View Full Version : Hibernian statement on away supporters
12-03-2024, 01:01 PM
Exactly.
However, I am concerned about Block 7 repeatedly causing issues for the club and giving the media the excuse they need to bring up our fans misbehavior. Think it's a mistake to give them what is basically their own section from next season.
Whether or not it's a mistake remains to be seen. But behaviour from our fans at Ibrox with the '66' stickers, throwing stuff at Tynecastle and on Sunday was totally unacceptable and it's time for it to stop.
I do not think Hibs will reverse the decision on the FF lower, but if things don't change there is every chance block 7 will find themselves watching the game through a 15' high netting fence like you get in some continental stadiums if this continues. They can perhaps try to refute claims they were responsible for what happened at Ibrox or Tynecastle .... they can't say the same for Sunday.
Chucking stuff at the opposition, even if it is Lawrence Shankland, is not 'supporting' your club, it's being a brain dead ned.
Mcbizz1998
12-03-2024, 01:06 PM
The stuff about the Queen just came across as cringe and desperate on Sunday evening. We were losing, listening to that **** sing their usual sectarian bile - so some of our fans resort to trying to wind them up about the death of an old lady who has been dead for 18 months and who’s son is now the King anyway?
In a similar vein, a jambo I know was telling me how the Mercer song was being sung at Tynecastle the other week. He was delighted tell me that the hearts fans had responded with a song of their own about the late Ron Gordon passing away.
It’s just all so pathetic and depressing from all sides. Rangers are by far the worst and I’m glad Hibs are coming out and saying something but tbh football fans, from every club, really are a bunch of knuckle draggers. Completely weird.
12-03-2024, 01:21 PM
Well done Hibs - the chanting from der Hun when Martin Boyle was out for the count was absolutely disgusting.
Perhaps reduced allocation will lead to some self policing among that shower. Doubt it but you live in hope.
12-03-2024, 01:27 PM
The authorities have already made most of their songbook illegal to sing in public. How do you enforce that when it's 4000 all singing it inside a football stadium? It is an absolute FACT that police Scotland are scared to pile into a stand full of pissed up knuckle draggers for fear of it turning into a full scale riot, and who can blame them. As for our stadium security, they can't even stop hundreds of them doubling up at the turnstiles, never mind control them inside the stadium ... get yer pus panned in for £10 an hour, you would have to be mental.
I agree that football without fans, especially away fans, is massively diluted as a spectacle and an experience. But when that 'atmosphere' is created by bigoted and sectarian songs and chanting it simply HAS to be considered unacceptable to a modern 21st century entertainment industry which is trying to attract families to its stadiums, not see them put off by what happens inside them.
The absolute fact here is that no solution, be it changes in wider society or to the law, has made the slightest bit of difference. In fact in the last few years the behaviour of fans of that club at Easter Road has become considerably worse, not better. Rangers have paid lip service to the problem over the years, knowing full well it will be ignored, to the extent they release Orange away strips with the half assed excuse of tributes to Dutch players. Neither the SFA, SPFL or the sports media are prepared to do what needs to be done, or say what needs to be said .... That has been evident for years.
If the knuckle dragging hoards want to come to ER and sing GSTK and wave their wee union flegs, then they can knock themselves out as far as I ( an independence supporting member of two 'republic' groups ) am concerned ... neither are illegal, nor unacceptable in society.
But we as a club simply cannot tolerate allowing unfettered bigotry into our stadium any more ... we wouldn't and don't tolerate bigotry, racism or homophobia within our stadium from our own support .. why should we tolerate it from away supporters, as we have done for years.
What Hibs have done here is the ONLY solution, for the simple reason that none of the others have worked, and the only thing wrong with it is that it's about 12 years overdue.
Not to make a political point but rather to emphasise that your position on this has support from a broad spectrum of views, I'd just add that as a Union supporting person whose antipathy toward the monarchy is dramatically weakening the more I contemplate possible alternatives (President Farage anyone?) I endorse all the sentiment and every word of your excellent post there NN.
12-03-2024, 01:41 PM
Exactly.
However, I am concerned about Block 7 repeatedly causing issues for the club and giving the media the excuse they need to bring up our fans misbehavior. Think it's a mistake to give them what is basically their own section from next season.
Block 7 has the potential to be a very positive part of the support, and I think the club has taken too long to realise that any group like this requires close annd consistent management and guidance. I’ve brought up with the club more than once about instances of the experience of going to support Hibs being spoiled by anti social behaviour and I got the response of hangers on, that the club will help them self police etc. etc. etc.
I deliberately sent the latter email to someone more senior at the club as I had a suggestion on how it could be managed and without a mention that was going to be the case, it was forwarded onto a fan rep (who has always been quick and courteous to respond) but even a “I’m incredibly busy so I’ll forward to this person, but I’ve noted your ideas” would have made it feel that it had been taken more seriously. This isn’t a dig at the person who replied, it was just more a feeling that despite a few messages to the club (I know this because I’ve heard others who have gotten in touch through conversations.
I do wonder in terms of how the whole “ultras” thing with us will lead to self reflection at the club because in hindsight there have probably been moments where there were signs that things amongst sections of the fans were escalating. There’s definitely been a growing difference in direction between the ultras groups and the wider support and the wider that drifts, the more difficult it all is to manage.
I’m not going to be a dick about it as the more colour and noise that we can all get behind in the stands the better, but when it becomes a negative presence with rows of occupied seats being taken over and other hassle in the stands then it needs to be realigned. We’ve all been young and full of the drink and in big groups at that age, it’s very easy for peer pressure and the need to go one further in being edgy takes over.
It’s a bit late in my humble opinion, but it’s still a very welcome acknowledgment that as well as having to manage the behaviour of other fans in our stadium we also need to look at our own behaviour. I hope that we can be more aligned in what it means to be a Hibs supporter going forward.
We can all sing the classic Hibs songs, we all love singing GGTTH and the like. I’d wager that irrelevant of your views on the royal family, or global conflicts that only a small percentage want to go to the football to sing about an old woman being in a box or that.
12-03-2024, 01:44 PM
The stuff about the Queen just came across as cringe and desperate on Sunday evening. We were losing, listening to that **** sing their usual sectarian bile - so some of our fans resort to trying to wind them up about the death of an old lady who has been dead for 18 months and who’s son is now the King anyway?
In a similar vein, a jambo I know was telling me how the Mercer song was being sung at Tynecastle the other week. He was delighted tell me that the hearts fans had responded with a song of their own about the late Ron Gordon passing away.
It’s just all so pathetic and depressing from all sides. Rangers are by far the worst and I’m glad Hibs are coming out and saying something but tbh football fans, from every club, really are a bunch of knuckle draggers. Completely weird.
Two wrongs don't make a right. You have to rise above it. The Mercer and Lizzie songs have no place in football. Their fans were disgusting on Sunday, what if Martin had broken his neck in that fall and these morons singing that song. Not seen any statement from Rangers.
kentao
12-03-2024, 02:06 PM
Lizzie IAB wasn’t just being sung from block 7.
I don't think it would have been sung at all if the Huns didn't start their Pish when Boyle was down injured.
12-03-2024, 02:14 PM
I don't think it would have been sung at all if the Huns didn't start their Pish when Boyle was down injured.
It started in the East Stand
12-03-2024, 02:20 PM
We sung it after she died Vs st Mirren iirc.
It's got nothing to do with football. Including Rangers. But it's not illegal to sing it. Unlike bigoted songs.
He's here!
12-03-2024, 02:21 PM
The Mercer song...that's another which should be banned along with the one about the Queen. As you say, pathetic stuff. The other one which used to make me cringe was the song about Skacel being a refugee.
Mentioned it before, but when I've worked in Glasgow I've got on great with fans of Rangers and Celtic, guys you just couldn't imagine launching into some of the stuff that gets belted out. I guess there's always been an element of escapism when it comes to football, whereby folk get swept up in stuff they wouldn't come out with in their day-to-day lives, but you're right, for some it just comes down to knuckle-dragging ignorance.
12-03-2024, 02:26 PM
The Mercer song...that's another which should be banned along with the one about the Queen. As you say, pathetic stuff. The other one which used to make me cringe was the song about Skacel being a refugee.
Mentioned it before, but when I've worked in Glasgow I've got on great with fans of Rangers and Celtic, guys you just couldn't imagine launching into some of the stuff that gets belted out. I guess there's always been an element of escapism when it comes to football, whereby folk get swept up in stuff they wouldn't come out with in their day-to-day lives, but you're right, for some it just comes down to knuckle-dragging ignorance.
And that's the attitude that allows it to continue. Oh, they're great guys really who only sing about being up to their knees in fenian blood at Ibrox every other week. I have called it out to rangers fans that I have worked with about that casual weekend bigotry and they get really uncomfortable because you know what, being a racist isn't a once a week thing.
12-03-2024, 02:28 PM
It's got nothing to do with football. Including Rangers. But it's not illegal to sing it. Unlike bigoted songs.
She is the Head of a religious organisation so it is bigoted if the song was sung about the pope after he died what would be your view. You cannot apply one rule for one religion and another rule for another.
He's here!
12-03-2024, 02:30 PM
I think we’re be hypocritical. I think it’s upto the authorities to come up with solutions to try and stop them singing their bile.
However it’s a wee bit rich coming from us, considering the poor behaviour of a minority of our supporters and some of the songs that have been heard of late.
I think if you go down the route of cutting allocations or banning away fans then all you end up with is a much poorer spectacle.
There’s other ways this could be handled.
Better ideas that doesn’t lump the ordinary law abiding supporters in with the rest.
How did the Rangers support on Sunday enhance the spectacle?
Ban Old Firm fans completely and you instantly improve the spectacle. Fill the ground with Hibs fans and you vastly improve the atmosphere, removing its toxicity and replacing it with something far more positive. It's a myth to claim that away fans are integral to a great experience at the football. Segregation and the tribalism it engenders tends to bring out the worst in folk.
He's here!
