06-12-2024, 06:25 PM
HT HIBS 3 Motherwell 0
2 corners 2 great headers
JOSH LANDERS
No3
Dean Clelland (again)scores 3rd
After good work from landers .
Unfortunately no full time result from me, as I’m off home now.
i can’t say I’ve ever watched football in worse weather, at least not for a very long time anyway.
Thanks and well done for sticking it out to half time.
The game might not get finished
06-12-2024, 06:29 PM
HT HIBS 3 Motherwell 0
2 corners 2 great headers
JOSH LANDERS
No3
Dean Clelland (again)scores 3rd
After good work from landers .
Unfortunately no full time result from me, as I’m off home now.
i can’t say I’ve ever watched football in worse weather, at least not for a very long time anyway.
Lightweight!
HIBS NUTS
06-12-2024, 06:35 PM
Lightweight!
When the water is running off your nose, it’s time to leave.
HIBS NUTS
06-12-2024, 06:42 PM
To be fair the game was over, hibs are miles better than Motherwell, I think we will win the league this year, especially with the return of Josh Landers from injury.
So many young talented individuals, Zak Bruce gets better every week, he’s starting to dominate games from midfield.
The problem is keeping them interested at 18, I would be sending our best youngsters down to train at Bournemouth if possible, at the end of the season.
Keep them away from temptation.
berwickhibee
06-12-2024, 07:18 PM
[QUOTE=HIBS NUTS;7835750]To be fair the game was over, hibs are miles better than Motherwell, I think we will win the league this year, especially with the return of Josh Landers from injury.
So many young talented individuals, Zak Bruce gets better every week, he’s starting to dominate games from midfield.
The problem is keeping them interested at 18, I would be sending our best youngsters down to train at Bournemouth if possible, at the end of the season.
Keep them away from temptation.[/QUOTE
Great to hear about Zach, a coldstream lad who I seen playing for Berwick rangers juniors when he was 10
06-12-2024, 07:24 PM
To be fair the game was over, hibs are miles better than Motherwell, I think we will win the league this year, especially with the return of Josh Landers from injury.
Zach has really came on leaps and bounds in a short period of time from the games I have seen. I think he is pretty young too and I like how our midfield is set up with a mix of really dynamic runners who get forward all the time and a couple of steadier types who keep it simpler and protect us when the others have went forward. They are a team that looks really balanced and teh first team could have learned a lot from the way they were set up
06-12-2024, 07:36 PM
When the water is running off your nose, it’s time to leave.
Aye was a decent effort to be fair.
HIBS NUTS
06-12-2024, 08:22 PM
[QUOTE=HIBS NUTS;7835750]To be fair the game was over, hibs are miles better than Motherwell, I think we will win the league this year, especially with the return of Josh Landers from injury.
Keep them away from temptation.[/QUOTE
Great to hear about Zach, a coldstream lad who I seen playing for Berwick rangers juniors when he was 10
I spoke to his parents, at a youth game, I remembered an absolutely tiny blonde lad, that came on in a pre season friendly against Berwick rangers,for the first team, and asked if it was him, It was.
Thankfully he’s a bigger strong lad now.
Given we’ve got very little upfront in the first team, well little that are actually doing much, and a midfield that aren’t exactly pulling up trees either, it’s a shame we’re not seeing some of these lads even getting onto the bench.
Lennon miller has been a mainstay in the Motherwell midfield for some time now, but for some reason we’re always reluctant to even give young boys a sniff of first team football just now. I’d rather see Landers, Clelland, Bruce etc coming off the bench for 20 minutes than McKirdy, etc.
Paul1642
07-12-2024, 08:44 AM
Given we’ve got very little upfront in the first team, well little that are actually doing much, and a midfield that aren’t exactly pulling up trees either, it’s a shame we’re not seeing some of these lads even getting onto the bench.
Lennon miller has been a mainstay in the Motherwell midfield for some time now, but for some reason we’re always reluctant to even give young boys a sniff of first team football just now. I’d rather see Landers, Clelland, Bruce etc coming off the bench for 20 minutes than McKirdy, etc.
I think you’re right. I don’t ever get watch the academy team, and I appreciate that the step up is a big one, but it seems to me that we have consistently had the best or one of the best academy teams in Scotland for a long time yet see very little of them ever getting a shot at the first team.
Now’s maybe not a great time to be easing players in but I would like to see the names you’ve mentioned getting some minutes over some of the crap we are having to use right now.
HIBS NUTS
07-12-2024, 09:17 AM
I think you’re right. I don’t ever get watch the academy team, and I appreciate that the step up is a big one, but it seems to me that we have consistently had the best or one of the best academy teams in Scotland for a long time yet see very little of them ever getting a shot at the first team.
Now’s maybe not a great time to be easing players in but I would like to see the names you’ve mentioned getting some minutes over some of the crap we are having to use right now.
Unfortunately the first team has been in some sort of crises, for probably 3 years, because our managers keep changing, and our results have been poor, new managers are not going to take a chance, with any young players, and they just simply drift out of the game.
However a reward of just being in the match day squad, or 10 minutes run out, would help.
Mckirdy is going to leave, and offers nothing.
HIBS NUTS
08-12-2024, 11:45 AM
What was the full time result of the Motherwell game on Friday night
08-12-2024, 11:51 AM
What was the full time result of the Motherwell game on Friday night
3-0
HIBS NUTS
08-12-2024, 01:25 PM
3-0
Thanks another win, keeps them top of the league
andrew70
08-12-2024, 06:36 PM
Thanks another win, keeps them top of the league
Rangers are top by four points, Hibs have a game in hand and are a point ahead of Killie in second.
HIBS NUTS
08-12-2024, 07:52 PM
Rangers are top by four points, Hibs have a game in hand and are a point ahead of Killie in second.
I must have seen a old table, on Facebook.
big-mo
09-12-2024, 07:39 AM
Rangers played Friday afternoon and were losing late on away to St Mirren, but they equalised very late on and got a penalty in stoppage time to win 2-3. Killie also played in the afternoon but got beat 5-1 by Aberdeen. These results mean we moved up to second, four point behind Rangers and one ahead of Killie, but having played a game less than both.
Our last league game of the year is this Friday, away to Rangers. We then should have had a winter break until the 10th of Jan, but we will be playing the postponed Rreserve League Cup game away to Queen's Park on the 17th Dec, we are also back from the break early as we take on Killie away on the 3rd Jan.
Intresting times.
League table is currently as follows -
Team
Pl
W
D
L
GF
GA
GD
Pts
Rangers
Hibernian
Kilmarnock
Aberdeen
St Mirren
Dundee United
Hearts
Motherwell
Celtic
Queens Park
Hamilton Accies
As you will see, we still have the best defence in the league, and still only one loss.
HIBS NUTS
09-12-2024, 07:12 PM
Rangers played Friday afternoon and were losing late on away to St Mirren, but they equalised very late on and got a penalty in stoppage time to win 2-3. Killie also played in the afternoon but got beat 5-1 by Aberdeen. These results mean we moved up to second, four point behind Rangers and one ahead of Killie, but having played a game less than both.
Our last league game of the year is this Friday, away to Rangers. We then should have had a winter break until the 10th of Jan, but we will be playing the postponed Rreserve League Cup game away to Queen's Park on the 17th Dec, we are also back from the break early as we take on Killie away on the 3rd Jan.
Intresting times.
League table is currently as follows -
Team
Pl
W
D
L
GF
GA
GD
Pts
Rangers
Hibernian
Kilmarnock
Aberdeen
St Mirren
Dundee United
Hearts
Motherwell
Celtic
Queens Park
Hamilton Accies
As you will see, we still have the best defence in the league, and still only one loss.
BRILLIANT thanks.
The only team that are as good, are rangers.
We were lucky to get a 2-2 draw at home against them.
However we have a very talented bunch of extra, motivated kids.i do find it irritating that hearts with a much inferior team, still introduce players into there first team.
andrew70
09-12-2024, 08:51 PM
BRILLIANT thanks.
The only team that are as good, are rangers.
We were lucky to get a 2-2 draw at home against them.
However we have a very talented bunch of extra, motivated kids.i do find it irritating that hearts with a much inferior team, still introduce players into there first team.
To be fair their better youngsters play ‘B’ team football.
13-12-2024, 02:54 PM
Into the Huns today lads.
HIBS NUTS
13-12-2024, 02:55 PM
Updates on todays under 18 game, at rangers at 4pm, would be welcome .
13-12-2024, 05:24 PM
Hibs lost 2.0 today
HIBS NUTS
13-12-2024, 07:31 PM
Hibs lost 2.0 today
Thanks
rangers have a strong team
17-12-2024, 08:35 AM
Dev squad away to queen's park in the reserve cup, 2pm kick off.
17-12-2024, 08:54 AM
Dev squad away to queen's park in the reserve cup, 2pm kick off.
Lochinch at Pollok Country Park is not too far away for me, although it's very soggy out there... Are these games open to the public?
HIBS NUTS
17-12-2024, 09:02 AM
Lochinch at Pollok Country Park is not too far away for me, although it's very soggy out there... Are these games open to the public?
Usually free and open to the public
Should be a mix of under 18s, and fringe players .
The dalmeny
17-12-2024, 09:50 AM
but it’s on Astro, they had a wee cafe there last time I was there too.
tbfhibs2
17-12-2024, 01:48 PM
2-1 to Queens Park, ht
17-12-2024, 01:50 PM
Horrible wet day. Floodlights on at 2:30… Queen’s Park running rings round Hibs I’m afraid.
No.7 (Deano?) looks neat and tidy.
2-1 down at HT - missed the Hibs opener.
Not sure I can take any more of the rain.
17-12-2024, 02:08 PM
3-1 now… I’ve had enough.
tbfhibs2
17-12-2024, 02:48 PM
Finished 4-2
17-12-2024, 04:21 PM
Im sure queens park beat us last time out? Or maybe last season.
Any line ups?
tbfhibs2
17-12-2024, 04:53 PM
Im sure queens park beat us last time out? Or maybe last season.
Any line ups?
Hibs were theunder18,s with Malik and Freddie.
Queens Park have a n under 18,s match tonight so presumably had an experienced team?
