View Full Version : Welcome to Hibs Monty

Pages : 1 [2] 3

11-09-2023, 03:54 PM
Where are you seeing that? Can't see anything other than the interview with Montgomery and a clip from the press conference on the Sky site.

Video of him taking training today on Sky and Jair was in about it.

11-09-2023, 03:57 PM
Video of him taking training today on Sky and Jair was in about it.

If it gives Jair a new lease of life so much the better as he is on decent wedge by all accounts

11-09-2023, 03:59 PM
Are we really looking on Jambos Kickback to see what they're saying about our new manager? Bizarre. Stockholm syndrome stuff.

Stockholm syndrome - feelings of trust or affection felt in many cases of kidnapping or hostage-taking by a victim towards a captor.

Yeah sounds like Stockholm syndrome right enough.

11-09-2023, 04:01 PM
Stockholm syndrome - feelings of trust or affection felt in many cases of kidnapping or hostage-taking by a victim towards a captor.

Yeah sounds like Stockholm syndrome right enough.

To be fair, I understood the analogy.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/F5v1lrNXsAA1POk?format=jpg&name=large

What does the clipboard say?

W**k, w**k, w**k, good guy.

Bushwoof
….. what a nightmare that would be. :greengrin

Not exactly a dream scenario either though! :wink:

Solonleith1
11-09-2023, 04:04 PM
Welcome and best of luck. This is hopefully a turning point after probably a set of failed appointments. Trying to put a neutral head on, it is another bit of a risk. He's a new coach relatively speaking and I'm sure more experienced coaches in the Scottish game have been overlooked for his appointment, but his interview seemed good. Good noises all in all.

11-09-2023, 04:04 PM

Tom Rogic 07744 397013

11-09-2023, 04:12 PM
Welcome to the club and good luck.

Hopefully everyone will get behind him and we can start moving up the league.

11-09-2023, 04:14 PM
W**k, w**k, w**k, good guy.

hibeez1875
11-09-2023, 04:19 PM
This is good stuff!

Loving it!

11-09-2023, 04:21 PM

This is how we beat Hearts.

Silky
11-09-2023, 04:25 PM
Are we really looking on Jambos Kickback to see what they're saying about our new manager? Bizarre. Stockholm syndrome stuff.

It's obviously a comfort for some folk. If they are taking the piss, it triggers them and heightens their worries and concerns about Montgomery. I don't give two ****s what they think. It has no relevance whatsoever to how I view him or Hibs. There is an obsession with them and what they do/think/post. Who actually cares what KB think of our new boss? What does it matter?

Caversham Green
11-09-2023, 04:32 PM

****** the hearts.

Donegal Hibby
11-09-2023, 04:36 PM
Sergio and Miguel.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/meet-sergio-raimundo-miguel-miranda

Mikey_1875
11-09-2023, 04:38 PM

If I put Newell, JDH and Campbell in midfield we could really be onto something here.

leith lynx
11-09-2023, 04:39 PM

Contract to take out Brian Mclauchlin.

Garymcl
11-09-2023, 04:46 PM
It says who is this guy Naebadges the great and good of Leith speak of

11-09-2023, 04:53 PM
The BBC HYS has a few good comments and of course a few from our friend's over the road, Sheffield United fans seem to speak highly of him.

11-09-2023, 04:57 PM

It says i need quite a few bit of paper and i want to keep them as tidy as possible.

11-09-2023, 05:00 PM

What does the clipboard say? Its a letter to Qantas to get the finger out finding the baggage containing the iPad.

Silky
11-09-2023, 05:00 PM

It's got a username and password for here, plus a list of threads for him to read so he can pick a team based on what we think of certain players etc.

1875M
11-09-2023, 05:06 PM
All the best, Nick. Seems like a decent guy who’ll put an arm around you when needed but also a talking to if you’re not performing. Seems highly rated in the Australian circuit. Just from his interviews you can tell he has a good presence that I think the squad will react well to. Got a different feeling from the last few managerial appointments.

DIXIHIBS
11-09-2023, 05:12 PM
It's obviously a comfort for some folk. If they are taking the piss, it triggers them and heightens their worries and concerns about Montgomery. I don't give two ****s what they think. It has no relevance whatsoever to how I view him or Hibs. There is an obsession with them and what they do/think/post. Who actually cares what KB think of our new boss? What does it matter?

Lighten up. Nobody gets triggered or is obsessed by what KB says. Just a bit of fun.

Bridge hibs
11-09-2023, 05:18 PM

What does the clipboard say?Its Lewis Stevensons to do list

11-09-2023, 05:24 PM
It's got a username and password for here, plus a list of threads for him to read so he can pick a team based on what we think of certain players etc.

Can he not just re-use Lee Johnson’s account? Think he went by the name of Donegal Hibs.

(Only a light hearted joke Donegal)

Donegal Hibby
11-09-2023, 05:31 PM

It's his Hibs list to DO'S incase he's sacked for failing to beat Killie Saturday 🤔

11-09-2023, 05:32 PM
Liked his quotes about work ethics.

Keep it simple and give a 100%

11-09-2023, 05:42 PM
Liked his quotes about work ethics.

Keep it simple and give a 100%

I'm hoping he can drill something into Youan to keep it a bit more simple at times, lot of potential and Monty could make him a better player.

CowgateHarp1875
11-09-2023, 05:49 PM
I'm hoping he can drill something into Youan to keep it a bit more simple at times, lot of potential and Monty could make him a better player.

Absolutely. Him and Boyle could be so effective down the wings if they just beat their man and got the ball in first time instead of trying to be a pair of Maradonas. Youan showed in Switzerland he can do it.

Donegal Hibby
11-09-2023, 05:52 PM
A few pictures here .
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/gallery-nick-montgomerys-first-day-in-charge

He's here!
11-09-2023, 05:55 PM
There's no doubt that Monty's appointment is a bit of a risk, but that's the only option if we want to entertain any hope of challenging the uglies. The likes of McInnes, or any tried and tested manager in our price range, was only ever going to get us to 3rd place. Is that what we want for the next 50 years?
If the plan is to keep taking a chance on finding the next Fergie, no matter how long the odds, then I'm happy with that approach. It could have been LJ, but it wasn't, and now we're trying someone else - someone with a better chance of success going by his achievements already.
I couldn't be more positive about Monty, and his interviews so far have reinforced that. Bring it on, and GGTTH!

3rd place for the next 50 years under McInnes? Why didn't we push harder to get him?!

Donegal Hibby
11-09-2023, 06:01 PM
Wonder is there a chance he could move for Tom Rogic? , had read that when he was at West Brom he had fitness issues there though a fit Rogic in our Midfield would certainly improve it imo .

HibeeSince85
11-09-2023, 06:08 PM
Welcome to Hibs Monty! I'm excited to see what type of side he will build. GGTTH!

RIP Bestie
11-09-2023, 06:19 PM
Wonder is there a chance he could move for Tom Rogic? , had read that when he was at West Brom he had fitness issues there though a fit Rogic in our Midfield would certainly improve it imo .

Lets be honest. An unfit Tom Rogic would improve it

11-09-2023, 06:24 PM

Definitely, good point

11-09-2023, 06:25 PM
Absolutely buzzing for St Johnstone home game

11-09-2023, 06:34 PM

Don't think he even wants to play football these days. Could be wrong, but his last game was a one minute appearance off the bench back in April.

11-09-2023, 06:40 PM
Welcome to Hibs Monty! I'm excited to see what type of side he will build. GGTTH!
Build is the crucial term here - he needs time to do that but it's almost tempting to start a thread guessing how quickly someone on here tells us he's rubbish.

11-09-2023, 06:50 PM
A few pictures here .
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/gallery-nick-montgomerys-first-day-in-charge

wow! See how many staff we have in pic 14!

11-09-2023, 06:55 PM

Doubt it. Lazy *******. Brilliant footballer but wouldn't be a free agent at this stage if he could be arsed.

11-09-2023, 06:57 PM

Agree. One forum full of Hearts fans with nothing nice to say about Hibs is enough for me.

StirlingHibee
11-09-2023, 06:58 PM
Happy with this appointment - something different. Good luck mate!

11-09-2023, 06:58 PM
NM strikes me as a take no crap kind of guy and his assistant used to be Naval Special Forces - lol ah widnae be f****** with that pair..... :greengrin

HibeeSince85
11-09-2023, 07:18 PM
NM strikes me as a take no crap kind of guy and his assistant used to be Naval Special Forces - lol ah widnae be f****** with that pair..... :greengrin

LJ wanted to embrace the SAS mentality, we've went full throttle and employed a commando 😂

11-09-2023, 07:20 PM
Really pleased with this appointment.

Nick Montgomerie appears to have a good manner about him, has no airs and graces and has a sort of presence about him that looks like he will command respect from the players.

Hopefully he can be a manager the players can enjoy playing for.