12-03-2024, 02:32 PM
She is the Head of a religious organisation so it is bigoted if the song was sung about the pope after he died what would be your view. You cannot apply one rule for one religion and another rule for another.
Correct.
12-03-2024, 02:40 PM
I guess there is that element. I don't condone those songs at all. I don't think she was targeting for religious reasons as much as say the pope though. She and her family have many many crimes to answer for unrelated to religion. Prince Andrew a recent example.
12-03-2024, 02:47 PM
I guess there is that element. I don't condone those songs at all. I don't think she was targeting for religious reasons as much as say the pope though. She and her family have many many crimes to answer for unrelated to religion. Prince Andrew a recent example.
You could have the counter argument raised by Rangers fans as the Catholic church for many years covered up for Priests and nuns who abused children. It was related to religion and the alignment of Rangers football club with the protestant religion and the Royal Family.
12-03-2024, 02:47 PM
The line acknowledging recent unacceptable behaviour from our stands is very important here.
It means the Huns will look particularly silly now if they come back and just point the finger at Hibs fans’ behaviour
Although I kind of agreed it would have been nice to see that lot named directly, it will now be interesting to see if they lash out with a total defence of their ‘great loyal supporters’ with one of their infamous outlandish statements.
I kind of still expect one or a mixture of the above from them. The word ‘sectarian’ lets them know instantly that we’re referring to them and/or their sisters, will likely cause a reaction, but ironically never an admission that sectarian is exactly what they are and that they have an inherent problem with it.
Vile group.
12-03-2024, 02:50 PM
I think if we've chosen to go down the ‘woke route’ :greengrin(i use that word in a mocking sense, im completely behind the clubs action) we need to be ready for the wave of whataboutery that’s going to hit us from the forces that have no interest in dealing with the real problem in a genuine way. Which might have to mean sections of our fans also drop any future references to orange, currants, lizzie, and other things that cross a perceived line. Personally i dont mind that if it means an end to the poison from them. But we also need to make an effort ourselves.
12-03-2024, 02:54 PM
I think if we've chosen to go down the ‘woke route’ :greengrin(i use that word in a mocking sense, im completely behind the clubs action) we need to be ready for the wave of whataboutery that’s going to hit us from the forces that have no interest in dealing with the real problem in a genuine way. Which might have to mean sections of our fans also drop any future references to orange, currants, lizzie, and other things that cross a perceived line. Personally i dont mind that if it means an end to the poison from them. But we also need to make an effort ourselves.
This in spades.
12-03-2024, 03:14 PM
What could it even say? I know these ***** have the biggest brass necks around however how can they complain?
The chat from the AGM mentioned that this was on the cards. They took no notice and continue the bile and disgraceful singing at the next opportunity. They need to look at themselves before playing the victim card.
I’m amazed they haven’t responded to our statement yet, the UBs will demand that the Rangers defend there singing and that it’s part of the culture or some crap like that, they will more than likely want us thrown out of Scottish football because we have called them out, they will be fuming and at some point they will reply with a statement and it will be a cracker.
12-03-2024, 03:16 PM
I do agree. We must be spotless.
I’m amazed they haven’t responded to our statement yet, the UBs will demand that the Rangers defend there singing and that it’s part of the culture or some crap like that, they will more than likely want us thrown out of Scottish football because we have called them out, they will be fuming and at some point they will reply with a statement and it will be a cracker.
Good thing we never said who it was and left it open to interpretation. A statement from them however would simply prove the club were correct as we all know.
12-03-2024, 03:48 PM
I’m happy to meet up with you before, during or after the Livi game Flash!
PM if you like. I’m happy to tell you who I am. Ive got nothing to hide.
I’m a nice guy honest! 😂
This is my opinion. It may well go against the majority but I’m not deliberately being controversial.
I just think this is the wrong way to go. Banning away supporters or cutting allocations just makes our game as a whole a poorer spectacle for everyone. It has many repercussions. You only need to look at what it’s done for the ugly sisters.
That Old Firm game has lost its appeal since they stopped the away allocation. I don’t want that to happen at Easter Road.
I think the authorities need to come up with better solutions rather than us being reactive to what we all felt was the disgraceful and disgusting abuse of Martin Boyle!
As you say the old firm game has lost its appeal and it’s a bore fest now, let Mr Foley put some pressure on SKY Sports to start televising the Edinburgh derby more often with a great atmosphere with an edge to it.
The Rangers fans and SFA are worried we now have a billionaire on our board who won’t be frightened to speak out, we are climbing the ladder and some in football are worried about that.
Cutting allocations won’t be a poorer spectacle for everyone, it will just be a level playing field where most games we play at ER the away end is most of the time empty anyway, so no biggie when it’s only 900 fans from Glasgow being harassed by police and stewards, they won’t be so tough in there we group anymore.
12-03-2024, 03:55 PM
I think you target individuals. You make examples of them. We have the technology ( zoom cameras ) we know every individual responsible for that ticketed seat.
It’s upto the authorities to put the onus on the individual clubs. Huge fines, points deductions and maybe not allowing them to proceed through the rounds of a competition if their supporters can’t behave.
They could appoint someone ( complete incognito 😂whose job it would be to assess the behaviour of fans and make bold decisions to stop this.
Strict liability stops the authorities from docking points blah blah blah, we know there fans can’t behave, that’s why we have said “Enough is Enough” and are doing something about it now, it’s up to the authorities to get the powers to something but even if they did they would never hand a points deduction to either of the Glasgow clubs, we are acting the only way we can, they were warned and now they get there allocation cut.
12-03-2024, 04:00 PM
What you’re describing is something that goes on in football all over the world. Have you ever been to Italy, Greece, Turkey or even England.
What’s going on here in Scotland is nothing compared to what’s going on around the world but I agree that the authorities need to act to try and come up with better solutions.
I just think this is reactive reaction from us and I don’t think it’s the best way to go about it.
Been to Italy Greece and plenty grounds in England and can’t remember hearing sectarian pish, remember you will get a hefty fine and docked points in England if you were to sing what celtc and rangers sing every week home and away, away is worst though because they think they are untouchable.
12-03-2024, 04:04 PM
I might be being naive but I’m certainly not taking the piss mate. It’s just an opinion.
Do you honestly think that cutting their allocation will stop them singing their sectarian bile???
No, they will still sing the bile, only difference will be that they will be a small group and easily identified from cctv and police can move in and detain offenders.
12-03-2024, 04:07 PM
On the chanting bit, I'm not sure where we or the Police stand.
You might have a CCTV image of someone "singing something". But with no sound there is no proof of what that "something" is.
Sure, there could be lip-reading employed to work it out. But how do you prove that that person is actually singing and not just mouthing the words?
Would be an easy one for a defence lawyer I would have thought.
Should we mic up the fans? :greengrin
Stick a few undercover polis mic’d up in with them, job done.
12-03-2024, 04:09 PM
My favourite greetin' faced line was this cracker.
"A great country spoiled by the small-mindedness of it's people"
Utterly oblivious to it.
**** of the highest order.
Or the Hibby who posted “they now have a billionaire on the board” when chatting about us losing money. :thumbsup:
Stick a few undercover polis mic’d up in with them, job done.
They don’t even need to do that Silver. Just stand and record them singing with a handheld camera and let’s not forget the Police Control room is in the South Stand. They can hear it all right but I wonder if the bile is noted by the Officer in Charge??
12-03-2024, 04:22 PM
To respond would be a public acknowledgement that it is directed at them.
12-03-2024, 04:50 PM
They don’t even need to do that Silver. Just stand and record them singing with a handheld camera and let’s not forget the Police Control room is in the South Stand. They can hear it all right but I wonder if the bile is noted by the Officer in Charge??
Hibs should also eject any fans wearing balaclavas and the likes that cover faces, ask to remove the face covering or be ejected from the ground, the balaclava will be straight off and the wee hun will sit in silence because he knows he can be picked out now from cctv.
12-03-2024, 04:56 PM
Hibs should also eject any fans wearing balaclavas and the likes that cover faces, ask to remove the face covering or be ejected from the ground, the balaclava will be straight off and the wee hun will sit in silence because he knows he can be picked out now from cctv.
Yup, would love to hide behind the right to wear what you want, although I wish someone had stopped me wearing bright blue high waisters in the 70's, but balaclavas & similar worn
to hide your identity in a football ground, happy to see that stopped.
12-03-2024, 04:59 PM
Good thing we never said who it was and left it open to interpretation. A statement from them however would simply prove the club were correct as we all know.
There's some cleverness at work from the club in the way that statement was worded. I've been on social media today asking some Rangers supporting accounts why they are having a go at Hibs for the statement given that it doesn't mention Rangers. Not a single reply, which is very unusual. If they kick up a stink they are immediately acknowledging it's about them and their songbook.
babahibs
12-03-2024, 05:10 PM
There's some cleverness at work from the club in the way that statement was worded. I've been on social media today asking some Rangers supporting accounts why they are having a go at Hibs for the statement given that it doesn't mention Rangers. Not a single reply, which is very unusual. If they kick up a stink they are immediately acknowledging it's about them and their songbook.
Yeah, it's very clever from Hibs, a lot of thought has gone into the wording.
We've got some talented people working for us.
VoltaireHibs
12-03-2024, 05:15 PM
This a hundred times. Cowards the lot of them. If you have the courage of your convictions and are proud of that particular conviction then why hide your face?
I include our own supporters in that. People attending football matches in balaclavas. Absolute clowns.
Unless it's like, minus 20 degrees. 😁
This is something the Police can invoke using powers (Section 60) to remove face coverings. Would need robust action however with less fans it becomes easier.
I would also have a filtering system as the approach the stand to check tickets etc to ensure there are no push throughs at the turnstiles.
Make it as difficult as possible for those without tickets to get in.
Definitely is and whilst it addresses the issues it doesn’t point the finger however it leaves no doubt who is responsible.
plhibs
12-03-2024, 05:21 PM
I had a look at the sickback thread about the statement, i gave up when one of them said "Hibs have the worst and most dangerous fans in the country". Loads of them still want to cut our allocation.
