View Full Version : Hibs Academy/Development Squad 24/25

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

14-09-2024, 10:27 AM
You’d be surprised, last team we played at 9s were kick it forward at all costs. We did lose 5-4 after being 4-1 up so they were delighted.

Win at all costs.

It’s a shame because their midfielders hardly touch the ball. Mental.

It could be argued that watching the ball getting hoofed over their heads then scrapping for second balls is the ideal training for a future Craig Levein midfielder.

Or even our national team when we play Lyndon Dykes up front.

andrew70
14-09-2024, 10:38 AM
It could be argued that watching the ball getting hoofed over their heads then scrapping for second balls is the ideal training for a future Craig Levein midfielder.

Or even our national team when we play Lyndon Dykes up front.

There is that. Anyone who watches the game can see how far away we are but the ones who are in charge, so what chance have we got?

14-09-2024, 10:40 AM
You’d be surprised, last team we played at 9s were kick it forward at all costs. We did lose 5-4 after being 4-1 up so they were delighted.

Win at all costs.

It’s a shame because their midfielders hardly touch the ball. Mental.

I cringe every time I see a juvenile team have a CB taking goal kicks and just hoofing it long because he can kick it further than the keeper.

Obviously part of football is learning to make decisions and sometimes just clearing your lines is the right thing to do. As a default though we should be encouraging players to be brave in tight areas. Being a footballer is such a big part of being a keeper now that not letting them take their own goal kicks is massively stunting the development of a key part of their game.

14-09-2024, 12:16 PM
I cringe every time I see a juvenile team have a CB taking goal kicks and just hoofing it long because he can kick it further than the keeper.

Obviously part of football is learning to make decisions and sometimes just clearing your lines is the right thing to do. As a default though we should be encouraging players to be brave in tight areas. Being a footballer is such a big part of being a keeper now that not letting them take their own goal kicks is massively stunting the development of a key part of their game.

Yes that is depressing as is teams who never play the ball out. What is that teaching young defenders or the team to play through the areas and keep the ball on the deck

andrew70
14-09-2024, 12:43 PM
Yes that is depressing as is teams who never play the ball out. What is that teaching young defenders or the team to play through the areas and keep the ball on the deck

Yes I would rather lose and have my players try pass the ball. It’s the only way they’ll learn.

andrew70
14-09-2024, 12:44 PM

100% mate, there’s ways to learn and win.

14-09-2024, 05:48 PM
It’s why you often see laddies who are bigger and stronger than their peers ‘doing well’ at youth stages, because they just overpower other boys, but as they get older, either the other lads catch up or they get to adults football and suddenly they don’t have any physical advantage any more, and struggle, as they’ve never been encouraged to work on their skills, because coaches are too focused on winning.

17-09-2024, 09:47 AM
Livingston today at HTC in the reserve cup, kick off 14:00.

Would expect one or two first team players to get some minutes.

17-09-2024, 10:22 AM
Livingston today at HTC in the reserve cup, kick off 14:00.

Would expect one or two first team players to get some minutes.

Assume on the grass?

17-09-2024, 10:23 AM
It’s why you often see laddies who are bigger and stronger than their peers ‘doing well’ at youth stages, because they just overpower other boys, but as they get older, either the other lads catch up or they get to adults football and suddenly they don’t have any physical advantage any more, and struggle, as they’ve never been encouraged to work on their skills, because coaches are too focused on winning.

Excellent points

17-09-2024, 10:40 AM
Assume on the grass?

It’s usually on the Astro - most games are. Which is why it’s strange when we complain about having to go away to Killie or Livi and play on the Astro.

17-09-2024, 10:47 AM
My lad gave up playing at a young age because he was the only player in the team who would pass the ball. The coaches trained them to take a touch, look up and pass to a team mate in space. He did.. everyone else either booted it or tried to run the length of the pitch. Depressing.

17-09-2024, 10:51 AM
Maybe get an indication of who’s been “frozen out” today with who’s playing and who isn’t

17-09-2024, 11:04 AM
My lad gave up playing at a young age because he was the only player in the team who would pass the ball. The coaches trained them to take a touch, look up and pass to a team mate in space. He did.. everyone else either booted it or tried to run the length of the pitch. Depressing.

It’s tough isn’t it? I keep on at mine to do the right thing but it often feels/looks like you’re rewarded for being greedy. They must grow out of that at some stage?

Could explain the lack of players that come through the system though?

17-09-2024, 11:45 AM
It’s usually on the Astro - most games are. Which is why it’s strange when we complain about having to go away to Killie or Livi and play on the Astro.

Yes don’t really understand that particularly at this time of year. Could get it if weather poor and grass likely to be postponed not on a sunny day

17-09-2024, 11:46 AM

Did he go to another team?

17-09-2024, 12:26 PM
Maybe get an indication of who’s been “frozen out” today with who’s playing and who isn’t

I think so. Expect the midfield to consist of a lot of frozen out players.

17-09-2024, 01:09 PM
Belgium and Croatia play 1v1 and 2v2 up to the age of about 8.

It's no surprise that their players are comfy dribbling and on the ball.

We however go straight into 4v4, then 5v5.

The entire set up of Scottish youth football is wrong and 95% of the coaches are more interested in their win/loss % than developing players.
I've said it before that Andy Roxburgh was stating 40 years ago that Scottish coaching methods would bring our game down and he got laughed out of the building. I doubt he takes any satisfaction from being proved correct.

Rumble de Thump
17-09-2024, 01:21 PM
This thread was very briefly threatening to get back on topic. If we could please keep this one for updates on the Hibs Academy and Development Team that would be great. It was a good source of info for those interested last season.

17-09-2024, 01:22 PM
This thread was very briefly threatening to get back on topic. If we could please keep this one for updates on the Hibs Academy and Development Team that would be great. It was a good source of info for those interested last season.

Any team news Rumble

17-09-2024, 01:28 PM
What’s the crowd like? Is it on the astro?

1875Sean
17-09-2024, 02:15 PM
Seen online that Boruc, Doyle-Hayes, Malik, Amos, Kenneth are starting1-0 down at halftime

HIBS NUTS
17-09-2024, 02:28 PM
Seen online that Boruc, Doyle-Hayes, Malik, Amos, Kenneth are starting1-0 down at halftime
That doesn’t bode well, for them making an impact in the first team. 😳

17-09-2024, 02:29 PM
That doesn’t bode well, for them making an impact in the first team. 😳

Doesn’t bode well on the development of our players that the frozen out guys are being picked ahead of them.

17-09-2024, 02:41 PM
Doesn’t bode well on the development of our players that the frozen out guys are being picked ahead of them.

Easier to move more of them on in Jan if they have some degree of match fitness. We have a duty of care to them as well.

17-09-2024, 03:01 PM
Easier to move more of them on in Jan if they have some degree of match fitness. We have a duty of care to them as well.

I’m not sure I want the development of the youth team to be hindered by players we want rid off. I get that if they’ve played they might be more wanted but I wonder how much of a difference it really makes.

