View Full Version : Match Updates Motherwell v Hibernian

Pages : [1] 2 3

13-08-2023, 12:45 PM
Our 2nd league game of the 23/24 campaign comes at Firpark where a decent Motherwell side will look to cause us some problems.

Will be interesting to see what team LJ puts out after the energy sapping performance on Thursday.

Team news and updates here.

13-08-2023, 12:47 PM
Marshall

Miller
Fish
Hanlon
Stevenson

Levitt
Jeggo
Newell

Vente
Doidge
Obita

13-08-2023, 12:47 PM
Decent line up

13-08-2023, 12:48 PM
Bench - Boruc, Alf, Boyle, Henderson, Melkerson, Delferrier, Megwa, McAlister, Harbottle

13-08-2023, 12:48 PM
No Boyle or Youan.

Interesting. Presumably they're on the bench?

13-08-2023, 12:49 PM
No Boyle or Youan.

Interesting. Presumably they're on the bench?

No Youan at all

Bench - Boruc, Alf, Boyle, Henderson, Melkerson, Delferrier, Megwa, McAlister, Harbottle

Youan dropped altogether. That's a surprise.

Mikey_1875
Looks more like a 3-5-2 to me. Not the best team and Youan must be injured. We have no idea how the players have came out of Thursdays match though so need to trust LJ on it.

No Campbell at all either

Crunchie
13-08-2023, 12:50 PM
I'd rather he'd rested Hanlon and Lewey, I hope he's made the right decision.

……….……..Marshall………..

……Fish……Hanlon….Stevenson….

Miller…….Jeggo….Newell….Obita..

…………………Levitt…..

……..….Doidge……..Vente…..

???

Don’t know who plays on the right if it’s a 442/443.

Could be a diamond.

Youan got a knock?

Youan must be injured?

13-08-2023, 12:51 PM

But he’s in the Hibs instagram story going into the changing room.

No JDH in the squad either.

Weird.

13-08-2023, 12:51 PM
Maybe Youan was injured on Thursday. Presumed it was tactical

13-08-2023, 12:52 PM
That’s a more than decent enough first eleven to get a win at fir park but with an eye on Thursday night. That team could start midweek. Hope we are at it from the off.

But he’s in the Hibs instagram story going into the changing room.

No JDH in the squad either.

Weird.

We must be testing them for Thursday.

No JDH, Campbell or Youan?? Must all have knocks
??

It’s a squad game so here’s hoping we start to see a stronger mix of players. Still got decent options coming off the bench…mainly in the attacking sense.

13-08-2023, 12:53 PM
I think Campbell could be away

13-08-2023, 12:55 PM
Me too. He should be on the bench.

Paul1642
13-08-2023, 12:56 PM

Surely carrying a knock. I was a bit surprised he went of at half time on Thursday as although he wasn’t playing great, nor was he having a terrible game. Can’t see any other reason he wouldn’t be at least on the bench. Who comes on for Obita if he’s knackered at the end?

JamesHFC
13-08-2023, 12:57 PM

Injured.

13-08-2023, 12:59 PM
Surely carrying a knock. I was a bit surprised he went of at half time on Thursday as although he wasn’t playing great, nor was he having a terrible game. Can’t see any other reason he wouldn’t be at least on the bench. Who comes on for Obita if he’s knackered at the end?

Henderson.

Surprised Melkersen is on the bench, apparently leaving soon.

13-08-2023, 01:01 PM

Delferierre or Henderson?

13-08-2023, 01:03 PM
Happy with that selection. Glad he’s kept changes to a minimum.

13-08-2023, 01:06 PM
Happy with that selection. Glad he’s kept changes to a minimum.

The number and nature of the changes seem sensible.

It’s a team selection that makes sense to me, although even as a big Hamlin and Stevenson fan I wonder how they’re going to continue to cope with this amount of football? Maybe they’re in line to be taken off if the game pans out the way we hope?

Up-the-slope
13-08-2023, 01:08 PM
I'd rather he'd rested Hanlon and Lewey, I hope he's made the right decision.

I think they are at the age where playing regular and reduced training probably keeps them in better shape (barring injuries)

Hibees1973
13-08-2023, 01:09 PM

Why.

Who wants him. Rumours on here that he is away for £1m plus are fantasy.

More likely he has been dropped after is aberration in last week's game against St Mirren and has done little in training to merit being picked.

13-08-2023, 01:09 PM
Youan injured or dropped 🤔?