17-12-2024, 06:07 PM
QP had one player with limited first team experience. Josh Hinds, 21. Played on left wing and scored the third goal. Club photographer I spoke to briefly said it was “a very young team”. Their number 6 was a standout. A Billy Gilmour type, keeping things ticking in midfield.
big-mo
18-12-2024, 12:39 PM
Hibs were theunder18,s with Malik and Freddie.
Queens Park have a n under 18,s match tonight so presumably had an experienced team?
The score of 4-2 was not a fair reflection on the game, both team had a lot of chances but both keepers did well, the game could have ended 7-6.
As has been said this was the Queen’s B side as their U18s were playing Hearts at the Oriam (Queen’s won that one 2-3) Hibs fielded their U18s with the addition of Freddy Owen’s in goal (captain for the game) and Malik Zaid in midfield. We again only had three outfield players on the bench. Queen’s had the best of the first half but Hibs were on top in the second. Both wingers for QP were very good and also quick. They also had Jay McGarva playing centre half, Jay was with us last season.
This was the last game in our group section of the reserve league cup, we ended with 5 pts QP won all their games. It looked like Hibs had missed out on progressing but we still have a chance of going through as best runners up, but we will have to wait until January till all other games are completed, we need Killie to win their section and Ayr Utd to pick up some points but not too many.
HIBS NUTS
18-12-2024, 01:11 PM
The score of 4-2 was not a fair reflection on the game, both team had a lot of chances but both keepers did well, the game could have ended 7-6.
As has been said this was the Queen’s B side as their U18s were playing Hearts at the Oriam (Queen’s won that one 2-3) Hibs fielded their U18s with the addition of Freddy Owen’s in goal (captain for the game) and Malik Zaid in midfield. We again only had three outfield players on the bench. Queen’s had the best of the first half but Hibs were on top in the second. Both wingers for QP were very good and also quick. They also had Jay McGarva playing centre half, Jay was with us last season.
This was the last game in our group section of the reserve league cup, we ended with 5 pts QP won all their games. It looked like Hibs had missed out on progressing but we still have a chance of going through as best runners up, but we will have to wait until January till all other games are completed, we need Killie to win their section and Ayr Utd to pick up some points but not too many.
Thanks for the info
18-12-2024, 01:47 PM
Great update 👍
20-12-2024, 04:10 AM
I see Jacob got two goals the other day for kelty the other day, going off Google it says he's only played 6 games this season though.
Not sure what the plan is for January regarding our loans currently away.
20-12-2024, 06:46 AM
I see Jacob got two goals the other day for kelty the other day, going off Google it says he's only played 6 games this season though.
Not sure what the plan is for January regarding our loans currently away.
2nd man of the match performance in a row, his first goal was a rocket from outside the box.
He signed on the last day of the window (30th September) then got nobbled by some hammer thrower from Montrose or somewhere like that who was bragging to his team mates beforehand about what he was going to do (Search the tackle it's a shocker). Jacob missed a few games because of that but is back even stronger now. I'm looking forward to seeing him in the Hibs team.
20-12-2024, 07:01 AM
2nd man of the match performance in a row, his first goal was a rocket from outside the box.
He signed on the last day of the window (30th September) then got nobbled by some hammer thrower from Montrose or somewhere like that who was bragging to his team mates beforehand about what he was going to do (Search the tackle it's a shocker). Jacob missed a few games because of that but is back even stronger now. I'm looking forward to seeing him in the Hibs team.
I’d have the two of them back in January if up to me especially Oscar - you look across the road at the emergence of Penrice and I think Oscar is miles better potentially. We just don’t blood enough really good youngsters these days.
followhibs
20-12-2024, 12:46 PM
I’d have the two of them back in January if up to me especially Oscar - you look across the road at the emergence of Penrice and I think Oscar is miles better potentially. We just don’t blood enough really good youngsters these days.
I made this point some time ago regards Oscar on another thread (Players on loan), I watched the Dumfries Derby Queen of the south v Annan and he was terrific.
According to the online Stats he has not missed a game in 2024, so 2 things to take from it he must be playing well never to be dropped and is never injured.
Erealavant of the league I'm not sure there is one of our current first team that can offer any where those numbers.
The academy was set up for a reason and god knows what we have spent on it I appreciate football is all about opinions but these young Scottish players need to be given an opportunity.
There is never a perfect time to bring young players in, if we are in 3rd it will be the wrong time, if we are in the bottom 3 it will be the wrong time, we are just taking the easy option buying journeyman players and limping from season to season.
Decent rumour that Jacob is more than on the radar of a few English Premier league clubs, why would he stay. It can be done Lennon Miller stayed at a so called much smaller club, why? because he was given an opportunity to play first team football.
20-12-2024, 03:00 PM
Oscar was very highly rated and even some of us thought he should have been kept under Lewis for his final season at us, happy to hear his loan this season is going much better from reports and I didn't know that about Jacob with the injury so makes sense the lack of game time.
Both look good prospect's.
HIBS NUTS
20-12-2024, 03:00 PM
I made this point some time ago regards Oscar on another thread (Players on loan), I watched the Dumfries Derby Queen of the south v Annan and he was terrific.
According to the online Stats he has not missed a game in 2024, so 2 things to take from it he must be playing well never to be dropped and is never injured.
Erealavant of the league I'm not sure there is one of our current first team that can offer any where those numbers.
The academy was set up for a reason and god knows what we have spent on it I appreciate football is all about opinions but these young Scottish players need to be given an opportunity.
There is never a perfect time to bring young players in, if we are in 3rd it will be the wrong time, if we are in the bottom 3 it will be the wrong time, we are just taking the easy option buying journeyman players and limping from season to season.
Decent rumour that Jacob is more than on the radar of a few English Premier league clubs, why would he stay. It can be done Lennon Miller stayed at a so called much smaller club, why? because he was given an opportunity to play first team football.
Great opportunity for Oscar to make left back position his own.
As for Jacob, I think his family are very grounded, he had the chance to go on loan , to 3 clubs , and they chose the lowest league team, doesn’t sound like a move to England would be an option.
Hopefully the 2 brothers stay at hibs and play in the same team next year.
HIBS NUTS
20-12-2024, 07:08 PM
Great opportunity for Oscar to make left back position his own.
As for Jacob, I think his family are very grounded, he had the chance to go on loan , to 3 clubs , and they chose the lowest league team, doesn’t sound like a move to England would be an option.
Hopefully the 2 brothers stay at hibs and play in the same team next year.https://youtu.be/qxBjaeLqWec?si=Tmx1OF899Pd1YX7J
jacob McIntyres 2 goals and MOTM against Arbroath
What a hard man, bragging about nobbling a wee laddie…:rolleyes:
(Not you Brooster)
20-12-2024, 10:01 PM
Why would the player do that? Seems odd
The dalmeny
21-12-2024, 08:08 AM
What a hard man, bragging about nobbling a wee laddie…:rolleyes:
(Not you Brooster)
sounds makey uppy
HIBS NUTS
21-12-2024, 08:50 AM
Have a look at the goals Jacob McIntyre scores on utube
Absolutely brilliant
21-12-2024, 04:44 PM
Jacob wins the battle of the brothers today as Kelty beat QOS 2-0.
Both played the full game.
HIBS NUTS
21-12-2024, 05:01 PM
Jacob wins the battle of the brothers today as Kelty beat QOS 2-0.
Both played the full game.
They must have been head to head
left back: right wing 👍
followhibs
21-12-2024, 05:45 PM
They must have been head to head
left back: right wing 👍
Had a mate at the game, Oscar played as a wing back had a great 1st half not too involved the 2nd, Jacob didn't get a huge amount of the ball but was very effective when he did also picked up an assist for the 1st goal, weather was appalling.
Another 90 minutes for both boys, Whittaker played 10 mins today for Spartans, none of our other loan player played today.
PHeffernan
21-12-2024, 07:45 PM
https://youtu.be/qxBjaeLqWec?si=Tmx1OF899Pd1YX7J
jacob McIntyres 2 goals and MOTM against Arbroath
Thanks for that.
His first goal was brilliant, great 1st touch with his body ..... his 2nd goal a cross :greengrin
I reckon Jacob is going to make it.
Would like to see him in the Championship.
HIBS NUTS
21-12-2024, 07:48 PM
Thanks for that.
His first goal was brilliant, great 1st touch with his body ..... his 2nd goal a cross :agree:
Probably a cross , but spectacular.🤣
PHeffernan
21-12-2024, 08:57 PM
Where's the fire?
Oscar was 20 today and Jacob isn't 19 until next month so both have time on their side.
The jump to mens football at the top level is massive so getting experience playing against men, in front of crowds, in games that matter in the 3rd tier is to prepare them for the bigger stage.
Oscar now has 50 games at 1st Division level so it would be interesting to see him move up to the Championship in January. As ever he would have to be better than the current left back at the Championship club in question to make the move up worthwhile.
As for Jacob it's his 1st time in mens football and a loan to a Championship club next season is likely if he continues to perform well. He certainly looks good to me so it's possible he is next seasons Molotnikov and goes straight into the 1st team squad.
As for Lennon Miller, he is an exceptional talent and stayed at Motherwell because his dad knows the game and knew he had a good chance of playing there.
In Scotland kids at Celtic and Rangers have little to no chance of breaking through there, kids at Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen have more of a chance but it's still going to be tough because those teams can afford to buy ready made players so their development players might need to cut their teeth in the mens game on loan further down the pyramid before they can get into the first team on a regular basis unless they are exceptional talents or are physically big and strong e.g Ryan Porteous and Josh Doig.
The attrition rates in football academies of all clubs is absolutely brutal and the bigger the club the more brutal it is. That's just how it is.
Oscar and Jacob have survived tens of cuts over the years and they are now at the last vital stage.
Let me ask you one final question is Oscar MacIntyre going to take the Hibs shirt off Jordan Obita or Nicki Cadden? and is Jacob MacIntyre going to take the Hibs shirt off Martin Boyle.
In essense that's what they need to do. Certainly more chance of doing it if they have played a load of senior games first.
21-12-2024, 09:01 PM
Need to get Johnson back out on loan somewhere other than Airdrie. Seems like Murray aiken is unfortunately either 1) injury prone or 2) having a bad time of it. Hope he can shake it off.
