View Full Version : Match Updates Motherwell v Hibernian

Pages : 1 2 [3]

13-08-2023, 03:52 PM
How many reminders do you Stevenson and Hanlon fan boys need.

Again, for the hundredth time. They've BEEN great servants, but both of them are past it and should be no where near the starting 11. The more this goes on the more their legacies will be tarnished.

Get them out of there pronto, we're soft as anything at the back and those two are a couple of the main reasons why!!

You’ve embarrassed yourself enough with this type of chat. Wind it in.

13-08-2023, 03:53 PM
Comeback is on.

13-08-2023, 03:53 PM
No - to be accused of having an agenda you have to be a relentless gratuitously negative pain in the erse - you are the reigning title holder for that honour

🤣 aye whatever. 🤡

13-08-2023, 03:54 PM
Comeback is on.

Not with this lot it's not

Clearly our Manager has a big problem motivating our players. That's 2 league games where the players have started the game totally flat. Something far wrong with their preparation for games.

Sausage roll from ALF mon Hibs

Switched to Chelsea v Liverpool, I'll watch it later, maybe me watching was a bogey.:greengrin

Hibees1973
Genuinely is anyone surprised by this.

If you are you have your heads in the sand or up Lewy's erse.

We are nowhere near able to cope with European football and an SPFL game three days after it. A million miles away from it.

It's likely to be the same next Sunday as well. If we get knocked out on Thursday after being two in the lead (fortunately IMO) and fail to win next Sunday don't think anyone will be able to defend the start to the season.

This is what it's like under Johnson. Complete lack of consistency, just like last season.

13-08-2023, 03:55 PM

Imagine thinking Hanlon and Stevenson's legacy is tarnished because of a loss away to Motherwell having just played a big part in one of the best European nights at ER for bloody ages 😂

CL0762
really ? Our defence is the worst in the league and they make up 50% of it.

Should’ve been gone long ago.

The worst in the league? Behave yourself

4 bookings to zero, justified or not?

13-08-2023, 03:56 PM
Clearly our Manager has a big problem motivating our players. That's 2 league games where the players have started the game totally flat. Something far wrong with their preparation for games.

It’s perplexing - as someone who is neither pro or anti Johnson - that we can lurch from Thursdays level of performance to this.

Part of me says why does a manager need to motivate professional players who showed us 3 days ago that they are capable of putting in really hearty, gutsy quality performances!

13-08-2023, 03:56 PM
didn't realise Boyle had been booked

didn't realise he was on tbf

four yellow cards

not a great day at the office

again

given three winnable games for the start of the season, two down one to go to try get at least a point

13-08-2023, 03:57 PM
We didn't really show any urgency even when we got the goal back. Dreadful performance again

Well that was dire.

Ft 2-1.

Release the lions.

1800 Hibernians there

Helensburghhibs
13-08-2023, 03:58 PM

Joint worse with livi. They have played better teams than us , so yeah, i agree. Currently the worst

HarpOnHibee
We're not up for the fight in this league. Teams will be instructed to get in our faces, something we don't have an answer for.

He's here!

Newell said they'd responded to LJ really taking them to task after the St Mirren game by turning it on last Thursday. I get there was always likely to be a bit of a comedown after that, but THIS flat?? It really shouldn't be so pitiful.

Ref looked and acted soft with his decision making.

Hibs players were shocking.

Crap game.

Tha Cabbage Kid
13-08-2023, 03:59 PM
why the long ball all the time? terrible tactics today!

Doidge wins so many headers and they go to nobody.

we made motherwell look good today.

1800 Hibernians there

Let down AGAIN!

Duck egg points and -3 GD after two games, thankfully the games get easier :rolleyes:

didn't realise Boyle had been booked

didn't realise he was on tbf

four yellow cards

not a great day at the office

again

given three winnable games for the start of the season, two down one to go to try get at least a point

Didnae realise he was on either second half, even said to a mate we needed Boyle on. Never in it

Let down AGAIN!

as per

13-08-2023, 04:00 PM
The Europe games are taking their toll.
Not for long they won't.

NC1875

Every striker in the league must love playing Hibs. We’re soft as **** and ship soft goals weekly. Even when we’re winning like Thursday night.

