View Full Version : Match Updates Kilmarnock v Hibs
27-01-2024, 04:36 PM
I don’t. The guy should get called out and called a stupid ******* on Twitter but it’s nowhere near a police incident.
It’s a ***** joke.
Hilarious, a death threat as a joke. I'm creasing.
27-01-2024, 04:36 PM
I'm not expecting him to come in and suddenly create a league winning team out of who we currently have but there hasn't been much of a change at all in my opinion and that worries me a tad
Which is fair. I wasn’t expecting much until Fish & Hanlon were upgraded and also Newell & Levit. We’re a team that’s good when things are going well but brittle and fall apart at the first sign of adversity. Often in the same game, as we saw today.
Emiliano is definitely part of the solution. Maolida looking like he will be too. Get them in the team and hopefully Amos and maybe the other new midfielder have a similar impact and well hopefully see more of the good spells we had today and less of dire spells we also saw today.
Fratelli
27-01-2024, 04:37 PM
https://x.com/aidanduffy07/status/1751269390723465232?s=46
Genuinely can’t stand some of our support. One of our best performers today.
If this individual is a season ticket holder, then the Club should act and cancel it. If he’s not, then I’m sure he’ll be on the database and all privileges should be removed.
27-01-2024, 04:37 PM
It’s not a death threat don’t be so dramatic.
To infer that the boy is going to actually go shoot Levitt from that tweet is as mental as his ***** joke.
27-01-2024, 04:39 PM
This. We've had an incredible number of 2-2 draws under Monty. If we can start cutting out the daft goals I think we have goals in the team.
Can talk about shape and tactics all day long but that is two goals lost today that we’re nothing to do with shape or anything like that. Same as the last 2-2 draw against Motherwell.
Crunchie
27-01-2024, 04:39 PM
To infer that the boy is going to actually go shoot Levitt from that tweet is as mental as his ***** joke.
It's as funny as a lot of your posts of late.
27-01-2024, 04:41 PM
We can’t persist with Levitt just making it look like he’s trying, and we concede too many poor goals.
New players looked good, a step above what we currently have.
27-01-2024, 04:42 PM
It's as funny as a lot of your posts of late.
I don’t think the joke is funny. I thought that was clear?
What have I done to upset you?
I don’t think I’ve been that controversial???
I’m not being rude or dismissive to anyone, as far as I’m aware?
27-01-2024, 04:45 PM
We can’t persist with Levitt just making it look like he’s trying, and we concede too many poor goals.
New players looked good, a step above what we currently have.
Some assist for Maolida though eh.....
So wishing death on someone is ok as long as it's clearly framed as a joke.
Would you be fine with a post like that if it was a member of your family?
Fanforlife
Can talk about shape and tactics all day long but that is two goals lost today that we’re nothing to do with shape or anything like that. Same as the last 2-2 draw against Motherwell.
Killie first goal should never have stood,definitely a foul to Hibs imo, do agree we have a lot to improve on, however their keeper had 3 very good saves and sitter Doidge missed should also be taken into consideration, also as poor as we can be at the back i can't remember Marshall having a save to make of any note.
27-01-2024, 04:46 PM
I would be fine with it aye. I don’t care if idiots say stupid things.
27-01-2024, 04:47 PM
We’ll see how we get on the next few weeks.
Probably give st Mirren a 2 goal lead and then people will come on telling us everything is ok because we’ve drawn 2-2.
I’ve seen nothing to suggest the manager knows what he’s doing.
Tbf I have read nothing from you that suggests you have anything other than an irrational hatred for Montgomery which predates his appointment
We are nowhere near where we want to be but do you really advocate starting the ball rolling again with another manager that some of equal irrationality to you will detest from the outset.
Should we just sack the next manager before we appoint him to save time and money?
27-01-2024, 04:48 PM
He’s also not “wishing death” on anyone.
It’s just a joke.
It’s not a good joke.
A very similar joke appeared in The Office, but they didn’t mention Levitt.
He's here!
27-01-2024, 04:48 PM
You think so?
We were already back in it at 2-1 and the team that were pushing
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Agreed, I just felt the way Killie got their goals out of pretty much nothing I wouldn't have been surprised if we'd conceded a third. We're hardly rock solid in defence.
Sending off definitely gave us added confidence.
27-01-2024, 04:49 PM
Killie first goal should never have stood,definitely a foul to Hibs imo, do agree we have a lot to improve on, however their keeper had 3 very good saves and sitter Doidge missed should also be taken into consideration, also as poor as we can be at the back i can't remember Marshall having a save to make of any note.
We should have won the game and it was the best we’ve been going forward in a while. Big chance right before half time, Tavares right after when he let the boy get back, Tavares again, Emiliano right after the first, Doidge header and the two goals as well. We actually played some decent stuff and I thought we should have won. Our defending is just stinking though.
27-01-2024, 04:50 PM
Having Cadden back gives us another good option to change it around and adds running and energy down that right side.
Cadden will also give our right back better cover. Fact.
27-01-2024, 04:51 PM
Cadden will also give our right back better cover. Fact.
Only if we play him at right mid rather than right back.
I think he’ll come back at right back.
MagicSwirlingShip
27-01-2024, 04:52 PM
Death threat 😂
killie-hibby
27-01-2024, 04:53 PM
Back home.Hibs best performance for a while.Their first goal was doubtfulas Marshall was impeded.Played well until they scored.Second half we were the better team and should have scored at least l in the last ten minutes.Pitch a disgrace.Hibs players continually slipping on their plastic carpet.Ver clever tactics from McKinnes ie pull jerseys on refs blind side.In particular twice on Doidge when running with ball towards penalty area. I was seated in their main stand .
Youse is a nice Aussie word after all 🤣
Sad yam dullard outs himself - pleasing!
27-01-2024, 05:10 PM
Sad yam dullard outs himself - pleasing!
Tie me Rover Metro down, sport
27-01-2024, 05:12 PM
Correct. Two crosses that we failed to deal with either to stop the crosses or defend them well enough when they came in. All the formations and tactics don’t matter if you fail to do the basics.
27-01-2024, 05:14 PM
Tie me Rover Metro down, sport
Spotting a Jambo,
Who'll come a spotting a Jambo with me...
27-01-2024, 05:16 PM
Correct. Two crosses that we failed to deal with either to stop the crosses or defend them well enough when they came in. All the formations and tactics don’t matter if you fail to do the basics.
Seems like we have added quality up front, and our new midfielders seem bring an energy that has been missing in the middle of the park, the last pieces are the defence with players with confidence and the ability to do the basics and close down and clear a BA ball when needed. We're on the way and they are addressing the problem areas.
27-01-2024, 05:18 PM
Spotting a Jambo,
Who'll come a spotting a Jambo with me...
The boy is a mariners fan( and obviously a Monty fan). You two and others are making yourselves look like fools.
Cat Stanton
27-01-2024, 05:19 PM
Back home.Hibs best performance for a while.Their first goal was doubtfulas Marshall was impeded.Played well until they scored.Second half we were the better team and should have scored at least l in the last ten minutes.Pitch a disgrace.Hibs players continually slipping on their plastic carpet.Ver clever tactics from McKinnes ie pull jerseys on refs blind side.In particular twice on Doidge when running with ball towards penalty area. I was seated in their main stand .