Meanwhile we have laddies kicking their heels.

17-09-2024, 03:02 PM
I’m not sure I want the development of the youth team to be hindered by players we want rid off. I get that if they’ve played they might be more wanted but I wonder how much of a difference it really makes.

Meanwhile we have laddies kicking their heels.

It’s a reserve team fixture not a youth team fixture.

17-09-2024, 03:05 PM
It’s a reserve team fixture not a youth team fixture.

Even more reason for the academy guys to be playing? We’re always told they need to be toughened up so reserve team is an ideal start?

17-09-2024, 03:09 PM
FT @ HTC
@HibernianFC Res 1 @LiviFCOfficial Res 1.
Malik equalised on 56'. Livi more in it in 2nd half. Pen shoot outfit bonus point. Hibs won 3-1.

Edit: Taken from Maurice Dougan's twitter feed

17-09-2024, 03:11 PM
Even more reason for the academy guys to be playing? We’re always told they need to be toughened up so reserve team is an ideal start?

They have a game on Friday

17-09-2024, 03:14 PM
They have a game on Friday

👍🏼

17-09-2024, 04:31 PM

To be fair there aren’t many players now at Hibs between the under 18’s and 1st team
Most out on loan

17-09-2024, 04:34 PM
To be fair there aren’t many players now at Hibs between the under 18’s and 1st team
Most out on loan

Yeah that’s true. We’ve got ourselves in a real mess with that squad.

17-09-2024, 06:54 PM

I take it these are the midfielders spoken about not moving on.

jingler1954
18-09-2024, 04:40 AM
What’s the crowd like? Is it on the astro?

Grass, very few.

20-09-2024, 03:38 PM
How is young Jacob McIntyre looking? Seems to be very highly rated.

Any other young lads look promising?

HIBS NUTS
20-09-2024, 05:38 PM
How is young Jacob McIntyre looking? Seems to be very highly rated.

Any other young lads look promising?
He’s just back from injury, played 60 minutes against gala, beautiful balanced player, attacking midfielder.
he will go out on loan soon, I think.

HIBS NUTS
20-09-2024, 06:05 PM
HIBS 2-0 Dundee ht
Clelland 2 goals

20-09-2024, 06:56 PM
HIBS 2-0 Dundee ht
Clelland 2 goals

What was the FT?

Clelland is a goal machine at this level, any idea when Landers back?

Big Daz future Hibs manager!

HIBS NUTS
20-09-2024, 07:04 PM
2-0 when I left with 2 minutes to go

HIBS NUTS
20-09-2024, 09:41 PM
What was the FT?

Clelland is a goal machine at this level, any idea when Landers back?

Big Daz future Hibs manager!
I don’t think I’ve been to under 18 game, this season we’re Dean Clelland hasn't scored.

20-09-2024, 11:37 PM
HIBS 2-0 Dundee ht
Clelland 2 goals

That lad knows where the back of the net is. Been a while since we produced a goal scorer, let’s hope he can make an impact on the first team squad in years to come.

HIBS NUTS
21-09-2024, 07:40 AM
With Josh landers been out, I don’t think he will be loaned out, talented lad, just not big
enough yet for first team squad .

HIBS NUTS
27-09-2024, 04:01 PM
I take it the Hamilton home game is on at HTC tonight at 6

HIBS NUTS
27-09-2024, 05:50 PM
HT Hibs 1hamilton 0

HIBS NUTS
27-09-2024, 06:58 PM
FT HIBS 3 HAMILTON 0
Dean Clelland continues to score goals
hibs remain unbeaten in the league

27-09-2024, 10:53 PM
Updated league table

Under 18 League 2024/25
Team Pl W D L GF GA GD Pts
Kilmarnock8 5 2 1 20 12 8 17
Hibernian 7 4 3 0 16 8 8 15
Rangers 6 4 1 1 14 7 7 13
Dundee U 7 4 1 2 22 16 6 13
Aberdeen 7 4 0 3 17 13 4 12
St Mirren 7 3 1 3 17 9 8 10
Celtic 8 2 2 4 17 19 -2 8
Hearts 6 2 1 3 13 20 -7 7
Motwell 7 2 0 5 6 18 -12 6
Hamiltn A 8 2 0 6 8 22 -14 6
Queens P 7 1 1 5 16 22 -6 4

28-09-2024, 07:29 PM
Great result again for the young lads.

HIBS NUTS
30-09-2024, 05:38 PM
Jacob McIntyre has joined Kelly hearts on loan, he had 3 choices, and joined the team that he is most likely get game time.
Fantastic talent, great balance, and a player that could definitely be a future star.
good luck Jacob.

30-09-2024, 05:59 PM
Jacob McIntyre has joined Kelly hearts on loan, he had 3 choices, and joined the team that he is most likely get game time.
Fantastic talent, great balance, and a player that could definitely be a future star.
good luck Jacob.

Do you know who the other clubs were?

HIBS NUTS
30-09-2024, 06:01 PM
Do you know who the other clubs were?
All fife championship clubs

01-10-2024, 09:50 PM
That's good for Jacob, some first team football up to January and then see what the plan is.

Away to Dunfermline in the youth cup.

Garymcl
02-10-2024, 10:34 AM
Nice wee drive just over the bridge where about is the park in rosytb

02-10-2024, 04:25 PM
Murray Johnson called up again to the Scotland U21's squad for upcoming games against Belgium and Kazakhstan

HIBS NUTS
02-10-2024, 05:01 PM
Murray Johnson called up again to the Scotland U21's squad for upcoming games against Belgium and Kazakhstan
MJ has started all the games for Airdrie in the league, but they are really struggling in the league.
Tremendous young prospect, but hopefully his team, can pick up their form.
great that he is involved in Scotland set up.

02-10-2024, 05:49 PM
MJ has started all the games for Airdrie in the league, but they are really struggling in the league.

yeah was just having a look at the Airdrie line-up's so far :agree:is he loaned for the season ?

02-10-2024, 07:02 PM

I'd be relaxed about Airdrie struggling since he's a goalkeeper so having plenty to do will help his development.

HIBS NUTS
02-10-2024, 07:28 PM
yeah was just having a look at the Airdrie line-up's so far :agree:is he loaned for the season ?
Pretty sure it’s a season long loan.

04-10-2024, 03:11 PM
Away to celtic tonight 7pm kick off.

The dalmeny
04-10-2024, 04:31 PM

Should be first.choice too, picking two other keepers, one benching for ict the other just playing Diddy friendlies is confusing to say the least

04-10-2024, 06:36 PM
Away to celtic tonight 7pm kick off.

Any latest score?

berwickhibee
04-10-2024, 07:40 PM
0-0 at half time

berwickhibee
04-10-2024, 08:07 PM
3-0 win for Hibs💚

04-10-2024, 08:25 PM
3-0 win for Hibs💚

Cracking result :thumbsup:

Garymcl
04-10-2024, 08:31 PM
What a result go on the young team futures bright ,futures green and white

04-10-2024, 09:03 PM
Cracking result again for the young lads, another win under big Daz's belt.

