View Full Version : Malky McKay
He's here!
14-05-2024, 07:19 PM
I have a lot of sympathy with you. I read the article linked above and it doesn't really help. People have said he's had anti racism training subsequently but that isn't necessarily an indication of reform. People's values (like their football team) don't really change and stuff said in private is always more indicative of people's beliefs than public utterances.
It's going to be a tough job to like the 'new' Hibs.
It's not true to say people's values don't change. You can learn from your mistakes and rehabilitation is possible.
FWIW I recall comedian Janey Godley being dropped as the face of Public Health Scotland a few years back when a series of racist and disability-mocking tweets came to light. I saw her speak at a recent cancer charity dinner and she's clearly emerged a better person from the experience of facing up to her mistakes.
14-05-2024, 07:21 PM
Correct
To clarify, I've not mentioned laughing at or sending racist jokes.
I said "FFS, he was guilty of some pitiful stuff but I'm willing to be it's not worse than a lost of stuff that most people on here have seen on WhatsApp groups in the past. And probably laughed at it too"
Which I stand by. Yon other poster has turned that into me being a 24/7 racist which is fine if he wants to do that but it is disingenuous to say the least.
14-05-2024, 07:21 PM
You’re lucky I’m no admin then cause I’d ban your username as associating hibs with a terrorist group that kill and dismember people with strict prejudice.
Hibsbollah was just a joke at one point- there were Hibs T shirts with it on
Wasn’t meant to be serious or glorifying terrorism
14-05-2024, 07:22 PM
Na, no chance
Do you think Davind Martindale still deals drugs or thinks it’s an acceptable line of work?
USA_Hibee
14-05-2024, 07:23 PM
I'm all for people being given a second chance. As long as the person has shown they've changed and worked on themselves then second chances are fine in my book. I think it's fair to be apprehensive but I'm going to give him my backing.
McHibby
14-05-2024, 07:23 PM
There has been a lot of focus on the racist element of his texts (and he does seem to have engaged with the anti-racism courses). But there were also sexist, homophobic and antisemitic messages thrown into the mix.
This is just a reflection, rather than an opinion on whether he is a reformed character or not... I genuinely do not understand how any 40-odd year old adult, in the 21st century, can possibly need a course to inform them that making racist/ sexist/ homophobic/ antisemitic comments about colleagues isn't OK.
I think it's quite a sad reflection on modern Britain, but this is probably one for the Holy Ground.
The Tubs
14-05-2024, 07:24 PM
14 years ago thousands of Hibs fans revelled in singing about Rudi Skacel being a refugee and Larry Kingston being a looky looky man......
Weirdly going by recent comments NONE of them post on this site.
Times change, people change - yet most football fans remain complete hypocrites
This isn’t true. You could hear some fannies singing nonsense like this but not thousands. Even in the early nineties, racists got shouted down.
Hell of a lot of drama queens on here tonight, all with exemplary moral standards I hope.
14-05-2024, 07:25 PM
Block 7 must have seen it coming.
:top marks :greengrin
BK probably tipped them off. :cb
babahibs
14-05-2024, 07:25 PM
Do you think Davind Martindale still deals drugs or thinks it’s an acceptable line of work?
Of course not, I meant the accepted by 'all' bit.
C'mon, jeez.
Box 17
14-05-2024, 07:26 PM
Excellent appointment.
Good managerial background and his SFA job will help in his new role.
Would have been happy with him as manager.
14-05-2024, 07:26 PM
I've always respected your views and so I'm genuinely keen to hear why it's this, and not Newell or Lennon and their past which has tipped you (potentially) over the edge.
Is it simply a case that any form of racist 'banter' however long ago and no matter the rehab, is way worse than threatening women or drink driving?
Thank you Dave, ive always liked your posts n’aw.
I thought it was a bizarre and brain dead appointment when he got the SFA job, and im on record as saying so on here back then. And i always liked Ross County less afterwards as well. So id be a hypocrite if i ignored it just because its Hibs.
I understand the everyone can be rehabilitated argument. But there was always something particularly ****ing disgusting about the things he said. Punching down. The bully’s calling card. Its nothing like actually funny banter. Part of whats wring with society is the ‘put him on a training course and public apology will sort out racism’ attitude. We need role models.
But like i say, im not after folk agreeing with me. I don’t even care to debate whether its rational. Its left me stunned.
14-05-2024, 07:27 PM
In the heirarchy of erseholery I'd probably place moronic racist and misogynist texts a wee bit below drink driving (you know that thing that leads to people being injured or killed) or threatening a woman with violence repeatedly.
Most people on this board seem to have no issue with us having employed and continuing to employ people convicted of the latter two offence but the former is where the line is.
I'm not mad keen on any of those behaviours but I struggle to comprehend someone saying 'aye domestic abuse and drink driving deserves a second chance but a boy being a racist doesn't'. Fair enough is you think none of those behaviours are acceptable but if one deserves a second chance then surely they all do?
End off. :top marks
TrinityHFC
14-05-2024, 07:27 PM
There has been a lot of focus on the racist element of his texts (and he does seem to have engaged with the anti-racism courses). But there were also sexist, homophobic and antisemitic messages thrown into the mix.
This is just a reflection, rather than an opinion on whether he is a reformed character or not... I genuinely do not understand how any 40-odd year old adult, in the 21st century, can possibly need a course to inform them that making racist/ sexist/ homophobic/ antisemitic comments about colleagues isn't OK.
I think it's quite a sad reflection on modern Britain, but this is probably one for the Holy Ground.
They don’t but that’s the thing you have to do to show willing.
40 odd year olds I’d suggest will frequently laugh about and share stuff they really shouldn’t without actively bringing prejudice into their everyday lives.
I still laugh at The Office for example, if that’s fine with everyone?
14-05-2024, 07:28 PM
Holy ****.Not trawlled through 17 pages but this appointment has divided the fans at exactly the time we need to be together.My view for what its worth is that he has apologised for his previous unacceptable comments.He has worked with the SFA people can learn from there mistakes and move on positivity.For me it is whether he can sort out the omni shambles that is Hibs recruitment .Time will tell.
Any appointment you make will divide people to an extent. Obviously, the reasoning in this case is a bit more emotive. I actually expected more criticism of it than I’ve seen on this thread. Thankfully, the majority of people seem sensible enough to realise that mistakes you make shouldn’t necessarily dictate what you’re able to do for the rest of your days.
14-05-2024, 07:29 PM
Excellent appointment from me.
Welcome to Hibs.
14-05-2024, 07:30 PM
I really can’t understand the meltdown over this. The man has more than served penance for racism. David Martindale was jailed for drug dealing, inflicting misery and addiction on many. He is accepted as a reformed character by all. Why can’t Mackay?
For me this meltdown is completely performative from people who are probably in WhatsApp groups sharing dodgy jokes and memes with their friends.
Martindale started at the bottom and worked his way back up.
Martindale paid a six figure sum under poca.
Mackay has operated at the top end of scottish football for most of the last 10 years with almost no repercussions.
And it is frightening the amount of people saying "what about your WhatsApp groups" talk about telling on yourself and your friends.
Holy ****.Not trawlled through 17 pages but this appointment has divided the fans at exactly the time we need to be together.My view for what its worth is that he has apologised for his previous unacceptable comments.He has worked with the SFA people can learn from there mistakes and move on positivity.For me it is whether he can sort out the omni shambles that is Hibs recruitment .Time will tell.
Sadly there isn't a single person on the planet that could unite all Hibs fans.
Even if we signed Messi there would be some giving it: he's too old, too wee, should've signed Ronaldo etc etc
If we appointed Guardiola, Mourihno or Klopp some wallopers would be cursing their lack of knowledge of Scottish fitba.
As for debating their opinions? No point, you're just wrong!
Such is life nowadays
Of course not, I meant the accepted by 'all' bit.
C'mon, jeez.
So you do accept he’s a reformed character.
Do you think MM may have also taken the necessary steps to do the same?
(whether it’s changing his ‘views’ and ‘character’ or more likely just being a bit more clued-up on why making these sorts of comments isn’t acceptable, even if they don’t reflect your actual views.)
TrinityHFC
14-05-2024, 07:31 PM
I thought it was a bizarre and brain dead appointment when he got the SFA job, and im on record as saying so on here back then. And i always liked Ross County less afterwards as well. So id be a hypocrite if i ignored it just because its Hibs.
I understand the everyone can be rehabilitated argument. But there was always something particularly ****ing disgusting about the things he said. Punching down. The bully’s calling card. Its nothing like actually funny banter. Part of whats wring with society is the ‘put him on a training course and public apology will sort out racism’ attitude. We need role models.
But like i say, im not after folk agreeing with me. I don’t even care to debate whether its rational. Its left me stunned.
And you still think it’s a laugh to have a username that refers to a pretty despicable organisation. That’s different though I guess?
Sorry to repeat Dave’s question but I’m not sure you answered it. Why this and not Boyle or Newell that’s tipped you over the edge? Drink driving is vile and has the potential to cause a lot more damage than a private text message but you have been a very vocal defender of Newell on these boards and his importance to the team.
tonyrougier123
Hibsbollah was just a joke at one point- there were Hibs T shirts with it on
Wasn’t meant to be serious or glorifying terrorism
And yet it does,but we all look past it until folk want the moral high ground in absurd displays of contempt. Yet are happy to link hibs and terror organisations as a “joke” and even still in today’s world climate.
Think about what hezbollah represents then explain the mindset to bringing that in to your favourite pass time.
Box 17
14-05-2024, 07:33 PM
Mackay has operated at the top end of scottish football for most of the last 10 years with almost no repercussions.
And it is frightening the amount of people saying "what about your WhatsApp groups" talk about telling on yourself and your friends.
If it was under POCA then the six-figure sum wasn't his to keep anyway.
babahibs
14-05-2024, 07:34 PM
To clarify, I've not mentioned laughing at or sending racist jokes.
I said "FFS, he was guilty of some pitiful stuff but I'm willing to be it's not worse than a lost of stuff that most people on here have seen on WhatsApp groups in the past. And probably laughed at it too"
Which I stand by. Yon other poster has turned that into me being a 24/7 racist which is fine if he wants to do that but it is disingenuous to say the least.
That's cool but it's the laughed at too bit that's not quite right, I'd be willing to bet that most folk don't laugh at racist, homophobic, sexist pish.
I mentioned last week I thought we’d get him after the rumours and then listening to a recent interview.
https://youtu.be/YWu9SLdYAUQ?si=popyfrGzZyHSWhKQ
Really good interview and at the time thinking he’d be a brilliant appointment
I was in the "no thanks" camp..but I took the time to watch this long, detailed interview from 2 weeks ago. I would suggest that everyone else does too. Very enlightening. The texts were shameful and I very much hope his re-education has changed him, he certainly speaks very impressively and he could be a game changer for us.
We can see that some fans have long memories and are uncomfortable with the appointment, and some who were disgusted by his messages but willing to give him the benefit of the doubt after taking measures to accept the wrong doing and make sure he doesn’t make the same mistake again.