Coming in at this time he has a wait till the next window so will be interesting to see how he utilises this squad and what differences we might see in personnel, shape and tactics. If he can have trust and belief in our younger players to evolve into more regular first team members then that is always a welcome sight for supporters.

Looking forward to the Monty era, and have a good feeling about this.

Donegal Hibby
11-09-2023, 07:20 PM

Naismith will need to keep his trap shut alright :greengrin

seanshow
11-09-2023, 08:18 PM
No suits and ties, And one stumbling sentence as an introduction from the CEO at the press conference is all he could come up with!
not an impressive start.

:fishin:

11-09-2023, 08:27 PM
https://x.com/hibernianfc/status/1701325886522589437?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Posted on another thread but good video of his first day.

Glad to see Levitt, JDH and Jair back.

11-09-2023, 08:35 PM
https://x.com/hibernianfc/status/1701325886522589437?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Glad to see Levitt, JDH and Jair back.That is a positive as really improves our options in midfield

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

11-09-2023, 09:10 PM
Sergio and Miguel.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/meet-sergio-raimundo-miguel-miranda

"Born in Lisbon, Portugal, the 39-year-old has been coaching since his early twenties. After spending three years as part of the Navy and Special Forces..."

Probably knows the Red Arrows and a few snipers.

11-09-2023, 09:25 PM
Agree. One forum full of Hearts fans with nothing nice to say about Hibs is enough for me.

11-09-2023, 09:31 PM

Nick Montgomerie appears to have a good manner about him, has no airs and graces and has a sort of presence about him that looks like he will command respect from the players.

Coming in at this time he has a wait till the next window so will be interesting to see how he utilises this squad and what differences we might see in personnel, shape and tactics. If he can have trust and belief in our younger players to evolve into more regular first team members then that is always a welcome sight for supporters.

Like Neil from Swindon Branch. 🤔

https://i.ibb.co/5W7snRz/8a8e5c051c335252ebdc8b698c96be88914c9965.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)

11-09-2023, 09:38 PM

You sound a little ‘triggered’

I don’t really care what a lot of people think on here or find their comments relevant to how I view hibs.. but sometimes the worst posters are the most amusing.

If someone takes an interest in other teams’ forums, is it really any worse than reading ***** on here about our manager being slaughtered for losing his first game that he’s not played in a job he hadn’t yet been appointed for?

I’ve seen myself reading some of the absolute bams on rangers media in the past too. They are everything from amusing to baffling, it’s absolutely nothing to do with comfort or having an effect on my own thoughts.

11-09-2023, 09:38 PM
Like Neil from Swindon Branch. 🤔

https://i.ibb.co/5W7snRz/8a8e5c051c335252ebdc8b698c96be88914c9965.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)

Ooooooh love me. Pathetic.

11-09-2023, 09:52 PM

Nick MONTGOMERIE appears to have a good manner about him, has no airs and graces and has a sort of presence about him that looks like he will command respect from the players.

In good old .net tradition it was only a matter of time. 😂😂

11-09-2023, 09:53 PM
Ooooooh love me. Pathetic.

😀

11-09-2023, 10:38 PM
We've got field Marshal
So Glad your mine

I'll get ma coat

12-09-2023, 02:15 AM
In good old .net tradition it was only a matter of time. 😂😂

Scott Allen, Pat McGinley, Kevin Nesbit and a few dozen others... 🙄

McGruber
12-09-2023, 05:49 AM

Glad to see Levitt, JDH and Jair back.

Have you identified players by their ear shape or shape of head from aerial shot? 😄
I'll believe you that they are there so that's good

Skol
12-09-2023, 06:08 AM
I am feeling really positive about this appointment for the first time in a while. What I have read suggests he has something about him and I think it’s a good move by hibs to move away from the usual market which has not exactly been a good one for us.

12-09-2023, 06:52 AM
From Sky Sports....

"Long-term goal is to hopefully bring success back to the club because it's been a while..."New Hibernian head coach Nick Montgomery outlines his vision after agreeing a three-year deal with the club.

Yes it has been a while since the club has seen success Nick.

Hopefully he realises quickly that the squad needs an overhaul and he cant rely on the same players that have seen multiple managers sacked.

You just can't help yourself can you, instead of trying to be positive and get behind the new manager, there it comes another wee dig, this time at the players. Those very same players that Gray managed to get a song out of as soon as Johnson left, maybe just maybe the problem wasn't the players but the manager/coach who just wasn't good enough to get the best out of them.

12-09-2023, 07:19 AM
Have you identified players by their ear shape or shape of head from aerial shot? 😄
I'll believe you that they are there so that's good

Aye I could not spot any of Levit or Jair.

12-09-2023, 07:59 AM
Montgomery will do well, and groom Gray to be his successor. Gray will do do well. Hibs will never be out the top four in a decade, bar one transitional season where will finish sixth with a team of youngsters.

12-09-2023, 08:09 AM
Aye I could not spot any of Levit or Jair.

You can see Levitt passing the ball out to Miller in one of the drills

12-09-2023, 08:10 AM
Montgomery will do well, and groom Gray to be his successor. Gray will do do well. Hibs will never be out the top four in a decade, bar one transitional season where will finish sixth with a team of youngsters.

You forgot to mention the three league cup wins and the fact that at the end of that transitional year the youngsters will banish the gloom of a 6th place finish with a dazzling Scottish Cup win. :greengrin

12-09-2023, 08:11 AM

I'm presuming you had a large port with your porridge this morning DBS?

12-09-2023, 08:14 AM
You can see Levitt passing the ball out to Miller in one of the drills

You can and Miller is practicing pulling his shorts leg up! :hilarious

What's that actually about?

12-09-2023, 08:15 AM

Not happening. Our youngsters will be well capable of finishing 3rd.

12-09-2023, 08:21 AM

Him and Boyle do it all the time. Very odd. Happens a lot in Women's football. If its restricting them just get shorter shorts like the good old days.

12-09-2023, 08:32 AM

They desperately want the return of short shorts, possibly so they can display their manly thighs? Porto liked doing this too.

Victor
12-09-2023, 08:38 AM
Him and Boyle do it all the time. Very odd. Happens a lot in Women's football. If its restricting them just get shorter shorts like the good old days.

Might be an Aussie thing. They also used to cut the sleeves off their T-Shirts i.e. the ‘Crocodile Dundee look’.

12-09-2023, 08:44 AM
They desperately want the return of short shorts, possibly so they can display their manly thighs? Porto liked doing this too.

I did think it was a vanity thing, but maybe not if he's doing it in training. :dunno:

hibsfan7
12-09-2023, 08:48 AM
montys marauders

12-09-2023, 08:54 AM

Joking apart, it could well present David Gray with a realistic route towards Hibs management. With Montgomery choosing to keep Gray in his position as coach, another couple of years, and hopefully another couple of years working with a very competent manager, the time could be right for David Gray to step up. Ideally in the event of Montgomery moving on to bigger things rather than the result of a sacking.

12-09-2023, 09:03 AM
I'm maybe reading too much into it but i'm a bit concerned that there seems to be a big emphasis on youth. A big part of why he was brought here was apparently for bringing through youth players. Ben, Brian and Nick have all said it. Surely the youth players will only break in to the team if they're good enough to do so? I don't want us shoehorning young players in to the team just for the sake of it. They need to be better than the players they'd be replacing or we'll struggle. We've already had a wave of youth players breaking through under LJ in Megwa, McCallister, O'Connor, Delf etc. Hopefully they mean long term as not sure if he can do any more than Johnson in that regard.

CentreForward
12-09-2023, 09:04 AM
"Born in Lisbon, Portugal, the 39-year-old has been coaching since his early twenties. After spending three years as part of the Navy and Special Forces..."

Probably knows the Red Arrows and a few snipers.

Don’t go there 😂😂

12-09-2023, 09:05 AM
I don't want us shoehorning young players in to the team just for the sake of it. .

You're making things up to be "concerned" about.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

CentreForward
12-09-2023, 09:11 AM
I'm maybe reading too much into it but i'm a bit concerned that there seems to be a big emphasis on youth. A big part of why he was brought here was apparently for bringing through youth players. Ben, Brian and Nick have all said it. Surely the youth players will only break in to the team if they're good enough to do so? I don't want us shoehorning young players in to the team just for the sake of it. They need to be better than the players they'd be replacing or we'll struggle. We've already had a wave of youth players breaking through under LJ in Megwa, McCallister, O'Connor, Delf etc. Hopefully they mean long term as not sure if he can do any more than Johnson in that regard.

Agreed. What concerns me even more perhaps is that he starts to bring in a load of Australian players. Very few have come here and impressed. Obviously Rogic is the standout. MacLaren did well for us but was hardly a star and Miller may turn out fine. You can’t count Boyle. By all accounts all the Aussies at the PBS are pretty ordinary and have failed to really impress and they are meant to be amongst the better players in Australia.

