View Full Version : Naismith
22-09-2024, 08:07 PM
If they don’t approach McInness, I think he will apply for the job. It’s his last chance to get one of the top Scottish jobs.
smff1916
22-09-2024, 08:11 PM
Is Graham rix available?
22-09-2024, 08:19 PM
Alex Neil early bookies' favourite. Let's hope it's not him.
I genuinely don't rate Neil that highly, hopefully he won't ever ram those words down my throat 😅
Silky
22-09-2024, 08:29 PM
I genuinely don't rate Neil that highly, hopefully he won't ever ram those words down my throat 😅
Neither do I and I struggle to understand why some seem to fear Hearts appointing him. Personally, I don't give a crap what they do, who their manager is or how many guests rock up to their hotel. I am a Hibby. I care about Hibs.
Rumble de Thump
22-09-2024, 09:08 PM
Can't see it being anyone other than Claudio Ranieri.
22-09-2024, 09:19 PM
The Hearts job is an obvious choice for Guardiola if he wants an escape route ahead of the Man City financial fair play hearing.
22-09-2024, 09:24 PM
At least he might know who they are this time round.
How come?
22-09-2024, 09:36 PM
Neither do I and I struggle to understand why some seem to fear Hearts appointing him. Personally, I don't give a crap what they do, who their manager is or how many guests rock up to their hotel. I am a Hibby. I care about Hibs.
Quite right.
Cat Stanton
22-09-2024, 09:48 PM
OK. Sound logic.
22-09-2024, 10:40 PM
At least he might know who they are this time round.Only when wetherspoons isn't open though.
Mark05
22-09-2024, 10:46 PM
That's a shame was just starting to warm to the guy 😂
23-09-2024, 12:07 AM
Fox next in the hot seat.
As I said.
23-09-2024, 04:09 AM
At the Covid cup semi derby at Hampden Naismith ran up to Nisbet after he missed the extra time penalty and said “you have let you dad down” . Nisbets dad had passed away two days before the game. Disgusting.
Is that true? How do you know that?
Naismith must stay!
Naismith restored the natural order!
Liam Fox has stepped up to the plate as interim Hearts (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/all-about/hearts-fc) manager - with Lee Wallace and Angus Beith his assistants
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liam_Fox
MelbourneHibees
23-09-2024, 07:55 AM
As I said.
It's hardly a bold claim to assume the next available coach will take the reigns tbf.
Unless you mean he is getting it in a permanent basis?
Pytheas
23-09-2024, 08:14 AM
Is that true? How do you know that?
It's 100% true, rat of a man.
Greenworld
23-09-2024, 08:14 AM
A computer will decide the next manager so will be interesting. Brighton's involvement going forward is in my opinion very good news for them .
Sent from my SM-S928B using Tapatalk
23-09-2024, 08:26 AM
A computer will decide the next manager so will be interesting. Brighton's involvement going forward is in my opinion very good news for them .
Wish we'd had a computer selecting our managers post Jack Ross
Greenworld
23-09-2024, 08:29 AM
Wish we'd had a computer selecting our managers post Jack RossLol we could have, had we not said no thanks to Tony Bloom another Ian Gordon special.
Greenio
23-09-2024, 08:44 AM
Its mental that folk seem to think some starlizard computer can pick a successful manager
Might as well as chat gpt
Greenworld
23-09-2024, 08:48 AM
Its mental that folk seem to think some starlizard computer can pick a successful manager
Might as well as chat gptYou only get out what you put in . Analytics are a huge part of the game today .
23-09-2024, 08:49 AM
Here’s what it says…
Chat GPT
A balance between experience and tactical innovation would be ideal for Hearts. Jack Ross or Derek McInnes might be realistic options, offering Scottish Premiership experience. If the club is looking for a more ambitious or creative approach, someone like Kjetil Knutsen would provide an exciting but riskier alternative.
That's how I envisage it. Bloom's got ChatGPT Plus, Opta and Wyscout Diamond service and Budge /McKinlay will tell him the criteria they are after. Experienced, knowledge of the Scottish game, nobody with past or present Celtic or Hibs connection...
With Budge and co setting the parameters and doing the interviews and negotiations they could well end up with the usual list of candidates but with 1 or 2 unexpected names. Doesn't mean they'll want the job though.
Watching Brighton on MoTD it's strikes me their analytical approach to recruitment works just fine.
WeAreHibs
23-09-2024, 09:10 AM
100% he's a rat of a man but where did this story start from? It's quite the accusation and would have thought there would be some evidence online.
Donegal Hibby
23-09-2024, 09:32 AM
Like all Hibs fans I’m sorry to see him sacked though in truth it couldn’t have happened to a nicer guy …. Horrible individual .
I don’t think this is the last we have seen of him either because he’s arrogant enough to believe he’s a good manager and will try for another club eventually.
23-09-2024, 09:39 AM
100% he's a rat of a man but where did this story start from? It's quite the accusation and would have thought there would be some evidence online.
From Nisbet wasn’t it? Mind he ran to him to celebrate the winner in the derby a couple of seasons ago.
23-09-2024, 09:39 AM
There seem to be a lot of people who know Naismith well enough to give their opinion of him on here.
Here's another view:-
https://www.obstructedview.org/naismith
Paulie Walnuts
23-09-2024, 10:07 AM
There seem to be a lot of people who know Naismith well enough to give their opinion of him on here.
The kindest man in football, who stands over injured players laughing in their faces. File that article under absolute nonsense.
Greenio
23-09-2024, 10:33 AM
You only get out what you put in . Analytics are a huge part of the game today .
Without a doubt
But it sounds like Hearts fans think this thing can pick them a quality manager. It cant. It can give you a data point, thats all. Cant spot anything outside of that
Greenworld
23-09-2024, 10:44 AM
Without a doubt
But it sounds like Hearts fans think this thing can pick them a quality manager. It cant. It can give you a data point, thats all. Cant spot anything outside of thatNo I get that ,it will be interesting,I'm not sure what the black knights use of they do use that sort of thing
HFC93
23-09-2024, 10:56 AM
I can see them going for a Scandinavian manager given that Jimmy Thelin is the current flavour of the month.
23-09-2024, 10:58 AM
The kindest man in football, who stands over injured players laughing in their faces. File that article under absolute nonsense.
No I agree with the article, different animal off the pitch as are many players.
Cabbage-Patch
23-09-2024, 11:02 AM
I can see them going for a Scandinavian manager given that Jimmy Thelin is the current flavour of the month.
Can see them going for Kjetil Knutsen
23-09-2024, 11:10 AM
Being Everton-minded for my sins I am aware of the high regard in which Naismith is held in Liverpool for his involvement with the homeless there and in Glasgow too.
He was certainly a competitive player and took no prisoners on the pitch but that's football. As fans we see heroes and villains but we don't really know what goes on, what's said on the field or in the dressing room.
Off duty it's different and I'd say he's done a lot more for society than most footballers. Sermon over.
Donegal Hibby
23-09-2024, 11:13 AM
They’ve done a thread where Blooms data company is mentioned, it’s called “ contract extension “ and starts of with …
Maybe conspiracy theory but is it possible that the extensions were to give the management team honoranium as a thank you for last year’s performance knowing that they’d be paid off soon?
Blooms data company will have all the metrics on managers performances and I’m sure they’d have run Naismith through the computer, seen the data and knew he wasn’t the long term answer…..
So basically this one’s asking was it done as a goodwill gesture in giving out the contract extension and nothing really to do with them messing up big time ! .
I’m sure there was quite a few of them that would have helped run Naismith through Blooms computer in all 😂
23-09-2024, 11:21 AM
They’ve done a thread where Blooms data company is mentioned, it’s called “ contract extension “ and starts of with …
Maybe conspiracy theory but is it possible that the extensions were to give the management team honoranium as a thank you for last year’s performance knowing that they’d be paid off soon?
Blooms data company will have all the metrics on managers performances and I’m sure they’d have run Naismith through the computer, seen the data and knew he wasn’t the long term answer…..
So basically this one’s asking was it done as a goodwill gesture in giving out the contract extension and nothing really to do with them messing up big time ! .
I’m sure there was quite a few of them that would have helped run Naismith through Blooms computer in all [emoji23]Yeah, that sounds a likely and believable story :hilarious
23-09-2024, 11:23 AM
An "exciting young foreign manager" is definitely their wish. But Thelin is an interesting example. Made an incredible start but he was basically like the Derek McInnes of Sweden. By which I mean that the depth of his success was finishing 3rd a few times in a pretty poor league. He likes his team to press but I don't see anyone suggesting they're playing great passing football?
Even if Hearts can identify some exceptional young coach, will they really want to come to Scotland? Anyone with potential will likely end up in England where Championship jobs are far more appealing. The likes of Marti Cifuentes and Danny Rohl etc, anyone decent is already on the radar of teams down south and probably won't be interested in joining Hearts.
23-09-2024, 11:25 AM
Can see them going for Kjetil Knutsen
Maybe they'll go for Mbappe aswell. Similar chances.
23-09-2024, 11:35 AM
From reports you gathered at the time, Aberdeen and Rangers have both sounded out Kjetil Knutsen in the past and got nowhere.
He was not interested and they couldn't afford him.
Will be quite something for a club with a £10-£12m budget if 10% of all spending goes on the manager.
The suggestion looks more Moonshine than Starlizard really
Rumble de Thump
23-09-2024, 11:39 AM
I just input the data into the computer machine. After calibrating the inverse reactive quantifications and unilateral phase detractors, it provided its Hearts FC prediction interfrastically. The club will continue to be owned and run by numpties who will pretend the club is far bigger and better than it ever will be. It will all end in disaster, tears and snotters. End transmission.
He has for years done a tremendous amount of charity work, while never overly publishing it. Deserves credit for that.
23-09-2024, 12:35 PM
If he has ANY good points it's still immaterial. He is a Jambo, therefore he is a skunk! End of!
Donegal Hibby
23-09-2024, 12:38 PM
Not buying into the .. because he’s done charity work he’s a nice guy theory either , most footballers nowadays do .
Even some other people have like ..Al Capone ran soup kitchens and looked after his neighbourhood .
In Naismith case over the years he’s showed is true colours time and time again not only as a player but a manager too …from the Johnny Hayes incident to what happened with Kevin Nisbet , he even couldn’t wait to put the boot in on the previous hertz manager he got the job from …
Normally I have sympathy for a manager losing his job though in his case I have none whatsoever.
Paulie Walnuts
23-09-2024, 12:39 PM
No I agree with the article, different animal off the pitch as are many players.
He may well be, but he’s most definitely not ‘the nicest man in football’ as the article suggests.
23-09-2024, 12:42 PM
Nisbet said it himself and to my knowledge Naismith has never denied it.
Honestly believe that Naismith's average derby record (by Hearts standards) over an inferior Hibs team is our players busting a gut because they ****ing hate him.
23-09-2024, 12:50 PM
No, I prefer to think the best of people regardless of rivalry. Maybe you know him off the pitch, I don’t.
23-09-2024, 12:55 PM
Without a doubt
But it sounds like Hearts fans think this thing can pick them a quality manager. It cant. It can give you a data point, thats all. Cant spot anything outside of thatAll about control of the keyboard, cannae see Mrs doctor Budge no wanting a wee shot.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240923/3eb9c2809d7a4b549fea1c7449b1f8e1.gif
Paulie Walnuts
23-09-2024, 12:55 PM
No, I prefer to think the best of people regardless of rivalry. Maybe you know him off the pitch, I don’t.
You’re perfectly entitled to do that. I personally don’t see someone who has previous for laughing in peoples faces when they’re injured or telling people their dad who died a few days prior would be let down by them smacks of kindness.
23-09-2024, 01:02 PM
Watching Brighton on MoTD it's strikes me their analytical approach to recruitment works just fine.
Going a goal down at home to Forest, recovering, and failing to hold on to the three points?
It would be carnage all week in here in the same situation. Still, they could tweak the parameters I suppose.
23-09-2024, 01:08 PM
Going a goal down at home to Forest, recovering, and failing to hold on to the three points?
It would be carnage all week in here in the same situation. Still, they could tweak the parameters I suppose.
USG results this season are hardly stellar either.........12 in the league after 8 games.
23-09-2024, 01:16 PM
Nisbet said it himself and to my knowledge Naismith has never denied it.