12-03-2024, 05:26 PM
Nothing on STV news about our statement.
12-03-2024, 05:28 PM
Been at work today and didn't have time to read what was being said on social media, fair to say Rangers and Celtic fans are frothing at the mouth.
Chorley Hibee
12-03-2024, 05:29 PM
Quelle Surprise.
The media don't want to discuss it.
Another part of the Scottish establishment that pretend it doesn't exist.
12-03-2024, 05:35 PM
I had a look at the sickback thread about the statement, i gave up when one of them said "Hibs have the worst and most dangerous fans in the country". Loads of them still want to cut our allocation.
I don’t know why but I was quite shocked at the numbers wanting to cut allocations. They don’t get that if they cut ours we would instantly cut them to the same number.
NthCarolinaHibs
12-03-2024, 05:35 PM
Reporting Scotland covering it..👍
VoltaireHibs
12-03-2024, 05:38 PM
Quelle Surprise.
The media don't want to discuss it.
Another part of the Scottish establishment that pretend it doesn't exist.
Exactly. It's not the SFA and Rangers we're calling out, it's a whole network. Just look at the payouts to the ex Rangers directors after the courts went after them with zero evidence. That national disgrace has been totally swept under the carpet.
I’m a bit disappointed that no other club has come forward in solidarity with us to publicly lend support.
I was half thinking Hearts might have been one given that they have been operating on limited away fans, albeit maybe for different reasons.
This is something the Police can invoke using powers (Section 60) to remove face coverings. Would need robust action however with less fans it becomes easier.
I would also have a filtering system as the approach the stand to check tickets etc to ensure there are no push throughs at the turnstiles.
Make it as difficult as possible for those without tickets to get in.
or simply put do to them what they do to us making it as difficult as possible:greengrin
VoltaireHibs
12-03-2024, 05:39 PM
I pop over there for a look every now and then, and then take a shower. Bitter and angry doesn't even begin to describe that forum.
raeburnhibs
12-03-2024, 05:51 PM
Unbelievably poor from BBC, while the anchor mentions sectarianism, the Sports Reporter chooses NOT to illustrate via sectarian signing, Martin Boyle etc; running scared of the Hun yet again....
Stonewall
12-03-2024, 05:54 PM
I think this will also signal a concerted effort to sort out behaviour amongst our own fans. You have been warned.
I wonder if we will step up to the mark and make up for the loss of income.
12-03-2024, 05:55 PM
Unbelievably poor from BBC, while the anchor mentions sectarianism, the Sports Reporter chooses NOT to illustrate via sectarian signing, Martin Boyle etc; running scared of the Hun yet again....
But he did have time to mention us trashing the Motherwell stadium, throwing things at Hearts game. On that report you would think we were the only club with bad supporters.
Keepthefaith
12-03-2024, 05:55 PM
mentioned this on the media thread. it really is awful because as we know if that had been his fans shouting die you hun at a rangers player lying unconscious we'd be slated across every media outlet in the country. they managed to make the main focus about throwing things and highlighting his fans at hearts. they'll never get the balls to address this.
To respond would be a public acknowledgement that it is directed at them.Exactly. They'll be fuming and itching to retort but know they can't say a dicky bird.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
12-03-2024, 06:03 PM
To be fair, the female presenter mentioned sectarianism
Hibees1973
12-03-2024, 06:29 PM
Every major club in Scotland has an undesirable element within them. Individuals throwing objects, breaking seats, we all have them. Hibs have banned some supporters in the past as have Hearts. I'm not aware what the other big clubs in Scotland have done to punish supporters who have offended. Maybe they have.
What is different about Rangers is sectarianism is endemic throughout the vast majority of their support. It's clear when they go through their songbook that thousands of them sing along. You would have to be deaf not to hear what they sing. Which is exactly what the SFA and SPFL have done up until now, turned a deaf ear. While Hibs statement can be applauded, it may do more harm than good for us as a club.
This should be led by the SFA or the SPFL, but up until now they have not had the bottle to do it which is why nothing is going to change.
As others have said, a statement from Rangers will be forthcoming pronto. The difference with their statement is it is likely to name check us. Probably, mentioning our recent behaviour at Tynecastle, stickers put on seats by our undesirable element at Ibrox earlier this year. They will probably even bring up the pitch invasion at Hampden in 2016.
If Hibs wanted to do this properly they should have had a press conference. Played recordings of the Rangers songbook on Sunday, provided photographic proof of the people lighting pyrotechnics in the Dunbar end, etc. We have CCTV, it will be very easy to target the very worst.
The Hibs statement is clearly targeting Rangers, however it did not name check them. It 100% should have.
The bodies to implement real change are the SFA and SPFL by enforcing strict liability which would result in huge fines and points deductions for the worst offenders. But they will do nowt. They will stick their heads in the sand and pretend sectarianism does not exist.
raeburnhibs
12-03-2024, 06:35 PM
But he did have time to mention us trashing the Motherwell stadium, throwing things at Hearts game. On that report you would think we were the only club with bad supporters.
It was shockingly bad! I don't have an issue with him pointing out we have issues too as per our statement but you could tell he wasn't willing to go with the sectarian angle as per usual
DinkyTwo
12-03-2024, 06:37 PM
You could have the counter argument raised by Rangers fans as the Catholic church for many years covered up for Priests and nuns who abused children. It was related to religion and the alignment of Rangers football club with the protestant religion and the Royal Family.
Correct.
She is the Head of a religious organisation so it is bigoted if the song was sung about the pope after he died what would be your view. You cannot apply one rule for one religion and another rule for another.This is quite a leap to make - singing a distasteful song about a dead Queen is somehow fueled by anti-protestant bigotry...
More people in Scotland identify as 'no religion' than catholic (by almost double) according to the last census. Why would they have a bone to pick with the church of England, or any specific church, for that matter.
Scotland fans sang LIB against England last year. Was that anti-protestant or was it anti-monarchy / union?
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
raeburnhibs
12-03-2024, 06:37 PM
which made it even more ridiculous that the Sport Reporter didn't as he was the one charged with developing the story and providing more detail; coward
12-03-2024, 06:45 PM
I prefer to use the word that Neil Lennon used to describe this 17th century stuff, it is racism.
12-03-2024, 07:00 PM
This is quite a leap to make - singing a distasteful song about a dead Queen is somehow fueled by anti-protestant bigotry...
More people in Scotland identify as 'no religion' than catholic (by almost double) according to the last census. Why would they have a bone to pick with the church of England, or any specific church, for that matter.
Scotland fans sang LIB against England last year. Was that anti-protestant or was it anti-monarchy / union?
Not really when you consider who started the chant.
The BBC have drawn their lines in the sand and have chosen to ignore the elephant in the room however have instead chosen to highlight issues with our own fans.
No reasoning behind our statement and stance just tried to make us look bad.
Their continued failure to address this makes them as complicit as those who spout the bile.
The BBC have drawn their lines in the sand and have chosen to ignore the elephant in the room however have instead chosen to highlight issues with our own fans.
No reasoning behind our statement and stance just tried to make us look bad.
Their continued failure to address this makes them as complicit as those who spout the bile.An insult to elephants.
An insult to elephants.
[emoji1787][emoji1787]
VoltaireHibs
12-03-2024, 07:23 PM
The BBC are fully integrated into the Rangers Loyal Supporters with Typewriters. Why did Jim Spence leave? Why did Michael Stewart get suspended? They're as big a problem as the judiciary, police and every large institution in Scotland that crosses paths with Scottish football.
There is a reason that Freemasonry exists.
12-03-2024, 07:39 PM
The BBC are fully integrated into the Rangers Loyal Supporters with Typewriters. Why did Jim Spence leave? Why did Michael Stewart get suspended? They're as big a problem as the judiciary, police and every large institution in Scotland that crosses paths with Scottish football.
There is a reason that Freemasonry exists.
Pacific Quay Loyal😁
LunasBoots
12-03-2024, 07:41 PM
There's been a few teams cut Celtic and Rangers allocations in recent years, can't come as a coincidence, think behind the scenes alot of clubs are sick of it without actually saying it.
12-03-2024, 07:44 PM
There's been a few teams cut Celtic and Rangers allocations in recent years, can't come as a coincidence, think behind the scenes alot of clubs are sick of it without actually saying it.
Both sets of fans are unbelievable. They have ZERO when playing each other cause both sets are the lowest of the low. But are shocked that other clubs don't want their pish.
Amount of Celtic fans on twitter piping up about it being a joke and makes us look tinpot etc. So happy we're cutting their allocation as well. Hope the Leith CSC are the ones who miss out.
He's here!
12-03-2024, 07:54 PM
This is quite a leap to make - singing a distasteful song about a dead Queen is somehow fueled by anti-protestant bigotry...
Not necessarily either. It was just a bit cringeworthy, same as it was when the Hibs fans sang it at Villa Park or the other night at ER. Bottom line is it's got FA to do with football, same as the guff Celtic and Rangers fans come out with. How much of that is genuinely fuelled by a burning devotion to their respective religions? I'd suggest not much, it's just a pitiful way to wind each other up.
VoltaireHibs
12-03-2024, 07:55 PM
Pacific Quay Loyal😁
Plenty of them. Jim Traynor basically ran the BBC Scotland football dept at one point. Up to their necks in it.
12-03-2024, 09:14 PM
Plenty of them. Jim Traynor basically ran the BBC Scotland football dept at one point. Up to their necks in it.
You mean knees.
McSwanky
12-03-2024, 09:16 PM
Up to their necks in it.
Knees surely?
(Sorry, someone had to do it [emoji51])
Edit: Someone did do it, much quicker than me...
Sent from my YAL-L21 using Tapatalk
13-03-2024, 06:00 AM
Thought the Motherwell seats was aimed at Celtic
13-03-2024, 06:05 AM
Thought the Motherwell seats was aimed at Celtic
It was certainly the Celtic game the picture in his article.