12-09-2023, 09:12 AM
I did think it was a vanity thing, but maybe not if he's doing it in training. :dunno:

Nervous tic, a display of manly thigh girth. I'll not let my mighty loin be constrained by these nylon prisons.

Combined with the over the knee sock look, a pure statement of intent.

12-09-2023, 09:14 AM

When you say you’re concerned, do you not think that maybe NM and the board will have thought about that as well?

There’s more to playing young players than just chucking them in for a game and then dropping them for 6 months, it’s about how to get the most out of these players while establishing if they’re good enough or not.

If senior players are better and are offering more than young players, the senior players will play so I wouldn’t get too concerned about it.

12-09-2023, 09:15 AM

You surely must be the only poster ‘concerned’ that the new manager commented on not only wanting to make us a success, but also put work into progressing youth players.

Does it also worry you that he’s keen to help David Gray’s development when he should be concentrating on telling Vente to score goals?

This is all getting a little strange now.

Keepthefaith
12-09-2023, 09:15 AM

You really think all those players you mentioned have broken through?? Their opportunities have been very limited...what Monty has alluded to is supporting their development to the point that they can rightfully overtake the senior players in their position. Instilling belief, giving real opportunity, supporting development. I'd argue that Johnson spoke well about doing it, without really doing it. He only brought the young lads through when injuries dictated it.

To suggest Monty is actively seeking to shoehorn kids in when he's said the squad is strong is just stirring IMO

12-09-2023, 09:16 AM
Agreed. What concerns me even more perhaps is that he starts to bring in a load of Australian players. Very few have come here and impressed. Obviously Rogic is the standout. MacLaren did well for us but was hardly a star and Miller may turn out fine. You can’t count Boyle. By all accounts all the Aussies at the PBS are pretty ordinary and have failed to really impress and they are meant to be amongst the better players in Australia.

Devlin has been a good signing for them. Atkinson gets into the Australia squad ahead of Miller.

We saw at the World Cup Rowles could be a good player, I don’t know what the Hearts management team are doing to him but they’re certainly not getting the best out of him.

Baccus at St Mirren been very good for them.

12-09-2023, 09:17 AM

Yet they perform well for Australia, maybe it’s the coaching/tactics at the PBS that is having a negative impact?

12-09-2023, 09:21 AM

The claim is full length shorts are restricting their “good” leg. If that’s really the case you’d think they’d change the short length. My daughter plays in the States and all the shorts are much shorter than over here.

12-09-2023, 09:23 AM
You surely must be the only poster ‘concerned’ that the new manager commented on not only wanting to make us a success, but also put work into progressing youth players.

Does it also worry you that he’s keen to help David Gray’s development when he should be concentrating on telling Vente to score goals?

LJ simply didn’t play them despite saying he would be doing that last season. They should only play if they are ready but there are a bunch now that are 100% physically ready.

12-09-2023, 09:26 AM

What are you talking about? If you're going to reply with pointless drivel then don't reply.

12-09-2023, 09:29 AM
When you say you’re concerned, do you not think that maybe NM and the board will have thought about that as well?

There’s more to playing young players than just chucking them in for a game and then dropping them for 6 months, it’s about how to get the most out of these players while establishing if they’re good enough or not.

If senior players are better and are offering more than young players, the senior players will play so I wouldn’t get too concerned about it.

Thats true

12-09-2023, 09:33 AM

Dunno but last time at Ibrox a couple of the Rangers players tried to give him a special handshake.

12-09-2023, 09:37 AM
You know as well as I do managers talk pish, even this one. Start worrying when he's picking the side and we are seeing what kind of teams he's selecting.

12-09-2023, 09:48 AM
What are you talking about? If you're going to reply with pointless drivel then don't reply.

Extremely rich. And I’ll reply as I see fit.

12-09-2023, 09:53 AM
You know as well as I do managers talk pish, even this one. Start worrying when he's picking the side and we are seeing what kind of teams he's selecting.

:agree: Yeah i'm going against my own advice and reading too much into to what managers have to say. He'll be judged on results on the park.

12-09-2023, 09:59 AM
Yet they perform well for Australia, maybe it’s the coaching/tactics at the PBS that is having a negative impact?

I can only think that IS the main factor!

Atkinson was close to MOM last weekend for the Socceroos against Mexico in Dallas in a 2-2 draw.

Rowles played ok too.

Rowles was seen as the bees knees when he first came, and hearts signed him to a new improved 5 year deal

The Socceroos squad had 5 SPFL players in it btw not counting Boyler.

12-09-2023, 10:07 AM
LJ simply didn’t play them despite saying he would be doing that last season. They should only play if they are ready but there are a bunch now that are 100% physically ready.

Who would you say are ready?

I've seen the U 18's twice last year, none of them struck me as being up to the physical challenge of first team football or having the skills that would overcome the clear physical deficit, yet (Laidlaw, had the skill but even then , he was goosed after 60 mins v Dortmund).

Donegal Hibby
12-09-2023, 10:09 AM

Think LJ didn't play them last year as he was under pressure . If they are good enough they will get there chance though I can't see us dropping any senior players and starting with any of them tbh . I'm not so sure as bunch they are 100%, physically ready tbh . I've seen one or two last year and be it the look good and have a lot of potential they to me looked abit light and need to bulk up abit , still only young lads yet though they will get stronger in time .

12-09-2023, 10:11 AM
Think LJ didn't play them last year as he was under pressure . If they are good enough they will get there chance though I can't see us dropping any senior players and starting with any of them tbh . I'm not so sure as bunch they are 100%, physically ready tbh . I've seen one or two last year and be it the look good and have a lot of potential they to me looked abit light and need to bulk up abit , still only young lads yet though they will get stronger in time .

The boys out on loan will certainly benefit from it.

12-09-2023, 10:32 AM

I enjoyed his interview until he mentioned the damn academy!!

It’s pretty much failed to produce any talent of note and we’ve bought a lot of players for the development team that also seem a bit of a waste.

All for giving home grown players a chance if they’re good enough.

12-09-2023, 10:38 AM
Nervous tic, a display of manly thigh girth. I'll not let my mighty loin be constrained by these nylon prisons.

Combined with the over the knee sock look, a pure statement of intent.

Does ma soddin' heid in that one. Only gonna be a matter of time before Adidas or Nike bring out 'soccer specific' suspender belts so numpties that dae it can ensure their fitba stockings don't fall down.

12-09-2023, 10:42 AM

It’s pretty much failed to produce any talent of note and we’ve bought a lot of players for the development team that also seem a bit of a waste.

Yeah i'm not convinced the emphasis should be on promoting youth if it means neglecting something else. Yes the notion is great but over the last 10 years we've only had three or four of top notch youngsters emerge. Porteous, Campbell (some will debate that), Doig, maybe Cummings. The law of averages suggests we'll produce a gem or two but think that's going to be the same for any club. If we suddenly have an influx of top notch youngsters break through then great but i'd personally rather get the right players in there to start with. Like i said i'm maybe overthinking it.

12-09-2023, 10:44 AM

Yeah i'm not convinced the emphasis should be on promoting youth if it means neglecting something else. Yeah the notion is great but over the last 10 years we've only had three or four of top notch youngsters emerge. Porteous, Campbell (some will debate that), Doig, maybe Cummings. The law of averages suggests we'll produce a gem or two but think that's going to be the same for any club. If we suddenly have an influx of top notch youngsters break through then great but i'd personally rather get the right players in there to start with. Like i said i'm maybe overthinking it.

On the flip side you sell a Josh Doig and the academy pays for itself. Im debating with myself really :greengrin

IngolstadtHarry
12-09-2023, 10:47 AM
Bore off….

Carry on happy-clapping......until you're no longer happy. And then, like the other weather vanes, you'll be demanding Montgomery's head. :-D

12-09-2023, 11:01 AM
Between you and 452 I've have to say 2 of the most ridiculous posts, no where, absolutely no where has there been any talk of shoe Horning young players into the first time or bring any players from OZ. The guy has been at work for 1,yes 1 day and already these sort of posts are popping up. :confused:

Donegal Hibby
12-09-2023, 11:12 AM
Carry on happy-clapping......until you're no longer happy. And then, like the other weather vanes, you'll be demanding Montgomery's head. :-D

That's the spirit ! Nothing quite like getting behind the new manager and showing abit of support . Negativity at its finest once again :rolleyes:

Victor
12-09-2023, 11:15 AM
Between you and 452 I've have to say 2 of the most ridiculous posts, no where, absolutely no where has there been any talk of shoe Horning young players into the first time or bring any players from OZ. The guy has been at work for 1,yes 1 day and already these sort of posts are popping up. :confused:

Pessimists Anonymous

12-09-2023, 11:36 AM

FYI i'm fully behind the new manager. I didn't want him at all, I never hid that but he's here now and i wish him nothing but success. If you'd read my post i said i was concerned about it i didn't say he would shoehorn youngsters. We are allowed to have our concerns and it's only natural that the posters that didn't want Montgomery will have more than the ones that did.

