and really makes me appreciate what Alan Stubbs said in 2014, “we aren’t just going to sign players for the sake of signing players, we are going to make sure we sign players with the right character and attitude to play for hibs and want to play for hibs”
I don’t think you can put a price on those attributes , and while I don’t know the ins and outs of any players mindset or circumstances, in this instance it makes you appreciate players that love pulling on the jersey and getting down in the mud for the club.

Last time i saw him play he was leaping around celebrating with the fans and other players, and pointing at Boyle to thank him for his assist instead of doing a big ‘i am’ celebration.

I can only go on what i see with my own eyes but I don’t see any attitude issue? If there was why would Gray make a point of saying the opposite?

PHeffernan
29-01-2025, 04:46 PM
Fit to play from Sunday after he attended a toe specialist he knows in France

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/7qNP3RD9RxQ

1875Sean
29-01-2025, 10:33 PM
If we get anything over £1m we should take it

29-01-2025, 11:07 PM
That would be my thoughts too. It will be fascinating to see how Elie does in the Championship if he ends up there. I don't see him being the right type of player but he surprised me a good few times in a Hibs jersey.

Cabbage-Patch
29-01-2025, 11:18 PM
So tired of the whole saga involving him now tbh. A talented player no doubt but let down by his comittment and immaturity at times. Us knocking back 2.5 million for him in a previous window seems utter folly now. If we get over a million offered by someone we should take it.

babahibs
30-01-2025, 02:19 AM
He's been injured.
That's all there is to it.
Stop making stuff up.

30-01-2025, 06:26 AM
He's been injured.
That's all there is to it.
Stop making stuff up.

What sort of toe injury keeps a player out for over a month when it’s not broken and nothing else has shown up on a scan?

30-01-2025, 06:33 AM
What sort of toe injury keeps a player out for over a month when it’s not broken and nothing else has shown up on a scan?

Im sure the many podiatric geniuses on here could quickly enlighten us.
Honestly this place is ridiculous at times.

30-01-2025, 06:40 AM

The club could easily stop all the speculation by giving an actual update on his injury.

30-01-2025, 06:43 AM
The club could easily stop all the speculation by giving an actual update on his injury.

I thought Gray did that weeks ago. He came as close to saying he doesn’t believe Youan when he says he’s unable to play because of his toe without going so far as to explicitly call him a liar.

30-01-2025, 06:49 AM
I thought Gray did that weeks ago. He came as close to saying he doesn’t believe Youan when he says he’s unable to play because of his toe without going so far as to explicitly call him a liar.I seen that said a few times and find it a strange take?

If I have the right interview anyway

French winger Elie Youan hasn’t played since starring in the Edinburgh derby win over Hearts due to a toe injury.

Gray has now revealed the injury is taking longer than expected to heal. He said: “That’s a frustrating one because we thought he would be back well before now. But it could just be one that rapidly heals.

“He’s got a problem with his toe from impact that it’s taking longer to settle. Because a lot of your force goes through it; you don’t realise until you hurt your big toe how much important it is with your balance and stuff.

“We did think it would settle down a lot quicker than it has. But again, it’s been x-rayed, he’s had an MRI, there’s nothing significant or structural going on in there. It’s just a healing process, it’s taking longer than we’d like.

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

30-01-2025, 06:59 AM
I seen that said a few times and find it a strange take?

I'd I have the right interview anyway

French winger Elie Youan hasn’t played since starring in the Edinburgh derby win over Hearts due to a toe injury.

Gray has now revealed the injury is taking longer than expected to heal. He said: “That’s a frustrating one because we thought he would be back well before now. But it could just be one that rapidly heals.

“He’s got a problem with his toe from impact that it’s taking longer to settle. Because a lot of your force goes through it; you don’t realise until you hurt your big toe how much important it is with your balance and stuff.

“We did think it would settle down a lot quicker than it has. But again, it’s been x-rayed, he’s had an MRI, there’s nothing significant or structural going on in there. It’s just a healing process, it’s taking longer than we’d like.

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

There’s was another paragraph in that article. It was under the pictur of Gray.

“He could go from doing very little today to coming in tomorrow feeling brand new and good to go. So, still hopeful he’ll be available for the weekend, in some capacity.“

The article was on the 9th of January, yet here we are on the 29th January and Youan is still unavailable.

30-01-2025, 07:02 AM
Imagine a message board ( or a world for that matter) where people think the best of people, not the worst.

30-01-2025, 07:05 AM

Is that only when you don't agree with someone else's opinion? I know this place is mad at time, but all we're doing is trading opinions. Without the facts, those of an open mindset can only take snippets of information and spin them the way that they think is correct.

From what SDG stated way back in early January, it is my belief that Youan is protecting himself or being protected so that he doesn't injure himself during the transfer window, as was the case in the summer transfer window. I also find it strange that a player who appeared to have little motivation in the games that followed after his return from injury in mid-September suddenly seemed much more motivated from around the end of November, as if a switch had been flicked. Yes, it could be change in formation and/or improved fitness, but it is my opinion that he's realised he's not going to get a move if his form doesn't improve.

Yes, utter tripe some may say and have already said. I'm happy to be proven wrong. But that is my opinion and until I see more evidence then it won't change.

TrinityHFC
30-01-2025, 07:20 AM
Is that only when you don't agree with someone else's opinion? I know this place is mad at time, but all we're doing is trading opinions. Without the facts, those of an open mindset can only take snippets of information and spin them the way that they think is correct.

From what SDG stated way back in early January, it is my belief that Youan is protecting himself or being protected so that he doesn't injure himself during the transfer window, as was the case in the summer transfer window. I also find it strange that a player who appeared to have little motivation in the games that followed after his return from injury in mid-September suddenly seemed much more motivated from around the end of November, as if a switch had been flicked. Yes, it could be change in formation and/or improved fitness, but it is my opinion that he's realised he's not going to get a move if his form doesn't improve.

Yes, utter tripe some may say and have already said. I'm happy to be proven wrong. But that is my opinion and until I see more evidence then it won't change.

An open mindset? You are just lazily repeating completely unfounded nonsense. Some opinions are just wrong.

Donegal Hibby
30-01-2025, 07:28 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-ace-needle-x-ray-all-clear-full-fitness-injury-bulletin-exclusive-4966582

Gloucester Hibs
30-01-2025, 07:43 AM

Yep it doesn't make sense. We've had loads of players who've been heavily linked with other clubs who have played right to the bitter end - SJM and Porteous 2 of the more high profile ones off the top of my head.

30-01-2025, 07:57 AM
Some players will do what it takes and some won’t.

An example being Joe Newell . I have been very critical of him at points the last few seasons however he’s been playing through the pain barrier, trying to manage a groin issues he had for some time.

All about opinions though eh!

30-01-2025, 07:58 AM
Hopefully Blackburn can agree a fee and we thank Ellie for his 8 or 9 good games in the last 18 months and move on.

30-01-2025, 08:01 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-ace-needle-x-ray-all-clear-full-fitness-injury-bulletin-exclusive-4966582

I have to admit from a cynical point of view that if he is miraculously healed by this injection to play next week once the window is closed it doesn't exactly help halt the conspiracy theory that he didn't play to avoid scuppering a January exit like his injury in the summer most likely did.

Either way I don't care what happens. Elie is one of our best players when he fancies it, but at the same time there is a lingering aura of uncertainty over some things with him that we could probably do without with the added benefit of a decent 7 figure sum into the accounts too. If he does end up staying then hopefully he's motivated to be the best version of himself and earn a move in the summer and everyone can move on happy.

30-01-2025, 08:43 AM
Some players will do what it takes and some won’t.

An example being Joe Newell . I have been very critical of him at points the last few seasons however he’s been playing through the pain barrier, trying to manage a groin issues he had for some time.

All about opinions though eh!

