View Full Version : Welcome to Hibs Monty

Pages : [1] 2 3

11-09-2023, 07:33 AM
All the best in our exciting adventure together.

11-09-2023, 07:35 AM
All the best Nick, really looking forward to seeing what he can bring.

Curried
11-09-2023, 07:36 AM
Welcome Nick great to have you onboard.

HendoDelivered
Welcome Monty, delighted to have you here!

Got a good feeling about this one

Donegal Hibby
11-09-2023, 07:39 AM
Welcome Monty
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/montgomery-named-as-hibs-head-coach

11-09-2023, 07:40 AM
Welcome Nick, really excited about this one!

11-09-2023, 07:41 AM
Fair dinkum !!

11-09-2023, 07:41 AM
First Press Conference Hibs YouTube 9am

11-09-2023, 07:42 AM
Delighted with this.

11-09-2023, 07:43 AM
Excited by this appointment, as others have said it has a bit of a Stubbs feel about it

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

Hibee_Craig7062
11-09-2023, 07:43 AM
Welcome To Hibs Nick.

11-09-2023, 07:44 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M3GigCqPr9w

Press Conference here at 9am

11-09-2023, 07:48 AM
Wow! Never saw that coming.

11-09-2023, 07:49 AM
Excited by this apt. Welcome to Hibs Nick.

11-09-2023, 07:49 AM
We’ve got Montgomery
He’s ****ing quality

Stewboy
11-09-2023, 07:52 AM
Good choice, someone different from the norm

11-09-2023, 07:52 AM
Welcome to Hibs Monty

Please play the players in their natural positions!!

h1bs4life
11-09-2023, 07:53 AM
Welcome Monty looking forward to seeing what you can do . 100 % behind you

11-09-2023, 07:54 AM
Welcome to Hibs.

Got a good feeling about this also.

Seems a well respected coach who gets the best from his players.

11-09-2023, 07:56 AM
What’s our thoughts on the bomber jacket he’s wearing?

Personally already think it’s an improvement on Lee. Hopefully we don’t see him in a flat cap or leather gloves at the side of the pitch anytime soon.

11-09-2023, 07:59 AM
Buzzing. They guy i wanted from the start :greengrin

Good luck to him

11-09-2023, 08:02 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M3GigCqPr9w

Press Conference here at 9am

Running late already pfffft

11-09-2023, 08:03 AM
I’m quite pleased with this appointment.

Makes a change to take someone who has been doing well where he’s been.

11-09-2023, 08:05 AM
At last, thank goodness and a big welcome :aok:

ElginHibbie
11-09-2023, 08:06 AM
"I don't like to use the word philosophy"

Oh, he's like the Anti-Johnson

11-09-2023, 08:07 AM
Happy with this appointment, liked what I've read and seen so far, all managers are a risk as we've seen with the experienced ones, so hopefully he can continue his upwards spiral in his career with us.

11-09-2023, 08:08 AM
Why do Hibs persist with letting the fat jumbo McLaughlin in interviews and press conferences.

11-09-2023, 08:08 AM
Welcome to Hibs Nick.

From what's being said I'm hoping this will mean far more minutes and starts for the young guys.

TimeForHeroes
11-09-2023, 08:09 AM
Nick already hates fat Jambo Brian. What a stare that was!

11-09-2023, 08:09 AM
****ing daft fat jambo Brian. Get him to ****.

11-09-2023, 08:10 AM
McLaughlin is an erse

CB Hibs 68
11-09-2023, 08:11 AM
Welcome Monty .I like the cut of his jib.

DIXIHIBS
11-09-2023, 08:11 AM
All the best. Good appointment imho. Young manager on the way up in his career rather than picking one of same faces on the manager merry-go-round. Hope it works as we need a manager in the job for a decent period of time. Lets give the support he needs on not jump on every setback/ defeat with over the top reactions.

Walter
11-09-2023, 08:12 AM
I am pleased to hear him described as a leader

h1bs4life
11-09-2023, 08:12 AM
Why do Hibs persist with letting the fat jumbo McLaughlin in interviews and press conferences.

Just about to post the same , some stare from Monty towards him he already hates the fat Jambo b

11-09-2023, 08:13 AM

Looked like Ian Gordon wanted to lamp him one

11-09-2023, 08:13 AM

What did he ask ? I have it on in the background but didn’t hear his specific question.

11-09-2023, 08:14 AM

Correct …. Right on the offensive telling Nick “you know nothing about Scottish football” as his opening gambit

Odious ****** Jambo barsteward

Welcome to Hibs Nick.

From what's being said I'm hoping this will mean far more minutes and starts for the young guys.

If they're good enough, they'll get games.

BigKev

For those of us unable to watch… what did the knob jockey say to irritate Montgomery?

Yep …. Card marked

Paulie Walnuts
Not too fussed either way with this appointment.

Good luck to him, hopefully he delivers some success here.

11-09-2023, 08:16 AM

Already got his card marked eh 😂
What a trumpet Brian is.

TimeForHeroes
11-09-2023, 08:16 AM
What did he ask ? I have it on in the background but didn’t hear his specific question.

He assumed and told Nick he had no experience of Scottish football

11-09-2023, 08:17 AM
For those of us unable to watch… what did the knob jockey say to irritate Montgomery?

Opening gambit “Nick you know nothing about Scottish football”

Tries to undermine us at every opportunity.

Thinks he is being subtle but he is a transparent arrogant little ******

Should ban him from ER

11-09-2023, 08:18 AM

Saying Nick knows nothing about Scottish football before stuttering and mumbling and trying to back track

Welcome to Hibs monty and hopefully a successful era under you.

Looking forward to the St Johnstone game even more now, let's get a decent result first Vs Kilmarnock which will hopefully get a few more along to his first home game.

Correct …. Right on the offensive telling Nick “you know nothing about Scottish football” as his opening gambit

Odious ****** Jambo barsteward

He knows enough to recognise a fat jambo ********* when he sees one! :greengrin

Really liked his press conference- no waffle.

Just simply wants to get togetherness and help improve everyone.

Such a difference to LJ - think he will be well respected by the players.

11-09-2023, 08:19 AM

Hibs need to do something about him. He is the most negative biased prick in the room. Already lining up “but he doesn’t have Scottish football experience unlike Derek, Lenny or Yogi, it’s a huge risk isn’t it biscuits and Leanne?”

adam middlemass
11-09-2023, 08:20 AM
Best of luck Monty, really excited with this appointment! :thumbsup:

Seafield Scott
11-09-2023, 08:20 AM
Welcome Monty.

Don't really know too much about him but he'll get my backing. Hopefully he'll have us back playing silky, attacking football and racing up the league table. I predict a comfortable 3rd place this season as the others will go through their usual periods of *****.

Excited by this so I hope to goodness sake that it comes off this time !!

11-09-2023, 08:21 AM
Delighted with this appointment. Obviously it’s what his team does that matters but so refreshing to have a manager who is straight to the point. Interesting that BK said this was a long term appointment.

11-09-2023, 08:21 AM
He assumed and told Nick he had no experience of Scottish football

What an excuse for a “journalist”

My response would have been, “Excuse me ? And how do you know what I know ? Now off you **** !”

11-09-2023, 08:22 AM
Welcome, Nick and Sergio! GGTTH!