13-08-2023, 01:10 PM

It’s a team selection that makes sense to me, although even as a big Hamlin and Stevenson fan I wonder how they’re going to continue to cope with this amount of football? Maybe they’re in line to be taken off if the game pans out the way we hope?

Stevenson seems to be a really fit boy and Paul Hanlon still our best CB. I’d hope and expect both are well able to cope with games coming thick and fast at this stage of the season.

13-08-2023, 01:10 PM
Why.

Who wants him. Rumours on here that he is away for £1m plus are fantasy.

More likely he has been dropped after is aberration in last week's game against St Mirren and has done little in training to merit being picked.

He picked up an injury against St Mirren. We could afford to have him carrying it on the bench on Thursday because of the numbers we were allowed.

13-08-2023, 01:15 PM
A win today gains us some decent spots in the league. Currently 2nd bottom.

BlackSheep
13-08-2023, 01:15 PM
A win today gains us some decent spots in the league. Currently 2nd bottom.

Erm…. we’ve played 1 game FFS

13-08-2023, 01:16 PM
Erm…. we’ve played 1 game FFS

I know that.

Hibees1973
13-08-2023, 01:17 PM
Kettlewell did a proper job on Johnson in our last game with them at ER last season.

Was a very easy 3-1 win for them.

Hope that they no longer have Van Veen and we now have Vente will swing it our way.

Need a win today as we don't want to be 6 points behind St Mirren and possibly the Yam so early.

jws1875
13-08-2023, 01:19 PM

Been carrying a shoulder injury since the 2nd leg of the Inter game.

Hibees1973
13-08-2023, 01:19 PM
Any word what's wrong with Youan?

Know he was very poor on Thursday and is inconsistent but will need his pace to stretch Luzern on Thursday.

13-08-2023, 01:24 PM
No Youan at all I think that is deserved for the way he went about the game on Thursday.

Paul1642
13-08-2023, 01:25 PM
Delferierre or Henderson?

Which surely suggests Youan is injured rather than dropped. LJ knows the pressure is still on him and putting on Hendonof Delferierre to chance a goal wouldn’t fill my with half as much confidence and Youan.

Paul1642
13-08-2023, 01:28 PM
I think that is deserved for the way he went about the game on Thursday.

I really don’t think he was that bad. He wasn’t at his best but nor was terrible. He was still putting in high effort trying to make something happen. Just poor decision making at times.

13-08-2023, 01:30 PM
I really don’t think he was that bad. He wasn’t at his best but nor was terrible. He was still putting in high effort trying to make something happen. Just poor decision making at times.

He’s had worse performances and started the next game. Convinced he’s injured today.

13-08-2023, 01:31 PM

Massive Hamlin fan.

13-08-2023, 01:32 PM
Which surely suggests Youan is injured rather than dropped. LJ knows the pressure is still on him and putting on Hendonof Delferierre to chance a goal wouldn’t fill my with half as much confidence and Youan.

Yeah, surely injured rather than dropped out of the squad completely.

13-08-2023, 01:32 PM
Aye I wouldn’t say his performance on Thursday merits him being dropped completely

I’d be surprised if that’s the case, maybe injured

13-08-2023, 01:38 PM
Pretty sure I spotted Youan going into the dressing room with the team. Would he be travelling and kitted out if he was injured?

13-08-2023, 01:40 PM
Massive Hamlin fan.

Back in action after his heart problems. Delighted for him.

13-08-2023, 01:41 PM
Pretty sure I spotted Youan going into the dressing room with the team. Would he be travelling and kitted out if he was injured?

He certainly wouldn't be if he was dropped.

Very strange.

13-08-2023, 01:44 PM
Decent enough team for today. Let's hope we start positively.

Hibees1973
13-08-2023, 01:50 PM
Hibs main attacking strength is when Boyle & Youan (but only when he is playing with some sense) are running at full backs then looking to find whoever is the centre forward.

With our formation today and the options we have, sadly I can only see us playing route one.

Unlikely to be a good watch today, but after a bad opening defeat a win is crucial today.

Donegal Hibby
13-08-2023, 01:53 PM
Cmon the HIBEES :flag:

13-08-2023, 01:59 PM
Hibs main attacking strength is when Boyle & Youan (but only when he is playing with some sense) are running at full backs then looking to find whoever is the centre forward.

With our formation today and the options we have, sadly I can only see us playing route one.