It shouldnt need saying but thats because Joe’s injury and Elie’s injury are different injuries and won’t heal the same. It is POSSIBLE that one player is playing through a pain barrier and one isn’t but we have absolutely no evidence either way. As was said above, we all have a choice; give our player the benefit of the doubt or don’t.

Mcbizz1998
30-01-2025, 08:59 AM
Fit to play from Sunday after he attended a toe specialist he knows in France

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/7qNP3RD9RxQ

Why do you keep posting this weird video?

It’s odd.

Hibiza
30-01-2025, 09:02 AM
Hopefully Blackburn can agree a fee and we thank Ellie for his 8 or 9 good games in the last 18 months and move on.

Nice one.

30-01-2025, 09:07 AM
I'd be willing to have a bet with anyone that as soon as he's away, he will be available for their first game.

30-01-2025, 09:10 AM
It shouldnt need saying but thats because Joe’s injury and Elie’s injury are different injuries and won’t heal the same. It is POSSIBLE that one player is playing through a pain barrier and one isn’t but we have absolutely no evidence either way. As was said above, we all have a choice; give our player the benefit of the doubt or don’t.

Yes you are correct that players heal differently but some will step up and some won’t. So my point stands.

Without having concrete evidence I’m sure that the fans of the majority of clubs will have similar type discussions about their players.

If I’ve read correctly Joe played through the injury until he could play no more. That’s enough for me to suggest he stepped up.

Hibees1973
30-01-2025, 09:12 AM

Correct.

Would bite their hand off.

Bar a couple of occasions Elie goes missing when the going gets tough.

Not to be relied upon in the long term.

30-01-2025, 09:17 AM
I love players like Elie Youan, albeit he is probably too hot or cold for what we need just now. If he was in a better team, he’d probably have more freedom and less pressure if he wasn’t at his best, but just now we need every single player to be putting in a shift (he has recently though without a doubt and has been back to his old self).

Anything above £1m sounds like a good result and would be interested to see how he gets on in the Championship.

Donegal Hibby
30-01-2025, 09:19 AM
I have to admit from a cynical point of view that if he is miraculously healed by this injection to play next week once the window is closed it doesn't exactly help halt the conspiracy theory that he didn't play to avoid scuppering a January exit like his injury in the summer most likely did.

Either way I don't care what happens. Elie is one of our best players when he fancies it, but at the same time there is a lingering aura of uncertainty over some things with him that we could probably do without with the added benefit of a decent 7 figure sum into the accounts too. If he does end up staying then hopefully he's motivated to be the best version of himself and earn a move in the summer and everyone can move on happy.

As to wither Youan is injured or not I’m more in the camp of thinking there is a bit of an issue injury wise there .I don’t think faking a injury in order to get a move would be the best move as opposed to playing well and scoring or providing assists which would put yourself further in the shop window with other clubs these past four weeks.

I’m sort of where you are at with it in wither he stays or goes . If he stays we have kept a very good player at the club and if he goes hopefully we get a decent offer for him and invest it in a couple of good quality players…

One thing I wouldn’t be happy about is if we let him go for what some have said in 1 to 1.5mil as I believe he’s worth more than that and I would be expecting a minimum of 2 mil for him which I don’t think the latest club Blackburn that’s linked with him would be willing to pay.

TrinityHFC
30-01-2025, 11:52 AM
Gray has provided a detailed update on Youan’s fitness.

All very elaborate to cover for a lier and a non trier eh?

30-01-2025, 12:09 PM
Gray has provided a detailed update on Youan’s fitness.

All very elaborate to cover for a lier and a non trier eh?
Yeh.Boots the story into Row ZZ.

HFC93
30-01-2025, 12:12 PM
Hopefully his sore toe doesn't scupper any potential medical.

TrinityHFC
30-01-2025, 12:24 PM
Hopefully his sore toe doesn't scupper any potential medical.

No reason it should. Medicals just provide info for the buying team to take a call on.

30-01-2025, 12:28 PM
I love players like Elie Youan, albeit he is probably too hot or cold for what we need just now. If he was in a better team, he’d probably have more freedom and less pressure if he wasn’t at his best, but just now we need every single player to be putting in a shift (he has recently though without a doubt and has been back to his old self).

Anything above £1m sounds like a good result and would be interested to see how he gets on in the Championship.

I know what you mean, the thing is Elie thinks he's aa step up, and should have the freedom (which is the problem) no players get that freedom anymore in a good level team. Every player has specific instructions. Only the really elite superstar guys get that freedom.

TrinityHFC
30-01-2025, 12:33 PM
I know what you mean, the thing is Elie thinks he's aa step up, and should have the freedom (which is the problem) no players get that freedom anymore in a good level team. Every player has specific instructions. Only the really elite superstar guys get that freedom.

How do you know what he thinks?

Despite every ‘fact’ getting set straight he constantly gets questioned on his attitude. What’s behind it? Because everyone that works with him says how great an attitude he has and how hard he’d works.

Pretty much all of his apparent personality has been constructed by nonsense statements on here.

30-01-2025, 02:17 PM

You ever tried to strike through a ball with a sore toe . Excrutiating He was told to rest it and it shoukd sort itself but it wasn’t Allegedly

30-01-2025, 02:25 PM
He was scanned weeks ago - as per Dave. So why did they wait till this week to eventually give him a steroid injection? Its pretty common in football to give these injections to help with swelling and pain relief so its very odd to wait till hes been out for 4 weeks to do it. I look forward to him being in the team next week. :agree:

30-01-2025, 02:33 PM

Despite every ‘fact’ getting set straight he constantly gets questioned on his attitude. What’s behind it? Because everyone that works with him says how great an attitude he has and how hard he’d works.

Pretty much all of his apparent personality has been constructed by nonsense statements on here.

People can make their own assessment. We're talking about a guy who has argued with fans during and after games in person. Telling fans online that he can't wait to leave. Posting his own clip reels after getting gubbed 3-0 in a derby.

Plenty of reason to question his attitude if you're so inclined.

30-01-2025, 02:52 PM
He was scanned weeks ago - as per Dave. So why did they wait till this week to eventually give him a steroid injection? Its pretty common in football to give these injections to help with swelling and pain relief so its very odd to wait till hes been out for 4 weeks to do it. I look forward to him being in the team next week. :agree:

Do you get these injections straight after the injury, surely he works with the physio first then after a few weeks they will get the injection which doesn’t always do the job.

30-01-2025, 03:07 PM
Correct.

The usual drivel talking down our players.

allmodcons
30-01-2025, 03:22 PM
Correct.

The usual drivel talking down our players.

I think that's a really unfair assessment of Elie Youan.

He's been really good since Gray has given him regular game time and, on his day, can be special.

That said, I think the Club could have been/should be giving us a bit more information about his absence and why it's taken him so long to get over what was initially described as a minor injury. Decent information might help stop the gossip that we see here and elsewhere.

Given his qualities, he's not a player I'd want to lose, so keeping my fingers crossed that he'll back playing for us again soon.

Roxyhibee
30-01-2025, 03:39 PM
Outwith any player The Uglies have, Ellie Youan is the most skilful and talented player in the SPL. Really hope he stays after this window and gives us more of what he was prior to his injury. We are lucky to have him.

30-01-2025, 03:46 PM
Outwith any player The Uglies have, Ellie Youan is the most skilful and talented player in the SPL. Really hope he stays after this window and gives us more of what he was prior to his injury. We are lucky to have him.

Not this season. He’s got the same number of goals (2) and assists (1) as Rocky. We’re two days away from being into February!

30-01-2025, 03:58 PM
It’s not really odd. There are many old footballers hirpling around because they were treated with injections instead of longer term physio to get them back playing more quickly.

30-01-2025, 04:07 PM
Johnson and Monty played Elie far too deep and wide.

David Gray sees him as a natural striker. Any club signing him will play him up front as a penalty box goal threat.

Quite noticeable how our attacking play has dipped since he's been out of the team. Two lame draws against the bottom two SPL sides.