11-09-2023, 08:23 AM
The press conference looked very amateurish. Ian Gordon was petrified and looked dodgy. Mclaughlin got himself tied in knots and ended up embarrassing himself. Monty is not as comfortable in front of the camera as some of our previous head coaches but he said all the right things about the club. Interestingly he was out for dinner David Gray last night and has been speaking to him over the last couple of days. Clearly wants to put a style of football on the club and comes across as determined.

11-09-2023, 08:23 AM
Saying Nick knows nothing about Scottish football before stuttering and mumbling and trying to back track

Just added that little bit more motivation to Nick!

11-09-2023, 08:24 AM
The press conference looked very amateurish. Ian Gordon was petrified and looked dodgy. Mclaughlin got himself tied in knots and ended up embarrassing himself. Monty is not as comfortable in front of the camera as some of our previous head coaches but he said all the right things about the club. Interestingly he was out for dinner David Gray last night and has been speaking to him over the last couple of days. Clearly wants to put a style of football on the club and comes across as determined.

If we wanted someone comfortable in front of the cameras we would have appointed Sir David Attenborough! More experience than almost anyone alive. :greengrin

11-09-2023, 08:25 AM
What an excuse for a “journalist”

My response would have been, “Excuse me ? And how do you know what I know ? Now off you **** !”

Or "I know far more about football than you do about journalism, mate!"

11-09-2023, 08:26 AM
He seems like the perfect appointment right now. Will be very disappointed if it doesn’t work out. Won’t blame the board though because this looks right.

scm70nyd1973
11-09-2023, 08:27 AM

IG’s retort should have been that he knows more about Scottish fitba than Fatboy Mc knows about trying to walk by a pie or 50 - odious muppet (not IG of course)

The stare he gave Brian McLaughlin reminded of Roy Kent in Ted Lasso

Donegal Hibby
Welcome, Nick and Sergio! GGTTH!

And Miguel :thumbsup:

GreenPJ
11-09-2023, 08:28 AM

:agree: - I think he is already seeing what the Scottish media is like but get the impression is that he will give stupid questions the response they deserve. You can tell he is not impressed by the various comments about not knowing Scottish football. He is also very keen to get on with it, he has emphasised a few times, starting today, on the grass.

11-09-2023, 08:30 AM

I wouldn’t have said he was uncomfortable, more that he was speaking honestly and he never had pre rehearsed answers or sayings.

Give me that over the waffle of Johnson any day.

11-09-2023, 08:30 AM

Ian Gordon strikes me as someone who needs fairly intensive training to be confident of succeeding in his new, more prominent role.

I actually think he has it in him to be pretty decent but he's going to need media training, assertiveness training, all sorts.

11-09-2023, 08:31 AM
I hope Sir David and Big Daz escorted the FJB to his car or taxi and told him to FO

Up-the-slope
11-09-2023, 08:32 AM

so obvious.... the No experience of scottish football question to start.. (should have just be honest and said ... 'why did you not appoint one of our mates')

11-09-2023, 08:33 AM
Nick

Get the 3 sauce bottles and the canon ordered…..👍

Garymcl
Right all fellow hibbys let’s get right behind this guy Killie first hopefully a big travelling support and then St Johnstone at home let’s sell the ground out and show him what a club he has taken over :flag::flag::flag:

I’ve slated IG in the past when he was involved in recruitment but to be fair to him, I think this would his first ever press conference. He seems a more quiet, introverted guy compared to his dad and there’s nothing wrong with that. Im sure he’ll get better with practice. I genuinely thought he was holding himself back from telling McLaughlin to GTF at that question.

hibby rae

McGruber
11-09-2023, 08:34 AM

I didn't have that take at all - just felt a regular press conference, nothing amateur about it. Montgomery came over very well, seems an honest straight shooting guy. Said the right things. Ian Gordon seemed a bit nervy but then he never signed up for this and if he isn't all that comfortable in front of a camera so what, it's not a character flaw. Kensall only one seemed a bit stand off ish, labouring the point it was Brian's appointment.

Anyway, enjoyed hearing from Monty and my gut is he is going to be a real success here. Good vibes

11-09-2023, 08:34 AM
I wouldn’t have said he was uncomfortable, more that he was speaking honestly and he never had pre rehearsed answers or sayings.

Give me that over the waffle of Johnson any day.

Yep I actually liked that about Montgomery. Straight to the point

11-09-2023, 08:36 AM
I'm guessing Stuart Gardner will be leaving with Monty bringing in his own goalkeeper coach alongside his assistant Sergio Raimundo

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

11-09-2023, 08:37 AM
Good stuff.

11-09-2023, 08:40 AM
Got a very good feeling about this one.

11-09-2023, 08:40 AM
I'm guessing Stuart Gardner will be leaving with Monty bringing in his own goalkeeper coach alongside his assistant Sergio Raimundo

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/montgomery-named-as-hibs-head-coach:

He will be joined by Portuguese duo Sergio Raimundo (Assistant Head Coach) and Miguel de Oliveira Miranda (Goalkeeping Coach), who both worked alongside him with the Australian side. David Gray will remain as First Team Coach.

CowgateHarp1875
11-09-2023, 08:41 AM
Thoroughly enjoyed his first press conference. A no nonsense, straight to the point, likeable man with a clear vision of how he wants us to progress.

Looking forward to see what this guy can do with this squad.

Welcome to the club Nick Montgomery.

Up-the-slope
11-09-2023, 08:42 AM
He doesnt look in that short interview as if hes the type to 'cuddle' the players or take any nonsense. If he can get a loose cannon like Cummings to toe the line and contribute he must have the ability to command respect :dunno:

Would have loved to be a fly on the wall at his Dinner with SDG....

11-09-2023, 08:42 AM

Not sure who the GC is at Fleetwood but LJ said he was looking to bring in some of his own staff.

11-09-2023, 08:45 AM
I can see why Ian hasn't talked on camera until now, he really seems to struggle with public speaking. Plenty time to sort that out though.

Hibees1973
11-09-2023, 08:45 AM
Refreshing.

What a relief Montgomery is compared to our previous two managers.

Know it was his first press conference but a straight talker and to the point.

Welcome to the club and gets my full support.

GGTTH.

11-09-2023, 08:47 AM

Wat was he saying?

11-09-2023, 08:49 AM
Few things to note too..

Ben saying it was Brian who led recruitment for manager.

Monty bringing own staff is so important - they know what he wants and how he works and he can trust them.

Fair play for all of them moving across the world to Hibs.

Said Monty was number 1 choice - be curious to know if Lennon or any others actually applied.

It’s refreshing to have a straight talking coach - players will respond to that rather than over complicated information and instructions.

He also said he likes watching and bringing through youth so hopefully that we will see as other coaches have failed to do so.

Paulie Walnuts
Are his coaches coming?

CCM have confirmed they’ve left the club but not that theyre coming to us.

CowgateHarp1875
He doesnt look in that short interview as if hes the type to 'cuddle' the players or take any nonsense. If he can get a loose cannon like Cummings to toe the line and contribute he must have the ability to command respect :dunno:

Would have loved to be a fly on the wall at his Dinner with SDG....

He did work under warnock for years I'd be surprised if that legend hasn't heavily influenced him in that department even though he his of course is own man.

HendoDelivered
Feeling positive after his presser. Lets go!