Thanks. So nice to hear a balanced report amid all the nonsensical frothing. This is why I miss Johnny Boy so much!
27-01-2024, 05:19 PM
The boy is a mariners fan( and obviously a Monty fan). You two and others are making yourselves look like fools.
He has been acting very yammish today then!
27-01-2024, 05:20 PM
Good to hear, from someone who was there. Stats look better too. 64% possession away from home. 15 shots..5 of which on target. Killi only had one shot on target and scored two goals !
NC1875
27-01-2024, 05:22 PM
Tbf I have read nothing from you that suggests you have anything other than an irrational hatred for Montgomery which predates his appointment
We are nowhere near where we want to be but do you really advocate starting the ball rolling again with another manager that some of equal irrationality to you will detest from the outset.
Should we just sack the next manager before we appoint him to save time and money?
Think you’re getting me mixed up with someone else. I was excited by NM’s appointment and have backed him until recently. I certainly don’t hate him, just now starting to think he’s another dud. We have a track record of appointing them.
A good manager gets the best out of a squad no matter its ability. We’ve gone backwards since he came in.
Based on what I’ve seen is it really wise to let this guy spend what’s arguably our biggest budget in history.
We’ll never know if we don’t give it a try, but there’s more negative than positive so far for me.
27-01-2024, 05:30 PM
Marshall
Miller Fish New CB Obita
Boyle Amos Newell/Moriah-Welsh Maolida
Marcondes Vente
Let's see how we get on with that team after half a dozen games. If we're still struggling I'll start getting on the Monty out bandwagon.
Hanlon was our best defender again today.
27-01-2024, 05:32 PM
Probably guessing you’ve missed his posts earlier in the thread. Far from convinced of that.
27-01-2024, 05:32 PM
I’d still launch him tonight.
27-01-2024, 05:33 PM
Some assist for Maolida though eh.....
It was good yes but only because they had ten men and he could finally get time on the ball, if other teams are going to basically just man mark us he has to be able to fight through that or have someone else in with him that will create him the space, currently with him and Newell we don’t have that.
IFONLY
27-01-2024, 05:35 PM
Hanlon was our best defender again today.
27-01-2024, 05:36 PM
Yep - just silly mistakes. If we cut some of those out we win more games.
27-01-2024, 05:37 PM
Doesn’t matter what team he supports he was on here acting like a fud when we were 2 down.
27-01-2024, 05:38 PM
I’d still launch him tonight.
Thankfully he's already gone.
Regardless of who he really is or which team he supports, the guy was relentlessly trolling today.
27-01-2024, 05:38 PM
Doesn’t matter what team he supports he was on here acting like a fud when we were 2 down.
So we’re a good chunk of supposed Hibs fans.
I think the way Monty wants his full backs to play that cadden will fit in well
27-01-2024, 05:45 PM
We’ve been conceding the same kind of goals all season under both LJ and Monty. Crosses into the box simply aren’t being dealt with. Hopefully this boy from Bournemouth is good.
27-01-2024, 05:55 PM
So we’re a good chunk of supposed Hibs fans.
I’m the first to have a go at those posters, I’d say there’s a difference between being annoyed at your own team and purposefully trolling another teams message board when they’re getting beat, however.
27-01-2024, 06:00 PM
I’m the first to have a go at those posters, I’d say there’s a difference between being annoyed at your own team and purposefully trolling another teams message board when they’re getting beat, however.
Fair enough.
27-01-2024, 06:03 PM
We should have won the game and it was the best we’ve been going forward in a while. Big chance right before half time, Tavares right after when he let the boy get back, Tavares again, Emiliano right after the first, Doidge header and the two goals as well. We actually played some decent stuff and I thought we should have won. Our defending is just stinking though.
Actually thought we were pretty good today bar the awful defending. Some very promising performances
McGruber
27-01-2024, 06:03 PM
Turning point 💪
Hibs4185
27-01-2024, 06:17 PM
Just watched NM interview.
He looked a bit nervous and a bit timid. Looked like things were maybe taking a toll I thought.
I was in the NM out camp at 2-0 and I don’t have massive confidence in him but he looks like a good guy and hopefully we can continue the upward trend from todays second half!
27-01-2024, 06:22 PM
Actually thought we were pretty good today bar the awful defending. Some very promising performances
I did too. Poor for a bit after we went behind. Really upped the tempo, pace and intensity after we lost the second and should have won the game. It puzzles me it takes going two behind to get there. I suppose you could argue that was when the changes in personnel changed . This is how Monty’s system needs to be played with intensity and pace. Get the new boys in from the start.
xbar81
27-01-2024, 06:23 PM
we got back into v 11 but the 10 men certainly helped afterwards. Anyone think we bossed it from that point? And if not, why not?
Extra man we should be going for it against anyone except possibly the ugly sisters away from home.
VoltaireHibs
27-01-2024, 06:24 PM
A decent result and hopefully some wee green shoots. I swing back and forth on NM, trying to be patient but jeezo it's tricky at times. Get the rest of the new lads up to speed and see where we're at. Currently in the 'Give him more time' camp. At 2-0 down I was in the get him out camp.
Fickle? Aye. 🙄😁
The good old just banter excuse
That's as good and informative a report as I've read anywhere, ta. :aok:
27-01-2024, 06:59 PM
we got back into v 11 but the 10 men certainly helped afterwards. Anyone think we bossed it from that point? And if not, why not?
Extra man we should be going for it against anyone except possibly the ugly sisters away from home.
We never but we still scored a goal and had a good chance to win it.
After the equaliser the ball must have been in play for about 4 minutes, game just constantly stopped.
Mikey_1875
27-01-2024, 07:02 PM
Cause for optimism and hopefully a turning point at the end there. If the new signings can inject a higher tempo and urgency in the team coupled with a centre half before the window shuts then it could be a positive finish.
27-01-2024, 07:18 PM
I hadn’t actually looked at the table for a while. Granted the recent trend has been downward and performances have been poor, pre January signings. However you wouldn’t think that we’re 3 points off 5th with a game in hand over 5th (Dundee & Aberdeen have games in hand over us too in the interest of fairness). Or that we will go back into 5th if we beat St Mirren on Saturday.
Are we not currently there or thereabouts as to what the squad achieved last season?
27-01-2024, 07:40 PM
I never seen the full 90 minutes so my views are only from the highlights just now.
First half it looked like another unacceptable performance and the second goal was a very poor goal to concede.
Fabulous strike from Joe Newell and Maolida
Marcondes look decent players, full credit for the comeback and with Doidge at the end it could have been 3 points.
Still disappointed not to have got the much needed 3 points.
27-01-2024, 07:43 PM
We’ve been conceding the same kind of goals all season under both LJ and Monty. Crosses into the box simply aren’t being dealt with. Hopefully this boy from Bournemouth is good.
You also need to stop the crosses at source. The first goal was awful for that and the 2nd not much better. 2 on 1 both time and we didn’t stop it. That’s just basic. Close the gap.
27-01-2024, 07:52 PM
I hadn’t actually looked at the table for a while. Granted the recent trend has been downward and performances have been poor, pre January signings. However you wouldn’t think that we’re 3 points off 5th with a game in hand over 5th (Dundee & Aberdeen have games in hand over us too in the interest of fairness). Or that we will go back into 5th if we beat St Mirren on Saturday.