This could prove to be a millstone round his neck, and the first sign of things not going as we hoped the fingers will be pointed and his past misdemeanours used as an added stick to beat him with along with football performance.
In some ways, it puts more pressure on him to succeed, and if he’s to be part of the recruitment panel for the new manager, it’s extra incentive to make sure the appointment is the right one.
He’ll be an easy target for disgruntled supporters to turn on.
14-05-2024, 07:35 PM
And yet it does,but we all look past it until folk want the moral high ground in absurd displays of contempt. Yet are happy to link hibs and terror organisations as a “joke” and even still in today’s world climate.
Think about what hezbollah represents then explain the mindset to bringing that in to your favourite pass time.
That's fair. If MacKay's texts had glorified a terrorist organisation, Islamist, loyalist or otherwise, would that be considered acceptable?
14-05-2024, 07:35 PM
I’d be seriously concerned about you if you didn’t.
14-05-2024, 07:36 PM
👍 Seems like a good place to leave it.
bordergreen
14-05-2024, 07:37 PM
Welcome to Hibs Malky. GGTTH 💚
TrinityHFC
14-05-2024, 07:38 PM
That's cool but it's the laughed at too bit that's not quite right, I'd be willing to bet that most folk don't laugh at racist, homophobic, sexist pish.
No, I’d bet they do and that they can still live their lives not actually believing and acting on it.
14-05-2024, 07:39 PM
And you still think it’s a laugh to have a username that refers to a pretty despicable organisation. That’s different though I guess?
14-05-2024, 07:40 PM
Right but the punishment fits the “crime”. Martindale is a convicted drug dealer. Mackay made some bigoted comments.
:aok::top marks
Welcome to Hibs Malky. GGTTH 💚
14-05-2024, 07:41 PM
Well, I dont expect everyone to agree with me, and i respect most political beliefs, but this is about the worst appointment i can imagine and im giving serious consideration to whether i can continue to support the club when that man is representing Hibs. Im beyond gutted.
Goodness me.
And I agree, but I'm talking historically though. The other poster went down the road of assuming of the here and now and just went off on one labelling everyone a racist
As I said no context just had the blinkers on.
If folk are still engaging in that now then of course its.wrong.
That's fair. If MacKay's texts had glorified a terrorist organisation, Islamist, loyalist or otherwise, would that be considered acceptable?
Has anyone suggested the texts were acceptable?
14-05-2024, 07:42 PM
Wonder who will be first team coach 🤔 lol 😆
McHibby
14-05-2024, 07:43 PM
They don’t but that’s the thing you have to do to show willing.
40 odd year olds I’d suggest will frequently laugh about and share stuff they really shouldn’t without actively bringing prejudice into their everyday lives.
I've never watched The Office so I don't know how questionable it is, but your reply is so polite that I trust you not to be a wild raging racist.
14-05-2024, 07:44 PM
Sorry to disappoint you but I pay for 2.
Cool
babahibs
14-05-2024, 07:46 PM
So you do accept he’s a reformed character.
Do you think MM may have also taken the necessary steps to do the same?
(whether it’s changing his ‘views’ and ‘character’ or more likely just being a bit more clued-up on why making these sorts of comments isn’t acceptable, even if they don’t reflect your actual views.)
I have no idea if he's a reformed character or not, how would I?
It was the 'accepted by all' part I took issue with, he's clearly not accepted by all.
MM was made to go on courses to address his repugnant beliefs, if that's changed his views, or as you say, just made him a bit more aware about expressing these views, well, who knows.
14-05-2024, 07:47 PM
If my user name offends you, you could ask for it to be banned i suppose? Its actually used by another poster on here with a subtle spelling difference and another dude on the bounce because we all used to have the t shirt i imagine, which was a thing back in the day. Im not a supporter of the organisation. Im not suggesting that Mackay should be banned from applying for jobs, i just dont personally want to be associated with him and my club. Similarly, if you don’t want to be associated with me, you could just put me on ignore.
I think thats a better way of looking at it.
14-05-2024, 07:48 PM
Can't wait until he appoints Joey Barton as manager !!
Keepthefaith
14-05-2024, 07:49 PM
Personally I think we were better off staying clear of him. A key aspect in rehabilitation is whether people fully accept responsibility for their actions, and genuinely show both remorse and empathy.
It's impossible to know if he's genuine. My concern is that using such language can represent subsequent behavior so being misogynistic is aligned to male privilege and power over women which can mean coercive and abusive behaviour.
I do believe folk should have the opportunity to make good, I'm just confused as to why hibs chose such a contentious appointment in a time of chaos.
I'll not give up on my team, and have to trust that the club have done due diligence in exposing his values, but I'm not happy.
14-05-2024, 07:50 PM
Would anyone's opinion on the appointment of MacKay change if he had also sent anti-Catholic sectarian messages in addition to the homophobic, racist and sexist ones?
What if he was a known Rangers fan and had taken part in orange walks?
...... Do we still want Derek Mcinnes?
14-05-2024, 07:51 PM
Mmmmm?
Im answering his question. Yes, its a different thing.
14-05-2024, 07:52 PM
It certainly moves the focus away from Kensell. 👀
I’m sure the press will be all over that and just waiting for the right time to print it.
babahibs
14-05-2024, 07:53 PM
And I agree, but I'm talking historically though. The other poster went down the road of assuming of the here and now and just went off on one labelling everyone a racist
14-05-2024, 07:53 PM
What are people's thoughts on Janey Godley still being high profile, touring and active in mainstream media? Or convicted child rapist Roman Polanski still making films? Or Martin Amis suggesting all Muslims should have to suffer until they 'get their house in order'?
Do you boycott her comedy and anyone that platforms her? Boycott cinemas that show Polanski films and refuse to watch any actors who work with him? Organise book burnings of Amis novels?
There is probably something in the fact that Godley is treated the worst of the 3 examples I have cited. Maybe her and MacKay suffer from being a bit too common. A posh voice and artistic temperament makes rehabilitation a bit more believable perhaps?
14-05-2024, 07:56 PM
What are people's thoughts on Janey Godley still being high profile, touring and active in mainstream media? Or convicted child rapist Roman Polanski still making films? Or Martin Amis suggesting all Muslims should have to suffer until they 'get their house in order'?
Do you boycott her comedy and anyone that platforms her? Boycott cinemas that show Polanski films and refuse to watch any actors who work with him? Organise book burnings of Amis novels?
There is probably something in the fact that Godley is treated the worst of the 3 examples I have cited. Maybe her and MacKay suffer from being a bit too common. A posh voice and artistic temperament makes rehabilitation a bit more believable perhaps?
Can't speak for the other two but the Polanski thing is an absolute travesty and he should 100% be brought to justice.
Victor
14-05-2024, 07:56 PM
I am not sure if you realise that the money Martindale paid under the Proceeds of Crime Act, was because it was shown that he had benefited financially from h his criminality and that any amount paid would be nowhere near what he had actually amassed. Money made from other people’s misery. I don’t think it is a sign of rehabilitation. Sorry, if you were aware of this and were mentioning it for some other reason.
14-05-2024, 07:57 PM
*sigh* Yeah, youve got me bang to rights. My problem with Malky is that i think he’s ‘too common’.
14-05-2024, 07:59 PM
My cat, Betty, is black and she doesn’t seem bothered by the appointment.
14-05-2024, 08:00 PM
This should take a few more thousand off the gate for the Hanlon / Stevenson farewell.
Block 7 will be boycotting it as well after the banner they had at the weekend.
Oh well.
14-05-2024, 08:00 PM
Would anyone's opinion on the appointment of MacKay change if he had also sent anti-Catholic sectarian messages in addition to the homophobic, racist and sexist ones?
What if he was a known Rangers fan and had taken part in orange walks?
No. I haven’t really taken a strong opinion either way yet, but my gut reaction is I believe in second chances and reform/rehabilitation. This wouldn’t be altered if there was also inappropriate jokes made about Catholics in his history.
Second part - Not really comparable for me unless Malky Mackay has been taking part in Neo-nazi gatherings or such like.
ChuckNor
14-05-2024, 08:02 PM
This is an excellent post. Working class people aren’t capable of mucking up and rehabilitating in the eyes of some. Whatever wrong done is made to follow the for the rest of their lives.
Malky has long served his time on this as have people like Martindale. Get over it and give the man a chance to prove himself.
Can't wait until he appoints Joey Barton as manager !!
:faf::faf:
14-05-2024, 08:03 PM
Joe Mcbride Worked with Malky at Cardiff
babahibs
14-05-2024, 08:04 PM
My cat, Betty, is black and she doesn’t seem bothered by the appointment.
Funny as toothache.
One of my best mates is black, born and bred in Leith, Ghanaian dad, massive hibs fan, he's a tad upset.
https://www.hibs.net/blob:https://www.hibs.net/8898c074-a36a-4d17-8723-38d9deec8ac2
https://x.com/blocksevenhibs/status/1790432834588401876?s=46&t=U8GaTmHTLzTZTPfLZX3GnQ
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GNjlK45XMAEAF_f.jpg
Cringe. Someone needs to tell the teenager running this account that no one cares about your poxy wee group.
From a group who support the ira and fund cartels. lol.
Mcbizz1998
Block 7 will be boycotting it as well after the banner they had at the weekend.
Oh well.
Maybe this is Hibs masterplan to get rid of B7? A masterstroke!
14-05-2024, 08:07 PM
*sigh* Yeah, youve got me bang to rights. My problem with Malky is that i think he’s ‘too common’.
I wasn't referring to individuals. More to society in general.
Boris Johnson being a racist was all a bit of a lark, what' he like eh? Get him on Have I got News For You and he'll say something outrageous and we can all have a laugh at it. Polanski is still lauded and rewarded by many in the industry he works in. If a cretin like Tommy Robinson had said what Amis did then there would be widespread uproar and rightly so. Cocaine use is a bit of a laugh when it's socialites doing it but young lads doing it at the football are the **** of the earth.
It doesn't seem that much of a stretch to say that the crimes and misdemeanours are reported and viewed differently depending on the background of the offender.
This is an excellent post. Working class people aren’t capable of mucking up and rehabilitating in the eyes of some. Whatever wrong done is made to follow the for the rest of their lives.
Malky has long served his time on this as have people like Martindale. Get over it and give the man a chance to prove himself.
Let's be frank Hibs start winning and the moaners will disappear, look at Newcastle when Saudis took over, talks of fan boycotts etc place has a season ticket waiting list.
TrinityHFC
14-05-2024, 08:07 PM
Im answering his question. Yes, its a different thing.
Sure. Having a joke about terrorism if just banter to you. That’s fine.
Each to their own but it is a little bit odd then flying off the handle about the content of McKay’s messages.
Do you know what they were by the way? I don’t really think any of them point to anything around systematic behaviours. More along the lines of inappropriate banter, a bit like joking about killing and kidnapping.
14-05-2024, 08:08 PM
I agree with you.
I don’t know the guy but he doesn’t seem like the kind of character I want around my club. He’s allowed a fair chance mind.
14-05-2024, 08:08 PM
No. I haven’t really taken a strong opinion either way yet, but my gut reaction is I believe in second chances and reform/rehabilitation. This wouldn’t be altered if there was also inappropriate jokes made about Catholics in his history.