Honestly believe that Naismith's average derby record (by Hearts standards) over an inferior Hibs team is our players busting a gut because they ****ing hate him.
Look forward to you sharing these quotes from Nisbet.
23-09-2024, 01:19 PM
I just input the data into the computer machine. After calibrating the inverse reactive quantifications and unilateral phase detractors, it provided its Hearts FC prediction interfrastically. The club will continue to be owned and run by numpties who will pretend the club is far bigger and better than it ever will be. It will all end in disaster, tears and snotters. End transmission.
Ah! I just did the same. Apparently the replacement has been on the premises all along. Fox’ll fix it
23-09-2024, 01:26 PM
Ah! I just did the same. Apparently the replacement has been on the premises all along. Fox’ll fix itI just put an old pair of corduroys, and an acrylic maroon cardigan with faux leather buttons in a boil wash in the twin tub and now that they've dried out I'm sure I can see Craig Levein's coupon on the washing line.
That's enough analytics for me.
He's here!
23-09-2024, 01:31 PM
It's not nonsense. Way back in the day I had a season ticket at Goodison and have maintained a bond with the club ever since (a Hibs/Everton combo can be hard going!). I can vouch for the fact Naismith is very well regarded there. The fact he's not well regarded on here is pretty much solely because of his association with Rangers and Hearts.
He's here!
23-09-2024, 01:35 PM
Look forward to you sharing these quotes from Nisbet.
Nobody will be able to share those quotes with you because (as I'm guessing you suspect) they don't exist.
Nisbet made an allusion to the fact he'd stuck it to the Hearts dugout after scoring that derby goal but there was little more to it than that. He certainly didn't go into any detail about what Naismith did or didn't say to him after the Hampden penalty. That's just something which seems to have grown arms and legs.
Cat Stanton
23-09-2024, 01:40 PM
Lol we could have, had we not said no thanks to Tony Bloom another Ian Gordon special.
Is this true?
23-09-2024, 02:02 PM
Is this true?
It’s been rumoured for a while and Luke Shanley alluded to it in his interview with Ian Gordon without actually naming Brighton/Bloom.
Rumble de Thump
23-09-2024, 02:28 PM
Is this true?
Cat Stanton
23-09-2024, 02:36 PM
Hibs.net in difference-of-opinion shocker!
23-09-2024, 02:43 PM
Is this true?
Donegal Hibby
23-09-2024, 02:47 PM
It's not nonsense. Way back in the day I had a season ticket at Goodison and have maintained a bond with the club ever since (a Hibs/Everton combo can be hard going!). I can vouch for the fact Naismith is very well regarded there. The fact he's not well regarded on here is pretty much solely because of his association with Rangers and Hearts.
Hearts and Sevco thing is part of it though it’s a lot more to do with his manner and the way he’s conducted himself over the years as a player and manager .
https://www.skysports.com/football/video/12606/12858241/kevin-nisbet-hibs-striker-says-he-was-due-a-goal-against-hearts
If he’s well regarded at Everton then he’s lucky because there’s not too many other places he is mainly down to him coming across as a nasty …….
Greenworld
23-09-2024, 03:05 PM
Is this true?Yes it's true
He's here!
23-09-2024, 03:13 PM
Hearts and Sevco thing is part of it though it’s a lot more to do with his manner and the way he’s conducted himself over the years as a player and manager .
https://www.skysports.com/football/video/12606/12858241/kevin-nisbet-hibs-striker-says-he-was-due-a-goal-against-hearts
If he’s well regarded at Everton then he’s lucky because there’s not too many other places he is mainly down to him coming across as a nasty …….
You'd probably struggle to find a Liverpool fan with a bad word to say about him either (other than the fact he scored a cracking goal against them). He's also maintained a very active charity presence in Glasgow which is much respected (apart, I guess, by the more extreme Rangers fans who can't forgive him for 'walking away'). As others have said, a great many footballers/managers are very different people once they step off the pitch. Scott Brown's a good example. Utterly uncompromising and often reviled by opposition fans as a player, but a quiet, unassuming guy in private.
I think you're a Newcastle fan, so here's what The Mag has to say about him:
https://www.themag.co.uk/2015/12/a-football-player-who-you-would-be-proud-to-have-playing-for-your-club-steven-naismith-newcastle-united-the-big-issue-everton-glasgow-rangers/
23-09-2024, 03:23 PM
If he’s well regarded at Everton then he’s lucky because there’s not too many other places he is mainly down to him coming across as a nasty …….He wasn't very popular at Norwich
https://forum.pinkun.com/index.php?/topic/157893-steven-naismith/
23-09-2024, 03:43 PM
Here’s what it says…
Chat GPT
A balance between experience and tactical innovation would be ideal for Hearts. Jack Ross or Derek McInnes might be realistic options, offering Scottish Premiership experience. If the club is looking for a more ambitious or creative approach, someone like Kjetil Knutsen would provide an exciting but riskier alternative.
We must have used different prompts, but I love chat gpt so I gave it a go. My response was incredibly lengthy, so only sharing the shortlist unless folk want the full thing
"Here is a five-candidate shortlist of potential managers that could meet the demands of your Scottish Premier League club. Each candidate is ranked based on their fit with the club's ambitions, their tactical flexibility, experience in developing youth, and ability to work within budgetary constraints while improving players.
---
Summary of Ranking:
1. Kjetil Knutsen - Best balance of style, player development, and European success.
2. Rúnar Kristinsson - Pragmatic, youth-focused, and experienced in balancing domestic and European football.
3. Jesse Marsch - Tactically ideal but might be harder to recruit due to higher-profile career.
4. David Wagner - Defensive, hard-to-beat teams with youth development, but recent form is mixed.
5. Ian Cathro - Youth-focused but unproven at the highest level as a head coach.
Each candidate brings something different, but Knutsen's recent success and style make him the most viable option".
Found it interesting that McInnes was not one of the suggestions. I didn't specify must have experience of Scottish football, my prompt was focused on having previously shown the skills required to be successful in the Scottish league.
23-09-2024, 04:18 PM
5. Ian Cathro - Youth-focused but unproven at the highest level as a head coach.
:pray:
Paul1642
23-09-2024, 04:19 PM
If they don’t approach McInness, I think he will apply for the job. It’s his last chance to get one of the top Scottish jobs.
When we were potentially after him in the summer his position at Kilmarnock was about as rock solid as a manager can get these days.
Fast forward a few months and and he’s on 1 win from 14 competitive games and Kilmarnock are below a St Johnstone team who just sacked Levein who amazingly enough was on slightly better recent form than McInnes’ Kilmarnock team, with much lower fan and board expectations.
I’m not suggesting that McInnes is for the sack but he would be daft to turn down the Hearts job if offered it when he’s potentially only a few more bad results away from being in hot water.
Sounds like a perfect description of hibs performances this season.
Donegal Hibby
23-09-2024, 05:30 PM
He wasn't very popular at Norwich
https://forum.pinkun.com/index.php?/topic/157893-steven-naismith/
Not very popular in Donegal with me either .:greengrin
I can’t stick the guy at all and think he’s regularly shown his true colours over the years….
quite happy with the way things have panned out for him even though I did wish his winless run had continued there for longer . Him and hertz were well suited IMO.
23-09-2024, 05:43 PM
We must have used different prompts, but I love chat gpt so I gave it a go. My response was incredibly lengthy, so only sharing the shortlist unless folk want the full thing
"Here is a five-candidate shortlist of potential managers that could meet the demands of your Scottish Premier League club. Each candidate is ranked based on their fit with the club's ambitions, their tactical flexibility, experience in developing youth, and ability to work within budgetary constraints while improving players.
---
Summary of Ranking:
1. Kjetil Knutsen - Best balance of style, player development, and European success.
2. Rúnar Kristinsson - Pragmatic, youth-focused, and experienced in balancing domestic and European football.
3. Jesse Marsch - Tactically ideal but might be harder to recruit due to higher-profile career.
4. David Wagner - Defensive, hard-to-beat teams with youth development, but recent form is mixed.
Each candidate brings something different, but Knutsen's recent success and style make him the most viable option".
Found it interesting that McInnes was not one of the suggestions. I didn't specify must have experience of Scottish football, my prompt was focused on having previously shown the skills required to be successful in the Scottish league.
Did you have a salary level ?
He's here!
23-09-2024, 05:46 PM
When we were potentially after him in the summer his position at Kilmarnock was about as rock solid as a manager can get these days.
Fast forward a few months and and he’s on 1 win from 14 competitive games and Kilmarnock are below a St Johnstone team who just sacked Levein who amazingly enough was on slightly better recent form than McInnes’ Kilmarnock team, with much lower fan and board expectations.
I’m not suggesting that McInnes is for the sack but he would be daft to turn down the Hearts job if offered it when he’s potentially only a few more bad results away from being in hot water.
Six of those 14 games were in Europe, which by Scottish club standards is a reasonable European run, and as we discovered last season playing in Europe midweek doesn't seem to tally with winning league games at the weekend. Killie are in very safe hands with McInnes at the helm and I doubt they'll be near the foot of the table for long now that they just have domestic games to focus on. He's done an excellent job at every Scottish club he's been at which is why I'd be happy enough for Hearts not to consider him.
23-09-2024, 06:23 PM
Chat gpt suggests Ian Cathro for the hearts gig in 2024
StarLizard take note..
23-09-2024, 06:50 PM
Did you have a salary level ?
I didn't. I did consider adding one but intentionally left it out as I wouldn't actually know what they realistically pay, and ai wouldn't know what potential candidate wage expectations/previous wages would be either. I cavaeted the prompt that any targets should be realistic for the Scottish Premiership, but it is a grey area.
Donegal Hibby
23-09-2024, 06:50 PM
Six of those 14 games were in Europe, which by Scottish club standards is a reasonable European run, and as we discovered last season playing in Europe midweek doesn't seem to tally with winning league games at the weekend. Killie are in very safe hands with McInnes at the helm and I doubt they'll be near the foot of the table for long now that they just have domestic games to focus on. He's done an excellent job at every Scottish club he's been at which is why I'd be happy enough for Hearts not to consider him.
I don’t think hertz will consider him as Killie have been as bad as hertz and probably playing worse football which again was very evident when we played them as well .
He might turn it around though a few more bad results with the rank football could see the Killie fans turn on him like the Aberdeen ones did which normally has only one ending..
23-09-2024, 07:00 PM
I don’t think hertz will consider him as Killie have been as bad as hertz and probably playing worse football which again was very evident when we played them as well .
He might turn it around though a few more bad results with the rank football could see the Killie fans turn on him like the Aberdeen ones did which normally has only one ending..
McInnes bookies fav to replace Clement if he’s fired
Donegal Hibby
23-09-2024, 07:25 PM
McInnes bookies fav to replace Clement if he’s fired
I think one of the last times they were looking for a manager , Lennon was on it at 33/1 , can’t say never but again would be surprised if he got it . I think the hun hordes would be really pi**ed off about it too .
Caversham Green
23-09-2024, 07:41 PM
Lol we could have, had we not said no thanks to Tony Bloom another Ian Gordon special.
That would only apply to the current manager would it not?
And as we know the board didn't take Foley's advice anyway - would they have been any more receptive to output from a computer?
Of course maybe Bloom would have been intelligent enough to keep his mouth shut about any disagreement.
Greenworld
23-09-2024, 07:46 PM
That would only apply to the current manager would it not?
And as we know the board didn't take Foley's advice anyway - would they have been any more receptive to output from a computer?
Of course maybe Bloom would have been intelligent enough to keep his mouth shut about any disagreement.Yes your correct and some players perhaps .
Bournemouth have there own computer based system so it's there for us as well
23-09-2024, 08:02 PM
Yes your correct and some players perhaps .
if it’s really that simple …. Everyman and his dog will be at it.
maybe we’re feeding the failed experiments (the “fail fast” and “break things” in to the algorithm)
Greenworld
23-09-2024, 08:08 PM
if it’s really that simple …. Everyman and his dog will be at it.
maybe we’re feeding the failed experiments (the “fail fast” and “break things” in to the algorithm)I'm not suggesting it's the decision maker (the computer) but certainly will help with a lot of the screening of potential new staff / players
Donegal Hibby
23-09-2024, 08:10 PM
Couple of foreign managers mentioned here for their job that I don’t know …
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/hearts-new-manager-timeline-jambos-29988748
23-09-2024, 08:12 PM
I'm not suggesting it's the decision maker (the computer) but certainly will help with a lot of the screening of potential new staff / players
Sorry missed out the smiley - as some e who works in IT tho not AI / big data / data mining and stuff let’s say I have a healthy scepticism.