Are we not currently there or thereabouts as to what the squad achieved last season?
We're supposed to be kicking on this season though so that is the problem. You don't throw investment at the squad to struggle to be where we were already. Third was the aim and it is just about a write off.
Also, talk of winning games in hand is well and good but we aren't winning in the league at all. Until we stop giving teams a goal or two of a start that isn't going to change.
27-01-2024, 07:56 PM
We're supposed to be kicking on this season though so that is the problem. You don't throw investment at the squad to struggle to be where we were already. Third was the aim and it is just about a write off.
Also, talk of winning games in hand is well and good but we aren't winning in the league at all. Until we stop giving teams a goal or two of a start that isn't going to change.
Investment hasn’t really started yet. We are still 7 million behind hearts.
27-01-2024, 08:09 PM
The good old just banter excuse
Where did I say it was “banter”? I don’t think anyone has called it banter.
What I said is that it’s a ***** joke, and it doesn’t warrant the police being involved.
If you disagree and genuinely read the tweet and thought Dylan Levitts life is in danger, then feel free to report it.
27-01-2024, 08:12 PM
Just watched NM interview.
He looked a bit nervous and a bit timid. Looked like things were maybe taking a toll I thought.
I was in the NM out camp at 2-0 and I don’t have massive confidence in him but he looks like a good guy and hopefully we can continue the upward trend from todays second half!
No wonder he probably thought he would get a decent chance at the job rather than the ridiculous knee jerk nonsense that's getting thrown at him.
27-01-2024, 08:19 PM
Aye ok. Out the top six now but I'm the clown. The rot under this imposter continues.
We aren’t out the top six ?but a win next week at home to st Mirren is a must to give us the chance to start chasing down Killie in fourth
27-01-2024, 08:27 PM
No wonder he probably thought he would get a decent chance at the job rather than the ridiculous knee jerk nonsense that's getting thrown at him.
He should have done his research on us before taking it. We are very much a club where you need to hit the ground running.
We are a club that qualified for Europe bringing in a championship winning manager to move us forward. Not the rip up and rebuild project that some would have us believe we need to be patient for.
Results aren't good enough and that is it. He'll need to fix that quickly or his chance will pass. No knee jerk. Just the cold fact of the matter.
27-01-2024, 08:35 PM
Where did I say it was “banter”? I don’t think anyone has called it banter.
What I said is that it’s a ***** joke, and it doesn’t warrant the police being involved.
If you disagree and genuinely read the tweet and thought Dylan Levitts life is in danger, then feel free to report it.
I wonder if you’d feel differently if you were Dylan Levitt? It may be a joke but it needs called out.
NC1875
27-01-2024, 08:36 PM
He should have done his research on us before taking it. We are very much a club where you need to hit the ground running.
We are a club that qualified for Europe bringing in a championship winning manager to move us forward. Not the rip up and rebuild project that some would have us believe we need to be patient for.
Results aren't good enough and that is it. He'll need to fix that quickly or his chance will pass. No knee jerk. Just the cold fact of the matter.
Exactly, I’m sure in his interview NM didn’t say “I’ll Improve us next season when I’ve had the chance to sign my own players”.
He should have improved us by now, and he hasn’t. We’ll see how the rest of the season goes but I’m not sure he’s the answer based on what we’ve seen so far.
27-01-2024, 08:41 PM
Exactly, I’m sure in his interview NM didn’t say “I’ll Improve us next season when I’ve had the chance to sign my own players”.
He should have improved us by now, and he hasn’t. We’ll see how the rest of the season goes but I’m not sure he’s the answer based on what we’ve seen so far.
Why should he have improved us by now? He’s 4 months into it and not had a full window. We finished 5th last season and that exactly where we are at the moment. He needs judged after a year in the job. IMO this season and the summer window followed by at the very minimum the first round of fixtures of next season. Then unless we are really struggling he should at least be given the remainder of that season too.
27-01-2024, 08:50 PM
We were 10th when he arrived. We’re now 6th. What does improvement entail?
27-01-2024, 08:55 PM
And glad NM didn't say that. No manager in his right mind is going to say anything like that. In fact. least said the better.
Fact remains, the players he inherited were (in the main) poor quality who got the previous manager sacked. Our midfield has been dross for years - can't win balls, can't create, can't defend. Our defence is soft, cannot defend crosses. NM needs to work with what he has. What concerns me is Hibs Board don't appear to be prepared to back him with money int eh Jan window to fix the obvious problems.
So the likely outcome is that NM will get sacked, and we'll move onto the next sucker who'll earn a few ££ doing the same dance with the Hibs Board and players. Rinse and repeat.
27-01-2024, 08:56 PM
I wonder if you’d feel differently if you were Dylan Levitt? It may be a joke but it needs called out.
Phone the police if you think it warrants it.
I don’t think it does.
NC1875
27-01-2024, 09:00 PM
Why should he have improved us by now? He’s 4 months into it and not had a full window. We finished 5th last season and that exactly where we are at the moment. He needs judged after a year in the job. IMO this season and the summer window followed by at the very minimum the first round of fixtures of next season. Then unless we are really struggling he should at least be given the remainder of that season too.
I think he will be given that. What im saying is I’m not confident we’ll be any further forward. Hes done nothing so far to make me think otherwise.
Why sack a manager if you don’t think the new one will get more out of the current squad ?
We’ll clearly never agree on the matter and it’s all personal opinion. I think a competent manager would get more out of the squad as it is, you don’t.
Hopefully we kick on from here and NM builds a squad that performs well and challenges for 3rd next season.
Suppose I’m a bit pissed off that’s another season written off, and more than likely one where our biggest rivals finish 3rd and take the millions that come with it. Them getting 3rd and Anderson’s donation offsets Foleys investment
Donegal Hibby
27-01-2024, 09:00 PM
Skysports highlights of the game here .
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/13058184/kilmarnock-2-2-hibs-scottish-premiership-highlights
27-01-2024, 09:06 PM
I think a lot of people did expect a rebuild and delighted it looks like it is taking place
27-01-2024, 09:08 PM
Absolutely agree although the culture is very much the opposite sometimes it takes a bit of time and pain to improve things.
27-01-2024, 09:09 PM
Phone the police if you think it warrants it.
I don’t think it does.
I think that would be up to Dylan. Not you or I.
27-01-2024, 09:10 PM
Fought back from 2-0 down which is a positive.
xbar81
27-01-2024, 09:11 PM
just watched the highlights. Never a red card for the killie boy, never a yellow, barely a foul.
This var should gtf despite it helping us this time.
27-01-2024, 09:13 PM
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/13058184/kilmarnock-2-2-hibs-scottish-premiership-highlights
That is never a red card. Love it when it goes our way but var is just ludicrous now. Terrible decisions literally every week.
Two cracking goals, excellent comeback, new players making a difference, plenty to look forward to.
27-01-2024, 09:14 PM
Doidge man 😭
27-01-2024, 09:14 PM
just watched the highlights. Never a red card for the killie boy, never a yellow, barely a foul.
Not a red for me. But their first goal should’ve been chalked off. Killie player climbing all over Vente
xbar81
27-01-2024, 09:16 PM
That is never a red card. Love it when it goes our way but var is just ludicrous now. Terrible decisions literally every week.
Two cracking goals, excellent comeback, new players making a difference, plenty to look forward to.