12-09-2023, 11:40 AM
FYI i'm fully behind the new manager. I didn't want him at all, I never hid that but he's here now and i wish him nothing but success.But your inventing scenarios to be negative, how is that being positive?

12-09-2023, 11:47 AM
But your inventing scenarios to be negative, how is that being positive?

I'm not inventing scenarios. I made a valid point about his appointment being largely about youth development. I said we'd brought through a lot of youngsters under LJ so i'd question how we improve upon that without shoehorning them in. Don't see anything wrong with that.

12-09-2023, 11:51 AM
Yeah i'm not convinced the emphasis should be on promoting youth if it means neglecting something else. Yes the notion is great but over the last 10 years we've only had three or four of top notch youngsters emerge. Porteous, Campbell (some will debate that), Doig, maybe Cummings. The law of averages suggests we'll produce a gem or two but think that's going to be the same for any club. If we suddenly have an influx of top notch youngsters break through then great but i'd personally rather get the right players in there to start with. Like i said i'm maybe overthinking it.

If we use our youth academy first and foremost to pas out the squad we could funnel the money saved into a stronger first 11, quality over quantity, as well as showing a pathway from the academy into the first team.

Would we have been worse off giving our youngsters a chance instead of spending money on Devlin, Hope, Schofield, McKirdy, Henderson, Demitri Mitchell, David Mitchell, Nathan Wood, Jasper etc. That’s before we even factor in the b team and money wasted on the likes of Tavares, Hague, Melkerson etc.

Being worried about a focus on bringing youngsters through is a particularly negative take.

12-09-2023, 11:54 AM
I'm not inventing scenarios. I made a valid point about his appointment being largely about youth development. I said we'd brought through a lot of youngsters under LJ so i'd question how we improve upon that without shoehorning them in. Don't see anything wrong with that.

Johnson didn’t bring youngsters through. Bojang played more minutes last season than all the U19s combined. He had them on the bench, but like Devlin, they were there to make up the numbers with little intention of using them.

12-09-2023, 11:55 AM

The thing is we have not brought in a lot of youngsters. A few of the youths have sat on the bench every week and been given very limited game time.

None of these players are first team regulars or near that. Lee Johnson didn't really develop them in that way. I hope that, if they are good enough, our new manager can.

CentreForward
12-09-2023, 11:56 AM

The young players thing really wasn’t coming from me and as for the Australian players thing absolutely nothing wrong in speculating that that might happen.

12-09-2023, 11:58 AM

You've got a cheek accusing someone else of posting pointless drivel. 1st you said Montgomery should be slaughtered if we lose on Saturday and now you're saying bringing youth through means he'll be shoehorning them into the team just for the sake of it.

I'm not inventing scenarios. I made a valid point about his appointment being largely about youth development. I said we'd brought through a lot of youngsters under LJ so i'd question how we improve upon that without shoehorning them in. Don't see anything wrong with that.Developing youth isn't a case of giving them a couple of first team games then dropping them. The full development sees them become first team regulars on merit then, these days sadly, onto bigger things.

On that side LJ developed zero players.

You invented a scenario where he shoehorns youngsters into the first team just for the sake of it at the expense of established players whether they merited it or not. Hence your concern, which you just made up.

I have faith that our new manager will look after and develop our football club, young or older, pretty sure that orders for Vegimite will increase around Hibs now as well.
I am happy to leave the man to manage my team no worries mate.
:cb
Pretty sure that he has a few yams on here, getting there knickers all twisted.

CentreForward
12-09-2023, 11:59 AM
Devlin has been a good signing for them. Atkinson gets into the Australia squad ahead of Miller.

We saw at the World Cup Rowles could be a good player, I don’t know what the Hearts management team are doing to him but they’re certainly not getting the best out of him.

Baccus at St Mirren been very good for them.

Yes, agree that Devlin has done well in some games but from what I have heard he is very inconsistent. Seemingly Rowles has been dreadful for them this season and let’s hope that their management team continues to get the worst out of him. Agree re Bacchus, and wouldn’t mind seeing him come to us.

12-09-2023, 12:00 PM
Who would you say are ready?

I've seen the U 18's twice last year, none of them struck me as being up to the physical challenge of first team football or having the skills that would overcome the clear physical deficit, yet (Laidlaw, had the skill but even then , he was goosed after 60 mins v Dortmund).

Rudi and Megwa are both physically ready to play senior football week in week out. Of those on loan. Josh and Aiken are also physically ready and playing most weeks now should show that.

12-09-2023, 12:00 PM
One thing Monty isn’t, is stupid.

He knows that first and foremost he is going to be judged on results.

He’s not going to fill the team with youngsters if he doesn’t think they are ready for it.

And they don’t suddenly become ready…just because a new manager comes in

Keepthefaith
12-09-2023, 12:05 PM
Developing youth isn't a case of giving them a couple of first team games then dropping them. The full development sees them become first team regulars on merit then, these days sadly, onto bigger things.

On that side LJ developed zero players.

You invented a scenario where he shoehorns youngsters into the first team just for the sake of it at the expense of established players whether they merited it or not. Hence your concern, which you just made up.

Well said 👋👋

12-09-2023, 12:09 PM
The same posters concerned about **** all as usual. Concerned about Montgomery, concerned about lack of Scottish football knowledgeable, concerned now about playing youngsters just for the sake of it. You know what I'm concerned that some of these posters aren't even Hibs fans, if they are they don't look like it going by their posts.

12-09-2023, 12:11 PM
One thing Monty isn’t, is stupid.

He knows that first and foremost he is going to be judged on results.

He’s not going to fill the team with youngsters if he doesn’t think they are ready for it.

And they don’t suddenly become ready…just because a new manager comes in...aye, but what if though....

12-09-2023, 12:16 PM
FYI i'm fully behind the new manager. I didn't want him at all, I never hid that but he's here now and i wish him nothing but success. If you'd read my post i said i was concerned about it i didn't say he would shoehorn youngsters. We are allowed to have our concerns and it's only natural that the posters that didn't want Montgomery will have more than the ones that did.

It seems to me Montgomery is a manager on the way up, not on the way down like some, or bouncing along from job to job like our last incumbent.

I'm pretty sure if he had wanted to stay in Australia he would have had his pick of jobs there as they came up. This move is clearly part of an overall strategy to get him noticed by EFL Championship clubs with a view to eventually make it to the EPL. He has uprooted his family from what no doubt was a nice lifestyle to return to the UK, not an easy decision I would guess.

In short, this is a guy looking to make his mark and willing to make personal sacrifices to do it, in view of that any suggestion he would play youngsters he wasn't positive were ready, or buy players from Australia he wasn't positive could make a difference to a team in the Scottish premiership is absolutely laughable, you don't uproot your family and take them half way round the world to screw it all up by making stupid decisions.

12-09-2023, 12:26 PM

I don't believe you are fully behind him. You'll be absent from here when we win and when we don't you'll be all over every thread referring back to all your earlier posts about these concerns you have.

12-09-2023, 12:32 PM
Rudi and Megwa are both physically ready to play senior football week in week out. Of those on loan. Josh and Aiken are also physically ready and playing most weeks now should show that.

I didn't really see it with O'Connor, he was in the Dortmund players pocket most of that match, but Megwa and Aiken both looked eager and had some physical presence about them. Molotnikov has just turned 17 and has had some minutes, so lack of a loan would make it seem like he was in LJ's plans. He's very young, but if he has what it takes, hopefully he can step up soon. Midfield is our main weakness as a team.

Victor
12-09-2023, 12:35 PM

Sorry, but you are. And there is plenty wrong with it. Every post contains a ‘what if’. You and others are misquoting and taken remarks out of context to promote whatever agenda you are pursuing. Promoting the academy does not mean he is going to field a team of youngsters. Because he comes from the Australian League doesn’t mean he is going to fill the team with Australian rejects. Yes, this is a forum for discussion, but when posters continually post the same negativity it all becomes boring. The new manager has been in post for one day, let’s see how he is doing in a month and then come back with your concerns. In the meantime go out sit in the sunshine and have an ice cream. Then again it might rain and your ice cream might melt, but that’s life.

12-09-2023, 12:37 PM
Sorry, but you are. And there is plenty wrong with it. Every post contains a ‘what if’. You and others are misquoting and taken remarks out of context to promote whatever agenda you are pursuing. Promoting the academy does not mean he is going to field a team of youngsters. Because he comes from the Australian League doesn’t mean he is going to fill the team with Australian rejects. Yes, this is a forum for discussion, but when posters continually post the same negativity it all becomes boring. The new manager has been in post for one day, let’s see how he is doing in a month and then come back with your concerns. In the meantime go out sit in the sunshine and have an ice cream. Then again it might rain and your ice cream might melt, but that’s life.