Greenworld
23-09-2024, 08:14 PM
Sorry missed out the smiley - as some e who works in IT tho not AI / big data / data mining and stuff let’s say I have a healthy scepticism.Will be fun to watch how hearts get on
Cat Stanton
23-09-2024, 08:32 PM
Yes your correct and some players perhaps .
I don't fully understand this Hearts Bloom story. I get that he has software to identity players. But is this related to the much discussed (and drooled over on the bbc) alleged £10m investment? Is one dependent on the other? Or are they two separate things?
23-09-2024, 08:33 PM
F*** the Hertz
Greenworld
23-09-2024, 08:35 PM
I don't fully understand this Hearts Bloom story. I get that he has software to identity players. But is this related to the much discussed (and drooled over on the bbc) alleged £10m investment? Is one dependent on the other? Or are they two separate things?I'm not sure either I did ask a couple of hearts guys I know but the fine details were still being worked on .
Like you it's a baffling amount of money for what ?
Guess we find out soon enough
23-09-2024, 09:06 PM
I don't fully understand this Hearts Bloom story. I get that he has software to identity players. But is this related to the much discussed (and drooled over on the bbc) alleged £10m investment? Is one dependent on the other? Or are they two separate things?
I don’t understand it either.In what sort of commercial transaction does Bloom give Hearts use of his system and them lob in ten million quid as well. If the money is for shares then either it goes to the present holder of shares or new shares are issued which will reduce the percentage of shares held by FOH.
23-09-2024, 09:08 PM
I'm not sure either I did ask a couple of hearts guys I know but the fine details were still being worked on .
Like you it's a baffling amount of money for what ?
Guess we find out soon enough
yoof academy - check
sports bras in training and games - check
tracked progress of all players frm yoof to dev and first team
sold players down south / overseas for a decent return - check
transferred players from overseas duds /successes -?
got into Europe and had mutiple games in last 3 seasons…
will you give us all your data and for the next X years exclusively?
[cranks handle…]
that will be six billion Turkish lira … in crypto currency.
He's here!
23-09-2024, 09:16 PM
Been done to death, but any Hibs or Hearts fan who says they wouldn't want what McInnes achieved at Aberdeen (3rd, 2nd, 2nd, 2nd, 2nd, 4th, 4th, 4th, European football every season, a cup win, three other finals and four other semi-finals) simply because they didn't deem the football to be good enough has got to be delusional when you consider some of the utter dross served up by both Edinburgh clubs during that time. The shambles which followed McInnes' departure during his one poor season (Glass, Goodwin, Robson, Warnock) just about mirrors our own dismal slide post-Jack Ross - bar that flash in the pan half season when Robson saw them race up the table to third.
He also finished fourth with Killie last season, 10 points clear of Hibs on a far smaller budget and despite their slow start to this season are only three points behind us with a game in hand.
He'd do a good job at Hearts no question.
Rumble de Thump
23-09-2024, 10:04 PM
I don’t understand it either.In what sort of commercial transaction does Bloom give Hearts use of his system and them lob in ten million quid as well. If the money is for shares then either it goes to the present holder of shares or new shares are issued which will reduce the percentage of shares held by FOH.
The Jambo journalists and pundits have presented the story as Brighton wanting to gift Hearts £10 million and letting them use their analytics software for free. What a fantastic deal 😄
Surely at some point one of them will wonder what exactly Brighton would be expecting in return. It's bizarre that they even ran with story without asking that most basic question. What exactly is the deal? Is there even a deal on the cards? It's a mystery.
23-09-2024, 10:06 PM
The Jambo journalists and pundits have presented the story as Brighton wanting to gift Hearts £10 million and letting them use their analytics software for free. What a fantastic deal 😄
Surely at some point one of them will wonder what exactly Brighton would be expecting in return. It's bizarre that they even ran with story without asking that most basic question. What exactly is the deal? Is there even a deal on the cards? It's a mystery.
Replies I’ve seen on Twitter all say “read it” as if what you’ve said isn’t what Barry Anderson written.
When Bloom wanted to deal with is he wanted in on the ownership - not sure how he’ll get that through with them having so many owners.
Been done to death, but any Hibs or Hearts fan who says they wouldn't want what McInnes achieved at Aberdeen (3rd, 2nd, 2nd, 2nd, 2nd, 4th, 4th, 4th, European football every season, a cup win, three other finals and four other semi-finals) simply because they didn't deem the football to be good enough has got to be delusional when you consider some of the utter dross served up by both Edinburgh clubs during that time. The shambles which followed McInnes' departure during his one poor season (Glass, Goodwin, Robson, Warnock) just about mirrors our own dismal slide post-Jack Ross - bar that flash in the pan half season when Robson saw them race up the table to third.
He also finished fourth with Killie last season, 10 points clear of Hibs on a far smaller budget and despite their slow start to this season are only three points behind us with a game in hand.
He'd do a good job at Hearts no question.How do you know McInnes would want the Hibs job?
It's a bit much questioning the mental health of those who wouldn't want him.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Some succour for our city neighbours, top of the league in one respect.
https://i.ibb.co/zr8g2wj/Screenshot-20240924-000706-Samsung-Internet.jpg (https://ibb.co/PNTyW83)
Donegal Hibby
23-09-2024, 11:17 PM
It has been done to death alright but firstly … McInnes record while impressive you can forget about any hibs or hertz fans seeing four 2nd place finishes , that’s not happening again and likely never will due to quite extraordinary circumstances in Scottish football at that time when rangers died and where demoted to the bottom league while hibs and hertz were relegated….
Even a few seasons back in the top flight the newly formed sevco weren’t something to be feared . 3rd place excellent as well as three 4th place finishes though I do wonder who finished 3rd in the three times they finished 4th ? …
I’m sorry but Aberdeen were on the decline under McInnes before the other managers came in with them scoring just once in nine games with some of the worst football imaginable which is why their fans turned on him and he was sacked…
Can you imagine if we were playing ***** and had only scored one goal in nine games or were on the run he is now on at Killie with again playing ***** football what it would be like on here ? …
Yes Killie finished 4th and 10 points ahead of us last season though I’m confident we will finish ahead of Killie this season as I think our squad has improved…
As to him doing a good job at hertz some want him and others are **** no , comparing his football to the caveman’s .
Personally think McInnes is vastly overhyped on here and couldn’t care less if he ends up there .
23-09-2024, 11:45 PM
It has been done to death alright but firstly … McInnes record while impressive you can forget about any hibs or hertz fans seeing four 2nd place finishes , that’s not happening again and likely never will due to quite extraordinary circumstances in Scottish football at that time when rangers died and where demoted to the bottom league while hibs and hertz were relegated….
Even a few seasons back in the top flight the newly formed sevco weren’t something to be feared . 3rd place excellent as well as three 4th place finishes though I do wonder who finished 3rd in the three times they finished 4th ? …
I’m sorry but Aberdeen were on the decline under McInnes before the other managers came in with them scoring just once in nine games with some of the worst football imaginable which is why their fans turned on him and he was sacked…
Can you imagine if we were playing ***** and had only scored one goal in nine games or were on the run he is now on at Killie with again playing ***** football what it would be like on here ? …
Yes Killie finished 4th and 10 points ahead of us last season though I’m confident we will finish ahead of Killie this season as I think our squad has improved…
As to him doing a good job at hertz some want him and others are **** no , comparing his football to the caveman’s .
Personally think McInnes is vastly overhyped on here and couldn’t care less if he ends up there .
One correction. “Rangers” weren’t demoted. A new club was formed and propelled into the senior leagues - without having to works its way through the pyramid.
23-09-2024, 11:58 PM
If we didn’t have the appetite for Jack Ross what of Macinnes ?
Seem to recall we had the edge over them in semis and finals appearances did they not get a jammy dying minutes spawny goal? He never won tge Scottish and bottle massively crashed v Celtic if memory serves with some utter spankings I the crunch games.
if he came it wouldn’t be long til honeymoon ended and knives out.
24-09-2024, 02:02 AM
One correction. “Rangers” weren’t demoted. A new club was formed and propelled into the senior leagues - without having to works its way through the pyramid.
100% correct.
24-09-2024, 06:53 AM
Exactly. Can't believe folk are still spouting this pish, especially a Hibs fan. We all did them a HUGE favour by allowing them to join the bottom league against all the protocol of the time. Wonder if the same would happen to Stenhousemuir.
24-09-2024, 07:20 AM
Your last sentence in pure speculation. There is never not a question or doubt against any manager taking on a new role, especially at a club that seems to be just a little bit basket casey at the moment!
24-09-2024, 07:34 AM
You're right.
Paulie Walnuts
24-09-2024, 07:40 AM
Your last sentence in pure speculation. There is never not a question or doubt against any manager taking on a new role, especially at a club that seems to be just a little bit basket casey at the moment!
Whilst that’s true, he’s as close to a sure thing as any non Old Firm team in our league could get.
24-09-2024, 07:42 AM
Exactly. Can't believe folk are still spouting this pish, especially a Hibs fan. We all did them a HUGE favour by allowing them to join the bottom league against all the protocol of the time. Wonder if the same would happen to Stenhousemuir.
And to think there was a vote to put them right into the top flight. Astonishing. Luckily it was thrown out. Them starting in the 3rd division was already a shambolic decision. No other club would have got that treatment. Still angers me.
He's here!
24-09-2024, 07:42 AM
McLeish trumps him in terms of trophies won but when it comes to our top flight McInnes is head and shoulders above any other Scottish club manager this century for the excellence and consistency of his league placings. It's hard to 'overhype' that. Not his fault Rangers got liquidated or that Aberdeen's supposed closest rivals Hibs, Hearts and Dundee United were too c**p to even be in the top flight for much of his time at Aberdeen.
24-09-2024, 08:31 AM
Stuart McCall went 3rd (behind RFC), 2nd, 2nd with Motherwell -arguably a better achievement than McInnes when you consider Hibs and Hearts were still in the league during that time and the disparity in resources the two managers had available to them.
He's here!
24-09-2024, 09:05 AM
Stuart McCall went 3rd (behind RFC), 2nd, 2nd with Motherwell -arguably a better achievement than McInnes when you consider Hibs and Hearts were still in the league during that time and the disparity in resources the two managers had available to them.
Yes, fair shout. Remarkable what he achieved at that time. I can't actually recall it (we were in the Championship so I wouldn't really have been focusing on the top flight) but I note he went from 2nd in 2013/14 to 11th in 2014/15 without Rangers, Hibs or Hearts in the league. Did they possibly go into admin?
Looking at Motherwell's overall league placings this century they actually put Hibs to shame.
24-09-2024, 09:11 AM
Exactly, i'm convinced some Hibs fans dont really want success.
Paulie Walnuts
24-09-2024, 09:17 AM
Yes, fair shout. Remarkable what he achieved at that time. I can't actually recall it (we were in the Championship so I wouldn't really have been focusing on the top flight) but I note he went from 2nd in 2013/14 to 11th in 2014/15 without Rangers, Hibs or Hearts in the league. Did they possibly go into admin?
Looking at Motherwell's overall league placings this century they actually put Hibs to shame.
The other difference with him and McInnes is that he didn’t manage to do great jobs elsewhere.
His record at Motherwell was excellent. He didn’t do as good a job elsewhere though where as McInnes has done a good job at every club he’s been at in terms of club expectations.
24-09-2024, 09:18 AM
Exactly, i'm convinced some Hibs fans dont really want success.
And am convinced some Hibs fans want to use anything that goes on in Gorgie as a mechanism to criticise and beat down Hibs.
Donegal Hibby
24-09-2024, 09:31 AM
You of course are right , wrong choice of words on my part 👍
24-09-2024, 09:47 AM
Yes, fair shout. Remarkable what he achieved at that time. I can't actually recall it (we were in the Championship so I wouldn't really have been focusing on the top flight) but I note he went from 2nd in 2013/14 [b]to 11th in 2014/15 without Rangers, Hibs or Hearts in the league[/b . Did they possibly go into admin?