Selling Youan would signify a betrayal of ambition by Mackay and the Board. Gray wants to finish the window stronger than he started it.

I hope the Directors are reading the room.

TrinityHFC
30-01-2025, 04:09 PM

Did you read his comments? He was back training last week and it still wasn’t right so he went back for the scans.

davhibby
30-01-2025, 04:11 PM
Not this season. He’s got the same number of goals (2) and assists (1) as Rocky. We’re two days away from being into February!

He’s been a hugely important part of our turnaround, we’d have won at least 2 of our 3 draws this month if he’d been playing

30-01-2025, 04:19 PM

Fairly obvious why. Its been an injury blighted season for him. It’d be pretty weird if he had 10+ goals and 10+assists again like previously based on the amount he’s played. And when hes played hes been mostly very good.

Roxyhibee
30-01-2025, 04:28 PM

He’s had an unfortunate season for injuries and the team as a whole has only started to get its act together past few months and he’s played a big part in that. When he leaves, our neighbours across the city will be mightily relieved, trust me. And that tells you all you need to know about his abilities.

30-01-2025, 04:36 PM
Very rarely do you get scan results right away.

30-01-2025, 05:19 PM
Johnson and Monty played Elie far too deep and wide.

David Gray sees him as a natural striker. Any club signing him will play him up front as a penalty box goal threat.

Quite noticeable how our attacking play has dipped since he's been out of the team. Two lame draws against the bottom two SPL sides.

Selling Youan would signify a betrayal of ambition by Mackay and the Board. Gray wants to finish the window stronger than he started it.

I hope the Directors are reading the room.

Johnson and Monty played Elie far too deep and wide. They didn't.

David Gray sees him as a natural striker. He doesn't.

Any club signing him will play him up front as a penalty box goal threat. They won't.

Selling Youan would signify a betrayal of ambition by Mackay and the Board. It wouldn't.

andrew70
30-01-2025, 05:28 PM
Johnson and Monty played Elie far too deep and wide. They didn't.

David Gray sees him as a natural striker. He doesn't.

Any club signing him will play him up front as a penalty box goal threat. They won't.

Selling Youan would signify a betrayal of ambition by Mackay and the Board. It wouldn't.

Sums it up perfectly. This thread is a nightmare.

So many strange takes. The boy is quality, loves being here but wants to test himself at a higher level.

He’s had an absolute nightmare with injuries this season but when he has played he’s contributed wholesomely.

We’ve not got an another player with his talent in the squad. Read sell him for 1 million haha, good one.

30-01-2025, 06:04 PM
Youan, Boyle and Bowie fighting for 2 starting places upfront with Gayle as the impact sub and Myko in reserve is a good place for us to be for the rest of the season.

TrinityHFC
30-01-2025, 06:12 PM

So many strange takes. The boy is quality, loves being here but wants to test himself at a higher level.

He’s had an absolute nightmare with injuries this season but when he has played he’s contributed wholesomely.

We’ve not got an another player with his talent in the squad. Read sell him for 1 million haha, good one.

We seem to do the same with all our 'mercurial' talents, especially if they are foreign. Scott Allan didn't get it so much even though he did actively want to move at some point.

Off the top of my head Benji, Zemmama, Malonga and Youan all had the some sort of stuff aimed at them about only playing when it suited them, going in the huff, faking injuries, poor attitude and so on. In a few years, like the rest, maybe we will appreciate what we had.

Ribs1875
30-01-2025, 06:18 PM
He's shown a great attitude, folk wrote him off. He got into a heated moment at the end off the game with a few supporters. He has turned it around and I value him as a key player.

30-01-2025, 06:30 PM
Youan, Boyle and Bowie fighting for 2 starting places upfront with Gayle as the impact sub and Myko in reserve is a good place for us to be for the rest of the season.

It really is.

Jay
30-01-2025, 06:49 PM

I have absolutely no idea what's going on with Youan but I can tell you I had a private MRI scan on my ankle and my physio had the results the next morning.

30-01-2025, 06:49 PM
Fairly obvious why. Its been an injury blighted season for him. It’d be pretty weird if he had 10+ goals and 10+assists again like previously based on the amount he’s played. And when hes played hes been mostly very good.

It has been a stop start season for Youan, I’m not sure the much discussed coincidental injuries give him much mitigation or credit in the bank for his numbers this season though. When he has played, and he’s played well in a number of those games, he hasn’t scored or assisted anywhere near as much as needed. A “goal contribution” every 306 minutes this season is as much a part of why we’ve only won 7 games as all the other reasons.

A good player on his day, but those days have been few and far between this season. He’s created as much discussion about non football stuff as he has what he’s done on the park. I don’t think that’s true of anyone else in the squad. I’m sure there was talk about us paying a similar fee to Vente to make his loan permanent. If we could double our money on him I’d take that and be glad to be rid of the Youan circus. Hopefully his replacement is already here in Bowie.

1875Sean
30-01-2025, 07:18 PM

Realistically based on how he has done this season and how long is left on his contract how much would you except for him?

30-01-2025, 07:23 PM
It has been a stop start season for Youan, I’m not sure the much discussed coincidental injuries give him much mitigation or credit in the bank for his numbers this season though. When he has played, and he’s played well in a number of those games, he hasn’t scored or assisted anywhere near as much as needed. A “goal contribution” every 306 minutes this season is as much a part of why we’ve only won 7 games as all the other reasons.

A good player on his day, but those days have been few and far between this season. He’s created as much discussion about non football stuff as he has what he’s done on the park. I don’t think that’s true of anyone else in the squad. I’m sure there was talk about us paying a similar fee to Vente to make his loan permanent. If we could double our money on him I’d take that and be glad to be rid of the Youan circus. Hopefully his replacement is already here in Bowie.

I think this is where I have a problem with stats in football.

It’s clear as day that Youan - when fit and focussed - brings something to our team that we miss badly when either he’s out or his head’s gone for a walk. He was integral to our good run of form against good teams and we’ve missed him badly since he’s been out. Ultimately, whilst we can talk all day about goals, assists, xG and the like, the only thing that really matters is the team’s WLD performance.

Tbh I’ve slaughtered him on here in the past when I’ve thought he’s been pissing about. There’s not been evidence of that this season though imo, even if the stats related to his end product maybe haven’t been what they’ve been previously.

I think we look a bit dull and workmanlike without him and I think the post a few above about how we react to our “mercurial” players is a valid one.

30-01-2025, 07:42 PM
I think this is where I have a problem with stats in football.

It’s clear as day that Youan - when fit and focussed - brings something to our team that we miss badly when either he’s out or his head’s gone for a walk. He was integral to our good run of form against good teams and we’ve missed him badly since he’s been out. Ultimately, whilst we can talk all day about goals, assists, xG and the like, the only thing that really matters is the team’s WLD performance.

Tbh I’ve slaughtered him on here in the past when I’ve thought he’s been pissing about. There’s not been evidence of that this season though imo, even if the stats related to his end product maybe haven’t been what they’ve been previously.

I think we look a bit dull and workmanlike without him and I think the post a few above about how we react to our “mercurial” players is a valid one.

I’m no lover of stats either, and almost reluctant to use them but it’s the modern way of debating these days.

If we were to take the Aberdeen game as a line in the sand, fortunate for Youan as it discounts the previous two defeats he played 90 minutes in. From that Aberdeen game we won 4, lost 1 and drew 1. Since the Boxing Day game when he last played we have won 3 (one was against Clydebank) and drawn 3. Much of a muchness all things considered and the squad running on fumes in that period.

That’s my general point, players deserve credit for Aberdeen being the turning point. However results have remained largely the same from when we had the likes of Youan & Newell to when they have been out for large spells. That most of our squad is much of a muchness, with some having a higher “on their day” bar than others, but no one who would leave a hole to fill if they left. With Youan I’m just bored of the circus he brings for not enough to mitigate it, IMO.