11-09-2023, 08:50 AM
Really excited by this appointment. Let's go Monty

11-09-2023, 08:51 AM
Are his coaches coming?

CCM have confirmed they’ve left the club but not that theyre coming to us.

Yes, our statement says his number 2, the great Raimundo and the goalkeeping coach are coming. SDG staying as 1st team coach also

Paulie Walnuts
11-09-2023, 08:52 AM
Yes, our statement says his number 2, the great Raimundo and the goalkeeping coach are coming. SDG staying as 1st team coach also

Cheers :aok:

11-09-2023, 08:53 AM
Who are our other seven first team managers going to be then? :hyper

11-09-2023, 08:53 AM
Wat was he saying?Creating the narrative for Sportsound about Hibs employing someone from outside Scottish football. They obviously want one of their pals in a job.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

11-09-2023, 08:54 AM
I am assuming the Nailbar is now the new greggs

Up-the-slope
He did work under warnock for years I'd be surprised if that legend hasn't heavily influenced him in that department even though he his of course is own man.

Didnt know that :aok: yes bound to have had an infuence

I can see why Ian hasn't talked on camera until now, he really seems to struggle with public speaking. Plenty time to sort that out though.

Thought he was fine. Not the easiest thing to do.

11-09-2023, 08:55 AM
Who are our other seven first team managers going to be then? :hyperWe are just a wee team, so can't afford such a world beating set up like what the biglier clubs have.

11-09-2023, 08:56 AM
Creating the narrative for Sportsound about Hibs employing someone from outside Scottish football. They obviously want one of their pals in a job.

Fair enough assume he never asked that of Stendel who in his first interview hadn't heard of Hearts but had heard of Hibs. Mclaughlan is an appalling journo.

11-09-2023, 08:58 AM
Why did the short lived SPL get so well known that plenty English folk think that's what it is still called?

Not the best presser in the world but it doesn't matter a jot.

I'm excited by Montgomery and have a buzz to see his Hibs team play and where he can take us.

Glory Glory!

11-09-2023, 09:00 AM
Cummings just posted on his Instagram

“Congratulations Monty and Serge, deserve this move. Hibees get behind them will bring back exciting football back to Easter Road I have no doubt in that 👏🤩”

11-09-2023, 09:00 AM
Is the full press conference available to watch?

11-09-2023, 09:01 AM

On YouTube link further up

Why did the short lived SPL get so well known that plenty English folk think that's what it is still called?

Not the best presser in the world but it doesn't matter a jot.

I'm excited by Montgomery and have a buzz to see his Hibs team play and where he can take us.

Glory Glory!

EPL/SPL

Easy comparison, easy mistake.

On YouTube link further up

That misses out the start for me, for some reason.

Dmas
11-09-2023, 09:03 AM
Ian Gordon strikes me as someone who needs fairly intensive training to be confident of succeeding in his new, more prominent role.

I actually think he has it in him to be pretty decent but he's going to need media training, assertiveness training, all sorts.

He’ll only be there because BMcD is recovering from a hip op I wouldn’t expect to see him too much in front of the media he’s hired two other guys for those roles

CowgateHarp1875
11-09-2023, 09:04 AM
Didnt know that :aok: yes bound to have had an infuence

👍☘️

11-09-2023, 09:06 AM
That misses out the start for me, for some reason.

https://youtu.be/SgiQ1DqBVP0?si=I5xbF8IHPrxpv6Ha

hibsfan7
11-09-2023, 09:07 AM
And 2 coaches from portugal i think it is the first time hibs have had coaches from a foreign country

11-09-2023, 09:08 AM
He’ll only be there because BMcD is recovering from a hip op I wouldn’t expect to see him too much in front of the media he’s hired two other guys for those roles

Personally I don't think it's something he should always delegate. Sometimes we need and want to hear from the man at the top.

"Media" doesn't have to be his favourite thing but it's all stuff that can be trained. He strikes me as a weaker kid whose dad did all his talking for him, but who is now having to find his feet and his voice.

As I said, I actually believe he can be decent, by all accounts he's a very decent guy. He's just ended up in a pretty prominent position in a cut throat world and he looks like he could do with a bit of help (the sort of help that is very readily available).

I really don't think his dad helped him at all with his backdoor introduction to the club, setting him off very much on the wrong foot with the support.

11-09-2023, 09:13 AM
And 2 coaches from portugal i think it is the first time hibs have had coaches from a foreign country

Might be a lifeline for Tavares :cb

Hibees1973
11-09-2023, 09:13 AM
Fair enough assume he never asked that of Stendel who in his first interview hadn't heard of Hearts but had heard of Hibs. Mclaughlan is an appalling journo.

I remember Graham Speirs wrote an article after Stendel was appointed. I think he called Stendel 'a bit of a jakey' due to his unkempt and dishevelled appearance :tee hee: at the press conference and that something did not seem right about about him being given the job. He was proven right.

IG was absolutely fine at the conference, no problem.

Hope we can progress with the new guys in charge.

TimeForHeroes
11-09-2023, 09:14 AM

I don't think he will really need to do much talking publicly. That's what he has his CEO and DoF for. I assume it was just a bit of family visibility as the first appointment after Ron's passing.

bordergreen
11-09-2023, 09:16 AM

I think these guys with David Gray will be a great management team for Hibs. Everything I have seen about Montgomorey says hard work and team spirit. Welcome to the Famous Edinburgh Hibees Monty. Very excited to see how we develop under these guys. GGTTH

11-09-2023, 09:17 AM
https://youtu.be/SgiQ1DqBVP0?si=I5xbF8IHPrxpv6Ha

Thanks Billy. I hadn't missed much. 😁

11-09-2023, 09:17 AM
Most excited I’ve been by a managerial appointment for a long time. The work he did at CCM - first with the academy then with the B team then the first team - has been remarkable. A guy clearly on the up and an opportunity we had to seize. He’s one I feel we will need to enjoy while we have him. Really looking forward to see what he does for us. Welcome Nick.

11-09-2023, 09:18 AM

Didn't Collins bring in a foreign coach?

Might be a lifeline for Tavares :cb

Sure it was mentioned last week that one of them, possibly Raimundo has coached him though the youth levels in Portugal.

GreenGray
Buzzing with this one, love the straight forward approach he seems to have.

Monty and the new assistant Sergio "rebuilt" the Mariners Academy which produced lots of first team players. Doubt they will be given as much control here but do we expect them to be heavily involved in the academy? I hope so as this was crucial to their success at CCM.

stuart-farquhar
11-09-2023, 09:20 AM

Me too. It was blaring in the pub I was in last night. Not really music is it!

Alfiembra
11-09-2023, 09:22 AM

https://youtu.be/SgiQ1DqBVP0?si=WZpqWxqwaYQd7gam

This shows the introduction and seems a better sound quality.

heid the baw
11-09-2023, 09:23 AM
Without knowing much about Montgomery it's hard to say what kind of job he will do. I read an article profiling Raimundo where he states he doesn't want to manage but wants to be an assistant at the very highest level. He says that this is the ambition that Montgomery has too, only he is far more focussed on management.
This is the first time Hibs have appointed a management team who clearly see the job as a stepping stone to.the premiership in a good while.
In many ways it would be refreshing if we end up with a coaching team that someone else bigger covets instead of having to offload them due to poor results.
Time will tell but for now, let's get behind them

11-09-2023, 09:24 AM
Straight talking and no managerial bullsxxxx, like the guy already.