04-10-2024, 11:25 PM
I had a feeling during pre season that this bunch of players had the makings of a good side. Solid and technical.

ruthven_raiders
05-10-2024, 07:15 AM
I'd be relaxed about Airdrie struggling since he's a goalkeeper so having plenty to do will help his development.

Exactly this, must come back and have a chance of competing for no 1 spot, Bursik if he continues to improve might end up elsewhere at the end of the season, since he's just here on loan. I guess it's not a loan then buy option.

HIBS NUTS
05-10-2024, 09:39 AM
I had a feeling during pre season that this bunch of players had the makings of a good side. Solid and technical.
Absolutely outstanding result
still unbeaten, and without Josh landers for months.

HIBS NUTS
05-10-2024, 10:13 AM
Absolutely outstanding result
still unbeaten, and without Josh landers for months.
Dean Clelland scored another 2, he’s got a crazy scoring record.
Interesting that Rory Whittaker was playing, and not for Spartans, I wonder if he has been recalled, through lack of game time, at Spartans.?

05-10-2024, 10:28 AM
Dean Clelland scored another 2, he’s got a crazy scoring record.
Interesting that Rory Whittaker was playing, and not for Spartans, I wonder if he has been recalled, through lack of game time, at Spartans.?

His dad wasn't happy that he went on with 2 minutes to play last week, going by his tweet.

HIBS NUTS
05-10-2024, 10:43 AM
His dad wasn't happy that he went on with 2 minutes to play last week, going by his tweet.
Really important that the team they go to on loan, gives them a chance.
Rudi never really got a chance, at Stirling, now he’s playing for hibs first team.😳

09-10-2024, 07:54 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2024/october/09/dean-cleland-on-unbeaten-start-with-u18s---scoring-goals-for-fun/

Is it cleland or Clelland?

The wee Hibees are back in action this weekend as they take on Dunfermline in the Third Round of the Scottish Youth Cup!

09-10-2024, 07:57 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-kids-dark-arts-cup-winning-star-victories-youth-development-4817329

Big Daz article.

09-10-2024, 08:57 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-kids-dark-arts-cup-winning-star-victories-youth-development-4817329

Big Daz article.

Get big Daz to pass on his dark arts ways of winning matches to the first team squad!

HIBS NUTS
11-10-2024, 10:54 AM
For all those bored with international football like me, the unbeaten under 18s are playing Dunfermline in the SC tonight, at Dunfermline training ground.
7.30 KO

11-10-2024, 11:02 AM
Get big Daz to pass on his dark arts ways of winning matches to the first team squad!

Lee Johnson’s vocabulary certainly rubbed off on Daz. I see he’s coming out with the footballing IQ stuff.

I like that he’s drumming the need to win into them. Winning is a massive part of football.

11-10-2024, 11:28 AM
For all those bored with international football like me, the unbeaten under 18s are playing Dunfermline in the SC tonight, at Dunfermline training ground.
7.30 KO

I believe it’s at the Roysth training ground

HIBS NUTS
11-10-2024, 11:41 AM
8 Castle Rd, Rosyth, Dunfermline KY11 2HT

andrew70
11-10-2024, 01:32 PM
I believe it’s at the Roysth training ground

Dunfermline’s training ground in Rosyth aye.

berwickhibee
11-10-2024, 05:21 PM
I see Partick thistle beat rangers today in the youth cup

HIBS NUTS
11-10-2024, 07:28 PM
HT 0-0
rough game

berwickhibee
11-10-2024, 07:43 PM
1-0 dunfermline

11-10-2024, 08:14 PM
1-1.

HIBS NUTS
11-10-2024, 08:34 PM
Hibs 5-3 on penalties

11-10-2024, 08:36 PM
Well done the young team.

11-10-2024, 08:52 PM
Hibs 5-3 on penalties

4-3 ?

anyway, well done the young dudes

HIBS NUTS
11-10-2024, 09:27 PM
👍
absolute homer of a ref , really bad.

11-10-2024, 10:11 PM
Well done boys.

11-10-2024, 10:58 PM
This is a very highly rated Hibs team. Should go far in the youth cup

HibeeMackenzie
13-10-2024, 12:42 AM
Josh oconnor been released back to hibs from his Irish team after one appearance apparently

13-10-2024, 09:16 AM
Josh oconnor been released back to hibs from his Irish team after one appearance apparently Doesn't look like it is going to happen for Josh at Hibs. He hasn't played a huge deal of football in the last few seasons so needs to find his level and work from there.

13-10-2024, 11:38 AM
Josh oconnor been released back to hibs from his Irish team after one appearance apparently

Does this leave him in football wilderness until the Jan window?

HIBS NUTS
13-10-2024, 02:24 PM
Does this leave him in football wilderness until the Jan window?
Aye he’s been seen uptown, with a few of the other kids.😳

16-10-2024, 03:11 PM
Has the draw been made yet for the next round?

18-10-2024, 05:04 PM
Berwick Rangers are excited to announce the capture of talented youngster Owen Calder, in a loan deal from Hibernian until 5 January 2025.

The 17 year-old is a left-sided player, who featured for the Hibs first team in pre-season. He has featured regularly for the Leith side’s Under 18 team for the past 2 seasons, and started at left back in the Hibs B side that was beaten on penalties by Albion Rovers in the SPFL Trust Trophy in July.

All at Berwick Rangers would like to thank Hibernian for their collaboration in bringing Owen to MKM Shielfield Park!

22-10-2024, 01:02 PM
A Hibs XI are playing Tranent on Thursday night at Foresters Park, 730pm kick off.

HIBS NUTS
22-10-2024, 05:24 PM
A Hibs XI are playing Tranent on Thursday night at Foresters Park, 730pm kick off.
Looking forward to it, I haven’t seen them beat this season, and the game is 2 miles away, very tough game for the young kids.

23-10-2024, 06:06 AM
Thursday night’s game no longer going ahead

23-10-2024, 10:48 AM
Thursday night’s game no longer going ahead

Yeah game is off. Hibs called it off citing too many injuries.

23-10-2024, 12:21 PM
Ross county at home in the 4th round of the cup, Friday 22nd November.

HIBS NUTS
01-11-2024, 01:08 PM
Under 18 tonight 6pm At HTC
Queens park
Will Dean Clelland score again.
Im beginning to think, I would much rather he was on the first team bench , than McKirdy, they are probably about the same size.
though he’s only 16/17 year old

01-11-2024, 05:53 PM
Anyone at the game who can give us the latest score / updates

HIBS NUTS
01-11-2024, 05:58 PM
Anyone at the game who can give us the latest score / updates
HT HIBS 2 Queen’s Park 0
jamie McMurdo both goals
queens early red card

01-11-2024, 06:12 PM
HT HIBS 2 Queen’s Park 0
jamie McMurdo both goals
queens early red card

Thanks

HIBS NUTS
01-11-2024, 06:59 PM
FT HIBS 2 queens 0

01-11-2024, 07:26 PM
Under 18 tonight 6pm At HTC
Queens park
Will Dean Clelland score again.
Im beginning to think, I would much rather he was on the first team bench , than McKirdy, they are probably about the same size.
though he’s only 16/17 year old

What type of player is Dean ?