TrinityHFC
30-01-2025, 07:44 PM
I’m no lover of stats either, and almost reluctant to use them but it’s the modern way of debating these days.

If we were to take the Aberdeen game as a line in the sand, fortunate for Youan as it discounts the previous two defeats he played 90 minutes in. From that Aberdeen game we won 4, lost 1 and drew 1. Since the Boxing Day game when he last played we have won 3 (one was against Clydebank) and drawn 3. Much of a muchness all things considered and the squad running on fumes in that period.

That’s my general point, players deserve credit for Aberdeen being the turning point. However results have remained largely the same from when we had the likes of Youan & Newell to when they have been out for large spells. That most of our squad is much of a muchness, with some hanging a higher “on their day” bar than others, but no one who would leave a hole to fill if they left. With Youan I’m just bored of the circus he brings for not enough to mitigate it, IMO.

The circus isn’t brought by him, it’s in the minds of people on here.

30-01-2025, 07:49 PM

Some of that is the case. However, Rocky has had as much abuse, if not more, but just gets on with his job quietly. He hasn’t argued with fans, cryptic posts, public spats with Bartley, coincidental injuries etc etc.

Anyway, I’ve said my piece on Youan so will leave this thread as I’ve nothing new to add.

30-01-2025, 08:10 PM

There are things that have happened that aren’t just in folks minds.

He was arguing with someone in the crowd at full time at Easter Road. He was arguing with someone in the crowd whilst the game was going on up at Ross County. There is the social media side of things that doesn’t exactly endear him to folk, particularly when he’s posted about not wanting to play for us. They’re all things that you don’t see with the vast majority of players.

Personally wish we could just have him on the pitch playing as he can but thats not been the case enough over the last year.

TrinityHFC
30-01-2025, 08:42 PM

He was arguing with someone in the crowd at full time at Easter Road. He was arguing with someone in the crowd whilst the game was going on up at Ross County. There is the social media side of things that doesn’t exactly endear him to folk, particularly when he’s posted about not wanting to play for us. They’re all things that you don’t see with the vast majority of players.

Personally wish we could just have him on the pitch playing as he can but thats not been the case enough over the last year.

Sort of proves the point. Incidents largely caused by the nonsense written about him.

30-01-2025, 08:46 PM
Sort of proves the point. Incidents largely caused by the nonsense written about him.

Na no really. Two of the incidents were nothing to do with something written. It was him reacting to something said. And the other example I gave was of something he himself wrote. All things you very rarely see from other players.

30-01-2025, 10:22 PM
Na no really. Two of the incidents were nothing to do with something written. It was him reacting to something said. And the other example I gave was of something he himself wrote. All things you very rarely see from other players.

Are you aware that he has had online abuse, racist abuse, that has necessitated our own club getting involved? So yeah, id say Trinity has it pretty much spot on. Pretty much everything negative in relation to Youan stems from other folk writing things.

I prefer to dwell on his 90 second double in the derby. Or his majestic assist for Boyle in a previous derby. Others can get lost in muckraking, no idea what the motivation is there.

30-01-2025, 10:32 PM

I don't think he's getting his scans done at Leith Community Treatment Centre.

With a private doctor, the results should be available within an hour or so.

30-01-2025, 10:37 PM
Are you aware that he has had online abuse, racist abuse, that has necessitated our own club getting involved? So yeah, id say Trinity has it pretty much spot on. Pretty much everything negative in relation to Youan stems from other folk writing things.

I prefer to dwell on his 90 second double in the derby. Or his majestic assist for Boyle in a previous derby. Others can get lost in muckraking, no idea what the motivation is there.

Don’t get the muckraking comment. Folk just have a different opinion on things that seem to upset a few others.

I’ve said I think Youan is a good player, that’s fairly obvious. I also think, whatever the reasons, we’ve not seen that good player nearly enough over the last year or so.

Of course I’m aware of some of the other things that have went on but it’s just an assumption on your part that everything negative stems from that. Just like others make the assumption that there is a link between his sore toe and the transfer window.

NC1875
30-01-2025, 10:53 PM
No reason it should. Medicals just provide info for the buying team to take a call on.

If he can’t play with a sore toe I wouldn’t be spending millions on him.

Especially a sore toe that isn’t broken and shows up perfectly fine in scans etc 🤔

You choose to believe he’s injured, other people don’t.

Like the whole transfer window nonsense, you think you know it all 👍🏼

tonyrougier123
30-01-2025, 11:18 PM
Hopefully his transfer is swift and we can work on a replacement. I’d be very disappointed if we do the usual drawn out til last minute and no one signed as a replacement. Still think we need options in there.

30-01-2025, 11:56 PM

Especially a sore toe that isn’t broken and shows up perfectly fine in scans etc 🤔

His toe is broken
Sore toe, sore toe, sore toe, sore toe...etc

TrinityHFC
31-01-2025, 07:25 AM

Well at least you continue to prove that your opinion on this matter is pretty worthless.

31-01-2025, 07:37 AM
Well at least you continue to prove that your opinion on this matter is pretty worthless.

Ellie actually told someone in hospitality a few weeks back that he wasn’t injured. So maybe it’s Ellie that’s making stuff up? There is nothing to suggest that person made it up and they apparently know the player quite well. As I’ve said already if this injection fixes it and he’s back playing I will be delighted. In the battle for 3rd place we need players like that on the pitch.

31-01-2025, 07:39 AM
Yes you are correct that players heal differently but some will step up and some won’t. So my point stands.

Without having concrete evidence I’m sure that the fans of the majority of clubs will have similar type discussions about their players.

If I’ve read correctly Joe played through the injury until he could play no more. That’s enough for me to suggest he stepped up.

An argument could be made if Joe had gone for treatment earlier we might have had him back earlier. In a lot of cases delaying addressing an injury only prolongs the treatment time, and we end up with the "2 or 3 weeks" till they're back ended up as months.

Given how long Youan was out at the start of the season, it would be understandable he'd not want to take unnecessary risks with a second injury.

31-01-2025, 07:46 AM
Ellie actually told someone in hospitality a few weeks back that he wasn’t injured. So maybe it’s Ellie that’s making stuff up? There is nothing to suggest that person made it up and they apparently know the player quite well. As I’ve said already if this injection fixes it and he’s back playing I will be delighted. In the battle for 3rd place we need players like that on the pitch.

You'll know all about making things up, judging by some of your previous nonsense on here. Sorry to be so blunt, but you're ITK cred is deeply tainted :wink:

I know someone Elie (not Ellie) down at Tesco's a week after the derby match. He was clearly limping.

31-01-2025, 07:46 AM

One of the issues with social media is people assume that content is being made for them. While that is true for a businesses account, for individuals it is not. Youan's page is essentially a diary for him, which he shares, he's not necessarily thinking "oh what will Hibs fans want to see today" like some professional influencer. It's possible that after a defeat he picks himself up by reminding himself of the things he CAN do rather than focusing on what went wrong in the previous game, hence the highlight reels.

Obviously there's a fair whack of conjecture in the above, but no more so than assuming he's posting highlight reels because he doesn't care about Hibs. Best thing anyone can do if they don't like the content someone posts is scroll past it.

31-01-2025, 07:54 AM
You'll know all about making things up, judging by some of your previous nonsense on here. Sorry to be so blunt, but you're ITK cred is deeply tainted :wink:

I know someone Elie (not Ellie) down at Tesco's a week after the derby match. He was clearly limping.

I thought it had been accepted that he did have an injury originally, what is being debated is whether he still is ?

Hibiza
31-01-2025, 08:12 AM
This toe thing is a transfer ploy I think ,I don't know , perhaps there even isn't a toe.🤔

31-01-2025, 09:06 AM

I couldnt care less about ITK....I think ive explained that to you and your odd obsession on many occasions. Would be nice to have these discussions without getting personal. :aok:

31-01-2025, 09:06 AM
I thought it had been accepted that he did have an injury originally, what is being debated is whether he still is ?

