View Full Version : Match Updates Aberdeen v Hibernian

Pages : 1 [2] 3

HarpOnHibee
21-12-2024, 03:04 PM
Another example of us being a bit better than the opponent without being brilliant ourselves.
Defending gives me the fear but we’ve looked pretty comfortable for most of the game.
Second half is massive now. Don’t do anything stupid and we’ll be coming back down the road with the points.

Just goes to show that we don't need to be magnificent to have a positive impact on games. Over the course of a season it's all about just doing enough on a game by game basis to get the result. We need to keep digging in through the 2nd half to see this result out. It should be enough to see off Hearts next week as well going by their own form.

21-12-2024, 03:05 PM
Commentator said Shinnie was booked but nothing on live scores . Not that I am surprised

badabing67
21-12-2024, 03:05 PM
Difficult to prepare for pure speed, need to try and avoid 1v1s.

Yip we need to make sure he sees as little of the ball as possible

badabing67
21-12-2024, 03:07 PM
Has there been any changes

Silky
21-12-2024, 03:07 PM
They’ll have that wee Morris to throw on for the final 30 which will cause us issues playing the higher line/against the wind. Really need a third, but we’ve done well so far and worthy of our lead. We have a bit of grit throughout the team these days. Like what I’ve seen so far.

What if we attack him, though? He might be crap defending.

21-12-2024, 03:08 PM
Not the best start to the second half.

badabing67
Good save Smithy

HarpOnHibee
Difficult to prepare for pure speed, need to try and avoid 1v1s.

That's true. Our best bet would be to try and retain possession in the Aberdeen half while maintaining a solid back line. Easier said than done, but it can be done. We need to get off the back foot here first though.

Edit: Or we could just score more goals. :wink:

Has there been any changes

Nothing for either team

3-1 :thumbsup::thumbsup:

21-12-2024, 03:09 PM
3-1

yaaaas

Yes!

Boyle has been outstanding

Not the best start to the second half.

Seems alright to me

21-12-2024, 03:10 PM
That should be that

AZhibee
My gosh

Get in there you beauty!!! This would be a great result if we keep it going

badabing67
Love you Boyler

Yaaaaaaaas

That should be that

Don't say that!!!

well cut out by Triantis as well

AZhibee
Squirrel!!!!

Brilliant stuff. Well done Triantis and top finish from Boyler

Get in there

What a team :greengrin

This is brilliant! Great stuff Hibs

AZhibee
Brilliant stuff. Well done Triantis and top finish from Boyler

Indeed

Nice wee move there. 👏

OtleyHibs
What a game Boyle is having, vintage

Brilliant by Triantis!

Believe in SDG.

So good. Welcome back Martin Boyle - he’s been brilliant today. What a team!

21-12-2024, 03:11 PM
3-1 :thumbsup::thumbsup:
Unbelievable 👌

Jesus this has actually been decent from everyone.

badabing67
well played Triantis

HendoDelivered
Jeez

babahibs
Get in

Donegal Hibby
Yass Boyler :flag:

Get in Hibs! Nae mistakes now!!

That should be that

Nah. Another 2 and I’ll relax.:greengrin

I am liking this.

o'hora injured miller on

Now keep going forward! Attack is our best form of defence.

O'Hora looks done

Jakhog1
21-12-2024, 03:12 PM
Well done triantis, great interception and perfectly weighted ball, great to see Boyle on this form too

Let’s keep this up. Don’t do anything silly.

O’Hora off for Miller.

21-12-2024, 03:13 PM
Well done Martin, not too bad for someone that's finished

Believe in SDG.
If this continues I'll have to eat humble pie, which I'll happily do. 😔

OtleyHibs
5 games ago I really wanted a managerial change

Don't think I ever been as happy to have been wrong

21-12-2024, 03:14 PM

All of us will mate. Some turnaround the last few weeks if we can get the 3 points here

Wonder what we’ll do going forward if o’hora is crocked

Jakhog1

To be fair I think the majority off us would be all getting a large slice

Silky
Wonder what we’ll do going forward if o’hora is crocked

Defend better?

21-12-2024, 03:15 PM
even the commentary is back

damn it's home commentary now boooooooooo

Boyle has been outstanding

Just in time for the January window. :cb :thumbsup:

Defend better?