Greensunshine
14-03-2024, 09:51 AM
Every major club in Scotland has an undesirable element within them. Individuals throwing objects, breaking seats, we all have them. Hibs have banned some supporters in the past as have Hearts. I'm not aware what the other big clubs in Scotland have done to punish supporters who have offended. Maybe they have.
What is different about Rangers is sectarianism is endemic throughout the vast majority of their support. It's clear when they go through their songbook that thousands of them sing along. You would have to be deaf not to hear what they sing. Which is exactly what the SFA and SPFL have done up until now, turned a deaf ear. While Hibs statement can be applauded, it may do more harm than good for us as a club.
This should be led by the SFA or the SPFL, but up until now they have not had the bottle to do it which is why nothing is going to change.
As others have said, a statement from Rangers will be forthcoming pronto. The difference with their statement is it is likely to name check us. Probably, mentioning our recent behaviour at Tynecastle, stickers put on seats by our undesirable element at Ibrox earlier this year. They will probably even bring up the pitch invasion at Hampden in 2016.
If Hibs wanted to do this properly they should have had a press conference. Played recordings of the Rangers songbook on Sunday, provided photographic proof of the people lighting pyrotechnics in the Dunbar end, etc. We have CCTV, it will be very easy to target the very worst.
The Hibs statement is clearly targeting Rangers, however it did not name check them. It 100% should have.
The bodies to implement real change are the SFA and SPFL by enforcing strict liability which would result in huge fines and points deductions for the worst offenders. But they will do nowt. They will stick their heads in the sand and pretend sectarianism does not exist.
Great post! Absolutely spot on.
Following Ross County game perhaps its time Hibs fans were petitioning the board to do something about the behaviour of our own fans, before BBC sports call the club out as hypocritical.
14-03-2024, 10:52 AM
It was his defence of the odious "Famine Song" on his teatime BBC football phone-in programme that finally saw the equally odious character and pretend "Airdrie" fan get his jotters. It was a step too far for the BBC who look for their pundits and presenters to either deflect or sweep anti-Irish racism under the carpet rather than blatantly endorse it.
Graham Spiers like Jim Spence paid the price for speaking out about it, and it will be interesting to see what the normally outspoken Michael Stewart has to say about Hibs stance after having been suspended for refusing to tow the BBC party line.
14-03-2024, 10:56 AM
BK was on Talksport explaining the reasoning behind the notion to cut away allocations at ER and on the back of that some Hibs 'fan' comes on and disagrees with him and seemed only to be worried about us getting our allocation slashed at Tynecastle....:rolleyes:
14-03-2024, 11:02 AM
BK was on Talksport explaining the reasoning behind the notion to cut away allocations at ER and on the back of that some Hibs 'fan' comes on and disagrees with him and seemed only to be worried about us getting our allocation slashed at Tynecastle....:rolleyes:
Refreshing to hear Celtic fan who followed him. He didn’t mince his words and backed us 100%. Why did Jim not mention the very specific chanting aimed at Boyle while he lay unconscious on the pitch. That is the ‘red line’ BK was talking about.
14-03-2024, 11:09 AM
Refreshing to hear Celtic fan who followed him. He didn’t mince his words and backed us 100%. Why did Jim not mention the very specific chanting aimed at Boyle while he lay unconscious on the pitch. That is the ‘red line’ BK was talking about.
Jim White was very careful not to associate himself with the game claiming he never seen it or heard anything.
We as a club now need to concentrate our efforts to get rid of the element of our own support who want to tarnish the clubs name every single week by continuing to act in the manner they do. Throwing items, signing songs not relevant to the club and just acting like complete and utter ********s towards others in the home support is not acceptable.
If you cannot behave don’t bother.
14-03-2024, 11:35 AM
Hearts and Rangers getting a 50/50 split for the semi final - 21k tickets each but Hearts have had to agree that they will pay for any unsold tickets in order to get the 50/50 split. Its unbelievable stuff.
ErinGoBraghHFC
14-03-2024, 11:47 AM
Hearts and Rangers getting a 50/50 split for the semi final - 21k tickets each but Hearts have had to agree that they will pay for any unsold tickets in order to get the 50/50 split. Its unbelievable stuff.
It’ll never happen obviously but I’d love someone to turn round and say “**** ye then, we’ll not take any tickets” when they get the OF in a semi and get the “well you’ll need to pay for any unsold tickets then, boys” *****. Neutral venue my hairy hole.
14-03-2024, 11:50 AM
But if it was us we would of been told 50/50 spilt wasn’t possible
14-03-2024, 12:17 PM
bbc website
The Aberdeen v Celtic Scottish Cup semi-final is to be broadcast on BBC One Scotland, with a 12:30 BST kick-off on Saturday, 20 April.
Rangers meet Heart of Midlothian on the following day at 15:00 and both ties take place at Hampden Park.
There will be an even split of tickets for Sunday's semi-final.
However, Aberdeen failed with their request for a similar allocation and will receive 19,000, with Celtic taking around 25,000 supporters.
Expressing disappointment, Aberdeen say the decision from the Scottish FA was "based primarily on historical ticket sales at this stage of the competition".
VoltaireHibs
14-03-2024, 12:21 PM
They're so far through the rabbit hole it's insane.
LunasBoots
14-03-2024, 12:33 PM
Since Hearts got relegated and kicked up a fuss at the time they've recieved alot of leeway in certain things.
14-03-2024, 12:40 PM
Hearts unlikely to sell that many tickets - they've no history of doing that in a semi v Rangers or Celtic.
14-03-2024, 12:41 PM
Aberdeen wont sell the 19k they've been allocated either.
14-03-2024, 12:46 PM
I could understand Hearts demanding a 50/50 breakdown of tickets for a final but I think doing this for a Semi Final is a bit strange.
Yes they should have the right to as many tickets as they can sell, with a maximum of 50%, but surely it would make sense to hold back the north stand tickets until they see how sales have gone in the rest of the stadium?
Not a dig at Hearts, it's just that no club outside of the OF take 21k fans to a semi final.
14-03-2024, 01:23 PM
The money is all pooled for a semi final anyway isn't it? If so then they don't lose anything.
Mrimbetween
14-03-2024, 01:27 PM
Hearts tie themselves up in Knotts with there LP system and how slow it works and they never ever learn when they dont sell more
14-03-2024, 01:36 PM
If they charge them the average adult ticket price it will cost them £35000 for every 1000 unsold tickets.
We as a club now need to concentrate our efforts to get rid of the element of our own support who want to tarnish the clubs name every single week by continuing to act in the manner they do. Throwing items, signing songs not relevant to the club and just acting like complete and utter ********s towards others in the home support is not acceptable.
If you cannot behave don’t bother.
Spot on :aok:
Jim White was very careful not to associate himself with the game claiming he never seen it or heard anything.A Rangers sympathiser blind and deaf to the ingrained bigotry within their club and support. What a surprise.
Hearts unlikely to sell that many tickets - they've no history of doing that in a semi v Rangers or Celtic.Or Airdrie.
Saint Hibee
14-03-2024, 06:22 PM
Not a Hearts sympathiser, but demanding a 50/50 split is absolutely 100% the correct thing to do. Yes, they may not manage to shift the tickets but that’s not the point. Until clubs start challenging the received wisdom, nothing will change.
15-03-2024, 12:21 PM
This was apparently discussed on talksport yesterday but can’t find it online, did anyone hear it?
15-03-2024, 12:29 PM
This was apparently discussed on talksport yesterday but can’t find it online, did anyone hear it?
Aye. They had a Hibs fan on who I thought totally missed the point of why we are cutting their allocations. Spoke about it hopefully being temporary to stop it as we probably won’t sell the seats. Was probably one of Jim White’s mates. Then a Celtic fan came on and said he stopped going to their away games because of what they sing etc. Hilariously, he said it’s only a problem with their away crowd.
29-07-2024, 03:39 PM
https://i.ibb.co/YDFvxyf/Screenshot-20240729-163822.png (https://ibb.co/5YgqPns)postimage org (https://imgbb.com/)
SunshineOn1875
29-07-2024, 03:41 PM
https://i.ibb.co/YDFvxyf/Screenshot-20240729-163822.png (https://ibb.co/5YgqPns)postimage org (https://imgbb.com/)More IRA chanting incoming.
29-07-2024, 03:44 PM
So cut by 6 or 7 hundred?? What's the point?!
29-07-2024, 03:49 PM
I suspect the rest would be offered to club officials/players/sponsors etc.
29-07-2024, 03:50 PM
Is that a cut? Isn't it just the capacity minus the seats they usually don't sell nearest the corner flags and the freebies their players etc will get? (I don't know.)
29-07-2024, 03:52 PM
Is that a cut? Isn't it just the capacity minus the seats they usually don't sell nearest the corner flags and the freebies their players etc will get? (I don't know.)Capacity is 3600 odd, I would say it looks like a cut - away teams usually only get about 50 odd tickets for club personnel etc IIRC
29-07-2024, 03:56 PM
Celtic Fan on X confirming its an allocation cut of 694 from the game in February at ER. Seems like Hibs didn't really want to cut the allocation as our own sales haven't been great, but felt compelled to not go back on their word to do so following the March statement. A wishy washy middle ground of sorts.
29-07-2024, 03:56 PM
Ugh
29-07-2024, 03:58 PM
Celtic Fan on X confirming its an allocation cut of 694 from the game in February at ER. Seems like Hibs didn't really want to cut the allocation as our own sales haven't been great, but felt compelled to not go back on their word to do so following the March statement. A wishy washy middle ground of sorts.
I’m sure the south capacity is around 3,800 or so
Wonder if they are leaving empty seats either side of the east and the west stands
29-07-2024, 04:01 PM
Possibly cut theirs by less than the Huns.
Pretty poor. Neither should be getting more than 1000.
29-07-2024, 04:02 PM
Would rather take as much money in as possible.
The songs go in one ear and out the other for me.
29-07-2024, 04:03 PM
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/celtic-rangers-easter-road-away-29637098
29-07-2024, 04:04 PM
Me too. Plus they will just get some tickets in the home end.
29-07-2024, 04:10 PM
Nae chance they’ll give us more than the usual for the cup game now.