None of us really know and quoting a source from hospitality from the poster concerned has been shown not to be credible in the past.

I guess, and that is the operative word, that Youan was keen to move in the summer, the injury in a league cup game scunnered that.

As you say, he was injured at the derby. I also guess that he also still wants to go. I think Hibs want to sell him.

When a move came up before and we rejected a bid from unknown suitors, the issue was price. I think we should just accept that he's going to leave, negotiate the best deal in the circumstances and move on. If we're quick we can spend the fee on someone else and get them in the door and contributing (the likes of Danny Armstrong springs to mind).

31-01-2025, 09:19 AM

Maybe on the NHS.

31-01-2025, 09:24 AM
I had a camera up my arse a few weeks ago, and recieved the results on a screen while i watched.

31-01-2025, 09:28 AM
I had a camera up my arse a few weeks ago, and recieved the results on a screen while i watched.Is your arse playing for Hibs tomorrow?

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

31-01-2025, 10:34 AM
This toe thing is a transfer ploy I think ,I don't know , perhaps there even isn't a toe.🤔

I don’t doubt that there was an injury, but I think they’re using it as an excuse to keep him injury free while a transfer is on the cards. If it doesn’t, there is an escape route for him returning to the squad.

SickBoy32
31-01-2025, 10:37 AM
The guy makes Kamberi look like a model pro.

Take whatever cash we can get and give it to Killie to get Armstrong in. A hard working, effective player with a good attitude 👍

31-01-2025, 10:51 AM

Take whatever cash we can get and give it to Killie to get Armstrong in. A hard working, effective player with a good attitude 👍

Nonsense.

Youan has a very good attitude and is a dedicated trainer, he's very well liked by our manager, who only has praise for him.....next

Donegal Hibby
31-01-2025, 11:00 AM

How much more effective has Armstrong been this season as a matter of interest?

SickBoy32
31-01-2025, 11:05 AM
How much more effective has Armstrong been this season as a matter of interest?

Youan, 13 games / 2 goals / 1 assist

Armstrong, 21 games / 0 goals / 5 assists

Youan has wanted out of the club for a long time, about time we set this ‘mercurial talent’ free.

Let’s get a united and committed squad who will fight for the badge. Not guys who mince about the place pretending to be injured.

31-01-2025, 11:11 AM

Youan has wanted out of the club for a long time, about time we set this ‘mercurial talent’ free.

Let’s get a united and committed squad who will fight for the badge. Not guys who mince about the place pretending to be injured.

This is the kind of thing that happens when you pretend that all opinions are equally valid. Its a societal problem.

31-01-2025, 11:18 AM
Hibs rejected an offer but braced for more transfer interest. And, for all you conspircay theorists, Elie is expected to be back in action next week! :devil:

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/hibs-reject-bid-for-elie-youan-but-braced-for-further-offers-as-efl-suitors-circle-4969260

HIBS NUTS
31-01-2025, 11:29 AM
Whatever the injury situation is now, I’m sceptical, but Blackburn have put in a bid, so hibs aren’t going to risk him at the moment.
We will obviously get decent money, this is probably the domino, that needs to fall, for us to make decent bids on other players.

Donegal Hibby
31-01-2025, 11:52 AM

Maybe you’re right about 5 assists . I did see somewhere it was 4 .. anyhow wither it’s 4/5 he’s played more games than Youan who i think has two goals and one assists in 13 games. I don’t see Armstrong as much of a improvement in fact I think Youan is a more exciting player to watch ..

As to Youan not being committed or fighting for the badge the last time he got injured was trying to win a ball our manager said he probably didn’t have too …

I’m also not buying into the Youan’s faking injury especially after Gray has mentioned he has had a setback and had an injection and should be available next week , wither he is here next week or not is impossible to say as most clubs better players are normally wanted during a transfer window and Youan is certainly one of ours who won’t be easily replaced either IMO .

31-01-2025, 11:53 AM
Hibs rejected an offer but braced for more transfer interest. And, for all you conspircay theorists, Elie is expected to be back in action next week! :devil:

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/hibs-reject-bid-for-elie-youan-but-braced-for-further-offers-as-efl-suitors-circle-4969260

After the window closes...

31-01-2025, 12:04 PM

His constant failures to track back / obey instructions when Montgomery played him as almost a wing back, cost us last season.

FWIW i like him and when on form he's great for us.

31-01-2025, 12:04 PM

Did he fail his fitness test at Blackburn then? :greengrin

MJ hibs
31-01-2025, 12:11 PM
His constant failures to track back / obey instructions when Montgomery played him as almost a wing back, cost us last season.

FWIW i like him and when on form he's great for us.

Monty playing him in wing back style position shows why he is no longer in the job. Youan needs to play through the middle; playing "split strikers" with him and Boyle works well.

Hopefully keep him until the summer.

NC1875
31-01-2025, 12:46 PM

🤔 back for next week. Just as the window closes or just as he’s signed for his new team.

How convenient

Greenio
31-01-2025, 01:11 PM
Realistically based on how he has done this season and how long is left on his contract how much would you except for him?

2.5 million

31-01-2025, 01:14 PM
2.5 million

£800k according to... Hibs Central. That was the rejected bid apparently.

31-01-2025, 01:28 PM
Monty playing him in wing back style position shows why he is no longer in the job. Youan needs to play through the middle; playing "split strikers" with him and Boyle works well.

Hopefully keep him until the summer.

THIS! David Gray is already showing his managerial prowess in fitting round pegs into round holes. Elie was no more suited to play a deep-lying wingback that I was, but Monty was fixated on pedestrian wing play.

In my ST seat high up in the East (which I haven't sat in for 15 years) it gave me the boak to see Elie wasted running the white line, 40 yards from the opposition goalie. Playing a 2-footed attacker with a powerful shot in and around the penalty box isn't exactly rocket science but Gray deserves credit for positioning Youan and Boyle where they can hurt opposition teams the most.

It's hardly surprising therefore that Elie is happier at Hibs playing for a Head Coach who actually knows what he is doing.

If Blackburn are only looking at signing a winger, they are shopping in the wrong store IMO.

Donegal Hibby
31-01-2025, 01:34 PM
Elie got back on grass early last week but still wasn’t right , said Gray . “ so it’s been scanned , it’s been X-rayed and then the next plan of action was to get an injection. So everything’s ok , no break showed up on the scans , it’s just a bit of a chronic thing . Unfortunately it takes 3 to 5 days to settle in for the healing process which isn’t ideal because it’s pushed him back a week … 30th Jan .

There’s more conspiracy theories about Elie’s big toe than who shot JFK 😂

31-01-2025, 01:35 PM
THIS! David Gray is already showing his managerial prowess in fitting round pegs into round holes. Elie was no more suited to play a deep-lying wingback that I was, but Monty was fixated on pedestrian wing play.

In my ST seat high up in the East (which I haven't sat in for 15 years) it gave me the boak to see Elie wasted running the white line, 40 yards from the opposition goalie. Playing a 2-footed attacker with a powerful shot in and around the penalty box isn't exactly rocket science but Gray deserves credit for positioning Youan and Boyle where they can hurt opposition teams the most.

It's hardly surprising therefore that Elie is happier at Hibs playing for a Head Coach who actually knows what he is doing.

We’ve found a system that has worked but Gray has also played Youan out wide just as much. If he leaves, he’ll still play out wide at least as much as he plays through the middle. He can and has played well in either position.

Cabbage-Patch
31-01-2025, 01:37 PM
Elie got back on grass early last week but still wasn’t right , said Gray . “ so it’s been scanned , it’s been X-rayed and then the next plan of action was to get an injection. So everything’s ok , no break showed up on the scans , it’s just a bit of a chronic thing . Unfortunately it takes 3 to 5 days to settle in for the healing process which isn’t ideal because it’s pushed him back a week … 30th Jan .