Unlikely to be a good watch today, but after a bad opening defeat a win is crucial today.

I agree that Boyle and Youan offer something different to the rest of the squad but we managed to score 3 good goals in 45 mins against Luzern, none of which were assists from Boyle/Youan. We need to develop ways of winning games/scoring goals without being over reliant on those guys. We’ve been far too one dimensional in the past relying on Martin and Ellie creating something from nothing. Saying that, when fit and in form I’d always want them in my starting XI tho!

badabing67
13-08-2023, 01:59 PM
Playing in Purple today

Cat Stanton
13-08-2023, 02:00 PM
He certainly wouldn't be if he was dropped.

Very strange.

Johnson just interviewed in sportsound. Mentioned being stretched by injuries, and reeled off names including Campbell. But no mention of Youan at all.

13-08-2023, 02:01 PM
Lack of pace in the team between Youan and Boyle.

Hope we have enough creativity

MagicSwirlingShip
13-08-2023, 02:02 PM
Anyway to listen to this? Only getting the Jumbos game on Bbc sounds

13-08-2023, 02:03 PM
For anyone watching…..how are we lining up?

13-08-2023, 02:04 PM
Anyway to listen to this? Only getting the Jumbos game on Bbc sounds

hibs tv. audio only of course.

13-08-2023, 02:05 PM
No JDH, Youan or Campbell, can't all be injured surely.

I'd love to watch the game but my stick provider is pish, Hearts game is on two of the channels but again no Hibs.

13-08-2023, 02:06 PM
No JDH, Youan or Campbell, can't all be injured surely.

I'd love to watch the game but my stick provider is pish, Hearts game is on two of the channels but again no Hibs.

Keep trying. It's fine here.

Bridge hibs
Lack of pace in the team between Youan and Boyle.

Hope we have enough creativityWe are but Obita and Vente are no slouches though

Is it through Motherwell TV?

Hfc_Since1875
13-08-2023, 02:07 PM

Looks like 3-5-2 to me

Fish hanlon Stevenson

Miller jeggo newell obita

Levitt

Vente Doidge

13-08-2023, 02:07 PM

That’s what I’m getting, no Hibs TV option for me.

13-08-2023, 02:08 PM

352 imo

Hfc_Since1875
13-08-2023, 02:09 PM
Wonder if the 3-5-2 is with Thursday night in mind

NC1875

Mine has about 4 different options for hibs and Motherwell and none of them are working. Apparently Hearts game not working either.

SpFl blocking the signals is the story I was given.

I can watch it ;)

13-08-2023, 02:10 PM

It was Hibs TV but it's just gone down.

13-08-2023, 02:11 PM
The picture is back but no sound.

13-08-2023, 02:11 PM
Not sure there’s been much good build up play

Musselbound
13-08-2023, 02:12 PM
Johnson just interviewed in sportsound. Mentioned being stretched by injuries, and reeled off names including Campbell. But no mention of Youan at all.

Yeah think he mentioned JDH as well but not Youan which I find quite concerning.

13-08-2023, 02:12 PM
Mine has about 4 different options for hibs and Motherwell and none of them are working. Apparently Hearts game not working either.

SpFl blocking the signals is the story I was given.

Not sure how they would manage that. As the hooky feeds just come off legitimate feeds or foreign broadcasts.

13-08-2023, 02:14 PM
Passing slack from both teams

Youan has been pretty poor this season, by his standards. Maybe he just needs a boot up the bum

Levitt, Jeggo and Newell all playing too much on top of each other imo.

Need one to stretch it

13-08-2023, 02:16 PM
The picture is back but no sound.

Working fine for me.

Not missing much. :greengrin

lugz
13-08-2023, 02:17 PM
Wonder if the 3-5-2 is with Thursday night in mind

This is my biggest concern for Thursday that we're going to go ultra defensive. For me we should be going over there looking to score.

13-08-2023, 02:17 PM
Working fine for me.

Not missing much. :greengrin

Standard Scottish fare

13-08-2023, 02:18 PM
That’s what I’m getting, no Hibs TV option for me.

My server did away with individual teams tv, only got SPFL channels 1-6 and they're all over the place, 2 channels with Hearts on it, no Hibs or Motherwell tv..

13-08-2023, 02:18 PM
It’s pretty clear we’ve not got a big enough squad to do Thursday and Sundays. Unsurprisingly

The Captain....
13-08-2023, 02:19 PM
Pretty scrappy so far but we look comfortable enough

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

Not a fan of playing Hanlon in the middle of a 3.