Leaves us with one for CB though

21-12-2024, 03:16 PM
Need to stop putting hands on backs. They are falling all over the shop and the ref gives it every time.

plhibs
21-12-2024, 03:17 PM
How has the dons #33 not seen a yellow?

Silky
Leaves us with one for CB though

We have that when he plays, though, reading some of the posts recently.

Up-the-slope
whats interesting is that it seems the first time in a while that more than half the team having good games - in this league you can't have many of your team having off days and expect much. Also we seem to have players playing in positions and a formation that suit most of them..

Need a professional last half hour. Nothing stupid, no stupid red cards. See this out and it's a great result

hfc-1875
21-12-2024, 03:18 PM
Don’t need to be silly here, just be solid and see the game out without any mistakes

tonyrougier123
21-12-2024, 03:19 PM
Campbell Triantis and Boyle haters…..let’s be having ye!!!

Newell off injured for Kwon. I know he's not everyone's cup of tea but I think he'll be a miss for this last half hour

AZhibee
Newell on yellow, bring someone on soon?

AZhibee
21-12-2024, 03:20 PM
Kwonnie

Kwon for Newall by the looks of it.

Kwon for Newell. Kwon really needs to follow runners. At least it takes the worry of Newell's yellow away

21-12-2024, 03:21 PM
Don’t need to be silly here, just be solid and see the game out without any mistakes

Or score a 4th and 5th.

Dons will be forced to charge forward, and Hibs ain't the best at dealing with pressure. We need to keep positive and hitting on the break.. and kill them off.

even the commentary is back

damn it's home commentary now boooooooooo

Just in, who is doing Hibs commentary. :thumbsup:

Seems like all our injuries happening in time for tynie

Game management and thinking heads on now.

Adam (?) And micky weir

21-12-2024, 03:22 PM

Adam Tomlinson and Micky Weir.

Seems like all our injuries happening in time for tynie

Aye. Just as I was getting all excited about what we could dole out on Thursday.

First bit of action and Kwon easily beaten to header.

Up-the-slope
21-12-2024, 03:24 PM
Campbell Triantis and Boyle haters…..let’s be having ye!!!

Dont hate any... first 2 I have defended as always thought they had a part to play. Boyle I have thought he has been well below par and could not decide if it was injury recovery holding him going back or he was downing tools ahead of contract run down

21-12-2024, 03:25 PM
Kwon having a nightmare already.

21-12-2024, 03:25 PM
Fell out of game since Newell went off

21-12-2024, 03:26 PM
Surprised they've not brought on Shayden Morris.

I've been out, what the **** is going on lol

Kwon having a nightmare already.

Sub him

Up-the-slope
21-12-2024, 03:27 PM
I've been out, what the **** is going on lol

Please go back out until FT:greengrin

Never a corner

badabing67
Is Nizzy injured

Kwon will never make it in this league.

Need to close this game out and hit them on the break, get another one.

21-12-2024, 03:28 PM
Is Nizzy injured

He’s on the bench

21-12-2024, 03:28 PM
I’m hoping we don’t start sitting back and dropping deeper

Need to try keep at them

HarpOnHibee
21-12-2024, 03:29 PM
I think there's a few in the home end who may be mildly upset?

21-12-2024, 03:30 PM
Obita on for...

21-12-2024, 03:31 PM
Obita on for...

No one yet, I think he's ready incase Miller needs to come off.

Sounds like it

speedy_gonzales
Obita on for...

Naebody, a precaution in case Miller couldn't play on.

No one yet, I think he's ready incase Miller needs to come off.

Surely not another injury

21-12-2024, 03:32 PM
Lost our way a bit

Miller had the physio and doctor on looking him over. But looked like it was just a dunt in the head/neck area from a Dons player at a corner.

Possible concussion but back on so hopefully okay

Mcbizz1998
21-12-2024, 03:33 PM
This wind is unbelievable. Fair play if we see this out with it in our face all second half.

Need to close this game out and hit them on the break, get another one.

:agree: It's next goal the winner.

HarpOnHibee
We need to get back to pressing.

Ambrose has missed two good chances in last few minutes

Possible concussion but back on so hopefully okay

As long as it was his heid he will be fine.