There’s more conspiracy theories about Elie’s big toe than who shot JFK ��

I dare say he does have some kind of toe issue however I don't believe for a second he's been unfit to play since Tynie. Him and the club will be wanting him injury free so he can move on if a bid comes in. Just my take. If he dosent go by Monday will be back in the squad for Ayr

31-01-2025, 01:40 PM
I dare say he does have some kind of toe issue however I don't believe for a second he's been unfit to play since Tynie. Him and the club will be wanting him injury free so he can move on if a bid comes in. Just my take. If he dose go by Monday will be back in the squad for Ayr

I don’t buy the bit about the club not wanting to play him. Players move all the time and continue to play until such time as a deal is close or done. I’m still not convinced his toe is that sore, but given how stretched our squad has been I don’t think the club would just sit him out.

31-01-2025, 01:45 PM
2.5 million

There isn't a hope in hell we are getting that. Be lucky to get 7 figures now.

TrinityHFC
31-01-2025, 02:05 PM
I don’t buy the bit about the club not wanting to play him. Players move all the time and continue to play until such time as a deal is close or done. I’m still not convinced his toe is that sore, but given how stretched our squad has been I don’t think the club would just sit him out.

What a ridiculous thing to suggest though. What has Youan ever done to suggest to you he is a liar?

You think the club are going to the bother and costs of multiple medical visits, scans and now an injection for someone pretending to have a sore toe?

I don't know what people's motivations are for what they believe about Youan but it is ridiculous.

31-01-2025, 02:07 PM
We’ve found a system that has worked but Gray has also played Youan out wide just as much. If he leaves, he’ll still play out wide at least as much as he plays through the middle. He can and has played well in either position.

This Season

On the wing: Played 5. 0 goals, 0 assists. Team 5pts. At that point Youan was getting continually slaughtered for his lack of defending. Something he is particularly unsuited to doing.

Striker: Played 7. 2 goals, 1 assist. Team 13pts

Gray switching Elie to striker has been one of the most important factors in our revival. And since his injury, one of the reasons for some matches being dull.

Hibiza
31-01-2025, 02:09 PM

Probably at Ewood Park , if that's still it's name.

31-01-2025, 02:10 PM
Blackburn Head Coach John Eustace was a favourite player under Malky Mackay at Watford. Mackay was always effusive in praise of Eustace and promoted him to club captain.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/malky-mackay-john-eustace-perfect-5921788

31-01-2025, 02:15 PM
What a ridiculous thing to suggest though. What has Youan ever done to suggest to you he is a liar?

You think the club are going to the bother and costs of multiple medical visits, scans and now an injection for someone pretending to have a sore toe?

I don't know what people's motivations are for what they believe about Youan but it is ridiculous.

It’s fairly common knowledge injury scuppered his chances of a move in January. I don’t think it’s stretching it to suggest that he might be protecting himself against that happening again.

You seem to get pretty worked up about people having a differing view on this type of thing. There isn’t any motivation for what I think either, I’d much rather he was just on the park doing what he can.

Not going to go back in forward on it with you anymore. You think what you think and I (and others) will continue to think what we do.

NC1875
31-01-2025, 02:17 PM

He wants to leave.

He wanted to leave in the summer then got injured which scuppered that chance.

I don’t doubt he’s hurt his toe but there’s every chance that he’s milking it until the window closes to avoid a repeat of the summer and a failed move.

You don’t know that he isn’t, just like I don’t know for sure that he is.

Opinions. People are allowed different ones from yourself.

Only Youan knows the answer.

31-01-2025, 02:22 PM
This Season

On the wing: Played 5. 0 goals, 0 assists. Team 5pts. At that point Youan was getting continually slaughtered for his lack of defending. Something he is particularly unsuited to doing.

Striker: Played 7. 2 goals, 1 assist. Team 13pts

Gray switching Elie to striker has been one of the most important factors in our revival. And since his injury, one of the reasons for some matches being dull.

Whereas almost all of his 20 goals and assists last season came from out wide.

He did well for the month or so he was playing up front but I don’t think he made some kind of huge irreplaceable contribution playing there.

Point is I think he can be effective both up front and wide. Very few teams play with two up top and I don’t think anyone would have him as an out and out number 9 unless they are. So if he leaves, I think most teams would see him play wide more often.

31-01-2025, 03:04 PM
[QUOTE=RIP;7881489]Blackburn Head Coach John Eustace was a favourite player under Malky Mackay at Watford. Mackay was always effusive in praise of Eustace and promoted him to club captain.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/malky-mackay-john-eustace-perfect-5921788[/QUOTE

Agent Malky offer machine gun Harry as well as Youan 1.5 million combined all is forgiven

Hibee Daft
31-01-2025, 03:15 PM
800k is not nearly enough and glad hibs have rejected the offer.

Keeping him until summer could be very beneficial in getting 3rd. So would need to be a good offer for him to go, selling him in the summer makes more sense... unless someone offers over and above

Coach Jon
31-01-2025, 03:33 PM

Keeping him until summer could be very beneficial in getting 3rd. So would need to be a good offer for him to go, selling him in the summer makes more sense... unless someone offers over and above

His value might fall now he has been diagnosed with Transfer Toe.

1875Sean
31-01-2025, 03:41 PM

Unless he goes in a huff again and goes missing for not getting a move

Bridge hibs
31-01-2025, 03:46 PM
I had a camera up my arse a few weeks ago, and recieved the results on a screen while i watched.Ouch that must've hurt 🫣 28495

PHeffernan
31-01-2025, 04:15 PM
[QUOTE=RIP;7881489]Blackburn Head Coach John Eustace was a favourite player under Malky Mackay at Watford. Mackay was always effusive in praise of Eustace and promoted him to club captain.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/malky-mackay-john-eustace-perfect-5921788[/QUOTE

Agent Malky offer machine gun Harry as well as Youan 1.5 million combined all is forgiven

He's been mare tatty gun Harry at Hibs

PHeffernan
31-01-2025, 04:17 PM
Unless he goes in a huff again and goes missing for not getting a move

He'll be hopping mad!

31-01-2025, 05:03 PM

There’s more conspiracy theories about Elie’s big toe than who shot JFK 😂

It was James E. Files.

31-01-2025, 05:28 PM
Is your arse playing for Hibs tomorrow?

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
That all depends if SDG picks.................

31-01-2025, 05:32 PM
Ouch that must've hurt 🫣 28495

The guy that operated it hurt more. :wink:

31-01-2025, 09:19 PM
I had a camera up my arse a few weeks ago, and recieved the results on a screen while i watched.

Did the Hibs score come through while you were watching?

1875Sean
01-02-2025, 07:06 PM
Is that him away to stoke? 1.5 m plus add ons?

01-02-2025, 07:09 PM
Was he at the game today? Would expect him to be leaving - would be very surprised if he stays.

Wish him all the best if he moves - would love to see him finish the season with Hibs though and get a proper send off.

01-02-2025, 07:11 PM
Sounds like he's away.

SDG didn't say it, just something along the lines of doing what's best for the club.

01-02-2025, 07:13 PM
Is that him away to stoke? 1.5 m plus add ons?

Plenty chat we accepted the Stoke bid and he’s gone for what you’ve said.

Gordy M
01-02-2025, 07:16 PM
According to mate in Stoke, deal isnt happening, some reporter who reports on Stoke has tweeted its not happening.....so who knows.

01-02-2025, 07:23 PM
**** knows what’s going on, maybe he wants to go, maybe he’s looking in the bag of sweeties?

If he stays he could be really important for the rest of the season.

A fit and firing Youan could be the difference in the run in, feel like we would be seriously dangerous up front if we kept him and let him take his pick at the end of the season.

1875Sean
01-02-2025, 07:24 PM
According to mate in Stoke, deal isnt happening, some reporter who reports on Stoke has tweeted its not happening.....so who knows.