I’m concerned you’re talking about ice cream. Sounds like a really good idea but I’m pretty full after my lunch and don’t want it shoehorned in before tea.

Victor oot.

Caversham Green
12-09-2023, 12:43 PM
The same posters concerned about **** all as usual. Concerned about Montgomery, concerned about lack of Scottish football knowledgeable, concerned now about playing youngsters just for the sake of it. You know what I'm concerned that some of these posters aren't even Hibs fans, if they are they don't look like it going by their posts.

:agree: It's sad some are so mean-spirited that they can't welcome the man to our club because he isn't the one they wanted but still feel the need to post on a thread entitled 'Welcome to Hibs Monty'.

Anyway, Welcome to Hibs Monty. May your association with the club be long and rewarding for us all.

12-09-2023, 12:45 PM
I’m concerned you’re talking about ice cream. Sounds like a really good idea but I’m pretty full after my lunch and don’t want it shoehorned in before tea.

Victor oot.

Proposal to bring back the Hibs Encyclopedia thread

"Shoe Horn" - verb - something that only happens to younger players when a very popular new manager takes over (but some sadsack posters want to look all special)

Victor
12-09-2023, 12:57 PM

Victor oot.

It was a figurative ice cream that has no calories, so fill your boots! (That’s figurative speech also it would be quite squelchy having boots filled with ice cream) [emoji3]

Donegal Hibby
12-09-2023, 12:59 PM
I didn't really see it with O'Connor, he was in the Dortmund players pocket most of that match, but Megwa and Aiken both looked eager and had some physical presence about them. Molotnikov has just turned 17 and has had some minutes, so lack of a loan would make it seem like he was in LJ's plans. He's very young, but if he has what it takes, hopefully he can step up soon. Midfield is our main weakness as a team.

Watched the pre season games in Marbella and there was one in particular were I doubt Megwa was to easily pushed of the ball . Absolutely cracking young player as is McAllister and Rudi though some are still abit light and aren't ready yet Imo especially when they have to go up against guys like nouble and ayunga and so on.

12-09-2023, 01:05 PM

Victor oot.

Get 'em while they're cold. They're lovely.

12-09-2023, 01:08 PM

Victor oot.
FFS i thought by getting rid of LJ we'd heard the last of lyons.

12-09-2023, 01:38 PM
FFS i thought by getting rid of LJ we'd heard the last of lyons.

Look he’s gone and that’s the mane thing.

Get 'em while they're cold. They're lovely.

Alright bag of otters’ noses then.

Watched the pre season games in Marbella and there was one in particular were I doubt Megwa was to easily pushed of the ball . Absolutely cracking young player as is McAllister and Rudi though some are still abit light and aren't ready yet Imo especially when they have to go up against guys like nouble and ayunga and so on.

Rudi is definitely not light and already bigger built than most of the players in his area. He is physically way ahead of his 17 years. I agree on Mcallister - he is still very slight.

We do need to start giving these guys some minutes every week if they are going to progress. Last season we saw sub after sub that made zero difference with players that have no effect on a game.

12-09-2023, 01:44 PM
Rudi is definitely not light and already bigger built than most of the players in his area. He is physically way ahead of his 17 years. I agree on Mcallister - he is still very slight.

We do need to start giving these guys some minutes every week if they are going to progress. Last season we saw sub after sub that made zero difference with players that have no effect on a game.

Yep got the bit of a young Rooney build has Rudi. Would definitely be getting him more involved.

12-09-2023, 03:04 PM
You've got a cheek accusing someone else of posting pointless drivel. 1st you said Montgomery should be slaughtered if we lose on Saturday and now you're saying bringing youth through means he'll be shoehorning them into the team just for the sake of it.

No i didn't. I said previous managers would and have been slaughtered for losing to Killie and Montgomery shouldn't be exempt from that. He needs to hit the ground running. He's managing Hibs now who have spent over 1.5 million not CCM. That goes for Montgomery or anyone managing Hibs. If we lose to Killie because of crap tactics or team selection will you be happy? I won't. Let's hope that doesn't happen and we win. You're seeing what you want to see because you've taken offence to me not wanting Montgomery.

12-09-2023, 03:07 PM
I don't believe you are fully behind him. You'll be absent from here when we win and when we don't you'll be all over every thread referring back to all your earlier posts about these concerns you have.

You believe what you want pal it doesn't concern me.

12-09-2023, 03:20 PM
No i didn't. I said previous managers would and have been slaughtered for losing to Killie and Montgomery shouldn't be exempt from that.

That is saying he should be slaughtered if he loses to Killie.

12-09-2023, 03:22 PM

It's not it's saying he should be immune to criticism

12-09-2023, 03:25 PM

Shouldn’t be or should be

12-09-2023, 03:36 PM

It’s saying the opposite of that. Or do you mean not
Immune

Daily Hibs
12-09-2023, 03:40 PM
No i didn't. I said previous managers would and have been slaughtered for losing to Killie and Montgomery shouldn't be exempt from that. He needs to hit the ground running. He's managing Hibs now who have spent over 1.5 million not CCM. That goes for Montgomery or anyone managing Hibs. If we lose to Killie because of crap tactics or team selection will you be happy? I won't. Let's hope that doesn't happen and we win. You're seeing what you want to see because you've taken offence to me not wanting Montgomery.

NM wasnt my first choice either but he has been appointed and deserves a chance. He does come across well but time will tell in 6 weeks or so.

Can understand now why so many are excited about his appointment, he still has to deliver for us this season and the future as we cant keep being in a cycle of repeat like we have in recent years.

If he could get Rogic for us that would be a great signing.

12-09-2023, 03:41 PM

You cannot slaughter a new manager if his team gets beat after just 5 days working with the team, jeez Johnson was getting beat from these teams after months and months of coaching and you were still drooling over him ffs.

There has to be a small period of bedding in for any new manager until his methods are firmly in place, if after a full round of games there's no improvement, then you can have a moan.

CowgateHarp1875
12-09-2023, 03:46 PM
At least let the guy unpack his suitcase before slaughtering him 😂

12-09-2023, 03:47 PM
You cannot slaughter a new manager if his team gets beat after just 5 days working with the team, jeez Johnson was getting beat from these teams after months and months of coaching and you were still drooling over him ffs.

There has to be a small period of bedding in for any new manager until his methods are firmly in place, if after a full round of games there's no improvement, then you can have a moan.

He should just let David Gray take the team until he's bedded in then. He's Hibs manager and is immediately responsible for our results. He's put himself in that position and his salary will reflect that. If we win then there won't be any criticism anyway.

12-09-2023, 03:50 PM
He should just let David Gray take the team until he's bedded in then. He's Hibs manager and is immediately responsible for our results. He's put himself in that position and his salary will reflect that. If we win then there won't be any criticism anyway.

this is like the magic roundabout… do we ever get to develop a collective sense of perspective?

12-09-2023, 03:51 PM
At least let the guy unpack his suitcase before slaughtering him ��

next up: supporter protest outside Simpsons maternity ward… as they get their displeasure in early … :) the magic roundabout continues ….

12-09-2023, 03:51 PM
NM wasnt my first choice either but he has been appointed and deserves a chance. He does come across well but time will tell in 6 weeks or so.

Can understand now why so many are excited about his appointment, he still has to deliver for us this season and the future as we cant keep being in a cycle of repeat like we have in recent years.

I think it feels exciting because he's had some success, with the players and fans at CCM loving him. We could've done the steady Eddie appointment with Robinson and McInnes but we'd probably be looking at 5th and the occasional 4th, the owners want more. I remember Ron saying he wants us to be the best of the rest, that means 3rd, also spoke of doubling the wage bill to get better players, that's been happening also.

12-09-2023, 03:52 PM

Have you not watched football for a few years? In what way would Rogic be a good signing?

Donegal Hibby
12-09-2023, 03:52 PM
At least let the guy unpack his suitcase before slaughtering him 😂

The way some's going on he might be better not unpacking. 5 days into a new job , whole squad not back together till Wednesday or Thursday , game on Saturday and folk think deserves criticism if he doesn't get a result! Absolutely bonkers, really is 😂

12-09-2023, 03:55 PM

You are relentless with this negativity aren't you, he's the new boss, he'll take over team duties and we'll see how it goes but there is no way in hell we should be slagging the guy off after 1 bloody game. You are just weird.

12-09-2023, 03:58 PM

👏👏👏

12-09-2023, 04:00 PM
The way some's going on he might be better not unpacking. 5 days into a new job , whole squad not back together till Wednesday or Thursday , game on Saturday and folk think deserves criticism if he doesn't get a result! Absolutely bonkers, really is 😂

I think it's simply attention seeking trolling, tbh.

No-one can really be that foolish.