11-09-2023, 09:24 AM

Maloney’s coach was foreign too. Name escapes me.

Willis1875
11-09-2023, 09:25 AM

Maloney brought Valerio Zuddas with him

Pete70
Welcome to the club Nick.

And 2 coaches from portugal i think it is the first time hibs have had coaches from a foreign

country

Alan Stubbs,Andy Holden and John Doolan to name but 3 !!!:greengrin

They wirnae too bad !

PS
Big Mixu

11-09-2023, 09:26 AM

👍

WeAreHibs
11-09-2023, 09:28 AM
Sure it was mentioned last week that one of them, possibly Raimundo has coached him though the youth levels in Portugal.

He'll be POTS 🤣

IngolstadtHarry
11-09-2023, 09:32 AM
Not surprised to see Hibs settling on Montgomery. Will we be challenging the Old Firm? I can't see it. I'd hoped that Lennon would be back but that would have required a brave decision by the board and some serious resources being handed over.
I would be delighted to be proved wrong but I think we'll be looking at mid-table finishes for the next couple of years, followed by another change as soon as a bad run of results occur.

11-09-2023, 09:35 AM
Not surprised to see Hibs settling on Montgomery. Will we be challenging the Old Firm? I can't see it. I'd hoped that Lennon would be back but that would have required a brave decision by the board and some serious resources being handed over.
I would be delighted to be proved wrong but I think we'll be looking at mid-table finishes for the next couple of years, followed by another change as soon as a bad run of results occur.

Bore off….

11-09-2023, 09:36 AM

HendoDelivered
11-09-2023, 09:39 AM

Yawn

ElginHibbie
11-09-2023, 09:43 AM

Let it go Neil

Amazinsauzee
11-09-2023, 09:46 AM

Get tae F Lennon 😁

Donegal Hibby
11-09-2023, 09:46 AM
Enjoyed his skysports interview . Here it is for anyone whose not seen it .
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/12958984/nick-montgomery-new-hibernian-head-coach-ready-to-give-fans-a-team-to-be-proud-of

11-09-2023, 09:47 AM
I feel good about this. In contrast to the slick PR fannies we’ve had in the past and who litter the game, he comes over as a no nonsense guy who is bored with all this media crap and wants to get stuck into the nitty gritty of developing and managing a squad of footballers.

11-09-2023, 09:49 AM
I didn't have that take at all - just felt a regular press conference, nothing amateur about it. Montgomery came over very well, seems an honest straight shooting guy. Said the right things. Ian Gordon seemed a bit nervy but then he never signed up for this and if he isn't all that comfortable in front of a camera so what, it's not a character flaw. Kensall only one seemed a bit stand off ish, labouring the point it was Brian's appointment.

Anyway, enjoyed hearing from Monty and my gut is he is going to be a real success here. Good vibes

BK mentioning BM's role in the appointment might have been directed at those being critical of those involved in previous appointments. I also noticed he made the point that Monty was our no. 1 target which was obviously a response the Graham Arnold comments.

11-09-2023, 09:49 AM

You say brave I say silly.

11-09-2023, 09:50 AM
It may be a gamble but I’m liking his straight talking and it’s saying all the right things. Good luck Nick. :thumbsup: Fingers crossed.

11-09-2023, 09:55 AM
Not too fussed either way with this appointment.

Good luck to him, hopefully he delivers some success here.
Damned by faint praise :confused:

11-09-2023, 09:56 AM

Don't worry, you'll be kissing his arse by the end of the season saying how wrong and pathetic you were for this post.

Donegal Hibby
11-09-2023, 09:59 AM
Forget about the Lennon's and Robinson's . We have a manager NOW let's all get behind him .

GGTTH :flag:

11-09-2023, 10:01 AM
Opening gambit “Nick you know nothing about Scottish football”

Tries to undermine us at every opportunity.

Thinks he is being subtle but he is a transparent arrogant little ******

Should ban him from ER

if ever you need proof that the bbc take every opportunity to have a dig at us this is it. Guaranteed he would have shared that question last night with all the bbc twats and had a right laugh about it being his first question.

Torto7
11-09-2023, 10:03 AM
Didn't Collins bring in a foreign coach?

I remember a part time French fitness coach, I can't remember his name though.

11-09-2023, 10:04 AM
:)

CallumHibs07
11-09-2023, 10:08 AM

Brian McLaughlin at it again with the negative questioning and saying Nick knows "nothing" about scottish football

the yam **** should be banned from easter road

h1bs4life
11-09-2023, 10:08 AM
Watched interview again on Youtube after watching it live , Montgomery's eyes when fat hertz b mentioned lack of knowledge of the Scottish game were telling when he was questioning Ian Gordon with the hope of trying to catch him out.
No problem with Ian Gordon he has difficult boots to fill , not sure how much input he had with recruitment team , the appointment at the time to me felt like it was getting someone in at the club 24 x 7 while Ron was out and about .
Ian Gordon is now the owner of the club , a director of football has been appointed , a new manager and a chief executive are all there so suspect there will be less live appearances from him especially when Brian McDermott recovers from his op was also telling that it was mentioned that Mc Dermott led the search for new manager

11-09-2023, 10:09 AM
Welcome to the Hibees Monty and best of luck - 100% behind you - here's to success!

The Captain....
11-09-2023, 10:16 AM
Brian McLaughlin at it again with the negative questioning and saying Nick knows "nothing" about scottish football

the yam **** should be banned from easter roadDon't think he'll be banned, much as he deserves it. Tbh it's not hard to outwit the fat mess anyway so I'm sure Monty already has McLoughlin's cards marked.

I'm quite optimistic about the appointment. We need to bring in someone who can get a tune out of the current squad and I think Montgomery will do that. I think he'll also bring the club, board, fans together in a way they havent been for quite a while.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

11-09-2023, 10:16 AM
Refreshing.

GGTTH.

I'm delighted he didn't use the word "super" at any point. Positive signs.

11-09-2023, 10:20 AM
Refreshing.

GGTTH.

Indeed, after a couple of Pound shop Descartes the last 2 times out, it's nice to have a manager that hopefully doesn't deal in gobbledegook platitudes and irritating and meaningless jargon/terminology to seem more intelligent than they actually are.

Can only benefit the players as well one would hope.

11-09-2023, 10:24 AM
Really excited to see how he does. I also thought the reference the working with and developing SDG was interesting. Perhaps a hint at succession planning already if this works out as we all hope and Monty gets to move on to chase his dream managing in the Premier League.

Clarence
11-09-2023, 10:26 AM
No nonsense proper Yorkshiremen. I hope the tea at ER is up to standard. If not then it soon will be.

11-09-2023, 10:30 AM
He'll be judged on how Hibs perform on the park and nothing else. Johnson talked a good game of football jargon and Maloney could barely talk. Both were binned pretty sharpish. Every single manager will tell the fans what they want to hear when they join. It means nothing in the grand scheme of things. If he goes and finishes 3rd or finishes 4th or 5th with obvious signs of improvement then it'll be refreshing. If he doesn't then he'll be under pressure like the rest of them. Fingers crossed he does well but it's very much a wait and see from me.