When we don’t score, we very rarely draw. Because it’s a certainty we’ll concede.

We’ve conceded 9 goals in 5 games. But everything’s rosey. Hanlon and Stevenson aren’t a part of it 👍🏼

Never managed to watch , so listened on hibs tv commentary.. Sounded absolutely terrible.. Johnson on a shoogly peg now.. 2 awful results and performances in the league so far .. Not forgetting the humiliating defeat to andorran fisherman

13-08-2023, 04:01 PM
This manager is void of tactics and a proper game plan, he needs tae go. Thank f the Liverpool game is on tae cheer me up. Chelsea getting humped.
Fish was dire, apart from the loss of the goal Stevenson had a decent game,both teams cancelled each other out, but we were devoid of absolutely everything once they scored, think we had one shot on target first half

hhibs
13-08-2023, 04:02 PM
Ref looked and acted soft with his decision making.

Hibs players were shocking.

Crap game.

Agree with you about our players but not about the referee,he is either dreadful or bent or both.

13-08-2023, 04:03 PM
Thank god we’ve got our easier set of fixtures first to put some points on the board…

indeed.

Hibs were gifted an exceedingly kind fixture list to start the season. No Celtic, rangers, or hearts until October.

look what we’ve done with it thus far.

13-08-2023, 04:04 PM
Both goals conceded have been absolutely horrific. Our defence and midfield are dog****.

We've spent £2m this summer to put out a team that can't even take a point off Motherwell and St Mirren.

I think we'll go out on Thursday and if so he needs to go.

It's dire stuff. And in terms of recruitment there's no point in spending big on the attack and doing little to address our failings in defence and midfield.

Agree with you about our players but not about the referee,he is either dreadful or bent or both.

Aren’t they all?

JJP
Feel bad for the fans that travelled and paid to watch that today. Awful performance.

#2 Double Tap
It’s perplexing - as someone who is neither pro or anti Johnson - that we can lurch from Thursdays level of performance to this.

Part of me says why does a manager need to motivate professional players who showed us 3 days ago that they are capable of putting in really hearty, gutsy quality performances!

because making sure the team is ready for the match, is his job, not some of the time, all of the time. Motivation is more important in small games imo, big games take care of themselves.

13-08-2023, 04:05 PM
It's dire stuff. And in terms of recruitment there's no point in spending big on the attack and doing little to address our failings in defence and midfield.

Season after season

13-08-2023, 04:06 PM
Best to get our weekly ***** performance out the way before Thursday IMO

Broxburn Greens
13-08-2023, 04:07 PM
Same as last Sunday, totally flat.

Johnson must’ve tried about 4 different formations which is the whole problem. If he doesn’t know how to set up a team against mediocre SPFL opponents then he really shouldn’t be in the job.

It looks like the players have no idea of where they or their teammates are meant to be, hence our passing is atrocious and the only way to go with no movement is side to side or back and if one of this passes goes astray, well, you know the rest.

As much as I’m choking on a trip to Villa we could get really embarrassed….. Any Premiership team would’ve rattled up a cricket score against that performance.

13-08-2023, 04:07 PM
That’s 2 honking league performances, unacceptable to be that poor in the league.

13-08-2023, 04:08 PM
a Defence
a Defence

my kingdom for a Defence

it's half the battle eh :(

McGruber
13-08-2023, 04:08 PM
Absolutely dire from 1st whistle. Deserved nothing. Shocking defending for their 2nd by Fish who needs to be stronger but also was a foul. No complaints from us so no pressure for VAR review. Saying that they may have reviewed it and decided it was too soft. For other select teams they get that foul for push on the back. I realise that is all irrelevant to the fact we were utter crap.. just bumping my gums

Broxburn Greens
13-08-2023, 04:10 PM

This, a Motherwell player just had to sit down for a free kick. Even looked like he was looking for a way to not give the pen.

That categorically does not excuse our performance though.

13-08-2023, 04:13 PM
This is the complete opposite of what Lee Johnson promised us.

He can't set them up tactically, or get them motivated or get them to follow his instructions. He's never going to be a success at Hibs.