I predict that this will be another one that gets appealed.
Yes you heard it right, appeling a decision that was var checked and changed pitchside after the ref viewed it.
Probably be back to a yellow or they will hush it up due to embarrassment, and thus the poor lad will still get his red.
27-01-2024, 09:17 PM
I didn’t think it was a red in real time but the more I look at it the more I think it is the correct call. At first I thought his foot rolled over the ball but looking at it he actually goes through it and takes Jair fairly high up and forceful.
27-01-2024, 09:17 PM
I think he will be given that. What im saying is I’m not confident we’ll be any further forward. Hes done nothing so far to make me think otherwise.
Why sack a manager if you don’t think the new one will get more out of the current squad ?
We’ll clearly never agree on the matter and it’s all personal opinion. I think a competent manager would get more out of the squad as it is, you don’t.
Hopefully we kick on from here and NM builds a squad that performs well and challenges for 3rd next season.
Suppose I’m a bit pissed off that’s another season written off, and more than likely one where our biggest rivals finish 3rd and take the millions that come with it. Them getting 3rd and Anderson’s donation offsets Foleys investment
Genuine question, could a competent manager get more out of our defence.
The 16 and 19 year old right backs will make mistakes (Whittaker against Motherwell and Megwa today) that cost us goals. I know millet is there to come back and he is an improvement but he’s still pretty average. Fish is our main centre back but is 20 and has been playing senior football for a year. Rocky is hopeless and Hanlon is well past his best. Obita is decent and we have a 36 year old back up.
The goals we lost today were shockers and it was the 8th time in the league we’ve scored two goals but failed to win the game. I’d hazard a guess that in nearly all those games we’ll have conceded one or more to cross balls. We’re just so, so bad defensively.
xbar81
27-01-2024, 09:19 PM
I. Didn’t think it was a red in real time but the more I look at it the more I think it is the correct call. At first I thought his foot rolled over the ball but looking at it he actually goes through it and takes Jair fairly high up and forceful.
he got the ball. as i said, barely a foul at all. A yellow would be taking the piss but it would have been fair to go with the onfield decision.
TrinityHFC
27-01-2024, 09:22 PM
he got the ball. as i said, barely a foul at all. A yellow would be taking the piss but it would have been fair to go with the onfield decision.
Getting the ball is pretty irrelevant now. If your follow through is out of control and you connect in a reckless way you’re going to get sent off.
27-01-2024, 09:23 PM
He touched the ball but follow through was dangerous and injured the player
27-01-2024, 09:23 PM
It’s not about getting the ball these days. He was forceful and went through talking the man after it and fairly high too. Red.
delaCalz
27-01-2024, 09:24 PM
Getting the ball is pretty irrelevant now. If your follow through is out of control and you connect in a reckless way you’re going to get sent off.
Exactly, he's both feet off the ground, straight leg and studs up. Red all day long...
Donegal Hibby
27-01-2024, 09:29 PM
It was definitely a foul imo wither it was a yellow or red I suppose is open for debate , personally I thought it was a red , even though the Killie player got the ball it was the follow thru with studs up catching Jair . Hopefully Jair's ok . Derek McInnes didn't agree though said it wasn't his players fault our players leg was there .
27-01-2024, 09:33 PM
Good result. Killie away never easy for Hibs.
27-01-2024, 09:38 PM
We got lucky with the red card, though we demonstrated resilience to get a point. The final twenty minutes were a big improvement; that’s how we need to play from the kick off. The first seventy minutes were once again too passive, with lots of possession but no incisiveness, combined will poor mistakes in defence. I still don’t know what the manager is aiming for in his style of play. He needs to establish an identity for his team; right now it looks aimless.
Keepthefaith
27-01-2024, 09:42 PM
The 16 and 19 year old right backs will make mistakes (Whittaker against Motherwell and Megwa today) that cost us goals. I know millet is there to come back and he is an improvement but he’s still pretty average. Fish is our main centre back but is 20 and has been playing senior football for a year. Rocky is hopeless and Hanlon is well past his best. Obita is decent and we have a 36 year old back up.
The goals we lost today were shockers and it was the 8th time in the league we’ve scored two goals but failed to win the game. I’d hazard a guess that in nearly all those games we’ll have conceded one or more to cross balls. We’re just so, so bad defensively.
Pretty clear that vente is fouled for their first. If that's us, var would have disallowed it. Inconsistency kills me!
Exactly.
Today we've lost two points due to really poor individual defensive plays. Marshall and Megwa should have dealt with their second and better defenders / keepers would have. No amount of coaching can help that. We've had to recall a championship level right back because our only other player in the squad who plays the position is 16 years old.
Getting rid of the managers changes none of this.
Give him time.
Just watched the highlights, foul on Vente for their 1st, pundits on Sportscene agree. Their red is debatable.
TrinityHFC
27-01-2024, 10:01 PM
Exactly.
Today we've lost two points due to really poor individual defensive plays. Marshall and Megwa should have dealt with their second and better defenders / keepers would have. No amount of coaching can help that. We've had to recall a championship level right back because our only other player in the squad who plays the position is 16 years old.
Getting rid of the managers changes none of this.
Give him time.
Managers will ultimately carry the can for these types of mistakes though. The last manager wasn’t helped at the start of the season by goalkeeping issues and injuries and mistakes from Delf and Harbottle when they had to play right back. That’s the way it goes.
27-01-2024, 10:04 PM
Pretty clear that vente is fouled for their first. If that's us, var would have disallowed it. Inconsistency kills me!
I agree. But he still go a head to the ball and I think he could have been stronger and didn’t need to header it in to his own net. Lack of desire to stop the cross was pathetic as well. Similar to the second.
27-01-2024, 10:04 PM
Just watched the highlights, foul on Vente for their 1st, pundits on Sportscene agree. Their red is debatable.
I thought it was a foul. Mental that VAR looked at both this and the foul against Vente on Wednesday night and concluded that today's wasn't a foul while a Wednesday's was.
27-01-2024, 10:57 PM
I'm just a muppet, but when I see things happen in football that don't make sense I look for an explanation. Vente, uncompromised, bullets a header into his own far corner? That's an unexpected outcome. How did it happen? Oh, he was fouled.
27-01-2024, 11:33 PM
I didn’t think it was a red in real time but the more I look at it the more I think it is the correct call. At first I thought his foot rolled over the ball but looking at it he actually goes through it and takes Jair fairly high up and forceful.
Red card all day long. He could have broken his ankle. Looked a sore one.
cubehindthegoal
27-01-2024, 11:40 PM
You're off to celebrate a 2-2 draw against Kilmarnock? Enjoy I guess.
A comeback. Yes I enjoyed my team coming back from 2-0 down. Take it you didn’t.
28-01-2024, 12:40 AM
Red card all day long. He could have broken his ankle. Looked a sore one.Was more of a red card than the one when Porteous was sent off at home v the Rangers for a similar style of offence.
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
28-01-2024, 07:27 AM
I thought it was a foul. Mental that VAR looked at both this and the foul against Vente on Wednesday night and concluded that today's wasn't a foul while a Wednesday's was.
I think the difference was the ref gave the foul on Wed. VAR was never going to overrule him especially against those opponents.Vente was fouled yesterday. He didn't jump because he couldn't!
