View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian v Hearts (Home)

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

27-10-2024, 02:11 PM
Yet, we only had 35-36% of possession. Stats aren't everything.

36% possession against a team that played midweek and are only being saved from propping up the table because once again we’ve conspired to somehow still be worse than them.

Chorley Hibee
27-10-2024, 02:16 PM
36% possession against a team that played midweek and are only being saved from propping up the table because once again we’ve conspired to somehow still be worse than them.

Alex Miller 2.0 with Gray in charge.

You'd think we'd know by now we can't defend, but no, we actively go out of our way to invite pressure on ourselves, particularly at the end of games.

Beyond that, there's no structure or ideas behind our play, shell a few high balls to nobody or hope a set-piece works in our favour seems to be the best of it.

Don't get me started on the pedestrian pace we play the game at too (in and out of possession) and how little drive and enthusiasm we have to get players into the box when in possession.

With each passing week I'm more convinced we're heading for a relegation battle.

Bobo
27-10-2024, 02:17 PM
Today was the same dire punchless piss that we've been served up every week.

Let's concede all the possession to the merricks even though we are at home and we'll just punt aimless long balls to our solitary striker and hope for the best!

Even after taking the lead you know we'd concede as we are spineless and every Diddy team knows it.

Gray has maybe staved off his exit for now but, sadly, it can't come soon enough for me.

raeburnhibs
27-10-2024, 02:21 PM
Yet, we only had 35-36% of possession. Stats aren't everything.

no they aren't, hence why the usual 60+% possession and losing means nothing. Today with 35% possession we had much the better chances and certainly should have scored 2. We need to start converting.

OtleyHibs
27-10-2024, 02:30 PM
Would be having a go at the people who made the decision in the first place, rookie manager learning his trade is not what was needed. What were they thinking? Black Knight warned against it. These so called decision makers are the ones that need to go

I don't disagree with anything you've said here but that doesn't change anything about what I've said, nobody forced the manager into the position

Trinity Hibee
27-10-2024, 02:41 PM
Triantis scores his 1 on 1 and makes it 2-0 the game is done. Huge miss

27-10-2024, 02:46 PM

I still wouldn’t have been comfortable tbh, the way way invite pressure in the last 10-15 minutes.

27-10-2024, 02:47 PM

You'd think we'd know by now we can't defend, but no, we actively go out of our way to invite pressure on ourselves, particularly at the end of games.

Beyond that, there's no structure or ideas behind our play, shell a few high balls to nobody or hope a set-piece works in our favour seems to be the best of it.

Don't get me started on the pedestrian pace we play the game at too (in and out of possession) and how little drive and enthusiasm we have to get players into the box when in possession.

With each passing week I'm more convinced we're heading for a relegation battle.

I don’t think it will be much of a fight

27-10-2024, 03:04 PM

We’ll need to start picking up points soon. There’s no Livi to bail teams out this season and I’m struggling to think of any team worse than us.

27-10-2024, 03:06 PM
I'm amazed that all the blame is being lumped on Bursic and Miller. Dwight Gayle had four great chances, two in each half. Should have come away with the match ball.

27-10-2024, 03:07 PM

Was he not offside? Linesman had his flag up at the game

27-10-2024, 03:09 PM

Alex Millers teams were much better on the eye and had a lot more about them than this team.

Agree with the rest of your comments.

Trinity Hibee
27-10-2024, 03:13 PM
Was he not offside? Linesman had his flag up at the game

He wasn’t off once they showed a replay

27-10-2024, 03:15 PM
He wasn’t off once they showed a replay

Ffs that makes it worse

27-10-2024, 03:20 PM

Can anyone remember an Edinburgh derby where we DIDN'T fail to take at least two clear-cut chances?

We have to produce twice as many opportunities as they do to even think about winning.

27-10-2024, 03:24 PM
Can anyone remember an Edinburgh derby where we DIDN'T fail to take at least two clear-cut chances?

We have to produce twice as many opportunities as they do to even think about winning.

You can change “an Edinburgh Derby” to “any game” and “we” to “any team”.

Nearly every team will fail to take some clear cut chances in every game they play. It’s not a situation that is unique to us or the Edinburgh Derby.

Donegal Hibby
27-10-2024, 03:26 PM
A lot of the hertz possession was them passing it back and forth in their own half and didn’t really trouble us to much .

Just_Jimmy
27-10-2024, 03:35 PM

We're already in one.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

27-10-2024, 03:40 PM
A lot of the hertz possession was them passing it back and forth in their own half and didn’t really trouble us to much .