He left Motherwell in 2014, Ian Baraclough was manager when they finished 11th.
Donegal Hibby
24-09-2024, 09:54 AM
McLeish trumps him in terms of trophies won but when it comes to our top flight McInnes is head and shoulders above any other Scottish club manager this century for the excellence and consistency of his league placings. It's hard to 'overhype' that. Not his fault Rangers got liquidated or that Aberdeen's supposed closest rivals Hibs, Hearts and Dundee United were too c**p to even be in the top flight for much of his time at Aberdeen.
I never said it was his fault Sevco got liquidated or Aberdeen's rivals got relegated but it did certainly make things easier for them to achieve what they did at that time …
You think McInnes going to hertz or Hibs is going to get 2nd place now ? Or if hertz get him now they are guaranteed 3rd or 4th place ?, you also never answered my question on who Aberdeen finished 4th to 3 times?
The likelihood is if he was at us or hertz and had the same form as he had at the end of his Aberdeen term or the run he’s having now . The vast majority on here or at hertz would be screaming for him to get the sack…..
that’s the reality of it without going into the awful football his teams play which was something used against the last manager that got us third , into cup finals , semis …
I doubt very much hertz are looking at him with the way Killie are doing. Maybe he will turn it around though at this present time he’s only a few more bad results away from being under some serious pressure in keeping his current job.
Paulie Walnuts
24-09-2024, 10:21 AM
You think McInnes going to hertz or Hibs is going to get 2nd place now ? Or if hertz get him now they are guaranteed 3rd or 4th place ?
Nobody is going to get Hearts, Hibs or Aberdeen second place now, so it’s not a stick to use against McInnes if nobody else would do it either.
If Hearts get McInnes I’d suggest they’re as good as guaranteed 3rd or 4th place.
24-09-2024, 10:26 AM
And am convinced some Hibs fans want to use anything that goes on in Gorgie as a mechanism to criticise and beat down Hibs.Doing, thinking and behaving the opposite to the thieves is generally a good rule of thumb for me, innovating ahead of them even better.
As a wise man once said f*** the Hearts
Donegal Hibby
24-09-2024, 10:40 AM
Nobody is going to get Hearts, Hibs or Aberdeen second place now, so it’s not a stick to use against McInnes if nobody else would do it either.
If Hearts get McInnes I’d suggest they’re as good as guaranteed 3rd or 4th place.
Exactly , I wasn’t the one bringing the fact he did finish 2nd which was totally different times which had some extraordinary factors that helped in achieving it …
If hertz got him they will have some job this season catching Aberdeen and don’t think 4th is guaranteed either. No guarantees in football with managers sacked far to quickly nowadays.
He's here!
24-09-2024, 11:04 AM
I never said it was his fault Sevco got liquidated or Aberdeen's rivals got relegated but it did certainly make things easier for them to achieve what they did at that time …
You think McInnes going to hertz or Hibs is going to get 2nd place now ? Or if hertz get him now they are guaranteed 3rd or 4th place ?, you also never answered my question on who Aberdeen finished 4th to 3 times?
The likelihood is if he was at us or hertz and had the same form as he had at the end of his Aberdeen term or the run he’s having now . The vast majority on here or at hertz would be screaming for him to get the sack…..
that’s the reality of it without going into the awful football his teams play which was something used against the last manager that got us third , into cup finals , semis …
I doubt very much hertz are looking at him with the way Killie are doing. Maybe he will turn it around though at this present time he’s only a few more bad results away from being under some serious pressure in keeping his current job.
I wasn't sure what the relevance of your question about who finished third was. Fact is he took Aberdeen to eight consecutive top four finishes, something it's hard to imagine any other non Old Firm manager achieving whatever the circumstances. How many such teams achieve even two consecutive top four finishes?
I get that you don't like him but he's a rock solid manager in this league who as others have said would most likely turn Hearts around pretty quickly.
Happy for you to throw this back at me if he ends up relegating Killie of course ;-)
24-09-2024, 11:05 AM
Can honestly see why a lot of ex players aren’t interested in management.
Even if you have a brilliant season or two, you’re always only a couple of games away from the sack.
Paulie Walnuts
24-09-2024, 11:07 AM
Exactly , I wasn’t the one bringing the fact he did finish 2nd which was totally different times which had some extraordinary factors that helped in achieving it …
If hertz got him they will have some job this season catching Aberdeen and don’t think 4th is guaranteed either. No guarantees in football with managers sacked far to quickly nowadays.
Well yes, but the fact it was 2nd isn’t the really relevant part for me. It’s the fact that for his 17 years as a manager, he’s pretty much always performed roughly in line with the budget of the teams he’s managed, or for a considerable amount of those seasons, exceeded it.
Seeing as we constantly finish lower than we should, as do Hearts, and as do Aberdeen after getting rid of him, just roughly meeting expectations isn’t something to be sniffed at.
And yes, they may well struggle to catch Aberdeen this season. I’m not sure that can be put down to their next manager though when they’re 14 points behind having played a game more before they’re even in the door.
24-09-2024, 11:18 AM
Here's an unpopular but factual analysis...
Hearts were absolutely nothing special last year.
On 9th December Nick Montgomery had us sitting above them after 16 games played (we'd beaten Livi to win 4 in a row, we were 1 point off St Mirren in third, and above Hearts who were 5th)
A sensible Hibs manager would have kicked on, starting with St Johnstone away.
However, Monty had Levitt at holding midfield, taking bye-kicks, gifting the opposition the win.
16 games in we were above Hearts
16 games later Dylan Levitt is giving away possession to Motherwell in stoppage time and we are conceding a goal that put us bottom 6
And we could/should have won all the derbies that followed (missed pen at ER, terrible pen decision at Tynecastle)
So I'm not on board the "Hearts will get top 4" thing - I think they're honking and they totally got away with one last year, Kevin Clancy assist...
McInnes had the 3rd biggest budget in the league, so all the 2nd's and 3rd's is what you'd expect from a decent manager. Where he's proven himself is getting promotion at Killie and sustaining that to get European football this season, he's who I wanted before Monty and Johnson, even before we appointed Gray.
24-09-2024, 12:48 PM
McInnes had the 3rd biggest budget in the league, so all the 2nd's and 3rd's is what you'd expect from a decent manager. Where he's proven himself is getting promotion at Killie and sustaining that to get European football this season, he's who I wanted before Monty and Johnson, even before we appointed Gray.
Yip, a manager who punches his weight, a manager who wins more than he loses.
Why would anyone want that?
Paulie Walnuts
24-09-2024, 12:49 PM
How many Hibs, Hearts or Aberdeen managers do what you’d expect over a sustained period though?
The answer is, other than McInnes, pretty much none.
Donegal Hibby
24-09-2024, 01:17 PM
Well yes, but the fact it was 2nd isn’t the really relevant part for me. It’s the fact that for his 17 years as a manager, he’s pretty much always performed roughly in line with the budget of the teams he’s managed, or for a considerable amount of those seasons, exceeded it.
Seeing as we constantly finish lower than we should, as do Hearts, and as do Aberdeen after getting rid of him, just roughly meeting expectations isn’t something to be sniffed at.
And yes, they may well struggle to catch Aberdeen this season. I’m not sure that can be put down to their next manager though when they’re 14 points behind having played a game more before they’re even in the door.
The thing about the Hibs fans on here that like McInnes and are constantly bringing him up is they are basing his record on his Aberdeen time which was good but are failing to acknowledge that the Scottish premier was probably as weak as it had been in many years then …
In his 17 years as a manager he’s been sacked for a then club record 7 game consecutive run of defeats…. Basically pushed out the door for a run of 1 win in 10 games while only scoring 1 goal in that period too , I don’t know what the correct run he’s on now but I’d hazard a guess it’s also pretty grim ..
He’s teams have regularly played some awful football which we have witnessed only recently and if Hibs or hertz fans where watching that regularly and he hit one of the bad runs he’s had at 3 out of the 4 clubs he’s been at there would be bedlam on here as there would across the road .
It would end up similar to JR when he was here if he was our manager and a few across the road have already made a comparison with his football to Robbie Neilson’s .
He’s not a bad manager though IMO he would be a recipe for disaster at either Edinburgh club .
I will be very surprised if hertz don’t go down the route Aberdeen did and stay clear of McInnes .
Donegal Hibby
24-09-2024, 02:17 PM
I wasn't sure what the relevance of your question about who finished third was. Fact is he took Aberdeen to eight consecutive top four finishes, something it's hard to imagine any other non Old Firm manager achieving whatever the circumstances. How many such teams achieve even two consecutive top four finishes?
I get that you don't like him but he's a rock solid manager in this league who as others have said would most likely turn Hearts around pretty quickly.
Happy for you to throw this back at me if he ends up relegating Killie of course ;-)
It’s just that I noticed in that time Motherwell finished ahead of them twice and Killie once who would probably have considerably less of a budget…
It’s not that I have anything against him personally though I haven’t liked the style of football his teams have played over the years and are still playing , which a lot of fans don’t.
He could very well get Killie climbing the league again though sometimes it’s hard coming out of a bad run with players moral low , decisions going against you etc .
If he doesn’t I don’t think he will get to long before he’s under pressure, don’t forget the Killie fans were already calling for his head the last time they were in bother.
Either way I would be throwing it back at you if one the two worst scenarios happen.
He's here!
24-09-2024, 03:05 PM
Yip, a manager who punches his weight, a manager who wins more than he loses.
Why would anyone want that?
Indeed. Much more satisfying to claim you're one of Scotland's top four clubs yet finish in the top four just seven times in nearly 50 years.
24-09-2024, 03:22 PM
Doing, thinking and behaving the opposite to the thieves is generally a good rule of thumb for me, innovating ahead of them even better.
As a wise man once said f*** the Hearts
Good we didn't sign players and get out business done early on in the summer then 😁
K-Zazu
24-09-2024, 03:24 PM
Really don’t understand why people think Mciness isn’t a decent manager in this league. He’s had a pretty bad start to the season but I think Kilmarnock played 6 Thursday’s in a row, they held their own against Copenhagen away for a good 70 mins as well. Throw into the mix the budget he has to work with at Kilmarnock too.
24-09-2024, 03:25 PM
Good we didn't sign players and get out business done early on in the summer then [emoji16]Sometimes[emoji6]
24-09-2024, 03:44 PM
Really don’t understand why people think Mciness isn’t a decent manager in this league. He’s had a pretty bad start to the season but I think Kilmarnock played 6 Thursday’s in a row, they held their own against Copenhagen away for a good 70 mins as well. Throw into the mix the budget he has to work with at Kilmarnock too.
His St Johnsone team were more than decent as well. Other than Bristol City he has been a success at every club he's been at. Like Robinson, excellent in Scotland.
24-09-2024, 03:54 PM
F*** the Hertz
Donegal Hibby
24-09-2024, 04:07 PM
European football can put pressure on a team alright especially when its squad isn’t good / big enough to cope with the demands of playing Thursdays/ Sundays which ours found out recently too , fans rarely take that into consideration when it comes to a bad run of form on a manager’s position though! .
24-09-2024, 04:12 PM
Is this McInnes debate still going on? Seems to come around every week.
Paulie Walnuts
24-09-2024, 05:19 PM
His St Johnsone team were more than decent as well. Other than Bristol City he has been a success at every club he's been at. Like Robinson, excellent in Scotland.
He worked miracles at Bristol City when he first went in as well.
Paulie Walnuts
24-09-2024, 05:22 PM
The thing about the Hibs fans on here that like McInnes and are constantly bringing him up is they are basing his record on his Aberdeen time which was good but are failing to acknowledge that the Scottish premier was probably as weak as it had been in many years then …
In his 17 years as a manager he’s been sacked for a then club record 7 game consecutive run of defeats…. Basically pushed out the door for a run of 1 win in 10 games while only scoring 1 goal in that period too , I don’t know what the correct run he’s on now but I’d hazard a guess it’s also pretty grim ..
He’s teams have regularly played some awful football which we have witnessed only recently and if Hibs or hertz fans where watching that regularly and he hit one of the bad runs he’s had at 3 out of the 4 clubs he’s been at there would be bedlam on here as there would across the road .