Daily Hibs
12-09-2023, 04:01 PM
Have you not watched football for a few years? In what way would Rogic be a good signing?
Hes a proper experienced midfielder that's far better than what we have. Hed make an instant impact.

12-09-2023, 04:02 PM

Just be positive for once eh?!

CowgateHarp1875
12-09-2023, 04:03 PM
next up: supporter protest outside Simpsons maternity ward… as they get their displeasure in early … :) the magic roundabout continues ….

😂👍

12-09-2023, 04:04 PM

I reckon we should just send him back now save all this playground banter, just 2 many of the undercover variety on this forum to have a proper discussion just like when fitba folk ken. Reckon, we may need to throw some more snags on the barbie before this talk receeds.
FFS.
The man from del-Monty he says yes so yes it is, lets give the guy some backing at least for a wee while.

CowgateHarp1875
12-09-2023, 04:05 PM

Absolute madness 😂😂 a venue where both the ugly sisters have already been beaten this season. Kilmarnock under McInnes are no mugs he's been backed and recruited well in the summer.

I'll be happy with a point on Saturday mate.

12-09-2023, 04:06 PM

How exactly would he go about bedding in if David Gray is still taking the team?

12-09-2023, 04:08 PM
Hes a proper experienced midfielder that's far better than what we have. Hed make an instant impact.

Normally I'd agree with you, but I don't understand why he's still without a team. It suggests that something else must be lurking in the background.

Daily Hibs
12-09-2023, 04:10 PM
Absolute madness 😂😂 a venue where both the ugly sisters have already been beaten this season. Kilmarnock under McInnes are no mugs he's been backed and recruited well in the summer.

I'll be happy with a point on Saturday mate.

Yes, would take a point on saturday right now.

12-09-2023, 04:10 PM
Lennon still gets slaughtered for losing away to Killie :duck:

12-09-2023, 04:11 PM

Quite right too :greengrin

12-09-2023, 04:16 PM

And now they have a decent midfield they will be a tough nut to crack, would also take a draw but if Hibs play as they can then we get the 3 points.
:cb

12-09-2023, 04:25 PM
Monty first Hibs tv interview

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=zewnP4FovNA

12-09-2023, 04:29 PM

… a matter of hours ago you told me not to reply if I could only offer pointless drivel.

Or did you not say that either?

12-09-2023, 04:30 PM

Was that the one when he played 7 defenders?

12-09-2023, 04:38 PM
Won't someone please think of the children.

12-09-2023, 04:49 PM
You believe what you want pal it doesn't concern me.

You’re not concerned? Really 🤔

12-09-2023, 04:49 PM

This is exactly what we need. I’m excited.

12-09-2023, 04:55 PM

I don't think Montgomery should get slaughtered for losing at Killie (if that happens) but he does need to be judged on his actions from day one and if he's clearly doing crazy stuff then the criticism will some and be deserved.

Stuff like shoehorning seven defenders into a team that loses at Killie like Lennon did.

If he picks a wacky team, doesn't read the game right, makes daft subs, the players look clueless and we lose heavily then he gets deserved criticism from day one.

A battling defeat or draw where his decisions appear to be sensible and we have confidence that over time he'll improve us - he doesn't deserve criticism imo.

12-09-2023, 05:04 PM

Absolutely ****ing buzzing for what's to come under Monty. Just think this will absolutely work out well.

Really wish we were at home this weekend.

12-09-2023, 05:06 PM

You're at it man.

Give it a rest.

Willis1875
12-09-2023, 05:08 PM

Enjoyed that,buzzing for this weekend

12-09-2023, 05:10 PM
This side has a lot of potential, if set up properly. For all that we need Levitt/more creativity in midfield, I expect us to start climbing the table quickly.

There's plenty to work with and plenty to work on, that's the challenge.

All the best to NM and his team, we're all right behind you.

12-09-2023, 05:12 PM

Have thought the same myself. Worryingly I think some are Hibs fans, which possibly makes it worse.

12-09-2023, 05:16 PM

Thanks Jim. You intepret it the same way I do.

12-09-2023, 05:17 PM

That's a more balanced way of putting it (I realise you meant shouldn't).

12-09-2023, 05:25 PM
Have thought the same myself. Worryingly I think some are Hibs fans, which possibly makes it worse.

Hopefully this is what Monty will be here to change.

I find it incredible that we're approaching a game debating how we should react in the event of a loss.

Monty, David Gray, the players, they'll all be concerning themselves with winning the game.

Ideally we'd be optimistic and supportive towards that goal.

12-09-2023, 05:31 PM
This side has a lot of potential, if set up properly. For all that we need Levitt/more creativity in midfield, I expect us to start climbing the table quickly.

There's plenty to work with and plenty to work on, that's the challenge.

All the best to NM and his team, we're all right behind you.

All the best to Monty.
About time we had a long term manager.

12-09-2023, 05:34 PM
All the best to Monty.
About time we had a long term manager.

Steady on mate he's only been in post a couple of days and we havent played a game yet. Most of us hadnt heard of him a week or two ago.

Good luck to the guy but the proof will be in the pudding.

12-09-2023, 05:56 PM

Top interview. Really looking forward to seeing what NM and his coaches can bring to Hibs. Exciting times.

12-09-2023, 06:00 PM

What a dour, monotonous borefest.

If that's how he speaks to the players, they'll be asleep before they go out of the dressing room.

That's not going to get anyone's juices going. He's even disguised his Australian accent and he didn't say G'day or flaming galah once.

I, for one, am not whelmed.

Keepthefaith
12-09-2023, 06:23 PM

Superb interview, really solid guy, great ethos, all about motivation and reward, seeing opportunities and rewarding effort and ability. Nothing gifted to anyone and definitely no shoe-horning young guys in.

I've never been more positive about an appointment than this. Am off to Killie on the back of that interview, he deserves all our support... exciting times ahead!

12-09-2023, 07:01 PM

If that's how he speaks to the players, they'll be asleep before they go out of the dressing room.

That's not going to get anyone's juices going. He's even disguised his Australian accent and he didn't say G'day or flaming galah once.

I, for one, am not whelmed.Ltyf

HendoDelivered
12-09-2023, 07:38 PM

We’re onto a winner here. The players and fans are gonna love this guy!

Donegal Hibby
12-09-2023, 08:19 PM

Why would he let Gray take the team he's the manager now ! . Surely as football fans we can understand it's going to take the guy more than 5 days to get to know his players strength and weaknesses while they learn how he wants them to play as well . His position and salary have nothing to do with it .

He's not got a magic wand were he fixes everything in a blink of an eye and even if it did go wrong on Saturday any criticism or slaughtering of him would be totally wrong. Let's give the guy a chance without finding a stick to beat him with before he's even started at us !

12-09-2023, 08:31 PM

I, for one, am not whelmed.

Fair Dinkum!

Let him have a go………if he Has a go….he’ll GET a go!

(S. Morrison circa 2022 (copyright)

12-09-2023, 08:39 PM
Fair Dinkum!

Let him have a go………if he Has a go….he’ll GET go!

12-09-2023, 08:43 PM
Fair Dinkum!

Let him have a go………if he Has a go….he’ll GET go!

He’s got experience Home and Away too.

12-09-2023, 09:53 PM
He’s got experience Home and Away too.

Real test will be when he comes up against our noisy Neighbours.

12-09-2023, 10:12 PM
I’m really excited to see where we go with Monty. He seems fairly no frills in the way he talks but has bags of drive and ambition.

13-09-2023, 02:09 AM
Happy with Monty.

Now sign Leigh Griffiths. :agree:

CCM4LIFE
13-09-2023, 02:39 AM
I'm so sad to see Monty go but happy he's been recognised as a good manager.

I hope you all get behind him.

13-09-2023, 05:55 AM

Absolutely.

**** the Hearts and **** Newcastle Jets

CCM4LIFE
13-09-2023, 06:55 AM
Absolutely.

**** the Hearts and **** Newcastle Jets

Yeah **** the jets lol bunch of inbred dogs

13-09-2023, 06:59 AM

Most of us already have, and I detect an upbeat in the collective mood.

As a sometime visitor to Sauce Bottle Stadium I am delighted we pinched him.

It’s unfortunate for you that as well as losing a few players to overseas clubs you also lost your coach and backroom staff…….just before you embark on your Asian Cup journey.

Knowing the Mariners though, you ‘ll just go to the Academy and shout..’And the next one, right in here please’..and a youngster will step into the team for a couple of years.

Rejoiced with you watching the GF on Paramount, and hope to hear the canon go off a few times next season.

13-09-2023, 07:38 AM
Rejoiced with you watching the GF on Paramount, and hope to hear the canon go off a few times next season.

Wait, they have a short-tempered clergyman?

13-09-2023, 08:41 AM

I think there’s more chance he will gradually develop Rudi into that role

CCM4LIFE
13-09-2023, 09:45 AM
Wait, they have a short-tempered clergyman?
Yeah Father Culverin, shoots 17lb cannon balls.