11-09-2023, 10:31 AM

Lennon wouldn't have had us challenging the old firm.

11-09-2023, 10:32 AM

the yam **** should be banned from easter road

It’s also an utterly nonsensical point. Was Ange or Gerrard grilled on that point? Did English journos berate Guardiola on arrival?

Ultimately I think the BBC crew get offended when a plumb job doesn’t go to one of their old boys network.

11-09-2023, 10:32 AM
Lennon wouldn't have had us challenging the old firm.

And he’d likely spend the resources on dross like Slivka, Nelom, big Dave, and Mavrias again.

tonyrougier123
11-09-2023, 10:33 AM
First off,gut feeling is this is this is the right man for hibs. I think we’ve done well moving for him when we have.

Secondly,I really hope Ian Gordon manages to relax a bit,I think it’s clear to see the difference in hibs since the Gordon’s came in and he clearly cares a lot about the club and feels the weight of the decisions being made. I speak for myself here but I’m delighted with Ian Gordon,threw himself into all aspects of the club and is learning on his feet. A quiet and unassuming guy I feel ,but I see we have a winner in there. If things start going well on the park with a bit of luck and Monty’s guidance. Folk will have very little to moan about. And he dealt with the BBC bandit well when called upon.

11-09-2023, 10:34 AM
I was really hoping that we would go for McInnnes as his record in Scotland is as good as a non-OF manager gets over a very long period, but I think Montgomery is the kind of appointment that it's easy to get excited about. As much as my initial preference was for a manager with Scottish experience, the one thing that NM doesn't have is any baggage attached to him from being in Scotland before. Hopefully this means that he'll be offered a bit more patience, and more allowances will be made, as he finds his feet (like Mowbray was, for example).

His relatively limited experience as a head coach doesn't bother me, as much as I was hoping for an experienced one this time. Johnson and Butcher were the two most experienced managers we have appointed, and one was a disappointment and the other was a disaster.

Montgomery speaks really well at that presser and seems like a pretty formidable character. There's plenty for him to work with and I'm excited to see where we go from here.

11-09-2023, 10:35 AM
No nonsense proper Yorkshiremen. I hope the tea at ER is up to standard. If not then it soon will be.

He won't like the soft water!

That was another "proper Yorkshireman's" downfall. Heckingbottom.

Mikey_1875
11-09-2023, 10:35 AM
Welcome and good luck Monty. Looking at the other teams in the league so far there is a chance to do well in the present and drive us even further with a couple of additions in January.

11-09-2023, 10:41 AM
And he’d likely spend the resources on dross like Slivka, Nelom, big Dave, and Mavrias again.

I thought Slivka was okay but you could add to the list:
Neil Eardley, Brian McLean, Rherras, Bigirimana, Spector and there are probably others.
Yes he made some good signings but a lot of poor ones in there too. Maybe that's why the poster said we'd need to give him serious resources.

11-09-2023, 10:45 AM

monty monty monty monty monty

11-09-2023, 10:46 AM
No mention of the wonderful facilities :confused:

We need to get a new infrastructure strategy pronto.

Hibees1973
11-09-2023, 10:48 AM
My initial thoughts after a couple of hours digesting this are good.

It is a different level in Scotland compared to Australia though. If he had the CCM winning the title with the lowest budget, then well done. However, Ross County with the lowest budget in Scotland are not going to win the league title here are they.

He is going to have to improve, somehow, the players we already have. This is not impossible though and hope, given time, he gets some of our young players progressed into the first team squad. This has stagnated somewhat in the last few years. A lot of very mediocre players have been bought and left, so our young players do not have a path to the first team.

The timing is not great, with the transfer window still 4 months away, but I'm hopeful Montgomery is the right guy.

11-09-2023, 10:52 AM
I'm delighted he didn't use the word "super" at any point. Positive signs.
That’s an excellent point.

11-09-2023, 11:00 AM
Like the cut of his jib. Straight talking and seems a decent guy. We need someone that can get the best out of what we have in the building plus utilising our younger players. If he can do that we will be doing well. Love his passion for the game. All the best Nick.

11-09-2023, 11:02 AM
Really excited to see how he does. I also thought the reference the working with and developing SDG was interesting. Perhaps a hint at succession planning already if this works out as we all hope and Monty gets to move on to chase his dream managing in the Premier League.

Excellent point and something that got my interest too. If he can really bring SDG on this could really be our succession planning approach finally bearing some fruit. It was often mentioned under LD and George Craig but we’ve never had a manager step up from within since that chat started. Maybe something BMcD is bringing more focus to.

11-09-2023, 11:03 AM
https://x.com/scotlandsky/status/1701157828344549513?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Another good interview

tonyrougier123
11-09-2023, 11:05 AM
https://x.com/scotlandsky/status/1701157828344549513?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Another good interview

Aye top class.👍🏻

11-09-2023, 11:17 AM
Welcome to the new team. I hope it works out well for everybody concerned. I’m getting good vibes.

As for the fat Jambo, success is the only thing that will shut his puss. His constant negativity towards us is boring and his reference to ‘the Scottish game’ is typical of the incestuous ramblings of our parochial media and pundits. It’s almost like an exclusive, Masonic entitlement. What the hell is ‘Scottish’ football? (rhetorical question). :hibees

Sheffhibee
11-09-2023, 11:26 AM
Got a good feeling about this appointment. At last a no nonsense, straight talking coach, just what we need at this time. Welcome to Hibernian FC Monty :flag::flag::flag:

CowgateHarp1875
11-09-2023, 11:28 AM
It’s also an utterly nonsensical point. Was Ange or Gerrard grilled on that point? Did English journos berate Guardiola on arrival?

Ultimately I think the BBC crew get offended when a plumb job doesn’t go to one of their old boys network.

Ange definitely was early on in his first season here mate.

11-09-2023, 11:42 AM
Welcome to Hibs, hope it goes well. Best of luck.

USA_Hibee
11-09-2023, 11:43 AM
Welcome Monty! Excited to see what you can get out of this team.

11-09-2023, 11:48 AM
He'll be judged on how Hibs perform on the park and nothing else. Johnson talked a good game of football jargon and Maloney could barely talk. Both were binned pretty sharpish. Every single manager will tell the fans what they want to hear when they join. It means nothing in the grand scheme of things. If he goes and finishes 3rd or finishes 4th or 5th with obvious signs of improvement then it'll be refreshing. If he doesn't then he'll be under pressure like the rest of them. Fingers crossed he does well but it's very much a wait and see from me.

Not watched his press conference yet but when I saw. Calderwood’s, Maloney’s and LJs, it was at that point I thought “nah, you’ve not got what it takes ”!!

Scared to watch this one!!

11-09-2023, 11:50 AM
Ange definitely was early on in his first season here mate.

Well, if AP was grilled initially, it didn’t take him too long to get to know ‘the Scottish game’ :rolleyes:. Maybe his ‘lack of knowledge’ and trying different approaches accounted for much of his success. :dunno:

11-09-2023, 11:51 AM
Not watched his press conference yet but when I saw. Calderwood’s, Maloney’s and LJs, it was at that point I thought “nah, you’ve not got what it takes ”!!

Thought he came across pretty well but i take it all with a pinch of salt at this stage.

