View Full Version : Hibernian statement on away supporters

Pages : 1 2 [3]

04-08-2024, 01:28 PM
What does “expand or perish” mean? Can’t work it out given it’s clearly not about expanding to a united Ireland, and their outlook is insular and not welcoming to immigrants.Expand? Suppose it is possible for them to get fatter.

Albert Kidd 86’
04-08-2024, 01:31 PM
Should be cutting them to the same level that hearts have
I would just go the whole hog (sic) and ban the lot of them from ER, you have to take a strong stand against these losers.

04-08-2024, 01:35 PM
Should be cutting them to the same level that hearts have

That didn't stop them bringing in the banner. If you are wanting to make a point a complete ban is the only way. Reducing allocations is only hitting the club financially without eliminating the problem.

04-08-2024, 01:37 PM
That didn't stop them bringing in the banner. If you are wanting to make a point a complete ban is the only way. Reducing allocations is only hitting the club financially without eliminating the problem.

The police letting them walk into a football stadium with that banner should lead to some kind of internal investigation. Doughnut patrol failing badly at their job when it comes to the Huns, again.

Albert Kidd 86’
04-08-2024, 01:38 PM
I am not on social media, could someone not send that pic to kensell etc and apply a little pressure?

04-08-2024, 02:24 PM
See when you look at the small band of Rangers fan in the corner at Tynecastle yesterday, thats about all we have cut from their allocation at ER. It really isn't a lot. Completely pointless.

To some extent it’s not. Forgetting the many others issue, the overcrowding thing is a disgrace. At least by reducing the start number, if the Huns continue to push their way in, at least it will not get dangerously overcrowded.

04-08-2024, 06:01 PM
I would just go the whole hog (sic) and ban the lot of them from ER, you have to take a strong stand against these losers.

Good points both, you’re right. Remove them completely

Pickle
11-08-2024, 02:04 PM
So I guess the by product of reducing away allocation is we just sell tickets to them in the home stands!! Upper West season tickets for 5 of us and at least 8 Celtic fans in close vicinity. After the first goal easily spotted/heard. Not one to discourage a neutral buying tickets and not sure how to ensure not sold to away fans but imagine this will be repeated for future games V Celtic/Rangers.

11-08-2024, 04:57 PM
We just going to ignore the IRA songs being sung today? Game hadn't even kicked off and they were belting them out. Or do Celtic get away with that because its not anti catholic stuff like build my Gallows and no pope of rome? :confused:

They should have their allocation reduced further for those songs today.

11-08-2024, 05:01 PM
Interestingly the crowd was only down slightly on both last seasons home games v Celtic. There were actually more Hibs fans at today's game than either game last season.

The first game last season was Saturday at 3pm as well and not on the TV.

11-08-2024, 05:05 PM
So I guess the by product of reducing away allocation is we just sell tickets to them in the home stands!! Upper West season tickets for 5 of us and at least 8 Celtic fans in close vicinity. After the first goal easily spotted/heard. Not one to discourage a neutral buying tickets and not sure how to ensure not sold to away fans but imagine this will be repeated for future games V Celtic/Rangers.

You can only buy if you’re on the database and have previously bought tickets for a Cat B game so Hibs fans are to blame.

No neutral can buy for Cat A games

11-08-2024, 05:27 PM
We just going to ignore the IRA songs being sung today? Game hadn't even kicked off and they were belting them out. Or do Celtic get away with that because its not anti catholic stuff like build my Gallows and no pope of rome? :confused:

Glad someone’s said it, just as bad as they’re equally as trampy Rangers counterparts

11-08-2024, 05:29 PM

The one good thing about sitting above block 7 today was I never heard any of the Celtic song book.

11-08-2024, 05:30 PM
The one good thing about sitting above block 7 today was I never heard any of the Celtic song book.

They were pretty quiet today tbf

11-08-2024, 05:30 PM
And nae bother with them obscuring most of the upper deck advertising with their flags and banners, the ribbon also obscured in places too. Folk pay for that.

7Hero
11-08-2024, 05:32 PM
banners on the away end ad boards, Hibs did a risk assessment on this and it wasn't worth the risk..

So that won't improve anytime soon ..

11-08-2024, 05:36 PM
Glad someone’s said it, just as bad as they’re equally as trampy Rangers counterparts

Because it's Celtic it seems to be ok though or nobody hears anything. I don't get it, I heard it no bother and I'm the WU in line with 6yd line at the F5 end of the ground.

If it was Rule Britannia or Derrys walls being sung this place would be in absolute meltdown.

11-08-2024, 05:41 PM
Because it's Celtic it seems to be ok though or nobody hears anything. I don't get it, I heard it no bother and I'm the WU in line with 6yd line at the F5 end of the ground.

If it was Rule Britannia or Derrys walls being sung this place would be in absolute meltdown.
Yeah but you know as well as I do that Celtic are unfortunately tolerated by some in a way Rangers rightly aren’t.

11-08-2024, 05:47 PM
Yeah but you know as well as I do that Celtic are unfortunately tolerated by some in a way Rangers rightly aren’t.

I dislike them as much as I do Rangers. No free rides here from me.

11-08-2024, 06:14 PM
Small bonus to having B7 right in front of me that I genuinely never heard them all game. I do wholeheartedly agree with you though that both sides are equally as bad as each other.

Blurhibee
11-08-2024, 06:19 PM
I dislike them as much as I do Rangers. No free rides here from me.

What songs did they sing today?

11-08-2024, 06:19 PM
Personally, I feel the exact same level of revulsion towards Celtc Fans as I do about Der Hun... and their Far Right nutjob counterparts down in England.

11-08-2024, 06:21 PM
Couldn’t hear a word of any of their songs.

Well done Hibs letting them hang a banner all the way across the advertising boards - I’m sure the company would be thrilled.

Thought they were tame today - usual overcrowding where ultras were situated.

11-08-2024, 06:25 PM
Must be just me that’s more worried about the team we have on the park than the songs away fans sing.

Couldn’t care less. My enjoyment or lack of it today was the fact we didn’t get a shot on target. Toughen up

McHibby
11-08-2024, 06:32 PM
Yes, the quote is directly linked to Benito Mussolini, and the skull is the exact insignia of the 3rd SS Panzer Division of the Waffen-SS.

OMFG.

I didn't know what either of them meant (or the numbers). That is absolutely appalling.

11-08-2024, 06:34 PM
What songs did they sing today?

Boys of the old brigade was a one of them.

11-08-2024, 06:34 PM
And nae bother with them obscuring most of the upper deck advertising with their flags and banners, the ribbon also obscured in places too. Folk pay for that.

If I was paying for stadium advertising I’d be asking some questions to the commercial department as to why that for the biggest games and the ones where the branding will get most exposure to a larger audience and also on live TV the paid for advertising space is covered with banners.

It’s been happening for years, but try bring a flag along yourself and hanging it over the front of West or FF uppers and see how long it takes before a steward asks you to remove it. It won’t be long.

11-08-2024, 06:35 PM
What about our fans ditties? Something about the queen cringey as to be honest

11-08-2024, 06:37 PM
Small bonus to having B7 right in front of me that I genuinely never heard them all game. I do wholeheartedly agree with you though that both sides are equally as bad as each other.

That was one of the benefits of being in the ff upper

11-08-2024, 06:41 PM
Yes, the quote is directly linked to Benito Mussolini, and the skull is the exact insignia of the 3rd SS Panzer Division of the Waffen-SS.

A similar banner appeared previously within the Rangers support which was to be fair, condemned by Rangers who promised a full investigation. This looks like a different banner so Rangers will need to be reopening that investigation.

Wonder how this equates with their love of all things armed forces. Very very weird

TrinityHFC
11-08-2024, 09:19 PM
Boys of the old brigade was a one of them.

On a par with Flower of Scotland in terms of being offensive. Nothing to do with football of course.

11-08-2024, 09:22 PM
Couldn't behave so Hibs should be cutting another 2 sections.

percy veer
11-08-2024, 09:24 PM
Must be just me that’s more worried about the team we have on the park than the songs away fans sing.

Couldn’t care less. My enjoyment or lack of it today was the fact we didn’t get a shot on target. Toughen up

100% people need to grow up , some fans are singing songs boo hoo.

Just_Jimmy
11-08-2024, 09:25 PM
You can only buy if you’re on the database and have previously bought tickets for a Cat B game so Hibs fans are to blame.

No neutral can buy for Cat A gamesIt's not hard to get around.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

11-08-2024, 09:28 PM
I actually get more pissed off not being able to walk Albion Road after the game.

Feel like an away fan at home games at times.

11-08-2024, 09:33 PM
I know what the official attendance was today, but how many do we actually think were there?

I couldn't go but it looks on the highlights that it's nowhere near as embarrassing as some were expecting

11-08-2024, 09:34 PM
I know what the official attendance was today, but how many do we actually think were there?

I couldn't go but it looks on the highlights that it's nowhere near as embarrassing as some were expecting

Don’t think it would be that far off the attendance which was announced

11-08-2024, 09:35 PM
I actually get more pissed off not being able to walk Albion Road after the game.

Feel like an away fan at home games at times.

I wonder if any other club in the UK inconveniences their own supporters at home and barricading them in to prevent movement to where they need to go?

Rangers, Celtic and Hearts supporters should be kept behind for 15 minutes until the main body of the Hibs support has left the environs of their own stadium.

It’s a ridiculous situation.

11-08-2024, 09:37 PM

It was a more than decent crowd today, particularly for a game on TV and one that few Hibs fans had much confidence that we could get a result.

11-08-2024, 09:37 PM

It was decent enough but did Hibs hand out tickets to some groups to fill the safe standing or FF lower ?

Saw quite a few tourists at the game.

Think Dundee attendance will be interesting- right now it’s a really important game to get our 1st goal of the league season and a win.

11-08-2024, 09:40 PM
It was decent enough but did Hibs hand out tickets to some groups to fill the safe standing or FF lower ?

Saw quite a few tourists at the game.

Think Dundee attendance will be interesting- right now it’s a really important game to get our 1st goal of the league season and a win.

Dundee should bring a decent support with the start hey have had. If we get a couple of midfielders in then we should see a good crowd.....

11-08-2024, 09:51 PM
Dundee should bring a decent support with the start hey have had. If we get a couple of midfielders in then we should see a good crowd.....

Looking forward to it.

mcohibs
11-08-2024, 10:19 PM

What does cutting the allocation do to combat inappropriate singing? Won’t change a thing, it’s a useless (and costly) exercise.

12-08-2024, 05:11 AM
Overall I thought the reduction in away support was a success.
First thing of note was the complete lack of flares at both ends.
From the west upper I could barely hear the Celtic support, certainly not enough to make out lyrics. I would have to have known the tune and lyrics of their songs in advance if I was to have any chance of knowing what was being sung. Same goes for our own support. Lots of noise but nothing got through to take offence at.
The lack of overcrowding was very apparent and addresses the safety aspect.
I think the points made about covering advertising and the huge flags spoiling the view for others (that happens at both ends of course) are points well made.

So, maybe ban flags and the covering of advertising and we are pretty much there IMHO.
Let’s see how it goes with the other gang from the west.

I do wish that we could ban the incessant drumming but that is just a personal pet hate.

12-08-2024, 06:50 AM
From the west upper I could barely hear the Celtic support, certainly not enough to make out lyrics. I would have to have known the tune and lyrics of their songs in advance if I was to have any chance of knowing what was being sung. Same goes for our own support. Lots of noise but nothing got through to take offence at.
I think the points made about covering advertising and the huge flags spoiling the view for others (that happens at both ends of course) are points well made.

So, maybe ban flags and the covering of advertising and we are pretty much there IMHO.

I do wish that we could ban the incessant drumming but that is just a personal pet hate.

For me, it seems slightly self defeating.

I'm in favour of hibs punishing the old firm for their fans behavior but to be effective it needs to be more than this. Otherwise it's just costing us money (I take your point about flares and overcrowding).

There are a lot of posts on this forum lamenting the fact we seem to be slowly losing our identity as the club chases money, yet here they are throwing away thousands of pounds just to make the IRA songs a wee bit less audible than they were before.

Either cut them down to the absolute minimum or give them the stand.

12-08-2024, 07:31 AM

We won't be there until we are fully playing in a library! I'd also ban under 6's and have a mandatory breathalyser on the way in for all males between 18-65. If anyone has drunk any alcohol, don't let them in either.

We have to completely sanitise football

12-08-2024, 08:03 AM
It's not hard to get around.

They actually make it quite difficult.
Pretty sure you have to have bought the Cat B ticket at least 6 months in advance if buying a Cat A ticket.

12-08-2024, 08:40 AM
Pretty sure you have to have bought the Cat B ticket at least 6 months in advance if buying a Cat A ticket.

Hon should do a tourist ticket scheme for Cat A games. Present a non uk passport at the ticket office to enable you to buy tickets. During the festival they’d definitely get a few takers.

ErinGoBraghHFC
12-08-2024, 08:44 AM
Hon should do a tourist ticket scheme for Cat A games. Present a non uk passport at the ticket office to enable you to buy tickets. During the festival they’d definitely get a few takers.

Missing out on a lot of English tourists if you do that I’d think. Maybe a drivers license with a non Scottish address could qualify too? Good idea though I think.

12-08-2024, 09:18 AM
Missing out on a lot of English tourists if you do that I’d think. Maybe a drivers license with a non Scottish address could qualify too? Good idea though I think.

Wouldn’t take the risk with English tourist. Loads of OF fans down there. Don’t want them getting tickets.

12-08-2024, 12:02 PM
I was at the ticket office before a celtic game a couple of seasons ago. In front of me was an American tourist buying 6 tickets "for anywhere inside the stadium" he got them no problem, no ID required and there was absolutely no way he had ever bought a cat B ticket in his life

ErinGoBraghHFC
12-08-2024, 04:07 PM
Wouldn’t take the risk with English tourist. Loads of OF fans down there. Don’t want them getting tickets.

Plenty Celtic fans will have an Irish passport as well though

12-08-2024, 04:11 PM
Plenty Celtic fans will have an Irish passport as well though

No system is 100% fool proof. I still think it's a good idea and Hibs are missing a trick. Tourist ticket, only available with a non UK passport and flight numbers and bookings or something.

12-08-2024, 07:48 PM
On a par with Flower of Scotland in terms of being offensive. Nothing to do with football of course.

"Oh father why are you so sad on this bright Easter morn'When Irish men are proud and glad of the land where they were born
Son I see in memories view of far-off distant days
When being just a lad like you I joined the IRA"

Yeah, right, just the same :rolleyes:

Just_Jimmy
12-08-2024, 09:22 PM
Pretty sure you have to have bought the Cat B ticket at least 6 months in advance if buying a Cat A ticket.Again, not particularly difficult. Especially if it's an old firm fan living in Edinburgh.

Part with 30 or so quid every six months to watch your team twice or so a season at Easter Road.

I'm not saying there's loads that do it but there'll be some.

ErinGoBraghHFC
12-08-2024, 09:38 PM
"Oh father why are you so sad on this bright Easter morn'When Irish men are proud and glad of the land where they were born

Tis indeed. The song refers to the IRA of the 1920s War of Independence, not the Provos. Doesn’t belong at a Scottish football match though.

13-08-2024, 05:27 AM
We won't be there until we are fully playing in a library! I'd also ban under 6's and have a mandatory breathalyser on the way in for all males between 18-65. If anyone has drunk any alcohol, don't let them in either.

We have to completely sanitise football

Great plan👍

13-08-2024, 05:28 AM

Irish passport? 🤔

13-08-2024, 05:32 AM
Tis indeed. The song refers to the IRA of the 1920s War of Independence, not the Provos. Doesn’t belong at a Scottish football match though.

Seeing the words, more likely the 1916 uprising?

JasonC1875
13-08-2024, 06:27 AM
Seeing the words, more likely the 1916 uprising?

Both technically right as the IRA wasn’t a thing by name until 1919.

TrinityHFC
13-08-2024, 07:21 AM

Yeah, the same. Singing about the army that fought for and won independence from an oppressive regime.

This is not a reference to the later provisional IRA.

As I said nothing to do with football but there’s nothing offensive about it.

13-08-2024, 04:47 PM

I wonder if any other club in the UK inconveniences their own supporters at home and barricading them in to prevent movement to where they need to go?

Rangers, Celtic and Hearts supporters should be kept behind for 15 minutes until the main body of the Hibs support has left the environs of their own stadium.

It’s a ridiculous situation.

Could you imagine the carnage up Easter Road as 3000 rabid Huns or Jambos walk up singing their pish. The Mash Tun, Hibs Club, Middletons etc, full of Hibs fans would be sitting ducks. It's been this way for 30-40 years, it aint changing unless they can find a way to get the away fans out via Meadowbank.....not sure the folk who live on that route would be too happy though.

13-08-2024, 05:27 PM
Could you imagine the carnage up Easter Road as 3000 rabid Huns or Jambos walk up singing their pish. The Mash Tun, Hibs Club, Middletons etc, full of Hibs fans would be sitting ducks. It's been this way for 30-40 years, it aint changing unless they can find a way to get the away fans out via Meadowbank.....not sure the folk who live on that route would be too happy though.