Second part - Not really comparable for me unless Malky Mackay has been taking part in Neo-nazi gatherings or such like.
Fair enough. No problem with that, and I have zero issues with anyone who is supportive of this appointment on those grounds.
My point is that everyone has a red line and if the argument is taken to one logical extreme - you're a hypocrite if you're okay with player doing X and not with DoF doing Y - then the opposite extreme is also equally applicable. I.e. you must unconditionally support every appointment or signing by Hibs on the basis of their personal background (such as your example above) provided that their footballing pedigree is acceptable.
No one can honestly say that personal background means nothing to them. There is always going to be something that you cannot stomach.
tonyrougier123
14-05-2024, 08:09 PM
If my user name offends you, you could ask for it to be banned i suppose? Its actually used by another poster on here with a subtle spelling difference and another dude on the bounce because we all used to have the t shirt i imagine, which was a thing back in the day. Im not a supporter of the organisation. Im not suggesting that Mackay should be banned from applying for jobs, i just dont personally want to be associated with him and my club. Similarly, if you don’t want to be associated with me, you could just put me on ignore.
I think thats a better way of looking at it.
So what I can gather is its ignorance and just a wee joke from years ago?
I know a man who educated himself after his ignorance and has tried to build his career back up.
Some folk stay ignorant in spite of widespread information I suppose.🤷*♂️
14-05-2024, 08:09 PM
New sporting director.
Great news.
A man who understands football in an important position.
It’s almost as if someone knows what they are doing at the club.
14-05-2024, 08:10 PM
I didn’t label everyone a racist, I said if you laugh at racist jokes you are a racist.
14-05-2024, 08:10 PM
Who the **** do these ***** think they are 😂😂😂😂😂😂
I’m being genuine here, it wouldn’t surprise me that BK has put them up to unfurling the banner at the weekend, he has been spouting his mouth of about a DOF to fans over the last few weeks, maybe worried MM will urge higher up to get him out the club, and then this statement from folk who mocked the Ibrox disaster amongst other things. F***ing jokers.
I'm delighted with this appointment.
Now let's get the right first team coach and we're good to go.
14-05-2024, 08:12 PM
What is the mythical punishment Malky has received? He was mandated to do a course and since then he’s worked at the SFA and managed in Scotland top football league. In what way is he being prevented from anything?
Why are people desperate to make him a martyr?
14-05-2024, 08:13 PM
Boris Johnson being a racist was all a bit of a lark, what' he like eh? Get him on Have I got News For You and he'll say something outrageous and we can all have a laugh at it. Polanski is still lauded and rewarded by many in the industry he works in. If a cretin like Tommy Robinson had said what Amis did then there would be widespread uproar and rightly so. Cocaine use is a bit of a laugh when it's socialites doing it but young lads doing it at the football are the **** of the earth.
It doesn't seem that much of a stretch to say that the crimes and misdemeanours are reported and viewed differently depending on the background of the offender.
Or maybe people just have genuinely held beliefs and find things offensive once, continue to be offensive regardless of the passing of time, class or anything else? Whataboutery is a commonly used phrase but this thread is absolutely dripping with it.
14-05-2024, 08:15 PM
What is the mythical punishment Malky has received? He was mandated to do a course and since then he’s worked at the SFA and managed in Scotland top football league. In what way is he being prevented from anything?
Can't say I've seen any stoning or burning.
TrinityHFC
14-05-2024, 08:16 PM
Eh? I think the extent of it is that he should be allowed to get on and work, including at Hibs. Don’t think anyone is suggesting he should get any awards.
14-05-2024, 08:17 PM
Fair enough. No problem with that, and I have zero issues with anyone who is supportive of this appointment on those grounds.
My point is that everyone has a red line and if the argument is taken to one logical extreme - you're a hypocrite if you're okay with player doing X and not with DoF doing Y - then the opposite extreme is also equally applicable. I.e. you must unconditionally support every appointment or signing by Hibs on the basis of their personal background (such as your example above) provided that their footballing pedigree is acceptable.
No one can honestly say that personal background means nothing to them. There is always going to be something that you cannot stomach.
👍
I should maybe have added, in the interest of full disclosure, that I’m a straight, white, non-Catholic man 😁
(However I do have friends and family that fall under various different minority groups, and my sentiment would remain the same should it be switched to one of those)
This is pretty much bang on and accurately represents my principles. This kind of **** should be unacceptable for EVERYONE, but the ruling class and high profile people get keep their careers and livelihoods.
None of that is acceptable. That's my point. That's why I'm angry.
TrinityHFC
Or maybe people just have genuinely held beliefs and find things offensive once, continue to be offensive regardless of the passing of time, class or anything else? Whataboutery is a commonly used phrase but this thread is absolutely dripping with it.
Not quite as much as the hypocrisy.
14-05-2024, 08:19 PM
I didn’t label everyone a racist, I said if you laugh at racist jokes you are a racist.
I laughed at blazing saddles, found it hilarious actually
14-05-2024, 08:20 PM
I laughed at blazing saddles, found it hilarious actually
Blazing Saddles mentioned. Close the thread, we've reached the apex of cancel culture discourse.
TrinityHFC
14-05-2024, 08:20 PM
This is pretty much bang on and accurately represents my principles. This kind of **** should be unacceptable for EVERYONE, but the ruling class and high profile people get keep their careers and livelihoods.
Are you suggesting the messages he sent mean he should be homeless for the rest of his days? Do you think that’s proportionate to the content of those messages?
Or alternatively do you have a list of things he should be allowed to do to make a living?
14-05-2024, 08:21 PM
Decent appointment to be fair. The manager is much more important though.
14-05-2024, 08:22 PM
Decent appointment to be fair. The manager is much more important though.I would actually argue that this role is more important than the managerial one, given the absolute mess our footballing operation is in.
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
14-05-2024, 08:23 PM
In what way is anybody making him a martyr?:confused:
There’s been some reasonable comments made on either side about whether somebody can be rehabilitated or not and whether somebody deserves a second chance or not. The one thing that everybody has agreed on is that the messages he sent were totally abhorrent.
Maybe you should re-think the martyr comment, there is no evidence of that happening at all.
He's here!
14-05-2024, 08:23 PM
I mentioned Godley in an earlier post. I was surprised to see she was a guest speaker at the charity dinner I attended recently as I assumed she'd been 'cancelled' in the wake of being booted off the public health campaign.
Listening to her talk it was hard to reconcile her with the very unpleasant stuff she came out with re black and disabled people and I'd be genuinely surprised if she still harboured such views in private. I guess it's a matter of opinion, but it would be good to think she - and the likes of Mackay - have learned and become better people.
James Stephen
14-05-2024, 08:24 PM
Are HezBollah not anti-semites?
I'm not overly familiar with their beliefs, but I doubt they are big fans of homosexuals, and probably aren't feminists either. And they may be sectarian bigots and hate sunni Muslims.
OsloHibs
14-05-2024, 08:25 PM
Welcome to Hibs Malky.
Get us a good man giving us top 5 finish and skelping the hearts in every game👍
14-05-2024, 08:26 PM
Wonder if McKay will fancy Simon Murray?
FFS, we are still getting over him being a racist in the past without hearing he might fancy Simon Murray. :wink: :greengrin
Well you appear to want him sacrificed on the altar of your beliefs.
14-05-2024, 08:28 PM
Numerous people will have racist etc charges to their name that aren’t in the public eye or famous and keep their jobs.
14-05-2024, 08:29 PM
No chance.
I'm happy to accept all races and racists but I draw the line at gingers.
(My son is ginger btw before anyone gets upset).
Proud of my ginger hair that I got from my mum, I wasn’t bullied or anything like that when I was young :greengrin
I got pelters. :boo hoo:
tonyrougier123
14-05-2024, 08:30 PM
That might be the mildest accusation you could throw at them. Totally lost on one poster though.
14-05-2024, 08:33 PM
I'm not overly familiar with their beliefs, but I doubt they are big fans of homosexuals, and probably aren't feminists either. And they may be sectarian bigots and hate sunni Muslims.
Hezbollah was established to fight the 1982 invasion of Lebanon by Israel.
14-05-2024, 08:33 PM
Well you appear to want him sacrificed on the altar of your beliefs.
I don’t agree with his appointment and don’t like it, that’s about the end of it.
14-05-2024, 08:35 PM
That might be the mildest accusation you could throw at them. Totally lost on one poster though.
Tbf the whole thing about the username is a bit of a straw man.
I don't think Hibsbollah and I are close to agreement on the MacKay issue but his username isn't the issue here. It's a pun derived from some unofficial Hibs merch that was around years ago. I don't think it is indicative of any antisemitic sentiment on his part.
My username was based on Floyd Mayweathers nickname pre his 'Money' persona. He is a convicted domestic abuser. I don't think continuing to use that as a name on here is any suggestion I support violence against women.
14-05-2024, 08:36 PM
Still busy laundering :thumbsup:
14-05-2024, 08:37 PM
This isn’t true. You could hear some fannies singing nonsense like this but not thousands. Even in the early nineties, racists got shouted down.
Nonsense, at some points it was the whole stadium singing the Rudi song.
Victor
14-05-2024, 08:40 PM
My username was based on Floyd Mayweathers nickname pre his 'Money' persona. He is a convicted domestic abuser. I don't think continuing to use that as a name on here is any suggestion I support violence against women.
And here was me thinking you were either a very handsome man, or very conceited
14-05-2024, 08:40 PM
We don’t know much about each other on here and this is certainly an emotive subject. But I suspect that those who hold the strongest opinions here may have painful lived experience of being on the receiving end of what MacKay was chucking about.
I don’t know why this is but I sort of had a hunch this day would come, that we’d employ him, and that it would prove to be every bit as divisive as it has.
14-05-2024, 08:41 PM
Leaving aside the rights and wrongs of the Mackay appointment.... Two players with assaulting-an-Elvis-impersonator convictions. Has to be a record.
They were caught in a trap.
14-05-2024, 08:43 PM
They were caught in a trap.
You have a suspicious mind..
TrinityHFC
14-05-2024, 08:44 PM
I don't think Hibsbollah and I are close to agreement on the MacKay issue but his username isn't the issue here. It's a pun derived from some unofficial Hibs merch that was around years ago. I don't think it is indicative of any antisemitic sentiment on his part.
There was also overwhelming evidence that McKay didn’t actually act in the way that would indicate that he was any of the things his messages to a friend would have him painted as. They were also just jokes.
The point is getting extremely offended about someone else’s offensive jokes whilst justifying your own is a bit hypocritical.
14-05-2024, 08:44 PM
That's a ridiculous argument. When have I said I should be involved in the decisions? But as a fan, I am entitled to be extremely unhappy about them. Are you saying you should just accept every decision Hibs make whether you agree with it or not?
And what does Mackay not having a criminal conviction have to do with anything? He admitted sending those messages, there's no grey area there. Also, Goodwillie was found guilty by a senior judge, so can legally be called a rapist, but I was just using him to make a point regarding how differently we see things. You're saying it would be OK for Hibs to sign a rapist. We're never going to find common ground here.