Donegal Hibby
11-09-2023, 11:52 AM

Would there be any other manager it wasn't a case of wait and see though? :dunno:

11-09-2023, 11:53 AM
I wonder if he'll try and bring Jason Cummings back? It would be worth it just to see all the Jambos crapping themselves before the derby.

tonyrougier123
11-09-2023, 11:54 AM

If that’s your bench mark you’ll be pleasantly surprised. A certain bbc corespondent tries his level best to and succeeds at being an arse as per. But the sky sports one is a focused balanced interview and I’m more than happy today.

CowgateHarp1875
11-09-2023, 12:02 PM
Well, if AP was grilled initially, it didn’t take him too long to get to know ‘the Scottish game’ :rolleyes:. Maybe his ‘lack of knowledge’ and trying different approaches accounted for much of his success. :dunno:

The arrogance of the Scottish media grilling a guy who has over 20 years managerial experience on how much knowledge he has of our game was mind blowing. A man who had taken his country to world cups.

The same clowns were grilling our manager this morning. Our journalists wouldn't look out of place on a jurassic park set.

11-09-2023, 12:02 PM
Travelling on the way to Killie
On the Hibee trail, look there's a zombie
We had Lee Johnson, he made us nervous
Now Monty's here, he will save us

And we said, he comes from a land down under
Jambo pies, they make me chunder
Can't you hear can't you hear the thunder
You better run you better take cover.

Coat already got

11-09-2023, 12:05 PM

Coat already got

High five and a 10 lol

leith lynx
11-09-2023, 12:07 PM
Good luck to Monty, good to know that he plans to bring his family over and live locally, initial signs are encouraging.

11-09-2023, 12:08 PM
Very exciting appointment, the new Mowbray

Garymcl
11-09-2023, 12:10 PM
I never get too carried away (comes with age I think and supporting hibs all those years ) but difference with this guy and the past 2/3 managers he is very clear in his ideas and probably the two most important bits of criteria is emphasis on basics of hard work which repeated a couple of times (all we ask of our players) attacking football and emphasis on bringing the academy players through he’s got my initial but full backing Rugby Park here we come 🇳🇬

11-09-2023, 12:32 PM
The not so noisy neighbours forum has a thread dedicated to Monty
Most of course the usual tripe but i found one contribution from an Aussie Jambo and CCM fan ,interesting.
Here is his/her text from that jambo who calls himself The Black Prince,
It was initially a response to a thought that Monty may target Kye Rowles in the future.

"Monty turned Rowles into an excellent CB and it distresses me that he seems to have gone backwards,
although he played quite well the other night against Mexico

Monty was the manager of my club (CCM) and I'm deeply saddened to see him go
(especially now, on the brink of our new season and Asian Champions League),
but all players/coaches in the AL want to get to Europe and he's no different.
Does leave us in a hole though.

Monty's success in the past has been based on youth development and excellent talent identification through Serge Raimundo's international networks.
The fact that the window has just ended will limit his initial impact so it might be a bumpy ride at first,
but if Monty sees out his full three years he will certainly be a success.
In fact, I'd go so far as to suggest that he'll be a bit of a game changer in the SPL.
He's a massive admirer of Ange and seems to be cut from similar cloth.
Whoever called him Poundshop Postecoglou is right on the money.
I reckon it's a really strong appointment, and - as usual -
Australian appointments are very cheap for the relative quality"

So one Jambo rates him !!!

11-09-2023, 12:33 PM
He came across just how I would have hoped. This seems to me to be a guy who is all about the football, not looking or sounding like a media star on the telly, I'm willing to bet he's far more animated on the training pitch.

In the SKY interview he mentioned playing for the jersey, but it didn't come across as a cliche, this was him saying that it's a privilege to play for any club and that you have a responsibility when playing for it to give your best, I got the feeling he really believed what he was saying.

As for Ian Gordon, I thought he did fine, not everybody is good at or likes speaking in public, it was telling at Ron's funeral that it was his younger brother and not him who spoke.

Anyway, welcome to Hibs Nick, if it all ends with you heading off to a bigger job that'll be good enough for me :aok:

11-09-2023, 12:38 PM
Most of course the usual tripe but i found one contribution from an Aussie Jambo and CCM fan ,interesting.
Here is his/her text from that jambo forum

Monty turned Rowles into an excellent CB and it distresses me that he seems to have gone backwards, although played quite well the other night against Mexico

Monty was the manager of my club (CCM) and I'm deeply saddened to see him go (especially now, on the brink of our new season and Asian Champions League), but all players/coaches in the AL want to get to Europe and he's no different.

Monty's success in the past has been based on youth development and excellent talent identification through Serge Raimundo's international networks.
The fact that the window has just ended will limit his initial impact so it might be a bumpy ride at first, but if Monty sees out his full three years he will certainly be a success.
In fact, I'd go so far as to suggest that he'll be a bit of a game changer in the SPL.

I reckon it's a really strong appointment, and - as usual - Australian appointments are very cheap for the relative quality

Pound shop postecoglou is brilliant as it’s exactly what I wanted.

If that is the case I couldn’t be happier with this appointment.

HendoDelivered
11-09-2023, 12:45 PM
Funny feeling we might start seeing more of Jair Tavares

11-09-2023, 12:46 PM

I dont think the author of the post i copied was demeaning the appointment by using the term pound shop.
His last sentences tells what he meant.

But the guy who originally said Poundshop Ange in a negative sense was then faced with
...." we got our manager along the corridor!":greengrin

11-09-2023, 12:46 PM

Coat already got

That is a very fine effort, sir.

11-09-2023, 12:48 PM
It was initially a response to a thought that Monty may target Kye Rowles in the future.

"Monty turned Rowles into an excellent CB and it distresses me that he seems to have gone backwards,

The fact that the window has just ended will limit his initial impact so it might be a bumpy ride at first,

The Black Prince will get banned from Kickback for spouting positive Hibby propoganda. :greengrin

11-09-2023, 12:49 PM

To be fair, for the way threads on that board usually read (particularly about us) I get the feeling they begrudgingly feel it looks a decent appointment. And the attempted digs appear pretty desperate.

They’re almost more positive than a handful of persistent posters on here about our new man!

11-09-2023, 12:49 PM
Funny feeling we might start seeing more of Jair Tavares

If they can get him performing at the levels required to play then good. Much rather him playing well and us actually getting something out of the transfer.

11-09-2023, 12:50 PM

It is !
I had to "sing" it to myself a couple of times before i sussed the original :greengrin

11-09-2023, 12:54 PM

It is.

Swap ‘pies’ for ‘c***s’ and it’s about 10/10

CowgateHarp1875
11-09-2023, 12:55 PM

Hopefully he signs a poundshop kyogo and we go on to win a poundshop treble

11-09-2023, 12:56 PM

That's some leap. I hope you're right but we have absolutely no idea yet. He could be the new Maloney. What he does have is a good foundation. Like him or not LJ has left a decent squad. He just wasn't getting the best out of them.

11-09-2023, 12:56 PM
To be fair, for the way threads on that board usually read (particularly about us) I get the feeling they begrudgingly feel it looks a decent appointment. And the attempted digs appear pretty desperate.

They’re almost more positive than a handful of persistent posters on here about our new man!

Aye and some clearly from children !!