21-12-2024, 03:34 PM
Great chasing from Boyle and a free corner

21-12-2024, 03:35 PM
Need to try and get up the pitch, but nearly impossible in this wind.

21-12-2024, 03:35 PM
hopefully no more scoring :)

21-12-2024, 03:36 PM
Love the Aberdeen fans going nuts :hilarious

21-12-2024, 03:36 PM
Aberdeen defender had a huge chunk of our players strip at the corner. That only a penalty when it's in our box?

21-12-2024, 03:37 PM
Kwon and Triantis make a brutal pair.

I’m loving this fella Ambrose.[emoji23]

Ambrose had a shot for them. Almost stayed in the ground.

babahibs
Boooooooooooo

21-12-2024, 03:38 PM
Ambrose sinks a ship at sea

Just as well that Ambrose is pish 😂

Should be a booking for McGrath for diving. Triantis got one for less earlier in the season.

I’m loving this fella Ambrose.[emoji23]

Absolute cart horse 🤣🤣🤣

Ambrose might as well put on a green top. Among our best players today 😀

Here comes speedy Gonzalez for them. Cannot leave too much space at the back. Keep trying to play in their half

Up-the-slope
I think every supporter who has made the trip in this weather at this time of year deserves total respect :hibees

21-12-2024, 03:39 PM
I think every supporter who has made the trip in this weather at this time of year deserves total respect :hibees

👏 👏👏

there's only one Ambrose

and that was Efe

C cadden down injured now an all.

We're going to be bare bones at tynecastle.

21-12-2024, 03:41 PM

:top marks :flag::flag:

21-12-2024, 03:41 PM
What’s with all the injuries

21-12-2024, 03:42 PM
Front three been really isolated since the third goal.

Don't think I've heard campbells name for 25 minutes.

21-12-2024, 03:42 PM
Should do better there Elie. He has passed up a few chances of shooting today

21-12-2024, 03:43 PM
What’s with all the injuries
Game management. I think miller was the only one with a sore one.

21-12-2024, 03:44 PM
Game management. I think miller was the only one with a sore one.

Hopefully

21-12-2024, 03:44 PM

21-12-2024, 03:45 PM
When was the last time we scored three up there?

21-12-2024, 03:45 PM
We’re doing well unlike my blood pressure!

21-12-2024, 03:46 PM
1994?

Iredale has been excellent today

I really like him

How long to go?

badabing67
Good from Triantis again

How long to go?

5 minutes

USA_Hibee
21-12-2024, 03:47 PM
How long to go?

Too long!

3 min nit in I jury time

EH54
Massively impressed with how hibs have managed this game, particularly in the second half against this wind. Back line holding up, Rocky playing simple defending football.

Long way to go but this has been the sort of performance we have lacked this season. Resolute, Fight and taking our chances.

C’Mon Hibs!!

How long to go?
3 plus about 10 added.

5 minutes

👍🤞🤞🤞🤞

Mcbizz1998
Look to play the pass Youan!

speedy_gonzales
Here comes speedy Gonzalez for them. Cannot leave too much space at the back. Keep trying to play in their half

I can assure you I'm sitting in my adobe with me feet up!

21-12-2024, 03:48 PM
Yuan showing his poorer side of his game, lift your head and stop trying to take on everyone.

Massively impressed with how hibs have managed this game, particularly in the second half against this wind. Back line holding up, Rocky playing simple defending football.

Long way to go but this has been the sort of performance we have lacked this season. Resolute, Fight and taking our chances.

C’Mon Hibs!!

Sounds good, here's hoping.

C’Mon Hibs!!
Bit early for that call

93/94 2-3

21-12-2024, 03:49 PM
Delighted for David Gray. So glad he’s managing to turn things round

We’re doing well unlike my blood pressure!

Thats an understatement If we see this game out and win it’s a brilliant result and confirms the players are now responding positively
Injuries mounting up though and with a derby coming up we are sure to get more
But Boyle back to his best is the real bonus today

Hear hear

21-12-2024, 03:50 PM
Thats an understatement If we see this game out and win it’s a brilliant result and confirms the players are now responding positively
Injuries mounting up though and with a derby coming up we are sure to get more
But Boyle back to his best is the real bonus today

Get through the next couple and January is upon us thankfully

21-12-2024, 03:50 PM
Superb from Cads2, had a fantastic game

21-12-2024, 03:51 PM
A Hertz loss tomorrow...