29-07-2024, 04:11 PM
Nae chance they’ll give us more than the usual for the cup game now.
They have to I think. Cup rules. Unless that’s just the Scottish cup.
29-07-2024, 04:11 PM
Would rather take as much money in as possible.The songs go in one ear and out the other for me.I'm of the same view.
29-07-2024, 04:13 PM
They have to I think. Cup rules. Unless that’s just the Scottish cup. Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkJust Scottish. Celtic won't sell out so depends how generous they are feeling. Not very is probably the answer.If we do ok in the league game I think we'd be capable of selling double our usual allocation.
29-07-2024, 04:14 PM
We’d have been as well just leaving it the same. Seems pointless.
29-07-2024, 04:17 PM
Yip, cutting their allocation by 1000 ain’t going to make them behave any better. Only losers are Hibs with a potential loss of around £120K a season.
29-07-2024, 04:21 PM
Yip, cutting their allocation by 1000 ain’t going to make them behave any better. Only losers are Hibs with a potential loss of around £120K a season.Agreed. Hibs sent out a very reactionary statement following the anger of the Scottish Cup defeat to Rangers in March. I think in hindsight they wouldn't have done that as they have now been forced into a strange kind of move.
29-07-2024, 04:25 PM
Possibly cut theirs by less than the Huns.
Pretty poor. Neither should be getting more than 1000.
All that would do it cost the club a lot of money, and make the ground look half empty all the way round.
I'm all for cutting their allocation when we can fill the rest of the ground as Hearts have done.
29-07-2024, 04:26 PM
Still shat the bed, should be giving the upper only away from the pitch. Less of them there the better.
29-07-2024, 04:26 PM
They have to I think. Cup rules. Unless that’s just the Scottish cup.
Callum, it’s just the Scottish Cup, doesn’t seem to have % in place for the league cup, other than tickets for directors, as far as I can read
Remember it’s an SPFL tournament not an SFA one
29-07-2024, 04:27 PM
Well done Hibs. It's a start. If they still misbehave, 100% liklihood, cut the allocation again.
29-07-2024, 04:30 PM
And can you imagine the uproar from our fans if the club had done what you have suggested and not cut their allocation. The club are damned if they do and damned if they don’t. My guess is that if the usual songs come out their end then there will be a further reduction until they get it into their thick skulls that their chants are unacceptable.
29-07-2024, 04:32 PM
All that would do it cost the club a lot of money, and make the ground look half empty all the way round.
I'm all for cutting their allocation when we can fill the rest of the ground as Hearts have done.
So you think discrimination is acceptable in our stadium for 30 pound a head?
From what I'm led to believe, the singing etc is only part of it.
We get as much trouble with duplicate tickets, fans rushing turnstiles and overcrowding etc from Celtic as we do Rangers - it's becoming more and more difficult to police their fans at our ground.
So it's basically a gesture to try to shock them into behaving a bit better, one that will progress until it hits home.
And can you imagine the uproar from our fans if the club had done what you have suggested and not cut their allocation. The club are damned if they do and damned if they don’t. My guess is that if the usual songs come out their end then there will be a further reduction until they get it into their thick skulls that their chants are unacceptable.
They’ll never get it in to their thick skulls. They simply don’t want to. No amount of allocation cuts will stop them singing their songs.
My feeling is that Hibs felt they had to cut them on the back of the previous statement but probably didn’t want to.
29-07-2024, 04:35 PM
From what I'm led to believe, the singing etc is only part of it.We get as much trouble with duplicate tickets, fans rushing turnstiles and overcrowding etc from Celtic as we do Rangers - it's becoming more and more difficult to police their fans at our ground.So it's basically a gesture to try to shock them into behaving a bit better, one that will progress until it hits home.Are 2900 Celtic and Rangers fans going to be any less bigoted? Pointless exercise and only done to appease us, some careful maths been done here to minimise losses too.
29-07-2024, 04:38 PM
Are 2900 Celtic and Rangers fans going to be any less bigoted? Pointless exercise and only done to appease us, some careful maths been done here to minimise losses too.
I agree, there could be 50 of the green brigade there and we’d still have to listen to the same songbook. Don’t understand a cut of a few hundred.
29-07-2024, 04:40 PM
And can you imagine the uproar from our fans if the club had done what you have suggested and not cut their allocation. The club are damned if they do and damned if they don’t. My guess is that if the usual songs come out their end then there will be a further reduction until they get it into their thick skulls that their chants are unacceptable.The thing is though so what if the fans have more uproar? Its just noise. Season Tickets sales are down despite us promising to cut allocations. The theory was more Hibs fans would go to these games if there were less Tims and Huns. I suspect it wont make a blind bit of difference.
29-07-2024, 04:42 PM
Are 2900 Celtic and Rangers fans going to be any less bigoted? Pointless exercise and only done to appease us, some careful maths been done here to minimise losses too.
Assume it continues to be cut if they continue to be vile, bigoted ****.
Hibs have been fannying about on this though. Really silly not to just come out and be clear on exactly what's happening.
Money irrelevant imo. Our stadium isn't a place for bigots, don't care how much they pay.
Trinity Hibee
29-07-2024, 04:43 PM
There’s always overcrowding anyway so although they have x amount of tickets there will likely be hundreds more than that in the ground
29-07-2024, 04:54 PM
The thing is though so what if the fans have more uproar? Its just noise. Season Tickets sales are down despite us promising to cut allocations. The theory was more Hibs fans would go to these games if there were less Tims and Huns. I suspect it wont make a blind bit of difference.
There is only way to find out if it impacts our crowds and that is by cutting their allocation and seeing if it improves our ticket sales for those games.
29-07-2024, 05:07 PM
Both of old firm clubs should be reduced to one section only.
29-07-2024, 05:15 PM
Hibs said they would cut the old firm allocation so they have went ahead and done it. Now we have all those moaners saying it’s not worth it or it’s not enough. The negativity this close season is way of the scale and doing my tits in.
29-07-2024, 05:15 PM
Exactly, utterly pointless reduction and only biting our noses to spite our face. 700 @ £35 less money coming into the club, You’ve just got to shake your head with this lot.
29-07-2024, 05:17 PM
Exactly, utterly pointless reduction and only biting our noses to spite our face. 700 @ £35 less money coming into the club, You’ve just got to shake your head with this lot. £34
Paul1642
29-07-2024, 05:17 PM
Exactly, utterly pointless reduction and only biting our noses to spite our face. 700 @ £35 less money coming into the club, You’ve just got to shake your head with this lot.
Aprox £100k in a season where we make the top 6 for a gesture that will make zero difference.
29-07-2024, 05:18 PM
Did we not originally say we were cutting more than this?
29-07-2024, 05:19 PM
What a complete and utter cop out from Hibs. ‘Slashed’ by about 700 tickets. What is the point. Hibs continuing to put a price on and being complicit in sectarianism. Joke
29-07-2024, 05:20 PM
Hibs said they would cut the old firm allocation so they have went ahead and done it. Now we have all those moaners saying it’s not worth it or it’s not enough. The negativity this close season is way of the scale and doing my tits in.It's a token amount to please us home fans, minimal loses revenue wise and its not really going to have an impact on their behaviour is it? 2900 will still belt out the banned songs regardless.
29-07-2024, 05:21 PM
Hibs said they would cut the old firm allocation so they have went ahead and done it. Now we have all those moaners saying it’s not worth it or it’s not enough. The negativity this close season is way of the scale and doing my tits in.
Hibs should clarify the thinking behind it.
It seems a pretty pointless cut IMO. If they come out and say they will do it incrementally if things continue as they always have then that’s fine, but be transparent about it. Being cynical, I just think they don’t particularly want to cut them given where we are with sale ourselves and have tried to cut as little as possible. Let’s face it, Celtic aren’t going to turn up and not sing about the IRA.
Assume it continues to be cut if they continue to be vile, bigoted ****. Hibs have been fannying about on this though. Really silly not to just come out and be clear on exactly what's happening. Money irrelevant imo. Our stadium isn't a place for bigots, don't care how much they pay.Kensell will not have the balls to do anything further, especially since he chose to go and watch Rangers instead of our game at Kelty. He needs to leave our club.
Hibs said they would cut the old firm allocation so they have went ahead and done it. Now we have all those moaners saying it’s not worth it or it’s not enough. The negativity this close season is way of the scale and doing my tits in.I would say the main negativity on this board has come from posters getting their absolute knickers in a twist about other people offering opinions about topics where they dont just pretend eveything the club does is wonderful.
linlithgowhibbie
29-07-2024, 05:25 PM
Hibs doing what they said has the moaners out big style. It is probably the end sections in the bottom tier. If the behaviour continues I expect we will reduce that again.By only doing 750ish it gives the brain dead time to think again or even less will get in. Yes it will reduce our ticket income but not by too much compared to reducing them to 1000 or top tier only.Give the Hibs board a break FFS
29-07-2024, 05:28 PM
Hibs doing what they said has the moaners out big style. It is probably the end sections in the bottom tier. If the behaviour continues I expect we will reduce that again.By only doing 750ish it gives the brain dead time to think again or even less will get in. Yes it will reduce our ticket income but not by too much compared to reducing them to 1000 or top tier only.Give the Hibs board a break FFS
There is no point in giving them time to think. They will not change.
LunasBoots
29-07-2024, 05:32 PM
It's not enough, should be on par with the Gunts. Won't stop the overbearing sectarasim or the flares.
29-07-2024, 05:33 PM
It's a token amount to please us home fans, minimal loses revenue wise and its not really going to have an impact on their behaviour is it? 2900 will still belt out the banned songs regardless.
Token gesture or an opening salvo? It may be that Celtic have been told if the problems that have taken us to this point are not resolved bigger cuts will be made in future. It is about more than the songs.
TrinityHFC
29-07-2024, 05:36 PM
I would say the main negativity on this board has come from posters getting their absolute knickers in a twist about other people offering opinions about topics where they dont just pretend eveything the club does is wonderful.