Crunchie
13-08-2023, 04:15 PM
Individual errors in defence cost us again, the manager can't be blamed for that. What he can be blamed for is playing the likes of Stevenson and Hanlon after that high tempo midweek game, I said as much before the game.
He made decent changes at HT but Boyle never got into the game, better teams than us struggle after a hard european game.

Daily Hibs
13-08-2023, 04:15 PM
How many reminders do you Stevenson and Hanlon fan boys need.

Again, for the hundredth time. They've BEEN great servants, but both of them are past it and should be no where near the starting 11. The more this goes on the more their legacies will be tarnished.

Get them out of there pronto, we're soft as anything at the back and those two are a couple of the main reasons why!!

Excellent post. Well said. How obvious can it be and how can those at the club not see it?

NC1875
13-08-2023, 04:17 PM
Excellent post. Well said. How obvious can it be and how can those at the club not see it?

Half the folk on here can’t see it either. Mind boggling.

HarpOnHibee
13-08-2023, 04:18 PM
Any manager worth their salt would have been going completely radge on the touchline watching that from their own players. Lee Johnson just stands there like he believes it's a perfectly acceptable level of performance. Either that, or he simply isn't bothered. Cheques in the bank.

13-08-2023, 04:21 PM
a Defence
a Defence

my kingdom for a Defence

it's half the battle eh :( How come every other team recognise positions they need and get players in but not us ?

13-08-2023, 04:22 PM
Individual errors in defence cost us again, the manager can't be blamed for that. What he can be blamed for is playing the likes of Stevenson and Hanlon after that high tempo midweek game, I said as much before the game.
He made decent changes at HT but Boyle never got into the game, better teams than us struggle after a hard european game.

Persisting with the long diagonal HOOF ball was criminal and really has me questioning whether Lee has a clue what he's doing or not.

Daily Hibs
13-08-2023, 04:23 PM
Half the folk on here can’t see it either. Mind boggling.

It's beyond a joke now and holds the club back.

CL0762
13-08-2023, 04:24 PM
Any manager worth their salt would have been going completely radge on the touchline watching that from their own players. Lee Johnson just stands there like he believes it's a perfectly acceptable level of performance. Either that, or he simply isn't bothered. Cheques in the bank.

That’s what struck me about last week.

Robinson was constantly at the edge of his area, coaching/communicating with his players.

Johnson just stood with his hands in his pockets for most of it.

Stevenson had a good game up until the goal, just wtaf, its not their fault the managers £hite

To be streaky, Johnson needs to win 2 games in a row. If we lose to Luzern or when the Villa glamour has worn off, the harsh reality of what we’re left with will kick in. Remember, Hibs easiest games are at the start of the season.

Gone by October.

13-08-2023, 04:28 PM
To be streaky, Johnson needs to win 2 games in a row. If we lose to Luzern or when the Villa glamour has worn off, the harsh reality of what we’re left with will kick in. Remember, Hibs easiest games are at the start of the season.

Gone by October.
Gone now by the looks of it.

13-08-2023, 04:30 PM
Just saw pictures of the vandalism in the stand at Motherwell. Shameful embarrassment for the club.

13-08-2023, 04:31 PM
Gone now by the looks of it.

At very best, we are capable of a safe bottom six place. At worst, it’s anyone’s guess.

13-08-2023, 04:44 PM
a Defence
a Defence

my kingdom for a Defence

it's half the battle eh :( How come every other team recognise positions they need and get players in but not us ?

13-08-2023, 04:51 PM
This, a Motherwell player just had to sit down for a free kick. Even looked like he was looking for a way to not give the pen.

That categorically does not excuse our performance though.

Agree with that like last week looked biased against us. Looks like Lee isn't just annoying Hibs fans but refs as well.

13-08-2023, 04:52 PM
It's usually a struggle for teams to maintain standards when they're playing in Europe midweek and it seems we are no exception. Even with that in mind though, it sounds like we churned out another very poor league performance today. With both Boyle and Youan not starting we were always going to struggle to create and only 4 shots with 1 on target shows that's exactly how it turned out. Sounds like we tried to contain with the hope of getting a point but yet again slip-ups in defence cost us.