28-01-2024, 07:49 AM
Surprised there is even a debate over the red card? Followed through at pace with studs up clattering straight into Jair’s ankle. It’s 2024, not 1984, and getting ball first has long been immaterial for robust and dangerous tackling.
Horrible tackle and the easiest of red cards to be shown.
Foul on Vente for 1st was a real headscreatcher. How they look at that and decide there’s no impediment on Vente, particularly when nowadays it’s like a car alarm going off as soon as anyone lays a hand on a defender in the opposition box.
xbar81
28-01-2024, 08:24 AM
Surprised there is even a debate over the red card? Followed through at pace with studs up clattering straight into Jair’s ankle. It’s 2024, not 1984, and getting ball first has long been immaterial for robust and dangerous tackling.
I'm surprised by your comment. It's barley even a foul - play on would have been a fair outcome. It certainly ain't a "shocker" as you put it. Wait till you see a real shocker.
It's decisions like this that shows you how much the standard of football has dropped. Hope Killie appeal it if only to show how pish var is if nothing else.
Donegal Hibby
28-01-2024, 08:41 AM
I thought that when we sign a CH that would be us done this window though Monty mentions the possibility of 1 or 2 more coming in on his post match interview ( 2:28 ) .
https://youtu.be/zLioZlgECVQ?si=Z92SjxYjX-nsfNaB
28-01-2024, 08:46 AM
First time in a wee while I think I see a way forward this season.
Obviously far from perfect particularly with our total inability to defend crosses. Commanding central defender should be main priority by close of window.
On the positive side Emi and Myziane look like they could be a cut above once they are fully fit. Also thought Levitt had a better game helped greatly by Emi's movement.
To battle back against a strong Killie team on that monstrosity of a pitch cam only be a good thing but we need to back it up on Saturday.
Incidentally harsh red card for me but they always seem to give them for those tackles nowadays.
28-01-2024, 08:48 AM
I thought that when we sign a CH that would be us done this window though Monty mentions the possibility of 1 or 2 more coming in on his post match interview ( 2:28 ) .
https://youtu.be/zLioZlgECVQ?si=Z92SjxYjX-nsfNaB
We are clearly absolutely ****ing loaded now. It’s tremendous and we didnt do it by breaking into the poppy fund collecting tins to do it. Hence Ewen Murray’s explosion of bloodied turd rage yesterday and the sudden influx of posters transparently pretending to be hibs fans while silently seething.
Feeling very optimistic about the future.
28-01-2024, 09:03 AM
I'm surprised by your comment. It's barley even a foul - play on would have been a fair outcome. It certainly ain't a "shocker" as you put it. Wait till you see a real shocker.
It's decisions like this that shows you how much the standard of football has dropped. Hope Killie appeal it if only to show how pish var is if nothing else.
He followed through with studds up and Jair's ankle bent on the impact of the contact. He might have got away with a yellow without VAR but once you've seen it on VAR it's a red all day long.
28-01-2024, 09:06 AM
First time in a wee while I think I see a way forward this season.
Obviously far from perfect particularly with our total inability to defend crosses. Commanding central defender should be main priority by close of window.
On the positive side Emi and Myziane look like they could be a cut above once they are fully fit. Also thought Levitt had a better game helped greatly by Emi's movement.
To battle back against a strong Killie team on that monstrosity of a pitch cam only be a good thing but we need to back it up on Saturday.
Incidentally harsh red card for me but they always seem to give them for those tackles nowadays.
We scored two very good goals, both worked quickly from passing out from the back with crisp passing and movement. If this is how we are going to attack we will create good chances, and we can mix it up short or going longer.
There is hope.
Just need that centre back...
xbar81
28-01-2024, 09:11 AM
He followed through with studds up and Jair's ankle bent on the impact of the contact. He might have got away with a yellow without VAR but once you've seen it on VAR it's a red all day long.
Have to disagree about it being a red all day long. It simply isn't.
28-01-2024, 09:13 AM
The manager did say when he comes in that he wants us to play like a big team and a dominant team, and there’s no way that’s happening with the mess of a squad he’s inherited.
I think we’ll see an improvement in the second half of this season with the new signings, and when we can do a proper rebuild in the summer another one again.
28-01-2024, 09:13 AM
Charlie Mulgrew disagrees with you, both feet off the ground so he is not in control, and catches Jair with both sets of studs! Reckless play, out of control, red card.
hibee1875
28-01-2024, 09:14 AM
There’s positive signs. He just needs time. Every player brought in by him so far looks positive.
Having miller back in the defence and at least one new CB and I think we’ll still finish 4th.
xbar81
28-01-2024, 09:19 AM
Charlie Mulgrew disagrees with you, both feet off the ground so he is not in control, and catches Jair with both sets of studs! Reckless play, out of control, red card.
This adds strength to my statement if Mr mulgrew disagrees with me. The lad was even being laughed at by McCann and Thompson for some of the things he was saying.
SickBoy32
28-01-2024, 09:21 AM
Don’t think it’s mental at all to be honest, just more cheating from the officials. Can’t possibly give what is a pretty clear penalty against the ****, at 0-0, they’re in a title race you know !
And yesterday, we had a *** on the VAR - nothing to see here with regards the foul on Vente.
The red was a clear red, although didn’t stop that wee gimp McCann saying it wasn’t even a foul on sportscene - Scottish football is infested with them unfortunately.
This adds strength to my statement if Mr mulgrew disagrees with me. The lad was even being laughed at by McCann and Thompson for some of the things he was saying.
They showed a slowmo of the challenge, both feet off the ground and a dangerous lunge, wether he gets the ball or not, he's not in control and could've been a leg breaker.
Rumble de Thump
28-01-2024, 09:24 AM
According to the rules it simply is.
xbar81
28-01-2024, 09:27 AM
Don’t think it’s mental at all to be honest, just more cheating from the officials. Can’t possibly give what is a pretty clear penalty against the ****, at 0-0, they’re in a title race you know !
And yesterday, we had a *** on the VAR - nothing to see here with regards the foul on Vente.
The red was a clear red, although didn’t stop that wee gimp McCann saying it wasn’t even a foul on sportscene - Scottish football is infested with them unfortunately.
McCann is right on this one however. You are just saying it's a red cause we benefited from it. I doubt Charlie mulgrew will be invited on the program again - it's not supposed to be a comedy program.
Rumble de Thump
28-01-2024, 09:30 AM
McCann is right on this one however. You are just saying it's a red cause we benefited from it. I doubt Charlie mulgrew will be invited on the program again - it's not supposed to be a comedy program.
Forceful out of control lunge with both feet off the ground and studs up connecting with ankle. Can't be anything other than a red card.
Fanforlife
28-01-2024, 09:30 AM
This adds strength to my statement if Mr mulgrew disagrees with me. The lad was even being laughed at by McCann and Thompson for some of the things he was saying.🤣good of you to belittle a guy who had a career of over 20 years as a professional, think i will trust his judgement over someone whose Hibs credentials have been called to task!
xbar81
28-01-2024, 09:31 AM
🤣good of you to belittle a guy who had a career of over 20 years as a professional, think i will trust his judgement over someone whose Hibs credentials have been called to task!
Mulgrew Hibs credintals?
Fanforlife
28-01-2024, 09:35 AM
Mulgrew Hibs credintals?