Which makes it worse. It’s the same every week. We’re completely incapable of defending anything which makes it even more ridiculous that the manager constantly invites pressure with idiotic subs.

HarpOnHibee
27-10-2024, 03:41 PM

That's because we were pressing them hard off the ball. As poor as we were on the ball in the first half, the players worked really hard off the ball and made it difficult for Hearts to string much together. Unfortunately after we score our goal, we appear to sit back rather than continuing to press them, this allowed them more time and space to string attacking moves together. We should have continued the high press, even after scoring.

27-10-2024, 03:44 PM
Who made the decision for us to drop back and try and defend for 15 minutes? Baffles me that anyone connected to the club thought this was a good idea.

27-10-2024, 03:44 PM
That's because we were pressing them hard off the ball. As poor as we were on the ball in the first half, the players worked really hard off the ball and made it difficult for Hearts to string much together. Unfortunately after we score our goal, we appear to sit back rather than continuing to press them, this allowed them more time and space to string attacking moves together. We should have continued the high press, even after scoring.

Absolutely. And that’s on the manager. His in game management has cost us already this season.

27-10-2024, 03:58 PM
This is a weird one for me, I probably have taken a draw before the game but the way it panned out left me thinking it was two points dropped. Gayle missing several, the Triantis miss and there were probably others as well. I thought we fought well and were quite comfertable until their goal. I'm starting to get fed up of us sitting on a lead rather than keeping our shape, it invites preassure that our defence can't handle. After we scored we had net to no attacking options there as an outlet, this has been a trend this season and one that's cost us 10+ ponints.

We have a chance to get off bottom on Wednesday, we better bloody take it.

27-10-2024, 04:02 PM
You can change “an Edinburgh Derby” to “any game” and “we” to “any team”.

Nearly every team will fail to take some clear cut chances in every game they play. It’s not a situation that is unique to us or the Edinburgh Derby.

It’s an interesting point as I just looked at all our game stats this season and nearly every game we have had more shots / attempts at goals except against Celtic and Dundee at home. St Mirren had more shots on goal but Hibs more goal attempts.

Today’s XG (expected goals) showed Hibs at 2.16 and Hearts 1.15.

We had the better chances and opportunities today but we couldn’t finish / take advantage of that.

Our bigger issue I feel is losing goals - only 1 clean sheet and some of the goals we have let in have been awful.

While Myko scored I also think the JDH sub was a poor one - he didn’t look sharp at all and hasn’t played since June 2023. That’s his first minutes in 18 months !!!

Paulie Walnuts
27-10-2024, 04:04 PM
It’s an interesting point as I just looked at all our game stats this season and nearly every game we have had more shots / attempts at goals except against Celtic and Dundee at home. St Mirren had more shots on goal but Hibs more goal attempts.

We had the better chances and opportunities today but we couldn’t finish / take advantage of that.

Our bigger issue I feel is losing goals - only 1 clean sheet and some of the goals we have let in have been awful.

XG is a load of pish.

Dundee United had 2 nigh on open goals last weekend and another half chanc (possibly higher) for their winner. That’s before considering any other chances. Their xG was 1.03.

27-10-2024, 04:05 PM
XG is a load of pish.

Dundee United had 2 nigh on open goals last weekend and another half chanc (possibly higher) for their winner. That’s before considering any other chances. Their xG was 1.03.

All stats are pish.

My biggest annoyance of Modern Football

27-10-2024, 04:26 PM
XG is a load of pish.

I’m not a fan of the XG stuff either.

Football is often complicated.

Bottom line is we should be doing better than we are but we also have some dodgy / poor players letting us down continusly.

27-10-2024, 04:29 PM
Who made the decision for us to drop back and try and defend for 15 minutes? Baffles me that anyone connected to the club thought this was a good idea.

They didnt. Hearts came forward and made changes. There are two teams in a game.

Paul1642
27-10-2024, 04:34 PM
They didnt. Hearts came forward and made changes. There are two teams in a game.

You could see from where our players were positions that we had dropped deeper. Hearts had other spells of heavy pressure and we never sat as deep during those.

27-10-2024, 04:41 PM
That whole game came down to Triantis. He scores and there's no way back for them, for all their huffing and puffing our bombscare keeper had little to do.

I sit in the FF upper almost directly behind the goals. Triantis took a beautiful touch to set himself up leaving him with enough room to blast the ball either side of Gordon, who would have had no chance of saving it .... there is no excuse, absolutely none, for a professional football player to make the utter pigs ear of a chance like that the way he did ... he wants shooting !!!