I'm not jumping on the "sack the manager" bandwagon at this stage but Johnson will have to get performances like last Thu's out of his players with far greater consistency if that is to remain the case. As others have pointed out, we've blown a very forgiving start to the league campaign to take zero points. Hopefully on Thu we progress in Europe to play AV which will be a big pay day for the club, but barring miracles that will be the end of our Euro adventure for this season with a c 100:1 budget ratio to overcome. After Thu LJ needs to get much more out of this side vs Raith Rovers though. Another early exit from a cup competition would always be a disaster - but after this very poor start to the league campaign fan anger would, with good cause, reach fever pitch and it would likely end up costing him his job.

13-08-2023, 04:53 PM
Agree with that like last week looked biased against us. Looks like Lee isn't just annoying Hibs fans but refs as well.

Lee Johnson along with every Hibs manager in living memory!

the_ginger_hibee
13-08-2023, 04:55 PM
Stevenson had a good game up until the goal, just wtaf, its not their fault the managers £hite

How is Stevenson getting bullied, once again, the fault of LJ other than the fact he continually picks him? He is so far past his sell-by date it's unreal.

13-08-2023, 04:57 PM
Lee Johnson along with every Hibs manager in living memory!

Not wrong

13-08-2023, 06:42 PM
https://youtu.be/OqQHt_j_wmw

13-08-2023, 06:44 PM
I lasted less than a minute. Imposter.

13-08-2023, 06:48 PM
I have just watched the highlights and again we looked poor in defence gifting two goals.

Looked a really poor game from a Hibs point of view.

Johnson talking about being brave on the ball and angles.

13-08-2023, 06:49 PM
That was the poorest performance in Johnson’s time here for me and there has been plenty competition.

If it was a rarity, then you could accept it to an extent, but it’s not.

Johnson is a year and a bit in and we’ve spent a fortune (by our standards). We have no clear way of playing. He chops and changes from game to game. Then he has to chop and change within games themselves because it’s so regularly crap. The tactic of simply lumping the ball in the direction of Doidge all day was terrible.

Players should take their share of the blame as well though. Individual mistakes week in, week out defensively. And they showed a complete lack of urgency throughout.

Yet again, a big travelling support let down.

EVENTUALLY
13-08-2023, 07:07 PM
That was the poorest performance in Johnson’s time here for me and there has been plenty competition.

If it was a rarity, then you could accept it to an extent, but it’s not.

Johnson is a year and a bit in and we’ve spent a fortune (by our standards). We have no clear way of playing. He chops and changes from game to game. Then he has to chop and change within games themselves because it’s so regularly crap. The tactic of simply lumping the ball in the direction of Doidge all day was terrible.

Players should take their share of the blame as well though. Individual mistakes week in, week out defensively. And they showed a complete lack of urgency throughout.

Yet again, a big travelling support let down.

Spot on every point. :aok:

darwenhibby
13-08-2023, 07:58 PM
Surely McInnes Robinson or Kettlewell could organise these players better than this clown
I genuinely feel for Lewis he must know his time is up but will not let the club and fans down or rather desert a sinking ship
Johnson GTF

14-08-2023, 09:09 AM
I lasted less than a minute. Imposter.

Whilst I have plenty of problems with the performance, I don't really get what he's said wrong there?

14-08-2023, 09:17 AM

Says we kept taking the easy option and going long to Doidge.

Its your ****ing team mate, and your tactics, and you're the one who sets it all out.

Crunchie
14-08-2023, 09:48 AM

Its your ****ing team mate, and your tactics, and you're the one who sets it all out.
Herr Capitan knows the instructions too and he was the main culprit, it's easy to blame it all on the manager.
The performance was very poor I'll say that much, but better teams with bigger squads have struggled after tough European games midweek, let's not forget that. i've seen many a worse display at Fir Park in my time.

On another note I can never quite fathom how so many on here seem to think we should be turning over teams like Motherwell away from home, we've never done it on a consistent basis with our best ever teams and we're not going to start now. The H to H record over our respective history will be very close.

14-08-2023, 09:55 AM
Herr Capitan knows the instructions too and he was the main culprit, it's easy to blame it all on the manager.
The performance was very poor I'll say that much, but better teams with bigger squads have struggled after tough European games midweek, let's not forget that. i've seen many a worse display at Fir Park in my time.