The fact we're even debating this shows what a divisive appointment this is. I'd possibly even understand it a bit more if he had an incredible track record. But he doesn't.
Yes of course you have to accept it - you don't have to like it but you don't have a choice but to accept the decision has been made. You can say you dont accept it - buy that is just ridiculous as it means nothing other than you have worked yourself up about it.
As for your second para, basically you are saying you only want players playing for the club that fit with your idea of what a moral human should act like. Good luck with that. I hope you are doing investigations into the morality and previous behaviour of every player or employee we sign so you can make a judgement around what "you will accept".
14-05-2024, 08:45 PM
We don’t know much about each other on here and this is certainly an emotive subject. But I suspect that those who hold the strongest opinions here may have painful lived experience of being on the receiving end of what MacKay was chucking about.
I don’t know why this is but I sort of had a hunch this day would come, that we’d employ him, and that it would prove to be every bit as divisive as it has.
Sums it up.
People can think what they want, but in a lot of respects this is personal for me. Not judging anyone else on whether or not they support this appointment. I am just deeply upset on a personal level.
14-05-2024, 08:46 PM
There was also overwhelming evidence that McKay didn’t actually act in the way that would indicate that he was any of the things his messages to a friend would have him painted as. They were also just jokes.
The point is getting extremely offended about someone else’s offensive jokes whilst justifying your own is a bit hypocritical.
Where is this evidence?
tonyrougier123
14-05-2024, 08:49 PM
Your name although you explained isn’t obvious PB.
I’m not overly fussed by it tbh,but if someone is saying they won’t attend Easter road because of mackays appointment it’s only fair to point out the irony the use of a terrorist organisation to make a not so funny username considering its intolerance to a diverse culturally enriched world.
Wouldn’t have mentioned otherwise tbf.
14-05-2024, 08:49 PM
And you believe that's the case with very little evidence to go on?
Have you read the texts he sent? They were utterly vile.
The guy shouldn't be anywhere near the club in my opinion. And not only that, surely you can see why many would share this view, and understand why, so feel the the need to belittle them?
I do t think anyone is saying they endorse the messages sent What some people are saying is that was about 10 years ago and he has undertaken a rehab programme and had other jobs since then.So maybe he deserves another chance
Whether he is the best candidate to fulfill the job description is all the Board will have taken into consideration
Ralphy C
14-05-2024, 08:50 PM
Decent appointment to be fair. The manager is much more important though.
Watch this place implode when after 3 months of searching he decides Levein style that the best candidate is all ready in the building.
OsloHibs
14-05-2024, 08:52 PM
I don’t agree with his appointment and don’t like it, that’s about the end of it.
You made that clear 50 messages ago.
14-05-2024, 08:53 PM
Mackay Mackay worked with the SAS.
Lee Johnson incoming
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
14-05-2024, 08:54 PM
Aw man’ Martindale should have got the gig.
That would have saved all of the angst.He still might.... [emoji50][emoji897]
Victor
14-05-2024, 08:55 PM
I am glad that we have had this debate. I wasn’t sure about his appointment when it was announced, but having read both sides of the argument I am now okay with it and hope he helps return Hibs to winning ways.
TrinityHFC
14-05-2024, 08:56 PM
Where is this evidence?
The messages are the sum of it. He has never been accused of any inappropriate behaviour against any of the groups mentioned in his messages.
An example was in one of the messages he used what is accepted to be a derogatory term for someone from China. The agent of a Chinese player he managed wrote a supporting statement at the time saying that McKay went out of his way to ensure that the player was welcomed and integrated into the club and the country.
We can all act like idiots in private and with our mates. I think how you actually live your life and interact with people and how you support them are far more important than that.
14-05-2024, 08:57 PM
If big Malky is overseeing the appointment of a Head Coach I wonder who he’ll be looking at? I would suspect it would be from these shores.
Paulie Walnuts
14-05-2024, 08:57 PM
Sums it up.
People can think what they want, but in a lot of respects this is personal for me. Not judging anyone else on whether or not they support this appointment. I am just deeply upset on a personal level.
Without going too deeply into it, one of his racist comments could be applied to my family.
If I heard someone saying something like this in real life, I’d want absolutely nothing to do with them. If I heard they’d apologised, if I heard they’d done a course etc, I would still want absolutely nothing to do with them.
As it is, apology or not, passing a course or not, I personally don’t want him anywhere near my club. People have made fair points about drink driving etc, but those things haven’t impacted me personally, so rightly or wrongly they don’t provoke the same sense of feeling. Having first hand experience of racism though means that his comments strike more of a chord.
One thing I would say is that the comments insinuating that people are just being easily offended, just something else to moan about etc or that fans are being ‘self righteous’ are desperately poor. The comments were ****ing horrendous. There’s nothing mildly offensive about them.
14-05-2024, 08:58 PM
Why though? he's recently been sacked as the manager of f'n Ross County............. How on earth does that put you in the shop window for running the entire football operation at hibs?
He's lived off the coat tails of an OK time with Cardiff where he royally ruined himself for a long long time now.
Just a bizarre appointment and one i find even more bizarre to have been released today. I am not sure anyone at hibs is capable of reading the room.
Almost every manager gets sacked.
A few years ago through work I heard him speak at a non football related conference about his work on Project Brave. He spoke very well and I think he has a clever strategic mind which can help to make improvements at Easter Road.
It's not an appointment I would be clamouring for, but I have a feeling it might work. Time will tell.
14-05-2024, 08:59 PM
Id suggest everyone watch this interview
https://youtu.be/YWu9SLdYAUQ?si=N1ySg-xlvJL-pyJa
14-05-2024, 09:03 PM
The messages are the sum of it. He has never been accused of any inappropriate behaviour against any of the groups mentioned in his messages.
An example was in one of the messages he used what is accepted to be a derogatory term for someone from China. The agent of a Chinese player he managed wrote a supporting statement at the time saying that McKay went out of his way to ensure that the player was welcomed and integrated into the club and the country.
We can all act like idiots in private and with our mates. I think how you actually live your life and interact with people and how you support them are far more important than that.
I don’t entirely disagree but if I’m celebrating and supporting diversity at work I’m usually not calling people “fkn chinkeys” with my mates?
He's here!
14-05-2024, 09:06 PM
At least they were up front about their racism. Unlike the 'de rigueur' keffiyeh-clad beautiful people I've just seen on the news swanning around the Cannes film festival. Embarrassing virtue signalling about Palestine masking the fact that that the oldest hatred of all has become fashionable.
14-05-2024, 09:07 PM
So actually real proof that Hibs have finally lost it. Employing a well know racist into a position of power.
What a ****ty appointment.
Suella Braverman to be appointed as local community integration coordinator with Tommy Robinson as her assistant.
Stairway 2 7
14-05-2024, 09:08 PM
It's always the same people who say they won't be back if we xyz . Bet you do if we're playing well. Hundreds said they wouldn't watch Newcastle if they were bought by the evil Saudis, match applications are through the roof.
If hibs do well the tickets will fly
expresso
14-05-2024, 09:09 PM
Can’t pretend to be across all the details of his messages except that they were of a racist and misogynistic nature which is obviously vile.
However if he had apologised and acknowledged his wrongdoing whilst not repeating behaviour surely he deserves a second chance?
I imagine many on here have forwarded the odd unsavoury item in a group chat ?
The Pointer
14-05-2024, 09:09 PM
Welcome to Hibs Malky, I look forward to you improving things on the pitch and choosing a manager who will last the length of his contract
LustForLeith
14-05-2024, 09:10 PM
With him being best pals with Malcolm Macpherson I’m surprised we didn’t get him sooner
TrinityHFC
14-05-2024, 09:10 PM
I don’t entirely disagree but if I’m celebrating and supporting diversity at work I’m usually not calling people “fkn chinkeys” with my mates?
I think we are all capable of acting in different ways in different groups and saying things that we don’t actually believe but we think are funny or deliberately shocking at the time.
I actively support stuff in the real world that you wouldn’t be able to correlate with some of my WhatsApp groups with friends if you just took the content at face value.
14-05-2024, 09:11 PM
Welcome to Hibs Malky, I look forward to you improving things on the pitch and choosing a manager who will last the length of his contract
Just won't be a very diverse search criteria.
expresso
14-05-2024, 09:11 PM
At least they were up front about their racism. Unlike the 'de rigueur' keffiyeh-clad beautiful people I've just seen on the news swanning around the Cannes film festival. Embarrassing virtue signalling about Palestine masking the fact that that the oldest hatred of all has become fashionable.
So everyone protesting about Gaza is automatically an anti semite?
SON OF PADDY
14-05-2024, 09:15 PM
If he does a great job I couldn't give a flying **** about his past.
I concur,he has vast experience in the Scottish game.
Welcome to Hibernian
14-05-2024, 09:18 PM
Malky. The big man.
I sense a Jock Stein moment.
I'm excited and I just can't hide it.
hibby rae
14-05-2024, 09:22 PM
I can't for a second belief they thought supporters would support this en masse, if they did it shows such a lack of awareness. So if nothing else they've managed to divide the support, which is a great start.
And if you take a look on social media, it's not been popular.
shamo9
14-05-2024, 09:23 PM
Happy to have a season ticket while a convicted drink driver is out captain but toys out the pram over Mackay. Both have repented and apologised.
No double standards at all....
Boyle has been done for drink driving as well. He was banned for a year back in 2017. Also, Marvin Bartley was in court for threatening a mistress who exposed his affair while he was a Hibs player. Another former Hibs captain who was up to no good while representing the football club. If you go further back O'Connor, Stokes and Riordan got into bother when they were Hibs players as well. Assault, drugs and foul chanting.
https://www.eastlothiancourier.com/news/15283489.hibernian-fc-footballer-martin-boyle-from-dunbar-banned-from-the-roads-for-drink-driving-on-the-a1-near-haddington/
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/crime/love-rat-hibs-star-marvin-11604718
I believe in second chances and rehabilitation if someone admits wrongdoing and takes efforts to improve and make up for what they've done.
14-05-2024, 09:24 PM
I can't for a second belief they thought supporters would support this en masse, if they did it shows such a lack of awareness. So if nothing else they've managed to divide the support, which is a great start.
Conversely, I think it finally shows they have a set of balls.
chippy
14-05-2024, 09:29 PM
Well said sir
14-05-2024, 09:30 PM
Of course it’s not popular. Pretty much nothing is going to be popular at the moment.
Start next season well and folk will all of a sudden be less bothered about some messages sent over a decade ago. Don’t get me wrong, some folk would still have something to say but it is multiplied because the football is so bad. Folk love to be outraged about something.
14-05-2024, 09:31 PM
Take away McKays racism and there isn’t a lot for anyone to get excited about. Sadly.
14-05-2024, 09:32 PM
One of the polls on Hibs Central X (Twitter) where 1259 voted…
It has happy with appointment - 54%
Not happy - 46 %
14-05-2024, 09:32 PM
Of course it’s not popular. Pretty much nothing is going to be popular at the moment.
