View Full Version : Naismith
Donegal Hibby
25-09-2024, 10:32 PM
Yes I get that, but unless you know the size of the overall surface then I’m not sure how you can say what size the pitch is? Just because there’s extra surface it doesn’t mean the pitch can’t be the size that’s quoted everywhere.
If the pitch isn’t 102x68m as is suggested everywhere then what is it? What was it before it was reduced?
It was reduced to 100 x 64m at one point for tactical reasons.
Paulie Walnuts
25-09-2024, 10:48 PM
It was reduced to 100 x 64m at one point for tactical reasons.
Got a link to that?
What would a manager need to achieve to be deemed 'good' in your view? McInnes is the most consistently successful Scottish manager operating in Scotland over the last decade by an absolute mile.Given McInnes is ensconced in his job at Killie. Whenever we have been looking for a manager he's been busy elsewhere so it looks as though he will never be given, or ever apply for, the Hibs job.
Hibs don't seem interested in Derek and Derek doesn't seem interested in Hibs.
Craig Levein however is free. Given how little trust you seem to have in our current manager would you, as you have previously suggested, like to give him the job?
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
You’d like to think so. You just have to look at this thread though to see a lot of people arent when they claim all those top 4 finishes weren’t all that exciting, he doesn’t really deserve any credit for finishing ahead of teams because his budget was bigger whilst also not giving him credit for finishing ahead of a team with a bigger budget and that aberdeens cup win wasn’t all that special because of the draw they had. Or of course that a player who racked up masses of bookings somehow ‘got away with it’ when he was playing us despite the fact he was punished at an even higher rate than what he usually was, a rate that was already the highest in the league.
I don't think he doesn't deserve any credit, he's a good SPFL manager. I just don't think he deserves the lavish praise you keep heaping upon him and he's not nearly as good as you make out. You just see league positions and a cup win but seem incapable of seeing the context.
If he was as fantastic at Aberdeen as you make out then I doubt he'd have been been out of work for almost a year to then end up getting a job in the Championship. I get that he might have wanted a bit of time out and to wait for what he felt was the right opportunity but if he'd been as brilliant at Aberdeen as you suggest then he should have had loads of good offers, better than Killie in the Championship.
26-09-2024, 04:26 AM
F*** the Hertz
F*** McInnes
26-09-2024, 05:55 AM
What would a manager need to achieve to be deemed 'good' in your view? McInnes is the most consistently successful Scottish manager operating in Scotland over the last decade by an absolute mile.
He has done well however not many managers spend 10 years in spfl
26-09-2024, 05:56 AM
Given McInnes is ensconced in his job at Killie. Whenever we have been looking for a manager he's been busy elsewhere so it looks as though he will never be given, or ever apply for, the Hibs job.
Craig Levein however is free. Given how little trust you seem to have in our current manager would you, as you have previously suggested, like to give him the job?
Yep the Levein shout was a belter. Classic trolling behaviour
Donegal Hibby
26-09-2024, 07:59 AM
Got a link to that?
The 2016 season it was reduced to 100 x 64 by Clark ( not the Scotland manager) for tactical reasons I read at one point.
Found this….
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-3724897/Kilmarnock-shrink-pitch-size-tactical-reasons-manager-Lee-Clark-looks-arrest-poor-start-season.html
He's here!
26-09-2024, 08:06 AM
Given McInnes is ensconced in his job at Killie. Whenever we have been looking for a manager he's been busy elsewhere so it looks as though he will never be given, or ever apply for, the Hibs job.
Feel free to dig out the relevant post but I'm pretty sure I never said I'd like Levein to get the Hibs job? IIRC I suggested we might consider looking at a 'Levein type' manager (ie vastly experienced in our league) rather than the untried likes of Maloney or Monty. Think I also included McInnes as an example.
Feel free to dig out the relevant post but I'm pretty sure I never said I'd like Levein to get the Hibs job? IIRC I suggested we might consider looking at a 'Levein type' manager (ie vastly experienced in our league) rather than the untried likes of Maloney or Monty. Think I also included McInnes as an example.Not going to bother posting the link as I don't want to get involved in a semantics bash with you.
You even described his record as "decent", picking away at a manager weeks into the job - and here we are again - pining for Derek.
Paulie Walnuts
26-09-2024, 08:40 AM
The 2016 season it was reduced to 100 x 64 by Clark ( not the Scotland manager) for tactical reasons I read at one point.
Found this….
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-3724897/Kilmarnock-shrink-pitch-size-tactical-reasons-manager-Lee-Clark-looks-arrest-poor-start-season.html
Interesting, thanks. Off the top of my head that’s the absolute smallest a football pitch can be :agree:
Hibees1973
26-09-2024, 08:42 AM
[QUOTE=tamig;7777862]Lets see how the Gray appointment pans out before slagging the club again. You can’t help yourself though.[/
With what had gone before with our previous three managers I just couldn't find any logic in appointing Gray. Just thought at this time we needed an experienced pair of hands.