On another note I can never quite fathom how so many on here seem to think we should be turning over teams like Motherwell away from home, we've never done it on a consistent basis with our best ever teams and we're not going to start now. The H to H record over our respective history will be very close.

Totally agree with your final paragraph.

I'm not going to defend the results or performances against St Mirren or Motherwell, which have both been very poor. But these aren't the worst results in our history, we're not losing cup ties against lower league opposition here or getting trounced. We've lost tight games against teams in the same league as us, one at home and one away. Our very best teams have had a habit of producing the odd stinking result or performance, they just end up being buried amongst some better performances. Even now, Johnson's got a couple of decent Thursday performances in recent weeks to dilute those ones.

Obviously we need to be doing better but there's a long way to go in the league and a lot of points still to be won.

I was a bit irked when Johnson came out with his "we should have enough to get through the first 3 or 4 games" quote a few weeks back. We can't take anything for granted against unknown European teams or anyone in our league. We need to be ready and take all our competitive games very seriously.

Paulie Walnuts
14-08-2023, 09:56 AM

Motherwell can only dream of signing the players we’ve signed on the money we have. We’re shopping in a completely different market yet we’re not producing anything any better than them.

Just because historically we’ve also failed to get the better of them regularly it doesn’t mean it’s any more acceptable. Historic failure shouldn’t be used to accept current/future failures.

Crunchie
14-08-2023, 10:02 AM
Motherwell can only dream of signing the players we’ve signed on the money we have. We’re shopping in a completely different market yet we’re not producing anything any better than them.

Just because historically we’ve also failed to get the better of them regularly it doesn’t mean it’s any more acceptable. Historic failure shouldn’t be used to accept current/future failures.
We've always had a bigger budget than the likes of Motherwell and it made no difference.

14-08-2023, 10:16 AM
We've always had a bigger budget than the likes of Motherwell and it made no difference.

We hadn’t lost at Fir Park for 4 years. It’s a ground that we always get chances at. Yesterday we had zero threat for the entire 90 minutes. Predominantly, that was down to the way we set up and the continual 60 yard punts for 90 minutes.

Losing 2-1 to Motherwell isn’t an issue. We’ll always lose games. The manner of the performance (again) is a big issue though. You’re never going to consistently win games when you put in that type of performance as often as we do under Johnson.

14-08-2023, 10:38 AM
We hadn’t lost at Fir Park for 4 years. It’s a ground that we always get chances at. Yesterday we had zero threat for the entire 90 minutes. Predominantly, that was down to the way we set up and the continual 60 yard punts for 90 minutes.

Losing 2-1 to Motherwell isn’t an issue. We’ll always lose games. The manner of the performance (again) is a big issue though. You’re never going to consistently win games when you put in that type of performance as often as we do under Johnson.

Exactly.

It was telling to me that Johnson relied on one of the coaches for advice and input for the Lucerne game and we looked a totally different team.

14-08-2023, 10:51 AM

Kind of my thinking as well, I was a bit shocked reading how many folk thought Motherwell away was a game we “should be winning”. I hate losing, away at Rangers or Celtc it’s easier to take, but anywhere else is a game where we’re capable of a result. I don’t think there are any away games in the league where I “expect” us to win. It’s just never been like that for me supporting Hibs. We couldn’t even go away from home in the championship over 3 seasons expecting to win.

I agree with your point about the game coming on the back of a European game too, have read on here loads of times about how it’s a good time to get Rangers or Celtc on the back of a midweek European game, and that’s true. For some reason, we don’t offer ourselves the same acknowledgment of players being tired.

Paulie Walnuts
14-08-2023, 11:09 AM

See my last point.

The fact we have always had a bigger budget but failed to make use of it doesn’t make it any more acceptable.

We also however used to shop in similar markets, mainly free transfers/nominal fees. We’re not doing that now, so we should be outperforming them the vast majority of the time.

14-08-2023, 11:14 AM

Who are the six injuries he refers to? Can only think of Cadden and Youan

Who are the six injuries he refers to? Can only think of Cadden and Youan.

Cadden, Youan, Campbell, JDH, Wollacott and then I'm not sure

Who are the six injuries he refers to? Can only think of Cadden and Youan.

Campbell, Boyle.

14-08-2023, 11:15 AM
See my last point.

The fact we have always had a bigger budget but failed to make use of it doesn’t make it any more acceptable.

We also however used to shop in similar markets, mainly free transfers/nominal fees. We’re not doing that now, so we should be outperforming them the vast majority of the time.

We're not doing that now...meaning this season? We've paid for 2 players who weren't part of last seasons squad...and they've played 2 first teams games each. Maybe a bit early to expect us to turn into an all improved better Hibs who expect to win away games against teams who are slightly less well off squad wise.

14-08-2023, 11:24 AM

Since 90/91 season, so 33 seasons, we've managed these top league finishes
3rd - 4 times
4th - 3 times
5th - 5 times
6th - 4 times
7th - 4 times
8th - twice
9th - twice
10th - 3 times
11th - twice

In the championship our much bigger budget still had us finish behind Falkirk!

The difference in budget between us and Motherwell isn't so big that we're guaranteed results against them. We shop in a slightly more expensive market than they do.

Paulie Walnuts
14-08-2023, 11:25 AM
We're not doing that now...meaning this season? We've paid for 2 players who weren't part of last seasons squad...and they've played 2 first teams games each. Maybe a bit early to expect us to turn into an all improved better Hibs who expect to win away games against teams who are slightly less well off squad wise.

We invested a fortune last season and had much the same issues.

14-08-2023, 11:28 AM
We invested a fortune last season and had much the same issues.

A fortune? No, we didn't. We probably invested the 5th largest amount, and finished 5th.

Paulie Walnuts
14-08-2023, 11:31 AM
A fortune? No, we didn't. We probably invested the 5th largest amount, and finished 5th.

In comparison to the likes of Motherwell we did.

Crunchie
14-08-2023, 12:09 PM
Since 90/91 season, so 33 seasons, we've managed these top league finishes
3rd - 4 times
4th - 3 times
5th - 5 times
6th - 4 times
7th - 4 times
8th - twice
9th - twice
10th - 3 times
11th - twice

In the championship our much bigger budget still had us finish behind Falkirk!

The difference in budget between us and Motherwell isn't so big that we're guaranteed results against them. We shop in a slightly more expensive market than they do.
And not 2nd once, something Motherwell have done. You're correct about the budget but some people will never accept it and think we have a divine right to finish above everyone we've spent more than. Someone forgot to tell Leicester that one.

Steven79
14-08-2023, 12:14 PM

Its your ****ing team mate, and your tactics, and you're the one who sets it all out.He's happy to take the plaudits when we win (Thursday) but chucks the players under a bus when we lose.

Must be great playing under a boss like that.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

14-08-2023, 12:17 PM
He's happy to take the plaudits when we win (Thursday) but chucks the players under a bus when we lose.

Is that fact or just hibs net fact. First words I heard from Johnson after the game on Thursday were that he was proud of the players and he'd told them that...

14-08-2023, 12:19 PM
He's happy to take the plaudits when we win (Thursday) but chucks the players under a bus when we lose.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/66441871

What they said
Hibernian manager Lee Johnson: "It was a fantastic game of football. I've said to the players how proud I am of them. That sets the marker.

"We scored three goals again at home - we've got goals in us. There's a lot to do, they're good enough to score a couple quickly. We're going to have to repeat the work-rate over there."

14-08-2023, 12:21 PM

Spot on. He’s lamenting the constant long ball but did absolutely zero to address it.
I said after Thursday night that we simply must put in a performance yesterday. We didn’t. Was it addressed during the game. No it wasn’t. There’s something fundamentally wrong and I believe it’s the management.

Crunchie
14-08-2023, 12:39 PM
Spot on. He’s lamenting the constant long ball but did absolutely zero to address it.
I said after Thursday night that we simply must put in a performance yesterday. We didn’t. Was it addressed during the game. No it wasn’t. There’s something fundamentally wrong and I believe it’s the management.
He made changes at HT that everyone was happy with, they made zero difference, at what point do the players start taking the blame? Last year we had Porto and Bushiri able to burst out of defence when the midfield struggles, all we had on Sunday was Hanlon hoofing diagonals out of touch or square passes.

14-08-2023, 12:57 PM

It's make a big difference. We have a really decent record there in the last 20 years or so I'd imagine.

Crunchie
14-08-2023, 12:59 PM
It's make a big difference. We have a really decent record there in the last 20 years or so I'd imagine.
Look at all the games against so called lesser opposition in the league and I'd imagine you were wrong.

14-08-2023, 01:10 PM
Look at all the games against so called lesser opposition in the league and I'd imagine you were wrong.

Over the history of the clubs it has made a difference yes. Hence why we've won more.

14-08-2023, 01:37 PM
See my last point.

Agree with this completely.

14-08-2023, 03:19 PM
He made changes at HT that everyone was happy with, they made zero difference, at what point do the players start taking the blame? Last year we had Porto and Bushiri able to burst out of defence when the midfield struggles, all we had on Sunday was Hanlon hoofing diagonals out of touch or square passes.
At what point does he say to the midfield to show for the ball.
The defence aren’t shelling it long because they want to. Particularly if they’ve been told (and I assume they’ve been told) not to do it all the time. How he sets the team up. How he wants them to play is on him. It’s either how he’s telling them or how he’s set them up. Possibly both. What they’ve worked in prior to the games or his reaction to what’s happening in the pitch. No plan B . Wrong plan B or not moving onto plan C (again assuming he has one) if plan B doesn’t work either. Instead we get the same players doing the same things and us losing games.
We have more than decent players and I don’t think they’re all thick.
If it was the occasional performance you could excuse it. But that’s three out of five.
He is not the man to move us forward and needs replacing now. Our form is showing that. Don’t wait till we’re stuck near the bottom with a quarter of the season gone.

14-08-2023, 04:58 PM
At what point does he say to the midfield to show for the ball.
The defence aren’t shelling it long because they want to. Particularly if they’ve been told (and I assume they’ve been told) not to do it all the time. How he sets the team up. How he wants them to play is on him. It’s either how he’s telling them or how he’s set them up. Possibly both. What they’ve worked in prior to the games or his reaction to what’s happening in the pitch. No plan B . Wrong plan B or not moving onto plan C (again assuming he has one) if plan B doesn’t work either. Instead we get the same players doing the same things and us losing games.
We have more than decent players and I don’t think they’re all thick.
If it was the occasional performance you could excuse it. But that’s three out of five.
He is not the man to move us forward and needs replacing now. Our form is showing that. Don’t wait till we’re stuck near the bottom with a quarter of the season gone.

Which plan A,B or C contain the bit that has your vastly experienced left back being shrugged off to let a cross in and one of your centre halves. footering about and then letting an opponent get a shot away.That’s why we lost.We need far more efforts from the players not resting on the back of a good display. Was Newell playing on Sunday?

14-08-2023, 05:06 PM
😂😂😂 what a lot of *****

It's genuinely not. Fight your case why it is? Stats don't lie, the amount of goals and clear chances we concede is alarming to say the least and more often than not these two are involved in them.

14-08-2023, 05:09 PM

Read the replies on here, aswel as many many others on Hibs Social Media. You will find that these feelings are shared by many. They are past it and need replaced by better pronto. There's still time in the window for Johnson to save his sacking, but it he doesn't replace these two from the starting 11, them, as well as a few others, are going to get another manager sacked.

14-08-2023, 05:10 PM
Which plan A,B or C contain the bit that has your vastly experienced left back being shrugged off to let a cross in and one of your centre halves. footering about and then letting an opponent get a shot away.That’s why we lost.We need far more efforts from the players not resting on the back of a good display. Was Newell playing on Sunday?
Individual errors appear in games all over but we were poor both individually and collectively. Don’t let how they scored cloud that. The performance was not acceptable all excuses included. Yes the players need to perform better but setting them up with clear instruction and expectation followed by encouragement to follow those instructions would go a long way to facilitate that and that is on the management team. I get it on the odd game but it’s the vast majority of them. At what point do we accept it’s not working and change. It has to change. Either the management team changing how we are trying to play or if they can’t change the management team. After the amount of time they’ve had and the results in general and probably more importantly the performances I’m of the opinion they can’t change and need replaced. It’ll happen eventually but we will be so far gone it’ll be another season of underachieving.