Start next season well and folk will all of a sudden be less bothered about some messages sent over a decade ago. Don’t get me wrong, some folk would still have something to say but it is multiplied because the football is so bad. Folk love to be outraged about something.
I have to say I agree. This is football. It's a special thing.
Malky is a good guy.
14-05-2024, 09:33 PM
100%. Never mind next season, as soon as we appoint a new Head Coach the attention will be turned to him and Malky Mackay will barely get mentioned.
supermcginn
14-05-2024, 09:33 PM
Boyle has been done for drink driving as well. He was banned for a year back in 2017. Also, Marvin Bartley was in court for threatening a mistress who exposed his affair while he was a Hibs player. Another former Hibs captain who was up to no good while representing the football club. If you go further back O'Connor, Stokes and Riordan got into bother when they were Hibs players as well. Assault, drugs and foul chanting.
https://www.eastlothiancourier.com/news/15283489.hibernian-fc-footballer-martin-boyle-from-dunbar-banned-from-the-roads-for-drink-driving-on-the-a1-near-haddington/
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/crime/love-rat-hibs-star-marvin-11604718
I believe in second chances and rehabilitation if someone admits wrongdoing and takes efforts to improve and make up for what they've done.
Exactly, what Boyle and Newell done could have killed a child, Mackay has said some terrible comments in a text to his mate and went under rehabilitation.
14-05-2024, 09:34 PM
With him being best pals with Malcolm Macpherson I’m surprised we didn’t get him sooner
His previous misdemeanors are something I'm torn on. If he's been appointed mainly because he's mates with our Chairman then that is a worry. I do wonder what credentials does he have to carry out the DoF role? Does his previous SFA role qualify him. For sure he's Scottish and knows the Scottish game but beyond that I'm not sure.
14-05-2024, 09:35 PM
Joking aside, I knew Mackay would turn up here eventually. It's a potentially great appointment.
14-05-2024, 09:36 PM
Correct.
They’ve picked the right person for the job, regardless of background noise.
I think we should encourage people to try and reform when they make a mistake.
I applaud the club for being a more tolerant and forgiving organisation than some of our fans want them to be.
He made a mistake, he was punished, he served his time, learned his lesson and has done all he possibly can to make up for mistakes he made a long time ago. Organsiations like Shiw racism the red card have applauded him and said he should be allowed to return to football yet some of our holier than thou fans know better?!
I hope these same never make a mistake in life.
Superfurry72
14-05-2024, 09:38 PM
Well, what I don’t want is a sexist, racist, homophobic anti-semite. A man who in his 40s was caught sending messages of a vile nature and had to be taught why his horrible prejudices can be extremely upsetting to people. And no, I don’t have to accept it - I won’t be back until he’s gone and I know of many others who feel the same. And I have written to the club tonight to let them know my feelings. I’m not interested in your whataboutery - that’s straight out of the Glasgow clubs’ playbook. It doesn’t justify appointing someone like this. His CV isn’t worth the division this has caused. I’ve never been so disappointed in my club.
Yes of course you have to accept it - you don't have to like it but you don't have a choice but to accept the decision has been made. You can say you dont accept it - buy that is just ridiculous as it means nothing other than you have worked yourself up about it.
As for your second para, basically you are saying you only want players playing for the club that fit with your idea of what a moral human should act like. Good luck with that. I hope you are doing investigations into the morality and previous behaviour of every player or employee we sign so you can make a judgement around what "you will accept".
Stairway 2 7
14-05-2024, 09:40 PM
One of the polls on Hibs Central X (Twitter) where 1259 voted…
It has happy with appointment - 54%
Not happy - 46 %
How many are hibs fans
14-05-2024, 09:42 PM
Well, what I don’t want is a sexist, racist, homophobic anti-semite. A man who in his 40s was caught sending messages of a vile nature and had to be taught why his horrible prejudices can be extremely upsetting to people. And no, I don’t have to accept it - I won’t be back until he’s gone and I know of many others who feel the same. And I have written to the club tonight to let them know my feelings. I’m not interested in your whataboutery - that’s straight out of the Glasgow clubs’ playbook. It doesn’t justify appointing someone like this. His CV isn’t worth the division this has caused. I’ve never been so disappointed in my club.
Oh well, maybe see you at Easter Road in a few years.
hibby rae
Conversely I would say it's further evidence the people in charge at the club really don't understand how to create a well-run, well-backed club.
Pissing off half the support for what at best is, aside from all the other baggage, uninspired, is a moronic strategy
Stairway 2 7
Well hopefully your going to miss a cracking season. Are you still going to post here about games you've no interest in?
Neil Lennon was in his 40's when we hired him just a few months after he apologised for threats of violence against his bit on the side.
I can't recall the same outrage.
14-05-2024, 09:44 PM
Interesting you feel you know more about it than the show racism the red card organisation who have applauded him and his efforts since that mistake.
Absolutely pathetic the way some fans are behaving about this imo.
heid the baw
14-05-2024, 09:46 PM
The texts will come up in numerous interviews with him over the coming weeks, we can all be absolutely sure of that.
How he responds to this will be significant.
I think I'll wait to see how this plays out before making any judgement.
What he did was 100% wrong, I think everyone is in agreement on that. It's whether or not you believe people are capable of examining their prejudices, re-educating themselves to address these and in doing so, become a better person.
We all have some level of prejudice or skewed ideas
14-05-2024, 09:47 PM
Well hopefully your going to miss a cracking season. Are you still going to post here about games you've no interest in?
Neil Lennon was in his 40's when we hired him just a few months after he apologised for threats of violence against his bit on the side.
I can't recall the same outrage.
Interesting you feel you know more about it than the show racism the red card organisation who have applauded him and his efforts since that mistake.
:agree: :agree: :agree:
14-05-2024, 09:49 PM
Conversely I would say it's further evidence the people in charge at the club really don't understand how to create a well-run, well-backed club.
Pissing off half the support for what at best is, aside from all the other baggage, uninspired, is a moronic strategy
Half? Probably a tenth if you're lucky. The ones who get outraged at anything.
14-05-2024, 09:50 PM
Oh well, maybe see you at Easter Road in a few years.
At a time when we’re pish, folk love a reason as to why they won’t be back.
Won’t be back unless Monty is sacked. Don’t like Ben and the Gordon’s. Now it’ll move on to being down to Malay McKay.
If, and it’s obviously an if, things improve on the park folk will then reappear.
Superfurry72
14-05-2024, 09:51 PM
No. And I don’t think we’ll have to worry about missing a cracking season why we still have these clowns in charge.
Well hopefully you’re going to miss a cracking season. Are you still going to post here about games you've no interest in?
scm70nyd1973
14-05-2024, 09:52 PM
For entirely selfish reasons I’m ok with the appointment as I worked with and know his dad well. His dad is a great guy.
Superfurry72
14-05-2024, 09:56 PM
‘That mistake?’ I think the fact you’re describing the series of messages as such says everything really. It wasn’t just one ‘mistake’. There were loads. And that’s just the ones made public. He was in his 40s, he wasn’t some silly kid. And you’re describing being offended by this as ‘pathetic’. I thought our club was different. I’m starting to see things a bit more clearly tonight.
14-05-2024, 09:56 PM
The text will come up in numerous interviews with him over the coming weeks, we can all be absolutely sure of that.
How he responds to this will be significant.
I think I'll wait to see how this plays out before making any judgement.
What he did was 100% wrong, I think everyone is in agreement on that. It's whether or not you believe people are capable of examining their prejudices, re-educating themselves to address these and in doing so, become a better person.
We all have some level of prejudice or skewed ideas
It’s been brought up hundreds of times over the years. We all know the outcomes and since it happened he’s been employed by the SFA and another Premiership club. There is absolutely nothing that he can say now that will change opinions IMO. He’s going to say he’s sorry for it, he’s learned from it and that’s it. There’s folk that won’t move past it, simple as that. It shouldn’t be brought up and discussed, there’s absolutely nothing to be gained after all this time. I don’t really see the media raising it too much to be honest. He’s been back working in the game for years and been allowed to get on with it.
14-05-2024, 09:57 PM
‘That mistake?’ I think the fact you’re describing the series of messages as such says everything really. It wasn’t just one ‘mistake’. There were loads. And that’s just the ones made public. He was in his 40s, he wasn’t some silly kid. This is just nuts.
Was it not 6 messages out of 10,000? Sure I saw that mentioned earlier though I don't know if that's true?
Stairway 2 7
14-05-2024, 09:58 PM
No. And I don’t think we’ll have to worry about missing a cracking season why we still have these clowns in charge.
We'll see you when he's gone.
Think it should be a good season a coach said to me they were excited by the targets they had seen, although he said he thought Amos was tremendous too and I've yet to see that
14-05-2024, 09:58 PM
At a time when we’re pish, folk love a reason as to why they won’t be back.
Won’t be back unless Monty is sacked. Don’t like Ben and the Gordon’s. Now it’ll move on to being down to Malay McKay.
If, and it’s obviously an if, things improve on the park folk will then reappear.
Correct
It’s been brought up hundreds of times over the years. We all know the outcomes and since it happened he’s been employed by the SFA and another Premiership club. There is absolutely nothing that he can say now that will change opinions IMO. He’s going to say he’s sorry for it, he’s learned from it and that’s it. There’s folk that won’t move past it, simple as that. It shouldn’t be brought up and discussed, there’s absolutely nothing to be gained after all this time. I don’t really see the media raising it too much to be honest. He’s been back working in the game for years and been allowed to get on with it.
And correct again :agree:
14-05-2024, 10:04 PM
‘That mistake?’ I think the fact you’re describing the series of messages as such says everything really. It wasn’t just one ‘mistake’. There were loads. And that’s just the ones made public. He was in his 40s, he wasn’t some silly kid. And you’re describing being offended by this as ‘pathetic’. I thought our club was different. I’m starting to see things a bit more clearly tonight.
Everybody knows and agrees what he did was wrong and he was correctly punished for it.
I suppose you’re either the sort of person that believes in people getting second chances after they’ve done all they can to make up for their mistakes or you’re someone who thinks they should be punished for life no matter what they do.
I know what side I am on.
I hope Malky knows most people are pretty reasonable and the loud minority should be ignored.
NC1875
14-05-2024, 10:07 PM
Some people need to get out more.
Jeezo.
14-05-2024, 10:10 PM
Cannae believe Hibsbollah is getting grief for his username 😂
I’m glad I went for Easty instead of Roman Polanskhibs
14-05-2024, 10:16 PM
I’m in my 40s and I laugh at things I probably shouldn’t laugh at, in fact I could probably get a psychiatrist signed off with stress in all honesty.
Hibs appointing Malky Mackay is one of the last things I’ll choose to get outraged or offended over. He’s made mistakes and went through rehabilitation for it. I’m sure 90% of this forum have made mistakes or said stupid things and I would wager 99.9% of those people haven’t sought rehabilitation for it.
14-05-2024, 10:20 PM
I’m in my 40s and I laugh at things I probably shouldn’t laugh at, in fact I could probably get a psychiatrist signed off with stress in all honesty.