26-09-2024, 08:47 AM
...at least no one is calling him "Derek", like they're his best pal ...[emoji2961]
If Hearts do appoint McInnes, you’ll need to get used to Hearts fans and sycophantic media types like McLaughlin calling him “Derek” at all times.
“Ann”
“Robbie”
They did prefer the chummy “Naisy” before it started to go sour, but they do have a strange manner of talking about Hearts staff as if their in their close circle of friends.
26-09-2024, 08:52 AM
Hibs record vs Derek McInnes managed teams (St Johnstone, Aberdeen and Kilmarnock):
Played: 37
Won: 9
Drawn: 11
Lost: 17
Scored: 37
Conceded: 48
26-09-2024, 09:01 AM
Not going to bother posting the link as I don't want to get involved in a semantics bash with you.
You even described his record as "decent", picking away at a manager weeks into the job - and here we are again - pining for Derek.
I'm certainly not pining for McInness again, all i'm arguing against is folk saying he's not a good manager and his football was boring.
He's a manager that gets results, he's a manager that 99% of the time gets his team in Europe, and he's a manager that wins more than he loses and has his teams punching their weight or better.
Now if we never had a manager, he'd be my choice, simply because he's the nearest thing to a guaranteed sucessful manager that we could employ.
We have David, and nobody wants him to be successful more than me.
He's here!
26-09-2024, 10:00 AM
I'm certainly not pining for McInness again, all i'm arguing against is folk saying he's not a good manager and his football was boring.
He's a manager that gets results, he's a manager that 99% of the time gets his team in Europe, and he's a manager that wins more than he loses and has his teams punching their weight or better.
Now if we never had a manager, he'd be my choice, simply because he's the nearest thing to a guaranteed sucessful manager that we could employ.
100% the way I see it.
What I really can't get my head around is the implication that the garbage we've served up for majority of the last few seasons was somehow preferable to appointing McInnes.
26-09-2024, 10:47 AM
Yes I get that, but unless you know the size of the overall surface then I’m not sure how you can say what size the pitch is? Just because there’s extra surface it doesn’t mean the pitch can’t be the size that’s quoted everywhere.
If the pitch isn’t 102x68m as is suggested everywhere then what is it? What was it before it was reduced?
Please view the obvious change in dimensions of their pitch in present footage compared to, say 2016. Then make your own mind up about just how much smaller it is now from then.
Hearts keep telling us they have a 20k stadium. Doesn’t make it true.
Caversham Green
26-09-2024, 11:05 AM
His football may not be boring, but the constant bickering about his managerial ability (or lack thereof) certainly is.
Paulie Walnuts
26-09-2024, 11:22 AM
Please view the obvious change in dimensions of their pitch in present footage compared to, say 2016. Then make your own mind up about just how much smaller it is now from then.
Hearts keep telling us they have a 20k stadium. Doesn’t make it true.
What if the pitch was 108 x 74 in 2016? If you don’t know what size it was then you can’t possibly say that every source for their current pitch dimensions is wrong. Has it got smaller? Yes. Does that mean that the current dimensions quoted absolutely everywhere other than by yourself are incorrect? No.
It’s really not worth debating. The likelihood of you randomly knowing the dimensions of the rugby park pitch better than every other source on the internet (and of course you’re unable to provide us with actual dimensions) are slim to none and in the grand scheme of things, it doesn’t matter anyway.
26-09-2024, 11:33 AM
If Hearts do appoint McInnes, you’ll need to get used to Hearts fans and sycophantic media types like McLaughlin calling him “Derek” at all times.
“Ann”
“Robbie”
They did prefer the chummy “Naisy” before it started to go sour, but they do have a strange manner of talking about Hearts staff as if their in their close circle of friends.
Think bbc sportsound like Del also
26-09-2024, 11:33 AM
“Ann”
“Robbie”
That's because they are in the circle
26-09-2024, 11:37 AM
Gareth Ainsworth linked in the Daily Record.
That's because they are in the circle
Is this a polite way of describing the BBC Sportsound producer's jaxie?
26-09-2024, 11:43 AM
Is this a polite way of describing the BBC Sportsound producer's jaxie?
Might be :greengrin
MikeyS
26-09-2024, 11:47 AM
“Ann”
“Robbie”
They also have a very creepy tendency to refer to those in higher positions as Mr and Mrs. Lots of Mr Bloom references on KB at the moment.
They also have a very creepy tendency to refer to those in higher positions as Mr and Mrs. Lots of Mr Bloom references on KB at the moment.Boot lickers
26-09-2024, 12:00 PM
Boot lickers
Windae lickers anaw.
Paulie Walnuts
26-09-2024, 12:01 PM
Windae lickers anaw.