27-10-2024, 04:42 PM
You could see from where our players were positions that we had dropped deeper. Hearts had other spells of heavy pressure and we never sat as deep during those.

Mentality changes when you’ve got something to hold on to.

27-10-2024, 04:46 PM
If we’d held on, and I really wish we had held on, it would have papered over a lot of cracks.

In terms of chances, we’ve probably had as many clear cut chances as you can expect to have in a game like this. But our general play is so poor. I don’t see Gray developing a team. It’s just lot of percentage football and hoping for the odd moment from someone like Hoilett.

All that said, we should have won that game.

Cabbage-Patch
27-10-2024, 05:09 PM
1 win 15 Derbies is an absolutely shameful stat. Wasn't at the game today as had a family commitment however have seen the "highlights" very poor game from both sides but considering Hearts played Thursday we didn't really make it show. Our most attacking line up possibly fielded by Gray and we offered very little. Toothless in attack and yet another late goal conceded. The Gray tenure is already terminal im afraid and i cannot see how he turns it round. Not fielding a single Scottish player(not including Boyle) highlights an issue for me. We have a team of individuals who simply dont get the club and culture and what the derby means. We are in a relegation dogfight and its not even November. Lose to county on Wednesday and he needs to go simple as that.

27-10-2024, 05:12 PM
I'm not having this, toothless in attack, don't create chances chat. Scored 1. Gayle had 4 great chances that he should have done better with. Triantis chance as well. There's six good chances.

27-10-2024, 05:16 PM
1 win 15 Derbies is an absolutely shameful stat. Wasn't at the game today as had a family commitment however have seen the "highlights" very poor game from both sides but considering Hearts played Thursday we didn't really make it show. Our most attacking line up possibly fielded by Gray and we offered very little. Toothless in attack and yet another late goal conceded. The Gray tenure is already terminal im afraid and i cannot see how he turns it round. Not fielding a single Scottish player(not including Boyle) highlights an issue for me. We have a team of individuals who simply dont get the club and culture and what the derby means. We are in a relegation dogfight and its not even November. Lose to county on Wednesday and he needs to go simple as that.The point about non Scottish Players or local players is folly imo

We've had teams full of Scottish and hibs fans and still been pants in Derby's

We done ok today - we deserved to win the game probably - nowt to do with Hibs fans or Scottish players

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

27-10-2024, 05:18 PM
With 4 games coming up against opposition we normally should expect to beat or at least not lose to, Gray has a chance to take us to mid table safety. I want him to go now but if, after these four games, we are still faffing around at the foot of the league, he’ll have to go.

27-10-2024, 05:26 PM
With 4 games coming up against opposition we normally should expect to beat or at least not lose to, Gray has a chance to take us to mid table safety. I want him to go now but if, after these four games, we are still faffing around at the foot of the league, he’ll have to go.

If things go pear shaped in these 4 games then after the St Mirren game on 9th November is the international break, which would seem like the time to make a change. Wait until Xmas time and we end up in a Duff Jimmy scenario.

27-10-2024, 05:28 PM
The point about non Scottish Players or local players is folly imo

We've had teams full of Scottish and hibs fans and still been pants in Derby's

We done ok today - we deserved to win the game probably - nowt to do with Hibs fans or Scottish played

I'd like a team of Junior Hoiletts. Stood out amongst the dirge today.

27-10-2024, 05:35 PM
For me that was the strongest team Gray could've put out, I also thought Youan played quite well, I wasn't sure if he'd be in the mindset but I was wrong. I don't think Gray can be blamed for players in various areas of the park not doing their job either on this occasion. But yet again we've conceeded a goal at the end of the game. I thought the defence had actually played quite well up till then. I wasn't in favour of Gray getting the job in the first place but I've tried to get right behind him as long as he's Hibs manager. but Ross County now looks like a must win IMO. 2 very average teams today, not surprised it was a draw even if we edged it.

27-10-2024, 05:36 PM
I'm not having this, toothless in attack, don't create chances chat. Scored 1. Gayle had 4 great chances that he should have done better with. Triantis chance as well. There's six good chances.

If we weren't toothless we would have scored more than one. Hearts had one clear cut chance to score and did .

27-10-2024, 05:38 PM
If we weren't toothless we would have scored more than one. Hearts had one clear cut chance to score and did .Shankland had a great chance to make it 1-1 tbf (it was quite good play in the build up)

27-10-2024, 05:39 PM
Wee shout out for Jordan Obita.