Quick ?
Physical ?
Finisher (Cummings type?)

Someone mentioned he works hard defending from the front ? Sounds ideal for us.

HIBS NUTS
01-11-2024, 07:31 PM
What type of player is Dean ?

Quick ?
Physical ?
Finisher (Cummings type?)

Someone mentioned he works hard defending from the front ? Sounds ideal for us.
He’s slight, his pace is aright, he’s a very good finisher, usually in the box.
But what a work rate, tonight was not his best game, but for 90 minutes he ran and ran.
The under 18s always play one up front, so it’s a very hard task.

HIBS NUTS
01-11-2024, 07:41 PM
I must admit, it’s getting frustrating watching the hibs under 18,s, regularly being the best young team in Scotland, almost every year, a year ago competing, with and beating some of Europe’s biggest clubs, and yet, not producing players for the first team.
For me the placement of players after the under 18s finish, isn’t correct.
They are sent to senior teams, who don’t play them, and they lose interest.
Edinburgh city, had absolutely no players, or money at the start of the season, surely that was an opportunity to loan them youth players.

andrew70
01-11-2024, 08:00 PM
I must admit, it’s getting frustrating watching the hibs under 18,s, regularly being the best young team in Scotland, almost every year, a year ago competing, with and beating some of Europe’s biggest clubs, and yet, not producing players for the first team.
For me the placement of players after the under 18s finish, isn’t correct.
They are sent to senior teams, who don’t play them, and they lose interest.
Edinburgh city, had absolutely no players, or money at the start of the season, surely that was an opportunity to loan them youth players.

Eddie May fell out with Edinburgh City though.

The 18s are extremely young too, not going to send them on loan too early.

Problem is the lack of a reserve league. It should be imperative for Premiership sides. Fixtures mirroring the first team on a Tuesday.

HIBS NUTS
01-11-2024, 08:06 PM
Eddie May fell out with Edinburgh City though.

The 18s are extremely young too, not going to send them on loan too early.

Problem is the lack of a reserve league. It should be imperative for Premiership sides. Fixtures mirroring the first team on a Tuesday.
I’m not particularly talking about the current set of players, as most of them can still play for another season under 18.
But all the others, who went on loan.
Apart from MEGWA, none of the very good team look like making it, at hibs.
Murray Johnstone has a chance, and is at least getting games.

HIBS NUTS
01-11-2024, 08:08 PM
I’m not particularly talking about the current set of players, as most of them can still play for another season under 18.
I think Edinburgh city, have totally changed back room , since may fell out with them.

andrew70
01-11-2024, 08:19 PM

Johnson will be our number one next season.

O’Connor will be gone soon also. Jacob Mac will make it, no doubt about that. Malik Zaid is on a good loan as is Murray Aiken (who has a real chance). Landers and Cleland still playing 18s, Landers was meant to be on loan but broke his arm.

Most of the others are either on their loans with obligations or released.

So I make that 7 players with a good chance of progression at the club, not bad out of a squad that also featured Rudi.

HIBS NUTS
01-11-2024, 08:28 PM

O’Connor will be gone soon also. Jacob Mac will make it, no doubt about that. Malik Zaid is on a good loan as is Murray Aiken (who has a real chance). Landers and Cleland still playing 18s, Landers was meant to be on loan but broke his arm.

So I make that 7 players with a good chance of progression at the club, not bad out of a squad that also featured Rudi.
As I said MJ and Megwa , definitely have a good chance , Jacob Mc , is a fabulous talent, but I’ve noticed he hasn’t played for Kelly recently, hopefully he’s not injured.
Zaid is decent, and Oscar mc has a chance.
Josh landers has been out for a very long time, for a broken arm, it must have been a bad one. 👍

02-11-2024, 07:55 AM
Hibs don't give youth a chance, most clubs do but Hibs don't. Give me Jacob and Deano before Amos and McKirdy any day of the week at a fraction of the price.

HIBS NUTS
02-11-2024, 09:02 AM
Hibs don't give youth a chance, most clubs do but Hibs don't. Give me Jacob and Deano before Amos and McKirdy any day of the week at a fraction of the price.
I actually forgot Amos existed, no sign of Kenneth.
We effectively don’t have a reserve team now, what are these guys doing, they aren’t on loan.😳

02-11-2024, 09:23 AM
I actually forgot Amos existed, no sign of Kenneth.
We effectively don’t have a reserve team now, what are these guys doing, they aren’t on loan.😳

We’ve got a reserve cup game on Tuesday v Hamilton😀
2pm at HTC

Wonder who will play?

Hibs4185
02-11-2024, 09:52 AM
It was worrying the amount of youngsters that hearts brought on last week.

Don’t know any of them but the commentator kept saying they were highly rated. Obviously one of them scored.

Are we falling behind them in terms of youngsters?

21May16
02-11-2024, 10:07 AM

No chance Johnson is our number one next season unless we go down. Even then it would be stupid.

Saying that we do stupid a lot so you could be right.

02-11-2024, 10:34 AM
No chance Johnson is our number one next season unless we go down. Even then it would be stupid.

Have you seen him play often? Intrigued how you could possibly know this.

HIBS NUTS
02-11-2024, 10:39 AM
Have you seen him play often? Intrigued how you could possibly know this.
I’ve seen him play, and he’s exceptional for his age, however pitching him in next season as our number one, is an ask.
Hes certainly getting plenty of game time, and action at Airdrie this season.
However I’ve not heard of any updates, from Airdrie fans..?

andrew70
02-11-2024, 10:59 AM

The loan to Airdrie and Bursik’s subsequent one year loan tells me differently.

Primed to be our number one. Succession planning.

He’s more than good enough too.

I agree with Brooster though, would accept performances had we had youth players bedding in but I have to say Jacob Mac would offer us a whole lot more.

Bridge hibs
02-11-2024, 11:37 AM
It was worrying the amount of youngsters that hearts brought on last week.

Don’t know any of them but the commentator kept saying they were highly rated. Obviously one of them scored.

Are we falling behind them in terms of youngsters?Worrying the amount of youngsters hearts brought on ? They brought a whole 2 on whereas we didnt bring our 1 on. Unless you are counting James Forrest and Barry McKay as youngsters 😀

04-11-2024, 05:58 PM
Busy week with

Dev squad vs Hamilton Tuesday at HTC at 14:00 then 18's continue their unbeaten start away to St Mirren Friday 14:00.

Not sure if Levitt or Campbell will be involved tomorrow as they've not played much football recently, would expect maybe JDH and Mckirdy.