We really need to step up a gear, both teams cancelling each other out

MagicSwirlingShip
It’s pretty clear we’ve not got a big enough squad to do Thursday and Sundays. Unsurprisingly

Our squad is big enough.

13-08-2023, 02:21 PM
Our squad is big enough.

I probably should’ve said enough quality in the overall squad

Our squad is big enough.

In terms of numbers, yes.

In terms of quality, no.

Found the game now, it's on my stick but in the Championship section, trying to tell us something. :greengrin

13-08-2023, 02:22 PM
We need to stop these aimless punts forward

13-08-2023, 02:22 PM
My server did away with individual teams tv, only got SPFL channels 1-6 and they're all over the place, 2 channels with Hearts on it, no Hibs or Motherwell tv..

My guys usually good, still have all the individual club channels. Would have preferred Hibs TV today but Motherwell TV guys are pretty inoffensive. Though tbf there’s not been much to talk about so far today. All a bit meh at the moment.

13-08-2023, 02:23 PM
very healthy away support

JammyDoidger
13-08-2023, 02:23 PM
Not a fan of playing Hanlon in the middle of a 3.

Strange not to give Harbottle a run out when playing a back 3 like.

13-08-2023, 02:26 PM
If there's anything worse than a game with limited action, it's the commentators reminding me it's of limited action every 5 seconds.

Hillsidehibby
My guys usually good, still have all the individual club channels. Would have preferred Hibs TV today but Motherwell TV guys are pretty inoffensive. Though tbf there’s not been much to talk about so far today. All a bit meh at the moment.

Hibs TV working ok for me

Up-the-slope
where is bbc radio for game link for well v hibs is playing Jumbos game?

We’ve absolutely no pace in the team without boyle or youan in there

13-08-2023, 02:27 PM
Stevenson needs to release the ball forward quicker

No audio for me. Ref is a fud getting 50/50's wrong all over the park.

Strange not to give Harbottle a run out when playing a back 3 like.

Especially when he said he wanted to rest people but we don't know what he's like in training.

13-08-2023, 02:28 PM
If there's anything worse than a game with limited action, it's the commentators reminding me it's of limited action every 5 seconds.

Luckily I have no commentary so I’m re-creating my usual home game but shouting “I’ll get that” every time a Motherwell player kicks the ball out. Just like the bloke behind me does every single game, every single time

Is there any channel showing the game? Got Hibs TV audio on but would be nice to get video on.

Stevenson absolutely done by slattery

13-08-2023, 02:29 PM
Luckily I have no commentary so I’m re-creating my usual home game but shouting “I’ll get that” every time a Motherwell player kicks the ball out. Just like the bloke behind me does every single game, every single time

You should start shouting it. See if he takes the hint.

Cat Stanton
13-08-2023, 02:29 PM
We need to stop these aimless punts forward
Do you mind? Those are the manager's only tactics you're talking about...

13-08-2023, 02:30 PM
No audio for me. Ref is a fud getting 50/50's wrong all over the park.
For both sides too I should add. Go to ground and you get a foul with this guy.

13-08-2023, 02:30 PM
Stevenson absolutely done by slattery

Don’t forget to mention the times Lewis did defend correctly, just for balance like

13-08-2023, 02:31 PM
Who’s commentating with Cliff.

You should start shouting it. See if he takes the hint.

Or, “on you go then”

Don’t forget to mention the times Lewis did defend correctly, just for balance like

Why would I do that

13-08-2023, 02:32 PM
Why would I do that

Cos it doesn’t fit your agenda??

HendoDelivered
13-08-2023, 02:32 PM

Kev harper

HendoDelivered
13-08-2023, 02:33 PM
Love how aggressive miller is

badabing67

Kevin Harper I think

We’re so slow going forward, zero pace in our build up play, not getting anywhere

Trying the long ball to Doidge too often, particularly Lewis who has clearly been told do it. Get it down and pass it.

Might work eventually but not a great tactic so far.

Cos it doesn’t fit your agenda??

Correct. My “agenda” 😂

13-08-2023, 02:34 PM
where is bbc radio for game link for well v hibs is playing Jumbos game?

There’s a link with the audio symbol and “listen live” on the bbc sportscotland website. Click on the link and it takes you to the hertz game. Nothing live on BBC for our game. Maybe not a huge surprise 🙄

Greenio
Lacking some runners

Crunchie
Don't hold your breath, 99% of his posts are negative, even when we're winning.