Best player on the park and played with a steely edge too.

Hibees1973
27-10-2024, 05:41 PM
If things go pear shaped in these 4 games then after the St Mirren on 9th November is the international break, which would seem like the time to make a change. Wait until Xmas time and we end up in a Duff Jimmy scenario.

An accurate take on things.

27-10-2024, 05:42 PM
If we weren't toothless we would have scored more than one. Hearts had one clear cut chance to score and did .
Toothless to me would be creating nothing. 6 great chances to score. Striker and Triantis do their job and we win easy

Donegal Hibby
27-10-2024, 05:47 PM

As someone that’s been critical of him in the past I thought he was very good today .. noticed Vargas was going to have a go at him but thought better of it .

Obita and Hoilett our two best players.

27-10-2024, 05:48 PM
As someone that’s been critical of him in the past I thought he was very good today .. noticed Vargas was going to have a go at him but thought better of it .

Agree with that.

27-10-2024, 05:50 PM

While Myko scored I also think the JDH sub was a poor one - he didn’t look sharp at all and hasn’t played since June 2023. That’s his first minutes in 18 months !!!

Is there a place I can look up Xg for these games as well - absolute meaningless stat from a Hibs respect it seems every time I’ve come across it with Hibs - but maybe it’s just me and my misunderstanding.

27-10-2024, 05:51 PM

There were a couple of crosses he put in today that were outstanding. Contrast that with Miller on the right.

27-10-2024, 05:52 PM

Decent overall, but Forrest did outjump him at the goal. Although I think Moriah Welsh should have tracked Forrest.

27-10-2024, 05:55 PM
1 win 15 Derbies is an absolutely shameful stat. Wasn't at the game today as had a family commitment however have seen the "highlights" very poor game from both sides but considering Hearts played Thursday we didn't really make it show. Our most attacking line up possibly fielded by Gray and we offered very little. Toothless in attack and yet another late goal conceded. The Gray tenure is already terminal im afraid and i cannot see how he turns it round. Not fielding a single Scottish player(not including Boyle) highlights an issue for me. We have a team of individuals who simply dont get the club and culture and what the derby means. We are in a relegation dogfight and its not even November. Lose to county on Wednesday and he needs to go simple as that.

They had shankheid at the ref laughing and banter the whole game
Obviously getting into the ref heid
Who does it for us

HIBS NUTS
27-10-2024, 06:01 PM
When your entire team is scared every time a ball goes into your box, unless it’s unchanged, it’s a diaster waiting to happen.
Everytime it went into the hearts box,Gordon dealt with it .
Unless he’s unchallenged our goalkeeper is a liability.

27-10-2024, 06:02 PM
Decent overall, but Forrest did outjump him at the goal. Although I think Moriah Welsh should have tracked Forrest.

Will need to see the goal again.

27-10-2024, 06:05 PM
Will need to see the goal again.

https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/1850542288365126051

A shambles all round TBF.:boo hoo:

27-10-2024, 06:14 PM
https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/1850542288365126051

A shambles all round TBF.:boo hoo:

Forrest runs off NMW who just stands still.

27-10-2024, 06:15 PM
Forrest runs off NMW who just stands still.

Agreed. NMW the worst there for the header. Just so so bad.

27-10-2024, 06:22 PM

What issue does it highlight? If it's about bringing players through ourselves they are rare as hen's teeth, even in the biggest clubs in the world, and have been at Hibs since the start of the 00's. If it's about buying Scottish talent, we tried that and got outbid by Celtic ... I'm sure we would like to sign Lennon Miller from Motherwell .. we will be outbid by one of the Uglies or some mid table EFL championship, or lower, club. Just as we will be for practically any talent coming through in Scotland.

You don't have to have been born in Edinburgh to 'get the club' there have been a pile of players at ER from elsewhere who have managed it. Every player in the world knows what a derby means to the fans and whatever the criticism of our players today I for one didn't see any lack of effort or commitment .... just a lack of ability and coolness in pressure situations.