HIBS NUTS
05-11-2024, 01:08 PM
Sunny day
very very strong squad

05-11-2024, 01:09 PM
Sunny day
very very strong squad

Line up? Don't see anything on Hibs twitter.

andrew70
05-11-2024, 01:15 PM
Line up? Don't see anything on Hibs twitter.

Boruc, Whittaker, Kenneh, McGrath, Gillie, NMW, JDH, Levitt, Rudi, Cleland, Campbell

andrew70
05-11-2024, 01:17 PM
I love the left back Gillie. Tenacious.

05-11-2024, 01:22 PM
Boruc, Whittaker, Kenneh, McGrath, Gillie, NMW, JDH, Levitt, Rudi, Cleland, Campbell

That team would beat our first team!

05-11-2024, 01:25 PM
One up through Cleland I believe.

HIBS NUTS
05-11-2024, 01:51 PM
HT
2-0
up
clelland and rudi

05-11-2024, 01:56 PM
One up through Cleland I believe.

This lad scores for fun, we could do with a goal scorer coming through the ranks. We seem to have had plenty young strikers showing promise who then disappear without a trace.

05-11-2024, 02:04 PM
This lad scores for fun, we could do with a goal scorer coming through the ranks. We seem to have had plenty young strikers showing promise who then disappear without a trace.

From what the guys who watch these teams say he might need to grow a bit more for first team football fingers crossed.

05-11-2024, 02:18 PM
Red card for Kenneh.

05-11-2024, 02:30 PM
How far is Cleland from the first team? Am I right in saying he’s very small?

Does he play upfront as a 9 or does he have a strike partner?

05-11-2024, 02:44 PM
How far is Cleland from the first team? Am I right in saying he’s very small?

Does he play upfront as a 9 or does he have a strike partner?

He isn't very small now, he's shot up over the last year. He'd score more goals than our current centre forward, I'm sure of that.

05-11-2024, 02:48 PM
He isn't very small now, he's shot up over the last year. He'd score more goals than our current centre forward, I'm sure of that.

If ever there was a time it's Saturday.

05-11-2024, 03:03 PM

Huge jump in standard. Hope he does

HIBS NUTS
05-11-2024, 03:20 PM
Really enjoyed the game today, fast and furious.
Lots of first team players, and I thought JDH,, done particularly well from the experienced players.
Mcgrath is a very good centre half, for a youngster, and Dean Clelland put his Usaul shift in, and scored as usaul.
Stand out for me however, was Malik Zaid, he came on when we were down to 10 men, and was fantastic.
Boruc in goals was very loud, and pulled off some very good saves.

05-11-2024, 03:59 PM
Really enjoyed the game today, fast and furious.
Lots of first team players, and I thought JDH,, done particularly well from the experienced players.
Mcgrath is a very good centre half, for a youngster, and Dean Clelland put his Usaul shift in, and scored as usaul.
Stand out for me however, was Malik Zaid, he came on when we were down to 10 men, and was fantastic.
Boruc in goals was very loud, and pulled off some very good saves.

What was the final score?

HIBS NUTS
05-11-2024, 04:02 PM
What was the final score?
2-0 hibs
We done well with 10 men

05-11-2024, 04:07 PM
2-0 hibs
We done well with 10 men

👍🇳🇬

05-11-2024, 04:10 PM
2-0 hibs
We done well with 10 men

We’re getting used to playing with 10 men now

HIBS NUTS
05-11-2024, 04:28 PM
We’re getting used to playing with 10 men now
He should have got a red card in the first half. 😳

05-11-2024, 05:24 PM
Red card for Kenneh.
Didn't even realise he still played for us.

HIBS NUTS
05-11-2024, 05:28 PM
Didn't even realise he still played for us.
Effectively he doesn’t.

leith lynx
05-11-2024, 07:49 PM
Red card for Kenneh.

That's him out for Saturday then, oh well!

big-mo
06-11-2024, 12:37 PM

Different competition, so no, but unlikely to ever be in contentions.

06-11-2024, 01:42 PM
Both Cleland and Landers seem to score for fun at this level, wait till Friday to see the 18's team to maybe give an indication on if Dean will be in this weekends squad.

HIBS NUTS
06-11-2024, 03:50 PM
He doesn’t even train with first team now .
Remenber Amos you won’t see him either.

HIBS NUTS
08-11-2024, 12:24 PM
Hibs playing at Mirren tonight in under 18s
It will be interesting to see if Dean Clelland features , he might get a squad place, tomorrow, due to us having very limited options up front.

Back Lounge
08-11-2024, 12:47 PM
Hibs playing at Mirren tonight in under 18s
It will be interesting to see if Dean Clelland features , he might get a squad place, tomorrow, due to us having very limited options up front.

Clelland in starting line up. Game starts at 2.00

08-11-2024, 02:52 PM
Any update?

HIBS NUTS
08-11-2024, 02:54 PM
any update?
ht 0-0

08-11-2024, 02:55 PM
Any update?

HT @ Ralston
@StMirrenAcad 0 @HibernianFC U18s 0.
Very even game with half chances for both sides but a very stop/start encounter.

This was Maurice's last update

MartinfaePorty
08-11-2024, 03:23 PM
From his last update, we lost 2-1: 'In a very even game, Deano gave Hibs the lead on 32, but Saints equalised on 37 and got the winner on 42.
The Hibs unbeaten run had to come to and at some point but disappointing to lose this one.'

big-mo
09-11-2024, 11:47 AM
From his last update, we lost 2-1: 'In a very even game, Deano gave Hibs the lead on 32, but Saints equalised on 37 and got the winner on 42.
The Hibs unbeaten run had to come to and at some point but disappointing to lose this one.'
These times were minutes into second half, so 77’, 82 and 88’.

it was a very scrappy game with a lots of minor fouls, but this was Saints tactics just to break up the flow of the game and not allow Hibs to play their normal game. Also they have the minimum size pitch, so that also went against us. Very disappointing to end our unbeaten run.
Onto the game against Aberdeen next week at HTC with a 2pm k/o.
btw the next reserve cup game against Queens Park was due to be played on the 26th but this would be the same day as the first team against Aberdeen, so it has been put back until December. Also the Youth Cup game against Ross County will be played at HTC on the 22nd Nov with a 6 pm ko, this will not be an easy game as County have a very good U18s side.

09-11-2024, 11:58 AM

it was a very scrappy game with a lots of minor fouls, but this was Saints tactics just to break up the flow of the game and not allow Hibs to play their normal game. Also they have the minimum size pitch, so that also went against us. Very disappointing to end our unbeaten run.
btw the next reserve cup game against Queens Park was due to be played on the 26th but this would be the same day as the first team against Aberdeen, so it has been put back until December. Also the Youth Cup game against Ross County will be played at HTC on the 22nd Nov with a 6 pm ko, this will not be an easy game as County have a very good U18s side.

What day is the Aberdeen game with the 2pm kick off?

big-mo
13-11-2024, 07:22 AM
What day is the Aberdeen game with the 2pm kick off?