Cmon The Full Monty !! :greengrin

11-09-2023, 12:57 PM
Funny feeling we might start seeing more of Jair TavaresIf he works hard and can contribute to winning games, we will.

No point in not giving everyone a clean slate.

11-09-2023, 12:58 PM
Hopefully he signs a poundshop kyogo and we go on to win a poundshop trebleThen we can all celebrate by getting poundshop pished.

11-09-2023, 01:01 PM
Don't think he'll be anyone but his own man.

11-09-2023, 01:02 PM
If he does go with the 442 I wonder who he'll play with Newell in the middle. Think JDH is a player Monty will love, so could be him. Then what do we do when Levitt is back and match fit. Interesting one for sure.

Actually a wee bit excitement around the club again from most folk I know.

11-09-2023, 01:06 PM
Wish Monty well and really hope Hibs have got it right this time. It's a brave appointment compared to chasing one or two of the established managers in SPFL. But I'll stop short of getting too "excited" as we've a bunch of players who are either aging or sub-standard, the window has closed.

Every 10 years or so, we find a manager who proves good enough to move on to bigger things, hopefully Monty is our 10 year event.

Crazyhorse
11-09-2023, 01:09 PM
I wonder if he'll try and bring Jason Cummings back? It would be worth it just to see all the Jambos crapping themselves before the derby.

Would be interesting if he did!
I see Cumdog is playing in India now - he seems to be doing a career world tour 😅

11-09-2023, 01:11 PM
If he does go with the 442 I wonder who he'll play with Newell in the middle. Think JDH is a player Monty will love, so could be him. Then what do we do when Levitt is back and match fit. Interesting one for sure.

Can see Josh being a player that’s his type too.

11-09-2023, 01:12 PM

Suspect JDH will have to be fit a bit more often if Monty is to love him.

11-09-2023, 01:14 PM
Can see Josh being a player that’s his type too.

Aye for sure. Plenty competition for two spaces if he does play his favoured 442.

11-09-2023, 01:15 PM
Suspect JDH will have to be fit a bit more often if Monty is to love him.

Oh, you're not wrong there.

11-09-2023, 01:17 PM
Oh, you're not wrong there.

Yes it's a pity really that his runs in the team seem to be constantly interrupted.

Fuzzywuzzy
11-09-2023, 01:25 PM
" Nerja Jambo
Posted 4 hours ago
Imagine appointing someone after 2 weeks from the other side of the world with all the required qualifications, when they could have taken 6 weeks to appoint someone from along the corridor without the required qualifications. Will Hibs ever learn.

Edited 4 hours ago by Nerja Jambo"

Made me chuckle 🤭

Their thread is full of squabbling. It's like "ma dad's bigger than your dad"

11-09-2023, 01:33 PM
I'm excited :hyper:hyper:flag::flag:

11-09-2023, 01:42 PM

Popped over for a look and that's the vibe I got as well. They aren't wrong in painting us as a bit of a managerial poisoned chalice because since Stubbs that's pretty well what we have been. But there's definitely an undercurrent of worry on that thread that we might have gotten this one right. Especially after the CCM fan who posted was quick to point out that his style was anything but hoofball.

The fact that the transfer window is closed might not be a bad thing either. Nick will be forced to work with what he has and 4 months is long enough for him and his coaches to be able to assess in fine detail just where our deficiencies lie and what can and can't be fixed by using or improving the players he has inherited. He has extensive knowledge of the A league and just because a player there might not have been snapped up by a European club at this point doesn't mean to say he won't have players in mind still playing there who will fit in here just fine.

McHibby
The arrogance of the Scottish media grilling a guy who has over 20 years managerial experience on how much knowledge he has of our game was mind blowing. A man who had taken his country to world cups.

The same clowns were grilling our manager this morning. Our journalists wouldn't look out of place on a jurassic park set.

Not only that, he didn't even direct the initial question to Nick. Rude. He wasn't remotely interested in the answer, it was just a very clumsy attempt to embarass the new boss. Someone ought to quiz him about his experience and credentials, he's hardly a ringing endorsement of sports journalism in Scotland.

I liked Ian's answer though, that he might not be experienced in the Scottish game but he is very knowledgeable about it. A polite but firm STFU.

CowgateHarp1875
Then we can all celebrate by getting poundshop pished.

If carlsberg done poundshops this would be it

CowgateHarp1875
11-09-2023, 01:44 PM
Not only that, he didn't even direct the initial question to Nick. Rude. He wasn't remotely interested in the answer, it was just a very clumsy attempt to embarass the new boss. Someone ought to quiz him about his experience and credentials, he's hardly a ringing endorsement of sports journalism in Scotland.

I liked Ian's answer though, that he might not be experienced in the Scottish game but he is very knowledgeable about it. A polite but firm STFU.

Hopefully that's mclaughlins last press conference at the holy ground the man is a clown.

Thought Ian done well for his first presser mate 👍

Donegal Hibby
11-09-2023, 01:49 PM
" Nerja Jambo
Posted 4 hours ago
Imagine appointing someone after 2 weeks from the other side of the world with all the required qualifications, when they could have taken 6 weeks to appoint someone from along the corridor without the required qualifications. Will Hibs ever learn.

Edited 4 hours ago by Nerja Jambo"

Made me chuckle 🤭

Their thread is full of squabbling. It's like "ma dad's bigger than your dad"

The sarcastic one about " He's foreign so he must be good " is a belter too 😂.
https://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/201751-hibs-appoint-nick-montgomery-as-manager/

McHibby
11-09-2023, 01:50 PM
Secondly,I really hope Ian Gordon manages to relax a bit.

I thought the same, he looked like he was in a hostage video at the start 😅

McHibby
11-09-2023, 01:53 PM
Hopefully that's mclaughlins last press conference at the holy ground the man is a clown.

Thought Ian done well for his first presser mate 👍

Oh, I didn't realise that was his first one*. That'll probably explain why he looked so nervous! But I also thought he spoke well.

*edit - I maybe shouldn't have skipped some pages in this thread, or I would have known 🤦

11-09-2023, 02:07 PM
The Black Prince will get banned from Kickback for spouting positive Hibby propoganda. :greengrin

.Another gem from the Black Prince in response to a KB know all who thinks Monty prefers hoofball/

He does play mainly 442, but whoever told you he plays long ball football is sadly misinformed.

Mariners have played beautiful football the last two years, but Monty built that in the academy the two years prior.
He won't be able to do that at Hibs, so the pressure may well ratchet up on him before he gets any sort of chance to implement his usual structure and system.

If he gets time, he'll do well.
He's the quintessential football purist and an excellent man manager (according to those who know him well).
We're a small community on the Central Coast so just about everyone (who wants to) knows him.

As Bobby Ball use to say
That'll do for me,Tommy !!

Daily Hibs
11-09-2023, 02:13 PM
From Sky Sports....

"Long-term goal is to hopefully bring success back to the club because it's been a while..."New Hibernian head coach Nick Montgomery outlines his vision after agreeing a three-year deal with the club.

Yes it has been a while since the club has seen success Nick.

Hopefully he realises quickly that the squad needs an overhaul and he cant rely on the same players that have seen multiple managers sacked.

11-09-2023, 02:22 PM

For them it is probably a welcome distraction away from their current management debacle. Naismith has been in charge for 16 games and has a worse record than Neilson's in his run up to getting sacked.