Professional Football Players Credentials, a guy who has actually played the game professionally,have you?
xbar81
28-01-2024, 09:38 AM
Professional Football Players Credentials, a guy who has actually played the game professionally,have you?
no, and neither have almost all of the posters on here. But I do have eyes and I can be impartial and not blinded by just being happy my team got a decision.
RMQ1967
28-01-2024, 09:39 AM
You don't need to be a Hibs fan to see it's a shocker. Jair lucky not to be left with a broken ankle.
Although he tried to carry on I think he'll be waking up with it black & blue. Surprised if he doesn't need some time off after that.
Fanforlife
28-01-2024, 09:40 AM
This adds strength to my statement if Mr mulgrew disagrees with me. The lad was even being laughed at by McCann and Thompson for some of the things he was saying.Strangely enough both of them x ****,wonder if this is a coincidence in your agreement with them 😉
xbar81
28-01-2024, 09:41 AM
You don't need to be a Hibs fan to see it's a shocker. Jair lucky not to be left with a broken ankle.
Although he tried to carry on I think he'll be waking up with it black & blue. Surprised if he doesn't need some time off after that.
wait till you see a real shocker. Some other people on here have said they don't think it's a red either. Suppose this is all about opinions.
One thing is for sure is that the game has become very soft. I'm sure you'll agree that that wasn't a red a few short years ago?
28-01-2024, 09:50 AM
no, and neither have almost all of the posters on here. But I do have eyes and I can be impartial and not blinded by just being happy my team got a decision.
Just because the player got a touch on the ball doesn’t mean the tackle is not reckless.
The Killie player wins the ball, but wins it by jumping in to the challenge, out of control, with studs up and catches Jairs ankle.
In a perfect world it would be an orange card, but as such for me it’s a red.
Not a single part of that is not true/green tinted spectacles/whatever.
K-Zazu
28-01-2024, 10:03 AM
Is Lewis Miller injured? I must have missed that, not in the Australia squad for their game today.
xbar81
28-01-2024, 10:12 AM
Just because the player got a touch on the ball doesn’t mean the tackle is not reckless.
The Killie player wins the ball, but wins it by jumping in to the challenge, out of control, with studs up and catches Jairs ankle.
In a perfect world it would be an orange card, but as such for me it’s a red.
Not a single part of that is not true/green tinted spectacles/whatever.
Is orange card sin bin? Don't see what's wrong with a yellow if you think it's worthy of a card. It's not a red though as that is too harsh.
There is an element of green specs because I know you'd be defending the tackler if colours were reversed.
I'm gonna leave it there though as opinions differ and we'll not agree.
One thing I hope we COULD agree on though is that you have to take the luck when these things go in your favour. We may not have equalised if Killie had stayed with the full 11.
K-Zazu
28-01-2024, 10:27 AM
Is Lewis Miller injured? I must have missed that, not in the Australia squad for their game today.
Oops wrong thread
Foul on Vente for 1st was a real headscreatcher. How they look at that and decide there’s no impediment on Vente, particularly when nowadays it’s like a car alarm going off as soon as anyone lays a hand on a defender in the opposition box.The reason those tackles were banned was because they lead to most injuries and some career enders as well. Red card whether he got the ball or not.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
xbar81
28-01-2024, 11:56 AM
The reason those tackles were banned was because they lead to most injuries and some career enders as well. Red card whether he got the ball or not.
just shows you how far football has fallen/changed. "whether he got the ball nor not" used to be the first thing that was considered in tackles. Are slide tackles no longer allowed at all, cause how do you do a slide tackle without the studs up and a slide??
Football will be a non contact sport by the 2030s
28-01-2024, 12:01 PM
A comeback. Yes I enjoyed my team coming back from 2-0 down. Take it you didn’t.
Go back through the thread and you'll find like most games I post fairly balanced posts. You'll see I was happy and praised the players when we were doing well and obviously when we scored. With that though though ultimately I felt relieved that we managed a point and didn't lose. You'll never catch me celebrating a 2-2 all draw in the middle of the season against Kilmarnock.
Wth the money we've spent and the players we have we should be doing better. 6 wins in 22 in the league. 6 in 19 for Monty. A win percentage just above 30%. I'm happy to see the manager get the time he needs to an extent but I'm stuck between wondering if the new guys are papering over the cracks and the rest of the squad are worse than the Killie squad or the manager is struggling to get the best out of what we have with many of them looking worse than last season.
28-01-2024, 12:04 PM
just shows you how far football has fallen/changed. "whether he got the ball nor not" used to be the first thing that was considered in tackles. Are slide tackles no longer allowed at all, cause how do you do a slide tackle without the studs up and a slide??
No they are no longer allowed if they follow through studs up and injure an opponent. Clear red card
Nice of you to join this forum so recently and immediately try to be controversial, pop over to a few other threads, we need more negativity on this forum.
xbar81
28-01-2024, 12:16 PM
Nice of you to join this forum so recently and immediately try to be controversial, pop over to a few other threads, we need more negativity on this forum.
It was reading threads that made me join. Had to join in
Football will be a non contact sport by the 2030sYou can do a slide tackle without studs up and that wasn't a slide tackle ad he off the ground. Open the two gappy things either side of the upper part of yer nose. Helps see things.
Houston7
28-01-2024, 12:39 PM
wait till you see a real shocker. Some other people on here have said they don't think it's a red either. Suppose this is all about opinions.
One thing is for sure is that the game has become very soft. I'm sure you'll agree that that wasn't a red a few short years ago?
As a Hibs fan for over 75 years (& a former ref - don’t hold this against me), while we are all entitled to our opinions, I cannot believe the number of comments suggesting that an opposing player shouldn’t have been sent off. The game has become very soft? We Hibs fans that are becoming soft! Would fans of other clubs argue at such lengths about such an incident “benefitting” their own team, however refreshing some might think this is? It is only my opinion, but my view is that it was a red card under the current rules. From this you’ll gather that I side with Mr Mulgrew - which might not go down well with many on this forum.
I thought it was a harsh red card. I wouldn’t be happy if a hibs player was sent off for that. However, by the letter of today’s law, it was a red card. Mind you, the killie first goal also should have Ben chalked off if we are going by the letter of the law.
xbar81
28-01-2024, 12:53 PM
As a Hibs fan for over 75 years (& a former ref - don’t hold this against me), while we are all entitled to our opinions, I cannot believe the number of comments suggesting that an opposing player shouldn’t have been sent off. The game has become very soft? We Hibs fans that are becoming soft! Would fans of other clubs argue at such lengths about such an incident “benefitting” their own team, however refreshing some might think this is? It is only my opinion, but my view is that it was a red card under the current rules. From this you’ll gather that I side with Mr Mulgrew - which might not go down well with many on this forum.
as a former ref, what year do you think that sort of tackle became a straight red may I ask?
No they are no longer allowed if they follow through studs up and injure an opponent. Clear red cardhttps://i.ibb.co/2hxrRn7/Screenshot-20240128-135102-BBC-i-Player.jpg
Ankle breaker if Jair has anymore of his weight on that foot. Red card.
as a former ref, what year do you think that sort of tackle became a straight red may I ask?1990s
xbar81
28-01-2024, 12:57 PM
1990s
no way it was last century. I would say about 2008 at a guess, possibly even into the 2010s.