Not seen anything on twitter to suggest that they have pulled out, hopefully not, 1.5m and add ons is decent based on this seasons form

1875Sean
01-02-2025, 07:25 PM
**** knows what’s going on, maybe he wants to go, maybe he’s looking in the bag of sweeties?

If he stays he could be really important for the rest of the season.

A fit and firing Youan could be the difference in the run in, feel like we would be seriously dangerous up front if we kept him and let him take his pick at the end of the season.

Boyle has came in and showed him up, wouldn’t get in the starting line up based on form

Gordy M
01-02-2025, 07:27 PM
Not seen anything on twitter to suggest that they have pulled out, hopefully not, 1.5m and add odds is decent based on this seasons form

Not sure how to add links but its on the Stoke fans forum as well.

01-02-2025, 07:37 PM
https://oatcakefanzine.proboards.com/thread/315873/elie-youan-watch-stage?page=1

stoke city fans site

ElginHibbie
01-02-2025, 07:42 PM
Not seen anything on twitter to suggest that they have pulled out, hopefully not, 1.5m and add ons is decent based on this seasons form

This is article they seem to be linking to, which doesn't rule anything just seems to be trying to temper expectations

https://www.stokesentinel.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/stoke-city-transfer-deadline-day-9912263

02-02-2025, 07:38 AM
Imagine if he never had an injection and has been fit for the last 4 weeks, and we’ve just not played him as we are desperate to sell him.

02-02-2025, 09:37 AM
I think all the ‘discussion’ about him has created a negative spin on the situation and if he doesn’t get his move tomorrow, we’ll be stuck with an unhappy player who might not contribute anything for the rest of the season. If the Stoke bid is still on the table, we should accept it and cut our losses.

02-02-2025, 11:15 AM
Boyle has came in and showed him up, wouldn’t get in the starting line up based on form

Not so sure. We don’t look nearly as dangerous as we did a few weeks ago when him and Boyle were paired up front.

His pace and trickery frightens the life out of the opposition and creates space for Boyle and Campbell and the two Caddens.

I’d rather keep him

02-02-2025, 01:49 PM
[QUOTE=AlbertK86;7883644]Not so sure. We don’t nearly as dangerous as we did a few weeks ago when him and Boyle were paired up front.

His pace and trickery frightens the life out of the opposition and creates space for Boyle and Campbell and the two Caddens.

I’d rather keep him

……. So would I but only if he publicly stated he was willing stay and play for the team, which I don’t think he does.

03-02-2025, 09:25 AM
The guy that operated it hurt more. :wink:

Now ..... the expression in your profile pic ..... everything falls into place!

03-02-2025, 09:30 AM

Disagree that Boyle showed him up, I think they compliment each other really well and whilst we've had decent results since Youan was out I think we've lacked a bit of magic in attack that Youan can offer.

If Youan was fit I've no doubt he would have at least been on the pitch if not starting in our last 4 or 5 games.

03-02-2025, 09:35 AM
I'm kind of hoping we sell him this window. Good player on his day but certainly looks like he's wanting away.

03-02-2025, 09:36 AM
Disagree that Boyle showed him up, I think they compliment each other really well and whilst we've had decent results since Youan was out I think we've lacked a bit of magic in attack that Youan can offer.

If Youan was fit I've no doubt he would have at least been on the pitch if not starting in our last 4 or 5 games.

I also think we're getting a bit less from Gayle by having him play larger chunks of games from the start rather than the very effective impact player that he'd become towards the end of games. Not saying he's been poor or that his contribution hasn't been good enough, it's just not as good as it was immediately prior to Youan's most recent "issue" imo.

03-02-2025, 09:44 AM
I also think we're getting a bit less from Gayle by having him play larger chunks of games from the start rather than the very effective impact player that he'd become towards the end of games. Not saying he's been poor or that his contribution hasn't been good enough, it's just not as good as it was immediately prior to Youan's most recent "issue" imo.

Said the same on Saturday. I thought Gayle struggled for parts of the game. If a chance comes along he’ll more than likely finish it but he was quiet otherwise. I expect to see Bowie replace him in the starting 11 sooner rather than later now.

03-02-2025, 09:52 AM

Yepp, agree with this.

Gayle was talking about retirement not that long ago as his body is failing him, now he's being relied on for 70 minutes week to week it will be catching up with him.

If Youan goes there's no doubt in my mind we will need another striker. Bowies recovery is important but also leaves exposed if Boyle picks up an injury. If they all stay fit then fine but it means either Boyle or Gayle doing 90 plus minutes week in week out.

03-02-2025, 10:13 AM
Now ..... the expression in your profile pic ..... everything falls into place!
Thats BoltonHibs. :wink:

03-02-2025, 10:13 AM

Totally agree

03-02-2025, 10:19 AM
So both Stoke and Blackburn have backed off. Not surprised if true.

Two injuries in half a season and some social media controversy. No guarantee he's not going to be sidelined again before the season ends.

If it was us bidding for a player with that track record I'd be fuming.

03-02-2025, 10:40 AM

Two injuries in half a season and some social media controversy. No guarantee he's not going to be sidelined again before the season ends.

Thats an unnecessarily negative take. They baulked at the price or thought another player was a surer bet. It happens. If Youan stays recent history while on the pitch suggests he makes us more dangerous, if he goes we get a wedge. Its all fine.

03-02-2025, 10:52 AM

Pretty sure that's nowhere near what has happened.

03-02-2025, 10:54 AM
Thats an unnecessarily negative take. They baulked at the price or thought another player was a surer bet. It happens. If Youan stays recent history while on the pitch suggests he makes us more dangerous, if he goes we get a wedge. Its all fine.

Re "baulked at the price" - whenever I've seen Youan linked with a move for millions it has seemed almost surreal to me. Good player on his day, no doubt, but he's not in his teens/ early twenties with ages to improve, he's incredibly inconsistent and then there's his "other stuff".

£750k - £1.5m feels about right, given what we've seen various Hibs players go for in the past.

I know this will enrage a lot of people (including probably Ian Gordon) but it has felt like we've been absolutely kidding ourselves that he's worth £2-3m without him ever having actually consistently played at a sort of level to justify that.

What are an English Championship club going to get for their outlay? A good start, probably. Then he'll fade, there'll be a few loans to lower league clubs (maybe back to us) then some ill advised moves to the exotic climes that pay most handsomely later in his career. It's probably worth £750k to get that promising start and to take a punt on it becoming more than that, but it's not worth £2m of anyone's money, certainly not anyone grappling with FFP conditions.

tonyrougier123
03-02-2025, 10:56 AM
If it’s 1.5million it’s a bargain for Stoke, it’s 1.5million less than we should’ve been getting for a player when switched on and tuned into Hibs would’ve got us.

An enigma of a player, undoubted talent.

03-02-2025, 11:09 AM
Re "baulked at the price" - whenever I've seen Youan linked with a move for millions it has seemed almost surreal to me. Good player on his day, no doubt, but he's not in his teens/ early twenties with ages to improve, he's incredibly inconsistent and then there's his "other stuff".

£750k - £1.5m feels about right, given what we've seen various Hibs players go for in the past.

I know this will enrage a lot of people (including probably Ian Gordon) but it has felt like we've been absolutely kidding ourselves that he's worth £2-3m without him ever having actually consistently played at a sort of level to justify that.

What are an English Championship club going to get for their outlay? A good start, probably. Then he'll fade, there'll be a few loans to lower league clubs (maybe back to us) then some ill advised moves to the exotic climes that pay most handsomely later in his career. It's probably worth £750k to get that promising start and to take a punt on it becoming more than that, but it's not worth £2m of anyone's money, certainly not anyone grappling with FFP conditions.

Admittedly he’s got less time now remaining on his contract but we previously turned down £2M from Stoke for him….

TrinityHFC
03-02-2025, 11:11 AM

Like most of the Youan chat.