PHeffernan
21-12-2024, 09:31 PM
Need to get Johnson back out on loan somewhere other than Airdrie. Seems like Murray aiken is unfortunately either 1) injury prone or 2) having a bad time of it. Hope he can shake it off.
Johnson will be going on loan elsewhere in January. Not going to get a game at Airdrie.
As for Murray Aiken, his injury last season was a serious one and it's entirely possible it's still giving him related issues. If he was fit he would be playing for Airdrie so he must be injured. Been missing from their matchday squad for weeks.
Hopefully he is back playing soon as he moves into the last 5 months of his contract. Played regularly until last seasons injury so he does have it at that level.
The dalmeny
21-12-2024, 09:56 PM
Johnson will be going on loan elsewhere in January. Not going to get a game at Airdrie.
Johnson should have been pushing on this season but has completely stalled. Can’t think of many teams that are looking for a starting keeper. Heard Chinese whispers that Ayr might, not sure what the situation at Morton is either. Maybe a L1 or 2 might crop up if a loan gets recalled.
21-12-2024, 11:44 PM
sounds makey uppy
Care to explain?
tbfhibs2
22-12-2024, 06:27 PM
Had a mate at the game, Oscar played as a wing back had a great 1st half not too involved the 2nd, Jacob didn't get a huge amount of the ball but was very effective when he did also picked up an assist for the 1st goal, weather was appalling.
Another 90 minutes for both boys, Whittaker played 10 mins today for Spartans, none of our other loan player played today.
Freddie Owens played in a 3-0 cup tie win for Civil Service yesterday.
Back to back games against Hearts b coming up in the league.
PHeffernan
22-12-2024, 08:53 PM
Johnson should have been pushing on this season but has completely stalled. Can’t think of many teams that are looking for a starting keeper. Heard Chinese whispers that Ayr might, not sure what the situation at Morton is either. Maybe a L1 or 2 might crop up if a loan gets recalled.
Ayr have hunners of goalies, Liam Russell missed this weeks game with an injury. He's apparently very good with the ball at his feet. Don't know how long he will be out for.
Harry Stone, who is on loan from Hearts took his place on Saturday and Scott Brown was singing his praises after they beat Livingston.
They also have the experienced Robbie Mutch out on loan at Stranraer and that ends in January so he will be available.
Jack McIntyre a 22 year old keeper was on the bench on Saturday and they have Scotland Under 19 squad keeper Oli Ecremont out on loan as well who I presume they could recall.
Morton is a better bet, they have two main keepers, 23 years old Ryan Mullen who played for Scotland at U15, U16, U17 & U19 and the experienced 34 year old Gary Wood who doubles as player and coach.
As you say a space might open up in the Championship if a loan keeper is recalled or perhaps in the 3rd tier if Johnson would be a better option than a club currently has.
The dalmeny
22-12-2024, 09:13 PM
Ayr have hunners of goalies, Liam Russell missed this weeks game with an injury. He's apparently very good with the ball at his feet. Don't know how long he will be out for.
Harry Stone, who is on loan from Hearts took his place on Saturday and Scott Brown was singing his praises after they beat Livingston.
They also have the experienced Robbie Mutch out on loan at Stranraer and that ends in January so he will be available.
Jack McIntyre a 22 year old keeper was on the bench on Saturday and they have Scotland Under 19 squad keeper Oli Ecremont out on loan as well who I presume they could recall.
thanks for that, clearly got a bum steer.
PHeffernan
22-12-2024, 09:37 PM
thanks for that, clearly got a bum steer.
Not necessarily. If the Ayr keeper Liam Russell has a long term injury and Scott Brown doesn't fancy any of their other keepers.
They are going for promotion so he will be ruthless and go for Murray if he thinks him a better option than what he already has at the club ... or he could go for the Airdrie goalkeeper who is on loan from Rangers and that would leave Murray as the Airdrie number 1.
One things for sure, we will soon find out.
The dalmeny
27-12-2024, 05:32 PM
Morton is a better bet, they have two main keepers, 23 years old Ryan Mullen who played for Scotland at U15, U16, U17 & U19 and the experienced 34 year old Gary Wood who doubles as player and coach.
As you say a space might open up in the Championship if a loan keeper is recalled or perhaps in the 3rd tier if Johnson would be a better option than a club currently has.
i see Mutch has just been emergency recalled.
HIBS NUTS
04-01-2025, 04:54 PM
Hib under18 Beaton 2-0 away to Kilmarnock
big-mo
07-01-2025, 10:36 AM
The Under 18s are back in action on Friday at East Mains as they take on that other lot from across the city. After three very tough fixtures, they should with any luck be able to get back to winning ways. 6pm k/o.
They also have a double header against Dundee Utd next week when they play them at East Mains HTC on Tuesday with a 6pm k/o, this was the game Utd called off earlier in the season, they then play them at Foundation Park in Dundee on the Friday with a 7pm k/o.
HIBS NUTS
07-01-2025, 11:46 AM
The Under 18s are back in action on Friday at East Mains as they take on that other lot from across the city. After three very tough fixtures, they should with any luck be able to get back to winning ways. 6pm k/o.
They also have a double header against Dundee Utd next week when they play them at East Mains HTC on Tuesday with a 6pm k/o, this was the game Utd called off earlier in the season, they then play them at Foundation Park in Dundee on the Friday with a 7pm k/o.
Thanks I will go along.
How well does Astro handle frost
big-mo
07-01-2025, 01:41 PM
Thanks I will go along.
Usually no problem.
07-01-2025, 02:07 PM
West Ham looking at Josh Landers - https://insidefutbol.com/2025/01/06/west-ham-to-run-rule-over-hibernian-talent/669659/
07-01-2025, 04:10 PM
Thanks I will go along.
Prob ok but can freeze if say minus 4 or so
HIBS NUTS
10-01-2025, 07:00 AM
If the game against hearts is off, tonight, a heads up would be good.
big-mo
10-01-2025, 10:38 AM
just had an update from East Mains this morning, and they don’t expect any problems with the game going ahead. But if you are going, remember to wrap-up, it will be Baltic.
HIBS NUTS
10-01-2025, 11:31 AM
just had an update from East Mains this morning, and they don’t expect any problems with the game going ahead. But if you are going, remember to wrap-up, it will be Baltic.
Thanks brilliant
you sound like my mum 🤣
HIBS NUTS
10-01-2025, 05:52 PM
HT HIBS 2 HEARTS 0
Hearts down to 10
10-01-2025, 06:43 PM
HT HIBS 2 HEARTS 0
Hearts down to 10
Full time score?
HIBS NUTS
10-01-2025, 07:21 PM
Full time score?
FT HIBS 2 HEARTS 0
A lot of yellow cards
hearts played well with 10 men
10-01-2025, 07:22 PM
Well done Hibs !
HIBS NUTS
10-01-2025, 08:08 PM
Rory Whittaker was playing well, but pulled his hamstring, had to go off.
Rumble de Thump
11-01-2025, 11:14 AM
I noticed Dumbarton's first choice keeper got injured the other day. That could potentially be a decent move for Murray Johnson if we were to recall him and put him out somewhere he's more likely to get games.
HIBS NUTS
14-01-2025, 01:14 PM
Is Dundee united at HTC still on tonight at 6
14-01-2025, 02:04 PM
Is Dundee united at HTC still on tonight at 6
Nope - playing them on Jan 28th now instead. And think they’re away to them this Friday
HIBS NUTS
14-01-2025, 02:17 PM
Nope - playing them on Jan 28th now instead. And think they’re away to them this Friday
Thanks
14-01-2025, 06:13 PM
Anyone with some more information on Logan Jimenez? Don't see anything on the main site.
The dalmeny
14-01-2025, 06:18 PM
I noticed Dumbarton's first choice keeper got injured the other day. That could potentially be a decent move for Murray Johnson if we were to recall him and put him out somewhere he's more likely to get games.
I posted this in the loan thread thought it could happen but I see Dumbarton brought in a 19yo from Falkirk. I think the admin thing might mean they can only sign u20, someone can correct me.
anyway, I noticed Johnson isn’t in the squad tonight, injured?
HIBS NUTS
14-01-2025, 07:33 PM
Anyone with some more information on Logan Jimenez? Don't see anything on the main site.
He’s half bermudian and half Scottish , think he’s pretty young 16/17, very athletic, attacking midfielder, has been scoring more regularly, and scored a cracking header against hearts on Monday.
14-01-2025, 07:59 PM
He’s half bermudian and half Scottish , think he’s pretty young 16/17, very athletic, attacking midfielder, has been scoring more regularly, and scored a cracking header against hearts on Monday.
Thanks, was for sure he wasn't 100% Scottish with that name 😁
Rumble de Thump
16-01-2025, 09:45 AM
Josh Landers has gone on trial with West Ham. He's contracted until 2026 and I think turns 18 next month.
This what I find strange, apparently not good enough for Hibs but seemingly good enough to interest West Ham, what's the point in Hibs having an academy???
16-01-2025, 10:30 AM
This what I find strange, apparently not good enough for Hibs but seemingly good enough to interest West Ham, what's the point in Hibs having an academy???
Development fees?
16-01-2025, 10:37 AM
Development fees?
How often have we had those for players ? I remember Rangers took. Young striker and he didn’t make it there We seem to bring through lots of strikers at that level that score loads of goals but apart from Garry O Riorddn and Kenny Miller has anyone else broke through and made it Will add Ollie Shaw as well
Rumble de Thump
16-01-2025, 10:46 AM
He is good enough for our Development Squad and West Ham think he might be good enough for their youth team. He'll have a better chance of getting first team football at Hibs. West Ham will be able to offer more money.
16-01-2025, 10:53 AM
Who said he isn't good enough for Hibs? He's a young lad who is probably not ready to play first team football yet and another academy want to sign him. He isn't signing to go play in the Premier League, he'll be doing the same thing he's doing here.
If we're able to get say £100k for him then everyone wins a bit.
It's not like they're looking at him to play in the prem. They'll offer him better wages than we can to play under 23s and then out to league 1/2 outfits on loan most likely.