I’m not sure I’ve seen a single post about everything being wonderful.
29-07-2024, 05:41 PM
Token gesture or an opening salvo? It may be that Celtic have been told if the problems that have taken us to this point are not resolved bigger cuts will be made in future. It is about more than the songs.
They should really convey that in the messaging if that’s the case. Whilst the songs aren’t great, it’s a fitba match and supporters sing nasty things about the opposition. It’s happened for years and it’ll happen for years to come. The way things are going they’ll end up banning all the fans just in case someone shouts something wrong. Cutting 700 tickets is utterly pointless. It won’t have any affect on behaviour no matter what the message is.
29-07-2024, 05:43 PM
I’m not sure I’ve seen a single post about everything being wonderful.It was obviously a turn of phrase. There are some people on here who simply wont accept any criticism , even mild and valid crticism, of anything related to the club. Constant OTT criticism is a different matter, but not everyone is going to agree with everything the club does - why do people get upset about that?
29-07-2024, 05:44 PM
Hibernian; welcoming bigotry for as long as I can remember.
29-07-2024, 05:57 PM
Isn't it the case that we're not selling the front 5 rows?
Given the behaviour of away fans, crowding the front of the stand and throwing flares onto the pitch, it seems a reasonably sensible first move.
Maybe the intention is to keep reducing the allocation based on how bad the behaviour is of Celtc/Der-Hun.
:dunno:.
29-07-2024, 06:06 PM
My thoughts exactly. The more these guys think that we as a support are offended with their "songsheets" then the more they'll do it. Ignore is the best policy .
29-07-2024, 06:07 PM
Just means more if them turning up with fake tickets and getting in anyways.
LunasBoots
29-07-2024, 06:08 PM
Just means more if them turning up with fake tickets and getting in anyways.
Not just that they've been forcing the emergency doors for a few years now and rushing in.
29-07-2024, 06:13 PM
My thoughts exactly. The more these guys think that we as a support are offended with their "songsheets" then the more they'll do it. Ignore is the best policy .
Some on here may not be offended but many more will
29-07-2024, 06:18 PM
It’s a good starting point, imho.
Cut it a bit and then see if it makes a difference, if it doesn’t then cut it more and so on.
No problem at all with Hibs’ approach here.
Contador
29-07-2024, 06:33 PM
Yams have cut both their allocation to 1 section if the Roseburn.
No doubt a cash hit but would be good to see us take a stand on principle, and for the seethe in daily record articles each time the huns fixture comes round.
29-07-2024, 06:33 PM
I agree. Don't really pay that much attention to what they sing to be honest.
LewysGot2
29-07-2024, 06:43 PM
Kensell will not have the balls to do anything further, especially since he chose to go and watch Rangers instead of our game at Kelty. He needs to leave our club.Did someone say his kid is on their academy books? Or was that an internet myth?
29-07-2024, 06:45 PM
Not just that they've been forcing the emergency doors for a few years now and rushing in.
Really? Would we not have heard about this? This kind of this should see police action and the match delayed.
There is a very simple solution to this crap. Set up a check point 50 yards away, dozens of police and check tickets there. Anyone without one is turned away. They get nowhere near the turnstiles or doors.
29-07-2024, 06:47 PM
It’s a good starting point, imho. Cut it a bit and then see if it makes a difference, if it doesn’t then cut it more and so on. No problem at all with Hibs’ approach here. Posted similar above, Matty. Let's just see how it goes.
LunasBoots
29-07-2024, 06:48 PM
Really? Would we not have heard about this? This kind of this should see police action and the match delayed.
There is a very simple solution to this crap. Set up a check point 50 yards away, dozens of police and check tickets there. Anyone without one is turned away. They get nowhere near the turnstiles or doors.
Yup, got a few mates who work security and now refuse to work the emergency doors on the away end as it's absolute carnage, not worth getting attacked while doing a low paid job.
It's something both Rangers and Celtic fans have been doing up and down Scotland for a while now.
29-07-2024, 06:58 PM
Yup, got a few mates who work security and now refuse to work the emergency doors on the away end as it's absolute carnage, not worth getting attacked while doing a low paid job. It's something both Rangers and Celtic fans have been doing up and down Scotland for a while now. Surely the Police should be in attendance if this is a regular occurrence.
I'm not a big fan of the current tactic of sitting back watching CCTV while the Stewards are trying to control these nutjobs.
29-07-2024, 06:59 PM
Surely the Police should be in attendance if this is a regular occurrence.
I'm not a big fan of the current tactic of sitting back watching CCTV while the Stewards are trying to control these nutjobs.
You only need to look at the away end to see how overcrowded it is when they visit. And not just at ER. Last game at ER you could hardly see the steps in the lower tier with the number of them standing on them.
29-07-2024, 07:00 PM
Surely the Police should be in attendance if this is a regular occurrence.
Neither am I seems an abdication of responsibility to me
29-07-2024, 07:02 PM
Agree
LewysGot2
29-07-2024, 07:03 PM
Really? Would we not have heard about this? This kind of this should see police action and the match delayed. There is a very simple solution to this crap. Set up a check point 50 yards away, dozens of police and check tickets there. Anyone without one is turned away. They get nowhere near the turnstiles or doors.They (Hibs and Hertz) were openly challenged in public by the ugly sisters supporters reps after their fans were forced to do this at ER and the PBS. Apparently we treat them terribly. Who knew? What hope do we have when their own reps have necks needing Brasso.Sure last year Livingston and Kilmarnock both called them out on it very publicly
29-07-2024, 07:04 PM
Season tickets sales have been ****, I can't blame the club. Even though the poor sales were self inflicted.
29-07-2024, 07:12 PM
I don't mean this to be in bad taste at all, but you would think Rangers fans, of all people, would understand only too well the dangers of that kind of thing.
29-07-2024, 07:21 PM
This is what happens now.
29-07-2024, 07:21 PM
Yams have cut both their allocation to 1 section if the Roseburn.
No doubt a cash hit but would be good to see us take a stand on principle, and for the seethe in daily record articles each time the huns fixture comes round.
Hearts fans turn up in bigger numbers to support their team than we do.
29-07-2024, 07:23 PM
How do they get in with fake tickets, or no tickets, or rush gates then? It doesn't happen very well at least
29-07-2024, 07:26 PM
How do they get in with fake tickets, or no tickets, or rush gates then? It doesn't happen very well at least
Has there been a gate rushing incident or fake tickets at Easter Road since they implemented the checks?
LewysGot2
29-07-2024, 07:28 PM
How do they get in with fake tickets, or no tickets, or rush gates then? It doesn't happen very well at leastThey get asked to show their QR or bar code to a steward - which can be easily screenshot and shared to get past those checks. Nobody hand scans them. Then, once inside someone with an actual ticket forces the fire doors. The others get in. This is exactly what is being described as happening by other clubs who are going public about it.
29-07-2024, 07:29 PM
Has there been a gate rushing incident or fake tickets at Easter Road since they implemented the checks?
I've no idea. But still seems to be too many of them getting in. Can't see any stairwells in away end.
scm70nyd1973
29-07-2024, 07:32 PM
I don't mean this to be in bad taste at all, but you would think Rangers fans, of all people, would understand only too well the dangers of that kind of thing.
Build a great big glass enclosed area for them - can’t hear them coz of the glass , can’t see them coz of their flares and if they throw anything the glass will come down on top of them - if it rains or snows they can’t see out and we can’t see in - take their cash - job done - if only it was that simple eh ☹️
29-07-2024, 07:34 PM
They get asked to show their QR or bar code to a steward - which can be easily screenshot and shared to get past those checks. Nobody hand scans them. Then, once inside someone with an actual ticket forces the fire doors. The others get in. This is exactly what is being described as happening by other clubs who are going public about it.
Really easily solved with an actual police presence. 2 police on the door, inside and out and that problem is gone. Proper ticket checks at the barricade and turnstile.
It all sounds very amature.
LewysGot2
29-07-2024, 07:34 PM
https://celtsarehere.com/green-brigade-release-concerning-fir-park-police-scotland-footageThe Green Brigade telling on themselves and reporting the police for trying to stop them
29-07-2024, 07:47 PM
So you think discrimination is acceptable in our stadium for 30 pound a head?
Where did I say that?
I do know that 400 at £30 would churn out the same bile as 4000 at £30
29-07-2024, 08:25 PM
I think there is more to this than just the number attending.
It’s she flares / the flags over advertising boards and the general behaviour they seem to get away with like during the minute silence.
I hope Hibs have a zero tolerance attitude and cut it further after every visit.
Said before Hearts at home is a bigger game than playing the Old Firm. Would happily have a ST without the old firm included.
29-07-2024, 08:36 PM
Where did I say that?
I do know that 400 at £30 would churn out the same bile as 4000 at £30
They wouldn't no, because it would be easily ignored and laughed at and the guilty ones easily hauled out by police.
29-07-2024, 08:46 PM
Cutting the allocation in a way that we can sell more tickets to our own fans is one thing, but cutting an allocation to leave empty seats makes little sense.
If we’re cutting allocations it should be half the stand and the incentive is then on our own fans to support the move by snapping up the extra seats in the other half. Sell it out and we can look at cutting it further.
Cat Stanton
29-07-2024, 08:47 PM
So anything goes then? Sectarian songs are ok as long as we get some money? Are racism songs ok as long as we get some money? How about sectarian *and* racist songs combined? How about vile banners - all good as long as we get the money?
29-07-2024, 08:50 PM
Cutting the allocation in a way that we can sell more tickets to our own fans is one thing, but cutting an allocation to leave empty seats makes little sense.
If we’re cutting allocations it should be half the stand and the incentive is then on our own fans to support the move by snapping up the extra seats in the other half. Sell it out and we can look at cutting it further.
Folk don’t see Old Firms as that interesting or attractive fixtures for various reasons.
No chance we are even selling out the current 3 stands anytime soon let alone the south.
Largshibby
29-07-2024, 09:40 PM
So anything goes then? Sectarian songs are ok as long as we get some money? Are racism songs ok as long as we get some money? How about sectarian *and* racist songs combined? How about vile banners - all good as long as we get the money?
Maybe some go to ER just to watch a game of football and not be obsessed with being offended. They sing these songs to wind people up and some fall for it hook line and sinker. You could always sit in the FF. There’s plenty room and you can only make out what they say if you try really really hard.
paddy1875
29-07-2024, 10:59 PM
I’m gutted we’ve not just singled out rangers here.
The utter dregs of society. Not all, but the majority
30-07-2024, 07:15 AM
That's no surprise given your username!
In all seriousness, though, the Celtc tramps are really obnoxious with their pyros, crashing the gates, overcrowding, boozing and urinating in the streets and constant IRA chants
30-07-2024, 07:27 AM
Ranger fan has just told me they are getting 3000 rather than the 3800.
If true, whats the *** point of that.
30-07-2024, 07:32 AM
They are turning up with duplicate copies of tickets,, all they do is show the copy and they are let through, once at the turnstile they double up.
30-07-2024, 07:34 AM
Ranger fan has just told me they are getting 3000 rather than the 3800.
If true, whats the *** point of that.
As others have said, it’s a warning. We’ve reduced their allocation by 20% just now. If the behaviour continues we will look to reduce it further.
Similar to what Hearts will do to us for the Derby if our recent behaviour continues
30-07-2024, 07:44 AM
They are turning up with duplicate copies of tickets,, all they do is show the copy and they are let through, once at the turnstile they double up.Surely that’s stopped by having a polisman or steward on each turnstile making sure they’re no doing that then. There’s only about 6 turnstiles for away fans I’m sure
30-07-2024, 07:47 AM
Pretty much aye.
30-07-2024, 08:21 AM
As others have said, it’s a warning. We’ve reduced their allocation by 20% just now. If the behaviour continues we will look to reduce it further.
Similar to what Hearts will do to us for the Derby if our recent behaviour continues
Hearts broke more seats and caused more damage at Easter Road at the last Derby according to someone who works at Tynie.
30-07-2024, 08:24 AM
The utter dregs of society. Not all, but the majority
Unlike Celtic fans...the Scottish club who fly Tri-colours and sign "folk songs"? Are they the acceptable face of sectarianism?
paddy1875
30-07-2024, 08:33 AM
Unlike Celtic fans...the Scottish club who fly Tri-colours and sign "folk songs"? Are they the acceptable face of sectarianism?
Cmon man, of course not.
But there is a difference between the 2 supports when it comes to visiting Easter road.
30-07-2024, 08:49 AM
Cmon man, of course not.
But there is a difference between the 2 supports when it comes to visiting Easter road.
The only difference is that some folk don’t mind the Celtic party songs.
30-07-2024, 08:51 AM
Hearts broke more seats and caused more damage at Easter Road at the last Derby according to someone who works at Tynie.
Possibly but throwing objects at players is much worse in my opinion
30-07-2024, 09:15 AM
The only difference is that some folk don’t mind the Celtic party songs.Exactly this: The IRA pish they insist on belting out is just as bad on the lugs of most folk as any garbage Rangers sing. It’s just certain Hibs fans are a bit more tolerant towards Celtics rubbish unfortunately.
30-07-2024, 09:22 AM
Unlike Celtic fans...the Scottish club who fly Tri-colours and sign "folk songs"? Are they the acceptable face of sectarianism?The IRA songs are as bad as Rangers songs.But Irish flags? We're seriously comparing that to sectarian and racist chants? I've no problem with Rangers fans bringing Union flags either btw. Not my thing but as long as there isn't hate speech scrawled over them they don't bother me
30-07-2024, 09:24 AM
Cmon man, of course not.
What is the difference exactly? Other than the colours of the flags both sets of fans belt out sectarian bile masquerading as "folk songs", overcrowd the away end and turn people off going to matches.
SunshineOn1875
30-07-2024, 09:26 AM
Don't personally see the point of cutting allocations, football is better with hatred spilling out the stands for 90 minutes. It's not like there have been massive issues with clashes from fans after said games so just seems pointless.
30-07-2024, 09:27 AM
https://celtsarehere.com/green-brigade-release-concerning-fir-park-police-scotland-footageThe Green Brigade telling on themselves and reporting the police for trying to stop them
"Concerning"? That they're blocking a fire door from being kicked in FROM THE OUTSIDE.
This is why I ****ing detest Celtic fans just as much as Rangers fans. They are so arrogant.
30-07-2024, 09:32 AM
The IRA songs are as bad as Rangers songs.But Irish flags? We're seriously comparing that to sectarian and racist chants? I've no problem with Rangers fans bringing Union flags either btw. Not my thing but as long as there isn't hate speech scrawled over them they don't bother me
I find it odd that two Scottish clubs don't have Scottish flags as banners, actually it's even more bizarre that every flag in a Celtic end is an Irish one.
It's just as strange when Hibs fans do it, there was a picture of an Irish flag with the Pope's face on it at Tynecastle last season.
Flag flying in general I just find weird.
Flag debate over. :greengrin
TrinityHFC
30-07-2024, 09:49 AM
The IRA songs are as bad as Rangers songs.But Irish flags? We're seriously comparing that to sectarian and racist chants? I've no problem with Rangers fans bringing Union flags either btw. Not my thing but as long as there isn't hate speech scrawled over them they don't bother me
I do think there is a bit of a difference and not just because of bias in tolerance.
Nothing to do with football of course but for me anyway Rangers fans are all about hatred and intolerance. They actively hate and want to dominate other people.
Celtic stuff to me isn’t about active hatred it is more of a defence against it. The IRA stuff I think is largely about the historical fight against oppression rather than any of the later terrorist activity.
Just my thoughts but I do think there is a difference between the motivations.
Would prefer none of it football right enough and behaviour wise both sets of fans have high numbers of people who don’t know how to behave in public.
30-07-2024, 10:22 AM
Don't personally see the point of cutting allocations, football is better with hatred spilling out the stands for 90 minutes. It's not like there have been massive issues with clashes from fans after said games so just seems pointless.
Nothing in history has been better with racists, especially not football.
paddy1875
30-07-2024, 10:29 AM
What is the difference exactly? Other than the colours of the flags both sets of fans belt out sectarian bile masquerading as "folk songs", overcrowd the away end and turn people off going to matches.
Well off the top of my head, I’ve never heard the Celtic fans wishing a injured Hibs player death after a serious head knock.
I’d say another difference is the fans in and around leith before and after games. They both arrive and make a mess and are pissed up weegie scarfs yes. But Iv never felt hated by Celtic supporters. They’re patronising and self obsessed yes, but I can drink in the same pub and not receive the utter filth directed at me than what rangers supporters dish out.
People celebrating injustice and rebellion in the past with a few folk songs also doesn’t really tickle me as much as the people singing about being the oppressors in years past aswell.
My point isnt about who’s better either. It’s the fact that the statement we released was after a
Cup game against the huns where they were hoping for a hibs players death, coming after a game where they actively refused to stay silent and be respectful to a hibs owner who had just passed away.
30-07-2024, 10:34 AM
If we're cutting allocations for sectarianism then both fans tickets should be cut equally. If we’re cutting their tickets because of how **** their fans are in general then the huns should be getting far less.
Actually, forgot about the Leith Celtic supporters group. Back to equal allocations.
30-07-2024, 10:36 AM
I've been called a soup taker and an orange ******* by celtic fans. I've been called a fenian ******* by hhuns.ive been punched and spat on by huns and was caught up in running battles with celtic at the old parkhead in the away end before we got a wee section to ourselves. I find glamoursing of terrorists of both sides, and now laughably of israel/palestinian origin, disgusting. In short, one and the same. Both self important, self entitled pricks who I'd be happy to never bump into again
30-07-2024, 10:42 AM
If we're cutting allocations for sectarianism then both fans tickets should be cut equally. If we’re cutting their tickets because of how **** their fans are in general then the huns should be getting far less. Actually, forgot about the Leith Celtic supporters group. Back to equal allocations.Probably the most embarrassing flag that gets flown in a Scottish football stadium and that is saying something. The very epitome of being a braindeed, gloryhunting halfwit
SunshineOn1875
30-07-2024, 10:57 AM
Nothing in history has been better with racists, especially not football.I'm not sure Celtic nor Rangers have shouted about race against us in the previous years but I could be wrong, certainly don't hear that sat in the west.
30-07-2024, 11:00 AM
I'm not sure Celtic nor Rangers have shouted about race against us in the previous years but I could be wrong, certainly don't hear that sat in the west.
The Rangers fans anti-Irish Catholic bile is racist.
SunshineOn1875
30-07-2024, 11:03 AM
The Rangers fans anti-Irish Catholic bile is racist.I agree, I'm just saying I don't think Police Scotland share the same views, or there would be 60,000 arrests at Ibroke every weekend.
30-07-2024, 11:05 AM
Time to press the eject button on this one methinks.
Cat Stanton
30-07-2024, 12:01 PM
Maybe some go to ER just to watch a game of football and not be obsessed with being offended. They sing these songs to wind people up and some fall for it hook line and sinker. You could always sit in the FF. There’s plenty room and you can only make out what they say if you try really really hard.
So it's ok then? No-one should ever make a stand about anything wrong in society then?
Great stuff. No wonder everything is so messed up with that kind of attitude.
Largshibby
30-07-2024, 12:11 PM
So it's ok then? No-one should ever make a stand about anything wrong in society then?
Great stuff. No wonder everything is so messed up with that kind of attitude.
I’m fine with people making a stand. Just don’t bother doing it at a football ground.
Exactly this: The IRA pish they insist on belting out is just as bad on the lugs of most folk as any garbage Rangers sing. It’s just certain Hibs fans are a bit more tolerant towards Celtics rubbish unfortunately.
Exactly. Some folk happy to sweep Celtic fans’ singing about terrorism under the carpet but shriek about billy boys
Get both sets of them to ****
30-07-2024, 07:20 PM
I’m fine with people making a stand. Just don’t bother doing it at a football ground.