Friday the 15th, 2pm on the 3G, free entry as usual. This should be a tough game for Hibs, always is against the Dons. They have been on a good run of their own.

HIBS NUTS
13-11-2024, 09:04 AM
Friday the 15th, 2pm on the 3G, free entry as usual. This should be a tough game for Hibs, always is against the Dons. They have been on a good run of their own.
I will be along, unfortunately it looks like it might be very windy, which isn’t helpful on astroturf.

Houston7
13-11-2024, 02:02 PM
I will be along, unfortunately it looks like it might be very windy, which isn’t helpful on astroturf.

Going off at a tangent, Scotland U19s kicking off v Wales about now & I think Rudi starts.

There is a Live Stream on Football Scotland.

HIBS NUTS
13-11-2024, 03:04 PM
Going off at a tangent, Scotland U19s kicking off v Wales about now & I think Rudi starts.

There is a Live Stream on Football Scotland.
He’s been decent first half 👍

plhibs
13-11-2024, 03:14 PM
What is happening with O'connor these days ?

HIBS NUTS
13-11-2024, 03:43 PM
Rudi MOLOTNIKOV Played really well for the 85 minutes he was on .

HIBS NUTS
13-11-2024, 03:52 PM
He was loaned out to Dundalk , played one game, got a yellow card, then was released

13-11-2024, 04:40 PM

I suspect he’d better be looking for an alternative career outside football as it’s likely he’ll need to drop down to part-time after his existing contract ends. Perhaps dropping down to league 2/lowland league will give him regular game minutes and take his chances that way🤔

plhibs
13-11-2024, 05:00 PM
Thanks guys, i knew he was returned to us but just thinking at one time he was quite highly thought of, a couple of years ago i suppose.

Thought Rudi played well today but thought the boy Cummings would have been on sooner, 20 goals for Celtic B team, i think thats what they said.

HIBS NUTS
13-11-2024, 07:03 PM
Thanks guys, i knew he was returned to us but just thinking at one time he was quite highly thought of, a couple of years ago i suppose.

Thought Rudi played well today but thought the boy Cummings would have been on sooner, 20 goals for Celtic B team, i think thats what they said.
We sold Conner young to rangers for 50,000 when he was , 18, it didn’t work out for him, he went to Clyde who were terrible.
But I believe he’s doing well with Edinburgh city.
Thats very unusual now, most teenagers just give up, when released, or quickly lose their fitness and interest in the sport, I think that’s the main difference between Scotland and continental countries.
Our talented youngsters are lost to our drinking culture.

The dalmeny
13-11-2024, 07:41 PM
We sold Conner young to rangers for 50,000 when he was , 18, it didn’t work out for him, he went to Clyde who were terrible.
Thats very unusual now, most teenagers just give up, when released, or quickly lose their fitness and interest in the sport, I think that’s the main difference between Scotland and continental countries.

Connor is top goalscorer in L2. He left hibs because we told him he wasn't getting a new contract and moved to rangers while he was still under contract hence the fee.

Not sure he really settled at Rangers, partly i belive because he came from us.

I watched City a few times last season and it was a bit hit and miss after the majority of the team left. That said Mcindoe seems a focused driven manager if Young gets on with him, and it appears so, it should really bring him on.

13-11-2024, 07:51 PM

Sadly nothing new in that last sentence. Hundreds of very talented Scottish guys pissed their football careers up against a wall going back many years.

13-11-2024, 08:37 PM

Is the Youth Cup game free for anyone to turn up and watch?

HIBS NUTS
13-11-2024, 08:38 PM
Is the Youth Cup game free for anyone to turn up and watch?
Yes

13-11-2024, 08:54 PM
Yes

:thumbsup: :flag:

Donegal Hibby
14-11-2024, 11:32 AM
How is Rory Whittaker not getting a game at Spartans , looked good when Monty played him….

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-loan-prospect-recall-game-time-rising-star-talent-development-4865213

HIBS NUTS
15-11-2024, 09:03 AM
Game at HTC at 2pm today
For anyone needing a football fix .

15-11-2024, 12:11 PM
Game at HTC at 2pm today
For anyone needing a football fix .

I'm going to head down and take a few pics since its dry

15-11-2024, 12:41 PM
How is Rory Whittaker not getting a game at Spartans , looked good when Monty played him….

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-loan-prospect-recall-game-time-rising-star-talent-development-4865213

I want him to succeed at Hibs but this is one of the biggest Hibs myths going.

15-11-2024, 12:44 PM
I want him to succeed at Hibs but this is one of the biggest Hibs myths going.

Looked good for a 16 year old making his first appearances in professional football.

15-11-2024, 12:50 PM

Probably because it's not easy to play first team football, against fully matured adults at 16/17 year old. He broke into our team really young, I think some folk have too high expectations for him.

I think he'll turn into a good player, but we'll probably not really see that for another year or so.

15-11-2024, 12:53 PM
https://x.com/CabbageAndRibs/status/1857416716390662234?t=yTki8KWe-Wf87nuYCde9zw&s=19

Today's teams.

GreenPJ
15-11-2024, 12:57 PM
https://x.com/CabbageAndRibs/status/1857416716390662234?t=yTki8KWe-Wf87nuYCde9zw&s=19

Today's teams.

Just looking at the programme with 2 head coaches in Daz and Boozy and then Team Manager as Gareth, who is ultimately in charge, is it Daz and Boozy reporting to Gareth?

15-11-2024, 01:05 PM
Just looking at the programme with 2 head coaches in Daz and Boozy and then Team Manager as Gareth, who is ultimately in charge, is it Daz and Boozy reporting to Gareth?

Gareth is in charge of the academy
Good to see Landers back. The no 10 for Aberdeen Boyd Fletcher, scored for the Aberdeen big team against Hibs near the end of last season

HIBS NUTS
15-11-2024, 01:57 PM
HT HIBS 2 Aberdeen 0
Callum McDonald 2
i think

15-11-2024, 01:58 PM
2-0 Hibs at HT. Brace from Josh McDonald. We had one ruled offside too. Dons with lots of the ball but we are very strong in defence and play fast on the break. Rory Whittaker very effective on right absolutely strolling it and we are very well organised.

15-11-2024, 02:03 PM
2-0 Hibs at HT. Brace from Josh McDonald. We had one ruled offside too. Dons with lots of the ball but we are very strong in defence and play fast on the break. Rory Whittaker very effective on right absolutely strolling it and we are very well organised.
I haven't heard of the young lad who's got both our goals. We do have some decent young players.

15-11-2024, 02:06 PM
I haven't heard of the young lad who's got both our goals. We do have some decent young players.

Hopefully we'll see some of them in the first team squad before they hit the age of 30.

andrew70
15-11-2024, 02:28 PM

Sure it was him who came on in the testimonial at Raith Rovers a while back. Highly rated.