Who said he isn't good enough for Hibs? He's a young lad who is probably not ready to play first team football yet and another academy want to sign him. He isn't signing to go play in the Premier League, he'll be doing the same thing he's doing here.
If we're able to get say £100k for him then everyone wins a bit.
So everyone wins a bit? And how much is it costing to run an academy which results in a small development fee at the end of the day. Surely better to save the expenses and by in the finished product. 🤔
It's not like they're looking at him to play in the prem. They'll offer him better wages than we can to play under 23s and then out to league 1/2 outfits on loan most likely.
So he's potentially good enough for EFL 1 or 2,thevery leagues Hibs are currently recruiting from?
16-01-2025, 12:05 PM
So everyone wins a bit? And how much is it costing to run an academy which results in a small development fee at the end of the day. Surely better to save the expenses and by in the finished product. 🤔
I don't know, do you?
HTD1875
16-01-2025, 12:11 PM
How often have we had those for players ? I remember Rangers took. Young striker and he didn’t make it there We seem to bring through lots of strikers at that level that score loads of goals but apart from Garry O Riorddn and Kenny Miller has anyone else broke through and made it Will add Ollie Shaw as well
Connor Young, now at Edinburgh City top scorer in league 2 with 17 goals. Will likely get a decent move in the Summer.
So he's potentially good enough for EFL 1 or 2,thevery leagues Hibs are currently recruiting from?
Potentially is the key word there. They're having a look at him, they potentially might not sign him. He potentially will be fitting kitchens in 2 years time.
So many on here wanting us to sign better than we are, so if we're going to try and keep a youngster who is no better than that, then why not let him go on trial and maybe get a dev fee for him?
Rumble de Thump
16-01-2025, 12:17 PM
Kane O'Connor left Hibs to join Brentford in 2019. He has subsequently played for Cowdenbeath, Elgin, Tranent and Berwick. Ethan Laidlaw left us for Brentford in 2023 and hasn't made a senior appearance for anyone yet.
16-01-2025, 12:23 PM
Kane O'Connor left Hibs to join Brentford in 2019. He has subsequently played for Cowdenbeath, Elgin, Tranent and Berwick. Ethan Laidlaw left us for Brentford in 2023 and hasn't made a senior appearance for anyone yet.
Jacob Blaney went on trial with Southampton and is now in LOI with Crusaders.
16-01-2025, 01:00 PM
You could ask the same of any EPL club. A huge source of income for all of these clubs. Albeit we’re talking about players at another level from our guys.
16-01-2025, 01:01 PM
I don't know, do you?
Might be in the accounts. Well it will be in the accounts, just not sure if it’ll be obvious.
I said before on this thread that we spend a lot of money for the 1 in a million player we can make money from.
Might be in the accounts. Well it will be in the accounts, just not sure if it’ll be obvious.
I said before on this thread that we spend a lot of money for the 1 in a million player we can make money from.
Tbf, any club with an academy does that.
16-01-2025, 01:11 PM
You're right, it won't be obvious.
The kind of costs we're talking about will be:-
Wages for the players
Wages for the coaches (part-time? full time?)
Travel costs for games
Share of overheads for East Mains (energy, insurance, maintenance etc)
Share of some salaries, such as MM
Other obvious ones that I've overlooked :greengrin
I have no idea how much that will all be, but if the £100k from West Ham that has been mentioned on here is correct, that will make a sizeable dent in the costs.
Rumble de Thump
16-01-2025, 01:15 PM
You're right, it won't be obvious.
The kind of costs we're talking about will be:-
Wages for the players
Wages for the coaches (part-time? full time?)
Travel costs for games
Share of overheads for East Mains (energy, insurance, maintenance etc)
Share of some salaries, such as MM
Other obvious ones that I've overlooked :greengrin
I have no idea how much that will all be, but if the £100k from West Ham that has been mentioned on here is correct, that will make a sizeable dent in the costs.
He's only on trial at the moment. But Laidlaw was signed for "a six-figure fee and a sizeable sell-on".
WestStandWillie
16-01-2025, 01:32 PM
He's only on trial at the moment. But Laidlaw was signed for "a six-figure fee and a sizeable sell-on".
I wonder if we could get him back on loan? Seems to be playing well for Brentford B
16-01-2025, 01:34 PM
It's not just the 1 in a million player though. Believe it or not the SFA gives grant money to academies who have produced players that are currently still playing 'professional' football. All the way from Josh Doig in Serie B to guys like Connor Young at Edinburgh City. Of which there are many out there. We can get sell on clauses for players who leave for free and maintain a stake in their future if they were to flourish a bit later and move on for cash. We can receive various prize monies for competitions.
We also get first hand information on other teams younger players when we scout and play against them. We maintain a presence in the community of young impressionable kids at a stage in their lives where their footballing allegiances are solidified for many years to come.
We also can produce squad players that may not sell on for money but provide something to our actual first team like Paul Hanlon, Lewy Stevenson, Josh Campbell have done. That's before you take into account guys like Josh Doig, Jason Cummings, Porteous
As long as the academy can go majority of the way to washing it's face over a 5/10 year period it's worth it in my opinion.
16-01-2025, 01:49 PM
As long as the academy can go majority of the way to washing it's face over a 5/10 year period it's worth it in my opinion.
That is where I am at. The goal should be to generally break even and you take the bonus money of a O'Connor when it comes along. I've always enjoyed watching players who have came through the system and feel there are benefits there that are not financial.
16-01-2025, 02:35 PM
That is where I am at. The goal should be to generally break even and you take the bonus money of a O'Connor when it comes along. I've always enjoyed watching players who have came through the system and feel there are benefits there that are not financial.
Agree one of the podcasts down the slope indicated that highly unlikely that you will be able to bring through loads of players for the first team important thing being 1 or 2 come through and also good if others still make a career in football even if at lower levels.
HIBS NUTS
16-01-2025, 02:55 PM
It's not just the 1 in a million player though. Believe it or not the SFA gives grant money to academies who have produced players that are currently still playing 'professional' football. All the way from Josh Doig in Serie B to guys like Connor Young at Edinburgh City. Of which there are many out there. We can get sell on clauses for players who leave for free and maintain a stake in their future if they were to flourish a bit later and move on for cash. We can receive various prize monies for competitions.
We also get first hand information on other teams younger players when we scout and play against them. We maintain a presence in the community of young impressionable kids at a stage in their lives where their footballing allegiances are solidified for many years to come.
We also can produce squad players that may not sell on for money but provide something to our actual first team like Paul Hanlon, Lewy Stevenson, Josh Campbell have done. That's before you take into account guys like Josh Doig, Jason Cummings, Porteous
As long as the academy can go majority of the way to washing its face over a 5/10 year period it's worth it in my opinion.
Good post .
HTC isn’t just there for the academy, the facilities are used for the first team, the ladies team, all the youth teams.
The costs for this would still exist, wether we had an academy or not.
Josh DOIG, would not have come if there was no academy.
Thats a few million we woudnt have had.
I believe to compete in European competitions, you need to have an academy team/system.
Thats some of the reasons we have an academy, but also the many kids that train there, may become future supporters.
16-01-2025, 03:07 PM
👍🏼 good info.
Do we get money for Doig even though he joined us late after leaving Hearts?
HIBS NUTS
16-01-2025, 03:21 PM
👍🏼 good info.
He was on a senior contract, did we not get something like 1,500,000 and a sell on clause .
16-01-2025, 03:40 PM
👍🏼 good info.
I believe so as he technically signed for us and went into our academy at 18 which is what the minimum threshold is for counting players towards the SFA points system.
HIBS NUTS
16-01-2025, 03:50 PM
I believe so as he technically signed for us and went into our academy at 18 which is what the minimum threshold is for counting players towards the SFA points system.
Just checked we actually got £3 million for Josh DOIG, plus sell on, on all future deals .
16-01-2025, 03:55 PM
Just checked we actually got £3 million for Josh DOIG, plus sell on, on all future deals .
Yes that was his transfer from us to Italy. I'm referring to money from the SFA for having him 'come out' of our academy and playing senior football.
HIBS NUTS
16-01-2025, 03:56 PM
Yes that was his transfer from us to Italy. I'm referring to money from the SFA for having him 'come out' of our academy and playing senior football.
Got ya
16-01-2025, 08:06 PM
Agree one of the podcasts down the slope indicated that highly unlikely that you will be able to bring through loads of players for the first team important thing being 1 or 2 come through and also good if others still make a career in football even if at lower levels.
Agreed the jump is so big and not all youngsters develop at the same age. Zach Bruce turned 18 a few days ago. And while he is excellent in those surroundings you wouldn't expect him to be able to make the jump to play against the likes of Shinnie for a good few years. The important thing is developing them as far as we can as youths and getting a club that will continue to develop them playing against adults. They have to be playing regularly though
16-01-2025, 09:20 PM
Reading the article on James Wilson on BBC site. I'd rather he hadn't been successful for our pink chums but it is a sign that youth can make a massive impact.
Having watched Clelland quite a few times this year and once against the hairy bums of Albion Rovers he looks to have no issue with physicality, actually looks like he enjoys it. He is fast, direct and has an amazing ability to be in the right place at the right time particularly from wider areas. It seems to me he has similar attributes with the only major difference being Wilson having been exposed to the Lowland League for a season and doing very well. Hopefully he gets a chance in the early rounds of the cup and we are looking to get him a good loan if we don't think he is ready. I'd like to see how he does before we loan him out as I can't imagine he wouldn't eclipse McKirdy
It made me ponder our decision to not enter that league. I agree with it in principal but in practice it would be a great way to see how players who had the technical and other attribute dealt with the physical challenge.
17-01-2025, 07:15 AM
Reading the article on James Wilson on BBC site. I'd rather he hadn't been successful for our pink chums but it is a sign that youth can make a massive impact.
Having watched Clelland quite a few times this year and once against the hairy bums of Albion Rovers he looks to have no issue with physicality, actually looks like he enjoys it. He is fast, direct and has an amazing ability to be in the right place at the right time particularly from wider areas. It seems to me he has similar attributes with the only major difference being Wilson having been exposed to the Lowland League for a season and doing very well. Hopefully he gets a chance in the early rounds of the cup and we are looking to get him a good loan if we don't think he is ready. I'd like to see how he does before we loan him out as I can't imagine he wouldn't eclipse McKirdy
It made me ponder our decision to not enter that league. I agree with it in principal but in practice it would be a great way to see how players who had the technical and other attribute dealt with the physical challenge.