13-08-2023, 02:35 PM

Hahaha. I’m popular today

Still. Let's not ruin a perfectly good match thread by making it all about one poster...

This has been absolute ****

Kev harper

He needs to cheer up a bit. :greengrin

StarMan10
13-08-2023, 02:36 PM
Been an overall poor game so far. Neither team able to do anything in the final third.

13-08-2023, 02:36 PM
Any chance of a shot on target?

13-08-2023, 02:37 PM
35 minutes in and don’t think there has been a shot on goal from either team.

Crunchie
13-08-2023, 02:37 PM
Hahaha. I’m popular today
Nah, you're consistent though.

JammyDoidger
13-08-2023, 02:38 PM
We don't like a good first half do we, that's 3 games in a row brutal in the first half.

Been an overall poor game so far. Neither team able to do anything in the final third.

Two teams knowing exactly how each other will play

Nah, you're consistent though.

Concentrate on the match chief

I would love to see Hibs team that can change 3-4 players and still play wit the intensity we had on Thursday, it just shows we're 3-4 players short of a decent squad that can compete week in week out.

We could do with Newell playing more advanced and trying to make us tick and play forward. All side to side in front of the back 4 so far. in the role he's being asked to play. Need someone to take responsibility in there and provide the link.

13-08-2023, 02:39 PM
Still. Let's not ruin a perfectly good match thread by making it all about one poster...

Again. :cb :greengrin

We don't like a good first half do we, that's 3 games in a row brutal in the first half.

we weren’t that bad in the first half against luzern!

Game has went as expected with the line up and players on the park imo.

Lack of pace, 3 centre mids who want to come deep and no one stretching the game

badabing67
13-08-2023, 02:40 PM
That looked a foul to me

13-08-2023, 02:41 PM
Surprised no var there

Can’t believe they had to even give that a second look lol

There’s no danger that’s a pen

VAR check for that??

****ing waste of time

13-08-2023, 02:42 PM
Var checking penalty.
No penalty

Mental they took that long, was clear as day

Hibees1973
Three weeks still left in the transfer window.

Would be a result if we get a sell on fee for Doig but time is running out on this to get players the recruitment team really want. Desperately need to move on a few cos when I look at the bench, apart from Boyle, there is zero threat.

If we get past Luzern, Johnson should get credit for progressing. However, long term we still need to move 4 or 5 out and get much better quality in. We need more players of the calibre of Vente. New players able to replace the weak positions in the team.

badabing67
Got away with that

Concentrate on the match chief

How can you concentrate on the match when you are posting on the match day thread?

I'm relying on this thread to keep me updated on the game and all I'm getting is petty squabbles.

The Captain....
This is abysmal so far in terms of quality. Won't really care if we can get a win.

13-08-2023, 02:43 PM
motherwell header off the bar

How can you concentrate on the match when you are posting on the match day thread?

I'm relying on this thread to keep me updated on the game and all I'm getting is petty squabbles.

I’ve been posting about the match mate, it’s been other posters who’ve started discussing me.

Got away with that one.

Motherwell hit the bar.

Lucky escape there with header off the bar.

Another free header in the box off the bar, this happens all too often, needs sorted.

13-08-2023, 02:44 PM
Three weeks still left in the transfer window.

Would be a result if we get a sell on fee for Doig but time is running out on this to get players the recruitment team really want. Desperately need to move on a few cos when I look at the bench, apart from Boyle, there is zero threat.

If we get past Luzern, Johnson should get credit for progressing. However, long term we still need to move 4 or 5 out and get much better quality in. We need more players of the calibre of Vente. New players able to replace the weak positions in the team.

Yeah, we're defo still feeling the effects of those twelve months of crazy recruitment where we brought in the likes of Mueller, Tavares, Melkersen, Hauge, Balde, Emmanuel Johnson, Henderson, Mitchell and the like. A lot of players and a lot of wages to shift.

13-08-2023, 02:44 PM
Got away with that
No chance. Stood up and never even made a challenge.

Fuzzywuzzy
13-08-2023, 02:45 PM
Levitt looks as though he has shat out of going for a couple of balls that were winnable

13-08-2023, 02:46 PM
Even the Twitter guy must be bored. 4 updates in the entire first half.

Only real way of following the game today so assuming nothing is happening.

Helensburghhibs
No chance. Stood up and never even made a challenge.