Bridge hibs
13-09-2023, 10:15 AM
Yeah Father Culverin, shoots 17lb cannon balls.

I done that this morning, I cant sit down now, too many boiled eggs in my diet🤮

CCM4LIFE
13-09-2023, 10:24 AM
I done that this morning, I cant sit down now, too many boiled eggs in my diet🤮

I wouldn't sit down on a barstool then you might swallow the bloody thing

Bridge hibs
13-09-2023, 10:40 AM
I wouldn't sit down on a barstool then you might swallow the bloody thing

🤣

16-09-2023, 05:52 PM
https://youtu.be/DJSWT6ijt0w?si=nIfPSJTwtE4LAhtF

First post match interview, seems really positive. Good to see Jair getting praise too.

HendoDelivered
16-09-2023, 06:16 PM

First post match interview, seems really positive. Good to see Jair getting praise too.

Signs of the good man management and player belief showing already. Love to see it 👍🏼

Cat Stanton
16-09-2023, 06:18 PM

Thanks for posting.

16-09-2023, 06:18 PM

I like that you hear the broad Yorkshire accent but there's an Australian inflection coming through, obviously from his time in Australia.

16-09-2023, 11:11 PM
Welcome to Hibs Monty.

Lesson 1: We are frustrating as ****!

Paul1642
17-09-2023, 12:36 PM
https://x.com/hibernianfc/status/1703366623082524674?s=46&t=QfwAUDYQuecN_TDBpg3wPA

Monty walking the 21 mile Edinburgh kilt walk with the group from the Hibernian community foundation today. Good to see him getting involved in the community side of the club, especially a week into the job.

LewysGot2
17-09-2023, 12:40 PM
https://x.com/hibernianfc/status/1703366623082524674?s=46&t=QfwAUDYQuecN_TDBpg3wPA

Monty walking the 21 mile Edinburgh kilt walk with the group from the Hibernian community foundation today. Good to see him getting involved in the community side of the club, especially a week into the job.

Was it not the Wee Wander? The 6 mile walk...

Good for the club staff and players to give their time and support but pretty certain it's not the full KiltWalk most are doing 👍

Paul1642
17-09-2023, 12:42 PM
Was it not the Wee Wander? The 6 mile walk...

Good for the club staff and players to give their time and support but pretty certain it's not the full KiltWalk most are doing 👍

Could very well have been. I didn’t realise their was more than one event but good to see regardless of distance :)

17-09-2023, 12:48 PM

Seems like a good lad.

Garymcl
17-09-2023, 01:02 PM
Watched the video clip comes over as genuine individual kudos to him and staff for taking part just in the door really think I’m gonna like this guy breathe of fresh air from previous gaffers with attacking football to go with it as he says at the end let’s get the ground full next Saturday and get right behind the team :flag:

Donegal Hibby
17-09-2023, 03:09 PM

I was surprised to see Jair getting on tbh , Monty seems to be a manager that will give players a chance which had me wondering is there maybe a still a chance for Melkersen at ER ? . Think the 4-4-2 might suit him tbh .

17-09-2023, 03:11 PM
I was surprised to see Jair getting on tbh , Monty seems to be a manager that will give players a chance which had me wondering is there maybe a still a chance for Melkersen at ER ? . Think the 4-4-2 might suit him tbh .

How did he do when he came on?

17-09-2023, 03:15 PM
How did he do when he came on?

He got stuck in and did just fine

17-09-2023, 07:09 PM
Clearly someone at club thinks there is a player in Jair given he has came in front he cold, clearly Johnson never fancied him so be good to see what he does

17-09-2023, 09:08 PM
Clearly someone at club thinks there is a player in Jair given he has came in front he cold, clearly Johnson never fancied him so be good to see what he does

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalkjohnston gave him a few chances but the guy was no very good but hopefully monty can maybe improve him.

Donegal Hibby
17-09-2023, 10:27 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/nick-montgomery-to-give-forgotten-hibs-man-a-fresh-start-im-not-interested-in-what-went-on-before-4339254

LewysGot2
18-09-2023, 10:28 AM
johnston gave him a few chances but the guy was no very good but hopefully monty can maybe improve him.

Portuguese coaching staff might be a positive. I thought there was nothing of note on Saturday from him and he only played for 5 minutes so not really any time to judge. Hardly had any time on the ball or to do anything.

18-09-2023, 11:15 AM
Portuguese coaching staff might be a positive. I thought there was nothing of note on Saturday from him and he only played for 5 minutes so not really any time to judge. Hardly had any time on the ball or to do anything.

He played about 10 mins when you consider injury time, had a decent wee bit of skill out wide before being wiped out

18-09-2023, 12:43 PM
He played about 10 mins when you consider injury time, had a decent wee bit of skill out wide before being wiped out

Sums up Scottish football right there, sadly.

Donegal Hibby
23-09-2023, 09:06 AM
Monty . Bring me sunshine.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/bring-me-sunshine-new-hibs-boss-cant-wait-for-definitive-easter-road-experience-4346395

23-09-2023, 09:36 AM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/nick-montgomery-to-give-forgotten-hibs-man-a-fresh-start-im-not-interested-in-what-went-on-before-4339254

Aye DH
It appears Monty sees something in the boy.
So lets hope "fresh start" fo Jair bears fruit .
We do have some players with teriffic individual talents/skills.
Monty's job is to weld these talents into a potent unit/ force .
And of course sort out our back line marking and defending posts at set pieces.
He himself says he has inherited a good squad with depth and all will get their chance to step up.
The next games over 8 days will be interesting,if not apprehensive for the fans .
3 wins will do for starters. Not much to ask !

Skol
23-09-2023, 09:38 AM
I am quite looking forward to todays game to see how we shape up.

23-09-2023, 09:48 AM
I am quite looking forward to todays game to see how we shape up.

Same. A lot to be learned today.

Donegal Hibby
23-09-2023, 10:08 AM
Aye DH
It appears Monty sees something in the boy.
So lets hope "fresh start" fo Jair bears fruit .
We do have some players with teriffic individual talents/skills.
Monty's job is to weld these talents into a potent unit/ force .
And of course sort out our back line marking and defending posts at set pieces.
He himself says he has inherited a good squad with depth and all will get their chance to step up.
The next games over 8 days will be interesting,if not apprehensive for the fans .
3 wins will do for starters. Not much to ask !

Fresh start for Jair to kick-start his Hibs career and best of luck to the young guy 🤞 .3 points today would be a step in the right direction and set us up nicely the next match . Feeling optimistic about the new manager and today's game.

Cmon the Hibees :flag:

Hibees1973
23-09-2023, 10:42 AM
It's been telling in the last few days hearing quotes from players such as Fish and Vente, that a lot more coaching, tactics and formations are being implemented since Montgomery came in.

Early days and three points at home are a must today, but I'm optimistic things will get better under Montgomery. These thinly veiled comments from players shed more light on how things were under Johnson. It must have been a bit demoralising for the squad to get minimal instructions on how we should play under Johnson. Before Johnson left I heard rumours that discussions on tactics to the players was very basic and was only encouraged by the likes of Gray and McAllister. This has only been endorsed by the comments in the press by some players since Montgomery came in.

Relieved Johnson is now gone and we can move forward in a more professional manner.

We are still a bit light in defence but I hope to see an improvement this week. Surely playing the likes of St Johnstone, St Mirren and Dundee will provide a clean sheet or two.

This is a big week. Getting into the top half of the table and a semi at Hampden would provide some promise ahead. If we cannot do this it will become clearer that we will need re-inforcements, particularly in defence, to improve.

HendoDelivered
23-09-2023, 11:35 AM
Real sense of optimism going into these last two games, refreshing change for me personally. Really enjoy listening to Monty, seems like a really good guy first and foremost. Can see there being a real togetherness in this squad under him.

Really think we have struck gold getting him.

23-09-2023, 11:49 AM
It's been telling in the last few days hearing quotes from players such as Fish and Vente, that a lot more coaching, tactics and formations are being implemented since Montgomery came in.

Early days and three points at home are a must today, but I'm optimistic things will get better under Montgomery. These thinly veiled comments from players shed more light on how things were under Johnson. It must have been a bit demoralising for the squad to get minimal instructions on how we should play under Johnson. Before Johnson left I heard rumours that discussions on tactics to the players was very basic and was only encouraged by the likes of Gray and McAllister. This has only been endorsed by the comments in the press by some players since Montgomery came in.

Relieved Johnson is now gone and we can move forward in a more professional manner.

We are still a bit light in defence but I hope to see an improvement this week. Surely playing the likes of St Johnstone, St Mirren and Dundee will provide a clean sheet or two.