I hate the B-Teams in the Lowland League, but to give Hearts their credit I think there is a decent pathway between their B team and First Team unlike the uglies through west who bring next to no one through from it.
I think I'm at the stage where I'd support Hibs doing it if they were to ask for it. If others are doing it and getting benefit from it then we shouldn't allow ourselves to be left behind in that regard. As someone said before I think there's a big jump from 18 to going to compete with the Shinnies and Gogic's of the league. Some can do it naturally from the start and some need a little longer to cook and a Hibs B-Team in the Lowland league playing proper competitive football might help guys for an additional year or two, hopefully between loans to the likes of League 2 and 1.
HIBS NUTS
17-01-2025, 12:49 PM
It will be interesting if any players are left out tonight’s under 18 game against united, may well mean, they are in the squad tomorrow.
if anyone is going, keep us updated.👍
MartinfaePorty
17-01-2025, 08:33 PM
5-0 win tonight reported by official Twitter account
HIBS NUTS
17-01-2025, 08:55 PM
5-0 win tonight reported by official Twitter account
Clelland two, Buckley , McMurdo, and Gillie
great result, but no Clelland tomorrow
andrew70
17-01-2025, 09:03 PM
Was hoping to see Gillie on the left too but not this time around.
17-01-2025, 09:05 PM
I can't believe we have taken a look at a youngster scoring for fun and full of energy and drive in a Cup Game we are heavy favourites. SDG knows better than me though but I'm really hoping a few of the Dev team start to get the odd bench appearnace
HIBS NUTS
17-01-2025, 10:19 PM
I can't believe we have taken a look at a youngster scoring for fun and full of energy and drive in a Cup Game we are heavy favourites. SDG knows better than me though but I'm really hoping a few of the Dev team start to get the odd bench appearnace
Yeh they don’t need to play, just for experience.
Not sure but SC only allows for 3 substitutions
Rumble de Thump
18-01-2025, 12:53 PM
Defender Lewis Gillie on the bench v Clydebank today. He moved up to the under 18s last season and signed his first pro contract with us in the summer.
Yeh they don’t need to play, just for experience.
Not sure but SC only allows for 3 substitutions
Can still make 5 substitutions, both Brechin and Hearts did last night anyway.
18-01-2025, 12:57 PM
What like is the boy Gillie?
Not one I’ve heard about much
18-01-2025, 12:58 PM
Surprised Clelland hasn’t even got on the bench considering his goals so far.
Maybe Gillie as we are short of defenders.
Ireallywasthere
18-01-2025, 01:04 PM
Lewis Gillie is a LCH/LB 16 yr old from Galashiels. Fast and tenacious
Rumble de Thump
18-01-2025, 01:06 PM
As per the Hibs website:
Hibernian youngster Lewis Gillie is named on the bench for this afternoon’s Scottish Cup Fourth Round clash with Clydebank.
This is the youngster's first inclusion in David Gray’s matchday squad this season.
Gillie joined the Hibs academy in 2018 at the age of 10 – having spent his earlier years with Musselburgh Windsor and in the Gala Fairydean Rovers Academy.
The 16-year-old penned his first professional deal with the Club in Summer 2024 after an impressive season with Darren McGregor’s U18 side.
Gillie has been a prominent feature of the U18s set-up this campaign – having cemented his starting spot at centre-back for the wee Hibees.
The left-footed defender is also comfortable playing at left-back or left-wing-back.
Gillie was also involved for the wee Hibees last night, finding the back of the net in our 5-0 victory over Dundee United at Foundation Park.
Rumble de Thump
18-01-2025, 03:54 PM
Congrats to Lewis on his senior team debut. Great experience for him.
Rumble de Thump
18-01-2025, 03:57 PM
Oscar MacIntyre played the full game against St Mirren. Good experience for him too.
HIBS NUTS
18-01-2025, 07:41 PM
Brilliant and he fitted in fine
18-01-2025, 07:44 PM
Brilliant from Lewis today. Really confident and purposeful debut. Just wish that SDG had found room for another couple of the Dev team on the bench.
HIBS NUTS
18-01-2025, 07:47 PM
Brilliant from Lewis today. Really confident and purposeful debut. Just wish that SDG had found room for another couple of the Dev team on the bench.
Agree would have made no difference to the game.
18-01-2025, 08:41 PM
Agree would have made no difference to the game. Opportunities like that don't come along too often either. Did we even have a full bench
18-01-2025, 08:43 PM
Opportunities like that don't come along too often either. Did we even have a full bench
Totally, surely we could have brought a midfielder on in front of Amos?
20-01-2025, 06:16 AM
Oscar MacIntyre played the full game against St Mirren. Good experience for him too.
His team were unlucky blatant penalty and possible red card ignored at 2 1 down
HIBS NUTS
24-01-2025, 06:15 PM
Conner Young 20, hibs ex academy player, has joined Dunfermline, for a undisclosed fee, from Edinburgh city, were he has had a fantastic season.
HibeeBigFly
24-01-2025, 07:10 PM
Conner Young 20, hibs ex academy player, has joined Dunfermline, for a undisclosed fee, from Edinburgh city, were he has had a fantastic season.
Good move for both I reckon, hopefully can keep up the scoring. I’m assuming some of our scouts will be keeping a close eye on his performances also.
HIBS NUTS
24-01-2025, 08:41 PM
Good move for both I reckon, hopefully can keep up the scoring. I’m assuming some of our scouts will be keeping a close eye on his performances also.
He was always a big lad, with an eye for goals, in our academy, I seen him in a friendly against Preston, (East Lothian) senior team, were the hibs youngsters won something like 9-2, I’m sure he scored about 5.
He got a move to rangers, for a fee, when he was still very young.
Wish him all the best, especially as I think he’s a hibs fan.
big-mo
26-01-2025, 06:09 PM
The Under 18s are back in action on Tuesday evening at HTC, this is the rearranged game against Dundee Utd in the League. It is a 7pm K/o and free entry. They played United last week and beat them 0-5, Utd started the season well but have fallen away recently so I expect a similar result again on Tuesday.
26-01-2025, 06:39 PM
The Under 18s are back in action on Tuesday evening at HTC, this is the rearranged game against Dundee Utd in the League. It is a 7pm K/o and free entry. They played United last week and beat them 0-5, Utd started the season well but have fallen away recently so I expect a similar result again on Tuesday.
Is that definite? There’s a girls academy 17s game on at HTC at this time on Tuesday.
28-01-2025, 11:22 AM
Is that definite? There’s a girls academy 17s game on at HTC at this time on Tuesday. It was posted up with those details on the club Facebook site so I presume it is as Mo has described
28-01-2025, 11:33 AM
It was posted up with those details on the club Facebook site so I presume it is as Mo has described
Aye - got the wrong Tuesday!
HIBS NUTS
28-01-2025, 02:16 PM
Great nothing on tonight, I will pop along 👍
28-01-2025, 04:29 PM
Great nothing on tonight, I will pop along 👍
Score updates would be great :aok:
28-01-2025, 06:20 PM
1-0 Hibs strong run and cross from Cleland leads to OG
28-01-2025, 06:32 PM
2-0 Hibs Clelland. Not playing to his high standards and has a goal and assist
28-01-2025, 06:44 PM
2-0 Hibs Clelland. Not playing to his high standards and has a goal and assist
Nice one 👍
28-01-2025, 06:49 PM
3-0 Clelland great finish from 15 yards
28-01-2025, 06:51 PM
Ht 3-0. Nearly all Hibs.
28-01-2025, 07:21 PM
4-0 Lewis G assist Clelland
28-01-2025, 07:25 PM
Gillie and Cleland have been really productive down the left
28-01-2025, 07:39 PM
5-0 Clelland. Always getting a hatrick tonight
28-01-2025, 07:41 PM
6-0 Clelland
28-01-2025, 08:02 PM
FT 6-0. Younger Utd team were no match
HIBS NUTS
28-01-2025, 08:22 PM
Clelland was unlucky not to score 7 or 8 🤣
28-01-2025, 08:24 PM
Clelland was unlucky not to score 7 or 8 🤣
How many goals does he have for the season? Is there much benefit to him still playing at that level? Without knowing much about him, surprised he’s not out on loan.
HIBS NUTS
28-01-2025, 08:38 PM
How many goals does he have for the season? Is there much benefit to him still playing at that level? Without knowing much about him, surprised he’s not out on loan.
He’s scored a ridiculous amount of goals, I’m sure someone could tell us.
The young guys that have been given a promotion to the main squad, Rubi, Rory, Whittaker, Gillie, and landers last season, are all big lads, Dean is of slight build, probably why he’s still playing under 18.
28-01-2025, 08:45 PM
I love watching him. Pops up everywhere and then out of nowhere he is on the penalty spot stroking the ball in the corner. He must be a nightmare to work out who marks him. You can hear him getting annoyed with himself when he makes a mistake and tonight he was poor to start with and still got a goal. Very good in teh second half where he was involved in everything. Every goal he scores just sees him more energised and looking for more opportunities.
The big question I suppose is how he will do against experienced defenders. Surely we must be nearing the time to find that out with a loan to a team further down the league structure.
28-01-2025, 08:46 PM
He’s scored a ridiculous amount of goals, I’m sure someone could tell us.
The young guys that have been given a promotion to the main squad, Rubi, Rory, Whittaker, Gillie, and landers last season, are all big lads, Dean is of slight build, probably why he’s still playing under 18.
I think Mo said he was up to 23 or 24 goals so far this year.
Under 18 League 2024/25
Team
Pl
W
D
L
GF
GA
GD
Pts
Hibernian
Kilmarnock
Rangers
Aberdeen
St Mirren
Dundee United
Celtic
Motherwell
Queens Park
Hearts
Hamilton Accies
League Table updated 28th January 2025 at 9.30 pm.