Neilson 7 wins 2 draws 7 defeats.
Naismith 5 wins 4 draws 7 defeats.

Still at least they now know whose head to call for.

11-09-2023, 02:25 PM
I see Jair was in amongst it today

Also I think that was Miranda (gk coach) I seen on the sky clip

I assume that will mean Raimundo is over too

Donegal Hibby
11-09-2023, 02:27 PM
From Sky Sports....

"Long-term goal is to hopefully bring success back to the club because it's been a while..."New Hibernian head coach Nick Montgomery outlines his vision after agreeing a three-year deal with the club.

Hopefully he realises quickly that the squad needs an overhaul and he cant rely on the same players that have seen multiple managers sacked.

Not as long as others have seen success though 😉 .
We have added new players to the squad or did you forget !

11-09-2023, 02:36 PM
What’s our thoughts on the bomber jacket he’s wearing?

Personally already think it’s an improvement on Lee. Hopefully we don’t see him in a flat cap or leather gloves at the side of the pitch anytime soon.

Think it's probably an improvement on Lee but he still has a long way to go to top the clobber of Jack Ross. Lee tried hard, maybe too hard but just wasn't happening for him. That grey blazer was a bit disappointing and was probably one of the reasons we sacked him in the end. The bomber jacket shows that Montgomery has got potential. Exciting times.

11-09-2023, 02:37 PM
From Sky Sports....

Brilliant post Daily hibs. FFS Hanlon another manager you're going to get sacked.

Bridge hibs
11-09-2023, 02:42 PM
From Sky Sports....

Overhall my arse, good forward line, Newell could do with someone better alongside him, left back replaced but Fish, Hanlon and Miller are fine with Rocky and Harbottle to add too, couple of places need improved on but you keep churning out this overhaul garbage with every post

Oh and delighted Gray has been kept on the coaching team too

Bushwoof
11-09-2023, 02:45 PM
There's no doubt that Monty's appointment is a bit of a risk, but that's the only option if we want to entertain any hope of challenging the uglies. The likes of McInnes, or any tried and tested manager in our price range, was only ever going to get us to 3rd place. Is that what we want for the next 50 years?
If the plan is to keep taking a chance on finding the next Fergie, no matter how long the odds, then I'm happy with that approach. It could have been LJ, but it wasn't, and now we're trying someone else - someone with a better chance of success going by his achievements already.
I couldn't be more positive about Monty, and his interviews so far have reinforced that. Bring it on, and GGTTH!

11-09-2023, 02:51 PM

How did their other manager do?

11-09-2023, 02:52 PM
For them it is probably a welcome distraction away from their current management debacle. Naismith has been in charge for 16 games and has a worse record than Neilson's in his run up to getting sacked.

Aye for now it will be .
He may well get the full Robbie treatment very shortly.
In fact a KB poll suggests he aint far away from the exit door.
A next derby win for us may well do it for him !

Victor
11-09-2023, 02:54 PM
I thought the same, he looked like he was in a hostage video at the start [emoji28]

Brilliant!

CowgateHarp1875
11-09-2023, 02:58 PM
Oh, I didn't realise that was his first one*. That'll probably explain why he looked so nervous! But I also thought he spoke well.

*edit - I maybe shouldn't have skipped some pages in this thread, or I would have known 🤦

😂👍 he did look like he was being interrogated by a cartel at times.

DIXIHIBS
11-09-2023, 03:05 PM

The general view is partly that he might be not bad but it doesnt matter coz hibs are quote "a graveyard for managers". Quick check shows in last 10 years hibs have had 8 permanent managers...not great. Hertz have had...8. In the last 20 years hibs have had 15 managers....again not great. Hertz have had....24!!! Big graveyard up gorgie way.

hibeez1875
11-09-2023, 03:10 PM
Didn’t know anything about Nick Montgomery until a few days ago, but have been impressed and even excited by what I have read and seen since. Hope he can get much better from the existing squad than we have seen and that he is given the time needed to develop players and shape the squad. At some point, we must stick with a manager (through thick and thin) and give him the time needed to get us where we need to be. I think Montry could be that man - all the very best to him and his coaching staff.

11-09-2023, 03:16 PM
Enjoyed his skysports interview . Here it is for anyone whose not seen it .
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/12958984/nick-montgomery-new-hibernian-head-coach-ready-to-give-fans-a-team-to-be-proud-of

This is good stuff!

11-09-2023, 03:24 PM
Are we really looking on Jambos Kickback to see what they're saying about our new manager? Bizarre. Stockholm syndrome stuff.

11-09-2023, 03:35 PM
Good to see him already actively involved in training.

11-09-2023, 03:37 PM
Welcome to the new team. I hope it works out well for everybody concerned. I’m getting good vibes.

As for the fat Jambo, success is the only thing that will shut his puss. His constant negativity towards us is boring and his reference to ‘the Scottish game’ is typical of the incestuous ramblings of our parochial media and pundits. It’s almost like an exclusive, Masonic entitlement. What the hell is ‘Scottish’ football? (rhetorical question). :hibees

Exactly this. Those bloated inconsequential turds think they are presiding over something massively complex and valuable that nobody will understand unless they are born to manor. Never have so many unexceptional people spouted such exceptionallist pish about an unexceptional phenomenon.

11-09-2023, 03:39 PM
I see Jair was in amongst it today

Also I think that was Miranda (gk coach) I seen on the sky clip

I assume that will mean Raimundo is over too

Where are you seeing that? Can't see anything other than the interview with Montgomery and a clip from the press conference on the Sky site.

11-09-2023, 03:40 PM
There's no doubt that Monty's appointment is a bit of a risk, but that's the only option if we want to entertain any hope of challenging the uglies. The likes of McInnes, or any tried and tested manager in our price range, was only ever going to get us to 3rd place. Is that what we want for the next 50 years?
If the plan is to keep taking a chance on finding the next Fergie, no matter how long the odds, then I'm happy with that approach. It could have been LJ, but it wasn't, and now we're trying someone else - someone with a better chance of success going by his achievements already.
I couldn't be more positive about Monty, and his interviews so far have reinforced that. Bring it on, and GGTTH!

….. what a nightmare that would be. :greengrin

11-09-2023, 03:45 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/F5v1lrNXsAA1POk?format=jpg&name=large

What does the clipboard say?

11-09-2023, 03:45 PM
Why do Hibs persist with letting the fat jumbo McLaughlin in interviews and press conferences.100% this get him banned instantly- rude and derogatory questions.

Anyway enough about him - Welcome to the Hibees Monty - got a really good feeling about this one

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

11-09-2023, 03:46 PM
Where are you seeing that? Can't see anything other than the interview with Montgomery and a clip from the press conference on the Sky site.

It's coming up next on Sky Sports News.

What I like about Monty is that he comes with some experience, success under his belt, but absolutely no baggage. It’s quite refreshing.

And I said what about we've got Montgomery 🎶🎶🎶🎶

11-09-2023, 03:48 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/F5v1lrNXsAA1POk?format=jpg&name=large

What does the clipboard say?

Scottish football experience guide for dummies.

11-09-2023, 03:51 PM
I hope Sir David and Big Daz escorted the FJB to his car or taxi and told him to FOOh I do hope so...and a parting Leith smile from Big Daz before he left East Mains

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk