View Full Version : Match Updates Motherwell v Hibernian
I thought he was really good in midweek. Not great today tbf.
I get that but he's got to show more, it can't be fitness issue now as he's been clear of concussion for a good while now, Thursday they were all good but they all need to show that desire every game, not just when they feel like it.
Bridge hibs
13-08-2023, 03:17 PM
Any idea why Levitt went off, he's meant to be our star midfield signing, so far he's shown very little in any of our games, and been hooked at half time in 2 of them.
Played well v Luzern
So done with this long ball pish.
Another absolutely painful watch from LJ’s Hibs.
**** me how much space did Motherwell have there
Another game where the opposition are given free reign to kick us without caution.
Any idea why Levitt went off, he's meant to be our star midfield signing, so far he's shown very little in any of our games, and been hooked at half time in 2 of them.
LJ mentioned after Bournemouth friendly that he was struggling a bit fitness wise maybe just being managed a bit
13-08-2023, 03:18 PM
inches past the post, how on earth did the motherwell player get so much space over on the left
badabing67
Jeggo booked again
From the highs of Thursday back to down to earth and watching two poor teams.
I do not enjoy watching Jimmy Jeggo play football, to be honest.
Another absolutely painful watch from LJ’s Hibs.
Unreal how different we can look from one game to the next
This is has been absolutely ****ing terrible
This has been shocking. We are just booting the ball up the park.
15 minutes Boyles been on the pitch and we’ve not got it to his feet once
JamesHFC
Youan & Boyle not starting I think this was to be expected. Motherwell first home game and a solid outfit since Kettlewell took over. A lot fresher than our team. Didn't expect a brilliant game today, win would be fantastic, a draw wouldn't be the end of the world.
13-08-2023, 03:19 PM
Jeggo getting his match day yellow
The Captain....
Switched it over...it's that bad it's annoying me.
Hopefully we grab a goal and snatch a win from this excuse for football.
Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk
Jeggo's 18th yellow card
of this season
2 passes right through the middle, thankfully the Motherwell player had his boots on the wrong feet and Jeggo gets his customary yellow.
supermcginn
The subs at half time will have been pre planned to split the minutes before Thursday.
Jeggo booked again
To be fair Jeggo and Miller have made tackles no worse than the last two Motherwell fouls but got booked for them
I get that but he's got to show more, it can't be fitness issue now as he's been clear of concussion for a good while now, Thursday they were all good but they all need to show that desire every game, not just when they feel like it.
Don’t disagree.
I expected a bit of a hangover from Thursday but this has been utter pish today.
13-08-2023, 03:20 PM
It's was always going to be flat after the high of Thursday. Hopefully we can nick something but fancy a Motherwell win.
13-08-2023, 03:21 PM
Doidge just over
Finally won a header in there
I think there have been about 3 more obvious bookings than the Jeggo one in the last 5 or 10 minutes. We seem to get booked for every foul but they can come in late, chase the goalie to stop a quick throw out and no action
doidge just over from miller throw in
Exactly.
No point in Newell playing. Bring him off now, an injury to him would be a disaster.
I fully understand we need to look at the big picture but to get the chance to play Villa (know we will get completed horsed), would bring a huge financial boost and we could buy 2 or 3 quality players off the back of it.
Where is the financial boost coming from? We’ll get a good crowd for the home leg but that’s it. It’s not going to fund three players.
LJ mentioned after Bournemouth friendly that he was struggling a bit fitness wise maybe just being managed a bit
Jeez, Bournemouth was a few weeks ago.
13-08-2023, 03:22 PM
commentary changes to cliff
13-08-2023, 03:22 PM
****ing hell hibs. We had the chance to play the ball on the deck but constantly looking for long balls
Play on the ground!!
13-08-2023, 03:23 PM
We haven't got any other attacking options on the bench. Henderson and Melkersen would be as well in the stand. Shows we still need a couple more additions.
Ah well, think I’ll swap to Chelsea v Liverpool in the hope of seeing a football game break out
Where is the financial boost coming from? We’ll get a good crowd for the home leg but that’s it. It’s not going to fund three players.
£850k for getting to the next round I heard.
Up-the-slope
13-08-2023, 03:24 PM
I wish Killie would score or McIness punch the Hearts YTS trainee manager just to give some degree of excitement
commentary changes to cliff
How to make a bad game worse
There it is.
Game over.
This game has been absolutely stinking.
There’s no way we win this.
Motherwell will score.
fs jitter freeze jitter freeze :(
badabing67
F@#k sake Hibs
1 nil Well
Ugh
JammyDoidger
Gtf man.
There we are.
Total ****. We are dreadful.
We haven't got any other attacking options on the bench. Henderson and Melkersen would be as well in the stand. Shows we still need a couple more additions.
To be fair we made two excellent subs at HT and they have made zero difference.
skyehibee
Stevenson ffs
13-08-2023, 03:25 PM
not too much a surprise really
There it is
Stevenson absolutely done, again. But maybe that’s just my agenda
badabing67
Motherwell will score.
You Jinxed it
Motherwell will score.
Right on time
dalkeith stu
2nd week running the ref has been atrocious!! This isn't the consistency we are crying out for!!
NC1875
Streaky Lee strikes again
How predictable.
Woeful from Stevenson that.
In a stalemate game like this its never us that scores.
Fuzzywuzzy
**** me
Deary me. 1-0
Spending more time on the phone than watching the game... and there it is... a bit of excitement... but at the wrong end 🙄
Brutal from Stevenson, said that too many times this season already
Stevenson lol
Berwickhibby
Again poor defending
**** sake. Not looked like scoring either, likely be game done.
That’s game over as well by the way
There’s no chance we’re going to start creating
Cant complain we have been crap
Paul1642
13-08-2023, 03:26 PM
Bloody hell Stevenson
Exactly what our tactics and performance so far deserves. We are awful today
HendoDelivered
Ffs.
Hard to see us scoring tbh, could play all night and still not score
supermcginn
Stevenson is dreadful, absolutely horrendous goal to lose
Thursday night was the exception, not the rule. Lee Johnson has one of the most expensive Hibs teams in decades playing some absolutely atrocious stuff.
Again poor defending
Our mantra for way too long now
Just absolutely cannot be arsed with this Lee Johnson hibs team
Thursdays all good and well but to then come out and play like this? ****ing terrible.
Thought Stevenson was playing well today, then he does that.:rolleyes:
Lewis sold it. Rest of the defence was pish. Maybe a goal is what it will take for is to do something. Rather see 1-1 that 0-0.
Lilian Gish
Get Melkerson on and go three up front now
13-08-2023, 03:27 PM
£850k for getting to the next round I heard.
Euros I think rather than £ but not bad plus a big crowd and whatever we can sell the home leg tv rights for.
Greenio
Feel joe got the ball there
New left back a priority now
Thought Stevenson was playing well today, then he does that.:rolleyes:
Jeggo snoozing as well.
I love Lewis but him being first choice still is mental.
badabing67
How was Newell's tackle a foul
Didn't look a foul from Newell and another booking
Silky
Feel joe got the ball there
He did.
The Captain....
13-08-2023, 03:28 PM
We are absolutely ****.
Helensburghhibs
How we have jeggo in the middle instead of levitt is mind boggling, sitting watching the game pass him by as usual
Been a great servant to the club, but we can't afford his inconsistencies now
Johnson booked?
You could bet your life this was going to happen, Hibs hate building you up then kick you in the baws the next game.
What is our plan? Again looking like 11 individuals. LJ going on about midfield rotations but getting nothing from anybody. Far far too many of these types of performances.
What happened to the spirit of Thursday ☹
Euros I think rather than £ but not bad plus a big crowd and whatever we can sell the home leg tv rights for.
Think uefa control tv rights now. We just get what we get from each round.
Thursday night was the exception, not the rule. Lee Johnson has one of the most expensive Hibs teams in decades playing some absolutely atrocious stuff.
Careful. You’ll be accused of having an agenda.
I thought starting 11 was fine, but yet again we are poor, no intensity and have created heehaw. Is that down to the players or the manager ?
Greenio
Henderson coming on
13-08-2023, 03:29 PM
Hendo'll sort it.
Henderson coming on to sort everything out
Henderson coming on
That is the boost this side needed
Johnson booked?
Thought it was a red card offence personally 😜
Poor poor poor. Like watching a different team today unfortunately.
jamie_1875
The most disappointing thing is we are supposed to sign players that strengthen the first team, we are still starting with guys like Hanlon, Stevenson and Dodge. Didn't we start last Sunday with not a single new player?
Still 20 minutes to go but already from our two league games you can just tell it's the same old, one week in 4 we will be good. The rest of the time poor.
Hendo'll sort it.
🙄
13-08-2023, 03:30 PM
Mediocre off... mediocre on
Poor poor poor. Like watching a different team today unfortunately.
Par for the course with “streaky Lee” in charge
Oh ****ing great, Henderson for Jeggo, it gets better.
Getting what we deserve here
13-08-2023, 03:31 PM
Henderson will deliver.
I’d rather have Henderson on than Jeggo when we’re already losing and in need of a goal.
Hibee Daft
Wouldnt mind Stevenson as a squad player for bit of depth but we need a first choice left back.
Obita seems more of a winger also
We should bring Boyle on
According to the BBC website we still have 1 point?????
This is Butcher-esque.
MagicSwirlingShip
Par for the course with “streaky Lee” in charge
A streak of wins would be nice 🤣 he struggles to put 2 together
Motherwells diving has been ridiculous today and the referee has bought it almost every time.
13-08-2023, 03:32 PM
Just back in the hoose and attempted to link to radio commentary on BBC. Folowed the link for Mortherwell vs Hibs and where does it lead? To Hearts vs Kilmarnock!!!
Insulting or what?!? Sick of being patronised by these *******s - end the license fee!
NB - doesn't look like I've been missing much :(
According to the BBC website we still have 1 point?????
Maybe a sympathy one.
Paul1642
Might as well make the final 2 subs. Can’t be snap worse than this.
The Captain....
Poor poor poor. Like watching a different team today unfortunately.It's like watching the usual team..last Thursday was a notable exception from the repititive pish LJ serves up.
badabing67
what was that
Trinity Hibee
13-08-2023, 03:33 PM
Motherwells diving has been ridiculous today and the referee has bought it almost every time.
That’s what I liked about the ref on Thursday. Didn’t take any crap.
three yellow cards, not a great day at the office
again
This is ****ing horrendous
Hanlons passing has been shocking today
13-08-2023, 03:34 PM
Can only pray we are the in market for a new left back. Stevenson is fine as a back-up/rotation option but he should not be starting every single game.
shots
9-2
on target
2-0
If this side is good at one thing it's taking the pace out of any possible attack. Everything ends up going backwards before being shelled up. Horrendous excuse for football.
This is Butcher-esque.
I’m not saying it’s this bad always, but today’s performance has absolutely been like something Butcher’s side would produce. Simply no willingness or ability to look after the ball, humping aimless punts at players who have no chance of winning it. Abject ****.
The fact we had a game in midweek shouldn’t be used as an excuse for today’s performance. Absolute garbage and it’s why Johnson will continue to get stick.
13-08-2023, 03:35 PM
I’m not saying it’s this bad always, but today’s performance has absolutely been like something Butcher’s side would produce. Simply no willingness or ability to look after the ball, humping aimless punts at players who have no chance of winning it. Abject ****.
And for the amount LJ’s been allowed to spend as well to produce this pish, almost as if we’re numb to it at this point
13-08-2023, 03:35 PM
This has been disgusting. Tactically pish. Lack of desire from the players as well.
Worst performance in a long time.
13-08-2023, 03:36 PM
I wonder what LJ will blame this week. He won’t take any responsibility for defeats but looks for credit on the odd occasion we win.
13-08-2023, 03:36 PM
The problem is that it's more often like this than it is on Thursday.
We know that when LJ has this team ticking, we can be very good - 6-0 v Aberdeen, 1-4 vs Livi, Thursday night, 4-2 vs Celtic.
The problem is that I don't think he knows why those performances worked so well so when we have to change it, we end up with days like today.
13-08-2023, 03:37 PM
We’ve still not had a shot on target have we?
Against ****ing motherwell 77mins in
0 points from St Mirren and Motherwell in the opening 2 games is horrendous and the exact opposite of a start Johnson needed, add in the loss to the Andorran team.
Are we allowed to ask where Newell is today? The midfield is capable of games like Thursday, but today and St Mirren will be closer to the norm IMO
0 points from St Mirren and Motherwell in the opening 2 games is horrendous and the exact opposite of a start Johnson needed, add in the loss to the Andorran team.
Aye but but Thursday
And this game sums up exactly why a lot of posters on here want rid of Johnson, it's not knee jerk reactions, it's seeing this team go from good to bad week in week out against bang average bottom 6 teams. Tactics are poor, consistency is poor and the manager has to take the blame, this is our bread and butter with cups and extra.
13-08-2023, 03:38 PM
Genuinely think he stumbles into line ups / tactics by chance that work for a game or two, then he tries his next idea and goes back to this sort of mess.
Zero on that pitch getting pass marks.
The Captain....
I ****ing hate watching this Hibs team..surely LJ can't last much longer. Its torture watching us
We’ve still not had a shot on target have we?
Against ****ing motherwell 77mins in
Only Hibs can give you highs like Thursday then kick you in the teeth, repeatedly!
In short, he thinks he’s some sort of new age, Guardiola type manager
13-08-2023, 03:39 PM
This has honestly been one of the worst games I can remember. Luzern will be well up for the second leg after watching this.
Far too many poor players led by a manager who doesn't have a clue.
This has been disgusting. Tactically pish. Lack of desire from the players as well.
Worst performance in a long time.
Since the opening game?
Seekyit
Do we look like we could grab a point or are we just gash?
mcfly
We had a great chance to start the season with 2 league wins.
Joint bottom on zero points awaits.
Pressure is ramping up on Johnson.
Likely yet more excuses from him I’d expect though. Not good enough
The problem is that it's more often like this than it is on Thursday.
We know that when LJ has this team ticking, we can be very good - 6-0 v Aberdeen, 1-4 vs Livi, Thursday night, 4-2 vs Celtic.
The problem is that I don't think he knows why those performances worked so well so when we have to change it, we end up with days like today.
Think your over analysing it. He’s just a very poor manager.
Manager taking absolute pelters whenever the going gets tough - but we have a lot of decent quality players for our level on the park right now, many expected to be in our strongest XI. Not producing anything so far.
I could still see us knicking something here.
Be lucky to finish top 6 this season.
This is a pretty bad one tbh.
NC1875
13-08-2023, 03:40 PM
In short, he thinks he’s some sort of new age, Guardiola type manager
In reality, he’s a slavering chancer.
The sooner he’s gone the better
I wonder what LJ will blame this week. He won’t take any responsibility for defeats but looks for credit on the odd occasion we win.
He'll say they were mentally fatigued from Thursday and mention something about more lions(insert any other animal)
JammyDoidger
Even after Thursday you expect much better than this, to go 80 minutes without even testing their goalie is a disgrace, i said I'd give them slack if we didn't get the win, but by god I didn't think we would be this poor.
I have no doubt Obika will score for them.
Big, strong and decent on the ball
Paulie Walnuts
And this is exactly why a lot of people don’t see all that much improvement from Maloney, something that’s been backed up by his results.
Absolutely pish.
Do we look like we could grab a point or are we just gash?
No chance.
Zero on that pitch getting pass marks.
Agreed but I'm not sure what our forwards could have done with the abysmal service they've received today.
Only Hibs can give you highs like Thursday then kick you in the teeth, repeatedly!
Especially with this clown in charge
JammyDoidger
13-08-2023, 03:41 PM
He'll say they were mentally fatigued from Thursday and mention something about more lions(insert any other animal)
Genuinely wouldn't mind seeing Lee Johnson being chased by a lion.
Are we allowed to ask where Newell is today? The midfield is capable of games like Thursday, but today and St Mirren will be closer to the norm IMO
As with Johnson, it’s games like this that result in Newell getting criticised. Tbf he’s not been the only one, struggling to think of anyone who has been decent today. We don’t seem to have games where a few are off it, they team as a group manage it - Andorra away, 70 mins last Sunday and again today…
Why is Henderson sitting the deepest of our midfielders, he's an attacking mid ffs.
HendoDelivered
Probably couldnt have asked for a more generous start to the season in the league as well, and its looking like 0 points from the first 2 games. That’s unacceptable.
Fuzzywuzzy
13-08-2023, 03:42 PM
It really does look like no one actually gives a **** apart from the fans
This is a pretty bad one tbh.Another pretty bad one................
Agreed but I'm not sure what our forwards could have done with the abysmal service they've received today.
True.
thank goodness for ST Johnstone
Greenio
13-08-2023, 03:43 PM
Insipid.
Not enough movement. Not enough anything really
2 shots, zero on target.
Not been outplayed in any sense but just not been playing well at all
I said after Thursday my problem with the manager and this Hibs team was that I fully expected us to put in an abject performance against Motherwell, and that's why I couldn't get too excited.
I didn't think it would be this bad though...
He's brought on Melkerson, ffs
Why haven't we deviated from our long diagonal ball tactic? How can the bench not see it's not working and go to plan B/C/D????
Since the opening game?
Much worse than St Mirren.
Tell you something, I was one of Caddens harsher critics.
Never again will I criticise that man
FFS Hibs 0-2
Paulie Walnuts
Another pretty bad one................
His third ‘bad one’ from five this season.
Greenio
2 nill
I'll go with dormouse. 😉
​
We shouldn’t be in the position where he is having to start every game Is there no one else thst can play that position Ffs
I think he may need to go.
badabing67
F@#k sake Hibs that's pish
13-08-2023, 03:44 PM
GTF Lee Johnson. Clueless.
Genuinely wouldn't mind seeing Lee Johnson being chased by a lion.Do you know anyone who could get their hands on one?
Asking for a friend
Oh my
That is horrendous defending.
You’ve got to be so much stronger than that.
skyehibee
Utter joke get him gone tonight
OtleyHibs
Defence easily brushed aside again, ridiculous
This is all feeling a bit Dundee United from last season.
Johnson will be doing well to see out august.
easy
Green Reaper
Keystone cops defending there
Will Fish has been ***** since returning as well.
That is genuinely the worst piece of defending by Will Fish I have ever seen
Absolutely horrific.
Get Johnson to ****.
He’s got to be done. This is a disgraceful start given our first two fixtures.
Complete and utter horse****. Spending millions only to end up worse.
It’s fine though, we were good on Thursday
He's brought on Melkerson, ffs
Can't be as bad as any of the others today to be fair.
What a terrible performance today. Desperate stuff.
Ffs. 2-0
Fish. Deary me.
13-08-2023, 03:45 PM
I think he may need to go.
Definitely, times up
if this what the reward of playing in Europe brings us i'd rather do without thanks
JammyDoidger
2 of the easiest fixtures in the league and we've lost the both of them, this wee donkey needs to go, the manner of this has been absolutely appalling, and btw so was that from Fish.
Victor
Oh my
Definitely. Where is the VAR?
I think that’s a foul on Fish.
But he’s been poor since he’s came back
Time for the English game before I through something at the tlly.
hibee1875
Imagine that’s was Hanlon making that mistake 🙈
Trinity Hibee
13-08-2023, 03:46 PM
How can a team let you down repeatedly as much as Hibs do. ****ing ****
Billy McKirdy
Utter dugshi7e!! JOHNSTON GTF!!!!
It’s started.
What’s started ? If you mean criticism of the manager are you saying it’s not merited after this ****show ? He deservedly got credit for Thursday. Today is the type of performance we see from his team all too often.
2-0 as type this. ****** awful.
Berwickhibby
Defence again useless …
that was p@sh from f@sh
Paul1642
Our defence is unbelievable. Both goals have been absolute gifts.
thebausburst
2m odd spent and they’re worse than last year!
The Captain....
Feel sorry for those who shelled out to go thru and watch this.
LJ has to go..today has been a continuation of his complete lack of ideas...he manages to put out teams from decent players that look.like they've never seen a football. It's beyond disgraceful that he is continuing to get away with it.
13-08-2023, 03:47 PM
Gtf Johnson, Thursday was a fluke and this is the norm under this clown
0 attempts on target. 2 off target.
pitiful.
jamie_1875
I bet we prolong the agony for another few weeks and he gets binned just as the window closes meaning the new manager doesn't have any opportunity to bring anyone in.
The board should bin him tonight.
supermcginn
He's no better than rocky. Harbottle must be awful if he can't get a game in this defence.
Both goals conceded have been absolutely horrific. Our defence and midfield are dog****.
We've spent £2m this summer to put out a team that can't even take a point off Motherwell and St Mirren.
I think we'll go out on Thursday and if so he needs to go.
HibbyDave
He will not be going anywhere at least till we get emptied on Thursday.
This was utter garbage today
Andymac85
If I was Youan, I’d be glad at being left out of this fiasco.
JammyDoidger
13-08-2023, 03:48 PM
If we don't go through Thursday there is literally no reason to keep him.
NC1875
Our defence is unbelievable. Both goals have been absolute gifts.
2 pensioners and a young guy on loan. What do we expect.
To have spent the money we have the last few years and have that team on the park is a disgrace.
Attendance:6,262
well done the big away support
I wonder who LJ will blame for this disaster?
How many reminders do you Stevenson and Hanlon fan boys need.
Again, for the hundredth time. They've BEEN great servants, but both of them are past it and should be no where near the starting 11. The more this goes on the more their legacies will be tarnished.
Get them out of there pronto, we're soft as anything at the back and those two are a couple of the main reasons why!!
Coach Jon
We have the worst defence in this league, no chance of doing anything when you are conceding bad goals every game.
13-08-2023, 03:49 PM
I wonder who LJ will blame for this disaster?
Everyone but himself.
Seen enough, Johnson needs tae go. Simple. With the easiest of starts, by the time the end of the first round of games come roond we could be bottom
CL0762
Again, for the hundredth time. They've BEEN great servants, but both of them are past it and should be no where near the starting 11. The more this goes on the more their legacies will be tarnished.
Get them out of there pronto, we're soft as anything at the back!
😂😂😂 what a lot of *****
Really disappointing.
Thank god we’ve got our easier set of fixtures first to put some points on the board…
13-08-2023, 03:50 PM
I wonder who LJ will blame for this disaster?Motherwell?
It's their fault for being one of a long list of competitive hard defending Scottish teams that know the Hibs defence is soft as *****?
Terrible performance, prior to this we haven't lost at Fir Park since 2019.
Thursday was the exception, today is another usual performance under Johnson.
Get him emptied.
OtleyHibs
This could be a penalty to hibs here
Paul1642
Get them out of there pronto, we're soft as anything at the back and those two are a couple of the main reasons why!!
Yep. Our defence is absolute gash. They are 50% of it and the two experienced heads. Blame lies with them and if they weren’t loyal servants they would be gone.
TBF he wasn't very good when on loan in England prior to coming here and his 1st few games were a bit dodgy, he did have a purple patch for the 2nd half of the season, maybe that's why he's here, our level.
Beggars belief how little passes or attacks have been made.
Launch it forward to Doidge and see what happens
Well the good feeling from Thursday didn't last long.
AZhibee
This could be a penalty to hibs here
Absolutely should be
Greenio
The Europe games are taking their toll.
NC1875
13-08-2023, 03:51 PM
😂😂😂 what a lot of *****
really ? Our defence is the worst in the league and they make up 50% of it.
Should’ve been gone long ago.
That looks as if it'll be a penalty to us.
We might just get a shot on goal before the game is out if so :hyper
OtleyHibs
Absolutely should be
Aye, think he needs to give this, boys hand well up
Careful. You’ll be accused of having an agenda.
I thought starting 11 was fine, but yet again we are poor, no intensity and have created heehaw. Is that down to the players or the manager ?
No - to be accused of having an agenda you have to be a relentless gratuitously negative pain in the erse - you are the reigning title holder for that honour
It’s started.
if you mean our descent towards relegation you might be right.
if you mean unjustified claims that Johnson might not be good enough… sorry, but you’re having a laugh.
We’ll miss it, it’s that kind of day :greengrin
that's a penalty hibs
too little too late though
Penalty Hibs.
OtleyHibs
Should have about 5 mins after this.....you never know
AZhibee
Shot on target!!
Steven79
13-08-2023, 03:52 PM
I bet we prolong the agony for another few weeks and he gets binned just as the window closes meaning the new manager doesn't have any opportunity to bring anyone in.
The board should bin him tonight.We have spent our budget.
No scope for bringing many new players in.
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
badabing67
Sausage roll from ALF mon Hibs
OtleyHibs
2-1
Shot on target!!
:hyper