29-01-2025, 08:13 AM
Big Mo said to me at the recent cup tie v Clydebank, that the under 18 league will move to an under 19 league next season
Good news for lots of young players, hopefully most will get kept on for another year. As it stands unless they make it to the 1st team squad, there’s no where at Hibs for them to play
HIBS NUTS
29-01-2025, 08:17 AM
Big Mo said to me at the recent cup tie v Clydebank, that the under 18 league will move to an under 19 league next season
Good news for lots of young players, hopefully most will get kept on for another year. As it stands unless they make it to the 1st team squad, there’s no where at Hibs for them to play
That’s brilliant news, as the current squad is one of the strongest I’ve seen, Definitely a few that have a chance.
The goalkeepers distribution was brilliant last night.
HIBS NUTS
29-01-2025, 08:19 AM
I believe josh landers, is away to West Ham, good luck to him, he has loads of potential.
Its not confirmed by the club just yet.
29-01-2025, 04:41 PM
I believe josh landers, is away to West Ham, good luck to him, he has loads of potential.
Big move for the lad if it is confirmed. Is he 18 yet?
Someone told me the average wage for WH academy players is £1k/week. Guessing that is way more than he will be on at Hibs.
Hope it works out for him.
HIBS NUTS
29-01-2025, 06:11 PM
Big move for the lad if it is confirmed. Is he 18 yet?
Someone told me the average wage for WH academy players is £1k/week. Guessing that is way more than he will be on at Hibs.
Hope it works out for him.
Hes 18 in February, and we will probably get a fee for him, from West Ham.
I believe Murray Aiken was about to go down south for a decent fee from Hull?. and I think we were offered a fee from Leeds?, for Murray Johnstone, in the recent years.
Its a gamble for any youngster, some work out, most don’t.
However Josh will get good money for signing on, and much bettter terms.
29-01-2025, 07:10 PM
Hopefully Clelland gets a chance soon
I know people say about needing to bulk up and be strong, if he’s not that type of player then he’s not going to learn how to use his body by continuously using it against players/teams he can score at ease again
Give him a chance or get him out on loan
McKirdy is weak as anything and constantly dives. Clelland wouldnt do any worse
29-01-2025, 07:58 PM
Hopefully Clelland gets a chance soon
I know people say about needing to bulk up and be strong, if he’s not that type of player then he’s not going to learn how to use his body by continuously using it against players/teams he can score at ease again
Give him a chance or get him out on loan
McKirdy is weak as anything and constantly dives. Clelland wouldnt do any worse He looks a good deal stronger than McKirdy and seems more than happy when it gets physical. It would take a bit of time to get used to adult football but he looks a real prospect to me. That whole team is full of decent players
Donegal Hibby
30-01-2025, 10:55 AM
Signed for West Ham….
https://www.standard.co.uk/sport/football/josh-landers-west-ham-signing-b1208082.html
Are we due a development fee ?
HIBS NUTS
30-01-2025, 11:05 AM
Signed for West Ham….
https://www.standard.co.uk/sport/football/josh-landers-west-ham-signing-b1208082.html
He’s been at hibs since 10, has signed a senior contract with us, I would imagine it will be an agreed transfer fee, rather than development fee, but I’m sure others will know better than me.
Hopefully a sell on.
HIBS NUTS
30-01-2025, 11:17 AM
I actually think Dean Clelland has played better after Josh landers was injured, he’s been played more central, and therefor scored a lot more goals, I’ve lost count but something like 24 in 21 games,league and cup, this season, no game on Friday, so I would be disappointed if he didn’t get in the squad for Aberdeen, he’s just scored 4 goals on Tuesday.
He doesn’t need to play.
30-01-2025, 11:30 AM
I actually think Dean Clelland has played better after Josh landers was injured, he’s been played more central, and therefor scored a lot more goals, I’ve lost count but something like 24 in 21 games,league and cup, this season, no game on Friday, so I would be disappointed if he didn’t get in the squad for Aberdeen, he’s just scored 4 goals on Tuesday.
He doesn’t need to play.
Both strikers highly rated and if we can bring in at least one that would be good, disappointed in Landers moving but that's football, you always want to see youth giving the chance, on the flipside if there not getting the chance after performing then can see why they want to move on.
Has to be on the bench for Aberdeen, even if don't get on it's good experience and if we are winning comfortably bring him on for 10 minutes or so.
Great result young lads who have performed much better this season, Big Daz must have a good record as manager of them.
30-01-2025, 12:56 PM
Even if the likes of Cleland aren't in the first team squad Id like to see them starting to train with them one day a week and one or two attending along with the first team on match day, if allowed sat in dugout and warming up ect
30-01-2025, 01:13 PM
Even if the likes of Cleland aren't in the first team squad Id like to see them starting to train with them one day a week and one or two attending along with the first team on match day, if allowed sat in dugout and warming up ect
Maybe they are training with the first team. Would assume certain days or sessions decent young players will be brought in. Gray mentioned Gillie having trained a few times with first team
Fanforlife
30-01-2025, 02:34 PM
Signed for West Ham….
Grandson was speaking to Josh yesterday and the lad hadn't heard anything regarding signing so must have been agreed last night .Here's hoping he doesn't get swallowed up down there Seen him play a lot last season and he definitely has something about him.
30-01-2025, 04:04 PM
Hibs WhatsApp channel just confirmed it, 6 figure fee and a sell on clause.
Donegal Hibby
30-01-2025, 04:09 PM
Grandson was speaking to Josh yesterday and the lad hadn't heard anything regarding signing so must have been agreed last night .Here's hoping he doesn't get swallowed up down there Seen him play a lot last season and he definitely has something about him.
6 figure fee and a sell on clause . Big move for him , wish him all the best …
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2025/january/30/josh-landers-joins-west-ham-united/
30-01-2025, 08:39 PM
Under 18 League 2024/25
Team
Pl
W
D
L
GF
GA
GD
Pts
Hibernian
Kilmarnock
Rangers
Aberdeen
St Mirren
Dundee United
Celtic
Motherwell
Queens Park
Hearts
Hamilton Accies
League Table updated 28th January 2025 at 9.30 pm.
Was reading that Hearts beat Killie 3-1 today.
30-01-2025, 10:09 PM
Strange because he was at West Ham having a medical and signing on the dotted line on Monday.
30-01-2025, 11:55 PM
Strange because he was at West Ham having a medical and signing on the dotted line on Monday.
Maybe he travelled on one of those newfangled modern aeroplane things? I heard it means you can be in two places on the same day, well I never 😁
31-01-2025, 05:40 AM
Presumably not allowed to say anything until the clubs announce it. Apart from telling you obviously. 😂
Fanforlife
31-01-2025, 08:32 AM
Strange because he was at West Ham having a medical and signing on the dotted line on Monday.can only assume the lad was asked to keep quiet about it if indeed that was the case ,however I would find that strange as he and grandson played together for a good while at Hibs so i think I will take my grandson,s say on it rather than yours.
31-01-2025, 09:43 AM
Good luck to Josh. Ideally I would like our youngster to be playing at Easter Road in their next stage of development but it is a decent fee with the security of a sell on if he does make it. Very difficult to stop the EPL clubs cherry picking the best players from elsewhere. All we can do is make sure they pay up and that we have our brightest stars on appropriate contracts. Hopefully Josh makes it big as that will be great for him and us.
31-01-2025, 01:41 PM
can only assume the lad was asked to keep quiet about it if indeed that was the case ,however I would find that strange as he and grandson played together for a good while at Hibs so i think I will take my grandson,s say on it rather than yours.
Not a problem. I know I'm right.
Fanforlife
31-01-2025, 01:51 PM
Not a problem. I know I'm right.
Good for you.
berwickhibee
07-02-2025, 03:00 PM
2-1 win today at Hamilton, 2 late goals win it for Hibs,who were 1-0 down at half time💚
07-02-2025, 03:08 PM
2-1 win today at Hamilton, 2 late goals win it for Hibs,who were 1-0 down at half time💚
Brilliant!
HIBS NUTS
07-02-2025, 05:57 PM
Cleland again 👍
Under 18 League 2024/25
Team
Pl
W
D
L
GF
GA
GD
Pts
Hibernian
Kilmarnock
Rangers
Aberdeen
St Mirren
Queens Park
Hearts
Dundee United
Celtic
Motherwell
Hamilton Accies
League Table updated 7th February 2025 at 10 pm.
HIBS NUTS
08-02-2025, 07:59 AM
Under 18 League 2024/25
Team
Pl
W
D
L
GF
GA
GD
Pts
Hibernian
Kilmarnock
Rangers
Aberdeen
St Mirren
Queens Park
Hearts
Dundee United
Celtic
Motherwell
Hamilton Accies
League Table updated 7th February 2025 at 10 pm.
👍
10-02-2025, 12:22 PM
👍
Doing really well this season with Celtic on Friday atHTC 7:00 pm kick off.
Garymcl
10-02-2025, 01:15 PM
Excellent something to do this Friday night ,cheers for the reminder would be good if we get a big turnout to cheer the young lads on they are doing exceptionally well
HIBS NUTS
10-02-2025, 03:34 PM
Excellent something to do this Friday night ,cheers for the reminder would be good if we get a big turnout to cheer the young lads on they are doing exceptionally well
It’s valentine night 🤔
linlithgowhibbie
11-02-2025, 08:12 AM
It’s valentine night 🤔
Throw flowers on the pitch then!
Paul1642
11-02-2025, 09:18 AM
Cleland again 👍
For those who watch the games, how far is Cleland away from being ready for a loan or a few minutes in the first team on the rare occasion we have a game wrapped up?
My only knowledge of the youth team comes from this forum but he seems like a real goalscorer.
Of course there have been loads who seemed the same in the past only to vanish.
HIBS NUTS
11-02-2025, 02:32 PM
For those who watch the games, how far is Cleland away from being ready for a loan or a few minutes in the first team on the rare occasion we have a game wrapped up?
My only knowledge of the youth team comes from this forum but he seems like a real goalscorer.
Of course there have been loads who seemed the same in the past only to vanish.
He’s scored about 25 goals this season roughly one per game.
All types of goals, from everwere on the pitch, and headers.
However the main difference I think, over previous strikers at this level, is his relentless work rate, he never stops.