A derby win...

Imagine :dead:

How long added?

ross co 1 st mirren 2
sevco 1 dundee 0

Aberdeen have Donsed 2nd position

21-12-2024, 03:52 PM
Where's 7 minutes coming from?

Mcbizz1998
How long added?

7 mins

skyehibee
7 mins??

Could’ve done with keeping st mirren in sight

7 mins. Why always so much when we are leading. A few knocks and subs but 7 is ridiculous

Up-the-slope
Seems a long time ago that we actually lost the first goal in this game - some come back when early in season we folded when that happened

21-12-2024, 03:53 PM
7 mins

Really? Thanks

bbc saying hold up while the ref sorts out his tackle...
St midden last min goal v county as well.

AZhibee
Kwon good right now

7 mins. Why so much when we are leading. A few knocks and subs but 7 is ridiculous
Miller was down for ages plus all the subs. I’m surprised it’s not more to be honest.

Donegal Hibby
Where did they get 7 minutes from 😡

AZhibee
7 mins. Why always so much when we are leading. A few knocks and subs but 7 is ridiculous

I expected 8

21-12-2024, 03:54 PM
Hibs 8th above killie on GD and one point behind Dundee

Silky
Where's 7 minutes coming from?

It's McLean punishing us for the Scottish Cup win. Sure he got in bother for that!

Rocky in as protector again.

AZhibee
21-12-2024, 03:55 PM
Miller was down for ages plus all the subs. I’m surprised it’s not more to be honest.

Yeah

badabing67
21-12-2024, 03:56 PM
Where did they get 7 minutes from 😡

2 head knocks and a injury for O'Hora

EH54
What a game Boyle has had today!! Great to have the guy back!

We won’t concede two late goals We are a different team since we drew 3 3 with the dons at home

Could’ve done with keeping st mirren in sight That is for after the window. Get away from the bottom is top priority and we have done that brilliantly in the last month or so.

Boyle my MoM today.

21-12-2024, 03:57 PM
Players certainly look like they're fighting for each other, all working hard as a team, maybe it just took a lot longer for the team to gel this season.

That is for after the window. Get away from the bottom is top priority and we have done that brilliantly in the last month or so.

Na, let’s look up 😍

93/94 2-3

Wow.

FT :flag::flag::flag:

Paulie Walnuts
Been an excellent, sensible performance :agree:

We’ve seen the game out with no real issues at all.

OtleyHibs
21-12-2024, 03:58 PM
An outstanding 3 points, over the moon with that today

:thumbsup::flag:

Cracking result that well in hibs! Didn’t expect that

Well done DG and the players

Hopefully turned a corner now and we can start looking up!

Boyle my MoM today.

By a mile. Would have taken him off once he got the yellow though.[emoji51]

Brilliant Hibs, what a performance

:partyhibb:partyhibb

pollution
Brilliant result

Boyle my MoM today.
Close between him and Triantis. N Cadden been excellent too.
that’s a great performance in the conditions and a brilliant result.

21-12-2024, 03:59 PM
Great result, well done Hibs. 👏

Brilliant. What a great result. Well done everyone. I've been saying fir ages that we aren't far away from being every bit as good as Aberdeen. A team who were being talked about mounting a title challenge

Going into County-Aberdeen-Hearts I’d have ripped your hand off for the 6 points. Delighted with this result - a really big performance (again) and we are set up very, very nicely for Tynie now. Can go in with a bit of swagger against a Hearts team whose nerves and confidence is absolutely shot.

AdidasHibernian
Great result, wasn't expecting a win but over the moon for the team.

Hopefully another performance like that on boxing day.

Mon the Hibs.

badabing67
Well done Hibs deserved 3 pts

Better. But about time.

Absolutely chuffed with that. Thought we attacked well when we needed to, dug in well when Aberdeen asked questions of us. Rode a bit of luck we haven't normally gotten.

Three points in the bag before Christmas. Hopefully Hearts get scudded tomorrow and we compound their misery on Thursday.

Time for a few pints to enjoy the Hibs.