VoltaireHibs
28-01-2024, 12:58 PM
The contact I'd really like to see punished way more heavily is the jersey tugging, it drives me nuts! Winger trying to get away from a midfielder, midfielder knows he's getting done for pace so just has a sly tug on the jersey on the refs blindside to slow things down. Rarely ever a booking but it's the sort of thing that ruins the game for supporters and folk that enjoy watching attacking football. It's why I sort of admire McInnes, his embracing of the dark arts is understandable to a degree, but wouldn't want him at Hibs.
And I say this as someone who's favourite non Hibs player is probably Sergio Ramos. The Master of the Dark Arts. I still laugh at his 'tackle' on Salah in the champs league final. Superb.
28-01-2024, 01:03 PM
https://i.ibb.co/2hxrRn7/Screenshot-20240128-135102-BBC-i-Player.jpg
Wonder if he has been injured fair chance of ligament damage. No doubt a red as that picture suggests
Houston7
28-01-2024, 01:07 PM
as a former ref, what year do you think that sort of tackle became a straight red may I ask?
Sorry, but I don’t see the relevance of your question. Only the current rules apply now. However, if you consider my age, you might think it had to be a leg breaker, literally, in my day.
no way it was last century. I would say about 2008 at a guess, possibly even into the 2010s.It's basically a tackle from behind given his angle of approach.
You do your version of history though, and laws.
28-01-2024, 01:22 PM
no way it was last century. I would say about 2008 at a guess, possibly even into the 2010s.
I’d guess maybe that because they are the kind of challenges Hearts would still regularly put in as they clogged their way through the years since the outlawing of such that you’ve probably got a bit of a blind spot towards their legality.
28-01-2024, 02:48 PM
I’d guess maybe that because they are the kind of challenges Hearts would still regularly put in as they clogged their way through the years since the outlawing of such that you’ve probably got a bit of a blind spot towards their legality.
28-01-2024, 03:00 PM
I actually agree with our adopted pet jambo, that it shouldnt have been a red, either in the sense that the rules shouldnt be the way they are, but also even within the current rules, the kilmarnock player had clearly slowed down if you watch at normal speed (i read somewhere on here that he was ‘out of control and at pace’ which just isnt the case, hed slowed down and was attempting to ‘hook’the ball out). A freeze frame tells you very little, well, you can freeze any challenge at a particular point and make it tell the story you want it to. I dont think he was out of control. These are mitigating factors which have to be taken into account by any ref. I also think the original principle of var-to only overturn clear and obvious mistakes- has been forgotten.
Basically id be raging if that was given as a red against one of our players.
28-01-2024, 03:03 PM
I actually agree with our adopted pet jambo, that it shouldnt have been a red, either in the sense that the rules shouldnt be the way they are, but also even within the current rules, the kilmarnock player had clearly slowed down if you watch at normal speed (i read somewhere on here that he was ‘out of control and at pace’ which just isnt the case, hed slowed down and was attempting to ‘hook’the ball out). I dont think he was out of control. These are mitigating factors which have to be taken into account by any ref. I also think the original principle of var-to only overturn clear and obvious mistakes- has been forgotten.
When you look at the picture above of the contact not so sure
28-01-2024, 03:07 PM
When you look at the picture above of the contact not so sure
Apologies, i coincidentally did a wee edit :greengrin but i think you can only judge these things by watching it back at normal speed.
28-01-2024, 03:17 PM
I actually agree with our adopted pet jambo, that it shouldnt have been a red, either in the sense that the rules shouldnt be the way they are, but also even within the current rules, the kilmarnock player had clearly slowed down if you watch at normal speed (i read somewhere on here that he was ‘out of control and at pace’ which just isnt the case, hed slowed down and was attempting to ‘hook’the ball out). A freeze frame tells you very little, well, you can freeze any challenge at a particular point and make it tell the story you want it to. I dont think he was out of control. These are mitigating factors which have to be taken into account by any ref. I also think the original principle of var-to only overturn clear and obvious mistakes- has been forgotten.
He slowed down but not enough to avoid following through. If Jair had more weight on that foot it would likely have resulted in serious injury.
28-01-2024, 03:23 PM
He slowed down but not enough to avoid following through. If Jair had more weight on that foot it would likely have resulted in serious injury.
Is there actual wording that says being off the ground when making a tackle, or following through, is always a straight red? Some degree of contact with opponents foot after foot hits ball is almost inevitable. I think thats still down to refs interpretation of whats out of control.
28-01-2024, 03:49 PM
Is there actual wording that says being off the ground when making a tackle, or following through, is always a straight red? Some degree of contact with opponents foot after foot hits ball is almost inevitable. I think thats still down to refs interpretation of whats out of control.
IMO the tackle was reckless, that is deserving of a red card. It was just luck that Jair was not seriously injured and IMO it makes the tackle reckless.
Edit:
When Red Cards Are Warranted
1. Serious Foul Play: A red card is issued for actions that constitute serious foul play. This includes tackles that are reckless, involve excessive force, or endanger the safety of an opponent.
28-01-2024, 03:58 PM
IMO the tackle was reckless, that is deserving of a red card. It was just luck that Jair was not seriously injured and IMO it makes the tackle reckless.
Edit:
When Red Cards Are Warranted
1. Serious Foul Play: A red card is issued for actions that constitute serious foul play. This includes tackles that are reckless, involve excessive force, or endanger the safety of an opponent.
Yep, thats kind of what i thought. What is excessive, what is reckless, what endangers safety are all subjective opinion. There is also a massive problem with consistency of application which is driving fans mental.
28-01-2024, 04:01 PM
Yep, thats kind of what i thought. What is excessive, what is reckless, what endangers safety are all subjective opinion. There is also a massive problem with consistency of application which is driving fans mental.
Any challenge is subjective. Always was and always will be. The difference now is we have a second opinion asking officials to have another look. I do wish their final look was at full speed tho.
Rumble de Thump
28-01-2024, 04:35 PM
If he wasn't out of control then it was controlled and he deliberately lunged studs up into Jair's ankle. It seems more likely that it was just out of control due to lunging in with both feet off the ground.
28-01-2024, 04:35 PM
And glad NM didn't say that. No manager in his right mind is going to say anything like that. In fact. least said the better.
Fact remains, the players he inherited were (in the main) poor quality who got the previous manager sacked. Our midfield has been dross for years - can't win balls, can't create, can't defend. Our defence is soft, cannot defend crosses. NM needs to work with what he has. What concerns me is Hibs Board don't appear to be prepared to back him with money int eh Jan window to fix the obvious problems.
So the likely outcome is that NM will get sacked, and we'll move onto the next sucker who'll earn a few ££ doing the same dance with the Hibs Board and players. Rinse and repeat.
The previous manager got himself sacked because he is hopeless. The big issue is the people making the bad appointments like Lee Johnson in the first place.
He's here!
28-01-2024, 06:30 PM
Exactly, he's both feet off the ground, straight leg and studs up. Red all day long...
Yep, Porteous was sent off at least once for similar.
It's about knowing the rules. Whether you think the rule is harsh is irrelevant.
He's here!
28-01-2024, 06:36 PM
Or maybe just pop back over to Kickback.
xbar81
28-01-2024, 06:39 PM
Please don't call me a Jambo. I am not
cubehindthegoal
28-01-2024, 08:35 PM
Go back through the thread and you'll find like most games I post fairly balanced posts. You'll see I was happy and praised the players when we were doing well and obviously when we scored. With that though though ultimately I felt relieved that we managed a point and didn't lose. You'll never catch me celebrating a 2-2 all draw in the middle of the season against Kilmarnock.