This is a big week. Getting into the top half of the table and a semi at Hampden would provide some promise ahead. If we cannot do this it will become clearer that we will need re-inforcements, particularly in defence, to improve.
Players love talking tactics etc. Let's face it tactics aren't the reason opposition players get free headers in the box from set pieces-it's basic football intelligence. Let's hope that Montgomery can get a grip of the players.He's started by showing that even the place of a club legend is not safe. They'll all take note of that.

Skol
23-09-2023, 05:18 PM
Some positives to be taken from what I saw today but also some areas that caused me some concern.

I think the players need a lot of work on the way of playing, but the last 15-20 mins was pretty good.

Gordy M
25-09-2023, 05:48 PM
Just watched Monty cam on Youtube, well worth a watch. His assistant, Raimundo isnt to be messed around with!! Interesting to hear him switch into what sounded like French and i assume shouting to Youhan. Its only 5 mins long but i enjoyed it.

25-09-2023, 07:15 PM
Just watched Monty cam on Youtube, well worth a watch. His assistant, Raimundo isnt to be messed around with!! Interesting to hear him switch into what sounded like French and i assume shouting to Youhan. Its only 5 mins long but i enjoyed it.

Just watched that - yes, sounded like Raimundo was giving instructions in French to Elie.

Looks a professional and passionate set up we have there.

https://youtu.be/-DqZbLpvDDE?si=gc2bkclYzttI7Ie1

25-09-2023, 07:28 PM
Just watched that - yes, sounded like Raimundo was giving instructions in French to Elie.

Great watch. Those boys are not messing about and they won't stand for anyone who is. Just what we need.

25-09-2023, 08:37 PM
That’s a great video. We’ve got a top quality management team.

25-09-2023, 09:06 PM

French to Elie
Portuguese to Jair
And some plain old English to Miller telling him to get his arse up and get on with the game

26-09-2023, 09:25 AM
This post match interview is a masterclass, so refreshing to have a manager who talks sense, communicates clearly and shows that he knows what he’s doing.

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/montgomery-really-happy-with-performance-against-st-johnstone

Note the sh*t sandwich he delivers at the start, the boss giving feedback to his team:

“I’m very pleased - WE MUST DO THESE SPECIFIC THINGS BETTER - very happy.”

He knew full well that he would be giving a debut to our youngest ever player, so as well as getting the result he also made a big statement which will surely encourage all the development players.

26-09-2023, 09:38 AM
I love all the optimism and feel good factor that the appointment has created! I definitely feel more positive about this appointment than the previous two.

At the risk of bringing down the happy hour, I do think there is a touch of some people getting a little over excited after 2 games against relatively poor opposition. There were all sorts of superlatives coming out from people after Maloney' early interviews and even some of LJ's. Same with Terry Butcher. Can we just wait and actually see how this turns out for a bit before proclaiming our management team geniuses after 2 games?:greengrin

26-09-2023, 10:03 AM
I love all the optimism and feel good factor that the appointment has created! I definitely feel more positive about this appointment than the previous two.

At the risk of bringing down the happy hour, I do think there is a touch of some people getting a little over excited after 2 games against relatively poor opposition. There were all sorts of superlatives coming out from people after Maloney' early interviews and even some of LJ's. Same with Terry Butcher. Can we just wait and actually see how this turns out for a bit before proclaiming our management team geniuses after 2 games?:greengrin

Personally I was alarmed by both Maloney and LJ from the get go. Butcher definitively said and did the right things initially, before revealing himself as a psycho!

Of course it’s early days, but the way NM conducts himself does reassure me.

26-09-2023, 10:15 AM
His big test will be the uglies and Hearts away. I would like to see if he is able to change tactics quickly during a game. Playing 4-4-2 might work against the St Johnstone's but going all out attack v's a Celtic or Rangers could be suicide, and if it does start going wrong can/will he change it? Likewise with Hearts. We have all seen many many ***** Hearts teams beat us by simply bogging down and winning the midfield battle.

Im not being negative with the above, and would love us to play our own game and let them worry about their tactics and formations against us. I just hope he is not too stubborn to change it up and quickly when its evident its not working.

26-09-2023, 10:22 AM
Personally I was alarmed by both Maloney and LJ from the get go. Butcher definitively said and did the right things initially, before revealing himself as a psycho!

Of course it’s early days, but the way NM conducts himself does reassure me.

I was def alarmed about Maloney, and would say underwhlemed about LJ so on same page there. There were though a host of people excited about their appointments and if we look at early threads after appointment similar stuff about how impressed people were with their interviews/tactical nous etc.

I'm far more hopeful with NM like you, I just hope the positivity is correct long term.

26-09-2023, 10:24 AM
His big test will be the uglies and Hearts away. I would like to see if he is able to change tactics quickly during a game. Playing 4-4-2 might work against the St Johnstone's but going all out attack v's a Celtic or Rangers could be suicide, and if it does start going wrong can/will he change it? Likewise with Hearts. We have all seen many many ***** Hearts teams beat us by simply bogging down and winning the midfield battle.

Im not being negative with the above, and would love us to play our own game and let them worry about their tactics and formations against us. I just hope he is not too stubborn to change it up and quickly when its evident its not working.

We really need a manager to hold his own v Hearts:agree:

26-09-2023, 10:34 AM

The big test of a Hibs manager isn't the "uglies". It's the teams we should be beating, and regularly fail to do so.

Losing 8 games to Rangers and Celtic doesn't matter if you've beaten the bottom six and some of the top six. That's enough to earn 3rd and we can't seem to do it.

SickBoy32
26-09-2023, 10:52 AM
The big test of a Hibs manager isn't the "uglies". It's the teams we should be beating, and regularly fail to do so.

Losing 8 games to Rangers and Celtic doesn't matter if you've beaten the bottom six and some of the top six. That's enough to earn 3rd and we can't seem to do it.

A good Hibs team can give both of the OF a game, particularly at ER (Huns are rank this season, so definitely expecting points from them).

Hopefully (and I think he will) Montgomery sees these as the winnable games that they are.

LJ had a dreadful record in the derby fixture, so again I'm expecting an improvement on that too.

Agree that we need to improve our consistency against the lesser sides - although the last time we did that, an element of our fanbase chased the manager due to us not playing like Brazil '70 :rolleyes:

Donegal Hibby
26-09-2023, 11:02 AM
A good Hibs team can give both of the OF a game, particularly at ER (Huns are rank this season, so definitely expecting points from them).

Hopefully (and I think he will) Montgomery sees these as the winnable games that they are.

LJ had a dreadful record in the derby fixture, so again I'm expecting an improvement on that too.

Agree that we need to improve our consistency against the lesser sides - although the last time we did that, an element of our fanbase chased the manager due to us not playing like Brazil '70 :rolleyes:

Don't expect anything from old firm games nowadays . Both are miles ahead of us financially and even some of there player's on bench would probably get into our first team . Anything we do get now I look on as a real bonus .

26-09-2023, 11:19 AM
Hearts is the big one. Too often we are out fought and out thought. It's time we humiliated them, game after game, win after win. Please god let Monty be the man !

SickBoy32
26-09-2023, 11:39 AM
Don't expect anything from old firm games nowadays . Both are miles ahead of us financially and even some of there player's on bench would probably get into our first team . Anything we do get now I look on as a real bonus .

Thankfully the games will be played on the park, not balance sheet vs balance sheet

Obviously they're favourites when we play, but I just cannot understand this attitude of they are so far ahead of us - they're really no

Motherwell deserved something from Ibrox at the weekend, Killie have already beaten both FFS

As I said, I fully expect us to take points from the Huns and think we could do the same vs Celtic

Donegal Hibby
26-09-2023, 01:38 PM
Thankfully the games will be played on the park, not balance sheet vs balance sheet

Obviously they're favourites when we play, but I just cannot understand this attitude of they are so far ahead of us - they're really no

Motherwell deserved something from Ibrox at the weekend, Killie have already beaten both FFS

As I said, I fully expect us to take points from the Huns and think we could do the same vs Celtic

The games are played on the park though the financial gap between Hibs (rest of the clubs too) and the old firm is massive and getting bigger each year too . This of course has a bearing on the park as both can spend millions on players and offer bigger wages which allows them to sign players away above what market we are looking in .

Wither Motherwell deserved something from Ibrox is irrelevant because at the end of the day they got nought as many teams do when they go there or parkhead. Killie have indeed beat them which will happen now and again though not to often it has to be said .

Hopefully your right and we do take points of the old firm though I usually go into them games now more hoping we don't get a doing and pull of a shock result rather than actually expecting a result tbh .

26-09-2023, 01:46 PM
Hearts is the big one. Too often we are out fought and out thought. It's time we humiliated them, game after game, win after win. Please god let Monty be the man !

Hearts have had the better squad for a few years now. I think ours is now better, especially in the forward areas. I fancy us to at least win our fair share of derbies this season. But then we've thought that before.. They normally manage to raise their game against us.