EH54
Superb Hibs! Massive game massive result being on the Jambos!

Merry. Christmas !!

Brilliant result. 👏

21-12-2024, 04:00 PM
Great result and delighted to see Boyle get his mojo back again, onwards and upwards.

What a result. A real team effort. Not a failure in sight and great to see a true team spirit. Fantastic 👏🙌

First back to back wins in a year.[emoji106]

Great result and well done to the players and fans who travelled up there in this weather.

Early goal second half was vital for us, a very good team performance for me and my standout players Boyle,Triantis,N.Cadden and Rocky. Smith comfortable also.

Delighted with the 3 points and performance.

21-12-2024, 04:01 PM
Close between him and Triantis. N Cadden been excellent too.
that’s a great performance in the conditions and a brilliant result.

Absolutely mate. Hopefully this really is a turning point. Best result for DG since becoming permanent manager.

Dons
Dons are falling apart again

Ylt

What a brilliant away performance. Every player played a part and Rocky, Cads2, Boyle, Iredale, Triantis and Campbell all really good. Tactics absolutely spot on, pressed them and played in their half. Lots of positive there and the team spirit is very evident and that takes you a long way in this league. Hearts could be under huge pressure come the Derby so lets hope we stick the boot in further

I don’t think any of us expected that today. Delighted for them all.

Mind the gap, Jambo barstewards

Result of the season by a bloody mile ....... well done the happy Hibees :thumbsup: :flag:

Well done Hibs. Was confident of a win today but got to get the job done!

Outstanding result. SDG loves it at Pittodrie

21-12-2024, 04:02 PM
Briliant win Hibs against a team that was sitting second.

And relax, fantastic result and performance. Well done David Gray, enjoy Christmas 👏👏👏🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🤞

So many positives from today.

Lost first goal ... hit back straight away
Scored 3, without reply
Defended lead to the end
Boyle back in the groove

Forever_Green93
Great performance and a fantastic result!
Mon the hibs! :flag:

HarpOnHibee
21-12-2024, 04:03 PM
That's what a winning performance looks like. That's us scored 3 goals in 4 of our last 5 games, just by pressing harder and being more direct.

HendoDelivered
21-12-2024, 04:03 PM
Unbelievable stuff

21-12-2024, 04:04 PM
That’s ****ing fantastic. What a result, what a performance. Merry Christmas to us.

Honesty I never expected that result, in my mind I was at best hoping for a draw, but a win, well done Hibs, what do I know about football 👍

USA_Hibee
Terrific result. Well done to the team and coaching staff!

21-12-2024, 04:05 PM
Fantastic win

Well done all

Well done Hibs, hopefully we can go into the New Year with a few wins to get us well clear of the drop area.

SickBoy32
Brilliant performance, mon the Davy Gray Hibernian.

Bring on the gorgie tramps 👊

21-12-2024, 04:06 PM
That's what a winning performance looks like. That's us scored 3 goals in 4 of our last 5 games, just by pressing harder and being more direct. The way we played in the first couple of cup games. We look decent when on the front foot and the players will start getting some confidence now which may drive us on further

gazzag70
What a superb 3 points. Great boost before the Derby, bring it on!

Hibees1973
Best result of the season so far.

Briliant.

Well done Hibs.

Stuarty1875
Fantastic win today. So happy for Gray.

Keepthefaith
Better. But about time.

jees is that the best you can do? superb result against the team that were second in the table? if we'd lost today you'd have been writing reams about how awful we were, is it really that painful for you to praise the team you support more fully?! outstanding result - now won 3 of the last 4, two of which included Motherwell, Celtic and the Dons away...thats pretty impressive in my book oh and we've scored 12 goals in 5 games, only lost to Celtic!

21-12-2024, 04:08 PM
jees is that the best you can do? superb result against the team that were second in the table? if we'd lost today you'd have been writing reams about how awful awe are, is it really that painful for you to praise the team you support more fully?! outstanding result - now won 3 of the last 4, two of which included Motherwell, Celtic and the Dons away...thats pretty impressive in my book
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

ferry hibby
21-12-2024, 04:08 PM
Is it just a coincidence our change in fortunes comes after the change in keeper

Bobo
21-12-2024, 04:09 PM
I've been a big critic of the team and manager this season but a fairly comfortable and comprehensive win at Pittodrie is pretty rare so well done to everyone today.