Hibs appointing Malky Mackay is one of the last things I’ll choose to get outraged or offended over. He’s made mistakes and went through rehabilitation for it. I’m sure 90% of this forum have made mistakes or said stupid things and I would wager 99.9% of those people haven’t sought rehabilitation for it.
Nobody goes through life without making mistakes, I highly doubt the folk standing on their soap boxes shouting about this are squeaky clean either.
We've all said things/done things we shouldn't have in the past, folk learn from their mistakes in life
davhibby
14-05-2024, 10:22 PM
Correct.
They’ve picked the right person for the job, regardless of background noise.
I think we should encourage people to try and reform when they make a mistake.
I applaud the club for being a more tolerant and forgiving organisation than some of our fans want them to be.
He made a mistake, he was punished, he served his time, learned his lesson and has done all he possibly can to make up for mistakes he made a long time ago. Organsiations like Shiw racism the red card have applauded him and said he should be allowed to return to football yet some of our holier than thou fans know better?!
I hope these same never make a mistake in life.
What’s he done to suggest he’s the right man for the job other than having a background in Scottish football? Still yet to see anyone give actual reasons based on his career so far.
Chorley Hibee
14-05-2024, 10:30 PM
If this appointment hasn't upset enough people, then wait till you hear about the club telling Hanlon and Stevenson's families to pay for their tables in hospitality tomorrow night.
They should hang their heads in shame.
SON OF PADDY
14-05-2024, 10:35 PM
I may not be entitled to one, if not I will accept that. What I won’t do is spend another penny on Hibs till he is gone.
Why not contact the ticket office, I'm sure they could arrange to transfer your season ticket to one of the hibs charities, so that a less fortunate hibby can attend next season.
14-05-2024, 10:41 PM
If this appointment hasn't upset enough people, then wait till you hear about the club telling Hanlon and Stevenson's families to pay for their tables in hospitality tomorrow night.
Mikey Stewart talks about this on his Instagram today. Absolutely appalling if true.
14-05-2024, 10:58 PM
Mikey Stewart talks about this on his Instagram today. Absolutely appalling if true.
Just watched it myself. Michael Stewart is bang on (and usually is btw, really like him in general). He's bang on with his full assessment about what's going on with our club right now.
Charging Hanlon and Stevensons families is beyond unacceptable. I mean what the hell are they thinking?!
gegs70
14-05-2024, 10:58 PM
Not sure about the texts or what happened at Cardiff..... My first thought is he has some decent experience. Hopefully turns out to be decent acquisition? If not sure he will get a generous 5 to 9 months career 😁
14-05-2024, 11:07 PM
Not sure about the texts or what happened at Cardiff..... My first thought is he has some decent experience. Hopefully turns out to be decent acquisition? If not sure he will get a generous 5 to 9 months career 😁
Experience is doing something. It is important but doing something well for extended periods is what should get you a job like Sporting Director at Hibs. Arguably you would have to do something very well to mitigate the baggage MM comes with. For a good few of us we simply can't see the doing well bit never mind anything to mitigate the PR side
14-05-2024, 11:20 PM
I listened to the entirety of his recent interview with VSI Exec Education whilst at the gym tonight, thought he came across well. Sounded like a leader, someone who is assured of his work and enjoys the intricacies of making plans and delivering on them. After the waffle we’ve suffered through with some of our recent managers and club leadership, it was honestly refreshing to hear someone speak in more tangible, transparent terms.
gegs70
14-05-2024, 11:28 PM
I listened to the entirety of his recent interview with VSI Exec Education whilst at the gym tonight, thought he came across well. Sounded like a leader, someone who is assured of his work and enjoys the intricacies of making plans and delivering on them. After the waffle we’ve suffered through with some of our recent managers and club leadership, it was honestly refreshing to hear someone speak in more tangible, transparent terms.
Well sounds positive....
HFC93
14-05-2024, 11:39 PM
The attention seeking (mostly on X/Twitter) 'I won't be back while he is here' stuff properly winds me up.
Sent from my SNE-LX1 using Tapatalk
bordergreen
14-05-2024, 11:51 PM
Id suggest everyone watch this interview
https://youtu.be/YWu9SLdYAUQ?si=N1ySg-xlvJL-pyJa
Thanks for posting that. He comes across very well. I think he will do well for us.
14-05-2024, 11:52 PM
What’s he done to suggest he’s the right man for the job other than having a background in Scottish football? Still yet to see anyone give actual reasons based on his career so far.
He was a technical director for Scotland too and apparently was heavily involved around the time the footballing schools were set up. Everything around that I’ve read or heard says he did a really good job there. That ticks off having an understanding of youth development and how the club should be producing young players.
From a recruitment perspective I think Ross County appeared to recruit very well when he was manager, remember Regan Charles-cook and Joseph hungbo? They are two I remember but there were others. (I wonder what they’re up to now actually and if we could be interested?)
He also spent a long time in and around English football so will have masses of contacts in the game.
He has experience of Scottish football and knows it inside out.
He’s got recent experience as a manager in Scottish football so will be in a position to help and support the new manager that comes in if required.
As well as the above, everything I’ve read or heard about is people praising him as a person and his knowledge of football.
Given a Director of Football role is pretty rare in Scottish football, I don’t see how we could possibly have got anyone better or who ticked the same number of boxes?
In the interest of transparency, I should point out I did meet him at a wedding once. He was in front of me in the queue for the bar for about 5 minutes, if that. As he was famous and I was curious what he was like, I did a bit ear wigging and thought he seemed like a really decent guy. I think it’s entirely possible to be a decent guy but do stupid things a long time ago, how he’s reacted to that time in his life has impressed me. There will be young players coming through at Hibs who do stupid things, they can learn a thing or two from him in terms of how to react to making mistakes in life.
stalbanshibby
15-05-2024, 12:59 AM
Thanks for posting that. He comes across very well. I think he will do well for us.
Good appointment for me. Listening to this, the man come across as a proper adult and certainly knows more about football and Scottish football in particular than anyone else at a senior level at Hibs. This has been one of the problems for me.
So I see in EEN, Block 7 are outraged we've appointed him. I can just imagine. Hopefully one day these wee boys will grow up.and stop embarrassing themselves and the club.
15-05-2024, 03:35 AM
Club in crisis, second manager sacked this season and the fans are raging. The answer - Malky ****ing Mackay 😂😂😂.
Who at the club honestly thought this was a good appointment?
Don't want him anywhere near our club and I'll be very interested to see what language we use going forward when any issues or racism, homophobia come up. We certainly can't be banning fans for life or talking about zero tolerance going forward.
The Baldmans Comb
15-05-2024, 03:57 AM
He is certainly well qualified for the job thought its only money well spent once the lazy appointment of McDermott is quietly eased out the door.
Mackay is still a racist (f.k.n Chinkys) and a homophobe (Gay snakes) and both quotations were nasty and vindictive by a 40 year man so its the wrong appointment but at the right time.
15-05-2024, 04:19 AM
Will be interesting to see who he appoints as manager
15-05-2024, 05:36 AM
Club in crisis, second manager sacked this season and the fans are raging. The answer - Malky ****ing Mackay 😂😂😂.
Who at the club honestly thought this was a good appointment?
Don't want him anywhere near our club and I'll be very interested to see what language we use going forward when any issues or racism, homophobia come up. We certainly can't be banning fans for life or talking about zero tolerance going forward.
That's the concern I have with this appointment.
For Hibs to have put their heads above the parapet a few months ago to issue a statement condemning all sorts of bad behaviour in Scottish football including racism, to then employ someone with this baggage is indicative to me of a lack of any cohesive joined-up thinking at the club.
I understand one of our fans has recently been given a lifetime ban for racist behaviour and to employ someone guilty of the same stuff strikes me that our owners have a very selective view of who is worthy of rehabilitation.
If the club wanted to unite the support by ending Montgomery's tenure, they've succeeded in causing divisions among the support a few hours later.
GreenPJ
15-05-2024, 05:46 AM
For Hibs to have put their heads above the parapet a few months ago to issue a statement condemning all sorts of bad behaviour in Scottish football including racism, to then employ someone with this baggage is indicative to me of a lack of any cohesive joined-up thinking at the club.
I understand one of our fans has recently been given a lifetime ban for racist behaviour and to employ someone guilty of the same stuff strikes me that our owners have a very selective view of who is worthy of rehabilitation.
If the club wanted to unite the support by ending Montgomery's tenure, they've succeeded in causing divisions among the support a few hours later.
Maybe if the fan who has been banned goes through counselling and rehab they may review the ban?
15-05-2024, 05:48 AM
Maybe if the fan who has been banned goes through counselling and rehab they may review the ban?
That should be an option - otherwise they are sending out mixed messages.
I said in an earlier post that all those outraged and not coming back better have whiter that white morals to be taking the high ground on this.
15-05-2024, 05:50 AM
Well theyve diverted away from the terrible job Kensell and Gordon are doing so job done.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
15-05-2024, 05:59 AM
He was a technical director for Scotland too and apparently was heavily involved around the time the footballing schools were set up. Everything around that I’ve read or heard says he did a really good job there. That ticks off having an understanding of youth development and how the club should be producing young players.
From a recruitment perspective I think Ross County appeared to recruit very well when he was manager, remember Regan Charles-cook and Joseph hungbo? They are two I remember but there were others. (I wonder what they’re up to now actually and if we could be interested?)
He also spent a long time in and around English football so will have masses of contacts in the game.
He’s got recent experience as a manager in Scottish football so will be in a position to help and support the new manager that comes in if required.
As well as the above, everything I’ve read or heard about is people praising him as a person and his knowledge of football.
Given a Director of Football role is pretty rare in Scottish football, I don’t see how we could possibly have got anyone better or who ticked the same number of boxes?
In the interest of transparency, I should point out I did meet him at a wedding once. He was in front of me in the queue for the bar for about 5 minutes, if that. As he was famous and I was curious what he was like, I did a bit ear wigging and thought he seemed like a really decent guy. I think it’s entirely possible to be a decent guy but do stupid things a long time ago, how he’s reacted to that time in his life has impressed me. There will be young players coming through at Hibs who do stupid things, they can learn a thing or two from him in terms of how to react to making mistakes in life.
Good post. I'm really positive about the appointment. It's divisive, yes, but some of the outrage is way OTT. He said some bad things via text 10 years ago which he's been rehabilitated on and done some very good work on anti racism since. It's not as if he didn't sign black players before or since etc. On the football front it's a very astute appointment. I'm convinced he'll do well in the role and I'm delighted it'll be him choosing the new manager and not Kensell, Gordon or McDermott.
andyf5
15-05-2024, 06:09 AM
I went to find out what Malky Mackay was guilty of and found out he was declared innocent of wrongdoing after an FA investigation. The director of "kick it out" the anti-racism in football organisation was also satisfied with the outcome of the investigation. Ten years ago a newspaper published 3 private text messages out of 1000 others and this is what the witch hunt is based on? FA statement here https://www.thefa.com/news/2015/jul/15/fa-statement-malky-mackay-and-iain-moody Good footballing appointment.
andyf5
15-05-2024, 06:15 AM
Can you tell me what he is guilty of? The FA cleared him of wrongdoing after a newspaper published some private messages. I think if anyone's privacy was invaded in this way we would find something to chastise them over.
andyf5
15-05-2024, 06:18 AM
Here is a list of things up to 2015. Looks good. https://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/news/malky-mackay-sacked-a-factfile-of-the-former-cardiff-city-manager-s-career-9027205.html
15-05-2024, 06:27 AM
No way!!??? Surely not Hibs, ffs
Stairway 2 7
15-05-2024, 06:31 AM
This uniting the fans when were low is mince, were low because were pish. If next season we come third the stadium will be packed and the fans will be happy
Stairway 2 7
15-05-2024, 06:32 AM
Why not contact the ticket office, I'm sure they could arrange to transfer your season ticket to one of the hibs charities, so that a less fortunate hibby can attend next season.