Fish did but jeggo came in and caught him i thought

It’s been pretty dire

Paul1642
13-08-2023, 02:47 PM
Not to worry. We are a second half team these days :)

13-08-2023, 02:48 PM
Not to worry. We are a second half team these days :)

Seem to be, hoping for the same today!

Up-the-slope
There’s a link with the audio symbol and “listen live” on the bbc sportscotland website. Click on the link and it takes you to the hertz game. Nothing live on BBC for our game. Maybe not a huge surprise 🙄

correct.. Hearts game on bbc scotland / bbc sports extra / bbc orkney..... etc etc. as you not above even on link fo well v hibs... not even a seperate text update just joint one - appallingly poor

StarMan10
Levitt looks as though he has shat out of going for a couple of balls that were winnable

Hope it’s just a case of not having his lungs about him yet. Seen him blowing quite heavy a couple times midweek. Looks good on the ball but doesn’t look 100%.

The Captain....
Jeggo does a job defensively but it's a high price to pay cos he's pony on the ball..really poor.

Greenio
Well. Someone said it would be a dull game. It's been that and then some!

What subs/tactics changes would people make?

13-08-2023, 02:49 PM
Well that was absolute rank.

Very little quality on show

Would bring boyle on at half time

MartinfaePorty
Sportscene won't get many highlights from that half!

Motherwell hit the bar, apart from that it has been depressing to watch.

Absolute snoozefest.

Plenty of endeavour and energy but zero creativity.

Gonna take a set piece/pen to score.

13-08-2023, 02:50 PM
We're level, and if we can lift our game and get a couple of our key players on the ball to do something positive then we can only get better.

I've noticed it too, but think they were more down to hesitation in going for balls he could have got rather than bottling it

I’d be tempted to give Henderson a chance today.

A midfielder that will try support the strikers and pick up attacking positions (I tend to realise this is not what he did when I see him play 🤣)

That half was slower than a week in jail.

We desperately need some reinforcements - squad depth is just not there.

LJ also needs to get us some consistency. You just never know what Hibs team will turn up and sooner or later that'll be his downfall.

Johnson out.

Manager needs to make some changes here.

13-08-2023, 02:51 PM
In terms of both teams being poor, that’s a bad a half of football as I’ve seen in a while

Up-the-slope
I Spy with my little eye... something beginning with S

Paul1642
Other than ALF and Boyle there’s not much coming off the bench today.

Nodded off a couple of times during that... and I haven't even had a drink

A midfielder that will try support the strikers and pick up attacking positions (I tend to realise this is not what he did when I see him play 🤣)

Do you not remember his performance the last time he came off the bench at Motherwell?

He definitely has, aye.

Mikey_1875
Not great viewing but at least we have options to change it. It seems to me like the forwardd aren’t running the channels enough, especially when Miller gets on the ball he has no options.

Jeggo as we know has been so poor on the ball as well.

13-08-2023, 02:52 PM
Tell you what, the referee needs to stop blowing his whistle too. Every niggly wee touch is given as a foul, Scottish refs just kill games of football.

Look at the referee on Thu night, he was very good at letting the play continue and not giving silly wee fouls for nothing. The game was way better for it.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

Little between the teams who have both been fairly poor, all very industrious but with little class. Our midfield again is a problem with non of the 3 really pushing us forward or creating anything, tends to be long balls up the flanks and a cut inside, all easily dealt with.

HarpOnHibee
We haven't even had a single effort on goal. It's been huff puff and hoof. Do they even know what they're doing or why they're there? :confused:

Both Boyle and ALF were warming up just before the break. Perhaps a change up top.

hibee316
Johnson out.

Good advice during a boring game. Wouldn't recommend doing it in public though...

A sufferingsupport ?

13-08-2023, 02:54 PM
Both Boyle and ALF were warming up just before the break. Perhaps a change up top.

Hopefully

Boyle would at least inject some pace into it

Boyle and Le Fondre coming on

Good advice during a boring game. Wouldn't recommend doing it in public though...

ALF and Boyle coming on.

ALF and Boyler called from the half time.e warm up

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

Substitutes, I hope

13-08-2023, 02:55 PM
Didn't realise Doidge was playing until the commentator mentioned his name for a foul against him, that sort of summed up the game for me.

Newcastlehibby

:faf::faf::faf::faf:

badabing67

I f#@king hope not.