Keep up the good work. 👍🏻

Glad all the Hibs fans who travelled will have a pleasant journey home 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

'mon the beers
21-12-2024, 04:09 PM
What a result that is, great early Christmas present for us!

The a**e falling out of Aberdeen’s season is pleasing.

21-12-2024, 04:10 PM
Is it just a coincidence our change in fortunes comes after the change in keeper

It's certainly helped.

EH54
21-12-2024, 04:11 PM
Absolutely delighted today, Performance, result and back to back wins when going from behind.

Merry Christmas!!!

DIXIHIBS
21-12-2024, 04:11 PM
Great result hibees. Seem to be turning our fortunes around. Well done guys. Hope all who went up there today enjoyed every minute.

Green_one
21-12-2024, 04:12 PM
Fantastic win today. So happy for Gray.

Confidence back, Boyle on the up and teams around us lost too. Good day for us. Can hope now to catch Dundee soon.

Hearts draw tomorrow and it’s a great weekend again.

PHeffernan
21-12-2024, 04:12 PM
Best performance of the season for Hibs and Martin Boyle.
Great result.

Bushiri, Triantes, N Cadden all played very well.
Hell, I thought the whole team was great.

Up to 8th and looking to swallow up Dundee next and 6 points off the top 6.
Only negatives were the kicking of Smith and O'Hora at the Aberdeen goal. i'm giving Smith the benefit given the horrendous wind.
O'Hora appears to have aggravated his injury so probably won't make the derby.

A shame Ross Co managed to lose at home to St Mirren today despite the latter having 10 players for the 2nd half. Useless gits.
Establishes St Mirren in the top 6. Bummer.

P.S. I'm sure you are all delighted that our performance today has allowed The Rangers to move into 2nd place.

EH54
21-12-2024, 04:13 PM
I've been a big critic of the team and manager this season but a fairly comfortable and comprehensive win at Pittodrie is pretty rare so well done to everyone today.

Keep up the good work. 👍🏻

Glad all the Hibs fans who travelled will have a pleasant journey home 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

Like many of us, it’s always good to be proven wrong when it comes to Hibs though. Long may it continue particularly next week.

Hibiza
21-12-2024, 04:15 PM
Great result . Well done everyone !!!

Trinity Hibee
21-12-2024, 04:15 PM
Outstanding from Hibs today! Players got stuck in and gave everything. Really looked in control for long spells. Roll on Boxing Day!

Scotty Leither
21-12-2024, 04:16 PM
Great result hibees. Seem to be turning our fortunes around. Well done guys. Hope all who went up there today enjoyed every minute.

Great result and thought Boyle was excellent today although my heart was in my mouth when that fracas between him and their left back at the end threatened to develop into sending offs territory.

I missed Gray’s last win up there as I was on holiday and I wasn’t there today as I’ve got a hacking cough and sair throat.

There’s maybe a theme developing there :wink:

PS: Safe travels to all who made the journey up.

21-12-2024, 04:16 PM
Fantastic result.
It sounded as if there was a great team spirit throughout the game as well and David Gray got his tactics spot on. Well done all.

21-12-2024, 04:17 PM
Boyle was excellent today, most of our players were. Happy days for a change.

21-12-2024, 04:18 PM
Is it just a coincidence our change in fortunes comes after the change in keeper That has helped but for me it is the back three and stopping goals coming down our left with Iredale and Cadden both very good on that side. We have also now got lots of players in the middle and have started to defend with more conviction. Rocky also has had a big part to play in our recovery imo. If he was guaranteed to play every game I would seriously consider making him captain

hibsfan7
i see to recall we won a game 3-2 103 months ago when steven mclean was the ref that day

Daydreamer

NO The change has come by moving to a back three and playing a left hand side centre back

Keepthefaith
21-12-2024, 04:20 PM

could argue it's equally down to playing 3 at the back? we'll be tested squad wise if OHora is injured again now though - another 2 games this week will be tough. glad we have an extra days rest than hearts though given they also played Thursday - here's hoping they get another injury or two tomorrow!

21-12-2024, 04:21 PM

You can't seriously believe that the improved team performances are down to a keeper change surely?