Cracking idea
Stairway 2 7
15-05-2024, 06:33 AM
No way!!??? Surely not Hibs, ffs
Heard its pish but MS said it so it must be gospel
RossScott1991
15-05-2024, 06:56 AM
Next again morning. Have a lot of people stop over reacting yet?
Not buying the whole fans united / divided chat.
If Malky signs some decent players and Hibs aren’t soo garbage next season people will quickly don’t care what someone’s done in their past.
15-05-2024, 06:59 AM
Next again morning. Have a lot of people stop over reacting yet?
Not buying the whole fans united / divided chat.
If Malky signs some decent players and Hibs aren’t soo garbage next season people will quickly don’t care what someone’s done in their past.
ChuckNor
15-05-2024, 07:01 AM
Funny timing for announcing this appointment. It makes next to no sense to do announce this divisive appointment straight after sacking the manager.
I wonder if Ben Kensell has rushed the announcement so as to take the heat off him? If so it appears to have worked.
Chorley Hibee
15-05-2024, 07:02 AM
Heard its pish but MS said it so it must be gospel
There's people on this forum have said that it's true, so it's more than just Michael Stewart.
15-05-2024, 07:05 AM
Funny timing for announcing this appointment. It makes next to no sense to do announce this divisive appointment straight after sacking the manager.
I wonder if Ben Kensell has rushed the announcement so as to take the heat off him? If so it appears to have worked.
I disagree. I’m not going to go over the merits of appointing MM, but if he’s being tasked with recruiting a new manager then it makes total sense to announce it now. Otherwise they’d get flak for taking too long to begin the process.
TheGog
15-05-2024, 07:06 AM
People are so soft it’s unbelievable hahahahaha
NC1875
I went to find out what Malky Mackay was guilty of and found out he was declared innocent of wrongdoing after an FA investigation. The director of "kick it out" the anti-racism in football organisation was also satisfied with the outcome of the investigation. Ten years ago a newspaper published 3 private text messages out of 1000 others and this is what the witch hunt is based on? FA statement here https://www.thefa.com/news/2015/jul/15/fa-statement-malky-mackay-and-iain-moody Good footballing appointment.
Exactly, you’d think he was a serial killer the way all the saints on here are going on.
Way OTT
There's people on this forum have said that it's true, so it's more than just Michael Stewart.
It is true. I don’t know what the final outcome was but they were told they’d need to pay.
Weir07
15-05-2024, 07:07 AM
Refreshing so see someone take some time out to find out the facts! Malky McKay will get my backing until I don't think he's doing a good job for Hibs, which I hope is never. Not sure how anyone reading the article you posted could object to him working for our club. Fair play to him for proactively looking to educate himself!
15-05-2024, 07:10 AM
Genuine question for folk chucking the toys out the pram - where you sound when we appointed Neil Lennon after threatening to stab a woman he was cheating on with, were you alright with O’Connor loving the ching, does Newell and Boyle being convicted of drink driving get a pass? How about Bartley being a creep with his ex, the numerous players we’ve had getting into fights up the toon, or Stokes being a complete and utter ****bag? I could go on and on
All of them forgiven and most still seen as heroes, and some given more chances than second ones - all seemingly less of an issue than 3 texts sent 10 year ago
This faux outrage is pathetic and beyond hypocritical, and I can guarantee yous have all said something a bit unsavoury to your pal or laughed at something you probably shouldn’t have.
Stairway 2 7
15-05-2024, 07:12 AM
It is true. I don’t know what the final outcome was but they were told they’d need to pay.
I'd got told they just booked tables didn't expect it to be free but others told them they shouldn't have been paying. It was the booking team that they were dealing with I doubt anyone above at hibs knew. Now it's out there I'm sure they will be compt. Stevensons wife her sister and bairns are usually in the players lounge most weeks but I think this is for extended family
BigKev
15-05-2024, 07:16 AM
Genuine question for folk chucking the toys out the pram - where you sound when we appointed Neil Lennon after threatening to stab a woman he was cheating on with, were you alright with O’Connor loving the ching, does Newell and Boyle being convicted of drink driving get a pass? How about Bartley being a creep with his ex, the numerous players we’ve had getting into fights up the toon, or Stokes being a complete and utter ****bag? I could go on and on
All of them forgiven and most still seen as heroes, and some given more chances than second ones - all seemingly less of an issue than 3 texts sent 10 year ago
This faux outrage is pathetic and beyond hypocritical, and I can guarantee yous have all said something a bit unsavoury to your pal or laughed at something you probably shouldn’t have.
Should have a like button for sensible comments like these.
The majority of Block 7 break the law most weekends by blasting gear, drinking underage or abusing others. Their moral high ground would be hilarious if they weren’t trying to be serious.
Their statement should have been written in crayon given that it looks like it was written by a 4 year old.
ChuckNor
15-05-2024, 07:18 AM
Most sensible post I’ve read yet. The faux outrage among people trying to outdo one another in the “I’m outraged and more anti racist than you” stakes.
The lot of you need to go have a lie down.
15-05-2024, 07:19 AM
It's an old political trick to announce all the bad news at once to dissipate the reaction to each of the individual bits of bad news. :greengrin
15-05-2024, 07:20 AM
I'd got told they just booked tables didn't expect it to be free but others told them they shouldn't have been paying. It was the booking team that they were dealing with I doubt anyone above at hibs knew. Now it's out there I'm sure they will be compt. Stevensons wife her sister and bairns are usually in the players lounge most weeks but I think this is for extended family
Your first sentence is at odds with what I was told. That person would know. What wasn’t clear was who had made the decision.
Superfurry72
15-05-2024, 07:22 AM
He wasn’t punished for it, was he? Not as far as I know. And he only undertook training once he realised how toxic his reputation was.
The way you put this does not reflect who I am as a person, you’re making assumptions about me which are not correct. It’s not about ‘sides’, it’s about context. But I’m sure you’re aware of it, it just helps you to simplify the debate to justify your stance.
But fine, we’re not going to agree. But this and the many other debates raging on here show just how divisive an appointment this is. Coming alongside the other stuff coming out out of ER just now I don’t think I’ve ever felt so alienated from my club. And that is sad.
Everybody knows and agrees what he did was wrong and he was correctly punished for it.
I suppose you’re either the sort of person that believes in people getting second chances after they’ve done all they can to make up for their mistakes or you’re someone who thinks they should be punished for life no matter what they do.
I know what side I am on.
I hope Malky knows most people are pretty reasonable and the loud minority should be ignored.
ChuckNor
15-05-2024, 07:25 AM
If Show Racism the Red Card has no issue with him receiving a second chance then why are so many in a frenzy on here? Beyond mad.
https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-38314905.amp
Paulie Walnuts
15-05-2024, 07:25 AM
Most sensible post I’ve read yet. The faux outrage among people trying to outdo one another in the “I’m outraged and more anti racist than you” stakes.
The lot of you need to go have a lie down.
Absolute pish.
As I posted yesterday, one of the racist terms he used could be applied to my family. I know for a fact I’m not the only person in that boat he’s posted since he was appointed. If I heard someone saying these things in real life, I’d want nothing to do with them, ever, regardless of apologies or training courses.
Now I fully understand the point about the drink driving etc. Rightly or wrongly, it doesn’t evoke the same sense of feeling within me as my family haven’t been impacted by it. They’ve absolutely been impacted by racism though, hence why I feel so strongly about it.
If it was a throw away comment about ‘going for a chinky’ or something, I’d have more sympathy. They weren’t though.
I don’t want the guy anywhere near our club. I’ve no idea of your race, religion, sexuality etc but I’d be willing to bet there’s a good few straight, white, non religious males who have been on here telling everybody that the reaction to the comments are a complete overreaction. Trust me, they don’t get to choose what the reaction should be.
15-05-2024, 07:27 AM
There was a thread yesterday about giving the new manager a chance and I stated that this wouldn’t happen and why.
Setting aside any comments about McKay’s past indiscretions, this thread proves why any new manager won’t get a clean slate to start with
We can’t agree amongst ourselves if he is a good prospect as DOF and there are some polar opposite reasons why
At the end of the day he won’t be picking the team or setting out the tactics so his input will have far less effect on us than the new manager.
Looking forward to the debate on that!
On his appt, it’s a difficult one
We need to believe that rehabilitation is possible
Yet we will all have our individual red lines that make that impossible for us to accept under certain circumstances
He will turn out somewhere on the spectrum between excellent or terrible, but my opinion is it’s another divisive issue we didn’t need to expose ourselves to after years of turmoil
ChuckNor
I disagree. I’m not going to go over the merits of appointing MM, but if he’s being tasked with recruiting a new manager then it makes total sense to announce it now. Otherwise they’d get flak for taking too long to begin the process.
Fair. But announcing within a matter of hours? Couldn’t at least wait a couple of days? Ben Kensell has got off with one. How is he still earning £300K for the sorry mess he and Ian Gordon have left us in.
:agree: I was going to post about the double standards of many supporters, but I think this post covers the point more than adequately.
Superfurry72
15-05-2024, 07:36 AM
With you on this mate
Absolute pish.
As I posted yesterday, one of the racist terms he used could be applied to my family. I know for a fact I’m not the only person in that boat he’s posted since he was appointed. If I heard someone saying these things in real life, I’d want nothing to do with them, ever, regardless of apologies or training courses.
Now I fully understand the point about the drink driving etc. Rightly or wrongly, it doesn’t evoke the same sense of feeling within me as my family haven’t been impacted by it. They’ve absolutely been impacted by racism though, hence why I feel so strongly about it.
If it was a throw away comment about ‘going for a chinky’ or something, I’d have more sympathy. They weren’t though.
I don’t want the guy anywhere near our club. I’ve no idea of your race, religion, sexuality etc but I’d be willing to bet there’s a good few straight, white, non religious males who have been on here telling everybody that the reaction to the comments are a complete overreaction. Trust me, they don’t get to choose what the reaction should be.
15-05-2024, 07:39 AM
Absolute pish.
What about Bartley and Lennon? Surely you don’t need to be a woman to understand how abhorrent the abuse they inflicted on their partners was?
15-05-2024, 07:39 AM
Can you tell me what he is guilty of? The FA cleared him of wrongdoing after a newspaper published some private messages. I think if anyone's privacy was invaded in this way we would find something to chastise them over.