Wth the money we've spent and the players we have we should be doing better. 6 wins in 22 in the league. 6 in 19 for Monty. A win percentage just above 30%. I'm happy to see the manager get the time he needs to an extent but I'm stuck between wondering if the new guys are papering over the cracks and the rest of the squad are worse than the Killie squad or the manager is struggling to get the best out of what we have with many of them looking worse than last season.
Fair enough, as is the fact I enjoyed seeing Hibs come back from 2-0 down (reminds me of another game against a jobby-coloured team, back in 2016 was it now) and am sure the opposite fans, and fans of that same team I mentioned there were gutted to hear of it. I also saw some more positive signs, and also noted that Monty recognises them too, even if some on this forum clearly don’t (or don’t want to).
cubehindthegoal
28-01-2024, 08:44 PM
https://i.ibb.co/2hxrRn7/Screenshot-20240128-135102-BBC-i-Player.jpg
Exactly. It’s only luck in that the position of Jairs ankle is sufficiently loose when the tackler follows right through on it (and anyone who has played football knows that when you follow through on someone’s leg, you know what you are doing) that this contact hasn’t broken bone.
xbar81
28-01-2024, 09:07 PM
Exactly. It’s only luck in that the position of Jairs ankle is sufficiently loose when the tackler follows right through on it (and anyone who has played football knows that when you follow through on someone’s leg, you know what you are doing) that this contact hasn’t broken bone.
How did we manage with slide tackles before the cotton wool rule stuff?
28-01-2024, 09:08 PM
We didn’t. Players got bad injuries.
cubehindthegoal
28-01-2024, 09:16 PM
It’s not cotton wool stuff to care about not wanting to break a players bones when you tackle them.
Anyway, you are determined to argue your case til the cows come home it seems (not sure why it’s so important to you to make a case so vehemently against a decision that went our way … you’ve said more about it here than the oppositions manager has in his lengthy, and one-sided, complaints to the press lol).
I’m out, more positive stuff to consider about Hibs 🙄
xbar81
28-01-2024, 09:21 PM
I've just found out from a Killie fan mate who told me what happened at the match. The home crowd cheered when they saw the ref going to and returning from the var as they assumed the ref was cancelling the yellow. Obviously short lived as a red followed but amusing nevertheless.
Obviously they are bias to some degree but interesting to note gut reactions, which is sometimes what refereeing decisions used to be based on.
Just shows your... even when refs get it right according to the laws, they are still getting it kinda wrong as per what mulgrew and McCann said.
xbar81
28-01-2024, 09:23 PM
It’s not cotton wool stuff to care about not wanting to break a players bones when you tackle them.
Anyway, you are determined to argue your case til the cows come home it seems (not sure why it’s so important to you to make a case so vehemently against a decision that went our way … you’ve said more about it here than the oppositions manager has in his lengthy, and one-sided, complaints to the press lol).
I’m out, more positive stuff to consider about Hibs 🙄
You're out...till something similar happens to us and we lose a player cause of it. Swings n roundabouts
killie-hibby
28-01-2024, 10:01 PM
I've just found out from a Killie fan mate who told me what happened at the match. The home crowd cheered when they saw the ref going to and returning from the var as they assumed the ref was cancelling the yellow. Obviously short lived as a red followed but amusing nevertheless.
Obviously they are bias to some degree but interesting to note gut reactions, which is sometimes what refereeing decisions used to be based on.
Just shows your... even when refs get it right according to the laws, they are still getting it kinda wrong as per what mulgrew and McCann said.
I was in the main stand.Umlike your Killie mate I did not hear the home crowd cheering.They were fairly quiet,anxious and apprehensive.Any cheering came from the Hibs end
Your Killie mate,if real was spouting a load of crap.
Just as the ref went to check the screen the stadium announcer said "checking possible red card, serious foul play" and VAR doesn't intervene with yellow cards to cancel them so it's strange so many Killie fans have such bad hearing and don't know that VAR rule.
29-01-2024, 06:06 AM
Var doesn’t get involved in cancelling yellows. No doubt to most folk watching the match that ref was checking for a red which no doubt would have been on the screen or announced over the tannoy.
29-01-2024, 06:07 AM
Just as the ref went to check the screen the stadium announcer said "checking possible red card, serious foul play" and VAR doesn't intervene with yellow cards to cancel them so it's strange so many Killie fans have such bad hearing and don't know that VAR rule.
Yorkshire HFC
29-01-2024, 06:30 AM
What do you want the defender to do - back off and watch the attacker carry on?
The defender has to make the tackle - and he won the ball.
Crunchie
29-01-2024, 06:46 AM
Bottom line is, you cannot make the tackle in that manner and make contact with the man or you run the risk of a red, there's no argument really.
29-01-2024, 06:47 AM
If he is not in a positon to take the ball cleanly then the defender doesnt have to make the tackle. He is in a position where he is too far away from the player and so has to jump and stretch. He is always risking that being a dangerous tackle and it being a red.
"Winning the ball" has also long been irrelevant if you also take the man.
He was a bit unlucky on this one but as Mulgrew says its been a red card under the laws for sometime now. Twats like Neil McCann spout drivel as they have never come to terms with the changes in decision making since their playing days. Poor punditry from McCann on sportscene.
Not every slide tackle results in a clatter to a players ankle.
29-01-2024, 08:38 AM
Not every slide tackle results in a clatter to a players ankle.
xbar81
29-01-2024, 09:25 AM
If he is not in a positon to take the ball cleanly then the defender doesnt have to make the tackle. He is in a position where he is too far away from the player and so has to jump and stretch. He is always risking that being a dangerous tackle and it being a red.
"Winning the ball" has also long been irrelevant if you also take the man.
He was a bit unlucky on this one but as Mulgrew says its been a red card under the laws for sometime now. Twats like Neil McCann spout drivel as they have never come to terms with the changes in decision making since their playing days. Poor punditry from McCann on sportscene.
McCann must be talking about his own playing days which means this new red card rule must be e fairly recent. It certainly wasn't a red when McCann was playing at his peak, say 2005.
Appears him ( and me) must be stuck in the dark ages, although would argue football was better that way.
Still, a lot of other people are still saying they don't think it should be a red card..but I acknowledge they are in the minority.
30-01-2024, 06:27 AM
Win the ball without hurting the opponent
30-01-2024, 06:39 AM
That pitch must cause more injuries than tackles do.
30-01-2024, 10:55 AM
Silly argument. You might as well say defenders have a right to foul.
xbar81
30-01-2024, 11:39 AM
this is gonna come back to bite us. We'll get someone sent off soon enough and it will be as soft as putty.
30-01-2024, 06:17 PM
He didn’t win the ball. He didn’t even stop the attack as the ball went loose. It would have been much easier for him to knock our man over to grab
his jersey which would have stopped the attack and he would only have been yellow carded.
30-01-2024, 06:23 PM
He didn’t win the ball. He didn’t even stop the attack as the ball went loose. It would have been much easier for him to knock our man over to grab
his jersey which would have stopped the attack and he would only have been yellow carded.
Spot on the ancient one.