15-11-2024, 02:57 PM

Maybe DS wanted to bring Rory on Gradually and for him to see what lower leagues are about

HIBS NUTS
15-11-2024, 02:59 PM
Ft hibs 4 Aberdeen 2
dean Clelland
Josh landers

15-11-2024, 03:00 PM
4-2 Hibs FT. Went 3-0 and Dons pulled it back to 3-2. Landers very good on his return. Played well and good goal. And no surprise Clelland bagged our third. Well worth the win

HIBS NUTS
15-11-2024, 03:01 PM
Dean Clelland scored with a scissors kick👍

15-11-2024, 03:43 PM
All positive stuff.

😁👍

15-11-2024, 03:48 PM
4-2 Hibs FT. Went 3-0 and Dons pulled it back to 3-2. Landers very good on his return. Played well and good goal. And no surprise Clelland bagged our third. Well worth the win

Superb. Some good news. :flag:

ruthven_raiders
15-11-2024, 04:15 PM
Superb. Some good news. :flag:

Hopefully these young players will start to get a clear path into the Hibs squad and get some mins from the bench....

15-11-2024, 04:25 PM
I've stuck up a quick gallery of images (https://www.facebook.com/EcossePhoto)on my Facebook if anyone is interested. A wee follow would be welcomed. -

15-11-2024, 05:37 PM
Hopefully these young players will start to get a clear path into the Hibs squad and get some mins from the bench....

There’s a balancing act in not overdoing it, but I’d much prefer to see some of these lads and likes of Zaid getting squad places and minutes off the bench than mckirdy etc

Hopefully both Macintyres, Megwa and McAllister as well once January comes around, hopefully they can start to make inroads into some of our problem positions

15-11-2024, 05:39 PM
I've stuck up a quick gallery of images (https://www.facebook.com/EcossePhoto)on my Facebook if anyone is interested. A wee follow would be welcomed. -

Done :aok: some cracking pictures mate

15-11-2024, 08:57 PM

Good to hear. Great result

15-11-2024, 09:39 PM
Done :aok: some cracking pictures mateCheers

big-mo
16-11-2024, 12:05 PM

Daz if under18s coach, Boozy is the head caoch for the rest of the academy (a number of his players turn out for the U18s) and Gareth is Academy Director. (and Liam Craig is the reserve/dev coach). Daz, Boozy and Gareth take most of the U18s games.

big-mo
16-11-2024, 12:08 PM
Sure it was him who came on in the testimonial at Raith Rovers a while back. Highly rated.

Youngest player to ever score for the first team, he was only 15 at the time.

andrew70
16-11-2024, 02:21 PM
Youngest player to ever score for the first team, he was only 15 at the time.

That’s right. Thanks for that 👍🏻

HIBS NUTS
16-11-2024, 05:25 PM
Conner Young previously hibs youth player.
He has played 12 games for Edinburgh city and scored 10 goals, to be top goal scorer in league 2.
It shows that with right attitude players can rebuild their careers.👍

16-11-2024, 05:27 PM
Not many of the loan players starting for their clubs. Johnson, Zaid, MacIntyre and McAllister all benched.

No sign of Megwa so presume he is injured or ill.

Only Oscar MacIntyre got a start and he was subbed on 46mins, presumably with an injury.

16-11-2024, 05:32 PM
Murray Aiken has been starting most games for Airdrie since he returned from injury albeit he was used as a second half sub today.

16-11-2024, 05:36 PM
Murray Aiken has been starting most games for Airdrie since he returned from injury albeit he was used as a second half sub today.

I knew I'd forgotten someone (or probably a few!)

16-11-2024, 05:37 PM

Was at the game, came on at half time and was played at right back.

followhibs
16-11-2024, 08:19 PM
Not many of the loan players starting for their clubs. Johnson, Zaid, MacIntyre and McAllister all benched.

Only Oscar MacIntyre got a start and he was subbed on 46mins, presumably with an injury.

Oscar Macintyre, looked like he picked up an injury early on, subbed at half time.

Jacob Macintyre, just back from injury looked very good when he came on today.

Zaid, been in and out this season but played well for the time he got.

Updates from a Queens/Annan supporters

17-11-2024, 02:55 PM
Was this Landers first game back since the arm injury?

HIBS NUTS
17-11-2024, 06:24 PM
Was this Landers first game back since the arm injury?
Yes he scored a cracker , but looked a little rusty .

17-11-2024, 06:26 PM
Yes he scored a cracker , but looked a little rusty .

Seems to score for fun. Surely at least worth a place on the bench? Has to be a better option than McKirdy?

HIBS NUTS
17-11-2024, 06:31 PM
Seems to score for fun. Surely at least worth a place on the bench? Has to be a better option than McKirdy?
Clelland and landers are better options than McKirdy .

PHeffernan
17-11-2024, 06:34 PM

Sportsound said he was missing the game due to injury.

Johnson not getting a game in goal for weeks for, by some distance, the worst team in the Championship shows that those that wanted him as Hibs No1 this season were ...

wrong.

Murray has just turned 20 and is well on course to make it but needs to be allowed time to develop before being thrust into the unforgiving theatre that is Easter Road.

big-mo
20-11-2024, 08:47 AM
A big game for the Under 18s this Friday as they take on Ross County in the fourth round of the Youth Cup at HTC. A 6pm k/o

As always it is free to enter for all supporters.

County started this season's cup in the first round and beat Motherwell in the third round. Hopefully the Hibs team should be too much for them.

This could be Hibs year again, whith Ranger and Celtic already out.
The other 4th round ties are -
Banks O'Dee v Partick Thistle,
Inverness Caledonian Thistle v Livingston,
Dundee v Ayr Utd,
Falkirk v Kilmarnock,
Hearts v St Mirren,
Queen's Park v Aberdeen
and Inverurie Loco Works v Montrose

big-mo
21-11-2024, 10:26 AM
A big game for the Under 18s this Friday as they take on Ross County in the fourth round of the Youth Cup at HTC. A 6pm k/o

As always it is free to enter for all supporters.

County started this season's cup in the first round and beat Motherwell in the third round. Hopefully the Hibs team should be too much for them.

This could be Hibs year again, whith Ranger and Celtic already out.
The other 4th round ties are -
Banks O'Dee v Partick Thistle,
Inverness Caledonian Thistle v Livingston,
Dundee v Ayr Utd,
Falkirk v Kilmarnock,
Hearts v St Mirren,
Queen's Park v Aberdeen
and Inverurie Loco Works v Montrose

As you may have seen on the clubs site, this game has been postponed due to concerns about the weather affecting the travel arrangements for County, it has been rearranged for the Fri 29th Nov still at HTC and still 6pm.

21-11-2024, 10:33 AM
As you may have seen on the clubs site, this game has been postponed due to concerns about the weather affecting the travel arrangements for County, it has been rearranged for the Fri 29th Nov still at HTC and still 6pm.

Makes sense i think

22-11-2024, 10:14 AM

Thanks for the update

28-11-2024, 12:25 PM
Looking forward to this youth cup tie tomorrow evening.