Up-the-slope
A sufferingsupport ?

nope (well technically aye but not the right one :greengrin)

JammyDoidger
13-08-2023, 02:56 PM
Maybe we were practicing our defensive game for Thursday, second half we will batter them..wishful thinking.

🤣

I'm a Joe Newell fan but a day like today is where I get the criticism. If he's not taking the game on, going box to box and playing us forward then who will. Strolling around side to side today. Maybe that's on the manager the job he's being asked to do. But there is zero link between middle to front.

Maybe sacrifice Doidge and get another body in there.

Up-the-slope
Substitutes, I hope

Nope (but hopefully yes)

StarMan10
13-08-2023, 02:57 PM
Luzern playing Young Boys today. Looks like they’ve made 6 changes from Thursday.

Didn't realise Doidge was playing until the commentator mentioned his name for a foul against him, that sort of summed up the game for me.

He’s been poor. Puts himself about but his use of the ball is poor.

I've noticed it too, but think they were more down to hesitation in going for balls he could have got rather than bottling itThat last one he shat it

Stanton Spence
13-08-2023, 02:59 PM
That last one he shat it

I noticed it tae twice he pulled out out of a challenge he could have maybe won

Tha Cabbage Kid
13-08-2023, 02:59 PM
Luzern playing Young Boys today. Looks like they’ve made 6 changes from Thursday.

are young boys the best team in that league?

13-08-2023, 03:00 PM
correct.. Hearts game on bbc scotland / bbc sports extra / bbc orkney..... etc etc. as you not above even on link fo well v hibs... not even a seperate text update just joint one - appallingly poor

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/66419886

Try that

That last one he shat it

That was the one were the big defender was charging at the loose ball in the centre circle, yes he bottled that one.

That last one he shat it

He was also nowehere close to getting there in time, right decision not to dive in imo

13-08-2023, 03:01 PM
Maybe we were practicing our defensive game for Thursday, second half we will batter them..wishful thinking.
Not sure if you jest but I think that’s exactly the side that will start on Thursday and exactly what’s behind it today.

13-08-2023, 03:01 PM
I'd be interested to see the possession stats for the first half.

Possession must be fairly even which is pretty good for us away from home I think.

We've not created anything though but apart from the header which hit the bar, neither have Motherwell.

My feed was patchy, but from what I saw, Newell had a decent first half, Doidge is winning a lot in the air, and Stevenson and Hanlon were their dependable selves. I actually thought Jeggo's passing was fine although someone has said differently.

I'm not sure what changes I'd make, but we could do with a bit more spark and creativity.

Hibees1973
13-08-2023, 03:02 PM
Well. Someone said it would be a dull game. It's been that and then some!

What subs/tactics changes would people make?

I'm very happy 0-0 at half time. We have been well organised defensively and efficient. Very much unlike a Johnson team, so I'm pleasantly surprised.

Don't know what others expect, but with that 1st team it was never going to be a great watch. Very boring. Zero pace in the team.

I wouldn't make any changes just now. I would keep Boyle on the bench, if as Johnson has said he has already played him against medical advice. An injury to Boyle would be crippling and would totally negate a win here. Only other changes I would make at 60 mins is bring Newell off and bring on McAllister. Also, bring off Vente to be replaced by Le Fondre. We must have Boyle, Newell and Vente in the team on Thurdsay if we want to get through. Others on the bench such as Melkersen & Henderson have had plenty of chances and really shouldn't be Hibs players.

My expectation prior to this game is Hibs would lose, as nowhere near enough has been done for us able to cope with games midweek and weekend.

Up-the-slope
13-08-2023, 03:02 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/66419886

Try that

:aok: thats at least the separate text updates

13-08-2023, 03:03 PM
Is Vente playing through the middle or is he out wide?

If we play 2 with Doidge and Vente we need to get the ball into their feet, rarely rarely happened.

Just signed a striker that’s scored a load, let’s use him.

Motherwell v Hibernian
Possession
Home50% Away50%
Shots
Home4 Away1
Shots on Target
Home0 Away0
Corners
Home3 Away1
Fouls
Home7 Away6

I'd be interested to see the possession stats for the first half.

Possession must be fairly even which is pretty good for us away from home I think.

We've not created anything though but apart from the header which hit the bar, neither have Motherwell.

My feed was patchy, but from what I saw, Newell had a decent first half, Doidge is winning a lot in the air, and Stevenson and Hanlon were their dependable selves. I actually thought Jeggo's pasding was fine although someone has said differently.