Donegal Hibby
03-02-2025, 11:11 AM
I mentioned a player earlier this season in R Kone at Wycombe in league 1 who has scored something like 16 goals , looked a decent player without looking spectacular , a bit raw and used as a sub quite a bit . Wycombe have turned down £5 or £6mil for him with Luton rumoured to be going in with an improved offer .. surely if a player like that is worth that kind of money then around £2mil for Youan isn’t unreasonable.

03-02-2025, 11:18 AM
I mentioned a player earlier this season in R Kone at Wycombe in league 1 who has scored something like 16 goals , looked a decent player without looking spectacular , a bit raw and used as a sub quite a bit . Wycombe have turned down £5 or £6mil for him with Luton rumoured to be going in with an improved offer .. surely if a player like that is worth that kind of money then around £2mil for Youan isn’t unreasonable.

Playing anywhere in England seems to carry a bit of a premium though. And there's always the "well, if he's going for this then surely Youan can..." argument when players seem to move for inflated fees in a fairly wild, inflated market.

I don't doubt that if Youan went on the sort of run we all feel he's capable of going on then that sort of price tag would be reasonable. It's just that, for a multitude of reasons, he never has.

If he's 20 or 21 then you might take a punt based on what he might do in future. By the time he's at the age he's at, he's likely to be what he is - enigmatic, inconsistent, occasionally great and often frustrating and it's unlikely to change.

03-02-2025, 11:19 AM
Admittedly he’s got less time now remaining on his contract but we previously turned down £2M from Stoke for him….

I'll bow to your superior knowledge of that.

But in terms of moves that actually went ahead, it sits next to that time Riordan and Whittaker went to Inverness in exchange for Bobby Mann.

03-02-2025, 11:22 AM
I'll bow to your superior knowledge of that.

But in terms of moves that actually went ahead, it sits next to that time Riordan and Whittaker went to Inverness in exchange for Bobby Mann.

Looking like a poor decision now but we believed at that time we could get more for him.

03-02-2025, 11:23 AM
Looking like a poor decision now but we believed at that time we could get more for him.

Yep.

Bonkers.

I sort of get it - as we all see that "there's a player in there" and it's easy to be wise after the event.

03-02-2025, 12:19 PM

You saying he's not injured then?

Donegal Hibby
03-02-2025, 12:20 PM
Playing anywhere in England seems to carry a bit of a premium though. And there's always the "well, if he's going for this then surely Youan can..." argument when players seem to move for inflated fees in a fairly wild, inflated market.

I don't doubt that if Youan went on the sort of run we all feel he's capable of going on then that sort of price tag would be reasonable. It's just that, for a multitude of reasons, he never has.

If he's 20 or 21 then you might take a punt based on what he might do in future. By the time he's at the age he's at, he's likely to be what he is - enigmatic, inconsistent, occasionally great and often frustrating and it's unlikely to change.

This seasons not been great for him alright as he’s been unlucky with injuries though last season , what was it his figures were … 10 or 11 goals and 10 assists or something like that? Which is excellent for a winger IMO .

I just think for what we paid for him , his previous club due a percentage of any fee we get for him £2mil has got to be the minimum we should be asking.. just about your point about him being an enigmatic and inconsistent , he’s also probably the most exciting player we have that has real quality too .

I think most wingers at times are inconsistent , just have to look at Armstrong at Killie who some folk were wanting.

WestStandWillie
03-02-2025, 12:23 PM
I'd rather keep him until end of the season if we're getting shafted with low bids.

Would aid us more than the money at this current stage of the season.

03-02-2025, 01:49 PM
You saying he's not injured then?

No i am saying that these clubs would know all this already.

03-02-2025, 02:06 PM
No i am saying that these clubs would know all this already.

Ah right. Yeah they would.

FWIW I still think he'll leave today.

davym7062
03-02-2025, 02:12 PM
Like most of the Youan chat.

:agree::agree:

03-02-2025, 10:53 PM
Well, he’s now got the opportunity to put the sort of run of form together than makes him an undisputed £2m player.

04-02-2025, 12:03 AM
Delighted that he’s staying.

Love watching him play and we have missed him last few weeks.

Hopefully he’s back playing sooner rather than later.

PHeffernan
04-02-2025, 12:50 AM
Saw this post on a Watford forum just before Porteous moved to Preston

"I was so optimistic when we signed him but he's the most kamikaze centre back I've seen here. There's aggression and then there's stupidity - then has the audacity to shout at everyone else"

Doesn't sound like Ryan has changed and the last 9 words made me spit my coffee out :greengrin.

04-02-2025, 04:52 AM
Thats BoltonHibs. :wink:

I was t happy when I found out what you done with my camera!!

04-02-2025, 06:01 AM

"I was so optimistic when we signed him but he's the most kamikaze centre back I've seen here. There's aggression and then there's stupidity - then has the audacity to shout at everyone else"

Doesn't sound like Ryan has changed and the last 9 words made me spit my coffee out :greengrin.

Perfect description of him to be fair.

04-02-2025, 06:22 AM

Exactly how I'd describe him here

04-02-2025, 09:45 AM
Is he back for Friday now?

04-02-2025, 09:47 AM
Is he back for Friday now?

He took part in training yesterday so fingers crossed.

04-02-2025, 10:09 AM

He'll be out with that next!

04-02-2025, 10:40 AM
He'll be out with that next!

🤣

Coach Jon
04-02-2025, 10:44 AM

Surprise Surprise his toe is now better.

04-02-2025, 10:56 AM
Surprise Surprise his toe is now better.

Assuming the toe story is as fake as it seems, we don't know whether it was the club hoping to cash in or himself looking for a move. Could easily be either.

04-02-2025, 11:00 AM
Assuming the toe story is as fake as it seems, we don't know whether it was the club hoping to cash in or himself looking for a move. Could easily be either.

I just really don’t see why the club would stop playing him altogether in the hope of selling him when there was no guarantee we would. You might get someone left out of a game if something is practically done, but not for 5 or 6 weeks. As Gray said last week, apart from anything else he’ll need built back up after a period out.

TrinityHFC
04-02-2025, 11:25 AM

Or maybe even nonsense and he was injured, in line with the detailed update Gray gave last week about him training, having a set back, going back for scans and getting an injection to help resolve it which would keep him out for another few days.

Houston7
04-02-2025, 11:40 AM
Or maybe even nonsense and he was injured, in line with the detailed update Gray gave last week about him training, having a set back, going back for scans and getting an injection to help resolve it which would keep him out for another few days.

I would prefer to believe this. Let’s move on & get the best out of this talented player for the next few months. Hope he can play a part against St Mirren a week on Sunday. Because of where I live, I know many Saints fans, who think he is one of the most dangerous players they come up against. For some reason, he generally plays really well against St Mirren.

jonny
20-02-2025, 02:05 PM
Anyone have any idea what the latest with Youan is?
He seems to have been 2 weeks away for about 6 weeks. Every week I expect to see an update that he's back training or in the squad but whilst there's frequent updates on other players there's very little coming out re Youan.

Ribs1875
20-02-2025, 02:16 PM
He seems to have been 2 weeks away for about 6 weeks. Every week I expect to see an update that he's back training or in the squad but whilst there's frequent updates on other players there's very little coming out re Youan.

I am sure he flew out to see a specialist in Europe. Hopefully he is back in soon. I assume both he and hibs are playing it cautious as it would be a disaster for him to get a further injury that could keep him out beyond the summer.

hibsforeurope
20-02-2025, 02:17 PM

Newall and EKpiteta back in full training this week, no mention of Youan so presume he’s still not available to play.

20-02-2025, 02:34 PM

His big toe is still a bit sore.

jonny
20-02-2025, 02:34 PM
I am sure he flew out to see a specialist in Europe. Hopefully he is back in soon. I assume both he and hibs are playing it cautious as it would be a disaster for him to get a further injury that could keep him out beyond the summer.

Still related to the toe injury?