Are people really still using this phrase?
Absolutely terrible chat.
26-09-2024, 12:11 PM
They also have a very creepy tendency to refer to those in higher positions as Mr and Mrs. Lots of Mr Bloom references on KB at the moment.
Aye it's very weird. They were giving it Mrs Budge a wee while back. Why are they like this?
26-09-2024, 12:29 PM
If McInnes gets it, the weegia will ask why he took it but knocked back The Rangers, and then they will lose interest.
26-09-2024, 01:51 PM
What if the pitch was 108 x 74 in 2016? If you don’t know what size it was then you can’t possibly say that every source for their current pitch dimensions is wrong. Has it got smaller? Yes. Does that mean that the current dimensions quoted absolutely everywhere other than by yourself are incorrect? No.
It’s really not worth debating. The likelihood of you randomly knowing the dimensions of the rugby park pitch better than every other source on the internet (and of course you’re unable to provide us with actual dimensions) are slim to none and in the grand scheme of things, it doesn’t matter anyway.
Not arguing. I’ll stick with what makes sense, alongside what was published at the time. You’re welcome to go with whatever fits your own avenue of thought. It’s a free world ( more or less).
26-09-2024, 02:44 PM
Aye it's very weird. They were giving it Mrs Budge a wee while back. Why are they like this?
That's disappointingly disrespectful, surely it's Mrs Dr Budge?
26-09-2024, 02:52 PM
Absolutely terrible chat.
Aye. Glad to see your humor by-pass was a success.
Paulie Walnuts
26-09-2024, 02:53 PM
The fact you think terms like that are humorous speaks volumes.
26-09-2024, 03:40 PM
Windae lickers anaw.
Absolutely terrible chat.Agreed, terrible....
Puddle drinkers is better! :agree:
26-09-2024, 05:16 PM
Agreed, terrible....
Puddle drinkers is better! :agree:Yep, worlds moved on, it's why the top hotels have no windows.
26-09-2024, 05:21 PM
Think Autism and maybe you see where he’s coming from. Shan patter that belongs in the bin.
McSwanky
26-09-2024, 05:54 PM
Think Autism and maybe you see where he’s coming from. Shan patter that belongs in the bin.Autism? Whilst I only realised recently that it was a derogatory term, I'm pretty sure it's got **** all to do with autism. And chat like this stigmatises autistic people pretty badly. You might want to choose your words more carefully next time as well.
Sent from my Pixel 8a using Tapatalk
26-09-2024, 05:56 PM
Oh dear..
:lolyam:
McSwanky
26-09-2024, 06:01 PM
They also have a very creepy tendency to refer to those in higher positions as Mr and Mrs. Lots of Mr Bloom references on KB at the moment.Mr Bloom you say?
26-09-2024, 06:13 PM
Autism? Whilst I only realised recently that it was a derogatory term, I'm pretty sure it's got **** all to do with autism. And chat like this stigmatises autistic people pretty badly. You might want to choose your words more carefully next time as well.
Hi man, I'm autistic and don't find any ableist language funny whether or not it has anything to do with me.
Here's a thought, maybe we use like one of the thousand other terms you can insult Hearts fans with without resorting to a derogatory term for disabled people. I'm sure it won't be as gut-wrenchingly hilarious but that's a sacrifice I would hope we're prepared to make.
Donegal Hibby
26-09-2024, 06:27 PM
Next thing there will be a thread on “ Budge and Bloomers “ 🫣.
McSwanky
26-09-2024, 06:52 PM
Hi man, I'm autistic and don't find any ableist language funny whether or not it has anything to do with me.
Here's a thought, maybe we use like one of the thousand other terms you can insult Hearts fans with without resorting to a derogatory term for disabled people. I'm sure it won't be as gut-wrenchingly hilarious but that's a sacrifice I would hope we're prepared to make.
Just to be clear, I'm not advocating the use of any derogatory terms, I'm taking issue with the poster associating it with autism. Believe it or not, we're on the same side here [emoji106]
26-09-2024, 08:05 PM
It doesn’t look like Scott Brown & Steven Whittaker will be in the mix - signed extensions today at Ayr till 2027.
Donegal Hibby
26-09-2024, 09:15 PM
It doesn’t look like Scott Brown & Steven Whittaker will be in the mix - signed extensions today at Ayr till 2027.
Read that earlier in an article that said St Johnstone tried twice but failed , probably a wise move tbh .
27-09-2024, 07:07 PM
Read that earlier in an article that said St Johnstone tried twice but failed , probably a wise move tbh .
Prob called bluff to get better deal at Ayr
27-09-2024, 10:55 PM
Anyone any idea when Naismith was last mentioned?
Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk
28-09-2024, 08:11 AM
Anyone any idea when Naismith was last mentioned?
Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk
Naebages, naejob and nae mention on his own thread 😁