He has everything to be a pro player , but his only shortcoming is his slight build, however this doesn’t mean he isn’t competitive.
I believe that the league next season, will be under 19s, next season, which would give a very good team, another year to develop.
It would be great if people who know can confirm this.!
11-02-2025, 03:03 PM
He’s scored about 25 goals this season roughly one per game.
All types of goals, from everwere on the pitch, and headers.
However the main difference I think, over previous strikers at this level, is his relentless work rate, he never stops.
He has everything to be a pro player , but his only shortcoming is his slight build, however this doesn’t mean he isn’t competitive.
I believe that the league next season, will be under 19s, next season, which would give a very good team, another year to develop.
It would be great if people who know can confirm this.!
I've seen him a few times and would agree with everything there. I would also add that he has grit, drive and determination and looks like he hates losing his personal battles. Those are great attributes unless you are put in a position that is beyond your development. I actually think he should have been tested during the Clydebank game just to see how he got on. If we have any close doors games during international breaks I hope he gets plenty minutes too. I think he has outgrown the Development Team and we need to try and get him a loan in the summer. If we had an East of Scotland side that would have been ideal to play in to give him a chance to see what his physical attributes were.
I'd point to James Wilson as a comparable talent. Last night he got shouldered off the ball very easily by a defender but not long after he was very bravely leaping above Gogic to create a very good chance. Wilson is pretty slight too but he makes up for it with courage and determination. I think Deano is like that too but Wilson had the advantage of playing against men for a good period. Deano needs that first imo but I think he may be the one that makes it with teh first team in a year or two
ruthven_raiders
12-02-2025, 05:08 PM
Patrick McPartlin
@p_mcpartlin
·
Feb 11
🇧🇲 Hibs academy defender Logan Jimenez captained and scored for Bermuda in their 3-1 win against Anguilla last night in the 2025 Concacaf U17 qualifiers at the Flora Duffy South Field Stadium (video via Concacaf’s YouTube channel)
From twitter today......
12-02-2025, 08:27 PM
Patrick McPartlin
@p_mcpartlin
·
Feb 11
[emoji1048] Hibs academy defender Logan Jimenez captained and scored for Bermuda in their 3-1 win against Anguilla last night in the 2025 Concacaf U17 qualifiers at the Flora Duffy South Field Stadium (video via Concacaf’s YouTube channel)
From twitter today......
What a name, he has to make it.
HIBS NUTS
13-02-2025, 11:59 AM
What a name, he has to make it.
He scores a lot of goals .👍
14-02-2025, 03:15 PM
https://spfl.co.uk/news/new-co-op-system-and-challenge-cup-format-approv
This looks good, and the clubs have endorsed it
Jock O
14-02-2025, 03:18 PM
https://spfl.co.uk/news/new-co-op-system-and-challenge-cup-format-approv
This looks good, and the clubs have endorsed it
That looks like effectively an U21 league which is what down South do now isn't it, with lots of players plundered from here. That would be a really positive move for players transitioning, although I always wait on the caveats that are put in by Old Firm that make it less positive !
14-02-2025, 03:27 PM
Patrick McPartlin
@p_mcpartlin
·
Feb 11
🇧🇲 Hibs academy defender Logan Jimenez captained and scored for Bermuda in their 3-1 win against Anguilla last night in the 2025 Concacaf U17 qualifiers at the Flora Duffy South Field Stadium (video via Concacaf’s YouTube channel)
From twitter today......
We need to set up a friendly game with his home country.
Donegal Hibby
14-02-2025, 03:43 PM
It’s valentine night 🤔
https://x.com/HibernianFC/status/1890347754779545931?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcam p%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet
14-02-2025, 04:13 PM
That looks like effectively an U21 league which is what down South do now isn't it, with lots of players plundered from here. That would be a really positive move for players transitioning, although I always wait on the caveats that are put in by Old Firm that make it less positive !
It’s not the creation of an U21 league - it looks like it is allowing clubs (Celtic and Hearts essentially) to now freely move players between their first team and B teams. At present there is a limitation on players playing for both.
Jock O
14-02-2025, 04:19 PM
It’s not the creation of an U21 league - it looks like it is allowing clubs (Celtic and Hearts essentially) to now freely move players between their first team and B teams. At present there is a limitation on players playing for both.
Its not just their B teams though is, its if they are loan to lower league club in general based on this,
The Cooperation System provides greater flexibility to the existing domestic loan quotas by enabling players in the key ‘transition phase’ of 16-21, who are eligible to represent the Scotland national teams, to join a lower-league club but be able to move between the parent and cooperation club throughout the season to increase playing time
Should have known it was too good to be true on U21, I missed this first paragraph
A new Challenge Cup format for season 2025/26 has also, after a recommendation from the SPFL Competitions Working Group, been approved by the SPFL Board in a further move to support the progression of the best young players in the country.
The new set-up will include William Hill Premiership B teams in a league phase format, providing more opportunities for youth players aged under 21, as they move from the academy environment to senior football. Further details on next season's competition format, as well as the Cooperation System, will be released in due course.
14-02-2025, 04:35 PM
Patrick McPartlin
@p_mcpartlin
·
Feb 11
From twitter today......
I wonder if Riki Hill , our Bermudan trialist from the 80’s is still on the island.
14-02-2025, 04:55 PM
I read it as all Premiersclubs having a B team in a league format.
Jock O
14-02-2025, 04:58 PM
I read it as all Premiersclubs having a B team in a league format.
I think based on the extract I have put, its only for the Challenge Cup, which seems a bit strange, it also means everyone now has to have a B team, so probably need to retain more players above Youth level, just to play in this.
Not sure if I am getting confused now, or confusing everyone else, as not sure all that makes sense.
ruthven_raiders
14-02-2025, 06:43 PM
I wonder if Riki Hill , our Bermudan trialist from the 80’s is still on the island.
That's a blast from the past!
14-02-2025, 07:08 PM
1-0 at halftime. Cleland of course.
14-02-2025, 07:59 PM
Good to see some changes, are the SFA changing the youth development side of things as well?
For example, England will be changing formats in the 26/27 youth season. U9&10 will participate at 5v5, 11&12 ages will be 7v7, 13&14 ages will be 9v9 and u15 onward at 11v11.
Personally think it'll help improve youth development with more touches, decisions and execution of skill for younger players.
14-02-2025, 08:07 PM
Another win tonight 2-0 Cleland scoring both apparently.
expresso
14-02-2025, 08:13 PM
Another win tonight 2-0 Cleland scoring both apparently.
Will we ever see him in first team squad or will he be scooped by an English team?
HIBS NUTS
14-02-2025, 08:36 PM
Will we ever see him in first team squad or will he be scooped by an English team?
I wasent able to make it tonight, due to romancing the wife.
However Clellands goal scoring is actually becoming ridiculous, When Josh Landers broke his arm in early season, it gave Dean a chance to play more central.
Overall I think he’s a better players than Landers.
Is he out of contract this Summer, because it might be the reason he hasent made the first team squad .
HIBS NUTS
14-02-2025, 09:53 PM
St Johnstone have just lost a 16 year old to Fulham, Brodie Dair, it looks like the EPL. Are hoovering up any possible young talent from Scottish teams, on the cheap.
Under 18 League 2024/25
Team
Pl
W
D
L
GF
GA
GD
Pts
Hibernian
Rangers
Kilmarnock
Aberdeen
St Mirren
Queens Park
Hearts
Dundee United
Motherwell
Celtic
Hamilton Accies
League Table updated 14th February 2025 at 10 pm.
15-02-2025, 08:12 AM
Under 18 League 2024/25
Team
Pl
W
D
L
GF
GA
GD
Pts
Hibernian
Rangers
Kilmarnock
Aberdeen
St Mirren
Queens Park
Hearts
Dundee United
Motherwell
Celtic
Hamilton Accies
League Table updated 14th February 2025 at 10 pm.
Have we still to play Rangers again?
15-02-2025, 08:13 AM
St Johnstone have just lost a 16 year old to Fulham, Brodie Dair, it looks like the EPL. Are hoovering up any possible young talent from Scottish teams, on the cheap.
Quite depressing that
15-02-2025, 09:01 AM
I wasent able to make it tonight, due to romancing the wife.
However Clellands goal scoring is actually becoming ridiculous, When Josh Landers broke his arm in early season, it gave Dean a chance to play more central.
Overall I think he’s a better players than Landers.
Is he out of contract this Summer, because it might be the reason he hasent made the first team squad .
Cleland managed to score twice last night. Did you? :wink:
followhibs
15-02-2025, 09:02 AM
I agree with you however I don't think its all one way. SPL have also got themselves to blame.
If you were a in demand young player at Hibs what evidence in the last 4/5 seasons that there is any progression to our 1st team.
So these young players get offered to go to these massive clubs by all accounts quadruple there deals and play academy U19/U23 football.
Is Landers is a worst position if he goes to West Ham for 3 years and gets EPL training, facilities and money then released at 20 than if he stays at Hibs on lower money, may make the odd 1st team bench then punted out on loan to league 1/2 to get booted about and told its development to real mens football?
Ethan Laidlaw comes up a far bit as in fans saying where is he now? the answer is we don't know how Brentford view him, we just presume because at 20 he's not made the first team he's not made it. Where is the evidence that is any different if they stay at Hibs?
Rudi has played less than 8 games of football this season in terms of minutes on the pitch and started 1 game in 3 months against a team 6 leagues below.
I hope that things are going to change, under Ian Gordon and Kensell they flooded the squad with loanees and free average English Lower League players looking for the quick fix and destroyed any regular pathway to the first team for our young players.
Our league positions over the last 4 seasons and financial accounts show what a roaring success that was.
I watched a fair amount of the U19s games from a few seasons ago won 2 league titles back to back, went on a European run that saw them beat Molde, Nantes and run Dortmund into the final minutes all with a team from the Edinburgh area.
Good luck to these young players.
Have we still to play Rangers again?
The league splits after 20 games (top 6 and bottom 5) and our last game before the split is against QP away and we then play the other 5 teams home and away making a total of 30 games in the season.
Rumble de Thump
15-02-2025, 09:32 AM
I agree with you however I don't think its all one way. SPL have also got themselves to blame.