StevieHendo
27-10-2024, 06:54 PM
For me that was the strongest team Gray could've put out, I also thought Youan played quite well, I wasn't sure if he'd be in the mindset but I was wrong. I don't think Gray can be blamed for players in various areas of the park not doing their job either on this occasion. But yet again we've conceeded a goal at the end of the game. I thought the defence had actually played quite well up till then. I wasn't in favour of Gray getting the job in the first place but I've tried to get right behind him as long as he's Hibs manager. but Ross County now looks like a must win IMO. 2 very average teams today, not surprised it was a draw even if we edged it.

must be having a laugh, Youan was anonymous. 1 run in first half outwith that a complete poltergeist as usual

Scotty Leither
27-10-2024, 07:04 PM
must be having a laugh, Youan was anonymous. 1 run in first half outwith that a complete poltergeist as usual

i felt for him a bit today - he constantly received the ball with his back to goal. We’re crying out for a midfield player with a bit of vision to get on the ball and play it into the channels for Youan and Boyle to run onto.

The one time he got the ball going forward in the 2nd half he beat two of their players and played a decent pass to Gayle and then was promptly subbed off.

Our problems lie deeper than him, a nervy goalkeeper and defenders who can’t seem to get the first header onto a ball into the box are costing us points.

That lot are just as crap us we are but are hyped up beyond belief and were there for the taking today, that’s the frustrating thing about today’s game, not how indifferent Youan was.

27-10-2024, 08:11 PM
Ach well, **** it, there's always the Kansas City Chiefs to watch if I want a win. Well so far this season at least.

27-10-2024, 08:16 PM
Agreed. NMW the worst there for the header. Just so so bad.

I don't think NMW was detailed to mark him. If anyone was it was Myko. NMW looked to be part of a zone with 3 at the edge of box. The first issue is Hearts took the throw about 15 yards closer to the corner flag than the ball went out. After that it is all on us. NMW if he was meant to mark Forrest should be sat in a room at East Mains and made to watch that clip every day for the full duration of training next week. Triantis was pretty weak too and Miller's part is unforgivable. Stick the latter two in a separate two rooms to watch their part over and over.

We had every single player in the box and Hearts only had 5 in there. Teams setting up with that many leaves you open to players leaving it for each other. If you have 5 men spare I think I'd want someone on that near post put given Hearts aren't that big a team I would rather be man to man with a couple central around the six yard line to block shots and head away flick ons. Too many cooks for me.

ChuckNor
27-10-2024, 08:18 PM
Find the chat about Gray’s role utterly mental. I know I’m not alone when I say performances have been good and improving. Under Monty we weren’t getting performances or results. At the moment we are getting decent performances, creating good chances but falling short due to individuals (see Bursic and Miller).

27-10-2024, 08:22 PM
Find the chat about Gray’s role utterly mental. I know I’m not alone when I say performances have been good and improving. Under Monty we weren’t getting performances or results. At the moment we are getting decent performances, creating good chances but falling short due to individuals (see Bursic and Miller).

I find it even more mental that anyone thinks the performances are good and improving. Good performances don’t have you sitting with one win in nine games and bottom of the league. We are also the lowest scorers in the league.

Monty was garbage but not as bad as we’re currently seeing. He also didn’t have a full summer to put his own stamp on things.

Trinity Hibee
27-10-2024, 08:23 PM
I find it even more mental that anyone thinks the performances are good and improving. Good performances don’t have you sitting with one win in nine games and bottom of the league. We are also the lowest scorers in the league.

Agree here. Almost every metric suggests we are worst in the league. The lack of structure/gameplan also suggests things are not getting better

ChuckNor
27-10-2024, 08:31 PM

Monty was garbage but not as bad as we’re currently seeing. He also didn’t have a full summer to put his own stamp on things.

If we had a semi-competent goalkeeper we’d be eight points better off. His dreadful goal kick led to the phase of play where Dundee scored a late equaliser. He was at fault for two goals against Dundee United. And I don’t even need to get into today. I could do the same for Lewis Miller.

27-10-2024, 08:42 PM
If we had a semi-competent goalkeeper we’d be eight points better off. His dreadful goal kick led to the phase of play where Dundee scored a late equaliser. He was at fault for two goals against Dundee United. And I don’t even need to get into today. I could do the same for Lewis Miller.

The goalie isn’t the main reason we lost the goal today, not even close.

I think he’s terrible but I’m not putting today on him. Not when we give away a goal from losing three challenges from a long throw in to the box in the lead up to it landing in the net. Not when Triantis misses the chance he did or Gayle misses the multiple chances he did.

It’s obvious from your posts you really don’t like him but there is so much else wrong. Bit of a wild idea, but Gray could always drop him as well.

I also think goal kicks however many phases of play before a goal is scored is pushing it in terms of him being to blame for a goal in that game, not when O’Hora made a dreadful mistake thereafter to let Murray in.