It would end up similar to JR when he was here if he was our manager and a few across the road have already made a comparison with his football to Robbie Neilson’s .
He’s not a bad manager though IMO he would be a recipe for disaster at either Edinburgh club .
I will be very surprised if hertz don’t go down the route Aberdeen did and stay clear of McInnes .
There’s no doubting he had a bad run which lead to him leaving Aberdeen. The fact it took him 8 years to have it though tells us all we need to know.
And for all the chat about how crap the league was back then, I can say one thing with a degree of certainty - there isn’t a hope in hell we’d have performed like that for that length of time under any manager we’ve had in the last 20 years.
Donegal Hibby
24-09-2024, 05:39 PM
There’s no doubting he had a bad run which lead to him leaving Aberdeen. The fact it took him 8 years to have it though tells us all we need to know.
And for all the chat about how crap the league was back then, I can say one thing with a degree of certainty - there isn’t a hope in hell we’d have performed like that for that length of time under any manager we’ve had in the last 20 years.
Bad run at 3 out of the 4 clubs he’s managed to be precise, all of which our fans would want him sacked for …. Didn’t say the league was crap , just weaker than it will probably ever will be again.
I couldn’t possibly predict that as I thought Tony Mowbray was /is a excellent manager who had us playing some of the best football I’ve seen , kinda football that Derek McInnes can only dream about TBH .
Who knows what he’d have achieved at Hibs if he had stayed..
Donegal Hibby
24-09-2024, 05:40 PM
Seems to have the same status as Lewy Stevenson in he can walk on water and turn it into wine 😂
Paulie Walnuts
24-09-2024, 05:43 PM
Bad run at 3 out of the 4 clubs he’s managed to be precise, all of which our fans would want him sacked for …. Didn’t say the league was crap , just weaker than it will probably ever will be again.
I couldn’t possibly predict that as I thought Tony Mowbray was /is a excellent manager who had us playing some of the best football I’ve seen , kinda football that Derek McInnes can only dream about TBH .
And at 3 of the 4 clubs he’s been an inarguable success with Bristol City being arguable either way. 3 short bad runs over a 17 year managerial career doesn’t negate the numerous impressive seasons he’s had.
I think anyone that follows Scottish football could say with certainty that Hibs wouldn’t have finished top 4 7 seasons in a row.
Give me a manager who can give us 7 years of relative success before we chase them out after a bad run any day. And preferably keep that guy away from hearts.
24-09-2024, 05:44 PM
Is this McInnes debate still going on? Seems to come around every week.I'm in the care less than I know camp about this one.
24-09-2024, 05:59 PM
The two points I've highlighted are actually linked together in a way. McInnes was sacked after finally going on a poor run that justified his sacking after 8 years, all managers at this level will eventually have a poor run with their teams if they stay long enough. If Tony Mowbray stayed at Hibs for another couple of seasons beyond the eventual selling of all our talent I could see a situation where he probably would have suffered a similar fate himself. Maybe McInnes should have taken the Rangers job and his Aberdeen tenure would have been viewed as 100% successful.
No manager is invulnerable to hitting a poor run of form and if we ever took that view then we'd never hire anyone with more than one club to their CV because we'd just be pinching rookies on the way up in their first role the same way guys like Mowbray or Stubbs were taken from us.
24-09-2024, 06:02 PM
On 9th December Nick Montgomery had us sitting above them after 16 games played (we'd beaten Livi to win 4 in a row, we were 1 point off St Mirren in third, and above Hearts who were 5th)
However, Monty had Levitt at holding midfield, taking bye-kicks, gifting the opposition the win.
16 games later Dylan Levitt is giving away possession to Motherwell in stoppage time and we are conceding a goal that put us bottom 6
And we could/should have won all the derbies that followed (missed pen at ER, terrible pen decision at Tynecastle)
So I'm not on board the "Hearts will get top 4" thing - I think they're honking and they totally got away with one last year, Kevin Clancy assist...
I'm thinking you might be sensing a villain in all this...
Hibees1973
24-09-2024, 06:23 PM
I expect the Yam to appoint McInnes.
They have had a few left field appointments over the last decade, the same as us.
Might be overdue an experienced, safe appointment and one who knows the league.
Hope they go foreign or a rookie though.
24-09-2024, 06:57 PM
Good analysis. Monty also inexplicably had Youan on the bench at the December derby despite Youan's heroics in the previous one. Hearts fans were openly relieved at that decision.
Donegal Hibby
24-09-2024, 07:12 PM
And at 3 of the 4 clubs he’s been an inarguable success with Bristol City being arguable either way. 3 short bad runs over a 17 year managerial career doesn’t negate the numerous impressive seasons he’s had.
I think anyone that follows Scottish football could say with certainty that Hibs wouldn’t have finished top 4 7 seasons in a row.
Give me a manager who can give us 7 years of relative success before we chase them out after a bad run any day. And preferably keep that guy away from hearts.
How is Bristol city arguable either way when he failed there ? .
Again we don’t know what Mowbray could have achieved at Hibs and saying that he wouldn’t under the same league that McInnes had with no rangers , hertz and aberdeen is something we don’t know , certainly can’t dismiss the possibility he would have with us .
He will be linked with hertz but I honestly don’t think they will go for him as there’s a plenty of managers all over the world that would do just as good a job, maybe better that play better football , so far Aberdeen seemed to have found one
Even if they do go for him I wouldn’t be to bothered about him or this one that’s even more successful……
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/neil-lennons-hibs-history-wouldnt-30001094
Finishing in the top 4 isn't so great when you've got the team with the 2nd / 3rd biggest budget. He finished in a lower place than budget more times than he did above it.
To then bring Hibs into the mix, we've got the 5th biggest budget and in McInnes' time their's was considerably higher. You are right, Hibs wouldn't have finished top 4 seven years in a row. If McInnes had been managing us then instead of Aberdeen he wouldn't have had us nearly as high as he'd got Aberdeen because he wouldn't have had such a big budget to work with.
Paulie Walnuts
24-09-2024, 09:19 PM
How is Bristol city arguable either way when he failed there ? .
Again we don’t know what Mowbray could have achieved at Hibs and saying that he wouldn’t under the same league that McInnes had with no rangers , hertz and aberdeen is something we don’t know , certainly can’t dismiss the possibility he would have with us .
He will be linked with hertz but I honestly don’t think they will go for him as there’s a plenty of managers all over the world that would do just as good a job, maybe better that play better football , so far Aberdeen seemed to have found one
Even if they do go for him I wouldn’t be to bothered about him or this one that’s even more successful……
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/neil-lennons-hibs-history-wouldnt-30001094
He went into Bristol City and completely turned them around and saved them from relegation. He then didn’t have a great season after that. That’s why it’s arguable.
I can absolutely dismiss it. There’s not a chance in hell Hibs would have managed what McInnes done at Aberdeen.
Paulie Walnuts
24-09-2024, 09:33 PM
Finishing in the top 4 isn't so great when you've got the team with the 2nd / 3rd biggest budget. He finished in a lower place than budget more times than he did above it.
To then bring Hibs into the mix, we've got the 5th biggest budget and in McInnes' time their's was considerably higher. You are right, Hibs wouldn't have finished top 4 seven years in a row. If McInnes had been managing us then instead of Aberdeen he wouldn't have had us nearly as high as he'd got Aberdeen because he wouldn't have had such a big budget to work with.
13/14 he finished one place behind budget (and winning a cup). The next 4 seasons they finished in as high a position as is realistically possible. In the next 3 seasons they finished 1 place behind budget. He was then sacked.
In Hibs terms, that would be akin to finishing 6th (and winning a cup), 3rd, 3rd, 3rd, 3rd, 6th, 6th, 6th in a full strength league. Put simply, that would be an incredibly succesful league period for Hibs the like of which we haven’t seen for around 50 years. Throw in a cup win as well and then it really shows the level he took them too.
The idea that ‘finishing in the top 4 isn’t so great’ when we’ve managed it 4 times in the last 20 years is laughable.
24-09-2024, 09:34 PM
F*** the Hertz
F*** McInnes
He's here!
24-09-2024, 09:35 PM
It was actually 8 seasons in a row of top 4 finishes, four of them being 2nd place finishes. And you're right, Hibs would never emulate that. We've only finished in the top four two seasons running once since 1975.
As you say, three brief bad runs amid 17 years of impressive management is testament to what a solid manager he is.
Donegal Hibby
24-09-2024, 10:33 PM
He went into Bristol City and completely turned them around and saved them from relegation. He then didn’t have a great season after that. That’s why it’s arguable.
I can absolutely dismiss it. There’s not a chance in hell Hibs would have managed what McInnes done at Aberdeen.
He saved them from relegation which one of our previous managers did too . Saying he didn’t have a great season after that is a understatement as he was sacked with them something like 8 points adrift from safety , losing 7 on the trot ( a unwanted club record) and a win percentage of just over 26% ..
Cmon now I know you like him but that is unquestionably terrible.
Btw just figured out you use to post under a different name with all this praise for McInnes 😂 👍
13/14 he finished one place behind budget (and winning a cup). The next 4 seasons they finished in as high a position as is realistically possible. In the next 3 seasons they finished 1 place behind budget. He was then sacked.
In Hibs terms, that would be akin to finishing 6th (and winning a cup), 3rd, 3rd, 3rd, 3rd, 6th, 6th, 6th in a full strength league. Put simply, that would be an incredibly succesful league period for Hibs the like of which we haven’t seen for around 50 years. Throw in a cup win as well and then it really shows the level he took them too.
The idea that ‘finishing in the top 4 isn’t so great’ when we’ve managed it 4 times in the last 20 years is laughable.
Why did you feel the need to quote half of my sentence to change the meaning of it? I'd say doing that is laughable.
I am not saying he's a bad manager, the point I am making is his record at Aberdeen is not as good as you keep trying to make out, which has nothing to do with where we've finished in the league.
He won 1 cup, this is his route to winning it.
Alloa (0-0 after extra time, won on penalties)
Falkirk
Motherwell
St Johnstone
Inverness (0-0 after extra time, won on penalties)
Looking back at the league tables and what he was up against if he'd finished any places lower in several of them it could have been considered pretty awful.
And Rangers were hopeless in their 1st 2 seasons back up (Warburton, Caixhina and Murty), even we nearly finished above them.
https://i.ibb.co/mF2gzMt/Screenshot-20240924-214225-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/Hpb3gkY)
https://i.ibb.co/47gmzhk/Screenshot-20240924-214316-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/t4PmgVR)
https://i.ibb.co/XXP3ZDv/Screenshot-20240924-214343-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/9n0V9hC)
https://i.ibb.co/NVxvx1X/Screenshot-20240924-214407-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/HF7S7N0)
https://i.ibb.co/kGRdf49/Screenshot-20240924-214425-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/CwkrZbM)
https://i.ibb.co/0Vp1dR7/Screenshot-20240924-214452-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/R4GtVkF)
https://i.ibb.co/sqfCT0y/Screenshot-20240924-214521-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/0r7K0gh)
https://i.ibb.co/QPk1Jcq/Screenshot-20240924-214541-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/2vSfF6L)
25-09-2024, 05:19 AM
All this arguing proves is Derek McInness is a very consistant manager who gets whatever club he's at into Europe or punching their weight or above.
Why would any club want that pish?
25-09-2024, 07:19 AM
All this arguing proves is Derek McInness is a very consistant manager who gets whatever club he's at into Europe or punching their weight or above.
Nail on head.
Paulie Walnuts
25-09-2024, 07:20 AM
Why did you feel the need to quote half of my sentence to change the meaning of it? I'd say doing that is laughable.
I am not saying he's a bad manager, the point I am making is his record at Aberdeen is not as good as you keep trying to make out, which has nothing to do with where we've finished in the league.
Falkirk
Motherwell
St Johnstone
Looking back at the league tables and what he was up against if he'd finished any places lower in several of them it could have been considered pretty awful.
And Rangers were hopeless in their 1st 2 seasons back up (Warburton, Caixhina and Murty), even we nearly finished above them.
So ‘if he’d finished any lower’ (which he didn’t) and the team with the bigger budget that they finished above werent very good (but there’s no consideration as to how good the teams with the smaller budget were) and winning the cup wasn’t that impressive because of the run they had.