I see Hearts u-18s were knocked out the other day

HIBS NUTS
28-11-2024, 08:06 PM
Looking forward to this youth cup tie tomorrow evening.

I see Hearts u-18s were knocked out the other day
Hopefully Boruc plays in goals like last time, then plays again against Motherwell.

28-11-2024, 08:35 PM
Hopefully Boruc plays in goals like last time, then plays again against Motherwell.

Boruc is too old to play for the 18s is he not?

HIBS NUTS
28-11-2024, 09:17 PM
Boruc is too old to play for the 18s is he not?
I thought it was a rescheduled game tomorrow, is it just a under 18 game

28-11-2024, 09:23 PM
I thought it was a rescheduled game tomorrow, is it just a under 18 game

It is the u/18 youth cup

HIBS NUTS
28-11-2024, 09:59 PM
It is the u/18 youth cup
Thanks Boruc can’t play 👍

29-11-2024, 05:05 PM
Best of luck to the young team tonight. Hopefully we'll get a few updates now and again.

👍

HIBS NUTS
29-11-2024, 05:55 PM
HT hibs 1 county 1
good game, hibs playing all the football
Dean Clelland scores.

29-11-2024, 05:59 PM
HT hibs 1 county 1
good game, hibs playing all the football
Dean Clelland scores.

👍. Thanks.

HIBS NUTS
29-11-2024, 06:54 PM
FT
HIBS 1 county 1
penaty shootout

HIBS NUTS
29-11-2024, 07:08 PM
Beat something like 8-7

29-11-2024, 07:25 PM
Beat something like 8-7

Agh, not so good.

HIBS NUTS
29-11-2024, 07:31 PM
Hibs we’re a bit unlucky tonight.
Dean Clelland had 25 yard shot crash off the bar .
And scissor kick well saved.
Mostly all hibs, but county defended well.

Paul1642
29-11-2024, 07:32 PM
Hibs we’re a bit unlucky tonight.
Dean Clelland had 25 yard shot crash off the bar .
And scissor kick well saved.
Mostly all hibs, but county defended well.

How far away is Cleland for deserving a punt at the first team?

Always seems to be the name among the goals.

29-11-2024, 07:36 PM
How far away is Cleland for deserving a punt at the first team?

Always seems to be the name among the goals.

Was just going to say this, surely worth a place on the bench ahead of mckirdy etc

HIBS NUTS
29-11-2024, 07:44 PM
He’s about the same size and weight as McKirdy.
However he’s got incredible energy, and great quick feet, he scores all type of goals.
Very talented lad, he’s only 17 however, he would definitely offer more than McKirdy.
He must be averaging a goal a game.

29-11-2024, 07:58 PM
How much money do we spend on a development side? Doesn’t feel like we get much value from it - obviously the odd few exceptions over the last 20 years.

HIBS NUTS
29-11-2024, 08:09 PM
How much money do we spend on a development side? Doesn’t feel like we get much value from it - obviously the odd few exceptions over the last 20 years.
I could give a very long answer to this.

1. I think you need a development team to play in European comps.
2.We already have a fantastic training centre, which costs money anyway, we used to train on public parks.
3.Hundreds/ of kids of all ages train there each week, the vast majority don’t become footballers, but a lot become hibs fans.
4. Good future signings expect a good trading centre and medical centre.
5.One of the main reasons development players don’t come though is because the hibs first team are constantly in crises, managers constantly change, and therefore they don’t play development players.
i could go on.🤣

29-11-2024, 08:10 PM
Very disappointing result and feel for the lads that missed the penalties. We had one to win it but as soon as I saw the start stop run up I feared the worst. Hibs were the better side and had more chances but we never played that well tonight compared to the games I have watched this year. County goalie made a couple of good stops and Deano was very unlucky with one that crashed against the bar in the first moments of the second half. To me Clelland should be on the bench for the first team. His attitude is fantastic and you can see how driven he is. Take a look at him in training and give him 10 minutes here and there to see if he can make the leap

HIBS NUTS
29-11-2024, 08:17 PM
Very disappointing result and feel for the lads that missed the penalties. We had one to win it but as soon as I saw the start stop run up I feared the worst. Hibs were the better side and had more chances but we never played that well tonight compared to the games I have watched this year. County goalie made a couple of good stops and Deano was very unlucky with one that crashed against the bar in the first moments of the second half. To me Clelland should be on the bench for the first team. His attitude is fantastic and you can see how driven he is. Take a look at him in training and give him 10 minutes here and there to see if he can make the leap
100 percent agree, he deserves a place on the hibs bench

29-11-2024, 08:43 PM
Ah that's a shame. I had high hopes for us in this competition

Glass half full
29-11-2024, 08:50 PM
Clelland worked hard on the left, lots of running, great energy. Thought the strike that hit the bar was in. Took his goal well and a good chance about 6 yards out in first half too. Was a good save by their keeper, who I thought had a good game.

Would like to have seen Clelland in the box more!
He did over run the ball and it went out a few times. Still developing.

HIBS NUTS
29-11-2024, 09:16 PM
Clelland worked hard on the left, lots of running, great energy. Thought the strike that hit the bar was in. Took his goal well and a good chance about 6 yards out in first half too. Was a good save by their keeper, who I thought had a good game.

Would like to have seen Clelland in the box more!
He did over run the ball and it went out a few times. Still developing.
Agree Clelland is better through the middle, but Josh landers played there .

29-11-2024, 09:39 PM
Agree Clelland is better through the middle, but Josh landers played there . Landers was really quiet tonight. Not much service right enough

29-11-2024, 09:55 PM
Unlucky boys.

29-11-2024, 11:27 PM
A few images from tonight on my facebook (https://www.facebook.com/EcossePhoto) A wee like and follow is always good

30-11-2024, 03:07 AM
A few images from tonight on my facebook (https://www.facebook.com/EcossePhoto) A wee like and follow is always good

Some nice photos amongst that lot, bravo squire, pretty impressive.....

30-11-2024, 06:47 AM
Some nice photos amongst that lot, bravo squire, pretty impressive..... Cheers

HIBS NUTS
06-12-2024, 01:53 PM
I believe there is a game on at 6pm tonight

06-12-2024, 03:00 PM
Best of luck to the young squad tonight, I'd imagine that the predicted weather conditions will make it "interesting" to say the least.

HIBS NUTS
06-12-2024, 03:07 PM
Who are we playing ?
is it 6 ?

andrew70
06-12-2024, 04:30 PM
Who are we playing ?
is it 6 ?

Motherwell, yes it is.

HIBS NUTS
06-12-2024, 05:57 PM
HT HIBS 3 Motherwell 0
2 corners 2 great headers
JOSH LANDERS
No3
Dean Clelland (again)scores 3rd
After good work from landers .
Unfortunately no full time result from me, as I’m off home now.
i can’t say I’ve ever watched football in worse weather, at least not for a very long time anyway.