Common theme in all the games mentioned is us leading late on and Gray making crap subs which just invite pressure and prevent us getting up the park at all. We can’t defend and the goalie is brutal, seems obvious to me that we should put more effort in to keeping the ball up at the other end of the park rather than just dropping and dropping.

ChuckNor
27-10-2024, 08:49 PM
The goalie isn’t the main reason we lost the goal today, not even close.

I think he’s terrible but I’m not putting today on him. Not when we give away a goal from losing three challenges from a long throw in to the box in the lead up to it landing in the net. Not when Triantis misses the chance he did or Gayle misses the multiple chances he did.

It’s obvious from your posts you really don’t like him but there is so much else wrong. Bit of a wild idea, but Gray could always drop him as well.

I also think goal kicks however many phases of play before a goal is scored is pushing it in terms of him being to blame for a goal in that game, not when O’Hora made a dreadful mistake thereafter to let Murray in.

Common theme in all the games mentioned is us leading late on and Gray making crap subs which just invite pressure and prevent us getting up the park at all. We can’t defend and the goalie is brutal, seems obvious to me that we should put more effort in to keeping the ball up at the other end of the park rather than just dropping and dropping.

If he smothered a very simple ball then I’d wager we’d have seen it out today. He failed. Gray can’t save shots for him.

27-10-2024, 08:55 PM
If he smothered a very simple ball then I’d wager we’d have seen it out today. He failed. Gray can’t save shots for him.

No, but he could drop him.

I’m not actually trying to stick up for Bursik, I think he’s murder. I just found your post about folk questioning Gray being utterly mental, utterly mental in itself. We had mistakes all over the place today, at both ends of the park, but Bursik’s seem to annoy you a lot more than anyone else’s.

27-10-2024, 09:05 PM
I don't think NMW was detailed to mark him. If anyone was it was Myko. NMW looked to be part of a zone with 3 at the edge of box. The first issue is Hearts took the throw about 15 yards closer to the corner flag than the ball went out. After that it is all on us. NMW if he was meant to mark Forrest should be sat in a room at East Mains and made to watch that clip every day for the full duration of training next week. Triantis was pretty weak too and Miller's part is unforgivable. Stick the latter two in a separate two rooms to watch their part over and over.

We had every single player in the box and Hearts only had 5 in there. Teams setting up with that many leaves you open to players leaving it for each other. If you have 5 men spare I think I'd want someone on that near post put given Hearts aren't that big a team I would rather be man to man with a couple central around the six yard line to block shots and head away flick ons. Too many cooks for me.

Watched it again there, you could be right that it maybe should have been Myko.

28-10-2024, 06:51 AM

We must have been doing something right to be ahead in so many games only to give away soft goals.

28-10-2024, 06:56 AM
We must have been doing something right to be ahead in so many games only to give away soft goals.

Whilst I agree to a point, games of football don’t stop at 75 minutes.

I don’t know why Gray can’t just trust the players who are getting us in to the lead to see a game through. It’s poor management.

28-10-2024, 07:00 AM
Whilst I agree to a point, games of football don’t stop at 75 minutes.

I don’t know why Gray can’t just trust the players who are getting us in to the lead to see a game through. It’s poor management.

More like 85 mins :greengrin I haven't understood a few of the subs eg Hoilett however the quality of the goals we have lost have been very much pub league.

He's here!
28-10-2024, 07:05 AM

I don't think a derby is a fixture where we can pass judgement on Gray. They're rarely things of beauty and if fans (of both sides) are being honest a draw is never the worst result.

It's games like Wednesday when we'll get a better idea of whether he's making progress.

28-10-2024, 07:13 AM
I don't think a derby is a fixture where we can pass judgement on Gray. They're rarely things of beauty and if fans (of both sides) are being honest a draw is never the worst result.

It's games like Wednesday when we'll get a better idea of whether he's making progress.

When you make the kind of substitution he did in the final 10 minutes there is definitely something to be judged there. The more I think about it the more ridiculous it is.

For me, he’s panicking at that point in games and the decision making is poor. We had it against Dundee at home when he totally changed the shape of the team to make a defensive sub. Then you had Motherwell at home where he didn’t do anything until after they were 2-1 up and when he did it included taking off our best player. He’s taken Hoilett off when leading in the last two games, late on. He’s the most experienced player in our team, the most composed and the most likely to keep the ball. That has to be off more value than changing everything about to just sit deep and wait on the inevitable.