I can only presume you don’t bother mentioning our cup win to people considering the run we had.
And as you point out, even we nearly finished above Rangers, who were ‘hopeless’. We didn’t though, we finished below them, and that was despite it being one of the best Hibs sides in the last 50 years, one which picked up a record points total. Tells a story that Aberdeen finished above us (by a considerable distance) and them that season.
25-09-2024, 07:50 AM
McInness is a good manager at the Scottish Premiership level. If Hearts get him they could do well but he likes to have total control. That's not the model that Hearts have and was also one of the reasons why Hibs never moved for in the summer. Hearts are looking for a Head Coach, While it's similar, McInness is a manager who won't like the interference from others including the Brighton computer nerd playing Moneyball.
25-09-2024, 07:57 AM
McInness is a good manager at the Scottish Premiership level. If Hearts get him they could do well but he likes to have total control. That's not the model that Hearts have and was also one of the reasons why Hibs never moved for in the summer. Hearts are looking for a Head Coach, While it's similar, McInness is a manager who won't like the interference from others including the Brighton computer nerd playing Moneyball.Very good point, and the moneyball image just made me think about why anyone would want to play with them when you look at how they've played with (mostly other peoples) money, legit or otherwise since as far back as when Robertson was their debt master.
He's here!
25-09-2024, 08:04 AM
Not easy enough on the eye apparently.
Playing the 'Hibs way' is what it's all about. We've been a visual treat over the last few seasons, that's for sure...
25-09-2024, 08:05 AM
So ‘if he’d finished any lower’ (which he didn’t) and the team with the bigger budget that they finished above werent very good (but there’s no consideration as to how good the teams with the smaller budget were) and winning the cup wasn’t that impressive because of the run they had.
I can only presume you don’t bother mentioning our cup win to people considering the run we had.
And as you point out, even we nearly finished above Rangers, who were ‘hopeless’. We didn’t though, we finished below them, and that was despite it being one of the best Hibs sides in the last 50 years, one which picked up a record points total. Tells a story that Aberdeen finished above us (by a considerable distance) and them that season.
Your point about our cup run is verging on blasphemy. We were a Championship side at the time and despatched three teams from the top league on our way to success. Just irked me a bit and a needless point to raise in this ongoing McInnes debate.
Paulie Walnuts
25-09-2024, 08:12 AM
Your point about our cup run is verging on blasphemy. We were a Championship side at the time and despatched three teams from the top league on our way to success. Just irked me a bit and a needless point to raise in this ongoing McInnes debate.
My point was that it’s ridiculous belittling any cup win, ours included.
He's here!
25-09-2024, 08:19 AM
Falkirk
Motherwell
St Johnstone
He didn't finish 'any lower' tho did he? That's the point. Unlike the other two big budget teams (ourselves and Hearts) he didn't conjure up the odd good season and combine it with loitering around the bottom six or indeed the Championship for the rest of his tenure. He finished in the European spots for eight seasons running.
As for that cup run, how many times have Hibs and Hearts f***** up when presented with a supposedly favourable draw? He also reached three other finals but faced Celtic in every one so again he basically achieved what was reasonsbly expected of him.
Up-the-slope
25-09-2024, 08:19 AM
I think its very rude of Hearts to sack Naismith before all 11 teams got a chance to appreciate his wonderful team selections and formations
Mcbizz1998
25-09-2024, 08:21 AM
McInnes would suit them down to the ground. Odious wee Hun fud who plays kick, chase, dive and foul tactics.
Donegal Hibby
25-09-2024, 09:44 AM
McInnes would suit them down to the ground. Odious wee Hun fud who plays kick, chase, dive and foul tactics.
How many times over the years have his Aberdeen team played teams were there main tactics were to cynically foul their opponents , waste time and basically choke the life out of the game …..
Even a couple of weeks ago when we had to play killie most fans probably knew with the pitch and the kind of team they are , it was only ever going to be a battle rather than watching a decent game of football..
Time and time again we have seen this with the way McInnes teams play which has even some of the more sensible hertz fans ( if there is such a thing ) are saying **** no to the idea of getting him and comparing his football to the hoof ball they had with Neilson .
His style of football in as Liam Henderson once said about hertz in they like to kick you would probably suit McInnes though.
Paulie Walnuts
25-09-2024, 09:52 AM
How many times over the years have his Aberdeen team played teams were there main tactics were to cynically foul their opponents , waste time and basically choke the life out of the game …...
In 14/15, 15/16 and 16/17 his aberdeen side had the best disciplinary record in the league. In every other season they were no lower than halfway down the ‘discipline’ table. I’ve not done the maths and added all the seasons up, but from having a look I’d suggest that McInnes Aberdeen were probably the least ‘foul heavy’ team in the league, at least out with the Old Firm.
They also scored a ton of goals. Doesn’t really add up to the idea of a team that cynically fouled their opponents and choked the life out of games.
In 14/15, 15/16 and 16/17 his aberdeen side had the best disciplinary record in the league. In every other season they were no lower than halfway down the ‘discipline’ table. I’ve not done the maths and added all the seasons up, but from having a look I’d suggest that McInnes Aberdeen were probably the least ‘foul heavy’ team in the league, at least out with the Old Firm.
They also scored a ton of goals. Doesn’t really add up to the idea of a team that cynically fouled their opponents and choked the life out of games.Disciplinary tables don't tell the whole story though.
Aberdeen were allowed way more leeway under him than any team outwith the OF.
Shinnie at times was given carte blanche to kick anything the moved, racking up fouls with impunity.
25-09-2024, 10:13 AM
I didn't see McInnes's Aberdeen team as hoofball spoiler merchants which has been suggested on here. I saw them as a very well trained, streetwise team who as soon as you conceded the first goal against you were as good as beaten. That takes good coaching. A lot of sour grapes on this thread as he schooled us fairly often.
Donegal Hibby
25-09-2024, 10:16 AM
In 14/15, 15/16 and 16/17 his aberdeen side picked up the least amount of yellow cards in the league. In every other season they were no lower than halfway down the ‘discipline’ table. I’ve not done the maths and added all the seasons up, but from having a look I’d suggest that McInnes Aberdeen were probably the least ‘foul heavy’ team in the league, at least out with the Old Firm.
They also scored a ton of goals. Doesn’t really add up to the idea of a team that cynically fouled their opponents and choked the life out of games.
I can only go by what I watched in the past and recently and his teams have choked the life out games with their tactics ..
as to how many yellow cards they’ve picked up . I have watched a lot of games not only against us but other teams were Shinnie has repeatedly fouled players , quite often really cynical fouls which he has got away with not only once or twice but generally the whole game … I think a lot of fans would say he’s escaped more than his fair share of bookings over the years ..
The Killie game recently was exactly what I expected it to be ,just a physical battle with very little football which is what will happen more times than not when playing a McInnes team .. I’m sorry but while he is a good manager his football that I’ve watched over the years is just horrible to watch which is an opinion share by many other fans too .
Paulie Walnuts
25-09-2024, 10:21 AM
Disciplinary tables don't tell the whole story though.
Aberdeen were allowed way more leeway under him than any team outwith the OF.
Shinnie at times was given carte blanche to kick anything the moved, racking up fouls with impunity.
Shinnie picked up 39 league bookings in his 4 seasons at Aberdeen, the highest in the league for that period. So not with impunity at all.
Paulie Walnuts
25-09-2024, 10:29 AM
I didn't see McInnes's Aberdeen team as hoofball spoiler merchants which has been suggested on here. I saw them as a very well trained, streetwise team who as soon as you conceded the first goal against you were as good as beaten. That takes good coaching. A lot of sour grapes on this thread as he schooled us fairly often.
Sour grapes is exactly what it appears to be. :agree:
Finishing second isn’t anything special because he had a bigger budget than the others. Finishing second twice ahead of Rangers also isn’t anything special despite them having a much bigger budget than Aberdeen had over the likes of Motherwell. Winning the cup was nothing special because they didn’t get a tough enough draw. They were foulers and cloggers who ruined games, despite being the highest scoring non old firm team whilst he was there and having the best disciplinary record. Having the best disciplinary record was because Shinnie got to run around doing what he wants, despite him personally having more bookings than any other player over the period he was at Aberdeen.
Getting Killie promoted as league winners with a game to spare wasn’t good enough, it should have been done quicker despite the fact he took them over in 4th place with over half the season played. Not winning it with numerous games to spare was evidence of a struggle, despite the fact his PPG was better than ours when we were in that league. Keeping Killie up after promotion wasn’t good enough, despite the fact it was the aim of their board.
We’ve even seen the fact he had a bad run at Aberdeen after 7 or 8 years of not having one being used as a stick to beat him with.
People are tying themselves in knots trying to justify why he’s not that good when absolutely everything points to him being an excellent manager at our level, one that we have to hope has no interest in the Hearts job.
25-09-2024, 10:32 AM
I think its very rude of Hearts to sack Naismith before all 11 teams got a chance to appreciate his wonderful team selections and formations
Only one game really matters to them and they had to get rid of him now to give themselves the best chance of getting a result.
25-09-2024, 10:45 AM
It was actually 8 seasons in a row of top 4 finishes, four of them being 2nd place finishes. And you're right, Hibs would never emulate that. We've only finished in the top four two seasons running once since 1975.
As you say, three brief bad runs amid 17 years of impressive management is testament to what a solid manager he is.
I don't want solid at Hibs, solid is dull and boring, I want excitement and the new and the unknown, trying leftfield ideas and trying to be unpredictable and have swagger and hope! Supporting Hibs is as much about the rollercoaster journey as anything else and it feeds your soul!
Solid is Alex Miller or Bobby Williamson on endless repeat, a turgid tale of torpidity.
He's here!
25-09-2024, 11:21 AM
I don't want solid at Hibs, solid is dull and boring, I want excitement and the new and the unknown, trying leftfield ideas and trying to be unpredictable and have swagger and hope! Supporting Hibs is as much about the rollercoaster journey as anything else and it feeds your soul!
Solid is Alex Miller or Bobby Williamson on endless repeat, a turgid tale of torpidity.
If dull and boring is top four and European qualification eight years in a row (ie precisely what most Hibs fans feel a club of our size should aspire to) then I'll take that every time.
Problem is we've been dull and boring for years now...and also by and large rubbish. There's certainly been precious little sign of anything resembling 'swagger' and the 'leftfield' appointments of Maloney and Monty have been disastrous.
'Soul food' for me would be going along to ER confident that I'm going to see a strong team deliver consistently strong performances which put us in the top four mix on a regular basis. How it's achieved is secondary if most football fans are being honest.
If supporting Hibs really was like a rollercoaster, which basically delivers thrills for the entire ride, then great, but the Hibs version is more like very occasional highs coupled with interminable lows - illustrated by the fact that under McInnes Aberdeen achieved more top four finishes in his eight full seasons with the club than we've achieved since the mid-70s.
Sour grapes is exactly what it appears to be. :agree:
Finishing second isn’t anything special because he had a bigger budget than the others. Finishing second twice ahead of Rangers also isn’t anything special despite them having a much bigger budget than Aberdeen had over the likes of Motherwell. Winning the cup was nothing special because they didn’t get a tough enough draw. They were foulers and cloggers who ruined games, despite being the highest scoring non old firm team whilst he was there and having the best disciplinary record. Having the best disciplinary record was because Shinnie got to run around doing what he wants, despite him personally having more bookings than any other player over the period he was at Aberdeen.
Getting Killie promoted as league winners with a game to spare wasn’t good enough, it should have been done quicker despite the fact he took them over in 4th place with over half the season played. Not winning it with numerous games to spare was evidence of a struggle, despite the fact his PPG was better than ours when we were in that league. Keeping Killie up after promotion wasn’t good enough, despite the fact it was the aim of their board.
We’ve even seen the fact he had a bad run at Aberdeen after 7 or 8 years of not having one being used as a stick to beat him with.
People are tying themselves in knots trying to justify why he’s not that good when absolutely everything points to him being an excellent manager at our level, one that we have to hope has no interest in the Hearts job.
I wanted him (as many others on here seemed to at the time) before Gray was appointed. He would be an excellent appointment for any non-old firm club up here, and I really hope hearts look past him
Shinnie picked up 39 league bookings in his 4 seasons at Aberdeen, the highest in the league for that period. So not with impunity at all.Still given lots of leeway, booked late in games when he could have been red carded in the first half.