If you were a in demand young player at Hibs what evidence in the last 4/5 seasons that there is any progression to our 1st team.
So these young players get offered to go to these massive clubs by all accounts quadruple there deals and play academy U19/U23 football.
Is Landers is a worst position if he goes to West Ham for 3 years and gets EPL training, facilities and money then released at 20 than if he stays at Hibs on lower money, may make the odd 1st team bench then punted out on loan to league 1/2 to get booted about and told its development to real mens football?
Ethan Laidlaw comes up a far bit as in fans saying where is he now? the answer is we don't know how Brentford view him, we just presume because at 20 he's not made the first team he's not made it. Where is the evidence that is any different if they stay at Hibs?
Rudi has played less than 8 games of football this season in terms of minutes on the pitch and started 1 game in 3 months against a team 6 leagues below.
I hope that things are going to change, under Ian Gordon and Kensell they flooded the squad with loanees and free average English Lower League players looking for the quick fix and destroyed any regular pathway to the first team for our young players.
Our league positions over the last 4 seasons and financial accounts show what a roaring success that was.
I watched a fair amount of the U19s games from a few seasons ago won 2 league titles back to back, went on a European run that saw them beat Molde, Nantes and run Dortmund into the final minutes all with a team from the Edinburgh area.
Good luck to these young players.
Dean Cleland said: “Rudi Molotnikov has played a lot this year in the First Team, so we can see that there is a way into the First Team; if you can perform at under 18s you will get the chance."
followhibs
15-02-2025, 10:59 AM
Dean Cleland said: “Rudi Molotnikov has played a lot this year in the First Team, so we can see that there is a way into the First Team; if you can perform at under 18s you will get the chance."
I really hope he does get a chance.
I was just offering another angle for why these boys might leave.
At the moment in the last 5 seasons are we saying that Rudi is the only player that we have had in our academy that has a chance for our first team?
I appreciate they all aren't going to make it 1 player in 5 seasons is clear either we can't spot a player(meaning we are signing average youth players) or there has been a lack of opportunity.
As I said in my last post I believe we have had some terrific young players in the past few seasons but have been blocked by terrible recruitment.
15-02-2025, 11:06 AM
Dean Cleland said: “Rudi Molotnikov has played a lot this year in the First Team, so we can see that there is a way into the First Team; if you can perform at under 18s you will get the chance." I imagine even the Dev team get media training. They will only say supportive thing towards the club. No issue with that. I'm not sure what else Deano could do in terms of the Dev Team. For his development he really needs to take a step up. Personally I would have liked to have seen him in the Clydebank game for a half and then a few 15 minute cameos if the game position allowed that. If he is nowhere near the first team then we need to be thinking how he makes a step elsewhere with the hope of him returning to our first team
Rumble de Thump
15-02-2025, 01:06 PM
I really hope he does get a chance.
I was just offering another angle for why these boys might leave.
At the moment in the last 5 seasons are we saying that Rudi is the only player that we have had in our academy that has a chance for our first team?
I appreciate they all aren't going to make it 1 player in 5 seasons is clear either we can't spot a player(meaning we are signing average youth players) or there has been a lack of opportunity.
As I said in my last post I believe we have had some terrific young players in the past few seasons but have been blocked by terrible recruitment.
Not sure I've heard anyone say that. Various players have had opportunities. Rudi has shown he is good enough to at least stay in the senior squad. Others that haven't quite done that have been out on loan at a lower level. They need to hope those teams give them game time, then it's up to them to grab the opportunity, develop and show what they can do. I think Dean turned 17 not that long ago. Depending on how contract situation, hopefully next season will be a good one for him, with us or out on loan. I look forward to seeing him score a hatrick for us in a future Scottish Cup final. I think there are some other youngsters out on loan that could feature in our senior squad next season.
HIBS NUTS
15-02-2025, 03:07 PM
Cleland managed to score twice last night. Did you? :wink:
IM 62 so didn’t get past a throw in.🤣
HIBS NUTS
15-02-2025, 03:15 PM
Is Dean CLELAND out of contract this summer
He signed a pro contract in 2023.
15-02-2025, 08:54 PM
Great result again yesterday and more goals from Dean.
16-02-2025, 09:51 AM
I see that 2 young Hibs lads are in the Scotland u16 squad playing a mini tournament in Cyprus over the next 10 days or so.
Arran McSporran and Ben Vickery are the lads selected.
6 from Celtc, 3 from Hearts (including a Stanley Wilson who sounds like he has come from the 1950's)
HIBS NUTS
16-02-2025, 10:00 AM
I see that 2 young Hibs lads are in the Scotland u16 squad playing a mini tournament in Cyprus over the next 10 days or so.
Arran McSporran and Ben Vickery are the lads selected.
6 from Celtc, 3 from Hearts (including a Stanley Wilson who sounds like he has come from the 1950's)
Mcsporran has played for the under 18s a few times, I think he is a full back.
Ireallywasthere
18-02-2025, 12:36 PM
Lewis Gillie made his Scotland debut for the under 17s this morning in Turkey playing against Austria. Played the full 90
18-02-2025, 04:04 PM
Lewis Gillie made his Scotland debut for the under 17s this morning in Turkey playing against Austria. Played the full 90 Great season for him with a debut and International recognition. Hopefully more to come as he is a strong player
HIBS NUTS
18-02-2025, 04:30 PM
My pal was an observer at the Edinburgh/ Spartans game on Saturday, he said Edinburgh had a cracking little player called Zaid, he didn’t know he was a hibs youth player on loan.
PHeffernan
18-02-2025, 10:18 PM
My pal was an observer at the Edinburgh/ Spartans game on Saturday, he said Edinburgh had a cracking little player called Zaid, he didn’t know he was a hibs youth player on loan.
Zaid is 20 and has just over 3 months left on his contract.
Can't see him being offered another one. Loans to the 3rd and 4th tier this season.
Ex Hibs player Ryan Shanley is 24 now and playing in the same league.
It's arguable he was a better prospect at Hibs.
The truth is it's super tough for a young player to make it as far up the pyramid as Hibs.
That is bourne out by Fraser Murray being the only ex Hibs youngster currently playing in the Scottish top tier.
The dalmeny
19-02-2025, 07:32 AM
Saw Malik at EC last season, definitely one of their better players, very tenacious if a bit slight. Didn't really pick up why his loan to Annan didn't work I suspect they payed less 'football'.
Sure his contract was partly being funded be the Hanlon Stevenson foundation, not sure if that's still a thing, he may be up against it to get an extension.
Saw Malik at EC last season, definitely one of their better players, very tenacious if a bit slight. Didn't really pick up why his loan to Annan didn't work I suspect they payed less 'football'.
Sure his contract was partly being funded be the Hanlon Stevenson foundation, not sure if that's still a thing, he may be up against it to get an extension.
I’ve seen him play at u19 level several times, thought he was creative and hard working, a natural 10. When the youth team played Dortmund, I thought the match changed when he went off, he had been doing a great job of pressing their deeper midfielder and stopping him controlling the game, as soon as Zaid went off, that lad was striding forward time after time with the ball and pushing us back.
As you’ve said, he’s a relatively small and slight lad, would be a bit disappointed to see him released at the end of his contract, but as has been said many times, they Hibs coaches will be seeing him regularly and are much better informed than me.
Rumble de Thump
21-02-2025, 04:05 PM
Hibs Under 18s drew 2-2 away to Queen's Park today.
Under 18 League 2024/25
Team
Pl
W
D
L
GF
GA
GD
Pts
Hibernian
Kilmarnock
Rangers
Aberdeen
St Mirren
Queens Park
Celtic
Hearts
Dundee United
Motherwell
Hamilton Accies
League Table updated 21st February 2025 at 10 pm.
The Rebel
22-02-2025, 07:06 AM
Under 18 League 2024/25
Team
Pl
W
D
L
GF
GA
GD
Pts
Hibernian
Kilmarnock
Rangers
Aberdeen
St Mirren
Queens Park
Celtic
Hearts
Dundee United
Motherwell
Hamilton Accies
League Table updated 21st February 2025 at 10 pm.
Thanks. Anyone know why Rangers and Aberdeen are so far behind on games played?
Remaining Fixtures before split
Mon 24th Feb
St Mirren v Hearts
Tues 25th Feb
Motherwell v Aberdeen
Dundee Utd v Rangers
Fri 28th Feb
Motherwell v Rangers
Queens Park v Dundee Utd
Aberdeen v Celtic
Tues 4th March
Aberdeen v Rangers
Fri 7th March
Aberdeen v Queens Park
Kilmarnock v Dundee Utd
Rangers v Hearts
expresso
22-02-2025, 09:59 AM
Cleland scoring again does he not get selected for any of the Scottish international teams
Under 18 League 2024/25
Team
Pl
W
D
L
GF
GA
GD
Pts
Hibernian
Rangers
Kilmarnock
St Mirren
Aberdeen
Queens Park
Celtic
Motherwell
Hearts
Dundee United
Hamilton Accies
League Table updated 25th February 2025 at 9 pm.
HIBS NUTS
25-02-2025, 09:52 PM
Apparently josh landers scored for West Ham’s under 21/23 team, not bad for a 18 year old.
26-02-2025, 12:49 PM
Apparently josh landers scored for West Ham’s under 21/23 team, not bad for a 18 year old.
Funny, I heard that from someone about an hour ago!
I see he was sub for an under 21 fixture against Reading yesterday so it must have been in another game when he scored.
I was also told that the academy squad get a share of the bonus money when the first team win a game. I think that this is unlikely though!!
HIBS NUTS
26-02-2025, 12:57 PM
Funny, I heard that from someone about an hour ago!
I see he was sub for an under 21 fixture against Reading yesterday so it must have been in another game when he scored.
I was also told that the academy squad get a share of the bonus money when the first team win a game. I think that this is unlikely though!!
Mabye the ones that train with first team squad might get a bonus.
But I would be very surprised.😳
26-02-2025, 03:32 PM
U18s win 4-0 in a friendly against a Leeds utd academy side
andrew70
28-02-2025, 02:57 PM
Motherwell currently beating Rangers 2-0 in u18 league