Your quite correct to point out that he wasn’t found guilty in a court of law of racism so that was the wrong word to use however I think it’s irrefutable that he made racist , anti-Semitic and homophobic comments. The fact that he wasn’t charged in a court of law for making them doesn’t change my concerns over his appointment.
Paulie Walnuts
15-05-2024, 07:44 AM
What about Bartley and Lennon? Surely you don’t need to be a woman to understand how abhorrent the abuse they inflicted on their partners was?
Again, it’s not something myself, or my family, have ever been subjected to, so whilst I absolutely understand how abhorrent it was, rightly or wrongly, it doesn’t evoke the same sense of emotion. Yes, people can argue that’s selective or whatever, but it’s human nature to feel more passionately about issues that have impacted your family over ones that haven’t.
That being said, if we went to appoint someone with that sort of background now, I’d very much be questioning that as well.
15-05-2024, 07:45 AM
If Malky could bang in a goal in a cup final, do an airplane celebration or score a hattrick against Rangers all would be forgiven :greengrin
15-05-2024, 07:48 AM
Bang on! Pin this post please for the benefit of all the folk throwing toys out the pram!
Rumble de Thump
15-05-2024, 07:49 AM
Absolute pish.
Treating someone as a pariah for the rest of their life, no matter what, because you deem them to have done something in the past you're unhappy with is a really toxic, abusive way to behave. A little self awareness would go a long way.
Paulie Walnuts
15-05-2024, 07:50 AM
Treating someone as a pariah for the rest of their life, no matter what, because you deem them to have done something in the past you're unhappy with is a really toxic, abusive way to behave. A litt self awareness would go a long way.
No, it’s really not. Being racist, misogynistic etc is a really toxic, abusive way to behave.
Again, I’ve no idea what your background is, but I fully suspect there would be things that you’d be completely unwilling to accept an apology for from someone. This is one for me. And the idea that racism is something that people from minorities are just ‘unhappy with’ is the understatement of the century. It’s something which impacts their lives, negatively, pretty much every day
I’m also not suggesting he shouldn’t be allowed to live some form of life. I’m just very, very disappointed that it’s at our club that he’ll be working.
15-05-2024, 07:51 AM
Bartley was never found guilty I thought?
Crazyhorse
15-05-2024, 07:54 AM
Hezbollah was established to fight the 1982 invasion of Lebanon by Israel.
Who they eventually managed to expel. Which perhaps explains in part their pariah status amongst the chief backers of the Israeli state.
I don’t want to derail the thread but various people seem to be chipping in on this. My understanding is that they are what most of us would regard as a political organisation based on an extremist religious ideology but it’s worth noting they are not a proscribed terrorist organisation by the UN or the EU and their MPs sit in the Lebanese parliament.
Their ideology seems to be a mirror in many ways of the extremist religious and openly genocidal parties currently ruling in Israel alongside Netanyahu. And despite their almost constant attempts to stir up terror attacks against West Bank Palestinians there seem to be no plans to proscribe these parties.
I’m sure there are others on here more expert than me on the Middle East and I’m happy to be corrected where wrong.
TheHibernator
15-05-2024, 07:54 AM
I assume all those complaining also never celebrated a derek riordan goal, or stopped attending games when Leigh Griffiths was here?
As many have said the double standards are ridiculous and amount to virtue signalling and not much more.
Welcome Malky🇳🇬
15-05-2024, 07:55 AM
Bartley was never found guilty I thought?
Guilty of threatening behaviour towards a woman, was fined.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/crime/love-rat-hibs-star-marvin-11604718.amp
15-05-2024, 07:57 AM
Fair. But announcing within a matter of hours? Couldn’t at least wait a couple of days? Ben Kensell has got off with one. How is he still earning £300K for the sorry mess he and Ian Gordon have left us in.
I would have had no issues if they’d announced it at the same time as the Monty sacking though I get why they were done separately. They were getting slated for the holding statement put out after we failed to make top 6. They’ve belatedly made a decision to sack an underperforming manager and quickly announced they’ve appointed someone tasked with bringing in his replacement. As a fan that’s what I want to hear.
We will never agree re Kensell. I get the argument that as CEO the buck stops with him, but they have recognised the football side of things is failing. They’ve taken steps to address that. Whether McKay is the man to fix that we will need to wait and see. I’m not sure how Kensell has got off with one.
Mike Berry
15-05-2024, 08:01 AM
Who they eventually managed to expel. Which perhaps explains in part their pariah status amongst the chief backers of the Israeli state.
I don’t want to derail the thread but various people seem to be chipping in on this. My understanding is that they are what most of us would regard as a political organisation based on an extremist religious ideology but it’s worth noting they are not a proscribed terrorist organisation by the UN or the EU and their MPs sit in the Lebanese parliament.
Their ideology seems to be a mirror in many ways of the extremist religious and openly genocidal parties currently ruling in Israel alongside Netanyahu. And despite their almost constant attempts to stir up terror attacks against West Bank Palestinians there seem to be no plans to proscribe these parties.
I’m sure there are others on here more expert than me on the Middle East and I’m happy to be corrected where wrong.I've seen this subject come up on this forum before. It's not really the place to discuss it, but I'd recommend this book to anyone who wants to understand Palestine/Israel and the conflict
https://www.amazon.co.uk/s?k=ilan+pappe&crid=1ECHOAHTIN5NP&sprefix=ilan+pappe%2Caps%2C141&ref=nb_sb_ss_ts-doa-p_1_10
Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk
SerenityGreen
15-05-2024, 08:01 AM
steady oan :shocked:
Fn brilliant, laughed out loud quite a bit at that one,,,:top marksmaybe too much :tee hee: ,,,
EVENTUALLY
15-05-2024, 08:08 AM
Absolute pish.
I don’t want the guy anywhere near our club. I’ve no idea of your race, religion, sexuality etc but I’d be willing to bet there’s a good few straight, white, non religious males who have been on here telling everybody that the reaction to the comments are a complete overreaction. Trust me, they don’t get to choose what the reaction should be​.
I'm with you 100%. It's massively personal for me too.
MKHIBEE
15-05-2024, 08:15 AM
I said in an earlier post that all those outraged and not coming back better have whiter that white morals to be taking the high ground on this.
Why?
15-05-2024, 08:17 AM
At least his laddie’s a Centre Half. No a bad start
15-05-2024, 08:19 AM
I’m sure there are others on here more expert than me on the Middle East and I’m happy to be corrected where wrong.
Are you the old boy amidst Block 7 who I see from BBC Gossip/The Herald are calling MM's appointment a disgrace? A bit of inner reflection needed methinks.
MKHIBEE
15-05-2024, 08:20 AM
Absolute pish.
Excellent post.
15-05-2024, 08:21 AM
Like a lot of Hibs supporters, I come from a background where we were immigrants into Scotland, from elsewhere (Italy, Ireland, elsewhere)
Edinburgh was the place that gave the family the second chance, after having to flee elsewhere due to crops failing / poverty / all the rest of it.
Hibs were the club that became a huge focal point in our family's lives.
You know, sometimes there's no chance that's more cherished (and more necessary) for people than the Second Chance. It's a lifeline. It means the world.
So, on the important assumption Malky has genuine regret for those stupid actions (and everything I hear these days says that he has genuine regret for them & for the offence caused) then everyone deserves a second chance. They really do.
And a lot of us, with backgrounds like the above, can vouch for it - Hibs should be the home of the second chance.
15-05-2024, 08:22 AM
Regardless of what he’s done in the past or his credentials to do the job, this is an incredibly stupid appointment at a time when the club needs to be pulling together to rebuild. The disjoint between club and fans is bad enough, now we have a massive split within the support. Read the room FFS
15-05-2024, 08:23 AM
The fact our society is full of ***** bags not getting any comeuppance for their behaviour isn't a great defence of this appointment imo.
And burning books is a mile away from not being happy about Hibs appointing someone.
MKHIBEE
15-05-2024, 08:26 AM
Why?
Crazyhorse
15-05-2024, 08:29 AM
Are you the old boy amidst Block 7 who I see from BBC Gossip/The Herald are calling MM's appointment a disgrace? A bit of inner reflection needed methinks.
Greenbeard I don’t understand your question to be honest or the point you’re trying to make. I’m not on the BBC. Reflection is something everyone should engage in I’m sure you would agree.
15-05-2024, 08:33 AM
I'm really struggling to understand why a 42 year old would need a training course to understand that's it not OK to call Asian people that ch word in 2014.
I'd love to hear how that course goes.
15-05-2024, 08:34 AM
There's a balance to be struck here and deriding all views that are not pleased with his appointment as faux outrage is unreasonable. If you or someone in your family or friends is Chinese, or gay or a woman who has been on the receiving end of sexism or worse - and has suffered in consequence - it would be entirely understandable if your reaction wasn't wildly enthusiastic. That wouldn't be faux outrage it would much more likely be a genuine and reasonable emotional reaction based on what you yourself have experienced or witnessed.
Treating those responses in that way doesn't actually help MM in what he does next at Hibs. He's taken positive action to address his behaviour, 'owned' it publicly and tried to change. I am uncomfortable with his appointment for perfectly good reasons but I also understand the importance of redemption and rehabilitation which is why my view is to give him a chance to do a good job and not let us down. That others don't feel that way is not unreasonable and their views shouldn't be blanket dismissed.
15-05-2024, 08:35 AM
I boycott Jane Godley as she’s as funny as being stuck in an elevator with hertz huddie Gary McKay
15-05-2024, 08:40 AM
I'm really struggling to understand why a 42 year old would need a training course to understand that's it not OK to call Asian people that ch word in 2014.
I'd love to hear how that course goes.
Probably because he grew up in the 70s, with all the parental and environmental attitudes that were around at the time. Childhood conditioning is a powerful thing. Allying that with the macho culture that existed in football when he played, I'm not all that surprised.
15-05-2024, 08:40 AM
Absolute pish.
Good post Stubbsy.
MagicSwirlingShip
15-05-2024, 08:47 AM
I watched the Sporting Director podcast posted on here last night, and found it really interesting.
Malky has earned the trust, and worked alongside some esteemed names in football, and seems to have quite the contact book to call upon.
Hoping his appointment is a success, and the division in our fanbase can be healed.
Next up, a head coach appointment. Looking forward to seeing what comes of this
15-05-2024, 08:52 AM
Probably because he grew up in the 70s, with all the parental and environmental attitudes that were around at the time. Childhood conditioning is a powerful thing. Allying that with the macho culture that existed in football when he played, I'm not all that surprised.
Both my parents are a generation above him and grew up in council houses in less than glamorous parts of Scotland. Never heard them use that word and I'd have been given serious trouble if I'd been caught saying that at 14.
I just can't buy this defence of ignorance when the guy is 42.
GreenPJ
15-05-2024, 08:53 AM
As Mr Jung once said “Thinking is difficult, that’s why most people judge.”
15-05-2024, 08:54 AM
Mind when Yogi said Benji had been training in the mountains with the Taliban with a big daft grin on his face?
The footage of Hearts players singing " Jose's on the water" after they won the 98 SC.
That's Malky's generation.