No Hibs team I've seen has ever had a player allowed to do what Shinnie did.
Donegal Hibby
25-09-2024, 11:49 AM
Don’t think it has anything to do with sour grapes , more folk getting a bit hysterical about the thought of him going to hertz which we also seen during the summer over their signings being wonderful and them doing things better than us by getting them in early in the window .
Donegal Hibby
25-09-2024, 11:58 AM
Still given lots of leeway, booked late in games when he could have been red carded in the first half.
:agree:In a lot of games he should have been picked up an early booking only to escape, go on to do numerous cynical fouls only to get a booking near the end .. guys got away with murder for years basically.
25-09-2024, 12:19 PM
If dull and boring is top four and European qualification eight years in a row (ie precisely what most Hibs fans feel a club of our size should aspire to) then I'll take that every time.
Problem is we've been dull and boring for years now...and also by and large rubbish. There's certainly been precious little sign of anything resembling 'swagger' and the 'leftfield' appointments of Maloney and Monty have been disastrous.
'Soul food' for me would be going along to ER confident that I'm going to see a strong team deliver consistently strong performances which put us in the top four mix on a regular basis. How it's achieved is secondary if most football fans are being honest.
If supporting Hibs really was like a rollercoaster, which basically delivers thrills for the entire ride, then great, but the Hibs version is more like very occasional highs coupled with interminable lows - illustrated by the fact that under McInnes Aberdeen achieved more top four finishes in his eight full seasons with the club than we've achieved since the mid-70s.
That sounds pretty bloody dull to me and a very yammish Rover driving mindset 😁
25-09-2024, 12:25 PM
Still given lots of leeway, booked late in games when he could have been red carded in the first half.
Totally agree ridiculous what he got away with
25-09-2024, 12:29 PM
Shinnie is a dirty ******* who gets away with murder. Remember Dons fans claimed he was better than John McGinn!
Paulie Walnuts
25-09-2024, 12:38 PM
In his final season his bookings came in the 76th, 67th, 29th, 30th, 53rd, 83rd and 68th minutes, so he averaged a 58th minute booking with only one of them being particularly late in a game.
25-09-2024, 12:40 PM
In his final season his bookings came in the 76th, 67th, 29th, 30th, 53rd, 83rd and 68th minutes, so he averaged a 58th minute booking with only one of them being particularly late in a game.
Are you seriously suggesting that Shinnie hasn't got away with murder for years?
Paulie Walnuts
25-09-2024, 12:42 PM
Are you seriously suggesting that Shinnie hasn't got away with murder for years?
Depends what the definition of ‘got away with it’ is.
Seeing as he was booked 39 times in four seasons under McInnes I’d suggest he didn’t ’get away with it’.
NC1875
25-09-2024, 12:51 PM
The lengths some people go to on here to dismiss Derek McInnes as an excellent manager is unbelievable.
Yet they were peeing there pants at us appointing David Gray!
I really hope he doesn’t end up at Hearts.
Trinity Hibee
25-09-2024, 12:53 PM
The lengths some people go to on here to dismiss Derek McInnes as an excellent manager is unbelievable.
Fully agree with you
25-09-2024, 12:55 PM
Peeing their pants? Really? More of a mass shrug of the shoulders.
25-09-2024, 12:55 PM
Shinnie is a dirty ******* who gets away with murder. Remember Dons fans claimed he was better than John McGinn!Aye, but what at? Whining, hacking maybe.
Donegal Hibby
25-09-2024, 12:58 PM
Seeing as he was booked 39 times in four seasons under McInnes I’d suggest he didn’t ’get away with it’.
How many times has he been sent off in that period?
Donegal Hibby
25-09-2024, 01:02 PM
I think it’s more a case of a minority of folk peeing their pants at the thought of McInnes going to hertz in fairness were the majority aren’t to bothered if he does or not .
Paulie Walnuts
25-09-2024, 01:02 PM
How many times has he been sent off in that period?
None, probably because he was smart enough to know to reign it in when he was on a booking.
25-09-2024, 01:07 PM
I didn’t watch Aberdeen much in that period other than when we played them. If you don’t see that Shinnie avoided bookings against us - or earlier bookings - despite the cynical play you didn’t watch those games. It was practically every game he played against us.
But despite that, there is no doubt that McInnes is an excellent manager for this league.
25-09-2024, 01:24 PM
I get that people don't really like DM the guy, but some of the weird ways to discredit anything good he's done as a manager is bordering on lunacy.
If a Hibs manager had half the spell here as DM did at Aberdeen they'd have went down as the best manager in about 50 years.
Paulie Walnuts
25-09-2024, 01:32 PM
I didn’t watch Aberdeen much in that period other than when we played them. If you don’t see that Shinnie avoided bookings against us - or earlier bookings - despite the cynical play you didn’t watch those games. It was practically every game he played against us.
But despite that, there is no doubt that McInnes is an excellent manager for this league.
In 6 league games against Hibs under McInnes, Shinnie was booked twice, once in the 28th minute and once in the 68th minute, an average booking time of 48 minutes, so earlier than his overall average booking time over all games of 58 minutes, and booked in 33% of the games against us, more frequent than his 27% rate in all games.
Against Hibs he was booked more frequently, and earlier in games, than he usually was in other games. Keeping in mind he had so many bookings and his record against us specifically was even worse than his overall record, I’d suggest he wasn’t really getting away with some ludicrous amount.
25-09-2024, 01:41 PM
None, probably because he was smart enough to know to reign it in when he was on a booking.
"Tell me you have never watched an Aberdeen V Hibs match without telling me you have never watched an Aberdeen V Hibs match."
He should have been sent off numerous times in games against us over the years with one Cup tie at Easter Road which i am pretty sure we eventually lost on penalties being a particularly spectacular example.
Paulie Walnuts
25-09-2024, 01:44 PM
"Tell me you have never watched an Aberdeen V Hibs match without telling me you have never watched an Aberdeen V Hibs match."
He should have been sent off numerous times in games against us over the years with one Cup tie at Easter Road which i am pretty sure we eventually lost on penalties being a particularly spectacular example.
Got an example of these numerous times? Seeing as he only played against Hibs on 8 or 9 occasions that’s quite something if there was numerous sending offs he got away with.
25-09-2024, 01:48 PM
Got an example of these numerous times? Seeing as he only played against Hibs on 8 or 9 occasions that’s quite something if there was numerous sending offs he got away with.
There isn't.
Just an excuse people come out with for us not winning games.
25-09-2024, 01:55 PM
There's literally an example in the post you quoted.
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?334256-This-is-how-it-feels-(Aberdeen-250918)
Gordy M
25-09-2024, 02:00 PM
Mcinnes has won 6 out 39 away games since his return to the SPL, thats 15% of games played on grass. Thats some record away from that terrible park Killie have, which clearly gives them advantage. That would worry me if i was looking to hire him.
In his final season his bookings came in the 76th, 67th, 29th, 30th, 53rd, 83rd and 68th minutes, so he averaged a 58th minute booking with only one of them being particularly late in a game.Nice stats. As I said stats don't tell the whole story. Averages and stats don't tell about the fouls he committed which weren't even given.
No Hibs player or team gets away with the tactics employed by McInnes at St Johnstone, Aberdeen and Killie.
Paulie Walnuts
25-09-2024, 02:15 PM
Nice stats. As I said stats don't tell the whole story. Averages and stats don't tell about the fouls he committed which weren't even given.
No Hibs player or team gets away with the tactics employed by McInnes at St Johnstone, Aberdeen and Killie.
They don’t tell the whole story. They tell a significant part of the story though and they also do it without bias. And they also confirm that he didn’t just get booked at the end of games.
Theres claims of Shinnie getting away with murder, getting away with numerous reds against Hibs etc which is simply nonsense, nonsense that is clouded in bias.
25-09-2024, 02:19 PM
They don’t tell the whole story. They tell a significant part of the story though and they also do it without bias. And they also confirm that he didn’t just get booked at the end of games.
Theres claims of Shinnie getting away with murder, getting away with numerous reds etc which is simply nonsense, nonsense that is clouded in bias.
I don't know a single Hibs supporter who doesn't firmly believe that Shinnie has got away with plenty over the years and am sure there are plenty fans of other clubs who would say the same yet here you are telling us we are just biased and he isn't that bad at all.
25-09-2024, 02:22 PM
How many times over the years have his Aberdeen team played teams were there main tactics were to cynically foul their opponents , waste time and basically choke the life out of the game …..
Even a couple of weeks ago when we had to play killie most fans probably knew with the pitch and the kind of team they are , it was only ever going to be a battle rather than watching a decent game of football..
Time and time again we have seen this with the way McInnes teams play which has even some of the more sensible hertz fans ( if there is such a thing ) are saying **** no to the idea of getting him and comparing his football to the hoof ball they had with Neilson .
His style of football in as Liam Henderson once said about hertz in they like to kick you would probably suit McInnes though.
You actually believe that.
25-09-2024, 02:24 PM
Did it to us quite often at ER if they scored first to be fair.
25-09-2024, 02:24 PM
In 6 league games against Hibs under McInnes, Shinnie was booked twice, once in the 28th minute and once in the 68th minute, an average booking time of 48 minutes, so earlier than his overall average booking time over all games of 58 minutes, and booked in 33% of the games against us, more frequent than his 27% rate in all games.
Against Hibs he was booked more frequently, and earlier in games, than he usually was in other games. Keeping in mind he had so many bookings and his record against us specifically was even worse than his overall record, I’d suggest he wasn’t really getting away with some ludicrous amount.
I’d suggest - from memory admittedly - that he also escaped bookings against us on more than one occasion. So he did get away with a lot more than he deserved imo.
Theres claims of Shinnie getting away with murder, getting away with numerous reds against Hibs etc which is simply nonsense, nonsense that is clouded in bias.We are all biased but we are all (most of us) capable of applying some sense of objectivity if we really, really, really try hard enough.
Donegal Hibby
25-09-2024, 02:41 PM
Mcinnes has won 6 out 39 away games since his return to the SPL, thats 15% of games played on grass. Thats some record away from that terrible park Killie have, which clearly gives them advantage. That would worry me if i was looking to hire him.
I think Doidge was asked about the pitch being advantage and said it was after his loan there .
25-09-2024, 02:42 PM
I’m with Donegal Hibby on this one. Synical and similar in many ways to hearts and Kilmarnock, using the tight size of their pitch to gain an advantage
25-09-2024, 02:51 PM
Did it to us quite often at ER if they scored first to be fair.
What you actually mean is they beat us without us creating or laying a glove on them.
25-09-2024, 03:07 PM
What you actually mean is they beat us without us creating or laying a glove on them.
Whilst employing the aforementioned tactics yes.
Hibees1973
25-09-2024, 03:16 PM
McInnes and Robinson would have both cost compensation money to bring them to Hibs.
Gray was the cheap option. Under qualified and still doing coaching badges at the SFA.
Can't think of many reasons why Hibs appointed Gray above McInnes & Robinson other than money.
25-09-2024, 03:20 PM
McInnes and Robinson would have both cost compensation money to bring them to Hibs.
Gray was the cheap option. Under qualified and still doing coaching badges at the SFA.
Can't think of many reasons why Hibs appointed Gray above McInnes & Robinson other than money.
McInnes doesn't want to work for a club with the setup like ours. Hearts will be using that setup. As will the majority of teams going forward.
He's just ruling himself out of jobs. Hardly any Hearts fan I know want him or Robinson.
Paulie Walnuts
25-09-2024, 03:23 PM
I don't know a single Hibs supporter who doesn't firmly believe that Shinnie has got away with plenty over the years and am sure there are plenty fans of other clubs who would say the same yet here you are telling us we are just biased and he isn't that bad at all.
I don’t know a single Hibs supporter who thinks Shinnie should have been sent off numerous time against us but here we are.
25-09-2024, 03:24 PM
Amazing to me how often McInnes is being discussed on this site. Who gives a s***e about him? He isn't with us as isn't likely to be anytime soon or even ever (I hope). The gimps can have him - if we can get to where we should be (and the green shoots of recovery look to be in place) we'll be looking at them in the rear view mirror.