I'm not sure what changes I'd make, but we could do with a bit more spark and creativity.
Live score has us at 49% to their 51%. But we were ahead for the first half hour.

Little between the teams who have both been fairly poor, all very industrious but with little class. Our midfield again is a problem with non of the 3 really pushing us forward or creating anything, tends to be long balls up the flanks and a cut inside, all easily dealt with.

Poor stuff. Motherwell don't look any better great opportunity for three points. Have we given up playing out from the back. Every goal kick long, every ball from Lewis and Paul long. Need to be braver in the middle and at least try now and again to play through it.

13-08-2023, 03:04 PM
Levitt off for Boyle.

Vente off for ALF

Not sure if you jest but I think that’s exactly the side that will start on Thursday and exactly what’s behind it today.

Surely the league is more important, as LJ said, it’s our bread and butter

Boyle and ALF on, Vente and Levitt off

Levitt and Vente off, Boyle and ALF on

Boyle and ALF for Levitt and Vente

Why is Vente off?

:confused::confused:

Paul1642
13-08-2023, 03:05 PM
A few weeks ago I certainly didn’t think that we would see Dodige and ALF on the pitch at the same time this season. Could be interesting.

Would have taken Doidge off, not Vente. Give him more game time.

Wull
I just hope this game is no on the telly, a very sad affair for a lovely Sunday afternoon

Why is Vente off?

:confused::confused:

Keep him fresh for Thursday

Up-the-slope

OK give up?.... Squirrel... Ran across my lawn

dar
50% for each according to bbc.
Motherwell 4 shots to Hibs 1. None on target

Paul1642
13-08-2023, 03:06 PM
Would have taken Doidge off, not Vente. Give him more game time.

Can only be fitness.

Surely the league is more important, as LJ said, it’s our bread and butter
Yes but if the tactic suits both ( and it does) it’s probably the correct thing to do. A sneaked 1-0 or even 0-0 at fir park with our defensive frailties the game before we need to defend for our lives midweek ain’t no bad thing.

early chance for motherwell, marshall gathers

13-08-2023, 03:07 PM
Yes but if the tactic suits both ( and it does) it’s probably the correct thing to do. A sneaked 1-0 or even 0-0 at fir park with our defensive frailties the game before we need to defend for our lives midweek ain’t no bad thing.

Yeah suppose so

13-08-2023, 03:08 PM
Honestly wish we’d stop punting. Absolute hoofball pish.

13-08-2023, 03:09 PM
Obita has offered nothing on the left

13-08-2023, 03:09 PM
:greengrin:top marks

13-08-2023, 03:10 PM
Honestly wish we’d stop punting. Absolute hoofball pish.

Midweek another false dawn?!

The Captain....
13-08-2023, 03:11 PM
Been like watching 80s Wimbledon today with the punts up the park and long throw ins. Absolute pish.

13-08-2023, 03:11 PM
After a load of stuttering and screen freezes, I now have picture but no sound, still a shi te game though.

13-08-2023, 03:12 PM
1 goals winning this either way

13-08-2023, 03:12 PM
At least the LiveScore will waken me up if anything happens and I’ll still have time to watch it

13-08-2023, 03:13 PM
Any idea why Levitt went off, he's meant to be our star midfield signing, so far he's shown very little in any of our games, and been hooked at half time in 2 of them.

13-08-2023, 03:14 PM
Any idea why Levitt went off, he's meant to be our star midfield signing, so far he's shown very little in any of our games, and been hooked at half time in 2 of them.

I thought he was really good in midweek. Not great today tbf.

13-08-2023, 03:15 PM
🥱🥱🥱

Went to see Meg 2 earlier. Brilliant. If you want to see Jason Statham punching a big fish, then it's great entertainment.

Nice to have this to take the edge off the fun and excitement.

This is dire.

One Hibs shot the whole game.

Bridge hibs
13-08-2023, 03:16 PM
Did I just see Andy Walker reading from his notes and saying hibs have taken off Danish Striker Vente who they signed from Odense ? 🤣

This is dire.

Wouldn't say it's that good.

Hibees1973
Been like watching 80s Wimbledon today with the punts up the park and long throw ins. Absolute pish.

Exactly.

No point in Newell playing. Bring him off now, an injury to him would be a disaster.

I fully understand we need to look at the big picture but to get the chance to play Villa (know we will get completed horsed), would bring a huge financial boost and we could buy 2 or 3 quality players off the back of it.