So bigotry and hatred are unacceptable in civilised society but perfectly OK at a football game?
Largshibby
30-07-2024, 08:49 PM
So bigotry and hatred are unacceptable in civilised society but perfectly OK at a football game?
As far as I’m concerned yeah. I go to watch the football. I don’t take much notice of what opposition supporters are doing.
30-07-2024, 09:21 PM
Will the reason as to why the allocations are being cut be debated on media platforms?
100% won’t be.
Rangers and Celtic fans aren’t going to suddenly stop chanting certain songs because of a cut in allocation, if anything, it will just encourage more of it than we would hear from a full stand as some kind of “act of defiance”
The sectarian question won’t be debated in newsprint or broadcast - it’ll be swept aside and pretend it doesn’t exist as is the default setting. Our allocation cutting won’t change that.
I’d have still given them a full end, but put their ticket price up to £45. Make a statement without costing us money and ultimately punishing ourselves.
30-07-2024, 09:35 PM
I agree, I'm just saying I don't think Police Scotland share the same views, or there would be 60,000 arrests at Ibroke every weekend.
No, there wouldn't. Police Scotland are cowards who aren't interesting in doing anything about it.
30-07-2024, 09:36 PM
Will the reason as to why the allocations are being cut be debated on media platforms?
100% won’t be.
Rangers and Celtic fans aren’t going to suddenly stop chanting certain songs because of a cut in allocation, if anything, it will just encourage more of it than we would hear from a full stand as some kind of “act of defiance”
The sectarian question won’t be debated in newsprint or broadcast - it’ll be swept aside and pretend it doesn’t exist as is the default setting. Our allocation cutting won’t change that.
I’d have still given them a full end, but put their ticket price up to £45. Make a statement without costing us money and ultimately punishing ourselves.
You’re not allowed to charge away fans more than home fans.
andrew70
30-07-2024, 09:42 PM
I think it’s stand equivalent so we’d need to charge £45 in the Famous Five stand. Hardly anyone in there anyway. It’s maybe not a bad shout.
30-07-2024, 09:53 PM
I think it’s stand equivalent so we’d need to charge £45 in the Famous Five stand. Hardly anyone in there anyway. It’s maybe not a bad shout.
When you put it that way… I’m in. 😁
What if we factored in the additional cost of BTG season tickets when working out the equivalency for rangers and Celtic ticket prices? 😜
30-07-2024, 10:10 PM
Charge £45 for FF as well then for Old Firm games. Give Hibs fans who buy a ticket for that section a “free” ticket for the next home game. Mostly ST’s anyway.
31-07-2024, 07:35 AM
Well off the top of my head, I’ve never heard the Celtic fans wishing a injured Hibs player death after a serious head knock.
I’d say another difference is the fans in and around leith before and after games. They both arrive and make a mess and are pissed up weegie scarfs yes. But Iv never felt hated by Celtic supporters. They’re patronising and self obsessed yes, but I can drink in the same pub and not receive the utter filth directed at me than what rangers supporters dish out.
People celebrating injustice and rebellion in the past with a few folk songs also doesn’t really tickle me as much as the people singing about being the oppressors in years past aswell.
My point isnt about who’s better either. It’s the fact that the statement we released was after a
Cup game against the huns where they were hoping for a hibs players death, coming after a game where they actively refused to stay silent and be respectful to a hibs owner who had just passed away.
Don't disagree with any of that, the way they behaved particularly after RG's passing was despicable.
I've had encounters with both sets of fans and don't define them seperately, I find them both ******s in their own ways.
Rangers fans are openly hostile, Celtic fans are patronising ***** who think we are their wee cousins but whinge about every ****ing thing that comes their way and cry injustice if anyone stands up to them. That article that was published after our 0-0 draw with them at ER last season was just reeking of entitlement and basically said "Hibs never let us win so they didny".
**** them both, I'd give them a single section of tickets up the back of the Dunbar end if it was my choice.
31-07-2024, 09:43 AM
The arrogance, delusion, ignorance, whatever you want to call it, of Celtic supporters never ceases to amaze me… ‘ This of course means that Celtic will take on Hibernian on two Sundays in a row, with our first away match of the new season taking place at Easter Road in Sunday 11 August. That’s the game that Hibs have cut our allocation for, another club preferring empty seats to paying punters as Scottish football continues to eat itself…. Then it’s the League Cup match the following Sunday, 18 August, this time at Celtic Park and there’s little chance that Celtic will restrict the Hibs allocation for the game and quite rightly so. The most annoying aspect of that reduction is that it is somehow linked to the disgraceful chanting from the Rangers support and the latest Ibrox club has had a similar allocation cut.’ 😂
31-07-2024, 09:58 AM
The arrogance, delusion, ignorance, whatever you want to call it, of Celtic supporters never ceases to amaze me… ‘ This of course means that Celtic will take on Hibernian on two Sundays in a row, with our first away match of the new season taking place at Easter Road in Sunday 11 August. That’s the game that Hibs have cut our allocation for, another club preferring empty seats to paying punters as Scottish football continues to eat itself…. Then it’s the League Cup match the following Sunday, 18 August, this time at Celtic Park and there’s little chance that Celtic will restrict the Hibs allocation for the game and quite rightly so. The most annoying aspect of that reduction is that it is somehow linked to the disgraceful chanting from the Rangers support and the latest Ibrox club has had a similar allocation cut.’ 😂
Perfectly captures the arrogant delusions of Celtic as a CLUB, not just their fans but the club as a whole.
Forgetting of course that Celtic, even with a reduction, still get at least double, if not triple the amount of tickets we get for Celtic Park.
31-07-2024, 10:18 AM
I can’t disagree with what that Celtic fan has to say I have to admit.
31-07-2024, 10:53 PM
I can’t disagree with what that Celtic fan has to say I have to admit.I can. They think we are mates. They think their songs are ok and their fans well behaved. They think we get a great allocation and that it's 3 times bigger than we give them normally. Apart from that...
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
01-08-2024, 08:44 AM
We get it a bit easier because of how they see us. Ask fans of the other teams and 100% just as bad.
01-08-2024, 04:09 PM
Anyone who thinks Celtic are nice and friendly and well behaved at ER should test that assumption on the rare occasion we beat them. They very quickly turn poisonous.
03-08-2024, 06:46 PM
I guess this lovely banner displayed at Tynecastle today can be used by Hibs as a further peice of evidence to support the reduction of Rangers allocation.
This kind of stuff is not welcome in Easter Road, or any civilised environment for that matter.
https://i.postimg.cc/qRgqJ9Pt/IMG-4104.jpg (https://postimg.cc/47kswFNZ)
ErinGoBraghHFC
03-08-2024, 06:47 PM
I guess this lovely banner displayed at Tynecastle today can be used by Hibs as a further peice of evidence to support the reduction of Rangers allocation.
This kind of stuff is not welcome in Easter Road, or any civilised environment for that matter.
The only good nazi…
Disgusting, but not surprising from that lot.
be as well writing ‘we’re racist and bigoted, and proud of it’
MelbourneHibees
03-08-2024, 07:58 PM
FFS that's not even hiding it. How are the stewards or police not taking that down instantly? Take it down and arrest anyone who claims it's theirs.
How many seats do Rangers now get at Hearts? About 1000 or so?
03-08-2024, 08:23 PM
What does “expand or perish” mean? Can’t work it out given it’s clearly not about expanding to a united Ireland, and their outlook is insular and not welcoming to immigrants.
TrinityHFC
03-08-2024, 08:30 PM
What does “expand or perish” mean? Can’t work it out given it’s clearly not about expanding to a united Ireland, and their outlook is insular and not welcoming to immigrants.
It is a Mussolini reference.
03-08-2024, 09:01 PM
It is a Mussolini reference.
Yes, the quote is directly linked to Benito Mussolini, and the skull is the exact insignia of the 3rd SS Panzer Division of the Waffen-SS.
A similar banner appeared previously within the Rangers support which was to be fair, condemned by Rangers who promised a full investigation. This looks like a different banner so Rangers will need to be reopening that investigation.
03-08-2024, 09:25 PM
936 = icf?
03-08-2024, 09:52 PM
936 = icf?
Would assume so
04-08-2024, 07:24 AM
Would assume so
Oh well, that’s just a misspelling then. “International club football”. They’ve just made a mistake with their numbers and forgotten the 20 and 18 for TRIFC.
On a more serious note, this is more about the EDL Nazi group looking to recruit from football supporters and stir up racial unrest across the UK. The rangers club have to make a bigger stand on this and so do all clubs. The rangers, on the one hand, want to associate themselves strongly with the UK armed forces, yet the same SS Panzer Division that fought under this banner massacred 97 surrendered British soldiers in just one single incident in 1940.
One wonders what the police response was to this flag of hate?
04-08-2024, 07:32 AM
Give both of them as little as possible
21st century and having to listen to their out dated pish minimum 2/3 times over a season plus any more extra games is awful
My kids are catholic and coming up to an age where they hopefully will start showing an interest
Sad that you have to think well I definitely won’t be taking them to that game due to away fans and their ‘sing songs’
04-08-2024, 09:28 AM
936 = icf?
Pardon my ignorance, but what does icf mean?
Bridge hibs
04-08-2024, 09:52 AM
Pardon my ignorance, but what does icf mean?
Inter city firm
04-08-2024, 11:25 AM
See when you look at the small band of Rangers fan in the corner at Tynecastle yesterday, thats about all we have cut from their allocation at ER. It really isn't a lot. Completely pointless.
Should be cutting them to the same level that hearts have
04-08-2024, 12:24 PM
Inter city firm
Thanks
mixusman
04-08-2024, 12:34 PM
Ironically, they sign that 10 German bombers sing, really have an identity issue ! Think I read hertz only gave them something like 560 (possibly 700, can’t remember exactly) seats yesterday
mixusman
04-08-2024, 01:23 PM
Ironically, they sign that 10 German bombers sing, really have an identity issue ! Think I read hertz only gave them something like 560 (possibly 700, can’t remember exactly) seats yesterday