25-09-2024, 03:25 PM
I don't think that ever happened. We created plenty in games we lost to them at home.
Paulie Walnuts
25-09-2024, 03:28 PM
We are all biased but we are all (most of us) capable of applying some sense of objectivity if we really, really, really try hard enough.
You’d like to think so. You just have to look at this thread though to see a lot of people arent when they claim all those top 4 finishes weren’t all that exciting, he doesn’t really deserve any credit for finishing ahead of teams because his budget was bigger whilst also not giving him credit for finishing ahead of a team with a bigger budget and that aberdeens cup win wasn’t all that special because of the draw they had. Or of course that a player who racked up masses of bookings somehow ‘got away with it’ when he was playing us despite the fact he was punished at an even higher rate than what he usually was, a rate that was already the highest in the league.
25-09-2024, 03:35 PM
We’ve paid compensation for a managerial teams very recently. Spending money hasn’t been an issue for the club in recent years - spending it wisely has.
One very significant reason is that McInnes literally signed a new deal with killie whilst we were looking for a new manager. He chose to not only stay there, but to extend his contract with them.
25-09-2024, 03:53 PM
I don't think that ever happened. We created plenty in games we lost to them at home.
So this never happened against us then, How many times over the years have his Aberdeen team played teams were there main tactics were to cynically foul their opponents , waste time and basically choke the life out of the game ?
25-09-2024, 03:54 PM
You could try thinking a bit harder maybe?
You’d like to think so. You just have to look at this thread though to see a lot of people arent when they claim all those top 4 finishes weren’t all that exciting, he doesn’t really deserve any credit for finishing ahead of teams because his budget was bigger whilst also not giving him credit for finishing ahead of a team with a bigger budget and that aberdeens cup win wasn’t all that special because of the draw they had.
Take that up with those people.
Or of course that a player who racked up masses of bookings somehow ‘got away with it’ when he was playing us despite the fact he was punished at an even higher rate than what he usually was, a rate that was already the highest in the league.
....and he should have been punished more.
25-09-2024, 04:02 PM
My point was that it’s ridiculous belittling any cup win, ours included.
Not all cup wins are created equal.
25-09-2024, 04:03 PM
So this never happened against us then, How many times over the years have his Aberdeen team played teams were there main tactics were to cynically foul their opponents , waste time and basically choke the life out of the game ?
I don't really think that was their main tactic either, no.
We created more chances than Aberdeen in these games from what I remember. Just didn't take them and sold silly goals at key times.
25-09-2024, 04:13 PM
Take that up with those people.
....and he should have been punished more.
Exactly. A player being booked doesn’t reflect the number of bookings they could or should have had in a game. It tells you that he didn’t get away with everything but in no way can be used in isolation to show that he didn’t get booked less than he should have.
He's here!
25-09-2024, 04:13 PM
I wouldn't be too surprised if that's no worse than the away records of some other teams in the top flight during that time. Last season, for example, no team outwith the top three won more than 5 away games, with the majority winning fewer than that.
His away record wasn't an issue at Aberdeen, and for all that Killie (and Livi) have an advantage at home with those pitches it's probably offset by the fact they'll struggle a bit away from home due to not playing on grass as regularly as their opponents.
25-09-2024, 04:16 PM
I wouldn't be too surprised if that's no worse than the away records of some other teams in the top flight during that time. Last season, for example, no team outwith the top three won more than 5 away games, with the majority winning fewer than that.
His away record wasn't an issue at Aberdeen, and for all that Killie (and Livi) have an advantage at home with those pitches it's probably offset by the fact they'll struggle a bit away from home due to not playing on grass as regularly as their opponents.
The grass is a disadvantage argument doesn’t add up. When you’re the only team in the league with a plastic pitch, over two rounds of fixtures you’ll play on grass eleven times and on plastic eleven times.
Your opponents will play on plastic once.
He's here!
25-09-2024, 04:18 PM
McInnes doesn't want to work for a club with the setup like ours. Hearts will be using that setup. As will the majority of teams going forward.
He's just ruling himself out of jobs. Hardly any Hearts fan I know want him or Robinson.
Hard to blame him if so, based on the shambles we've been under such a set-up.
Gordy M
25-09-2024, 04:19 PM
We have sacked 2 managers and still managed more wins than McInnes away from home in the last 2 seasons.
He's here!
25-09-2024, 04:21 PM
The grass is a disadvantage argument doesn’t add up. When you’re the only team in the league with a plastic pitch, over two rounds of fixtures you’ll play on grass eleven times and on plastic eleven times.
And on grass 21 times? It's reasonable to suggest that might be to their benefit against the team only playing on it 11 times.
Aside from that, do Killie not have plans to finally do away with that surface? Or did I imagine that?
25-09-2024, 04:24 PM
And on grass 21 times? It's reasonable to suggest that might be to their benefit against the team only playing on it 11 times.
Aside from that, do Killie not have plans to finally do away with that surface? Or did I imagine that?
I disagree, they’re on grass long enough and will have players who have played on grass the majority of their careers for it to not be a disadvantage to anywhere near the extent that a plastic pitch is an advantage.
He's here!
25-09-2024, 04:31 PM
We have sacked 2 managers and still managed more wins than McInnes away from home in the last 2 seasons.
That damning stat must have been keeping him awake as he contemplated European football after finishing 10 points clear of Hibs last season...
I don't know what his overall away record is a manager, but interestingly he won 13 of his 15 away trips to Killie as Aberdeen boss, an 87% success rate. That's quite possibly unmatched even by Celtic or Rangers during that time.
Victor
25-09-2024, 04:32 PM
But, but, McInnes is great, he can walk on water, make a silk purse etc etc. This should be renamed the McInnes Love In thread
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk...at least no one is calling him "Derek", like they're his best pal ...[emoji2961]
Victor
25-09-2024, 04:38 PM
...at least no one is calling him "Derek", like they're his best pal ...[emoji2961]
Give them time! [emoji3590]
cubehindthegoal
25-09-2024, 04:43 PM
I disagree, they’re on grass long enough and will have players who have played on grass the majority of their careers for it to not be a disadvantage to anywhere near the extent that a plastic pitch is an advantage.
This is right. I think it would be reasonable to assume that no player is disadvantaged playing on grass at any point, indeed it would be a rare event if a player didn’t have substantial experience of a grass playing surface. Plastic pitches is an advantage to the home team when they are such a rare surface here.
Donegal Hibby
25-09-2024, 04:55 PM
https://youtu.be/slDsx0fee6U
Paulie Walnuts
25-09-2024, 05:21 PM
It maybe doesn’t hold as much weight as the plastic pitch being an advantage, but I don’t think it doesn’t add up completely.
The likes of Killie and Livi train on the plastic pitch all week and play the majority of their matches on plastic pitches. They’ll be on grass when the play certain away games and that will be about it. Everything they work on will be on a plastic pitch, so I don’t think it’s unfair to say they’re at some form of disadvantage when they’re playing on grass.
Paulie Walnuts
25-09-2024, 05:33 PM
I’m with Donegal Hibby on this one. Synical and similar in many ways to hearts and Kilmarnock, using the tight size of their pitch to gain an advantage
Rugby Park is a larger pitch than those at Aberdeen, Dundee, Dundee United, Hearts, Motherwell and Ross County.
As an aside, ours is the same length and 1m narrower than Hampden and surprisingly, the largest in the league appears to be McDiarmid Park.
It maybe doesn’t hold as much weight as the plastic pitch being an advantage, but I don’t think it doesn’t add up completely.
The likes of Killie and Livi train on the plastic pitch all week and play the majority of their matches on plastic pitches. They’ll be on grass when the play certain away games and that will be about it. Everything they work on will be on a plastic pitch, so I don’t think it’s unfair to say they’re at some form of disadvantage when they’re playing on grass.Do you know for a fact that Killie/Livi train on plastic all week?
Gordy M
25-09-2024, 05:57 PM
That damning stat must have been keeping him awake as he contemplated European football after finishing 10 points clear of Hibs last season...
I don't know what his overall away record is a manager, but interestingly he won 13 of his 15 away trips to Killie as Aberdeen boss, an 87% success rate. That's quite possibly unmatched even by Celtic or Rangers during that time.
Aye and Lee Johnson finished 12 points ahead of him the year before? Not saying he isnt a decent SPL manger, just dont think he is as good as some seem to think he is.
25-09-2024, 06:00 PM
Do you know for a fact that Killie/Livi train on plastic all week?
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk I've photographed training at both grounds and they train on the pitch.
I've photographed training at both grounds and they train on the pitch.Jeez no wonder their pitches are middens.
Donegal Hibby
25-09-2024, 06:14 PM
Rugby Park is a larger pitch than those at Aberdeen, Dundee, Dundee United, Hearts, Motherwell and Ross County.
As an aside, ours is the same length and 1m narrower than Hampden and surprisingly, the largest in the league appears to be McDiarmid Park.
I remember reading that killie reduced their pitch size for a league opener after they had extended it for a Europa league game a few years ago … seem to think their was a manager that complained about the length of the grass on a pitch too , had a feeling it was Ange and the ground tiny though could be wrong on that one .
25-09-2024, 06:18 PM
Lets see how the Gray appointment pans out before slagging the club again. You can’t help yourself though.
He's here!
25-09-2024, 06:36 PM
Aye and Lee Johnson finished 12 points ahead of him the year before? Not saying he isnt a decent SPL manger, just dont think he is as good as some seem to think he is.
What would a manager need to achieve to be deemed 'good' in your view? McInnes is the most consistently successful Scottish manager operating in Scotland over the last decade by an absolute mile.
25-09-2024, 07:08 PM
And am convinced some Hibs fans want to use anything that goes on in Gorgie as a mechanism to criticise and beat down Hibs.
maybe. They’re. Not. Hibs. Afterall…?
25-09-2024, 07:14 PM
Perhaps not enough folks in touch with folks who are dons fans…
25-09-2024, 07:21 PM
It was
And the surface area is much the same as ER. However, during Clarke’s time there he significantly reduced the playing area to give them an advantage and it’s stayed that way. You used to be able to see the old lines pained out on tv footage and the new dimension lines well inside them. Not sure if that’s still the case that the old lines are visible but I’ll be looking for it next time they are televised. What’s not up for dispute is that the reduced size of playing area still stands. Their actual playing area is not larger than those you quote.
I’m not sure how to add a link but check out the footage of their recent European match. See how much playing surface is unused and how far the lines are now from their old full size.
If you can find old footage, pre Clarke, you’ll see that their pitch was full size
25-09-2024, 07:29 PM
Perhaps not enough folks in touch with folks who are dons fans…
I think he might have took a dump in Donegal's kettle though. 🤭
Paulie Walnuts
25-09-2024, 09:28 PM
It was
And the surface area is much the same as ER. However, during Clarke’s time there he significantly reduced the playing area to give them an advantage and it’s stayed that way. You used to be able to see the old lines pained out on tv footage and the new dimension lines well inside them. Not sure if that’s still the case that the old lines are visible but I’ll be looking for it next time they are televised. What’s not up for dispute is that the reduced size of playing area still stands. Their actual playing area is not larger than those you quote.
I’m not sure how to add a link but check out the footage of their recent European match. See how much playing surface is unused and how far the lines are now from their old full size.
If you can find old footage, pre Clarke, you’ll see that their pitch was full size
It was reduced in size after Kilmarnock got knocked out of Europe under Clarke to the size I was using. It appears it remains that size as every source is quoting the same size, although it may well have had to increase in size again this season to be suitable for Europe. If that’s the case then it’s one of the biggest in the country.
25-09-2024, 09:55 PM
It was reduced in size after Kilmarnock got knocked out of Europe under Clarke to the size I was using. It appears it remains that size as every source is quoting the same size, although it may well have had to increase in size again this season to be suitable for Europe. If that’s the case then it’s one of the biggest in the country.
I refer to my previous answer.
Paulie Walnuts
25-09-2024, 10:01 PM
I refer to my previous answer.
Yes I get that, but unless you know the size of the overall surface then I’m not sure how you can say what size the pitch is? Just because there’s extra surface it doesn’t mean the pitch can’t be the size that’s quoted everywhere.
If the pitch isn’t 102x68m as is suggested everywhere then what is it? What was it before it was reduced?